Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Plough Inn 4 stars

Brockley Green, Hundon, CO10 8DT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Hundon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a bit tired looking. However propieter is in process of revamping property. If the bar and the restaurant are anything to go on The Plough will become a much sought after pub/hotel.

    Staff and food were excellent. Attentive service and hot and tasty food. Superb garden and view. Relaxing restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady in charge is absolutely lovely. We completely forgot to check what the check in time was & turned up before a wedding at midday - she let us check in then no problem at all, & if our room hadn't have been ready we would have been allowed to use another room temporarily. The pub is homely & was very peaceful at night for us. It was a fairly warm evening & a fan was provided which was a very helpful touch. The breakfast was absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in time fitting in with restaurant opening times? It's advertised as an hotel. 6pm is too late! Having said that, it was luck that I arrived during the lunch opening hours and my room was ready. I was tired after my travels, so if I couldn't have checked in, I would have had to have a little sleep in my car.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it says on there advertisements and outside the pub itself that if you want to check in before 6 ( when it opens ) you can ring a number, that was not the case. We sat outside from 5 o'clock with another guest until 5.45 when the staff turned up

    Good value for money, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much, could’ve done with a longer hose for the shower attachment. But that’s a minor thing.

    Really nice find. Cosy but spacious well maintained room, staff were really good. No complaints with the food. Breakfast and evening meal were really nice. Managed to get a good price on the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather 70's dated and tired. The pub closed at 2100 on a Sunday night so no food no drinks. Post Code on their web site is nowhere near the pub. Some directions would have been helpful. Cheap pine wardrobe directly opposite the bathroom door made access to either awkward.

    Nice old traditional pub lovely garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    After a lively day at the races we were delighted with the peace and quiet at the welcoming Plough. We received a warm welcome by our hosts.The rooms were very comfortable with everything we needed. Plenty of towels, tea, coffee, biscuits and even toiletries. We had a superb evening meal and breakfast was fab. Nothing was too much trouble, they even managed to change one of the rooms for a twin as a last minute request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area

    The shower was poor, the ventilation system sounded like someone sawing wood in the room next door and the toilet did not flush properly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where comfortable and clean lovely view from our window.the food was amazing the chicken pie was the best I’ve ever had.will be visiting again lovely staff and made to feel very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creaky floorboards in the rooms. But what would you expect for an old pub.

    Great choice for breakfast and tasted lovely. Bread was yummy. Had dinner for the 3 nights we were there and couldnt fault any of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was incredibly hard and uncomfortable, unfortunately neither my husband or I slept well. The toilet was situated close to the heated towel rail and caused a couple of minor burns as it was impossible to sit on the loo without your skin coming into contact with the hot metal. There was no hairdryer, which was odd as there was a trouser press! Personally though a hairdryer would have been more useful. Please watch your head! Our room had a sloping ceiling on one side of the room and getting up in the middle of the night and in the dark resulted in my husband banging his head on it.

    The staff were lovely.. the restaurant food was great. The room was quite spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not particularly comfortable with springs rather prominent . The shower was awful and really hard to turn on.

    The bed was wide and room spacious - bed linen was good and towels fresh and quite new . It was a very quiet spot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us check-out was to early at10.00am, prefer 11.00am.

    Very nice food freshly prepared for both the evening meal and breakfast, served by friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small Bathroom, No Hairdryer

    Breakfast was excellent, the Chef kindly let me in to the secret of perfect Poach Eggs Rooms need updating very dated, but gave the benefit of any doubt as new owners have just taken over.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection was poor couldn't stream any programmes on tablet. Tv had the basic channels hence why the wifi should be much better. Have stayed quite a few times before and the rooms are really starting to get dated and a bit scruffy with stains on carpets, bathroom with mould etc. Really need to be renovated to keep up a good standard

    good service, food for breakfast and dinner excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed updating and the shower was difficult to actually turn on. The room was a little tired in the soft furnishing department.

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front door closed when we arrived. Could do with a doorbell to attract attention!

    Nice and quiet. Big bed. Very pleasant surroundings. Nice evening meal and breakfast. Conveniently located for what we wanted. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Exceptional warm welcome, the food was great and the room was extremely comfortable and well equipped. Will definitely be staying there again the next time I am in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access after dark along narrow lanes from Kedington. A road closure next to the Plough and a long diversion was unexpected.

    Friendly and helpful staff. There was a nice big torch which helped to avoid hitting the sloping ceiling! Splendid position with long distance views over Suffolk. Nice big empty car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only staying 1 night!

    Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and spacious room. Breakfast was excellent and hot. Lovely country pub with lots of character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't say that there was anything that I didn't like other than the tiny roads to get there in the rain and dark, but that is part of the charm of the place and obviously totally outwith their control

    Good location, good value for money, friendly staff, available parking and the food was really good. I would recommend this location to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 ( and 2) are above the restaurant/function room area which was quite noisy both late evening and early morning.

    Lovely location and good breakfast. Food in the bar and restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was small, faults in the bathroom which the new manager knew about. She had only taken over two weeks prior to our visit and was slowly putting things right. Would suggest that butter is on the table as a matter of course. Toast should come out separately not under your breakfast.

    The breakfast was excellent, we could order what we fancied from the menu. The room we had was same but comfortable. We had one evening meal which was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have been cleaner There was a change of manager just the week before so hopefully it will improve.

    Staff very friendly and clean towels and sheets after two days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small and in need of a bit of TLC

    Good food and hospitality were the hallmarks of this country pub. Nice location surrounded by countryside and only 10 miles from Cambridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap in bathroom insecure, sockets on floor under dressing table. Coffee at breakfast single cup not asked if would like more. Bacon hard and only one rasher. Service a bit slow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say there was anything I didn't like. Everything was spot on.

    Lovely pub, friendly staff, room was large and bed was comfy. I didn't have breakfast but I imagine it would have been nice judging by the food I had on the evening which was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to follow signs to find the pub as it's not in Hundon!

    Cheerful welcome and easy access to rooms from the parking. Pleasant dining bar area and good food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was so much better than I'd expected.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will go there again. The shower was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall needs upgrading , old carpets and furniture. Beds ok. Shower very poor, toilet did not flush very well if at all. Not very clean in most areas. For the price we paid I would have expected better.

    Location, food very good..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only gripe (but this is really nit picking) is that there were no sockets next to the bed-side table.

    We had possibly the best night's sleep in ANY hotel/B&B we've ever had! The staff were friendly & helpful & the decor was gorgeous (all exposed beams). Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not get the shower to turn on and it was too early to ask the staff for help but judging by how helpful they were I am sure they would have come to sort it.

    The staff were very helpful about arranging early breakfast as I had an early start

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was so stiff, we couldn't use it. Staff said they would fix it. Breakfast was so so - nothing special.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was clean and comfortable. Beautiful garden to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Garden furniture in dire need of replacement .. repair won't do it! Lack of attention by staff to tables and ashtray cleaning in garden. Bar furniture was basic many chairs had no cushions making it uncomfortable , Some urgent TLC would go down well

    Great location, clean bedroom,and decent food. Lovely garden and views. excellent WIFI.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was fine, but has the potential to be amazing -could do with a refurb. The bed was OK for one night but not as comfy as a premier inn! The room was clean but a little dusty and the bathroom looked dated.

    The location is amazing and the on-site parking is great. The property has a lovely garden out the back with great views. Staff were friendly, food was OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit hard, and the room was quite hot.

    Peaceful in the countryside, nice staff who reduced the price when we had to wait for an hour for our food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat. Unfortunately we stayed on a very hot day and you felt the heat as you walked up the stairs. Even with the window open and the fan on all night, I was unable to sleep. There wasn't anywhere in the immediate area to walk to, which would have been nice after the car drive.

    The place was very authentic, it has a lovely big outside eating area with beautiful views. Plenty of inside eating area. The breakfast was well oranged and cooked well, with plenty of choice. A lovely friendly place to stay. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and old, the whole property could do with a makeover. What spoilt it was loud music blaring out from under our window at 8.30 am on a Sunday morning!!! ????????

    It was much as expected, basic but adequate. It was clean and the garden was lovely. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub finished food early of a evening .

    Could do with a bit of a up date , and bar wasn't very lively . But bobby what a lovely girl full of energy and works her socks of . Tom a very nice man as well .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the inclusion of fruit and yoghurt on the breakfast menu.

    We used The Plough as a base for a cycling holiday ..highly recommended...lots of quiet lanes for miles. Lovely shops and pubs down the road in Clare. Food at the Plough excellent..steak night not to be missed.Spacious comfortable room and attractive bar area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the back was very warm due to heatwave and getting the sun all day, not the fault of the hotel but have requested a front facing room next time.

    Great location and friendly staff, food lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Informed the reception we had booked a twin room but was given a key for a double room. I went back to reception to be told that they did not have any twin rooms available. Why had we not been notified about this before we left home ? One wasted journey and ruined weekend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a few changes in floor height and steps within the bedroom doorway and in to the bathroom that had a low ceiling. However, it is an old country inn and this is too be expected in some rooms. We were in room 6 and whilst it wasn't a problem for us, a less mobile or indeed very tall person may find it restricting.

    Excellent country inn, with comfortable rooms, good selection on the menu and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was over cooked, seemed that it had been pre cooked just waiting for us to go down to eat. Shower hard to operate. Hairdryer had to be requested, but there was a trouser press in the room, would have thought hairdryer higher priority. First time hadn't taken my own.

    Quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and drinks excellent, staff and service great, rooms clean and comfortable with a good view. An interesting and enjoyable stopover and will use again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a slightly bigger choice of real ales (I'm a fan of Abbot Ale and its brewery is near apparently)

    Lovely location, excellent service all staff polite and pleasant. Bedroom and facilities very good. It wasn't noisy in the building late at night, I found it almost tranquil.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms could do with a bit of updating a lick of fresh paint and bathroom mirror lighting checked and renewed where needed.

    Food was excellent and plenty of it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far wary from the venue of wedding we went to. On booking.com was only ment to be 5km but much further but this is probably not the fault of the plough inn

    Very friendly staff Pictured location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there were any minor improvements needed I'm sure the new management will undertake them promptly.

    The Plough Inn is nestled in quintessentially English countryside that you rarely find these days. Very pleasant, quaint villages and thatched roofs in the surrounding area. The garden is a great place to sit out in and the views are just lovely. Downstairs has lots of beams and is filled with traditional furniture and unusual decorative touches. The bedroom was practical and comfortable, a good size for a small building and overlooked the garden. The heating worked well, and the bed linen was high end standard. Though the pub was lively during the evening it was quiet by 11.30 and there was no noise to disturb us. My husband went running in the lanes and thought it a fantastic open countryside with very little traffic. The staff were pleasant and helpful with cheerful responses to our requests. Overall, they are eager to please and meeting with some success.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower. The shower-head was all floppy, wouldn't go where you pointed it; and the shower curtain was heavy plastic, and clung to your legs. Not pleasant.

    Primarily the price: £45 per night, including breakfast. I would stay there again at that kind of rate, but it wouldn't be a place I'd stay for a fantastic time, if you see what I mean. Perfectly pleasant, nothing wrong with it, but not a 'destination' hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from other guest rooms was rather annoying.

    First off the staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived, very attentive. We spent the afternoon in the beer garden which was perfect, having a very filling lunchtime snack. Then we ate in the bar at night which again was excellent. The rooms were very adequate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family lunch (7 of us) then joined by another 5 and we all had a great time. Everyone loved their food and we chose different meals. The staff were very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 5. The window alcove is dangerous. Concentrating on tea tray banged head on corner several times. Cure this by wallpapering window recess with different paper to accentuate the corner OR move the the tea facility to other side of wardrobe. Power point there.

    Warm reception, friendy and businesslike

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a little antiquated and difficult to work out at first, although adequate.

    I arrived at a time when the inn was closed, but I only had to give them a ring and someone was there to open up for me. There is plenty of parking space. The Inn was cosy and friendly with excellent food being served in the bar and in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful and there was definitely service with a smile. The rooms were comfortable and warm enough and very clean, although the shower was a little difficult to work out. Tea and coffee were provided and the bed was comfortable. There was ample wardrobe space with plenty of hangers and a trouser press was provided. The inn is quite isolated in itself with a lovely beer garden and there is not much within walking distance so if you wanted to eat elsewhere in the evening you would have to drive. However, I would definitely recommend the food and they have a good selection of gins. Despite being a popular drinking establishment there was little noise from the bar to be heard in the room, although during the summer months when people are outside there may be more noise. A full English breakfast is provided as well as cereal and juice. Good coffee came in a large cafetiere. If you didn't want the full English you could have eggs on toast made from lovely fresh bread.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedrooms where soooo small, and was not clean the carpet clearly hadn't been hooved, and the damp from the cracked ceiling needs lots of attention!!! it was supposed to be a double but it is a small double 4ft 6in bed

    the draught beers where good, the pub its self was lovely old beams and nicely decorated,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    In the middle of nowhere, so you are a bit of a captive audience, but three real ales on tap, and because it was National Pie Week, there were 7 different pies on theirSpecials Board. Big "full monty" breakfast, and plenty of tea/coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my arrival I was checked in by the Manager who really went above and beyond the call of duty with his helpfulness. Due to my office's miscalculated fuel allowance I was left with insufficient fuel to complete my journey next morning. When I explained my problem to him he immediately organised for a member of his staff, Jade, to bring in a can of fuel for me for which I am very grateful as this area didn't have any fuel outlets locally, so a big thank you to him and Jade for their additional help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellant

    Everything, from the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the Inn and rooms etc, and the amazing breakfasts - The Full Monty is not for the feint hearted!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit shabby but very good shower room and public areas could do with a lick of clean paint but otherwise fine overall for the price a very good choice.

    Excellent breakfast and food good in general very helpful pleasant staff room was nice and warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working lightbulb in bathroom, had to shower in dark as no replacement bulb available. Morning staff not as helpful.

    Gorgeous pub in a lovely location. Food was lovely! Evening staff were lovely and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room especially bathroom could do with a little TLC Banging doors from patrons leaving the bar a little annoying as I had an early start next morning

    Staff very friendly and helpful and food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could of been cheaper, Room needs a good clean found it to be dusty.

    Friendly staff, Plenty drinks at the bar, lovely and cosy pub decent room size with plenty room complimentries.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub became very quiet after 9pm on the Sunday night with nothing else to do locally

    The location was good for me being close to Hundon My evening meal of steak and wild mushroom sauce was good The staff were very helpful , breakfast good and served very promptly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not very good but in its defence the property is several hundreds of years old, I'm pretty sure then they ween't too bothered on personal hygiene but the plumbing could do with a quick look at.

    Friendly service nice and clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely, cosy pub. Stayed for one night for my husbands birthday, had s lovely meal and excellent breakfast. Friendly staff, would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You'll need a car to visit places away from the Inn.

    Good food served consistently. Pretty views from the rooms. Cosy, bar & restaurant areas. There's a large beer garden that's lovely in summer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was very small, the shower curtain was hung on rusty rings, there was small leak from the rear of the toilet and there was something wrong with fan, it made a clunking noise and seemed start and stop at the same time making a terrible. This was reported on checkout.

    Bed was quite comfortable so slept well, the diner was excellent as was breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too hard for me, but the bedding was lovely and fresh and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets.

    Dinners were really lovely. The staff were helpful and friendly. The pub is in a fantastic position with a lovely view from my room out over the fields.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small and very warm. The bathroom was tiny and very dated Breakfast was only between 7.30 and 8.30, making it convenient for the staff, not the customers. Breakfast was tasteless and very limited selection. No fruit at all The staff seemed bored and lacked motivation. Not great in customer service. I was not offered help with my luggage up the stairs. Definitely not value for money. Too expensive for what it offers.

    The location was ideal for where I needed to be for work. The room was clean and the towels were good quality. The food in the pub was good, but expensive!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer an earlier breakfast, but this is a personal choice and driven by work requirements only, that said I am very glad I didn’t miss the breakfast!

    Friendly staff, excellent food, good sized room and plenty of parking in a great setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we booked the last available room so had a standard double bed instead of twin beds. Also, the weather was very hot so didn't sleep at all well, even using the fan provided, but that wasn't fault of the pub. Other than that, the room was very pleasant & well equipped.

    Lovely, quiet location with big East Anglian skies, good local beers on tap & good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a slopping roof over 1side of bed that I kept banging my head on when ever I got up, that is my only issue.

    All great, good food, clean room and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean. Food was lovely-excellent sandwiches and full English breakfast both prepared quickly for a family group of eight adults!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upstairs rooms way too hot with no attempt to provide suitable ventilation and 1/2 hour window for breakfast (8.30 til 9) made it seem that place was run for the convenience of staff not the paying customer.

    lovely garden with a nice view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. Everything is beautifully covered.

    There is a real quality feel to the Plough, very relaxed, very convivial, brilliant staff and a lovely ambience. Food is simply outstanding. 10/10 for the outstanding housekeeping staff who did their very best to find my lost phone.... really great customer service. This will become our base for the Haverhill area its that good.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: