Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pheasant Inn 5 stars

Higher Burwardsley, Higher Burwardsley, CH3 9PF, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Higher Burwardsley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm really not sure, I had no complaints.

    The room was small, but very comfortable for a one night stay. The Hotel was in a very beautiful old building with amazing views over the country side below. Very relaxing and enjoyable sitting outside watching the sun go down.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was smaller than expected , especially for the money , we were in the seperate block. So accommodation expensive.

    Service and food was excellent and reasonably priced. Bar and dining area comfortable and interesting. Location beautiful. Manager (I think ) seemed to do every thing and was every where efficient and friendly , great to see!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful setting, poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the service wasn’t great unfortunately, we had no TV remote in the room and we had to ask quite a few times for this to be put in, even at 9.30om it still wasn’t there!!! We were offered dessert menus but no one came back to the table to see if we would of like to order one. Service was poor but setting and food was great.

    The setting was beautiful, gorgeous room and fabulous food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Mmmm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure if you only get the ‘not so good’ room if you book other than through Pheasant website direct. We paid £90 which is not cheap but slightly less than what we have paid £90-£115. Room ( Eaton) beau view but room needs a bit of TLC. Bathroom lethal, a step down from bedroom, step up to loo. Ankle breaker if you wander to use middle of night! Couldnt leave light on as air-vent one mighty rattle. Pheasant on ‘eat out websites’ stating veg/vegan choices, be prepared quite hopeless if Vegan, average if Vegetarian. Bar menu overpriced as its just bar food. Breakfast was again just ‘ok’. Overall stay not worth £90.

    Location is great. We have stayed on numerous occassions and could not fault. Staff always welcoming, accomodation clean. Food super. However...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location and views but disorganised reception and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The organisation in the pub/restaurant. We had to check in in a very busy part of the pub on a hectic Saturday afternoon which wasn't ideal. We had booked a table for dinner well in advance (and sought E Mail confirmation as we had rung to book on at least 1 previous occasion and when we arrived they didn't have our booking!!) but still waited a long time for our order to be taken and then to get served. After approx 45 minutes I had to ask them to clear our plates (from our main course as we had decided not to have a starter) after numerous staff had walked past us without doing so. It was too late to order desserts and coffee at this stage.

    The view from the room and pub is fantastic. The room was clean, well equipped and modern. Breakfast was good even though we didn't get precisely what we had asked for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Great location with wonderful views if you don’t mind being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tired and disappointing compared to the room. The food was quite expensive for pub food but given the location we were a captive audience

    Great location with wonderful views if you don’t mind being a bit more remote. Room was comfortable and well decorated. Food was good and special menu looked really interesting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contrary to what my advance Booking.com confirmation (supported by verifiable credit card) seemed to indicate, we were abruptly told on arrival that the Inn's Head Office had recently changed its policy so that full UP-FRONT payment for the cost of rooms was now being demanded at check-in. This happened even before we were shown those rooms or given keys to them. Ludicrously, there was no problem in running an apparently-unlimited "tab" for our related food/drink costs, which we then paid separately on departure.

    Leaving this otherwise excellent Inn (much enjoyed on a previous visit) - never to return again, solely because of their daft payment policy on check-in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    as lovely as it was we thought 220.00 quite steep for a one night stay.

    Views from room and outside seating areas,friendly staff,decor,in bar,restaurant and room,menus and generous portion size.great breakfast plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Best place I have stayed in for ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Great location, great staff and the food was excellent. The views over north Wales are spectacular !! This is a little gem of a hotel and pub. We certainly will be staying there again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Fab pub, restaurant and hotel all in one, we will be back, staff were all friendly and knowledgeable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't find the bed as comfortable as we would have expected, but that is probably personal opinion

    Beautiful country location, gorgeous rooms, fantastic food. Very dog friendly :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Great pub but massively expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was meant to be dog friendly and walker friendly, but there was nowhere for the dog to sleep (and I don't carry a dog bed in my backpack). The room and facilities are very basic considering how expensive a room is.

