Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4 stars

The Terrace, St Ives, TR26 2BN, United Kingdom

#9 of 11 hotels in St Ives

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 962 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small but worse was the washroom which was unacceptably small with the toilet and bath squeezed in side ways the depth about 1 meter deep! Breakfast was poor standard and used plates not collected by staff causing congestion on table. Some foods ran out and not replaced promptly.

    The view over St Ives bay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previously booked champagne afternoon tea organisationwas a bit disjointed between spa and bar team. Furniture on our balcony was a bit grim. Seagulls.

    Loved our room and the attention to detail. Fantastic view. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfy bed. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given one of the smallest room we have never experienced. The bed occupied 95% of the entire room. You have no space to put any luggage. No space to walk at all. Shower room were very small. Room number 208.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on at the same time while we were there and the children were running loose screaming constantly outside the spa. I was with my partner on our honeymoon and had left our children at home but the lack of restraint whilst the wedding was on was wrong. We went down for evening meal and a drunk bridesmaid crying and making a big scene in the hotel bar area was very distracting again. Finally went through to the restaurant and it was like your sat in the disco. The bass was ridiculous so much so they didn’t put restaurant music on as it was being drowned out by the constant thumping. For the rate you pay it would be a good idea to check if there’s a wedding on as even in our room you could hear the disco till mid night. A real shame as the hole experience was tarnished. This being said it was out of the hotels control but after a 4.5 million refit maybe sound proofing the restaurant would of been money well spent

    Location here is amazing with a 5 minute walk into st ives. The staff are very friendly and the evening meal was amazing with a view to match.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for us. Luxury hotel with fine Spa facilities, looking out over a beach. Delightful staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and very special.Short walk down to the town centre. All great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to moan about. The only thing would be the creaky floor boards and stiff door but very minor!

    The location and view is excellent. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The food in the restaurant was lovely and breakfast with a view was perfect. I will be back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Confusing charge rates not very well explained on check-in

    Eggs Benedict were the best I've ever had! Other food was good too. Great views of St Ives.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noticed some doors left ajar after cleaners went in ours included on one occasion. Otherwise no problem.

    Staff all smiling and chatty. I airs and graces. Clean and comfortable soft bed. Smelt really well. Even a friendly seagull to chat to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls on the desk were lovely but didn’t give any information when arrived wasn’t even told which direction my room was in. No information given as to where breakfast will be, breakfast timings. My car was taken to the car park then had to collect my bags along with my 8 year old daughter and drag my luggage down two flights of stairs. Breakfast was chaotic and very overpriced.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal before the wedding was very disappointing. After complaining we were satisfied with the outcome but did feel a little let down!

    Very comfortable bed! Lovely location for a wedding! Staff were very efficient and friendly 😊 Wedding day was a complete success and the food was excellent, contrast to the night before.....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had windows towards road and patio. Lot of noise - until late. Small details missing -reading light, hair dresser. Room size could cause comments in the future.

    The spa was nice with pool an out-door area. Spa area was complimentary. The restaurant was nicely located witt exellent views. The restaurant was able to serve English sparkling wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Bed extremely comfortable facilities in room exceeded expectations. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Hotel lovely and clean. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room and bathroom far too small for the price tag. There was a stinking dirty blind in the window that should of been thrown out a long time ago. It was impossible to sleep as the room was so hot and there is no fan or air con. Won't be returning.

    The breakfast and the evening meal were really good, especially the dessert.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They truly go above and beyond with the service offered, we were delighted with our appartment - it was the size of a two bedroom flat, the complimentary Gin and Sherry were a great surprise, the location is amazing - I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It's rare that I ever come back twice to the same place, given how much of the world is there to see, but this is most definitely a place worth re-visiting, maybe bringing friends along.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the road wasn't great, and was too hot to shut the windows.

    Very comfy bed and great shower!, the spa is very nice and excellent views over the bay from the Restaurant. Short walk into town and to Porthminster Beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have a fridge so we couldn't keep food and drinks cool but the staff did try and accommodate with supplying ice buckets!

    I have never been so impressed with staff as I was at this hotel! From Josh on the bar, to Matt on Reception, and Donna serving during the wedding breakfast the staff service was IMPECCABLE! Any issues we had, they resolved without question, any requests we had were fulfilled instantly, the staff truly made our stay. The hotel itself is stunning, from the views to the furnishing and facilities it was classy but comfortable. The beds were really comfy and the food and drinks were also fab. We will 100% be back Harbour Hotel thank you for the most amazing trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the view, pretty much everything else was a disappointment except the receptionist we met when we arrived in the morning. She was lovely. When we returned to check in, we found our room had been made up as a double, not a twin. When I went back to advise reception, the afternoon receptionist (who couldn’t have been more different to the morning receptionist) challenged me saying that there was no reason why the housekeeping staff would do that and was I sure it wasn’t set up as a twin. Doubting myself now, I returned to the room to check. It was indeed a double so we returned to reception with our bags. No apology, just another room key passed to us. We had to ask for a porter to assist with bags. This room had no robes or slippers and the decanters were unfilled. When we asked for them to be filled we were advised they hadn’t refilled them as the room wasn’t intended for use and they had an issue with staff drinking the contents if decanters were left filled in unused rooms... The bathroom was belting hot - no shade at window so the sun was streaming in, but also the towel rail was on high. We went to use the spa to be met with a similarly lacklustre reception. At breakfast one of us was offered toast, the other not. When we then requested the other toast portion, the waitress returned saying “I gather you’ve asked for more toast”. Breakfast was mediocre and buffet selection decidedly poor. On check out, a 3rd receptionist was on duty. We were asked if we had feedback and we summarised. No apology given. We then requested an extension on the car park until 2pm but were told that wasn’t possible due to people checking; the receptionist bemoaning the fact you have fewer parking spaces than rooms. It would have been a small service recovery gesture, but equally - considering check in is not until 3, it’s not clear why they would need the space sooner. Finally, the porter didn’t offer to assist with bags on check out either.

    The view is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small for the very large amount charged for a night stay and didnt make bed inbetween nights and no fresh towels

    Spa and brekfast were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is quite small. Some evenings in restaurant were excellent other evenings food was nothing special. Room for improvement to become a very good place to eat.

    Beautiful rooms, lovely staff, fabulous location with great views, super style and comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not in use.staff at reception sent us to the wrong room, one room had no toilet paper, no mirror. Sar at 7.15for our evening meal and where still waiting for our main course at 9pm. We came as a party of six and breakfast they hadn't laid a table for us, so we sat separately, no butter or marmalade on the table, Not really up to 4 star accommodation.

    Lovely vue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was well appointed good view of the bay sadly we found the room to be very dusty, there were complementary decanters one had gin in it the other had a dribble of sherry at the bottom no tonic The hotel has the potential to be excellent, but you must pay attention to detail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were all really friendly, especially in the restaurant. One of the waiters made the extra effort to recommend a few nice walks around St. Ives which was the highlight of our stay. The rooms were clean and I love the Nespresso machines and The White Company products in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small. Not enough space for 2 suitcases, no proper mirror in bedroom. Shutters didn’t block out street lights which meant for very bad nights sleep. Reception staff abrasive. Only one person serving breakfast so we had to wait 30 mins before getting a cup of coffee when there were only a few other guests there. Room was far too expensive for service, hospitality, food and room quality.

    Restaurant views wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious teething troubles in the restaurant. Lots of things not right and needing to be sent back. The staff are obviously trying their best, but didn’t seem to know what to do with the complaints. The room looked nice, but the water temperature seemed to be either far too hot or too cold. I think for the money, it should have been much better.

    Great location and potential to be a very nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat kept coming off when you sat on it and although we mentioned it after our first night it still wasn’t’t fixed when we left

    The Bed was really comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was not worth £250 per night! The decor was cheap, very small bathroom, no mini bar, no safe.Shutters so very light no blackout curtains.Fixed menu Sunday food was appalling and had to insist on something off menu.

    The location and view.The spa was ok but steam room not working and spa full no spaces for treatments .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, could not us e the room facilities without additional power supply, the staff did not replenish any of the complimentary coffee pods, water or biscuits in the room, the steam room was not working, the lift was always jammed on a floor.

    Food was great, staff good as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like Special promotion offer on price !

    Sea view from room Breakfast included Walk directly down to beach from hotel garden Valet Parking Nice decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to use the stairs .when the lift wouldn't work

    Spa treatments was 1st class swimming pool &jyou was lovely .but should have better access for any disabled person .the lift was to small for a wheel chair .a lovely stay good food .extremely comfortable and clean bed great bathroom .loved it ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steam room wasn’t working Too many kids in the spa area. Shouldn’t allow then(they say after five will be kids free but should be applied all day).

    The staff were very attentive and good breakfast/dinner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disruption due to building works We were not made aware of the works until 5 days before our visit. Plans and friendship meetings had already been arranged, to late to cancel. No information given at time of booking ! Poor ! Car sustained damage to edge of door. As if it had been opened into a concrete wall, according to the assessment I have had. The car came out of body shop 7 days before visit.!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lift several times people were not closing the cage door so it does need modernising the view from the room was good if you stood up the thingi did not like was the offer to upgrade thinking we were going to have suite but there was no suite available so I was disappointed in that

    breakfast and food good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hated the porthole type mirrors one in the main bedroom and one in the bathroom which were very distorting and unhelpful in the bathroom to put makeup on. The cooked breakfast was disappointing. I tried both the vegetarian and traditional. both breakfast had sloppy orangey coloured scrambled egg which i left both times. I think the sausages were of poor quality and was expecting locally sourced delicious sausages. Mushrooms tasted like frozen ones.

    The beds were high and of good quality and beautifully presented with lots of cushions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was in a state of turmoil with renovation work going on which we were not notified of. The make shift Restaurant and bar had no atmosphere so we ate out. The free car parking was a farce, the parking was across the road and on the second floor which had to be entered via a tiny car lift, whilst there was valet parking I did not feel confident my car being taken into the very small face. The room was nice but I do think the hotel was very over priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant used as a temporary bar while being refurbished. Workmen with power tools going as well as shouting. En suite not clean, table not clean at breakfast.

    Location was good, views were great and room was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The staff on reception were welcoming and friendly. The valet parking is a nice touch. The rooms were beautiful and we were upgraded for free on arrival, the views of the beach and sea were lovely. Beds were very comfy, shower was amazing and bathroom was clean. Couldn’t fault the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For dinner we had saddle of lamb which was delicious, but such a shame the portion of meat was so small & did not give value for money!!! We asked that the chef be informed but heard no more!!! Rather disappointing given the overall quality of the hotel!!!

    Lovely breakfast selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a window without a blind on it and a street light was streaming into the room for much of the night, we put a blanket up to the window. Not a big deal.

    What an experience! We had a Sea View room and it was just spectacular. The breakfast was delicious, the staff very friendly. Had a great stay , highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service and staff were very inconsistent, which is a shame for those that were good. One receptionist was very rude regarding a mistake they had made with our booking. The manager Steven rectified this, but shouldn’t have to escalate 10 minutes into arrival. It’s hit or miss depending who you speak. I do not envy having to manage that team! There was a lot of options not available on the small menu and weren’t informed until after ordering. It’s not a winter hotel as really bad drafts and a lack of good modern heating. A bit like faulty towers! Stuff not working. Not the luxury spa hotel as advertised. Shame as on the surface seems nice.

    The food was nice and the staff that were good were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 easy chair in the room Hydro pool not functioning. Over priced bottles of wine. No warning/mention of use of lift when parking the car.

    Breakfast Views Restaurant staff very pleasant. Very comfortable beds and good bed linen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room was too small had stain on window blind which was off putting Spa area not very relaxing children running around Pastries left for breakfast We don’t all eat a hot breakfast

    location And friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, second day the plate was scalding hot but the foot was almost cold.

    Room was lovely and large. Views were great over the bay and St Ives.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room was recommended for 2 adults and a child however the bedroom was very small with very little room to manoeuvre making it very difficult with a young toddler.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy and location was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions were inadequate, we couldn’t find the parking and had to phone the Hotel to ask where it was. It turned out there as no on site parking, and the drop off bay opposite was occupied with a builders skip in it. Nobody there to help or direct, and although we had requested easy access we were given a room with 2 long flights of stairs. We had prebooked for Sunday lunch on arrival. Nobody was on restaurant reception and we weren’t expected. Food was very disappointing, nothing like the roast dinner we expected. We were surprised to see guests coming into the Dining room from the Spa for lunch still in their bathrobes and slippers. Staff didn’t seem to be aware of guests needs and were slow to help. Breakfast was poor, egg not cooked, bacon hard. It is definitely not 10 minutes walk to St Ives. It is a steep walk on the way back and difficult for older people. Definitely not up to the standards of the Sidmouth Harbour Hotel.

    The views from dining room windows. Bedroom and en suite were clean and recently refurbished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool facilities, although nice were on the small side and could get busy at specific times of the day.

    The premier double room was a nicely decorated spacey room with a very nice en suite bathroom. The sea views were sublime. The staff were hardworking and very friendly and worked hard to ensure your stay was a good one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 20 minutes for someone to take our breakfast order but they did other tables that came after us ,also they only give you a pot of tea they never came back to ask if we wanted more tea and toast also in the bathroom the little mirror was above the sink so i could not put my makeup on

    Close to beach and town most staff great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be a bit lower, Bath kept going empty after half an hour of being full.

    Bed was extremely comfy, spa was really relaxing, staff were really welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First reception just two tables as u walk in,the bar was poor just one person on and if they was serving the diningroom u were left waiting,need two people on not one,and breakfast I personally think it should be a open self service not having to order and wait,and they can't cook eggs.

    The rooms were good and well cleaned staff all good.the spar Was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heavy rain overnight caused a slight leak in the flat-roofed bathroom. Not enough to be a major problem. Whilst accepting that it was out of main season (Jan), the breakfast buffet was a little uninspiring.

    comfortable firm bed. Excellent outlook over beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the shower was very small and we couldn’t really move around to wash hair.

    The views were amazing, the hotel was very clean and all the staff extremely friendly!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool restrictions for kids. Rooms small with huge beds. Tennis court not easily accessible to hotel guests. Not the same quality as other Harbour Hotels.

    Great sea views and easy access to St Ives. Good efficient place for a trip to st Ives

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black pudding on menu or porridge on buffetc. Could have been more choice of things to go on toast.

    Beautiful decore. Very comfortable rooms and bed was fantastic. All rooms very clean and fantastic views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furnishings and carpets in public areas were worn and scruffy. Noise disurbance in bedroom from piped music in the bar/lounge. Dinner was average and not good value for money.

    The staff were excellent. Sea views from bedroom and dining room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms. Woken up two nights by another guests snoring and another night by crying child.

    Would recommend the spa. Breakfast was good and plenty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lift people always left the door open on a floor so every time we needed one we had to use the stairs we are elderly but active for our age other people would not be able to climb three lots of stairs

    our room was very comfortable the view from the dining room was excellant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a wonderful place to stay. Breakfast was fabulous and the view from the dining room was stunning. The bed was super comfy. Everything about the room and facilities provided was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't reach the cord to close the bathroom blind.When it was closed by a member of staff it was covered in dust. The arm chairs in our room were uncomfortable. The duvet stuffed in the bottom of the wardrobe as an extra was soiled and had no cover. The toast was always charred at breakfast even after complaining. On two mornings there was no marmalade!! One member of staff in the dining room was surly when we complained.

    The view was wonderful.The spa was pleasant. My partner enjoyed the cooked breakfast. The lounge areas were comfortable and attractive. Liked the fires in both.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it was a quiet time of year the spa/pool area was very busy. We had to wait for a bed....as did another x3 couples. Carpet throughout hallways very tired.

    Friendly staff. Beautiful views. Short walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average at best in comparison with the evening meal. The spa staff were quite rude and unhelpful. I expected a more welcoming service from the spa. Also no service at the spa.

    The room and staff were excellent. Along with the evening meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the bathroom in my room a little bit cold even though it has a heater. Also when you smoke outside the hotel or on the terrace you did not have smoking trashcan to throw away the cigarette.

    Because they are doing some repairment the hotel gave me an upgrade and the room was very nice, with amazing views and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and it was lovely to sit by the chimney.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking was difficult when you got there although a staff member velet parked my car which was a surprise. The evening dinner was a bit disappointing.

    Breakfasts were good. Lounge areas were comfy. Spa areas were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa gets very busy and therefore it's not possible to really swim in the pool. Perfect if you just want to float about though.

    Stunning location, and rooms were amazing. Loved getting the opportunity to bid for a to upgrade too meaning we paid half the price it would have been.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was tiny and water/air quality poor. My eyes were stinging within 2 mins of entering the pool area and didn’t recover for the rest of the evening.

    The position of hotel and style of bar, lounge areas and restaurant were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a flood in our room on the first night. We were moved to the "emergency room" which was considerable smaller with less facilities. Some were rectified the following morning. Our bed was not made during the day along with towels. No offers were made to clean and sort damaged clothes. No courtesy phone call or contact made to either me or my husband apologising for the previous evenings flood. There was no "fish" on the breakfast menu on news years eve. I experienced a severe stomach bug from 6am on New Year's Day, which then my husband contracted later in the day after our arrival home. Friends that were also staying in the hotel had the bug too.

    The staff in the lounge bar were friendly Parking facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could you please put up some more hangers for wet towels and dressing gowns in bathroom- thanks. :)

    Very big, comfy bed. Good choice at breakfast and very helpful staff. Staff who parked car were fab; always seemed to be around and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast staff also very friendly; take a window seat at breakfast for a lovely view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot believe that for that price there was no WiFi in the room (I was effectively told I should have read the small print), you had to wait 20 to 30 minutes for valet parking to fetch your car (compulsory), no shower, or even shower attachment (so how you rinse your hair I do not know), cold burnt toast, indiscreet conversations between staff at breakfast regarding guests, 20 minutes to be served a drink at the bar (restaurant takes priority), lift not working on arrival with heavy bag (it did work later). At a price greater than 200 pounds a night. In my 55 years, this is only my second complaint text/letter and I travel a great deal.

    A good breakfast range. Uncluttered and clean room. Lovely view from the room if you stand up. Good location on the edge of town. Elegant and tasteful property. They were very accommodating and helpful when I had to leave the property early. The staff were very friendly. I would imagine in the summer the patio would be a boost and the views excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location ,great staff, very comfortable room ,good breakfast. The swimming pool and spa facilities were really nice . I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor housekeeping and room provision. Vacuum left in corridor over night. Room bar not refilled and room not sufficiently well cleaned.

    Very friendly and extremely helpful staff in all departments.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone in room was old and did not work with no numbers on it to call reception etc Windows needed cleaning but they were cleaned as we left room Booked a suite and only 1 small bottle of still water and 1 sparkling, needed more water

    Suite was fantastic. Bathroom was phenomenal. Massages were perfect Awesome view Room location to spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee!

    Coffee at breakfast was awful..replacement was fine. We thought cooked breakfast was average for price...quire ordinary. Poor scrambled eggs. Sausage and bacon average. Continental breakfast better. Staff at breakfast bit harassed and not particularly friendly. But outstanding view. Otherwise all staff excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they are obviously refurbing some of the rooms, although mine looked very nice when you looked close up the carpet was stained in lots of places along with the curtains

    all the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool...afraid it is little more than a plunge pool. Wifi bit dodgy...didn't work at all on our first evening. Room a bit small, as was bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a room with sea view. Was a lovely room No. 216. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and could have done with some additional shelving but otherwise the room was lovely and comfortable and had a glorious sea view across St. Ives bay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening menu very poor selection and over priced, the deal we had taken could have been explained better. Ironing board could have been better décor good but carpet could have been cleaner

    Fantastic View, Comfortable bed, room service good, Breakfast very good. Overall good value for money Décor in room makes you feel relaxed on arrival

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bedroom with extremely comfy bed. Spotlessly clean! Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast in the lounge overlooking the beach. My partner and I had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay. We are definitely going to stay again and would highly recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: