Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. North Yorkshire hotel reviews
  4. York hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Red Lion

Reviews of The Red Lion

Boroughbridge Road, York, YO26 6PR, United Kingdom

#25 of 53 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    A pleasant stay in a friendly pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit bare and chilly on a very cold night but absolutely fine for an overnight.

    Very pleasant pub with a warm welcome and good pub food and beer. The location was very convenient. Excellent breakfast. Pleasant and efficient staff. The beer garden must be nice in the summer.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    A brief, but enjoyable stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally I was very happy with the booking. My husband found the traffic noise from the adjacent A59 a bit disturbing - but he is a light sleeper, especially in strange surrounding!

    The staff were friendly, the accommodation was clean and of a good standard and the breakfast was lovely. WHat more could we have asked for?

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    I would love to go back and take my wife next time to share the excellent hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main road was quite close and vehicle noise a bit anoying

    My experience was good food and ale and very helpful and friendly staff. My room was furnished and decorated to a good standard and the bathroom with shower was great. The hotel is close to a park and ride car park which has a 12 minute journey into the coty.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    The Red Lion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv too small...internet kept going off ..Would prefer king size beds too..

    Location and garden was lovely..friendly helpful staff..it was nice and quiet..clean and plenty of room inside...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent all round short stay accommodation, which we would happily use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have done with an extra radiator (one wasn't enough on the cold nights we were staying there)

    Very clean and comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Mark the manager was a really good host.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    8.8
    Location, pub grub, bar staff and breakfast was lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Freezing cold room! The heating didn’t get turned on until we were actually taken to room upon checking in, even though we rang ahead to say we would be arriving late (around 9pm). This meant the room didn’t warm until morning as the wooden radiator cover blocked lots of its heat. They did provide additional blankets for bed which we did use

    Location, pub grub, bar staff and breakfast was lovely and convenient for designer outlet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs to have larger mugs in room as tea/coffee too strong in small cups, and to have more supply of milk. No fresh fruit selection at breakfast or low fat yogurt alternative. Buffet table only limited to cereals and juice. Had a disappointing salmon encroute with barely any fish inside puff pastry and not of quality. Despite mentioning this to a waitress at the time, hosts did not acknowledge this with us or attempt to put it right.

    God’s size beds and cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    just the road noise not their fault

    very friendly staff, good food, good location, only problem road noise but its not their fault and we were aware of this

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointed with the room could be a lot better. Food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not brilliant. Very noisy near to main road. Room was cold on arrival. Mould around the shower tray and a big crack. Lot of cob webs around the ceiling and a huge one in the bathroom which we had to remove as soon as we arrived. Sheets were stained. Room 8.

    Food was very good. Car parking was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunately not a place I’d stay again unless I was stuck
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold damp smell and mould on bathroom mastic pillows ok ish bed ok ish bedding ok ish ! I’m trying to be nice but not for me I’d rather pay more for better quality and so close to road it was noisy I couldn’t sleep properly and woke up at 330 am not comfortable so left at 5 am without the breakfast I paid for but that was my choice sorry 😐 guys but only would stay as last resort needs a revamp I never do bad reviews but have to be honest so can maybe sort out problems

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    The owners made us feel very welcome breakfast was very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only concern was the noise from the traffic noise from the main road

    The owners made us feel very welcome breakfast was very good we had food there and the service was very good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water in the bathroom was scolding hot! There were a few cobwebs on the wall lights. Room was freezing cold when we arrived but soon warmed up.

    Excellent breakfast, which set us up for the day. Very comfortable bed. Nice sized room. Great location - we got a taxi into York. The motel has an arrangement with a taxi firm to charge £10 fixed price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    I would certainly stay at the Red Lion again and do not hesitate in recommending it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Michelle was a star, she waited for me to arrive (late due to road closures and generally bad day!) She showed me to my room and was a great ambassador for the business. Room was comfy, clean and a perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Great value for money a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I were treated so well by the team at the Red Lion, The food was excellent value the Rooms were better than expected, the shower was fabulous nice fluffy towels, The beds were very comfortable and provided a great nights sleep. The breakfast set me up for the day, highly recomended

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    5.8
    Great food, not great room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room seemed a little bit bare in places. No shower door for example. The busy main road is very noisy at night and the room could get very hot even when attempting to adjust temperature.

    Food served in the pub was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely fantastic weekend away at the red lion
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi didn’t work when we were connected to it it wouldn’t work, we noticed in the booklets in the room it stated the restaurant closed at 9:30 pm but when we went at approx 8:30/8:45 we were told it was closing soon

    The food was absolutely fantastic, staff were really helpful and friendly, great location not far from York any questions we had or anything we were unsure of staff were more than happy to help

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    The accommodation was very good with excellent services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were only there for two night so really have no downside to our stay.

    The accommodation was very good with excellent services. Particularly enjoyed the food which was very well presented. The staff were very helpful and informative. Easy access to York itself from the Red Lion via park and ride literally within easy walking distance. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and certainly a place we will be using again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.3
    The food was good, all the staff were extremely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was good, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The added bonus of a Bus and Ride only a few minutes walk away to take you to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    Quality of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the guest information, it clearly states: if clean towels are required please leave dirty ones on the bathroom floor,( if you are staying more than one night) we stayed four nights, when I stated to a member of staff that our towels which we left on the floor the second day of our stay were picked up and placed on the heated towel rail and that we wanted clean towels, we were asked if we use clean towels after every use at home, our reply was yes and everywhere we have ever stayed always replaces towels when needed. We found after the towels were replaced that there was an atmosphere, we just used the fresh towels for the remainder of our stay, not wanting to spoil our stay furthermore. Also toilet rolls were not replaced daily , nor the bins emptied. so for this reason we would not recommend staying at The Red Lion. We were also offered that if we would like breakfast that was to be ordered the night bofore, which we did for our second morning, when we requested breakfast for the day we were departing, we were told by the owner/chef that he had a hospital apointment so there was no one to do breakfast.

    Quality of food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.1
    Only a short break but enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Happy with everything really but just a little niggle, we couldn't order poached eggs for breakfast or brown toast, apart from that great

    Friendly staff made us very welcome and always keen to help

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit York. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Lovely happy staff who were very helpful. Great breakfast, great location (park and ride is easily walkable distance from the Red Lion and a taxi home is only £10 from the centre of York. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.5
    Just what was needed and a credit to Booking.com as well
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some might be disturbed by the busy main road, but it was not a problem for us. The lighting was a little subdued, but this is a matter of preference and might only be of concern to the visually impaired. Beware of the step at the bar as the bar is on 2 levels.

    Check-in was at the bar but not a problem. Being just out of York it was easy for us to be picked up in the morning. The Room was compact but well appointed with a clean and fully functional shower bathroom. All rooms opened out onto a covered walkway. One of the main requirements for us was an on site restaurant as we did not have a car. The food was excellent English cooking with generous portions. Breakfast was just as good. All in all it was exactly what new required for our attendance at an agricultural seminar the following day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay and convenient for York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the road traffic from the nearby A59 quite noisy - but we do live in a very quiet rural area.

    Very friendly staff, good food, especially breakfast, cosy and good atmosphere in the bar and close proximity to the park and ride.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.8
    Good location and room. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the internal areas such as the entrance a little shabby and the garden needs some tlc. Tiny TV

    Good clean room. Bathroom clean and good shower. Great cooked breakfast. Just a couple of miles outside York

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely stay and have already recommended it to other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    This is a great place with easy access into York without having to take your car. The staff are fantastic and are very welcoming. The food is great too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the bit of road noise there were no other down sides.

    Very helpful staff. Mick was a delight to deal with, great sense of humour and extremely attentive to the needs of guests. Beds comfortable. We had 2 dinners with 2 relations joining us for each dinner. All 4 of us enjoyed the food on both evenings. Road a bit noisy but acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, we will be stopping again and would recommend anyone else to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a couple more tea bags and milk portions but there is nothing to suggest that i would have been refused if I asked for extra

    Very helpful and friendly staff Clean room Additional blankets if required Bottled water was a nice touch Plenty of Parking short walk to the Park & ride Superb Biscuits

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay on a 'York hotels prices' budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses a bit worn out. Shower was weak, but we were furthest from the main building and I don't remember this being an issue last time we stayed.

    We have stayed before and liked the place. Staff always makes a place. Park and ride just down the road for easy access to York city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.1
    Super place to go for a evening out but wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the road,heavy traffic up to 9pm and woke us up at 6am Was annoyed that when booking it,it didn’t mention the road noise

    The staff were lovely Food was super Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful country Inn located in the countryside on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A wonderful country Inn located in the countryside on the outskirts of York with good food and friendly staff...just what we had hoped for...the beautiful september sunshine was a bonus!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    4.2
    Bring the ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road noise was unbelievable ( the room was situated about 30-40 ft from main A road) limited breakfast choices, 2 single beds pushed together to make a double bed.

    Staff very Friendly, and motel situated within walking distance of park and ride

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Will
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything exceeded expectations.

    Very friendly staff who are very attentive to your needs. Good food. An excellent bar. Fantastic breakfast. Did I mention the staff, they were fantastic. There is a park and ride very close taking you into York.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    Good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the road and the room next to us but mostly, the sound that reminded me of a Geiger counter that went on all night! 😔

    The staff. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Warm friendly excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike

    From the moment we arrived service was friendly and very welcoming. Food was fantastic. Rooms were excellent. Highly recommend them and shall be returning. Big thank you to the red lion and all the staff for making our anniversary memorable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing , Homely and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found absolutely nothing to complain about

    The room was lovely. The bed was so comfy I slept better than I have in ages . The bathroom was very clean and the shower gel , shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the shower was a nice surprise. A lot easier than having separate bottles to contend with . All of the staff were very polite and welcoming. The food was amazing. HOMEMADE CHIPS !!!!!! Will definitely revisit and will be recommending to friends and family Thankyou to all at the red lion :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were friendly & helpful;
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was not good at all!! A fixed head, only powerful when it was running scalding hot!...otherwise a cold trickle! For that one & only reason I would think twice about returning. 😔

    The staff were friendly & helpful; bed was comfy & the linen smelt clean & thankfully not too "florally". Hate sheets that wreak of highly perfumed detergent! 😝

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.5
    A relaxing and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit lumpy and although water was provided there weren’t any glasses.

    The hospitality was very good. A lovely idea to provide bottles of water each day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    An enjoyable and memorable stay, and would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly & the breakfast was excellent. The room was very clean & comfortable, especially the huge bed, Was conveniently located for the company I was visiting. Very good value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    A perfect b&b
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warmth and friendliness of Mick and his ‘bro’. Kindness, tasty food, a bit of singing guitar and piano finished off the eve with a little dance with Mick finished off the evening a treat. Will be sure to recommend. The small amount of traffic noise was more than compensated for by the lovely facilities and kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Private and spacious and it was ground floor level with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private and spacious and it was ground floor level with a beautiful view of the garden when you opened the front door and a 5 minute walk from the park and ride into York

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.3
    York road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit noisy with been near main road

    Near to the park and ride which is good for going into york .the staff were very friendly and excellent service would definately go again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.5
    Weekend visit to Telatives in the village so very convenient and very good food and service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had just been cleaned and didn’t smell too good ! ☹️

    Food , huge Breakfast well presented with nice large pot of tea! Evening food home cooked so win win ! Very good service ! Would stay again any time !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent service with friendly staff and locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast times could do with extending. Two comfy chairs in the room would be good; if all rooms are the same size. It is on a busy road.

    Excellent service with friendly staff and locals. Accommodating to our needs. Good food ( Really loved the garlic mushrooms, garlic bread and roast lunch) and the Gin menu was extensive. Good access to the park and ride; central location for Leeds, York and Harrogate. I would return due to the hospitality, breakfast menu and the room presentation; the below comments are to improve on an already great establishment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable I would recomend and stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was non existent The food was a bit pricey

    The rooms were clean and tidy The location was good for park and ride The peroni was A nice pint We recieved a nice welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Staff were great, the pub itself was great with the restaurant in a room at the back. Generous portions and the breakfast was also great. Out of the town centre but not a problem as you don't need to go out in the evening as its all there on site. Will stay next time we go to York.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place but could get better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for room only was a little steep given the facilities, I thought for the price breakfast should have been included but this was £10pp extra. The TV was tiny but all in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Room was large if a little dated,The evening meal was excellent and would recommend but pre book as it was busy. Close to York city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    Spot on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really helpful and friendly staff, ideal location ( 5 minute walk from the park and ride)rooms and the garden are spot on, and if your lucky, you even get a free ear wash from “Charlie “

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    6.7
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff were abrupt Cleaning was at a minimum Breakfast was precooked some mornings No poached eggs because the pan was always cleaned on a Tuesday. Come on ! Different cook every day Bar closes at approx 21,00 hrs

    Position

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    From the moment we arrived at The Red Lion, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we arrived at The Red Lion, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, telling us everything we needed to know about our stay. The rooms were fabulous, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was also lovely, with a variety of cold choices as well as a full English breakfast with tea or coffee. I will definitely be opting for this B&B on my return to York as it was great value for money and everything you need. P.S Charlie the (incredibly gorgeous) Cockapoo made our stay with his lovely cuddles!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Excellent base for York weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was everything I needed.

    The staff were lovely and showed us to our room. Free parking and a park and ride not far away. Cooked breakfast was really nice and filling. Spacious room and ensuite. Not far from motorway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Top establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean accommodation also very peaceful. Staff where very friendly as where the hosts really enjoyed our stay and ended up booking another night was a bit of a muddle for them to fit us in for another night but went out of there way to accommodate us. Had evening meals in the restaurant and was excellent food with quality real ales. Breakfast was also very good quality grub to set you up for the day. 2 minuets drive from park and ride into York really handy location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    8.3
    The people who ran it were so friendly and easy to talk to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traffic noise even with the window closed Water pressure not so good.

    The people who ran it were so friendly and easy to talk to.. The food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Very very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to dislike

    the staff were excellent, very cheerful, and interacted with all residents. Food was excellent, room was excellent everything we needed to make our stay comfortable we shall definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for visiting the races
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff were not the best, bins not emptied, tea bags not replaced one of us went out in a rush and left a towel on the floor it was still there when we came back

    The staff in the pub and the owners were great very helpful and the food was lovely we are in the pub every night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.0
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The duvets were 13.5 tog which was so unbearably hot we had to sleep under just the duvet cover, when I asked for a lighter duvet politely they said they have the same complaint but don’t have any lighter duvets - it’s summer! Stayed for 3 nights and the specials board was the same all 3 nights and they had run out of the ginger sponge two nights - first night was because a random person got given the last one over us, hotel guests. Teapots kept leaking, when asked for another we got told sorry no can do that’s just the design, not the best answer really! The bathroom smelt and unfortunately no windows in them to open to be able to get the smell out. The worst thing was the noise, the rooms are right by the A59 so if you’re not used to living by a main road be prepared to be awake most of the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady who serves breakfast let’s just say 101dalmations springs to mind had a horrible attitude don’t dare ask for poach eggs or extra coffee you will be told no and given hot water no coffee everything apart from her was good.

    Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    8.3
    Not bad, overall pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for poached eggs at breakfast and was told they couldn't do them due to the amount of people expected for breakfast, poor excuse there are a few ways to make poached eggs that wouldn't interfere with the cook/chef !!!!

    Parking good, WiFi pretty good, room good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.7
    For the wife and I the property was clean, everything in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The park and ride was further away than we were lead to believe and with the wife just recently had an operation it was necesary to travel to the bus stop by car. Also while our facilities were good the friends we were with said there room was far below standard and they were not impressed.

    For the wife and I the property was clean, everything in place, the food was good and plenty of it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.3
    We had a wonderful few days in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms overlooked a main road which was noisy. However, we understand that the road used to go behind the Inn, which would explain things. It didn't spoil our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One small point, the owner was rather abrupt with one of the girls waiting at our table. We were chatting to her and he called her away saying that customers were waiting in the bar. We were also customers.

    The room was a nice size. Good shower and very comfortable bed. Restaurant was excellent. plenty of choice on the menu. Location is excellent. park and ride was only a few minutes away from the Inn and dropped us off in the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place to stay for a break near York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The main road was abit noisy but the hotel has done there best to minimise that.

    Very nice helpful staff, location was good near the village and the park and ride for york was near by on foot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a little noisy at night as it’s right next to the A59

    Staff very friendly and courteous. Breakfast was fabulous too! Rooms very comfortable and clean. Very easy to get into York as there is a Park and Ride just a little further down the main road. Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Would definitely stay again if protected WiFi installed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit too close to main road, A59 and had to sleep with the window closed to keep out traffic noise. WiFi network is unprotected.

    Clean comfortable room and good breakfast. Park & Ride to York only half a mile away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely people and lovely pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There isn't much to moan about only that if you want evening meal early in the bar area you may find all the tables with reserved signs on them so you would have to wait until people have firstly turned up then eaten and then decided to leave. Minor gripe and didn't spoil our weekend

    Excellent breakfast and plenty of it. Lovely bar and restaurant. The owners and their staff are very friendly. They should be proud of what they have achieved

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent 3 night stay at a very good motel and inn near the city of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought the garden of the inn at the front was a bit sparce and bare.

    We chose The Red Lion because of its close proximity to the park and ride for York. It was a steady 10 minute walk and it worked perfectly for £3.10 return per day. Even better a £1.10 a day with a senior bus pass!.The residents garden was a nice touch outside the motel bedrooms. We had lunch there on our first day with our other travellers. The breakfast was really good and freshly cooked and served by mark and his wife the owners. A nice touch. In the evenings we ate out and about and returned for a couple of nightcaps where Rachael the bar staff was very entertaining and friendly. All in all we would definitely recommend this inn .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Fantiscly run Motel/pub. Friendly staff, good food. great value
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was a bit hit and miss, how ever the staff did warn us, but not strictly down to the business , as they are get poor internet form their ISP

    Fantastic B&B motel. Friendly staff. Fantastic food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    clean, comfortable and very friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downside was the traffic noise which we knew about, was louder than expected.

    after a long journey we arrived at 8.45pm just in time for last orders for food , the waitress put our luggage to one side while we had a meal and checked us into our room after. very helpful after a long day of travelling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    enjoyable and would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked more selection at breakfast. but their dinners were top class

    location with park and ride facility for York and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, location, exceptionally clean,very comfortable. The food is top quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main dining room was used on our last day for breakfast and it was much better eating in this room as it was brighter and sunny. Would have liked a little to have seen the owners a bit more as their personality and presence made a huge difference. The staff were all lovely but the owners were missed.

    There was nothing to dislike. The garden was lovely and for the use of residents only which was good. The location was good, easy walk to the park and ride into York, (however the road is very busy and the pavement narrow,but that has nothing to do with the place). The food is top quality and well cooked and presented. True to say all produce is locally sourced and it showed. Would recommend this place any day of the week. Don't know how they can do this for such a low cost. Exceptional value for money. Want to visit York? Visit here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The adjacent A59 is extremely Noisy, no way to stay outside. Double glazing underperforms . No warning about the noise. The extractor fan in the en-suite did not work , a problem in a shared room Breakfast serving window too small ( 08:30 to 09:30); pre-prepared , served tepid.

    Very good beds. Clean rooms. Staff . Location is close to york

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    The red lion is situated perfectly for the park and ride, this helped out brilliantly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV in our bedroom could of been slightly bigger other from that there's no complaints

    The breakfast was really nice and the menu in the evening had a good amount to choose from

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable west York place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to go to work during the day.

    The Red Lion is very well placed for west York, Wetherby, the A! - and it's at the edge of Poppleton which is a lovely village. A comfortable and convenient stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.8
    A well run hotel with the benefit of Park and Ride to York City a few minutes walk down the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When window is open, it can be a little noisy at peak times from traffic on road opposite rooms!

    Cooked breakfast was excellent and all staff were very helpful and welcomely. Room was clean and facilities were good. Garden alongside rooms was well looked after and very pleasant to sit out in when the weather is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff who went out of their way to be friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud 60s music at breakfast. Nice large garden but right next to busy main road. Could do with more fruit and interesting choices to breakfast for those not wanting cooked breakfast. Which was excellent if you like cooked breakfast. The evening meals very good and they have good wine choices. Worth discussing with owners about house wines.

    Nice comfy bed and pillows. Good shower. Large room motel style so you walk outside to your room. It is covered so don't get wet. Rooms bit dark and could do with a window in bathroom but to be fair there is good heated towel rail so not damp.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Comfy night in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Brilliant customer service. The bedrooms were on an outside corridor so even though we were close to the main pub, our room was very private and quiet. There is a lovely residents garden which on a warmer evening, we'd have taken full advantage of. The rooms were big and comfortable so we weren't tripping over eachother.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay-would go back there again if in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were near the end of the line of rooms (No.13) so not far from the main ring road. We were lucky that we were staying Sunday to Bank Holiday Monday -so the traffic was not as full of lorries, so the noise wasn't too bad. On a normal day I imagine it would be very noisy. So when booking ask for the lower numbers-1 being the farthest away from the traffic noise.

    Very cosy old fashion feel to the inn and the food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!