    Great location with amazing views across to the Welsh hills. Accommodation right next door to pub, the pub is very cozy and had lovely good. Shower room was on suite, good shower and comfortable bed. Pub only 2 minutes from the Sandstone Trail.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed overall not what you expect from a 5 star rating.Over priced for what we receive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wife unable to get into high bath to get to the shower. Booked for 3 evening meals but after restaurant being unable to cater to my wife’s dietary needs we ate out 4 miles away at a lovely pub for our meals. Breakfast, they ran out of Rice Krispies 1st day so we had to go and buy our own

    Nice bedroom,bar and restaurant exactly what we expected

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Booked here knowing they had internet connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked here knowing they had internet connection.Showed strong signal but unable to connect.I had some important emails to work on and send.Contacted reception with no joy.Also not happy with dogs running around the restaurant while having my meal.Everything was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The Pheasant is a Very High standard of B&B - Well worth visiting. Well done
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The addition of a face cloth in the room would have been good., however all in all - a very good experience.

    Very high level of comfort throughout. Food was excellent. Room facilities were also excellent, soft furnishing, quality of the curtains fabrics, very comfortable bed all good. The bathroom was well appointed too Well done The Pheasant Inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay would recommend it to friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Excellent breakfast, main menu was very good, but for us, not enough vegetarian options and could have been spicier. Excellent staff and very dog friendly atmosphere. A bit difficult to find as sat nav was sending us off course.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what I’d class five star accommodation. Bathroom needed refurbishing, especially around the shower area. Folding door to the bathroom didn’t close properly. It took ages to check in, due to a new person who didn’t know the system being left unsupervised. Staff not unpleasant but not exactly welcoming (apart from the new person). We also had a ground floor room right next to the beer garden so it was noisy...could benefit from some triple glazing

    Location close to Bolsover Castle with great views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service,we had booked 2 rooms for 4 people and booked an evening meal.We were put on a table for six in the window in full glare of sun with no blinds.when asked if we could change table it was with grudging reluctance. Staff had drinks very late at night,one of our party had to go down and say something.when the management heard they made no apology. Some fittings in both our rooms were broke or missing. No water in the rooms. Both rooms cost £150 a night and one room was much much smaller. Staff had a very offhand attitude, no seemed to know anything and the manager surly. No one asked if the meal or our stay had been ok. Will not be going here again. Vastly overpriced, I've stayed in more welcoming,attentive, better equipped guest houses.

    The view from our room. It was halfway stop while we were walking the Sandstone Trail. Next time I'll camp!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Par excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find fault with anything about the Pheasant Inn. Excellent room and en suite, very clean, staff are well trained and service was excellent. The Pheasant Inn should have a 4* Award. Suzy 🇬🇧

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Again another wonderful stay with my dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked to have seen some daily specials on the menu. Great starters, unadventurous mains.

    Another great stay at this wonderful Pub/Hotel. As usual everything was perfect, room beautifully decorated staff friendly and food wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Relaxed break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab location excellent food and staff very friendly and helpful could not fault a single thing. good location will be back now i have this hidden gem

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, beautiful setting and attentive staff throughout the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I didn't like.

    You can't beat the setting and location on a sunny day looking over the Cheshire plains. The most stunning sunset ever. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard, we had an upstairs room in one of the old barns with the view that was hard to beat. The restaurant was cosy, food delicious and a good selection of drinks. The bed was comfy and the bathroom of a high spec. Breakfast was my favourite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    looking forward to going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    this accommodation was way above my expectations on all levels, it was to the standards of the best in the uk. the room was very plush and comfortable and an amazing view over the countryside . the food in the restaurant was great as was the breakfast. we went to a festival near by and the accommodation and staff there was the best part of our mini break .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt unpleasant and the power continually went off causing something to alarm in the room and causing a restless nights sleep

    Perfect location. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant what more can I say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience

    I booked this as a birthday gift for my daughters 30th she was amazed absolutely loved it ,she stayed in the superior room, she said the food was delicious , would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Haven in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water in rooms - unless it was an anti-plastic stance needs a solution

    Great breakfast - amazing views. Good energy about the place - a little haven in the hills!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Stunning location, staff efficient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location, staff efficient and friendly. Dog friendly too in all areas. Beer garden overlooking rolling fields, peaceful relaxing break. Breakfast menu extensive, had eggs royale, very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Stunningly located and friendly place to stay with a good choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only regret was that we were allocated a traditional, not a contemporary room, in the main building. It was a large room with a fantastic view but with old bathroom fittings and the bed was not particularly comfortable with a tendency to roll into the middle of the mattress. In addition, the plumbing had frequent noisy air locks. I'd love to stay again but for me a contemporary room (though probably smaller) in a separate building would make all the difference as the views can be enjoyed from the outside tables and also from the restaurant anyway.

    We had a traditional bedroom on the first floor of the main building - the view was absolutely stunning. Menu was fairly extensive and the food was nice. As guests, a table was always reserved for us for dinner which was lucky as they were always busy. Staff were pleasant. Nice tables to sit outdoors and enjoy the gorgeous scenery. Parking was easy and plentiful and the overall atmosphere of the place was really nice. A short (20 mins) journey into Chester.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend The Pheasant for a stay in Cheshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike! Would have appreciated a small fridge in the room ?

    The staff made us very welcome, the whole experience was excellent, so much so we’ve booked again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice as a special treat, but probably won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rather small with only table and lamp to one side of bed. Overall bit pricey for what you got.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Ensuite shower and bath excellent. Fantastic views from hotel, food good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and would certainly consider s return stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more seating inside for non diners. Although not prohibited the set up gives the feeling that tables are for diners rather than those just wanting to have a drink.

    Location superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed, look good on the website, shame it felt more like a kennels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was poor, check in was the bar!! We arrived after 6pm and were left waiting in middle of bar while staff served drinks, so no dedicated receptionist, first impressions was that I thought I’d stumbled into a kennels, the bar seemed to be full of dogs, not all people are dog lovers and to sit down later for a meal and to be sharing it with a big black lab isn’t my idea of having an evening meal, it’s not hygienic people 🤔!! The service was slow and very sketchy, food wasn’t anything to shout Home about and not to a standard you would expect from the star rating, the same applied to the breakfast, I asked for full English without tomato and guess what was on plate !! So again service poor, also didn’t appreciate having to share my breakfast with dogs, why does the manager think it is acceptable to have dogs in a restaurant and dog owner think it’s also okay?!?

    Room was well appointed if on the small side, bathroom was modern and newly installed however bowl type sink was both set too high and too small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful Inn and views in the heart of the Cheshire Plains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in Restaurant was a little slow, staff seemed more concentrated on cleaning tables than serving customers. Considering we were guests of the Inn, it was difficult to get a table inside to sit at for a quiet drink, after our meal, as the whole Inn/Restaurant is totally table service only, for meals. Only one high table and 2 stools are available for drinks other than the bar itself.

    Great Location, Great views across the Cheshire Plains to the Welsh Mountains. Food & Wine in the Restaurant was a good selection at a reasonable price. As a returning guest it was good to see the ambience of the Inn had not changed but had been enhanced and the overall character of the Inn had remained the same. Great stopover for walkers on the Sandstone Trail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Always bring visitors to the pheasant, amazing views, and food, and relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the fact it’s dog friendly, but of evening and breakfast not sure if dogs should be in restaurant.

    Took sister for birthday treat as I’d been before, we did 2 walks and then relaxed and was looked after by the pheasant staff which was amazing,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed the break away from home. A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Loved the view from the bedroom. The decor was really nice and the shower was excellent. Enjoyed all the meals from breakfast to evening meals. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Love this little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, modern and stylish. Great views of the Cheshire plains and lovely walks on the sandstone trail. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A memorable occasion, very special place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew there was no choice from the start but the only thing which would have made it perfect for us personally was twin beds.

    Everything, but the fantastic staff made it extra special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again, but make sure to drive as leaving can be difficult with no taxis!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was able to get a taxi to the b&b but they didn't have access to taxi numbers to help arrange an outward journey, which is a bit odd.

    It was very charming with real fires in the Inn with a lovely meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    would only rate the venue 3 start plus not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waited over an hours for our lunch as there was a mix up with the order going through to the kitchen. Dinner not very exciting

    Very good room, waited over an hours for our lunch as there was a mix up with the order going through to the kitchen. The dessert was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    A pretty well run establishment. The staff were charming despite being extremely busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed room was well appointed however, our bed was very uncomfortable , the mattress dipped in the middle resulting in a poor nights rest.

    The evening meal and breakfast was very good indeed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views over the Cheshire plain were stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay well worth recommending to friends but check location of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room (Tabley) adjacent to waste bin area, therefore, Noise of bins being emptied at 07.15 hours on Monday, noise of lorry loading/unloading at 05.00 hrs on Tuesday.

    Views, atmosphere, friendly staff, food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.5
    pheasantly fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only little choice at dinner for vegan. what we had was lovely though. better coffee for breakfast. didn't taste great and was a bit heavy duty . breakfast food was lovely though and lot of choice. a special seated cosy area for just drinks and chats would be lovely rather than all restaurant but great atmosphere all round though

    comfy bed very cosy decor, great bath and shower great view!! the staff were wonderful. special shout out to Adam who's customer service was excellent, friendly and accommodating. loved the fires and setting. breakfast was fab as was the quinoa salads and chunky chips.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Good food, great location. Thoroughly recommend it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper try and avoid the Tabley room. It's by the rear gate and the delivery vans arrive at silly o'clock in the morning....😄

    Great location, good food, friendly staff. A lovely spot for a break. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting, been twice and snowed both times, just so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it all.

    Beautiful setting, been twice and snowed both times, just so beautiful. Stayed in upstairs room, views were absolutely stunning. Pub with real open fire, prices reasonable, we ate in restaurant, again had the steak it was amazing. Staff so friendly, bar manager Chris, went over and beyond by driving us into the next little town as unable to get a taxi. Breakfast again amazing. Planning to go again a couple of weeks. Love the peacefulness. Excellent hotel, highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Welcome place to rest before battling the snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a little chilly when we arrived but fine once the heating was turned up

    The whole atmosphere was welcoming, the food excellent with lots of choice, service friendly and prompt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    This is by far one of the loveliest places I’ve stayed in.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor boards were a little noisy is the only issue that we remarked on.

    The room was lovely and warm considering we stayed over on one of the coldest nights this winter. We woke up in the morning without any aches and pains from sleeping on a different mattress with different pillows. We ate in the restaurant sitting next to the cosy open fire and enjoyed an extensive choice of menu served to us by extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. The Pheasant inn is off the beaten track away from road noise with lots of accessible walks to enjoy the outdoors. Our dogs loved the attention from staff and visitors at the Pheasant Inn. They even had their own exit for the use of the garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    That feeling when you know you are at the right place........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views superb over West Cheshire, excellent service for Sunday evening meal which could not be faulted. Roast beef dinner, a couple of desserts and a comparatively basic bottle of Merlot.....very good value, and even better service and quality. Happy as the proverbial......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Just perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The hotel is just lovely all round. The location is excellent, our room was beautiful, all we needed and spotlessly clean. The staff go out of their way to help and the food was fantastic! We will be returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, apart from the issues reported above. Excellent food and staff and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first day of arrival, I reported that the plumbing (toilet?) next door made a very loud noise when used but nothing had changed on our departure!

    Excellent location, excellent meals, comfortable bed but could have done with 2 moveable chairs in bedroom 10.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Location for walking if that's your thing ,good , loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television. .... only got BBC 1&2 no signal for my two night stay , slooooooooow wifi if you get it .. Staff nice - but need to understand their voices travel so when there talking about work / other members of staff , and customers , they may want to wait till that person can't hear ...

    Location for walking if that's your thing ,good , loved the idea you can take pets . Food was good but maybe expensive to what you got .. I was alone and still managed £35 for my evening meal !! And that's not being extravagant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Loved it and will be visiting again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one little niggle perhaps a variation or more choice on the menu.

    The food and the accommodation were excellent. Decor in our room which had recently been up dated I believe was quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    An excellent overnight stay and a wonderful circular walk from the pub to Beeston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I were upgraded on arrival staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms in the barn conversion. Beautiful room with a fabulous view. The pub itself has a very classy feel with excellent food and a great choice of beers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Excellent , will definitely be returning. It is now on our list of preferred stays.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wardrobe space was very tight even for 1 night. Would prefer not to see dogs allowed into the restaurant areas.

    Room was nicely decorated. Bed was very comfy. Superb shower. Lovely views from the room. Restaurant choice and quality was excellent. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Cosy country retreat, with open fires, great food and comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Warm, cosy, comfy bedroom, with powerful shower. Pub served delicious evening meal next to an open fire, and super cooked and continental breakfast next day. Walks from the door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    A lovely long weekend celebrating friends wedding in beautiful surroundings with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t overly keen on breakfast. Not really geared up for gluten free or other allergies or intolerances. Ordered eggs benedict but the gluten free bread was too much. Two huge buns instead of muffins. Found service not as good at breakfast Sunday 7th as it was the evening before If you’re going to stay here and have to venture out to an occasion where you plan to have an alcoholic drink, research the taxi situation before hand! We paid £55 on a Saturday night to get to Tarporley and back.

    Bed extremely comfy. Staff went out their way to help us get taxis and lifts to a wedding celebration nearby. We ate in the restaurant on a Saturday evening and the service was excellent. Very attentive and polite young male attended to us. Setting here is beautiful. Stunning views from our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in facility not good...chaos...no lobby area,to sit and wait...no water out at breakfast...weak coffee...having to ask for refills...toast on rations!

    Bar area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Fab outstanding service from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    This hotel an it’s staff was exceptional. We visited last weekend as we was attending a wedding at peckforton castle an they went above an beyond especially chris. I would go back no question. 5 star treatment and a lovely family atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Stunning location & hotel with amazing staff & fabulous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An absolutely stunning hotel in a beautiful location. The room was gorgeous, the staff were approachable, friendly and helpful, the service was faultless and the food was amazing. This Hotel was recommended to us by friends who has been for lunch and we decided to also stay. I have recommended this Hotel and Restaurant to everyone I have spoken to and will continue to do so. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can. Thank you to all the staff there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Very clean and comfortable, only downside was that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable, only downside was that the window in the bedroom wouldn’t open for when it got a bit too hot. Breakfast was delicious and service from staff exceptional 👌🏽

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend it highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problems with our GPS finding the place and had to use Google maps on an iPhone.

    Staff were welcoming and the restaurant was excellent. Great range of food. Our room was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice location BUT very rude and unprofessional senior management behaviour indeed!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid this place! Very rude and unnecessary management correspondence by email due to an early departure. Following a nice telecon with junior management to clear the mix up the senior manager was unprofessional and not simply NOT fit for purpose. Leading me to end the relationship with a lovely establishment which I have been to several times.

    room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't fault the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. Not much room for luggage or your clothing. Paying these prices you would expect them to provide bath robes and bottle water!

    Couldn't fault the staff. All really helpful and very polite. A credit to The Pheasant Inn!! The place was really nice very clean and welcoming. We really enjoyed our 2 nights. There was an issue when came to pay. The Inn said it was £30 over what I was quoted on Booking.com. Thankfully I had my email to confirm the payment or I would have had to pay the £30 extra. So when booking be care take your confirmation email with you. A couple before us had same problem. So clearly..there is an issue here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    The room and views were incredible. The staff were so polite and friendly. The food was a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our table could seat 8, there was two of us. We were in the corner in the dark. You couldn’t see your food and to be honest it wasn’t worth the price. The quality was not there.

    The staff were friendly but being out the way it was easy for us to be neglected when trying to order food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    An absolute breeze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazing and the staff were brill, what a perfect country stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city! They are also perfect at catering for pooches of all sizes, to me that's an added bonus. We are already planning out next stay there and will make it a quarterly visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing retreat into the glorious Cheshire countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy water running through heated towel rail in bathroom. Seating for breakfast meant that I had to disturb other guests during their meal to get off their chair and tuck it in so I could get past. Dino g area was t full so other table could have been laid for us.

    Warm greeting cosy room tho a little too warm at night. Were given fresh milk without hesitation when asked for our hot drinks in the room. Decor gorgeous and excellent condition.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant, friendly staff and would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps extend breakfast to 10am rather than 9.30am abd we felt under pressure to order although we were last in !

    Great accommodation, food and drink and particularly accommodating for gluten free with special menus already prepared which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Good food, clean place and a barmaid who appreciates fine ales and was able to advise :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy table consisted of an over excited work group turned up and made far too much noise. Not the facilities issue, so we just moved location in the bar and all was good again.

    Friendly staff, pretty location, clean rooms and not a bad price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall a lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog hairs on bed but we were upgraded. People downstairs came back at 2am & woke us up as noisy.

    Views were amazing. Staff very helpful. Food fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    An excellent overnight stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Updated rooms are very good. Despite issues with heating ( soon sorted ) and a mini plumbing leak in the bathroom we still feel a high rating is appropriate. My rather complex dietary needs were catered for with positivity and enthusiasm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    High quality food and accommodation with friendly staff and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - really enjoyed our stay.

    The newly refurbished room in the barn conversion was excellent - high quality and comfortable. We ate at the Pheasant in the evening and the food was excellent - as was breakfast with food freshly cooked and a good range on the menu. All staff were professional and friendly. We knew where the Inn was (we've been for a drink there before) but I can imagine it may be harder to find for first timers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have a bath as advertised on Booking.com The inn was fully booked so they were unable to move me to a room with a bath but they were very apologetic and gave me a substantial discount

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signposting to the Pheasant could have been a little better as it is out in the countryside, slightly 'off the beaten track'.

    Comfortable, clean, friendly..... I can't fault it in any way. I would recommend The Pheasant to anyone wanting a quiet country location from which to explore the attractive surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely pub but not at all easy to find
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very remote and extremely difficult to find on a wet night. Our room was in a separate building across the yard from the main pub and we struggled to operate the key to the outer door and became quite wet in the process. We were returning from a wedding and the pub was closed. At breakfast we sat with another wedding guest who was already halfway through her meal and for some reason the waitress did not understand that we were a separate group and was very slow to take our order. The manager who booked us in was a bit thin on charm and local knowledge.

    This is a lovely pub and the room and bathroom were very well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing in the end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel very disappointed that I accidentally left my phone charger in the room. When I rang The Pheasant I was informed they had found it. I asked for it to be posted out to me and offered to pay the postage. I was informed they would speak to the manager and felt sure that would be fine but if there was a problem they d get back to me. As yet no charger no phone call.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    A Great Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The decor and ambiance is first class. The food was excellent and the breakfast could not have been better. The room was spacious light and airey and the bathroom is enormous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough to help us...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough to help us and make sure our stay was satisfactory. Really friendly and proffesional. Beautiful location, And a really traditional and quirky hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: