Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Leicestershire hotel reviews
  4. Great Glen hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Pug & Greyhound

Reviews of The Pug & Greyhound

14 London Road, Great Glen, LE8 9GF, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Great Glen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    5.4
    Perfectly nice,, warm even cosy room
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not expect staff to look worriedly at the clock when I ask for Sunday lunch at 1250pm, nor do I expect to asked ro "hurry and order" at this time.

    Perfectly nice,, warm even cosy room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    4.2
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No reception staff all done at the bar in-between serving at the bar. No explanation of services etc rooms not to luxury label. Eg door opened directly from room to car park park.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Brief but necessary, very comfortable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is very minor but the TV could do with being elevated a little - it was very difficult to see the TV from the bed.

    Room was beautifully decorated, really comfortable and very well equipped

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    Great location and great pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The skirting board is a bit shabby in places. The wi-fi is good and free but you need to log-on every hour, which is a bit of a faff when you’re working/answering emails. Not a big faff but a tad annoying. The bed was a bit too hard for me.

    Friendly staff. Large car park. Compact but comfortable room. The food at the pub is great - great value and great flavours. TV is a decent size with good quality picture and sound. Shower room/ loo is a decent size. Good wi-fi strength.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    6.7
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in the old stables was small but well presented. Unfortunately we arrived on a very cold day and the heating had failed. The staff fixed it whilst we had a meal but it meant that washing and showering was a no-no before dinner!!!! The bathroom door was very close to my side of the bed and invariably hit the bed frame when opened. But we only had a standard room, maybe the others are better.

    This is obviously developed from a local pub with real ales at the bar. The public area exudes the old world local pub atmosphere. The food menu in the dining area was varied and the meal we had was very good. I suspect that our Spanish friends would love to experience this venue as a delightful example of what they believe is the British experience.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere with friendly staff, great food and a clean and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was lovely! The staff were so friendly and welcoming and a great atmosphere. So much character too with it being a lovely old building with all the modern benefits as well. The room was perfect and really handy to be able to park right outside. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    6.7
    Fresh milk given to us for the room and tea/coffee...
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't realise that the rooms would be located in the car park which meant it was very loud at night and very drafty. The room was dark but if we opened the curtains, there was no privacy as window looked out into car park. Walls were thin so we could hear upstairs get ready in the morning. Shower quite small.

    Fresh milk given to us for the room and tea/coffee facilities were very good, although we had trouble getting the coffee machine to work. Good bathroom extras. But towel too small for partner.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place with lovely staff, food was amazing and couldn’t have wished for a nicer room. The room was extremely clean with everything you would need, access to Netflix so we could enjoy a lovely soak in the bath whilst watching a film honestly the nicest stay away in a long time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    It was fine but could have been so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit chilly, the bathroom had a strong sewer smell, the mug wasn't brilliantly clean. I was surprised I couldn't have breakfast before 8.00. There was only one bedside light - no problem as I was alone this time and I thought the overhead light way too dim. I didn't find "Reception" clearly marked either. Sounds rather a long moan I am afraid. I want to like it as it is in such a great location for my particular visits

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Service at breakfast was poor, staff did not seem to know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Service at breakfast was poor, staff did not seem to know what to do, very slow, toaster broken, coffee Potts empty, ran out of sausages, hash browns (basic breakfast items) staff needed customer service training and attention to detail and basic re filling of buffet etc

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    Ask lots of questions and don’t expect to much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a lot on maintenance issues. Missing light bulbs leaking guttering outside our room. Awful leaking shower head and dirty carpets. Food looks great but pretty tasteless so very average. Found out we had to pay for breakfast after we had eaten it. (Very naughty) We said it was included but apparently that was for a none cooked breakfast only. Would of been nice to have been informed of this before we had eaten.

    Pretty average accommodation nice pub tho with a good selection of wines and beers

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Very quiet considering its next to the pub, rooms were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet considering its next to the pub, rooms were very nice. It was me and my girlfriends first night away together and we both said it couldnt have been any better. Thank you for the hospitality and a good night from home!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Easy to find, plenty of parking, friendly hosts and cleaning lady in pub was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked breakfast only available Saturday and Sunday, but this only saved us money as the continental style spread was ample. Not enough room to order a dessert with evening meal.

    Coffee very good, mix of cereals, fresh fruit, toast and coissant. We ate off the menu for dinner and enjoyed a shared starter and enjoyed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK. Given standard of the other food offerings it was a little disappointing but sufficient.

    Staff were excellent. Professional and welcoming. Food (dinner) was a of a good standard with a large selection of dishes. Bedroom (double) in an annex was satisfactory in size (perhaps a touch tight) with a good sized shower/bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.4
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small. Breakfast not served until 8.00a.m and the worst breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. A croissant left out from the night before. Very poor selection of cereal. Make the toast yourself.

    The village was up to expectation. The dinner was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Lovely end to our tour of the North. Great halfway stop-off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the ensuite door that bangs against the bed because of lack of space. Could the bed be moved to other side of room? Oh and the toilet mascerator made an almighty noise for 10 minutes once we were drifting off to sleep.

    Everything else. Lovely little village. Great pub. Really nice young staff. Room housed in stables so away from noise of pub. Super relaxed continental breakfast in pub.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant place, would stay again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An off duty member of staff drinking in the bar tainted the atmosphere as he thought he was gods gift with his big gob....clearly, he wasn’t.

    A pleasant Leicestershire pub with a few well maintained clean rooms. Was allowed to check in early at no extra cost. If you’re a chubster you may find it difficult to get into the very small bathroom in Room 6 as the bed restricts the opening of the door. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, TV but no iron, ample car parking spaces. The pub has a wide choice of food & drinks served by helpful, friendly staff. Would I stay again? Yes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.3
    Business stop over
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are part of the stable block separate from the pub so should have been ideal. However Room 2 needs the main door looking at the large gap allowed the noise of the pub fan or kitchen fan which ran all night which would have kept me up however I always travel with ear plugs so could cope if not it would have been a real pain.

    Quiet location great atmosphere ample safe parking. Nespresso coffee machine and kettle a neat touch. Sophie made us feel settled and very helpful and well informed on the restaurant meals both recommended meals were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.4
    Not the best, shame as it could be very good with some investment and attention to detail.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The UK was going through a heatwave and the rooms were very very hot, a fan was provided but was far from adequate due to the temp, the location of the room and the curtains left open to let heat in the room all day. Some thought to keep rooms cooler and provision of some type of better cooling (Portable aircon) would have made sleep possible. Breakfast was poor even for continental, moldy bread and little actual provision was not good.

    The manager was very friendly and helpful, the evening meal and drink selection are very good. The location of my business travel was ideal and the area was quiet. The bathroom and bedroom were reasonably furnished and good quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Definitely stay again
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in was lovely the staff were friendly and helpful great bunch of staff A+

    The food was nice great value for money. The rooms were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and friendly with everything you need for a good night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed side/table lamps weren't working which is a bit of an oversight, suggesting that the rooms facilities are not always checked but this was sorted once we informed them.

    Modern and quirky pub in a quiet location with very friendly and helpful staff and great food. The twin bed room was compact but well appointed and clean with a great shower room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the staff and the locals. The staff were amazing, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant is amazing! We had a cooked breakfast in the morning, and it was really nice. We had a lovely relaxing weekend, and can’t wait to go back!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    A gorgeous cosy stay in a beautiful part of the country. Weather was brill too!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing stands out, a broader continental maybe? Found my stay as a whole great!

    The rooms being separate from the wining and dining are fabulous, even the most basic were more than comfortable. Food was brilliant and service impeccable. Nothing beats a cold pint in a scenic little town :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.5
    Really enjoyable stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hottest day of the year and no A/C in bed room.

    A genuine friendly welcome. The Bar team were very attentive even though it was a very busy day?night. I don't think I've ever met a happier and more helpful cleaning lady and maintenance man.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ‘Standard Double’ is tiny. We were staying for two nights. The room was not cleaned during our stay so we had to ask for clean mugs then go over to the pub to ask for additional toilet rolls ( Very embarrassing!) The shower needed some husband diy so that water was directed at us and not the wall. I did mention this to the Manager at the point of checking out who apologised. We will not stay here again.

    The food, and Service, was really good and this place is worth a visit for a meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    6.7
    Although the staff were friendly, polite and helpful the room was a disappointment.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room, particularly the divan bed! Don't book room 6 or at least until it has been refurbished and in particular, the bed is replaced! After complaining we were offered room 1, a refurbished room of which we were grateful.

    Staff were polite and friendly. Continental breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay with lovely staff but there's room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bedside lamps. Rooms are by the car park which gets busy late in the evening when the pub closes. There was a lovely bath in the room but no bath sheets (only small towels) and no bubbles or other bath products, only shower gel. For a luxury room I would expect a bit more.

    Lovely staff, nice room decor. Very good pub and although we didn't eat, friends of ours did and said it was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Fantastic lovely pub .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No all was great thanks.

    Loved our stay .went to a wedding in Flekney needed to be there by One pm . The pug and greyhound were most helpful and let us have an early check in thank you .had a lovely stay .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Good location and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are used to a super king bed so to be in a double was difficult. I would have thought now days most hotels have king size at least.

    Good location and lovely food. The staff were very helpful and the room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, a nice country pub feel with a beer garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast started at 9am which was too late for us. But in fairness we could have continental from 8am.

    Lovely location, a nice country pub feel with a beer garden and good in house restaurant. Staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dark had to use torch on phone to make a cuppa. Noisy fan from kitchen. Did stop when kitchen closed didn't keep me a wake.

    Quaint pub, lovely food, staff cheerful and happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Average, but to be fair it was only £55 for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was in urgent need of refurbishment. No light bulb in the very small bathroom, carpet worn and stained, bed frame worn and damaged, all furniture old. Cannot fill kettle in the sink, kettle too big.

    The attached Pub is very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.5
    Attention to detail needed
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No internet in room , tv not working, no milk for drinks no hangers for clothes no bedside light.you have luxury bath in room but lack on small details

    Good food, nice staff pretty location nice cooked breakfast clean room bed and towels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly country pub but needs to think about serving business and leisure customers well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor information from staff on arrival meant I had no idea breakfast would not start till 8am...I was there for business and required an earlier breakfast, no one told me or asked me what my requirements were....nor that it was only a continental breakfast which was a disappointment in a country pub. It would be quite simple to have a note in the rooms regarding both times and type.....nothing provided. Staff should be well trained to greet people staying appropriately and find out their requirements. And please join the no straw campaign in the bar.. no sucking plastic!

    The rooms was clean, quiet and comfortable and the evening meal was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    5.8
    Convenient but worked out costly !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All of the above Car parking - car smashed into Cost me over £300 to repair - staff and company not interested nO CCTV

    The food was great Room ok - not great lighting Lamp by the bed did not work The bathroom doo would not stay closed and was so close to the bed that it banged into the bed all night We came out in the morning to find our car has been smashed into -NO CCTV not reported - staff do not want to know ! Be careful when parking your car over night Be

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.3
    Overall a lovely place to stay would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needs abit of work doing to it I.e the window had a hole round the frame which let a lot of cold air though.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable staff have catered to our every need and was so friendly. I have recommended to other
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a little problem no curtains or blinds in bath room or milk in room for tea or coffee twoce now and nosey at night when someone goes to toilet water sounds like its in the room with but its an old building so maybe just need pipes reattached to the wall to stop knocking

    The claw tub bath and room was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy village pub. Will make a special trip next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small for what they had manged to fit in it e.g. bathroom door couldn't open fully.

    Room was well stocked. Staff were lovely. Bed was marvellous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, unless you are a size 8 you could not walk into the ensuite unless you shuffled In sideways.... there were cob webs, and the bedside lamp did not work

    The pub had a great stmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    8.3
    nice little pub, good food, staff were very welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating in the room could have been put on prior to my arrival as the room was very cold when i got there.

    nice little pub, good food, staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    7.9
    Had to moved to a new room and this was a lot better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night my heating didn’t work the and it was -7 outside. shower was miserable. Smallest TV in the world with no remote. Safety issues with the main door and had to take me belongings with me to work because the door didn’t lock properly and had big gaps.

    Had to moved to a new room and this was a lot better. Big TV with a remote, fridge, comfortable bed and a bath in the room. The way my complaint was delbt with was quick and fare and staff very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.2
    A warm and fuzzy stay at this lovely old but new pub.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only comment would be that the shower head is too high up, and as it's integral to the wall you can't move it. It's not very strong either, so for me to give The Pug & Greyhound 10/10 I would love the shower head lower and more of a power shower type affair! Apart from that we were really happy with our stay and will definitely come back.

    We were up in Leicester from London for a business trip and my business partner and myself loved The Pug & Greyhound. It's a really relaxed pub environment but done in a really cosy, B&B way. Really inviting and warm, with an open fire and lots of great ales and wines. We stayed the night in Room 3 which is a twin room. Really comfy beds and lovely linens. As we had to run off early in the morning we weren't able to stay and sit down for breakfast, but the lovely manager made us takeaway coffee and we grabbed a lovely tasty croissant and some fruit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.1
    No. I'll be as helpful as they were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Chaotic breakfast. Restaurant staff not friendly at all. They were there to do me a favour! Thats all sadly.

    A little chaotic at breakfast. No organisation. Dinner, never had my first two choices. Fairly friendly. Nuce location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good value !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Television didn’t work. When informed they made a note to look at it.

    Good coffee, biscuits etc, nice toiletries. Heating controllable and efficient. Hot water always available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    The staff we're friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff we're friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and had everything you'd need for a good nights stay. Breakfast was also great. Would recommend anyone travelling for business or leisure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.1
    Poor value for money waiting for return of£80
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room facilities for a luxury room were poor. There was no shelf in the bathroom or a hook to hang anything. There was no choice of coffee e.g. No decaf, no herbal teas, no bin in the bedroom A very small room an uncomfortable bed certainly not worth the £160 I have paid.

    The ground floor room I reserved because we have difficulty climbing stairs had been given to someone else. I was charged twice for the room as the machine didn't seem to work the first time. I rang the pub but they hung up when I tried to explain. Still waiting for the return of £80

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.7
    Warm clean room easy parking and excess to area noise disturbances a key problem and no internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from outside rubbish bins at odd hours of night and mornings found disturbing Internet didn’t work or reach room so very poor reception Bathroom chilly Felt slightly insecure with door entrance and lock and outside door entrance from yard used by other guests was really noisy and disturbing For bed and breakfast thought continental breakfast could have offered a little more options fruit juice etc and value for money the price of a hot breakfast should have been included ( although you could have bought off ala carte )

    Very Clean warm room .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.1
    Close and with some maintenance and checks would be good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor breakfast with nothing for Gluten Free. Nespresso marchine in room didn’t work so no coffee. Shower head scaled up and very little water pressure. Universal remote made TV difficult to operate.

    The bed was very comfy and the bath in her room was positioned to nicely watch TV. TV fully loaded with Apps like Amazon and Netflix

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    6.7
    The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure from the shower was very poor and the walls a little thin!

    The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and we had a good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    6.3
    Good pub with food, quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No milk in room. Coffee machine in room didn't work, clogged up with coffee

    Good pub with food, quiet location. Comfortable rooms with plenty of space

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant surroundings and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was poor in my experience. It wouldn't work very well in my room. In the pub it was fine, my room not so fine. The room walls are also extremely thin; the next room seemed extremely loud.

    Location superb - very beautiful. Staff very nice and friendly. Food nice, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    3.8
    A means to an end, as other places were fully booked and this being available, now we know why!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (No. 5) extremely tired, not very clean, outdated, light fitting in bathroom covered by fine and many layers of cobweb. Shower errmmm needs updating. Toilet roll holder practically falling off the wall, oversink ledge falling off. Only one bedside table so husband had to use floor for his drinks. Tired and very old carpet in bedroom. Only one packet of biscuits.

    Bed was about the only thing to like.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    6.3
    Short sighted .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was told I had to pay on arrival . Apparently they have had problems with people who have left without paying . I usually eat where I am staying and put it on my bill and settle in the morning or after I have eaten . As a result I ate elsewhere . £ 32 of revenue lost .

    Comfy bed .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    5.0
    Nice location, nice pub but accommodation could be rethought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we stayed in "summer" the weather was rather cold but no room heating was available. Some other hotels we stayed in had electric heating. Tiny TV The bathroom was very small and narrow

    I like the concept of rooms behind a pub and there was little noise the night we stayed. Even though no double glazing. Check-in was OK but the breakfast choice was average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.2
    Just the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a shame that I couldn't have a shower as the shower head was overhead and no hairdryerin the room. I am sure that had I asked they could probably have provided one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.5
    The waitressing staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dingy lights in the room No hooks to hang stuff in the bathroom - dressing gown etc No bedside table on one side, so drinks, books etc on the floor Windows didn't open (painted sealed) - hot! so had to ask for a fan No net curtains and windows and door were straight onto the car park so had to keep the very dark room curtains drawn until dressed No curtain/blind in the bathroom (window straight onto car park) so had to shower/use loo with light off

    The waitressing staff were great A fridge in the room was very handy Great vibe in the bar and restaurant Toiletries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    Great venue for our family party of 7 to stay for a local wedding.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were extremely helpful including offering to do an emergency trip to a supermarket to buy some cotton so we could so up my daughters dress which ripped as we were getting ready to go to a wedding!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very clean but basic and could do with a makeover but perfectly adequate for the price

    Excellent continental breakfast included in the price with good quality ingredients. Great coffee

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Exactly what I needed.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needs a bin in the main bedroom area for things like teabags etc and maybe move the bottle bins so doesn't wake you.

    I was here as my mum is in the hospital down the road and I needed somewhere to stay close by. The staff were awesome, very accommodating and the manager (Andy?) was lovely and really informative, as was the cleaning lady who was just a gem to chat to. The room itself was exactly what I needed. Although basic, it was clean, very very comfortable and had the cutest touches such as the paintings, all natural shower gels and the most amazing Hendricks cups (my love of all things cutlery/kitchenware did a giddy dance). I was so relaxed through the evening and slept like a log. Only one thing was that I was woken fairly early by the sound of glass bottles being thrown in a bin (being a pub I'd expect that at some point) as I think the bins were nearby, so perhaps these could be moved so they're not so close to the rooms. The room could do with a bedroom bin (one small one in the bathroom) but tbh the shower I had and how relaxed I felt, it didn't really bother me. The breakfast bread and croissants were lovely AND unexpected as I didn't realise it was included in my rate. Lovely pot of tea to start my day right and some really engaging conversation from the staff. I've yet to try the dinner (I was far too tired to eat after hospital day) but my stay was simply enchanting. A quaint little gem in the middle of splendid countryside...gotta live a pub with bags of character. Thank you guys! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay if a little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather noisy as rooms are at the side of the car park having been converted from stables. People leaving the pub were rather noisy and some of them must have been staff as it was after closing time.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    5.4
    If I had had more time to look around I would not have stayed there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was appalling. The door to the room from the outside had been recently jemmied and the repair was sloppy to say the least - appearance appalling.

    Food was well presented

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent one night stay while attending a wedding nearby would recomend staff very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decoration of room needs work huge gap in stable door 2 light bulbs not working.lu

    Very comfortable bed and very clean room. Good tea and coffee with biscuits and soft towels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    7.9
    Warm and friendly country pub.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy with people talking outside the pub and moving bins around very early in the morning. Shower had no hot water in room 5 or 6.

    Really nice pub with the accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    5.4
    Fawlty towers in Great Glen
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature could not be controlled; Window was not secure; No hot water when first showered; Continental breakfast was very poor and no alternate hot breakfast available; Cleaner cleaning the restaurant when we were eating breakfast; My experience was obviously not important to the staff as they did not ask when I checked out The whole affair was very amateur, not worth the £80/night that I paid and I will not be rushing back

    The room condition was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    5.8
    Don't expect too much as it's very dated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation at the Pug & Greyhound is somewhat dated - 1980's decor and furniture. Our room was very small with rickety old pine furniture and the bathroom door banged on the bed every time it was opened. The bathroom was very small. The TV was tiny but I think if a small amount of money was spent on furnishings it would be more appealing. However the double bed was very clean and comfortable. It was ok for 1 night.

    The staff were very friendly on check-in and for the rest of our stay. We had dinner there in the evening and the continental breakfast was good. Although we were visiting Leicester city centre we decided to stay in Great Glen as it looked nice on the webiste. I am so glad we did as the village is lovely and we had a nice walk in the sunshine. All the houses and gardens are very well looked after. We visited the 2 local pubs where the staff were very friendly. A perfect English village!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    9.2
    Check whats on the breakfast menu before booking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast

    The rooms are outside in the parking area, they are clean and comfortable, but a bit small The food was okay, but on arrival I was told that te breakfast was Continental, they do not serve a cooked breakfast during the week. ???? If I had known this beforehand, I wouldn't have booked this hotel. However apart from the above all the staff were proffesional, friendly and polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.9
    Great Stay in Great Glen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more attention to detail in the room (missing light bulb, dripping tap) would be appreciated although it did not spoil the stay.

    The staff are helpful and accommodating and the pub attached to the B&B has a really good restaurant and busy/friendly bar area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    3.8
    Priorities are totally wrong here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Priorities are all wrong - cleanliness, a decent pair of curtains in the room, a shower that works and good food are a priority over a Smeg fridge in your room - oh and a coffee machine that doesn't work.... I heard people in the restaurant complaint about the food ... I'm not surprised - my meal was totally average - it didn't appear very fresh!

    Set in pretty village

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    10
    After a long dar on a narrowboat course, the P&G was just what
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wad a bit warm but I am a person who likes a cool bedroom for a good evenings sleep. Having said that I slept really well in a very comfortable bed.

    Superb old coaching House. Clean. Great service in bar. Lovely evening meal and excellent choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    7.5
    Ok for overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inch gap above bedroom door to outside and could see daylight through cracks in door frame as well. Not good if it was windy bad weather!

    Great breakfast spread!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    7.5
    Did what it said on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast only served from 8 and no cooked breakfast during the week. I did know this though so not an issue for me

    Friendly, as advertised. Reviews helpful. Some nice touches, made an effort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    8.3
    Tidy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of shower pressure and had to put the radiator on as there was no effective seal round the door of Room 5 and there was a slight draught.

    Nice room, clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    6.7
    Great place to eat, but we would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'de-luxe' double room was a twin. It was a rectangular room with a small window at one end, by the door (in an outside, detached block, the former stables), and the lighting was poor, with only one low-wattage overhead light, and a tiny lamp at the far end that didn't work; and the walls were painted a dingy dark grey, so the room felt very dark. There was no blind in the shower room, only frosted glass, and I felt very exposed when showering. The shower room needed some tlc. We were woken just after 6.30am by the loud noise of rubbish bins (?) being dragged past our window. Despite the alfresco bath, this felt very much like a budget room - compared to the one we stayed in at the Crowne Plaza for £4 more, the week before (a large, light room with a luxury bathroom, bathrobes, mini bar and a 6' bed, plus a wonderful breakfast spread, through booking.com). At the Pug and Greyhound, the breakfast choice was very limited. We did not like the intrusive loud, thumping music in the pub. Fortunately, it got quieter while we ate our dinner.

    Fantastic food and a lovely waitress. The brisket of beef in BBQ sauce was divine. Everything cooked to perfection, and a great selection of sauces on the table, including upmarket ketchup. We would eat there again anytime.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    9.2
    Well worth a stay, whatever the circumstance.ŷ
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was a quick trip to attend a family funeral. Four members of the family travelled on average 180 miles, so we're tired on arrival. The whole environment at the P & G was very satisfying, friendly staff, excellent meal, and very pleasant rooms. Very thankful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    5.4
    Great Pub - Dissapointing Bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    The pub itself was lovely but we had a prior engagement in Oadby so chose the venue for it's location. The place has great potential but the rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment and the shower barely worked. The bed was clean and comfortable but I wouldn't stay again - there's a Premier Lodge nearby which I would expect has better bedrooms - real shame as it could be brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: