Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. North Yorkshire B&B and inn reviews
  4. Whitby B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Pier Inn

Reviews of The Pier Inn

4-6 Pier Road, Whitby, YO21 3PU, United Kingdom

#76 of 98 B&Bs and inns in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1392 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few things with the room were not ideal such as a slightly wobbly door handle and awkward lock, and the towel rail slightly coming off the wall. But none of these details ruined my holiday for the price of it!

    The staff were very friendly, approachable and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    10
    The Pier Inn is First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we did not like.

    Our room (number 11) was freshly decorated, spotless, comfortable and had a lovely view of the harbour. There was the facility to make tea and coffee and even some lovely biscuits. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Bar service was quick and efficient. Very good breakfast. Also loved the band playing that night. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    9.6
    Breakfast was lovely, cereal & fruit whilst cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was lovely, cereal & fruit whilst cooked breakfast order was being prepared. Could park outside for 20 minutes to offload luggage and get parking permit, parking was close by on the roadside.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    10
    Home frm Home at The Pier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location with view amazing ,clean very comfy room ,breakfast delicious with plenty of choice ,staff very helpful and pleasant. Bar food great choice and reasonably priced it was like home frm home so I've booked again for next yr .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being woke up at silly o’clock by the delivery from the Brewery we could hear everything, the mattress on the bed was horrific every time one of us moved it was like being on a water bed,

    Great location, breakfast Great lots of variety, Staff were brilliant very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    8.3
    If you are after a 4* hotel this will not be for you but if, like us you want a laid back easy break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was an issue but the price paid for being in such a central position and we were given a parking token which allowed us to park further along on the street

    The position of the property was super overlooking the harbour and very central The room was on the small size but adequate, clean and extras ie water, biscuits,tea/coffee etc. were provided En suite facilities were good if small Staff were friendly and obliging and you certainly would not go hungry following a large and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    The assistant manager Frank made our stay so memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing van be changed.. everything was perfect

    A wonderful selection of well cooked food. . full english was yummy.. nothing was too much bother for the staff...

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    The friendly inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable room , great sea view nice friendly staff great breakfast ,will come back again but hope the weather's better next time Whitby a lovely place even in the rain

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    5.0
    Not very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Told breakfast was 7 until 10. We arrived at 8.00 a.m and breakfast not started. Staff were cleaning. Had no breakfast.

    Needs updating. Incorrect breakfast time given.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    8.3
    A brilliant little break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs to the top rooms are a little awkward.

    The location is ideal right next to the harbour. Lovely view from the room could see across the river and up to the abbey. The breakfast was great plenty to eat and well cooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will be returning.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    Lovely child free night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little greasy but didn’t affect our opinion.

    What a lovely place to stay, myself and my husband was very impressed with the room we stayed in and the staff was very helpful and welcomed us in a lovely manner. We would recommend this property to stay as it’s in ideal location and a fair price for location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    5.8
    The bar area where breakfast was served the wooden seats...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar area where breakfast was served the wooden seats were sticky the wood on the chairs need a good deep clean the banister coming down from the bedroom was also sticky again needs a good deep clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent just a shame it was raining a lot on the Saturday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and the evening entertainment and a good full English breakfast The staff were very accommodating Frank carried our cases and sorted out our parking and Charlie looked after us at breakfst

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    9.6
    The view/parking permits /great location /top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beer garden seating literally outside of bedroom window which could put some people off if you wanted a nanna nap, luckilly it was closed, so we had a great view of abbey/harbour.

    The view/parking permits /great location /top staff/lovely brekkie (eggs royale) /nice equipped clean room/great relaxed atmosphere, wud go back but maybe ask for a higher room.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    Same quality and standard over the years
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could be better exellent never been disappointed carnt wait for our next trip

    We have been going to Whitby and the pier in. For years we have never been disappointed the staff are exellent nothing is too much trouble for them I have a disabilility they are very very good . The cleaners are polite and they are very helpful and kind the pier inn and Whitby is a jewel in the crown .

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eggs benedict should NOT have loads of bacon served with it! Eggs hollandaise sauce over a plain tea cake.

    The service was excellent , the rapper music being played all day in the kitchen was very irritating

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location. Room outstanding so well decorated. Amazing sea harbour view Staff so helpful and efficient Breakfast brilliant very fresh

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    10
    It was a prefect base from which to explore Whitby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really can't think of anything that spoilt any part of our stay.

    Beds was very comfy... our room overlooked the harbour and was an ideal spot for just watching the world go by. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with many choices . Also we eat there in the evening and the steak and kidney pudding was delicious. What stay here again without any doubt.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing..it was a very nice stay. Couldn't fault it for the price

    Great location. Staff were very friendly. Comfortable bed. Evening entertainment fantastic

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place to stay in Whitby, great view of the harbour and Abbey. The staff are friendly and helpful, bedroom clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and very tasty. Will be very likely to be going back to the pier whenever we get the chance

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    7.5
    Overall a great place in a fantastic location but need to have a later check out. 10am is too early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very average and felt like it had been heated up - not fresh. Some of the waiting staff were very young and some of their comments didn't reflect the overall great attitude of the older staff. For example I came down to breakfast at 10.05 and was told breakfast had finished - the older staff then overruled and gave me a breakfast. If you wanted more than one cup of tea you had to pay which seemed a bit mean ? A check out time of 10am is a bit early - most places at the weekend are 11 or 12.

    The location is great and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was basic but clean with a lovely sea view.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    4.0
    No good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower in the room. Windows sky light filthy. Springs in bed coming through. Back yard fag ends all over. All surfaces sticky needs a good clean. Breakfast fruit juice left in cartons.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    8.3
    Breakfast was amazing, So much choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was amazing, So much choice. Our room was fab with a sea view and very comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful. Will definitely go again x

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    9.6
    Thouraaghly enjoyable and will be returning soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have had to mark it down this time, purely based on the fact that our room was located on the top floor in the attic. I struggled with the steep narrow, winding staircases due to an arthritic knee. This has not deterred us, but I will call in advance prior to making a booking in future to ensure we are on a lower floor.

    We love The pier inn and have stayed before, staff are very friendly, great choice of breakfasts and excellent service, rooms are immaculate and the beds are very comfortable. The views are stunning looking out across the harbor and are great to wake up to on a morning.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    10
    The Pier was a great base for our weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was airy, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom. Plenty of towels, toiletries, coffee, tea, water and biscuits in room. Plentiful breakfast, excellent service from friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    7.9
    great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We understand the issues with parking in Whitby and staff were very helpful carrying cases for us and explaining the parking rules. We had to climb up very steep spiral staircases though and this would be tricky for some guests-although the website does warn of this.

    The location and view from the rooftop window was amazing

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.6
    very pleasant stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    breakfast was very good they gave you plenty. the staff was great easy check in. parking a bit difficult,due to its location but we managed it ,all in all very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't bother us but don't book the pub if you have trouble with stairs.

    Great location and satisfactory, clean facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    10
    A fantastic break. Definitely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit disappointed that there is only entertainment at weekends but that is the case in all the pubs in Whitby.

    A great breakfast, a comfortable room and a superb view of the harbour and the abbey.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    9.6
    We had a great weekend with friends , which the Pier made even better with its location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we didn't like about our stay

    The Breakfast was great , a lot of choice , full English , scrambled eggs & smoked salmon , eggs royale and eggs benedict , Rooms were very clean and well presented .

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful staff. They serve s really big delicious breakfast that is cooked to order between 8am and 10am so you can have a nice slow start to the day if you want to. The room was overlooking the sea and had a nice view of the church and abbey on the cliff. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. They provide ample tea cofee and biscuits in the room. We stayed for 3 nights and had no complaints at all. It's in a really good location,right in the heart of Whitby so you don't need your car if you are staying in the town. You get a parking permit to park nearby on the street but you can park for 20 minutes outside to check in.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    7.9
    Value for money ho friendly staff, good food and drink, newly refurbished bedroom and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs to the bedroom were steep and narrow , so perhaps a warning on the web site would be appropriate. We did not like the fact that the bar and dining area was dog friendly and dogs were allowed up on the seats. Might be an idea to consider dogs on only one side of the room. In generalthe bar/ dining area had a worn feel to it. E.g. Glasses at breakfast were opaque due to dishwashing.

    The bedroom and ensuite would appear to have been recently refurbished and were of a good standard. Every single member of staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a very good standard and variety.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    8.3
    Fantastic location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Early morning beer delivery was noisy at 630 am, but i suppose it would be impossible to get a wagon through the crowded streets later in the day.

    Fantastic location and very friendly staff. Good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fresh water bottles provided for our second day.

    Breakfast was excellent - cooked just right to order. Location fantastic. Staff incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent central location, lovely, helpful staff. Beds were comfy and the breakfast delicious with a wide choice. You can park outside the front for 20 mins to check in and bag drop. You then get a permit to park on the street. We found a space 2 mins from the B&B. The location is fantastic, lots to see and do. They have some sort of double glazing so the rooms are really quiet. Wish we'd booked a longer stay!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely place run by a proper nice lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power shower, water pressure was very weak, took me 30 minutes to wash shampoo off me ! lol !

    Lovely place to stay, lovely lady who runs the place, nice breakfast, good selection of beers, happy days.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    6.3
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expected breakfast kippers to be fresh Whitby kippers not boil in the bag. Told we had booked 2 double rooms not 1 double and 1 twin although they did attempt to resolve by offering a twin room in a separate building but the view was non existent.

    Bed very good

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    10
    Better than expected. All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything

    Lovely in all aspects. Breakfast, cleanliness, excellent staff and really comfy beds! Had a really good two day break and will definitely will be going back.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen on the bath would be nice

    Lovely room with a great view of the river/sea. Breakfast was comprehensive and parking permit was very useful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    10
    Great location, freindly staff and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no information about parking on the site and the hotel does not have its own private car park, so please take the time to call the hotel prior to arrival. Cliff Street is the nearest public car park, but this is something I had to find out for myself. That was the only issue that I had so other than that all good.

    Ideal location overlooking the harbour and the staff are extremely helpful. Breakfast was a choice of cereals (branded individual portions) and a good choice of cooked breakfast options. You will need to call about parking, but there is a public car park (Pay and Display) close by in Cliff Street. Charging hours are between 09:00-18:00 and you can pay by phone using the RingGo app. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    7.1
    Decent size room with great view out of the Velux windows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only had a bath with shower attachment on the taps, but nowhere to hang that up to shower properly. Room right at the top in the roof space so a bit 'fiddly' getting to it up the tight stairs.

    Decent size room with great view out of the Velux windows over to the harbour and Abbey. Decent breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    8.8
    Location brilliant for centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As was explained a live band playing Saturday night which we were informed of the times of - weren’t expecting it to be quite so loud for two hours but did stop at time we were told. Otherwise lovely room would stop again but would check if band on first.

    Location brilliant for centre of the town

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    9.6
    Will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints. I would say that if you are particularly sensitive to noise and like an early night, then staying in a pub that has live music on Fridays is not a good idea - but really you'd only have yourself to blame! I enjoyed it!

    My room was large, very clean and pleasant, the staff were friendly and could not enough for me. The food was plentiful and delicious. Honestly, one of the most pleasant B&B's I've stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    10
    Great location would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know this sound really trivial but nowhere in the bathroom to hang towels or put toiletries.

    Excellent breakfast selection, excellent location, room size excellent, bathroom very good.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    9.6
    Brilliant short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A mirror over the dressing table

    Excellent location, fab staff, bonus of free parking, very clean and comfortable, good breakfast. We were well looked after and felt valued.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    10
    The breakfast was very nice the staff were friendly as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very nice the staff were friendly as we arrived. would definitely recommend it to anyone. also the location of the hotel because you don't have to travel far to visit shops etc.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was In the loft space and difficult steps to get to it and could be dangerous no rail or banister at one side and very steep

    Beds very comfy good breakfast staff very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress neads replacing badly creaking from springs , no shelving to put anything in the ensuite , shower tray very slippery no mat , toilet and hand basin to close , very small wardrobe without any drawers to store anything , at 8.00 am every morning the fan to the kitchen starts up very noisey and annoying wakes you up Kitchen on first floor , constantly bumping into staff bringing down food when on stairs, tv very small and poor position in room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    10
    Excellent stay at the Pier Inn in Whitby; can't recommend it enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you aren't particularly fit or are more than six foot tall, the attic room (room 11) might not be suitable as there were quite a few steps up to the room which had a sloping ceiling. Not a problem for me, but other guests might be a little surprised if they were given that accommodation. It would be worth checking which room you were going to be booked into.

    The location was excellent for visiting Whitby and the view from our bedroom was fantastic. We could see the River Esk and the Abbey and St Mary's Church from our room and probably from every room at the front of the Inn. The breakfast was well cooked and more than enough. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of beer choices, I especially enjoyed the .Cameron's Ruby Red Ale. I did not eat in the Inn in the evenings, but saw some of the meals and they looked huge. Our room had a bath with a hand held shower. It was a nice change to get a bathroom instead of a shower. Even though we were near the top of the building, the water pressure was great (sometimes the little things make all the difference). Coffee and tea facilities were provided in the room too.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    9.2
    Whitby is one of our favourite places and certainly would stay at The Pier again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the amount of stairs to room but nothing can be done about this as buildings are not able to change such things certainly would not put us off but difficult if other guests have mobility issues.

    Located right on the main street so close to all shops, bars etc noise as expected as next to the fish market area although more noise may be expected in high season. Breakfast was lovely freshly made to order. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    6.7
    Location and price, and good hearty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor mattress, overall fairly clean but lack of attention to detail and a very small shower cubicle, not suitable for larger guests

    Location and price, and good hearty breakfast

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent service and very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent service and the staff were very professional and friendly, I made a mistake when booking and sent a message and received a reply within minutes saying that it was sorted, We were also given a parking permit for our stay so no hidden costs for ticket machines. The food on the evening was amazing and breakfast was also very nice. Thanks for everything

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    6.7
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken mirror in bedroom Waiter in paint splattered top and bottoms ,definately didn’t want to be taking our order! On arrival only seemed interested in getting the money! Filthy windows in bedroom

    Decoration clean

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.2
    friendly and convenient place to stay, we would consider using again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower could have been a little bit bigger, My wife would have liked a mirror type bureau to be able to put her make-up on whilst sitting down but she did manage standing up.

    The location and the view from the bedroom window, friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable, extras in the room e.g drinking water, finally great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.5
    Excellent location on the harbour front, with plenty of things to do on the doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is right on the front I could foresee that the front of the property will be very busy and noisy in the summer. Being an old building floors are very uneven, to a point even sleeping was a challenge with the bed seemingly on a sideways slope. Heating in the room was uncontrollable, very hot room, with the radiators either extremely hot or off. Please note two flights of stairs to access the bedrooms, not an issue to us but the 2nd set we believe were quite steep, and could hinder people of less agility. Breakfast was okay, would be better if all the food was freshly cooked as it was obvious the sausage were pre-cooked and rewarmed as one of them I had I could not cut through.

    Location right on the harbour front, excellent location and views across to the church and abbey. clean interior, friendly staff. Other than breakfast which was sufficient unable to comment on other meals, but choice seemed limited.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent room and loads of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives to say really, breakfast staff could have been a little more chatty and upbeat but not really a real negative.

    Breakfast was wonderful, really tasty and very meaty sausages ;-)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    9.6
    View, immaculately clean, lovely staff, very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing was it was freezing cold in the bar, had to eat our meal with our coat on. This however did not affect our stay and will definitely be returning.

    View, immaculately clean, lovely staff, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    Wonderful inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect

    Wonderful inn. Lovely and brilliant views from room window Friendly staff Comfortable bed and pillows WiFi speed is great Great food Great breakfast Satisfying and enjoyable experience!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    The Pier Inn is ideally located, clean and very welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    The Pier Inn is ideally located, clean and very welcoming, the team are friendly and helpful. Great place to stay. You won’t be disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    10
    Lovely hotel definitely stay again and recommend to friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family staff were very helpful & friendly food was lovely really happy with our stay.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    5.8
    Location central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy room right above the performance area, dreadful band playing terrible cover versions of rock songs till 11.35pm. Impossible to rest until they finished playing. Good staff though.

    Location central.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    6.7
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in - left waiting while people were being served at the bar, to be told to come back later. Parking advertised as included but not practical wth service delays, so parked some distance away having to carry bags and pay for parking. Very load music in the bar until midnight, which is fine but should be made clear prior to accepting bookings.

    The view. Breakfast served swiftly and efficiently.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    Had fantastic stay can’t wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very enjoyable overnight stay. Room was exceptionally clean with a fantastic view. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The live band was a bonus. Would definitely be back and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    The Picture is a View from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have difficulty climbing stairs request one of the lower rooms

    You couldn't find a better location in Whitby than this one, Breakfast was huge and if you wanted you could double up it, Room was small but nice, Sea View was great, Staff were very helpful, Will definatly use this hotel again

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.6
    Just what was needed for a lovely overnight stay in Whitby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a shame that it wasn’t mentioned that food stops being served at 8 in the evening at The Pier. Again I’m sure this doesn’t happen in Summer. Next time we book we will have to remember this!

    The staff were really helpful. The Inn is right in the middle of the lovely harbour of Whitby. It was quiet when we were there because it was only the end of February. I can only imagine how lively it is in the height of summer. Inn was impeccably clean and tidy and breakfast was definitely a full English!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much more

    The staff were very friendly and helpful,the breakfast was excellent ,The room was cosy and the bed was very comfortable ,overall a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    Happy, friendly , great location
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location lovely room staff so nice , and towels are lovely big and soft staff really welcoming excellent will b back in a couple of month

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    10
    Great location, everything in the Pier Inn was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a lovely warm welcome. The room decor was brilliant, plenty of room, lovely bedding and towels. Plenty of choice at breakfast and cooked to order so came out perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff all very friendly and the young lad that served us at breakfast was great nothing was too much trouble for him ( sorry should have got his name )

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    4.6
    A tale of two halves!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pier is the pub and the pier inn is above the pub. There’s no clear direction of where you check in eg an area where you wait and someone to come over to you. Had to queue up at the bar with luggage and wait for a member of staff to become free. The room staying in turns out one of beds had broken slats and not enough plugs for them to fit in resulting in bed collapsing and finding then that some of slats had been duct taped back together! The other single bed was held up by pieces of ply board so conscious of that possibly breaking. On seeing this I took more of a look around room we were in as literally dumped bags and went out when first arrived so initially looked a good room. On closer inspection the wicker furniture had several holes in, a picture over the the bed had a massive crack in the glass, the bathroom mirror had only one light lit. I took photos and showed a member of the staff.....will give them their due they did a temporary quick fix and promised to rectify the next day while we were out of the room. This never happened as everything remained the same when we returned to the room even the duct taped slats still there... really disappointed so chose not to stay the second night... certainly not value for money as room stay was expensive and no offer of any remuneration of any kind.... sadly I would not stay here again though would use the pub if passing 😞

    The pub part has a really good vibe with live music each weekend. The breakfast for me was spot on. For location you could not get any better as it was literally overlooking the harbour. Ideal place to stay for a pub crawl or a one nighter. You will be fit by the end of your stay with all the stairs! :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    7.5
    Great location, great views. Could do with a little more attention to customer needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather sullen service at breakfast. Lack of "good morning, sleep well etc" Look of complete contempt when asked for a clean glass for the juice. same glass returned.

    Graet location. warm greeting. Help with parking in a very busy area.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    10
    Nice hotel on the harbour front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is an issue as there isn't any. Either ask for a permit but spaces are limited. We parked in the large long stay car park-not too bad really.

    Perfect location, central to all around. Lovely hotel, nice views, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    8.8
    Quaint and quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quaint and quirky. Very oldie worldly as you would expect from centre of Whitby. Ideal location for centre, 30 yards from fishing boats arriving with their catch. Nothing to much trouble for landlady and her staff. Can be noisy though, it is a pub but all part of the attraction. Parking by permit and not on site was ok only 5 minute walk from pub. 20 min unloading zone outside meant did not have to carry luggage.Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming home. Some scally smoking in the room setting the fire alarm off at daft o'clock.

    Everything apart from the selfish t##t setting the fire alarm off.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Really lovely just wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room did have a funny smell which by the morning really annoyed me. Couldn’t say what the smell was but it was quite strong

    The bed was really comfy and the temperature of the room was perfect. The view was amazing

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything about the place! Staff was excellent, breakfast was lovely, location perfect and view from the room was gorgeous. Will definitely return to The Pier for my next stay in Whitby.

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Pier Inn Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: