Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ravensworth Arms Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

Greenford Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11 0ER, United Kingdom

#13 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    I had an excellent stay there recently so gave it another...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different staff this time, there seemed to be an awful lot of apologies being dished out in the restaurant. Same meal not quite as good as last time but no complaints from me

    I had an excellent stay there recently so gave it another shot as it was very local to where I had to be the next day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Simple, clean and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a power cut so didn't have a decent breakfast and the light in the bathroom when having a shower didn't work because of the power cut.

    Location. Friendliness of the staff. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Evan though it has been extended it still has kept it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite nosey and the Ants in the bathroom. The breakfast was not up to the standard of the the rest of the property.

    Evan though it has been extended it still has kept it's character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Good value for money in a great location
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy parking, fast check in, comfy bed, bath/shower had hot water evening and morning and restaurant food was good pub food. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and airy with tea and coffee provided and a tv and hair dryer. Blackout blinds were a bonus. The pub was lively and surprisingly busy for a Wednesday evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Really comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could do with updating, but for £60 was still excellent value.

    Really comfortable bed. A basic room, but excellent value for money. Very good food. Staff were cheerful, friendly and knowledgeable. Location was pleasantly situated just into the countryside, but close to transport links.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Only stayed over the one night but found the hotel, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only stayed over the one night but found the hotel, the staff the accommodation excellent. Lovely breakfast freshly prepared. Certainly would come back when I’m next in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    will be returning again in the near future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was hard for our perfect sleep, but I am sure very good for other guests, other than that to comment on anything else would be just picky, great and keep up the excellent work, by the way breakfast was ace ?????

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great weekend at a very reasonably priced establishment will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had lunch which consisted of a trio of meat roasted with veg, the meats were really dry and the meal wasn't very good but this is not to say that the rest of the menu was of the same quality.

    Very helpful and accommodating staff. The rooms had everything required and the beds were extremely comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value and service by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a chalet which needed updating as it was a little tired

    good beds. Excellent food and drink..Brilliant location.staff very friendly,good free parking easy to travel around from as it is very central.the hotel booked good weather for us which was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent little find and will definitely be staying again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was a let down was the lack of selection of lager and vodka but not a major issue

    Extra comfy bed and cleanliness of the room was excellent. Views were great, location fantastic and staff on reception were happy and nothing was a bother. Breakfast great and good value for money too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Relaxed place to stay after we had been to a busy wedding day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed 1 night lol!!

    We were allowed to drop our luggage early even though the room wasnt quite ready. All of the staff we met were friendly and efficient. We had the family room which was great, loads of space even with the sofa bed made up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex rooms(stayed twice now) in need of redecoration and refurbishment - a little tired! Can’t comment on internal rooms.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly did not find fault with it.

    Room was exactly what we expected and even more comfortable. Restaurant and Bar very tastefully done. Staff throughout were more than pleasant and very attentative. Both of us agreed we wouldn't hesitate to return if needed to stay in area again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location for access to Beamish Museum and Hadrian's Wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small and not super clean. The walls were thin and late night revelry interfered with a good night's sleep.

    Good location, allowed our well behaved dog to stay with us, interesting history of the inn, friendly staff and small nature path nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was excellent lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had three nights at Thurs to Sunday £29 night , I had to pay £55 per night for those three nights,just thought I should let you know, your comments please would be appreciated.???Our stay wS excellent

    Comfort.excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good. The staff were friendly and most helpful. I had the impression that nothing was too much troub
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having stayed at the Ravensworth Arms Hotel on numerous occasions over a period of 20 years the building is showing signs of wear and neglect. It needs bringing up-to-date and a real deep clean.

    Location for access to A1 motorway, Gateshead and Newcastle district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Really happy for value for money. Also really good location for the beamish museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been better cleaned but overall wasn’t too bad.

    Really likd the dorms that was given. Not like your usual bedroom hotels. Bed was really comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean and friendly but could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very tired. For a modest amount of money it could have been brought up to date. A coat of paint and some small improvements to the fittings and furniture would have made a bit difference.

    The location was quiet and peaceful. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    croissants and lack of fruit at breakfast. rest of it was good

    room was quiet and overlooked a nature area. we could see from our window most of the birds we had seen at the nearby RSPB reserve. even saw a barn owl

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Close to the A1 but not to close.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed several times and in different rooms each time, sometimes in the actual pub building and sometimes in the outbuildings. The standard is not quite the same for all rooms so it might depend on which room you get to whether you are satisfied or not. (some rooms are in need of redecoration and are looking a bit unloved)

    Close to the A1 but not to close. Plenty of free parking, clean room, hot powerful shower, comfortable bed. The atmosphere in the bar/restaurant is always good. Evening meal was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a bit limited on the continental side but full English was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, to stay in a location close to my...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little rough around the edges, unfinished fixtures, worn out paint but as good as can be expected for the price.

    Great value for money, to stay in a location close to my business meeting (Newcastle) for under £60 was perfect. Room was clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    A nice evening meal with a good nights sleep. What more do you want!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked.

    The room was a good size, beds were comfy and it was quiet. Evening meal was lovely with good service. However, it was a little further out than I had realised

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok bearing in mind the purpose of our visit, family funeral - cut stay short - disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had an underlying unpleasant smell. The bed was very hard and difficult to sleep on. The bath panel was broken. The toilet seat was broken. Parts of the hotel were unpleasantly HOT.

    The location was ideal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were ok The restaurant was spacious but food overcooked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    A cold winters night without heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My radiator wasn’t working so the room was freezing. A small electric heater had been put in which was insufficient for the space and didn’t manage to finally heat it until morning. I went down to ask for extra blankets but was assured the radiator would kick in after the receptionist came up and checked it but it didn’t so I had neither blanket or heater. No electric blankets were on the bed and only a thin duvet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff very helpful and friendly.Facilities seemed tired and run down.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed uncomfortable,room poky,continental breakfast poor (dry prewrapped croissant little choice of fruit)

    Cooked breakfast eaten by partner good - plenty of choice and generous portion)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Easy access, warm and food reasonable. As would mostly be expected at cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast limited, croissants stale, coffee and tea not freshly made . Bathroom had mold and needed a good clean and paint

    easy access, could eat and sleep in one place. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Plenty of free parking, Its close to the A1 (but not too...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms are better than others and this time I did not have a very good room, it was a bit shabby and the bathroom was cold. Evening meal was Ok but portions seem to be getting smaller.

    Plenty of free parking, Its close to the A1 (but not too close) so its easy to travel anywhere. Good hot powerful shower. Have stayed several times and there is always a nice atmosphere in the pub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    I can't wait to visit the Ravensworth Arms again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything about it, completely exceeded all expectations and absolutely fantastic value for money.

    Fantastic room, very warm and comfortable. Amazing food in the restaurant and a great range of real ales available at the bar. Staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it nothing we didn't like

    It was lovely and comfortable the staff were lovely and really helpful, the hotel room was lovely and comfortable, the food was amazing will definitely be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Quality for money, lovely location, friendly staff. Would def return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups in rooms

    Staff were brilliant. Cery professesional and helpful. The room was cosy and suitable. Bar and restaurant very nice indeed, although a little costly for drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable and would not hesitate to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed mattress poor. Bathroom radiator broken and like an oven in there. Bathroom fan forever on and makes a small noise throughout the night. Bedroom temp upon arrival was too warm (a complaint I never thought I would make of a hotel), but was easily fixed with turning the radiator off full. I am nit picking here as the stay was everything I wanted it to be and more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very helpful and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area and restaurant are very well presented and the food is wonderful, but once you arrive on the first floor and the bedrooms it looks rather shabby and in need of a revamp.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    over all the Ravensworth is a lovely hotel but i will go back to sainsbury's cafe for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that lets the Ravensworth down is breakfast, we have stayed here many times but we stopped having breakfast many visits ago due to poor choice and very little options to change things, this visit as we were pressed for time we opted for breakfast, now as someone who watches what sugar they eat, i thought oh fruit salad, No served in a juice full of sugar, why no fresh fruit to pick from even a apple and banana in a fruit bowl, one variety of yoghurt again not the healthiest, and when i asked for just scrambled and bacon with the fat removed instead of full english, i thought id get at least a couple of rashers of bacon, but No the breakfast only has one so you only get one, seems there is no exchange policy i didn't want sausage mushrooms tomato beans so thats my loss

    rooms are comfortable, staff are always friendly and helpfully, food in the evening was superb,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas were a bit too hot for us, thermostat set at 25.5 degrees, phew!

    Very comfy bed, the duvet was not too heavy or hot (which we often find they are in hotels) best nights sleep we’ve had in a Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    First class treatment for pennies!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say in my eyes there was nothing that I could find fault with. For the price of the stay and the quality of the food on site I would say this place ticks every box.

    The staff were Lovely, the room was large and spacious, very clean. Faultless in every aspect. Value for money by far. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this place to family and friends. My mother and father are already planning their next visit to Durham and hoping to stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice pub/ restaurant average accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heaters worked for 15 minutes, had to rely on small plugged heater also no complementary bathroom shower/hair shampoo.

    Resturant was nice, good surroundings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Really friendly staff, very welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal could have been better, I ordered the fish pie, lots of potato and cheese very little fish!

    Really friendly staff, very welcoming. Booked a standard room and had a room with a four posted bed. Bathroom very basic could do with a revamp, but clean. Great breakfast plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    Food, restaurant/pub excellent - rooms very poor and in total need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in dire need of refurbishment! The room smelt very musty, the bathroom needed updating badly, silicon sealant everywhere, tile grouting dirty, no toilet roll holder. The dressing table had a chunk missing out of it and the wall were scuffed and grimy. If the rooms reflected the restaurant/pub they would be excellent.

    The pub itself was fantastic - it was clean, comfortable and relaxing. The food was delicious! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, although the coffee was served in the pour flasks which let it down a bit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    Don't bother ....
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above. Not worth the money. It is a pub/restaurant with rooms as an afterthought. It says on booking.com that they accept dogs but they dont in rooms in main building only in the little cabins around the car park edge ....no idea what they are like. We will not return.

    Photos on website really deceptive. Interesting outlook and exterior of building has character. Overlooks wetlands, Angel of North ....and railway sidings. Room dingy tired and odd. Weird lighting, poor soft furnishigs, curtains hanging off the rail. No tray for the tea and coffee bits to go on. Bathroom in a poor state of repair.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Night in Newcastle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean & tidy although the ensuite bathroom was dated it had a great power shower . The staff in both the hotel reception & restaurant were all friendly & attentive . We ate in the pub& really enjoyed the food & atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful little inn out in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant and pub itself are amazing, the staff incredible and so helpful. Bed was a bit firm for my back, but overall we loved the place. It is out of town a bit, so you need a car to be sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming, clean and warm and plenty to eat.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor detail - the tea/coffee supplies in the room were a bit scant - 2 tea bags, no decaff coffee and no milk sachets. We were really thirsty after our drive and could easily have drunk a couple of cups of tea each!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an outside chalet type room which made it much easier to have our dog in the room. The room was warm (heaters were easy to control) and it was well lit. The ensuite had a bath with a shower - a real treat to have a soak in the evening! Everything in the room was very clean and the room decor, paintwork etc was neat and tidy. The room was quiet at night - no disturbance from other guests. There was access from the hotel grounds to a lovely countryside walk to exercise the dog.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    My short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything really

    It's nice quiet location away from Newcastle but easy enough to get there by car or taxi / plenty of secure car park spaces /

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing and not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was a 'cottage' directly off the car park. The front door opened straight onto the bed. A flood light shone in through the window. Heavy curtains across the door and window stopped fresh air from the open window. Room was hot and very tired needing a refurb. The toilet flush sounded like a foghorn. Not worth the amount they charged. If we had paid half we would have expected what we got. After saying that the staff were friendly and the food was quite good. The open fires in the bar provide a lovely atmosphere but should be kept going whilst customers are in and not allowed to die down. Will not return

    Friendly staff and food was quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay. I would have no hesitation in staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night. The only fault I can think of was it seemed very hot in the bathroom.

    The hotel was clean & comfortable. Staff were excellent very friendly & helpful. Facilities were good. It was nicely tucked away - but very close to Gateshead, Newcastle & Beamish. An old building oozing character & charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    Good food in restaurant but rooms are a big let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very poor condition and small sized bathroom. Not worth the cost of £100 for the Saturday night excluding breakfast. Overpriced.

    Curry was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice pub, shame about the dirty accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, rubbish in bathroom bin from previous guests, had to ckean the bedside cabinets and top of dressing table as covered in dust, edges of carpets had not seen a hoover in months!

    Lovely staff, pub very nice, food good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Good stopover on the way to Scotland ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice inn/hotel in rural setting but very close to main routes to the west of Newcastle, so ideal for an overnight on the east coast route from southern England to Scotland or an out-of-city visit to Newcastle. Comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Restaurant is corporate pub food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stay just outside Newcastle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat was like madam guillotine for a bloke, but my husband could hold it up to save the risk. :)

    A great place to stay for us between our tour of Scotland and our home in Kent. Easy to find, as close to A1. A nice really big room with good clean feel. All the facilities we needed and the extra bonus in the room being part of a converted stable block, with nice thick walls and character. Good powerful shower and a comfortable bed. Restaurant on site with a good varied menu and nice range of drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    A very nice and freindly establishment ideal for visiting the Beamish museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was like a chalet type room away from the main building , it was a little dated and the cleanliness coulld have been a little better. We had originally a problem with the lavortary , however this was rectified as soon as we notified the hotel staff.. Unfortunately we had a problem with the evening meal , having to return it twice as it was burnt , however we were not charged for the meal eventually served but as a consequence our dining experience was spoiled.

    The location and room appointment , The ease of booking in and the parking. The Staff were very pleasant and welcoming and the bar had a good selection of real ales and wines and spirit and very reasonably priced. A very hearty breakfast is served in the morning as much as you can eat really...Set you up for the day..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    The actual pub itself was quite nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was dirty hairs on the sink and bath area toothpaste in the sink . Marks what looked very much like urine on the towel rail next to the toilet A cockroach trap in the corner of the bedroom why i dont know obviously have a insect problem not good.Cobwebs in the ceiling lights looked like they had been There years There was a strong smell of damp and foist in the room It was way to hot in the bedroom and there was some kind of boiler-motor running all night which was very noisy kept us awake for much of the night . Wasn't to happy at all and certainly couldn't reccomend this to anyone what so ever .Checked out early as not staying a minute longer . This Hotel really needs to get its act together as it's far from a high standard

    The actual pub itself was quite nice .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    It's great to have an outside room when having a dog...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish you could take the dog into the pub section.

    It's great to have an outside room when having a dog with you. A nice walk behind the hotel to take the dog. Lovely food, varied menu, lots of gluten free options even deserts. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Great for visiting nearby Beamish museum and not far from Newcastle,would definately stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism would be that the access door to the shower in the room was very small and unsuitable for a larger person.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.the room was comfy and quiet and beds very comfortable.liked staying in the little cottage room across from main accomodation.good selection at breakfast and evening meals were good and reasonably priced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again as long as didn't get the same bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A personal thing but my steak was undercooked despite asking for it to be cooked a little longer

    The position of the pub makes it ideal for visiting lots of different areas. Accommodation was good but mattress was too soft and definitely time to change it. Staff were all very helpful, and service in bar and restaurant very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay - good food and beer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was hard for my liking.

    Value for money - excellent accommodation, choice of food very good, food excellent and beer. Just off A1, however no noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Without a car it's quite tricky to get around due to the hotels location.

    Very accommodating staff who helped organise taxis throughout the stay there. We were staying at the hotel for the Great North Run and the Hotel left goody bags in our room with Lucozade, sweets and a guide to the race which was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Started well needed very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, served slow, only one waiting staff also covering reception. And the bacon was cooked almost to the point of burnt, the sausage was practically raw, and obvious regular guests appeared to be served first!!!

    The staff, and the quality of the lunch / evening meal, were very good but they were let down by breakfast see below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    A nightmare.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rather noisy party coming from the room opposite our rooms, we were looking forward to an early night after a lengthy journey, this was impossible then, at 2.30am revellers arrived at the adjoining room. not a good evening.

    Good restaurant, decent accomodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Room fit for purpose but requires small improvements breakfast need significant improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a massive disappointment, bacon was very fatty and under cooked, the remainder of the breakfast was swimming in grease. When we complained we were only charged for one but the staff did try to justify that they could only relay on the supplier for the quality. Room was nice but did require blackout curtains

    Dinner on the evening of arrival was lovely,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    We were happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff very accommodating menu interesting and food excellent, and yes the crossants were extra crispy, warmed up for us Enjoyed it, not a boutique hotel, but we are not boutique people. Friendly helpful homely just what we like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, will be booking this hotel when we are back in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was ideal for us visiting family in Gateshead, really quiet rural location but with excellent links to the motorway. Parking was next to the room so very convenient when carrying our luggage. The food in the resturant was excellent and the staff were very attentive, we will definately be going back even just for a meal when in the area again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice bar, nice meal, good service, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the confirmation said ensuite bathroom with a bath shower no bath in their just a shower.quite disappointed mislead. Should of been a discount or compensated with a breakfast.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely staff, great location if visiting Beamish museum, food excellent, great room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very uncomfortble, perhaps consider a new replacement.

    Staff very friendly, food excellent, room and facilities very good, cleanliness excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Free parking, clean room, hot powerful shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Free parking, clean room, hot powerful shower. I have stayed here many times and the pub is always busy and has a good atmosphere. Food served in the pub is decent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good. Location is close to the A1 but not too close so you can get to industrial areas easily if on business.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Good value, hospitable and well-serviced friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our (mature married couple) room was too small to make comfortable double accommodation and, with 3 nights luggage, was rather difficult to access. The hotel location has nothing of interest nearby within walking distance.

    The staff were very wecoming and helpful. The food, ambience and staff in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    The location for Newcastle was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the pub. The tables and seats were sticky. The glasses cloudy. The food for breakfast very average. In fact I just didn't fancy anything on second day.

    The location for Newcastle was very good. The room was of a good size and the bed very comfortable. Nice and quiet except at closing time and then only noisy as pub closed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like

    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Lovely rural setting but within easy reach of the various towns around it and easy access to motorway. For the price for 4 of us I couldn't believe just how good it was. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    lovely hotel let down by a few small details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 10 was so uncomfortable both me and my partner ended up with sore backs. At 4am the 2 young gents in room 11 decided that the small hallway between our rooms was ideal location for a smoke. breakfast was a joke, rather than full english i asked to exchange the beans tomato and sausages for just bacon and scrambled egg, what arrived was 1 tiny burnt rasher of bacon and scrambled egg made from 1 egg

    rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    2.9
    Dont leave negative feedback unless you want abuse and threats of being reported
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have left a report for the hotel on their own webpage which is lengthy and honest. However the hotel didn't appreciate that, even though i was asked to rate my experience and give feed back. Within a couple of minutes of posting it i was called a liar and told i was going to be reported for my comments ! No investigation at that point or speaking to the staff to see what i had reported back. Just defensive and very offensive. A later reply showed that they had then looked into the issues, and the reception staff supported what had happened, but they couldn't leave it at that they had to add further comments about why i hadn't reported other things to staff on the day. Again doubting my comments as to how truthful i was being, and over exaggerating. I had spoken with reception on the day and showed them the evidence of how filthy the room was. I wasn't rude, i didn't make a fuss i just suggested that the housekeepers could be shown evidence to help improve the cleaning, and then the guest experience. The reception lady was lovely and acknowledged that the cleaning wasn't acceptable and offered me a discount on my next visit. By the way in reply to the managers reply as to "why if it was so bad did i stay in the room if it was so dirty" , i decided to stay in the room as i had just showered had wet hair and was in my PJ's, so didn't want to go back into the pub to ask for another room. I decided to clean the room myself the best way i could with baby wipes, hence the evidence i collected on those baby wipes which i left with the receptionist the next day. shame the person answering the hotel feedback didn't respond in the same way as reception. I cant believe this is a trained manager responding like this ( and not just to my feedback by the way) perhaps its just someone standing in, that hasn't been trained up yet .

    reception staff apologized when confronted with the evidence of the filthy room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting!, broken bath, wallpaper hanging off, dead flies everywhere, dust and dirt everywhere, Food over priced and poor quality. wouldn't recommend or go back

    Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Location was good , offering easy access to Gateshead and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was poor with paint and wallpaper peeling. We were put into a small room in a cottage. There were no toiletries provided and only one hand towel per couple. The bed was very uncomfortable , wardrobe had broken door mechanism. The bathroom wash basin had not been installed properly. It was not level.

    Location was good , offering easy access to Gateshead and Newcastle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    1 night stay, disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't very clean and there were hairs in the bath and sink. It's run by Goodnight Inns which is like a premier Inn. The place is massive and not in a god way and not the cosy pub it seems to appear as on booking.com. Rooms carpet also quite dirty and full of stains We had a bad experience dining here also but got money off our meal. Normally not fussy but the food was tasteless

    Location was good for what we needed Bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We even had a view of the Angel of the North from our family room (6) This hotel is perfect if you are visiting Newcastle, Chester leStreet, Beamish etc. It is so close to A1, although you wouldn't be able to tell from the quiet countryside location. Food is reasonably priced as is the breakfast. Would book this hotel again if I was in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel , great foof and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in the decoration was a little tired ready for a coat of paint. After talking to the person on duty they were aware of this and they are waiting for a re-fit of the rooms, but this did not spoil our stay.

    The Ravensworth Arms its great good food and good beer. The breakfast was very good and all of the food we ate was hot as well something you don,t always get. All of the staff we met were polite and had time for you, all smartly dressed a real credit to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Well done to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    room was good size and comfortable, however carpet was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was good size and comfortable, however carpet was sticky in parts(maybe could do with cleaning or replacing)and furniture needed some TLC however for a two night stay this was not an issue as the room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: