Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pied Bull

Northgate Street, Chester, CH1 2HQ, United Kingdom

#13 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2702 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay at this hotel on occasion due to the fact I run holiday cottages in Chester and need accommodation if I have no beds available in my own properties. The hotel is perfect for location, value and cleanliness. I will continue to use the Pied Bull as my hotel of choice in Chester

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a small room when we arrived and it wasn’t adiquate for our needs however a good will gesture from the manager to put us in a superior room next day more than made up for our disappointment.

    Our superior Room 2nd night and it was my partners Birthday so they gave him a balloon in the room and chocolates

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not understanding at all of the situation of two rooms Being booked and one couldn’t be changed due to there “policy” many hotels I know would happily change the dates and would be understanding . Disgusting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reserved two rooms - one for one adult and another for a father and 18 year old son. The father asked for a separate bed in the room but was ignored. He ended up sleeping on the floor. It is understood that an extra charge is in order, but they were totally unaccommodating. The staff was unexceptionally rude as well. Rooms were over a beer garden or some kind of noisy eating place that was open into the wee hours. Should have stayed at the hotel next to the train station for all it was worth . If you want to actually sleep, be forewarned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the premier room which has the historical features but with a luxurious bathroom and an extremely comfortable king size bed. The Pied Bull is in a great location near to shops and the city walls , as well as a theatre/ cinema. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like, apart from the view of the brick walls which was outside of my bedroom, but hey you can't have everything can you??

    From the moment I entered the Pied Bull, I was greeted by one of the friendly staff, who checked me in.. The breakfast was superb, large enough to keep you going throughout the day, the free wifi was available everywhere. Top class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 19, the shower was not working, screws coming out of the shower unit and the handle fell off the sliding door. I reported this to a staff member who followed me to the room, he said that as it is a power shower (impressive looking) he dare not touch it. I showed him that I understood the controls and he said he would send someone up. On return the other knob was laying in the middle of the bathroom, shower still not working, no note or offer of another room. when I checked out the next morning, staff claimed no knowledge, the guy behind the reception desk couldn't direct me to the university, he didn't know Chester very well. He even failed to print a map to help as it was too faded to read.

    Breakfast was served quick though the bacon was uncooked

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have some members of the group with limited mobility and I never thought to check about the accessibility of the rooms and the old staircase was particularly steep. If we had known this would have requested either ground floor or first floor rooms especially as there is no lift in the hotel. To be honest I should have checked but as there were no warnings re stairs never thought it would be a problem. We will be staying again the staff were exceptional and the service they provided, even down to getting us a good seat to watch the recent royal visit was very good. The rooms are very nice and the bar, restaurant and beer garden were excellent, thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic, the pub itself is beautiful, our room was gorgeous, everything brand new. Loved the boutique style of the rooms. If I’d had more time I would have loved to have a tour of the microbrewery! On checking out our taxi didn’t arrive so the owner’s dad kindly dropped us to the train station! Service that goes above and beyond, it was brilliant !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Tom made us feel very welcome. Great deal on dinner and wine on Monday night. Great value for money and ideal location to see Chester

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was wonderful. Parking not too far away but not on property. Obviously it's in the old city. Staff was extremely welcoming, helped us accommodate our 95 year old traveling companion, and were generally great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was compact but lovely the bathroom was great, the only negative comment I would make is that if you are staying more than a couple of days might be a bit small as no cupboard space or wardrobe, it didn’t matter to us as we were only there one night , the Pied Bull was in a great location not far from the cathedral and to be fair we had our evening meal there and it was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although location was central, it was very noisy at night with the street cleaning and bed was very uncomfortable. Not sure if that was why we were asked to pay on arrival.

    Central location and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it quite noisy but I suppose you have to expect that in the city centre. It was warm so windows were open which didn't help. the noise came from outside with groups of people shouting at 3.30am. Obviously the pub have no control over this.

    The staff were very friendly and the evening meal we had was excellent. The building was full of character including the slightly sloping floor in our bedroom! The Pied Bull is in a good central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street until the early hours. We eventually closed the window but it was a very hot night.

    Everything was perfect - the room was great the Staff were lovely and the breakfast was huge!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not all that comfortable.

    I especially liked the bathroom! Even though the pub/inn was old, the room was newly renovated and the shower was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the two single beds were a little hard. But if it was children sleeping in them it would be no problem.

    The Pied Bull was an amazing Hotel/ pud. The decor was very tastefuly done to fit in with the style of the old building. The famiy room that we stayed in was outstanding the bedrooms were beautifull. The bathroom spacious and modern. But not pretentious. The staff were really friendly. And the food we had In the bar area was definitely restaurant standard. We would stay there again in an instant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning wake up from the bin lorries but can’t be helped

    Bed was so comfy and the room was spotless. Would love to stay again and will be bringing more family next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to have a fan on in the room as it was a hot day..evening the fan was very noisy...could do with investing in some quieter fans.

    Fantastic place and location...staff wonderful...had an interesting chat with the brewer learnt a lot...nice wellies 😁 room 3 is absolutely beautiful!😍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being at the back of the building as I was traveling alone it was out of the way felt away from the other rooms and people also I was above a gateway were the beer delivery was brought in at around 7 in the morning even my bed shook.Very noisy

    The staff were very friendly the room cosy and clean ,there was a portable fan in the room which I had on all night as it was a warm night .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy access for buggy’s.

    Staff were so friendly and went the extra mile for your needs. Plenty of storage, beds were comfy. Bathroom was immaculate, room was tidy. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh as above

    I’m only 5ft 2inches and room 11 is difficult to get down the stairs due to low ceiling. And the shower is not made for anyone much taller than me. And normal coffee not all decaf sachets please.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very roudy at the bar. Language appalling. Felt very uncomfortable so went up to our room. Had a meal towards the end of the evening - felt like we had the leftovers of the day.

    Lovely building. Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and staff very helpful. Amazing location which made our first trip to Chester all that bit easier. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone wanting to explore Chester, who would like a bit of character in their accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything the tv was a bit small for the room, as the room was huge

    Rooms were bright, spacious and clean, We stopped in a four poster room and we were very impressed with the rooms standards and facilities, I would happily stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a opaque glass door on the bathroom door which was not great in a twin room when sharing with someone who is not your partner. With the light on you can see clearly bathroom activity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stopped for a friends 50th birthday celebration, enjoyed a great lunch & real ale in the bar before checking in - rooms were nice & clean, service attentive & finished off with a great breakfast in the morning :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot and the fan provided did nothing. Room very small. Expensive for the size of room and the fact the breakfast wasn’t included and would have been £12 each was disappointing

    The location of the hotel is ideal. Nice decor in the room. We had drinks in the pub before going out and which was a really nice pub with a nice pub garden. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall staff seemed lovely but on arrival one staff member seemed very harassed so was dismissive and did not provide accurate information about the parking in the parking station.

    The position was great. The bed was comfortable. There was a problem with the internet but it was fixed promptly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could smile more. They seemed uninterested.

    Comfy bed and spacious room. Great drinks at the bar. Fantastic location, ideal for a great weekend in Chester.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the room wasn't connecting, asked for help but it wasn't any better. Found this frustrating

    Very central. Olde worlde pub but lovely 21st century rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my window looked our onto a courtyard which looked like the back of the kitchens. It wasn't particularly attractive, but with a bit of work it could look nice.

    The room was gorgeous. Nice size with a stunning period fireplace. The pub is also stunning, with beautiful dark beams and is located in the perfect place. There's easy access to the centre of town which has the most amazing period buildings and the pub is practically opposite the cathedral which is more than worth a look.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all.

    The room was clean and comfortable; the bathroom newly renovated. Lots of character, great value and location. The pub is comfortable, well-run and lively.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could if been a lot better

    The luxury room was lovely but it didn't have the roll bath we wanted plus looking out onto the main road so the noise in the morning wasn't good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was excellent we stayed in a room in one of the cottages. The beers are really good they had peanut butter stout which is gorgeous. The beer garden is very nice . Staff are really friendly will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were amazing for the price and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Cannot recommend enough, would definitely like to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The comfort in the room was a little disappointing as the room was exceedingly hot during the night, making it difficult to sleep.

    The central location was excellent along with the atmosphere of the hotel. The decor was very good and there was a good standard of cleanliness. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the early morning barrel rolling but it is a pub so they have to deliver.

    The rooms are beautiful and has everything you need. Food is very nice. And it’s in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in the price and nothing was mentioned on check in about purchasing one - so we popped next door to the Red Lion and had a great full English

    Stayed to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and have a day at Chester race course. Room was beautifully decorated really had the wow factor!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was lovely but unfortunately above the kitchen and the chef’s music woke us up at 7am and after that couldn’t get back to sleep because of it!

    We were attending an event in Rufus Court so it was perfectly positioned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Lovely room (Room 3) very spacious and comfortable. Location is very good and the staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff promised to phone me about an extra night but never did this is the 4 th time this happened very poor given I have spent the last few weeks staying ther

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 4, looks out to the pub next door that has a very loud generator, it stopped me having a decent night's sleep.

    Lovely room, food great, staff friendly and professional. Had a great stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This does not apply directly to the Pied Bull, but more to its location on the main Street. During the day it is not a problem, but come midnight the loud and vulgar drunken and idiotic people that pass in front of the premises make any sleep nigh on impossible. This in our case went on till after 3am. We then had the misfortune to have a road cleaner pass by and later around 7am a local pub decided to move several beer barrels around outside, I could swear he was trying to get a tune out of them. This as I previously stated is not the fault of the Pied Bull, it is just an unfortunate state of affairs that can only rectified by Policing the street at the appropriate times. Let's hope that something can be done before local hotels etc suffer as a result.

    The Pied Bull is an extremely good hotel/Inn. The rooms are well appointed, clean,well equipped and of a decent size. The breakfast is well cooked and good sized. The pub itself is very well presented with a pleasant beer garden. The staff are without exception all polite, helpful and good natured.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A late check in however we did manage to book in at 2 pm on this occasion.

    The location was brilliant, the room really nice and spotlessly clean. A bonus was having a beer garden too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was find. But the staff getting drunk and swearing loudly did not look good. And because of that. I won’t be staying there again

    Great location. Ideal for the short stay we had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful awful night sleep. We stayed in Room 1 but we might as well have slept on the street there was that much noise coming from the Inn at night. The toilet in the room sounded like a heard of hippos when it was flushed and the walls must be made of paper. Absolute nightmare. Can't comment on the other rooms but avoid Room 1 at all costs!!

    The shower was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Great old building with a couple of ghost stories!! We stayed in room 9 (upgraded for free) the room was huge and very impressive. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have done with a few drawers for clothes, however the wardrobe was big enough. We stayed for four nights, which explains the need for drawer space, whereas I think most people only stay for one or two nights.

    The bed was comfy enough, but a little small. The facilities in the room were good and the shower/bathroom clean and well appointed. The shower had plenty of room. City centre location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Brewers cottage twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one lady behind the bar was simply rude and let the other staff down.. Yawning while serving. no thank you or please and just general bad vibe from her.....

    Location, reception staff great and helpful. Patio area was great and brilliant sun trap. Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location lovely old world hotel full of history clean outside beer garden fantastic food and wonderful selection of real ales brewed on the premises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing I didn’t like was the late 3pm check in and the 10am check out. But hotel staff was very helpful and kept hold of our bags on arrival and when checking out so we could do shopping before going home.

    Loved our hotel room we stayed in number 28 which was the new part of the hotel. Everything in the room was brand new and very clean. Loved everything about it and was very modern decor. Can’t wait to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the heart of the city. Property is full of character, as you would expect being the oldest hostelry in Chester. Second stay here and won’t be the last.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the decor, and glad of the fan provided in the room as it was a very hot day. In the evening after a late night out, the night porter provided a soft drink and snack and was kind enough to add it to my room, so that I could pay when leaving, and one of the staff was very efficient fulfilling all rolls from receptionist to bar staff, and gave good references of the best places to go to in the evening. friendly, helpful staff, Thank-you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 4 - which turned out to be over the beer cellar :-(. What a nightmare. All I heard all through the night was the very loud pressure pump going on and off, then at 6.30am the beer keg delivery nearly threw me out of bed!!! Just closing the beer cellar door shook my whole room! I left feeling extremely tired due to complete lack of sleep and would never stay here again. Customer comfort is definitely low priority. Really disappointing as everything seemed fantastic on check in.

    Loved the place itself, very characteristic and the room looked lovely on arrival. Staff very helpful too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe I'm an old-fashioned girl, but I prefer the bathroom to be private - i.e. NOT a see-through (frosted glass) door. And although my husband thought the shower as great, I didn't like it because the shower head was too high for me, and fixed, so I couldn't use it without getting my hair wet.

    Clean, comfortable, and full of character. Restaurant and pub on site. Right in the heart of the city so everything was easy to get to. Parking close by, and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff who made us feel very welcome. Brilliant beer garden for when the sun is shining and fantastic location. Great value for money and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress wasn't as firm as we are used too but no fault of the hotel, we still slept well but that's literally the only negative thing we can find to say.

    Clean, well maintained, full of character. Polite staff, great facilities and central location. Quiet after 11pm. We will stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above, being centrally located the hotel was noisy at night.

    Central location and although a little noisy the room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Ideal for a one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found no fault with our stay & are already planning a return trip with friends!

    The location is excellent, down the road from the Cathedral & within an easy walk of the shops, Castle & River. The staff are really friendly & helpful. Our room was lovely & modern (twin bedded) with a good sized bathroom & a powerful hot shower. The full English breakfast was excellent. We ate our evening meal in the Pied Bull pub & it was lovely too. Fast service & a good choice of menu. Lots of veggie options available too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Brewers cottage twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small size room might not suit everyone.

    Excellent service in reception and bar. Good value food served promptly. Comfortable room with modern décor, spotlessly clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 4 was so noisy with the penetrating sound of extractor fans all night long and the bang crash whallop of early morning deliveries a good nights sleep was impossible

    For food and drinks a really good place to visit and a good ambiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive to stay due to the races being held close by. I would've expected a comfortable bed from any hotel. The bed we slept in had a cheap metal frame which felt very flimsy. Every time my husband turned over i was afraid it would collapse!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall stay was nice, we weren’t given the option when booking for a larger/better room which I would have like the option of, I booked this for my partners birthday and the room was very small it wasn’t the same as any of the pictures I seen when booking - I thought it woukd have been a lot bigger

    The overall stay was nice, we weren’t given the option when booking for a larger/better room which I would have like the option of, I booked this for my partners birthday and the room was very small it wasn’t the same as any of the pictures I seen when booking - I thought it would have been a lot bigger

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could have been a bit more friendly when we checked in - but it was a race day so they will have been stressed!

    The cleaning staff were extremely helpful in the morning :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite noisy in the room, however, this can't be unexpected as the room was upstairs in pub! This wasn't an issue for us either

    The location was excellent and the room and building was full of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some food and drink was perhaps a little pricey but breakfast was well organised - mainly help yourself - and good value

    Service throughout the day was excellent from a clearly committed team of staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought we had booked breakfast for both mornings but when we arrived we were told we would need to pay extra for the second morning, which we declined. Also, the next door neighbours were very loud at night!

    The location was great and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very squeaky & a bid small . Walls could do with sound proofing could hear next door snoring all night & then there tv went on at 6 am

    Decor & central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure if it was due to the weather but our room was uncomfortably hot.

    I love that the pub/hotel had so much character and our room was AMAZING!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices were a little bit higher than other local bars but the whole experience made it worth while

    Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, room was immaculate, all staff were friendly and chatty, have already recommended to family and friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chester is Chester. You can't fix what's not broken! Beautiful, vibrant city.

    Fantastic location. Efficient, friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Didn't have breakfast there, but 5mins away, right alongside the river was Hickory's Smokehouse; lovely breakfast and great surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brewers cottage double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there is a brewery in the celler there is a strong smell of brewing beer. The smell wasnt pleasant to me but that shouldn't put you off from staying

    The hotel is beautiful, wonderful decor. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Rooms are clean and spacious, super comfy beds. Bathroom products are also provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel light, tracky bottoms, T-shirt. This property has a no caps or tracksuits notice on the front door. So we never ate there in case we were refused service. We would of loved to have lunch here.

    Location was spot on and room was really comfortable,beautiful pub/hotel. Lots of character in this old coach house from the 1500's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a chair/table in the room, but I realise it would have been a bit squashed in.

    Breakfast was very good. Great value for money. Great location. Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Pied Bull traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: