Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Queens Hotel and Spa 3 stars

Meyrick Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3DL, United Kingdom

#67 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2622 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably nice setting and premises if a little old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the room had no air con of any kind and we had to put a fan in the room to help getting some kind of cooling effect.

    Reasonably nice setting and premises if a little old and worn in parts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Business Stay. Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no complaints about this hotel

    I enjoyed the fact that you could have either formal or informal dining and the setting of the hotel was perfect for my work purposes. Dining outside in the garden was great after a hard days work. The pool was also a bonus after a very hot day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Please Improve
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, no hairdryer, no water, no air condition, dirty windows, wallpaper falling off walls. Gym poorly equipped small, hot.

    The nice gentleman that moved us to the 3rd bedroom at midnight!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again.........................
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness and smell

    The room smelt very unpleasant and needed a thorough clean. There was extremely large moths which we believed contributed to the smell. One of the single beds was very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs in the mattress. The housekeeper knocked on our door and woke us up at 9.20 am on a Sunday morning to get in early to clean the room - very annoying as we had had a late night prior. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, comfortable, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking very limited: had to park in street and get up to get ticket before start of charging period in morning. Hotel: somewhat dated decor; bathroom lighting a little dark; door to balcony did not shut properly. Very hot weather required balcony door open at night, although this presented some inconvenience with traffic and people noise outside (but this is to be expected in hotel near town centre in seaside resort). One night extremely noisy in hotel with party in ballroom but this stopped at 1am which was very reasonable and so I still had a good night's sleep.

    Room good size. Balcony was a bonus. Clean and tidy bathroom - with bath! hooray! (These days not so many rooms have a bath, only a shower.) Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely time spent with my 2 daughters and the weather was a bonus .felt like we were abroad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well ! a totally ruined surprise ! by a staff member which couldn't get a request right !My daughters partner had call up earlier in the day and ask for a bottle of £39 Champers to be in our room on arrival ,6 hours later he had to ask us ? ,even then they try to palm us of with a cheap bottle of rose ,which made it even worst & the member of staff that brought it up to us was rude .All was sorted by the manager ,but it was totally unacceptable.

    all the staff at breakfast were lovely and helpful,Rooms were lovely ,but maybe could have benefited air-con !! especially as my daughter is pregnant .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Great weekend poor accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £130 for a box room no view I have photos if required really disappointing. Not what we would expect. My daughter and mother in law had a twin room for the same price and it was twice a big as our shoe box.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff, lovely hotel. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and jaccuzi are both quite small so we didn't spend too long in them. I would have liked a few more teas ect in the room but it wasn't too much of a problem. A little fridge in the room would have been helpful

    Fantastic staff they are very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and clean with nice decor. Pool was lovely and warm. Breakfast was nice although there were some items missing. Reasonably priced for a Saturday in July.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night we couldn’t fall asleep since there were people out on the street partying laughing and shouting.

    Friendly helpful staff and very nicely treated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    2 nights slept there only. Hotel was old as we're the rooms. Very tired and inneedfefurbishmnt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the rooms very old and tired

    The receptionist was helpful we had 3 rooms before we found on that was clean. The place is very tired old fashioned and antiquated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors did not fit properly within the room and the bathroom extract was noisey. The decoration was tired with curtains freyed and wall paper faded.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, lovely rooms and fabulous breakfast. Close to beach. What more could you ask for?!! x
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a light window covering like nets or voile just so you have a bit more privacy.

    Beautiful rooms with clean and fresh decor. However could do with a bit of air con as extremely hot. The breakfast was very tasty and staff friendly. Would stay again and short walking distance to beach and shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. I wouldn't go back to that hotel even if it was free

    Absolutely nothing. I wish i could say say something nice but i can't. I have stayed in alot of hotels and never had any problems. I have made a complaint and was assured that the general manager would contact me. That was over a week ago. No one has so phoned and asked to speak to the original person i made the complaint with and they haven't got back to me. All that i can say is that i was given a dirty fan to use and switched on all the dirt and dust blew on to my bed. It was so hot in the room so i left it on which it was blowing in my direction all night. Monday morning i had a sore throat and felt unwell, by Wednesday i was really poorly and had to go to the doctors which i was told i had a throat and chest infection and was running a temperature and was put on a course of antibiotics. Both my friends were perfectly alright as they were not in contact with the dirty fan. I have never complained about a hotel before but this hotel and the management do not care about there guests. It wasn't just me being ill there were a number of issues that would take to long to list. Booking. Com i would seriously think about having this hotel on your books.. If you wish to speak with me please fill free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could have been spruced up a little as their were marks on the walls, but I could not fault anything else with the hotel

    Situated above the beaches this hotel was excellent location wise. The staff were brilliant and the facilities were brilliant. Great food and a fantastic stay. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing stay and looking forward to the next one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think some of the place could do with re changing it and making it better but it’s not a massive thing I didn’t like

    It was a lovely hotel, Staff was friendly , breakfast was really nice . Rooms were a little dated but it stated this on booking but it never bothered us we don’t stay in a room when we come away. It’s close to the beach and also the town centre so very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Very helpful and efficient staff! Nice hotel, very close to the beach and very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and gym closed at 9pm, would have appreciated it being open to at least 10pm. The room we stayed in was clean but very basic. The reception, bar and breakfast room decor is very nice and each area very comfortable to be in, however as you go up the stairs to the bedrooms you can see that the rest of the hotel is in need of modernisation.

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area soft furniture needs update.

    Great location - 2 min from the beach, friendly staff, great inside pool and gym! The price was also one of the cheapest at the time. Would definitely come back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean, SPA small but ok. Fabulous Staff. Brilliant location..top end of beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mobile air conditioning or electric fans available. The rooms are dated and walls are paper thin. Beds were lumpy. Windows were dirty.

    The staff were great. Lunch was lovely. Area nice and close to the top end of beach...small walk downhill to the beach. Room clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Paid £275 for the disgusting room .shower was crap
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were not clean.The big yellow spots were disgusting. WHEN ASKED FOR IRON BOARD ,THEY SAID THERE IS A COMMON ROOM FOR IRONING WHICH WAS STINKING ,IRON BOARD WAS FULL OF STAINS.IRON WAS DIRTY

    The reception management was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    We were there for only a short time but it was a comfortable stay, I would definitely recommend it
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could do with a little updating , it's quite an old building but it was lovely to have a balcony.

    The location was good, The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was too much for them , they went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was poor. It was weak and took a while to get hot

    The room was massive and really comfy with lots of storage. Staff were lovely. The pool and spa were fantastic. Its right near the beach too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Generally had a pleasant stay, ashamed fell and bruised leg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath mat too small, bath very slippery, to the point where I trip and fell whilst getting into the bath.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Variety of breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a quite, relaxing stay. Not for you if you are looking for bournemouths nightlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast variety and quality could have been much better. The bar prices were a little steep with the price of a Rekordling cider being around £5.25 and a glass of prosecco £4.25.

    It was a clean, spacious room with a very comfy bed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The spa and treatments on offer were amazing! The pool was clean and of modest size and had separate little jacuzzi and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    improve cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bits on floor Not only in our room but also Along corridors stairs.

    Everything apart the cleanliness On our arrival the bedroom floor By entrance door has bits on floor Dust all over lamps wall lights. And 3 nights stays Room has not been hoover The management should Invest more hoovers Hotels has multi levels of stairs Not all floor near lift. Despite had requested lower Floor we been given 404 Which is up 5 stairs and down 12 stairs Very unsafe for disabled persun Likevmyself. Then main lift broken down And have to use luggage lift. :)).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor value and facilities tho' the staff tried their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working lift or cooling facilities (fan or air conditioning) on a scorching day. Very noisy within the hotel and from revellers outside all night long.

    Within walking distance of the beach and a good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great location, Very reasonable price , lovely reception girls 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing wasn’t good is the bar food from the kitchen. As a chef food should have Been better , may be it was busy time with the dinner and conference. There was short of staff at the bar . Bar girl was running everywhere by herself....

    Hotel is in great location from the Beach and station . Very good price with all the facilities including gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc . And specially reception girls was so nice and helpful. Enjoyed our stayed 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    This hotel is the best in Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I could not fault a single thing wrong or point out anything I did not like about this hotel.

    I have been to this hotel twice now and i swear by it, I would not go anywhere else! The hotel is well presented and clean. The facilities are excellent, the pool and spa area was amazing! The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious. Also the staff were so friendly and helpful. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Disgraceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would never go back staff very rude my 5 year old son nearly smash head head open because the lift did not stop level with the floor so he tripped when we told the staff we pretty much got told well nothing we can do

    nothing do not book this hotel Disgrace full attitude

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    I will be staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities in general. TV in room small. Bed small Hotel is in need of updating. Lift is in a terrible state. Spa facilities inadequate and poor.

    Staff were helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean, friendly and helpful staff, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For whatever reason, the room was really dry and we were constantly thirsty. Not sure why that was.

    Good location, clean, friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking was an issue, but, that can't be helped as they can't expand parking area.

    Hotel, staff, facilities, spa, food, entertainment was all spot-on!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Run down, tired unkept rooms. A disgrace to be frank!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and condition of the room was terrible! Cold water tap was running water that was heated, and of course the hot was running hot - not just wrong tap issue.

    Location was OK. Short walk to centre for drinks and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible, had two functions on so had to double park and leave keys with reception, noise from functions went on til 12pm! Hotel was sooo hot, husband had to leave breakfast room as it was too hot he felt unwell! Rooms were very shabby and dated!

    Breakfast was nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely cosy hotel, in a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the car park was busy, we had to double park and then had to wait some time for the driver of the other car (who was hard to locate) before we could leave.

    Lovely staff, each member of staff was so friendly. The hotel is at a great location! Close to the beach and walking distance to Old Christchurch Road which has lots of bars and restaurants. Overall it was a great experience. We then drove to Durdle Door which was about 40mins drive from the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    It suited our purpose and had a great time.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only shower head over bath, which is difficult if your disabled. Room was clean but was in need of refurbishing. Lots of noise at 5 am, sounded like people coming out of night club. Very hot both in bedroom and dining in room. Bed was very soft.

    Good breakfast choice with friendly staff. Excellent location for beach. Asked if room could be ready for our early arrival and it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to our balcony did not shut / lock had to get hotel staff to do it. Croissants were burnt at breakfast and dinner items that could be cooked to order not available - hash brown and black pudding! Also no air conditioning.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor areas need a little tlc.

    Very comfortable, clean, could do with a little tlc in places but not detrimental to stay. Staff excellent vey helpful. Only sampled the breakfast which was excellent, plentiful and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    The location of this hotel is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving we were allocated a room on the second floor. When walking in, it was like walking into an old people room, dated decor, smell of musty old carpets and furniture that had wood missing and edges that had been knocked a thousand of times. We complained to reception which in fairness they did move us to a newly refurbished room on the third floor. The room had better decor and smelt clean. The bathroom was still a little worse for wear with grout missing in the floor tiles and mound on ceiling. Also one of the windows wouldn’t shut at all but luckily it was hot so that didn’t matter. The hotel overall needs a make over as floors are so creaky and old carpets and even moving floorboards which they had to put caution signs over. Photos definitely are much nicer than the hotel it’s self. Disappointed really but location was good.

    The location of this hotel is brilliant. Not far from the pier and main restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    The location of this hotel is brilliant - just a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a school prom on both the nights we stayed, and the second night the disco was directly beneath our room. The staff did move us to a different room, which was nice, but it was very hot. There were very limited plug sockets in our original room, but the new one had loads.

    The location of this hotel is brilliant - just a short walk to the beach and the main train station, and 10-15mins from the Town Centre. We were able to use the spa facilities too, which was great. The customer service was second to none.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was very hot with little ventilation but a fan was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff excellent facilities lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi

    Room was very hot with little ventilation but a fan was provided. TV was only small and not wall mounted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant central stay near the beach and pier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is an extra £5 per day and spaces are in short supply - this appears to be common in this central area of Bournemouth. I did look at one other nearby hotel which wanted £20. On street parking, if available, will cost more than £5 for a day. Be aware that there is a climb up from beach level. (No problem if you are fit but ). Again common to many other hotels because of geography. There was a council provided lift to the beach nearby but it was washed away a couple of years ago and is out of order.

    We booked a standard twin but found ourselves in a freshly decorated room with a double and a single bed opening onto a balcony area at the front of the hotel. Really quite pleasant. About 10-15 min stroll to the central pier. Beach is down a ramp/steps just a few hundred yards from the Hotel. Harry Ramsdens Fish and Chip restaurant is beside the pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location with car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky beds & most of the furniture rather tired. Generator cutting in & out all night which was annoying due to windows open for hot evening. No decaf drinks offered. Unfortunately very noisy seagulls woke us at 5am!

    Excellent location 15min walk to town centre for shopping & theatres. Large room with double bed & single - it was a hot night so slept in both beds due to double bed being rather smaller than we are used to. Spa available but forgot to take our swim wear so cannot comment on the facilities & didn't eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    We had an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on third floor so we took the lift but we still had a flight of stairs down to our room!

    Good size room, swimming pool and spa was lovely. Breakfast was very good but it was very hot in the restaurant and portable fans had to be used no air conditioning. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came back at midnight and had to wait 15 minutes for our key as there was no one at the front desk they were in the kitchen making someone a sandwich for room service

    Great location close to beach and shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Bournmouth bonus ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is just one complaint and that is the bed was to hard and wasnt comfortable ..

    Apart from the bed , everything about the hotel and staff was exellent the position of the hotel was good , the staff were helpful and friendly , The buffet style breakfast was the best we have had , we only had 2 days at the hotel but would go back for a longer stay ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Location and hotel in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff are young and was only one person working and another just standing around ,took 45 mins for 2 sandwiches ,rooms comfortable and clean but dated .

    Location and hotel in general

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was in an amazing location, right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the pictures is not what we received. Our room was a little dated and the bed was quite small for us, water in the shower ran very slowly so we showered in the changing rooms of the swimming pool but if you were having a bath in the room it was fine (I think the shower heads just need changing).

    The hotel was in an amazing location, right next to the cliffs and 5 minutes walk down the cliff front to the sandy beach, the staff were so polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa/pool area was quite small and with two couples in the pool it seemed a little crowded. If you can find a quiet time though it was relaxing.

    It was a good sized room. The hotel is close to the beach and town. Never had any problems parking in the car park. Staff were all really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Lovely, comfortable stay in a welcoming establishment in good location.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were shown had very narrow single beds. Everything else was fine.

    The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and very welcoming. The twin room we were given had very narrow beds but we were moved to a better room (a family room) with no quibble and no extra cost, on request. The room was large and seemed newly decorated and fresh, the beds were comfortable and it was quiet. Bathroom was spacious and clean, although floor grouting needed some refilling. We used the swimming pool in the basement which had lovely warm water and a jacuzzi pool - great for relaxing. Most of the time we had it to ourselves. The hotel is close to the beach (zigzag path down from the cliff) and 15-20 mins walk to the centre of town. Great lebanese and korean restaurants 5 mins walk away. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment. The hotel could benefit from some updating in public areas but this is a minor point. A fridge in the bedroom would also improve it. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and am surprised it is only accredited as a 3* establishment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    We were booked for 3 nights and only stayed 1 .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had the sun all day and the room got unbearably hot. One feeble fan that only had a metre length lead, not ideal when the plug sockets aren’t in a useful place!!

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Area, staff and the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning needed to go in the pool to cool down but one of the lovely staff brought us up a big fan made us feel soooo much cooler.

    Area, staff and the food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Room and rest of hotel very warm and had a musty smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and rest of hotel very warm and had a musty smell. Even the map we were given by reception was musty. No choice of premium lager on draught. Flat lemonade served from bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Replace the mattresses please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit tired. The mattresses are aweful. You can feel the springs and if you are in a double bed you have what I can only describe as a friendly centre. You both towards it!

    Staff are excellent and the food is good. The location is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, meeted our needs, staff were friendly and helpful just needs a refresh in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and furniture was old could do with a make over. The view from our room over looked the roof so bot the best.

    Hotel was clean and meeted our needs. Spa was great apart from the sauna was broken. The room was clean and a good size but fairly dated, needs a make over.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Worst night sleep of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel I have stayed in bed was a twin stuck together and springs were so bad couldn’t sleep at all awful bed and the room was so old and dated wallpaper ripped and stains every where’s the furniture was all damaged plugs not on walls properly I will never go back to this hotel again paid over 100 pound and wouldn’t of wanted to pay 40 for it disgusting

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Over priced for what was delivered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was wallpaper peeling off the wall in the room and, unfortunately, we were able to hear everything. We had some young men next to us that we could hear talking at a normal level. The balcony was easy enough to hop over making me feel uncertain to open a window as it would have been easy for anyone on our side of the building to access our room.

    The breakfast was enjoyable with the croissants being kept in the oven so that each one was warm and fresh. The leisure facilities were small but fully functional and looked great with the ambient lighting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our tiime exploring in Bournemouth and the Forever gorgeous spar was fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room curtains were so old they spoil the room . Furniture could do with updating and a decent shower would have been nice . No air conditioning . The restraunt could do with a coat of paint .

    Enjoyed smoked salmon for breakfast .The pool and jacuzzi was really enjoyable . Staff were very friendly and polite . Forever gorgeous spar in the hotel was amazing for a pamper .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A really nice clean comfortable hotel with super staff. Great location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot in all honesty say there was anything i disliked.

    Great value for money. Ideally located by the sea. All others amenities like shops and restaurants are located with in a ten minute stroll. The staff at the Queens hotel & Spa are really friendly and make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I personally will be returning and l would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Lovely midweek getaway. Also went to the spa and used the pool facilities which were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One hallway light buzzed, but everything else was spot on.

    The room was lovely - new carpet, comfy bed, plenty of room, decent sized bathroom. Lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place just needs updating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly warm even with the radiator switched off due to a massive hot water pipe running through the room and the bathroom needed updating

    The location is perfect right near the seafront and the staff and facilities were superb especially Maddie on reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Room was nice and staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the couple above our room. They were obviously enjoying themselves, but I thought the ceiling might cave in and it kept us awake. Not the hotels fault

    Room was nice and staff were very good. The girl on reception was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.5
    Will not be going there again and pleased we got out without being electrocuted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open electric control panel for Jacuzzi with exposed wiring OMG. Room far to hot, needed 3 fans as no aircon but they made to much noise to sleep. Bed had very tired springs so very uncomfortable and shower screen door broken.

    Very little

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I booked a double room we where first given a twin, and I for one hate going back to reception to moan.

    Excellent location and great facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Not a disaster but the hotel fell well short of expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrower than usual twin beds. Windows difficult to open and close. Room service came in without knocking when I was getting dressed. Barking dogs. Serious lack of car parking spaces.

    All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Might stay again, but would prob go eleswhere for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated. Breakfast not great... tables clearly laid out with a large coach party in before us. Had to wait for a table for 4, but another family of four came in and were seated straight away. Selection on the poor side, not much fruit, only brown bread, had to wait a long time to gain the server’s attention and ended up getting up and helping ourselves to hot drinks

    Nice large room, comfy bed, nice toiletries

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    A lovely older style English hotel located close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WIFI wasn't great and a mini fridge in the room would have been useful.

    The staff were really exceptional and we had a great room with a partial sea view that you could see from the bath. The breakfast was really, really good too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Just ‘ok’. Would not choose to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tired. Could seriously do with a refurb. Seemed to prioritise coach parties & functions over other guests. Nightmare of a car park - nowhere near enough spaces for amount of guests.

    The spa was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed in hotel but staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We felt the hotel was very tired- our room was scruffy and needed a lick of paint; as did the rest of hotel. My husband could get wifi intermittently and it was useless in our bedroom after he first day. I couldn't get wifi at all. No shower gel or shampoo replenished after first day and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. Only had dinner once as coach party had all the desserts so no choice for guests paying full price. Some coach party guests had 2/3 desserts on one plate.

    Swimming pool was excellent. The staff were all polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad. Could be better. Refurbish rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. The curtains were stained and ripped. The bed wasn’t too comfortable. The tv kept freezing.

    The lovely staff. The swimming pool. The seating area by the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Is this for real?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Door would not shut without lifting the whole thing - I wasn't strong enough to do this. A maintenance man came twice and told reception the job was done but he didn't do anything to improve it. The room was a weird mix of shabby wallpaper and carpet with hole, with some refurbishment of the bathroom. The hairdryer (attached to the drawer and no mirror anywhere near) cut out after a short time. The request for another was too slow in arriving so I had to go out with wet hair. Had to wait for a meal in the bar for 90 minutes.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a plug for my phone, and you didn't have any available, but your kind staff lent me her personal one... Very impressed, I would stay again!!! Thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    first time been dissapointed with this our stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ordered room service about 9:30 we were provided with a limited menu but were happy with this as e were just grateful to get some food. When this arrived promptly we were so happy until we took a bite. I pulled a hair out of my sandwich and that was fine I dealt with it. Then I pulled out a clump of long red hairs out of the sandwich it was a joke how many hairs were actually in it. Needless to say this put us both off. to tired to go back down stairs and a nit fed up tried to call reception but no answer. Really disappointed stayed the week before and the food was fabulous. We didn't expect too much from the food as we were advised that the kitchen staff had finished for the evening but another member of staff would make these sandwiches for us. Disappointing as very different to our stay the week before

    The room was of good standard and very clean and tidy. Happy with the room and the hotel is in the perfect location to explore Bournemouth

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    I booked out early as i could not stay another night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Boiling hot rooms. I felt like a Japanese prisoner of war forced to sleep in a tin hut in the heat.I could not stay in the room during the day and kept awake all night.I had the fan blowing on me but it was hot air being blown around the room.The staff seem to think a fan cools down a room.A fan will not cool down a room.It only works if it is directed onto the skin.

    nothing. The images shown in booking.com are not the same as in real life. The garden was a mess and the rooms were like sleeping in an oven.I fan stuck on a chair. Small tired rooms. The old Queen should be closed. Car park too small and the bar is uncomfortable and sterile. The hotel is a dump.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay just needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t feel clean especially windows and nets , pool not good for little children only main pool and tiny splash pool

    Lovely hotel staff very friendly and close to beech and the centre swimming pool nice for adults aswel, hotel left birthday card for daughter which was very kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    First night our room was situated on the 4th of 4 floors right next to the lift which was fairly noisy in the morning asked about a room change and reception were very helpful with a new room within 15 minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Queens Hotel and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: