Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Raven Hotel 3 stars

Barrow Street, Much Wenlock, TF13 6EN, United Kingdom

#3 of 8 hotels in Much Wenlock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Pretty much Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only relatively minor problem was there was a large group of walkers in on the Sat night/Sun morning - breakfast was a little slow and depleted (but staff were happy to replenish) and the water for my wife's shower was at best tepid - it had recovered by the time of my shower. I blame the walkers rather than the hotel :-)

    Room and bed were very comfortable. Staff were excellent and very attentive. Food and drinks were good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant place for one or two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought prices for evening meal in restaurant were excessive. Toiletries in bathroom were minimal

    Breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly and courteous. Hotel was very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    My stay was far too brief , would have liked to sample the restaurant which I heard is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The chefs granola was amazing, I had it with a lovely fruit salad and asked for yoghurt which was given generously (I don’t eat cooked breakfast so didn’t try this) The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was undergoing some exterior work but this did not affect my stay at all. A huge bonus for me was the excellent coffee. I stayed in the forge which was so quiet and all so near the centre of this lovely town. I will definitely stay there again, I was on my own and felt very safe, great parking too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Poor value at £120; could learn from e.g. Premier Inn about basic room quality and management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (No 13!) was upstairs in an annex accessed through an open-air courtyard. The room was extremely cold on arrival; radiators not turned on. The manager turned them on at our request but two out of four did notget hot and we asked for them to be fixed while we wre at dinner this was done. The shower was above a bath with a high side to step over with NO hand rails at all Or riser pipe to the shower head). No soap dish. The room ahd two chairs but no side tables by the chairs or day bed. The carpet was very thin and poorly laid with big wrinkles. The flush handle of the toilet came away from the unit when pulled. The light switch was around a corner from the door; hard to find in the dark.

    Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were good quality and served fairly well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Shropsire's gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The batteries in the telly remote seemed to be nearing the end of their useful life. But that was the only thing that fell short of perfection and a minor point indeed.

    Superb hotel. This is the third time I've stayed there and will do so again I hope. Standards are excellent throughout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely, accommodation and position where excellent. Facilities good. The food was lovely, just need to be aware if staying on a Friday or Saturday to book in the restaurant as they get full.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was a little cold. They forgot to replenish the shower gel. Getting a drink at the bar was not easy. One had to wait a long time or go searching through the hotel to find someone to serve you.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They dealt with my food allergy very well. The food at both dinner and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    A good quality hotel in a good location with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more selection on the cold breakfast options and the lounge menu is slightly high in price in my opinion. In the lounge sitting area, the cane furniture needs replacing as it catches clothing if you sit on it as the cane is brittle and breaking up.

    Hotel is in a great location, good off-street car parking , staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are a good size with all the facilities you would expect, clean and in good order, with tea and coffee, ensuite bath / shower available and good large towels. Breakfast was good, the hot breakfast was fresh and to order although the cold aspect could have been a little more expansive. The evening dining option is either fine dining or a more casual lounge menu, the fine dining experience is very good and the lounge menu also has a good selection. I have no problem in recommending this hotel to other travellers and would happily book this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    clean but lacked friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food very expensive for what it was. Girl on reception not very friendly, she was trying to be but could tell she wanted to be somewhere else. Hotel had a private party which they did not tell guests about which would have been ok but they were not serving food which is bad also did not have time for their own guests kept ringing reception bell for assistance but no one came so had to go into private function to get assistance!!!!! would we stay at this hotel again No. In our opinion this hotel is trying to be something it is not. Breakfast was ok but not as good as could have been.

    Lovely area, clean hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly obliging staff, room lovely and spacious in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was hot then cold all the time. Evening bar menu limitedl and quite expensive, with small portions.Homemade burgers had a funny taste. Breakfast adequate but not served hot.

    Very friendly obliging staff, room lovely and spacious in The Forge annexe ,immaculately clean, comfy bed, fan provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cheese board offering was expensive for the very small portions given, poor value for money when the rest of the food was excellent.

    Very friendly staff, good service in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    A good boutique hotel, well located in an interesting town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was unable to have an evening meal as advised - because the dining room had been fully booked,

    On arrrival I was immediately helped with luggage to the room. A good breakfasyt

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    overall very good experience. Minor corrections needed. Rethink food. Neuvel cuisine a bit old hat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small portions in the dining room. Food expensive for what you get. In room sunken bath dangerous to enter and leave. urgently needs hand grip and rubber mat in bath.

    comfortable room quaint atmosphere friendly staff and good quality food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Learn about the origins of the Olympics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minuscule TV in the bedroom which suffered intermittent dropouts (Ex BBC engineer who loves his telly!)

    The renovations to what is a very old building were excellent. The food on offer for the included breakfast was an impressive variety and was very well received. I assume the menu for dinner was similar but we didn't try it, since we were visiting friends. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Food very good, high standards.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath taps not so easy to operate but plenty of hot water

    Food very good, high standards. Requested grapefruit at breakfast and it came elegantly served. Beautiful dining room. Peaceful and calm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit small for a double and my Husband thought a bit soft.

    Been before to the Raven love Much Wenlock, and staff always excellent and breakfast also at the Raven.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Allmost Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At about 4pm on the day of arrival I tried to book a table for three for dinner at 8pm, to be told that the restaurant was fully booked. I explained that one of reasons for booking this hotel was the good food write ups it had received. Alternatives offered ,try in town or go to Ironbridge. After showing more displeasure we were offered a table in the bar at 6.00pm. Quite a lengthy debate took place to say we had been emailed early before we left home to tell us the restaurant was fully booked. To date we have been unable to trace that email. After exploring the town for an alternative without satisfaction we reluctantly accepted the 6pm table. From here on in we had an excellent dinner with staff and owner making our stay a real pleasure

    Every thing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed a little odd that you couldn’t select meals from the lounge menu and eat them in the restaurant..but Nuno once again met our needs and our evening meal ended up just as we required.

    The room was pleasant and clean, staff were friendly and helpful...particularly Nuno, he excelled at customer service nothing was too much trouble for him...thank you for making our stay a happy one!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful building in a prime spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel’s fault, but my room backed onto the courtyard and, having hiked for 18 miles, I needed to rest. Some very loud cockney pensioners were boring on about the improvements being made to their Southend bungalow and I couldn’t close the window because it was too hot!

    Beautiful building in a prime spot. Attentive but unobtrusive staff. Decent food and very comfortable room (seemed excellent value). Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent food and lovely staff, situated in a very pretty village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in our room was very poor. I could hardly get anything out of the basin cold tap.

    Not sure that any of the above accurately describe the property. The dinning area was luxury. The rest of the hotel was nicely done.Our bedroom was spacious and very comfy but could do with a bit of a make over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    It was good I slept well, there is a good feel about the place, it was busy but service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, for what I paid you could not expect anything better, it was excellent value for money, and if I need accommodation in that area again I will certainly give The Raven a call

    The staff were cheerful and helpful, the the food was very good, which includes breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    An all round lovely few days - so thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of The Forge rooms. It was an unexpected very pleasant surprise, like staying in a private accommodation with all the added benefits of a hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Quaint hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very rare I have issues with the power of a shower, the shower head was to small, thus the flow of water was to powerful, I couldn’t reduce the flow, this took ages to rinse the soap away. We came down stairs and lying on the stairs carpet were clean bed sheets and towels, not very hygienic.

    Hotel nice and homely, staff pleasant, great location steeped in history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    The wife is gluten intolerant and when mentioned they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly soft, I sat on the edge of the mattress and sank to the divan underneath. There was no support at all, with my wife and I either rolled together in the middle of the bed or scared of rolling off the edge of the bed. I understand the building is quite old but also the floor sloped downwards to the headboard, so we were sleeping with our heads much lower than our feet, it’s just wrong.

    The wife is gluten intolerant and when mentioned they provided a lovely breakfast, much better than the standard cooked breakfast offering.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, great atmosphere, great food - a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little not to like, but it would have been nice if they didn't bunch everyone immediately next to each other when they have a lovely airy restaurant with plenty more room

    Lovely place, lovely atmosphere, great bar (wonderful cognac!), very comfy bed, excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The Raven came recomended from a close friend and fellow buisness traveller - it did not dissapoint!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comments

    Excellent staff - great food, efficient and polite service - fabulous accommodation. Fabulous building and location. From check in to check out - just perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    a very nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was lovely

    the staff was very welcoming and friendly. the room was clean and nicely decorated and the bed was comfy. the breakfast was lovely. a very nice stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    See under what "I liked"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything about the Raven from the welcome, attentive staff, comfort in bedroom, dinning and sitting rooms was excellent. The food was also extremely good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Generally loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed's mattress was very soft, left us both with back ache.

    The friendliness of owners and staff was great. The food was magnificent, excellent chef. We ate there both nights and breakfast, all cooked to a superb standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    We would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and lounge area was being redecorated but there was little attempt to make it more comfortable for us.

    The food was excellent and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a pretty village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cups in the bedroom were too small to make a decent cup of tea in. Orange plastic beakers in the bathroom ???

    Comfortable bed. Quiet location away from the main road so no traffic noise. Lovely village with independent shops and a good pub nearby. Good bath and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good breakfast and excellent cooking for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast and excellent cooking for dinner. The ambience is one of quiet comfort and a genuine sense of generous hospitality and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was tired and dated before the current modernisation was started. To fulfil its potential, the owners must ensure the rest of the property is updated. They have made a good start but there is much more to do.

    Close to the lovely old town and easy access to historic sites locally. Good car parking, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    This is a little gem waiting to shine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel current is currently under going sensitive refurbishment which is great to see so hopefully there will be a little additional attention to detail to be applied to the bedrooms too. A bed side light wasn't working in the room we had (forgot to mention it at the desk) and the décor is a little dated.

    The breakfast was delicious and served in a very pleasant dining room. Staff were attentive and helpful. Car Parking easy. comfortable, clean and a great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    All of the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. They were always on hand and did everything quickly and efficiently. The room was nice, very clean, with a very comfortable bed. Very good restaurant. Excellent dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice enough hotel but nothing special. The room was comfortable but the decor was really odd - looked as though someone had touched up the marks on the walls with tester pots - and not noticed they'd used a slightly different shade: it didn't look as though any care had been taken with it. They'd also used really highly fragranced cleaning products which made my eyes water! After we'd left the windows open for ages and the bathroom fan on to get rid of the smell the room was a bit cold! Had we paid half of what we did, I'd have happily turned a blind eye but for £120 I expected better.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Won't be going back again photos lead me to believe all rooms were of the same standard not so
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good for £120 a night dirty carpets broken tiles and mould in sealant in bathroom would not have a bath there no glasses for cleaning teeth all basic needs night light shone through making it difficult to sleep

    staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner too expensive for what we got. It was "cheffy", too prissy, small portions. Had to get out of bed to turn off bedside light. Room (forge 4) way too hot, and no visible means of controlling it. If wet, would not have appreciated trek across car park betweeh room and hotel.

    Breakfast good. Staff good. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is outstanding, the staff are excellent and the village is beautiful. There is excellent walking in the area and if you don't like walking there are other lovely villages and places to visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    The room was clean and the staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The finish quality in the room was a bit poor for the money, cracked tiles in the bathroom and broken loo roll holder for example. It seemed there was a lack of attention to detail in the finish of the room or a room that needed refurbishing, having said that I would guess that the room was refurbished in the last few years. The breakfast was pricy and a little bit underwhelming, but the quality of ingredients was good. The service at breakfast was attentive however the whole experience was a little stuffy.

    The room was clean and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Delicious food breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft. The bathroom loo had a poor flush.The seal on the shower door was broken and water leaked over the bathroom floor when taking a shower.

    Delicious food breakfast and dinner. Beautiful dining room conservatory & lounge area.Helpful staff and a spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    The room was small, hot and stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location.

    The room was small, hot and stuffy. The chest of wooden drawers were virtually impossible to open. For the money it was not value. At breakfast the butter was meagre in portion. On the 2nd breakfast there was no room in the dining room, we were put in a place off the bar which was in the course of being renovated, there was no fresh fruit availble and no one came to replenish the empty bowl. All in all disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Nicer in anticipation than reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was expensive, fiddle, and not much of it. Too fancy by half, and low on ingredients. The bath had no handles - potentially dangerous.

    Nice biscuits

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    A good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bedside light didn't work, nor hot tap in bedroom washbasin (but plenty of hot water in bath). TV signal a bit variable.

    Very comfortable bed. Wide choice of breakfast dishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant small traditional hotel in very attractive town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality bed. heating not turned on during very cool June day - had to ask.

    Very good breakfast food selection,good service and pleasant dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant food not to everyone's liking (novae cuisine) Backroom music dire

    Friendly staff. Ideally situated for Ironbridge Gorge attractions (5 miles) Breakfast good and varied

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant overnight stay in interesting location. Food excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in some areas needs a refresh.

    Regularly stay at the Raven when in the area, primarily for the food in the restaurant. Rooms clean and comfortable. Conveniently located for various museums and other attractions in the Telford area, and also for walks etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the kitchen was going all through the first night that disturbed my brothers sleep after talking to the staff very apologetic and gave them a free breakfast.

    The rooms were amazing nothing was too much trouble we got held up in traffic kitchen was closed when we got there but the chef made us a sandwich .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    A great find in an historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More sitting area in the hotel itself

    All the staff (and owner) were very friendly and helpful and did all they could to make our stay a very good one. Our rooms (in the Forge) were airy and well presented. The food was particularly good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a picturesque old market town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable with all amenities. Breakfast was delicious with excellent service. Would certainly recommend to friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    One night in Much Wenlock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was good as was breakfast. It was a lovely little town. We were only there one night, but plan to go back for a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.0
    Generally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furniture a little dated as was the bathroom.

    Generally good. Needs a spruce up in parts but otherwise clean, comfortable, easy parking and good food. friendly efficient staff. Will go again and recommend it to people visiting the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    the RAVEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Raven is a lovely old building, with lots of character, however it is very tired, and really needs a face lift, not worth £120 per night.

    location perfect, staff lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    A wonderful family run hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found this hotel to be a friendly family run hotel. The staff were professional. The accommodation was homely. The hotel has character and us well suited to the beautiful location A lovely stay with an exceptional breakfast. Thankyou for making my stay so pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We have stayed here before and as usual the stay was excellent in all respects. In particular the food in the restaurant was of the highest quality - suitable for a Michelin Star! A very comfortable lounge and conservatory. Breakfast very good and freshly cooked. Much Wenlock is a lovely small town for browsing many small shops. Has a pottery and Priory to visit. Also a good base for Ironbridge Gorge and Shropshire Hills.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Large room, excellent evening meal and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated, especially the bathroom. Carpet in the stairs mended using tape. Pricy cost of pint of beer at £6.

    Large room, excellent evening meal and breakfast. Lovely village with great atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Met of of our requirements for this trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast time was very busy the particular morning we were there as there were others going to the same event that we were. Staff did their best to accommodate this.

    relaxed cosy environment, nothing was too much trouble for the staff food excellent value for money and of a high standard

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Very comfortable small hotel in a lovely part of the UK
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an unpleasant stain on the bed sheet that suggested the linen had either not been changed or not cleaned properly - the one small thing that spoiled an otherwise excellent stay.

    It was very comfortable and everything was fine,except for...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Good location, clean rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms but was adequate for the type of accommodation, old hotel but clean and comfortable.

    Car parking was close by. Very comfortable room. Easy enough to find, good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    2.5
    we didnt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel would not accept the booking for the cost that booking.com provided usthey should have honoured the price or booking.com found a similar alternative, we are talking new years eve

    not applicable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    Raven Hotel weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom a little tired but clean and well equipped with hair drier and bath/shower, but hot water wasn't always available.

    Great food, excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Like the curates egg...good and bad in parts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome! The lack of sympathy when we requested a table for dinner and were refused because of staff shortages in the Kitchen....not of interest to me as a guest.

    Much Wenlock..terrific villagfe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylish and comfortable hotel with friendly staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay. Wish it could have been longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. Everything was perfect.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was brilliant with ground floor, private access. wonderful for couples

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food really good with good choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    A very welcoming hotel to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duck served in thick pieces

    Informality and position plus white table linen in dining room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Tandem Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely, no problem in storing our tandem overnight, big room, very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good sized room,also had armchairs in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good sized room,also had armchairs in the room.Lounge menu had a good choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, welcoming hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    I arrived at noon on. Went to a wedding from 2.00 to 11.00 pm. Slept very well, missed breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, good powerful shower, pleasant airy room, not overlooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower kept going off difficult to get the temperature right

    very comfy bed lots of space to move around an storage for clothes spotless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Much Wenlock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel full of charm and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired. Mildew on ceiling and tiles in a few places

    The total warm friendly atmospher

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfy beds and so quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds and so quiet! We slept really well and the food was amazing, would recommend eating at the hotel restaurant for an evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving to come home

    The accommodation in the lodge is superb

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: