Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Birchtree Hotel

1 Maxwell Street, Dalbeattie, DG5 4AH, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Dalbeattie

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we were put in was very hot couldnt open window because of a lot of noise cold tap ran warm we asked for extra pillows thought it was ridiculous we couldnt get any as cupboard was locked we didnt have a great sleep breakfast was`poor they only serve instant coffee which we had to make and cooked breakfast wasnt very appetising

    staff were friendly location was good the soup we had when we arrived was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremly hot and a little uncomfortable to get to sleep in even though we slept with the window open. The hotel did have portable fans in the room which we used through the night although this did make a bit of a difference it was still quite hot. In the morning the staff on duty did ask if everything was alright so we did mention the problem with the heat and he explained that it was an issue that the hotel was trying to rectify possibly with some type of air conditioning. Despite the issues we would stay here again as it is a modern hotel with some nice features and the staff were excellent.

    Modern hotel,friendly staff we also liked the unusual shower cubicle in the corner of the bedroom it was quirky but excellent to use as it was quite big. The breakfast was made to order and very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The top floor is not advisable for pensioners like us as you have to negotiate two steep flights of stairs

    The staff,food,and drinks were all excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not being informed when booking that there was musical entertainment in the bar on two of the nights we stayed...as said before(social media) I would not have booked if known as it went on till after 11.30pm !!..... Also could not have our room windows open as the entrance was below them and smokers congregated at the door !!! Roller blinds left the street lighting in, especially as they did not go edge to edge(blackout curtains would be a brilliant addition)

    Evening meals were splendid and more than enough on the plate. Rooms were very clean and have to say that it is good that this hotel are using extra large bath towels, I wish more would !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very very hot . It was good weather but we were near the kitchen and when you opened the window the noise from the road was loud . Also the shower cubicle was in the room not ideal as I was staying with my adult daughter . Also through the night the water running from the COLD tap was very warm this is not acceptable. I did mention this to the reception (bar) staff on departure

    The restaurant was good because we were seated at the French doors looking into the river . Restaurant is small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very light overnight due to an outside street lamp.

    Enjoyed our stay. A great spot to base and enjoy the area. Room was a great size, fresh and clean. Friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a bit of a semi-hostel feel. Room was small with separate WC but shower & sink in the bedroom.

    Staff here were truly amazing!! Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking the river, and the liveliest pub in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock hard. Tv had a very poor reception. Very basic breakfast choices and NO croissants! Kitchen/breakfast staff miserable and untidy - uniforms were filthy.

    Nice large shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING TO DISLIKE AT ALL

    Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, and absolutely delicious and well presented food (even the simple fish and chips). Comfortable bed, lovely room, extremely clean. Good supply of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great place to stay. Clean, well decorated - if a bit plain - great bar and staff mainly very welcoming. Bar was a great night out after a lovely and not too expensive meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where should I start...this hotel is essentially rooms above a bar so we arrived to locals stood in the entrance smoking and spitting! Had it not been so late in the day we would have simply driven on. The bar was noisy with the addition of children riding around on their scooters. In the early hours of the morning we were awoken by locals screaming and shouting right outside the building. When asked to quieten down by a fellow guest a fight broke out ...it was safe to say my partner and I slept very little that night. At 8.30am my partner went to get us a table for breakfast which we had been told would be available between 8am and 11am. However he returned to the room saying that the chef had just turned up and was obviously still drunk from the night before plus the dining room smelt awful..,the cooking aromas from the previous night still so overpowering that he had had to open doors and windows!! Subsequently we gather our belongings and left only to pass a lady at the entrance washing away the blood from the previous nights fighting ....WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING !!!

    The room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    Everything, the staff are all genuinely nice people, nothing was forced. The food is amazing, the best onion rings I’ve had, EVER!!! Everything in the room was spotless and had everything we needed, we could even bring our dog who loved the pub and the staff who always brought her fresh water the minute they seen her. Only mmm was the teapots and milk jugs at breakfast, but being able to have breakfast up till 11am made up for it :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We turned up and despite having confirmation from booking.com there was no room for us. We had travelled a considerable distance to get there and myself and my young son were soaked and filthy having down a practice lap at an MTB race - the reason for us being there, so I was not happy at all and ended up having to get a much more expensive hotel 20k away, the whole reason for booking here was proximity to an event.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked very grubby all over carpets filifty poor service damp spots in bedroom walls and ceilings, no headboards on beds . Breakfast awful I requested something for gluten free diet they had no bread or cereal no fruit of any sort restaurant didn’t look very clean tables weren’t set properly other guests had to go looking for cutterly etc .

    Towels and shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was live music on during the night we stayed until midnight. I thought this was a bit late, and it was so loud it vibrated our room!

    The hotel was right in the centre of town so good location. The food at the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice on the restaurant menu (which was for hotel guests only). You can also eat in the bar. The staff were very friendly and got on to fixing the problem straight away when the radiator in our room broke and was too hot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Don't judge by outside appearance. This hotel might look like an old pub, but inside it's modern, warm and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower and handbasin whilst in the room were recessed very nicely, with the loo in it's own room for privacy. We don't usually go for a twin room, but since our booking was very last minute, we took the twin and I can't honestly say we were put out or disappointed. From very friendly and helpful staff, to the restaurant for guests only (although the pub downstairs does sell food), nothing was too much trouble, the food was pub priced but a very high restaurant quality - complete with excellent presentation. Delicious. And all at an exceptionally low price for the room. Although this is the first time we've stayed at the Birch Tree, it won't be our last. This has just become our new regular hotel of choice for our frequent getaways to Dalbeattie!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water pressure was very poor, didn’t bother in second morning. Cooking smell - think extractor was outside our window?

    The extremely friendly & helpful staff Room & en-suite spotless & very comfortable Great standard for the cost

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Karaoke was noisy no good for relaxing. Shower poor pressure maybe couldn't work it correctly. Wasn't too happy being asked to pay before the stay

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked hotel it was for a standard double with a bath but when we got there we got put in a family room with no bath. We got there a little later than expected and had to get ready to go to family party. Pub was very busy and disnt have time to contact a member of staff about room.

    Hotel was great. Rooms where spacious and clean and meals in restaurant was brilliant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have useful to have an electric toothbrush adaptor in the bathroom.

    There is everything to like about this hotel; the staff; the room; the cleanliness; the value for money; the meals; the bar; the staff (worth a double mention). The Birchtree has a boutique feel to it, with the bonus of superb customer experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic in pillows every time you turned in bed could hear the rustling of plastic, shower in same room as bed.

    Very friendly staff, room was spotless clean a bit on small side but had all we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing spoilt our new year closed the bar at 10/30 ON new years eve nowhere to have a drink and celebrate the new year travelled 200 miles for nothing what a big disappointment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had the potential to be amazing but it was overcooked. There was no milk, juice or bread and the coffee pot was cold. Basically another member of staff needed.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to dislike.

    Everything about the hotel was above my expectations, the staff were great, room was great, food was great. The best value stay I've had in years. Whole hotel was spotless, made very welcome by all of the staff. Would definitely recommend and will stay again next time I'm in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel cannot improve on the excellent service and facilities that I experienced

    The staff of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful during my stay and I cannot thank them enough for their assistance at a very distressing time for me. I will be staying here again and know my stay will be enjoyable. A big thank you to everyone at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to plug the kettle in across the room as we didn’t see one near the drinks tray. Room was a bit chilly even after turning on the heating boost.

    The staff were fantastic! And the food was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    I had been last year and it was exactly the same. It is a lovely Hotel very friendly very efficient, great value. The food was great had meals most nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we were on the lower level it was very noisy and as i booked months in advance was disappointed this was the room we were allocated

    Spotlessly clean, great staff and good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Food Excellent, staff Friendly and chatty, Very clean and comfortable room, The hotel has just been refurbished superb through out. Bar prices very reasonable, satalite TV Really recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was situated at a Very, very noisy corner road. Room very hot ,hence they supplied a fan in the wardrobe to use. No mirror by shaver socket. The shower, toilet and sink were not separated from sleeping area. Parking a short walk to hotel. Would not be able to stay longer than the two nights we were there.

    The bed was comfortable. Staff friendly. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    An excellent venue. Very clean. Well decorated. Spacious room. Our visiting to the dining room resulted in an excellent breakfast with various choices for the hot food with fruit juice, cereals, tea and coffee etc.. as much as you wanted with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous night due to occupants of next door room. Partied in their room with additional guests until 6am. They were loud and abusive. Spoiled what otherwise would have been a pleasant stay. We were told they were contract workers, staff assured us that it would be dealt with. Other guests suffered too, we weren't the only ones. The staff were very kind and sympathetic.

    Lovely staff and clean comfortable room. Had dinner at the hotel which was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have a beaker or glass to use at sink, we asked at the bar for glasses.

    Everyone was very helpful and pleasant, made very welcome during our stay, the food is extremely good value and quality, big thanks to everyone who kept the hotel very clean and tidy. Brilliant, keep up the great service and food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom, bar area, breakfast / dining room all have been refurbished to a standard I would expect from a big city hotel. This place is a gem in hiding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night as the room was directly above the bar patio area. There was no parking. The room was very small.

    It was clean and freshly decorated. Shower was nice. Breakfast was good and when we ate in the restaurant the staff were very accommodating for different dietary requirements and were really pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but would like to see some fresh fruit offered. The bar is incredibly noisy if sport on TV but this can't be helped.

    The overal decor was excellent and the room and public area were spotless. It was clear that the hotels seeks and delivers excellent standards. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They lost our booking. And were not immediate to come forward with their mistake. it took 45 minutes to confirm they would honour our booking. Others from the hotel complained about a club night that was run monthly on the Friday night. They moved out before the next evening

    The staff were helpful when they realised they'd lost the booking. The did eventually house find a room for us but it took a good 45minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast just ok: self service tea / coffee (only instant) and unable to facilitate my gluten free companion. Rooms somewhat overheated. Noisy generator outside bedroom window.

    Staff pleasant. Restaurant overlooks the river. Good dinner. Great showers! Had selected twin room but were assigned standard double (booking.com). Manager made good offer on two standard doubles instead.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was disappointed that there was not onsite parking. Whilst there was a car park close by, it was a public car park that could not be seen from the hotel. My room was above the bar and the telly was far too loud and the noise travelled, making it difficult to settle for sleeping. Room was far too warm, had to leave the windows open all day and it was too noisy at night to leave them open due to passing traffic.

    Food was delicious and the bedroom was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a twin room and had to pay on arrival. The shower opened straight into the bedroom which would not be suitable for all those booking this type of room. A lot of noise from the bar up until 1.30 am on a Tuesday night.

    Beds were comfy. Good dinner, as was breakfast. Shower was efficient. Nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy residents in room next door when they came back from drinking at the bar.tv loud banging doors.& very loud voices.i thing they were workmen that went to the bar after they finished work.other than that it was a nice stay lovely staff.i think next time i would take a room at the back of the hotel.

    Close to visit easy access to other places.did not have to travel far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome when we arrived was a bit strange. We had to check in at the bar, which is acceptable if you don't have a check in desk, however, the gentleman who dealt with us had no confirmation of our stay and tried to charge us extra as he wasn't sure what we had booked. When we were taken up the stairs to the room, the smell coming from the kitchen was disgusting, it smelt like old cooking oil. The breakfast service was a shambles. We arrived, no offer of hot food or a menu. I Had to ask the server, who was also the chef, to advise us. She took us over to the till and read the options off of a scrap of paper. We weren't asked for a room number or anything. We could of just walked off of the street. The food that was served was adequate.

    The bed was a good size and very comfortable. I booked a double room, but was given a family size room which was nice to have the extra space. I would recommend for a base, to travel to other parts of Dumfries and Galloway. However, I wouldn't recommend for an extended stay or for meal times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A key box for departure would be good as it was hard to locate staff at check out time.

    Lovely hotel with a nice bar and the food one restaurant was good too. Rooms look recently refurbished and are clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good. The room we had had a bath in the central room, I think as there was a good view it would have been better to have a sofa as only one chair in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in public car park some 100m away. Lots of stairs to room.

    Good old fashioned Scottish country pub in a small town. Friendly staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is spoilt by the bar downstairs. Couldn't open the window because of noise of people smoking outside and traffic noise.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast was nice but the service was a bit lacking compared to what an established B &B would normally offer. It was clearly a newly employed Saturday girl who didn't know her menu and I am sure the new manager will sort this out. It was not a problem for us but the bedrooms are all up stairs on upper floors without a lift.

    The hotel is on the main street and has a lively local bar on the ground floor. If local people go that is a good sign. However we did not hear any noise from that upstairs in the bedrooms There was an open mike night when we were there, which was fun and we enjoyed the entertainment. A new and experienced manager has just taken over (just been there for 3 weeks 30th June) and he will have got things going by the time you read this. A refurbishment is underway in the hallways but the room itself was modern with an excellent large size shower, large comfy bed etc. There is a restaurant but we had already eaten, and there is an outside bar area by the stream with a big outdoor tv screen, as well as the pub indoors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit disorganised, although in a nice way- and it is being done up, so a bit transiently shabby in places. But the room was pristine and cool- the blind was waiting to be put up, but it really didn't matter.

    Very friendly staff, nice welcome. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy weathervane above bedroom on roof creaking throughout night due to wind. Very little sleep.

    Comfortable lounge bar. Spacious bedroom quirky en suite facilities in bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with curtains ,the blinds are not good enough. The shower wasn't powerful enough.

    The beds were very good. Service and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was fantastic,bed very comfortable,staff were very contientious .a fabulous breakfast .the bar was very welcoming and the friday night singer was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was very pleasant, no complaints, staff were lovely and helpful and the rooms were spotless and the shower was amazing. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day of arriaval very quiet second day same but on Friday night all hell broke loose disco open mic revellers very loud music till midnight same on Saturday then calm restored on Sunday and Monday

    Staff very friendly very welcoming food good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to know that there was an open mike night the evening of arrival and that the room was just above the bar.

    Rooms were clean and well presented. Staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was right above the public bar- Nothing like having a Disco in your room. Thankfully it shut off just after 12. Shower was in a cubicle inside the room- weird set-up

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be difficult with heavy luggage, but the personnel helped us.

    People were nice. Food was excellent. At breakfast we watched a heron fishing in the burn! Everything was superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the room rather warm at times, even though the radiator was off. It was a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights from the bar downstairs and also other establishments nearby, but this didn't bother us really. It is in the town centre after all!

    Very clean modern room with plenty of hot water. A good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no one seemed to clear up the vacated table at night and at breakfast. miss matched cutlery for each course, but does'nt detracted from the excellent food.

    food was excellent, room was comfortable and clean,bar was trendy, would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was light and airy....we were very grateful there was a fan as we had a room that got the afternoon sun ( which also had a nice view) Bed was very comfy,. The shower looked great, but the water pressure was disappointing. Cooked breakfast was excellent but it would have been nice to also have had some fruit and yoghurt. There was only one member of staff in the restaurant in the mornings, the girl did really well to clear the tables, remember everybody's orders and then cook and serve the breakfast! Would definitely stay here again, great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you have to check it at the bar once you have got pass the locals no separate check in hotel section bar staff not 100% sure on bookings. I paid for a double room ended up with a triple room third bed took up a lot of space made the room feel smaller then it was. My kettle broke had to find a waitress in the resturant to get a new one as couldn't get in the bar as it was packed. Tiny window in alcove of room slightly blocked off by the cupboard air would not get into cool the hot room down. The rooms and hallways very white and clinical no personality to the rooms could do with just a picture or splash of colour on a main wall and the have direction signs in the hall ways kept getting lost as it's all white can tell one area from the next. The place has great potential if it didn't concentrate on mainly the bar such a shame

    Bathroom facilities great we had a shower room. Big bed. Resturant for dinner was brilliant. The young lady doing breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service different each morning if a different person was doing it, quite greasy. Was a little noisy with music on the weekends but was expected as is a pub.

    Very comfy bed, staff friendly and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs darker blinds on windows, or street light shielding. I woke at 0230 thinking I'd overlaid with the brightness of the light coming into the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good ... food was good prices were good... staff very friendly and helpfull .. great walks also

    The water in the room was not very hot and unable to enjoy free standing bath with view in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin room even although a double was booked. Manager would not change us even although we had written confirmation . Dirty sheet had to be removed by staff in room . Bathroom is a shower cubicle in the corner. Quiet room was above bar . Noise awful . Would never stay again

    Not much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow each in room, requested second pillow on the second night, but we were told there were no spare ones. Room was noisy and worse when you open the window to let fresh air in. No fresh air as we were above the kitchen so the room ended up smelling like a kitchen. Also an information booklet in the room would have been good explaining when breakfast was, where, also a contact number or how to get hold of someone when the bar is closed as there is no reception area.

    The staff were all very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and food not good. Noisy bar. Lovely free standing bath which was sold very well by the staff but there was no hot water to use it. Apparently the staff already knew about the problem but omitted to tell us.

    Bedroom was excellent. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation was poor,i was woken both mornings by people upstairs walking about!

    Room was comfortable, open plan is different & quirky. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No glasses in bedroom. No window curtains and blind was not lightproof. Great cooked breakfast but not so good if you like it continental. No fruit or yogurts and poor cereal choice. Noisy extractor fan went all day but thankfully not overnight.

    Newly refurbished, large comfortable bed, well furnished, large TV screen. Fluffy towels, nice bathroom with large shower. Excellent cooked breakfast served by friendly welcoming staff. Used the reasonably priced restaurant both nights and enjoyed freshly cooked food with best chips ever!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel appears better in photographs, lots of cracked walls and peeling paint didnt reflect the apparent recent refurb. A big reason for booking the hotel was the picture/info made out we would have a bath tub in the middle of the room looking out the window (perfect for a romantic getaway) however we didnt have this and on arrival the room was set up for 1 person- only one mug/spoon and towels for 1. The room was smaller then expected. Our room was very hot and even when we turned the radiator off it still stayed on. Very bad nights sleep due to this and the fact our room appeared to be right next to some kind of extractor fan or generator so very very noisy meaning no sleep at all the 2nd night for my partner. Breakfast wasnt awful but not particularly nice either, it tasted of cheap produce. Skipped breakfast the 2nd morning. Bar and restaurant is very small and the bar was far too over crowded and hot to stay and enjoy drinks all evening. It wasnt an awful stay and the hotel was ok, probably would of prefered ot more if we hadnt paid £70 per night as i feel this isnt very good value for money. Again, not awful but not worth £70 and we wont be staying again.

    Staff are friendly and helpful and the room/ hotel was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was quite near ( 300 metres) from the hotel. Because of the hotel location, nothing can be done about this..

    The very pleasant staff. Room was comfortable and spotless. Food was varied and generally good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm vegetarian asked for vegi lentil soup. Was given CHICKEN soup. At breakfast asked for beans scrambled eggs mushrooms and toast. Was given BACON Soup advertised at £1.50 with a main meal charged £3.95.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No effort to control foul language in lounge bar. Room was directly above kitchen with extractor fan very noisy until 11 pm. No reason for me to be given such a badly located room since there was only me and one other in the hotel. Bed was like a board.

    Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Room was spotless! Good basic pub food reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there was a street light immediately outside our bedroom window which never went off! therefore it was like daylight all night long as the blinds couldnt block it out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, unfinished decor in room and toilet loose from wall. Shower cubicle in bedroom was odd. Breakfast disorganised and told that 'menus had been torn up'.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few stair up to the rooms

    Beautiful modern rooms spotlessly clean. Lovely staff and really lovely meals all in all highly recommended. Great value for money

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75