Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Red Lion Hotel 3 stars

Hart Street, Henley on Thames, RG9 2AR, United Kingdom

#14 of 14 hotels in Henley on Thames

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 551 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic, with hardly any wardrobe space. The cleaners had a major argument on Sunday morning which drove us mad!

    The location was excellent and every restaurant we ate at was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the common areas did feel a little dated / tired in particular the corridor from the rear carpark to reception.

    The buildings have an interesting history dating back to the 1600's a lot more character than a Premier Inn. Breakfast was a la carte which is always nicer that a buffet style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff throughout - none of them were welcoming, clear or very conversive also the breakfast was disappointing, we had to ask for bowls and plates

    the view of the river and the bedroom itself

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room offered - threadbare furniture, faulty lighting, faulty taps which moved around, , stuffy - window difficult to difficult to open windows. 2nd room offered - cold tap didn't work, bath tiles and shower curtain dirty/mouldy. Noisy location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tired. Staff uninterested in Guests & Car Park fee other than Saturday night & the Regatta week extortionate.Would stay at Hotel du Vin

    Location brilliant. Front desk staff uninterested in clients just in payment & £10 charge for the Car Park per night ridiculous. I didn’t mind paying it on Saturday night when it was busy but on Sunday night I was one of two cars in there!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fittings & furniture very tired looking. Tea & coffee tray very basic. Such a fantastic location, with some updating & attention to detail, this hotel could be a gem.

    Great location. Lovely historic building. Comfortable bed. Nice ( if basic)breakfast. Friendly staff. Lunchtime bar food great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s all a bit tired needs a bit of a freshen up. The rooms next to the road are very noisy but you need to open a window to get some air in

    The location is good the staff are helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a very shy person and I was made to talk to people as though I was an actual human being. I don't identify as male or female so I get somewhat upset when people call me Sir or Mr Upton. Your staff were not accommodating of this fact.

    I did not like anything about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of communication between staff,We arrived at 1.30pm and checked in and paid, room wasn't ready but we had to be at a wedding at 2pm so we said we'd pop back later, we popped by around 9pm to be told our room was already occupied so they had to relocate us to another room, very poor

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive so we didn’t have it. A few minor faults in the bathroom but overall nice.

    Excellent location overlooking the river and in town. Our rooms were very clean- quite quirky because the property was old. The bathroom was also imaginatively designed and there were some cracks and the hot tap a bit temperamental but we didn’t mind. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old hotel full of character in a central position overlooking the river and within walking distance of the town. We had a four poster room which was lovely and romantic and very comfortable-we had a wonderful weekend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I would have expected a little more detail on the smaller aspects that make your stay easier or more comfortable, examples: - only one pillow per person had to call reception for extra pillow - no bin in bedroom (not end of world but small details help) - room was a little tired (wardrobe doors only closed if a piece of paper was wedged into them!) - on tea/coffee station there was plenty of tea bags & coffee sachets but not much milk so as we had a cup of tea in the evening we then couldn't have one in the morning as not enough milk!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible room with poor bathroom and cheap furniture and very small bed. Minute TV Paying for parking excessive at that room price (and breakfast)

    locatrion

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very old hotel, so not going to be to everyone's taste. Room was small and cramped, but everything worked okay. There was a problem with the hot water in the morning but the duty manager discounted our bill without question.

    Fantastic location with easy parking. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t aware on booking that if we had a dog with us we would be staying in a “shed” in the car park. The first room we were given smelled strongly of damp and the electrics didn’t work, so no lights. We were moved next door and although it didn’t smell, it wasn’t very clean, the bathroom walls were stained and it was quite shabby. We had no kettle and had to wait several hours for one. Room was very small and the whole experience did not warrant the room charge. Dogs can’t go in the dining room and although we had dinner in the bar with our dog, we weren’t able to have breakfast there. Very disappointed

    The hotel is in a great location near the river. The main building looked very interesting, full of character

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - I did not encounter a smile from any of them. Room was tired and grubby. Room was not serviced during our stay.

    The location was lovely right on the river although still on a busy road so noisier than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains were too small for the window. This resulted in sunlight pouring into the room early in the morning. Commented to reception and an extra hook was put on the curtain rail, this improved the situation but it was not possible to fully resolve. £10/day parking was a little steep. Quite a bit of traffic noise.

    Generally a nice stay in an oldy worldy hotel in central Henley, great views of the river. Four poster bed is a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Champagne Weekend Special - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in. Maybe the mattress is as old as the building !

    Location is excellent for visits to Henley. We were here for a wedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired decor

    Brilliant location and great value for money. Décor a little tired but clean. Huge room with a very comfy bed. Bathroom dated and in need of a refurb but clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought that the hotel was great. It was very hot at night though and we had a problem with the t.v. but reported it and it was repaired the next day. Very pleased. Would ago again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in our room even though there were cups and tea but not able to boil water. Leaking tap in sink in bathroom. Staff not fully aware what they serve for breakfast. We were told there is no menu and they do only English breakfast.

    Room was very nice and traditional. Also parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pretty rude and unhelpful. The food was extremely over priced for the (poor) quality. The room and facilities were shabby and not worth the £270 paid.

    The location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid it was dissapiuhting for what we got... paying over £130 one would expect at least water in the room... there was none... also had to pay extra if we wanted baked beans wt breakfast - who does that... too overpriced for what was received

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst breakfast I’ve had in the UK. Had to take teacup from table to pump thermos on the buffet table. Consequence - lukewarm frothy tea. Had to walk with full teacup back to table. No bread plates on buffet for toast. One knife and fork per person. No bread knives. Room freezing cold in evening - had to phone down to reception to ask for heating. Bathroom dirty - grouting full of black mould around bath. Part missing of bath tap. Taps, shower heads and pipes full of limescale. Photos have been taken of the terrible state around the bath.

    Lovely building in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor reception! Booked hotel on Booking.com because it says 'pets allowed', which is true but arrived and was put in the staff quarters in the back courtyard! Waifer thin walls, luke warm shower!

    Stunning location, beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I complained to the reception desk about the mattress on our bed , it was different levels and rock hard in the middle , was told it was a waste of time complaining because the owners wouldn’t do anything anyway , apparantly wouldn’t change bulbs so wouldn’t buy new mattresses

    Beautiful breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were rude and unpleasant. They did not make us feel welcome! We booked a buffet for 19 people and they did not make enough food. The kids desserts were served at the time of there main meal so the ice cream was melted and the brownies were rock hard. When we spoke to someone to ask for another brownie she was rude and blamed it us as patrons. In addition the shower curtain had mold and someone else's hair on it ...ugh!

    Location was prime. Walking distance to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff attitude, very abrupt at times. Too few staff Chef finished at 5pm on a Saturday!?! Good location, but let down by some staff and general state if the building - looks tired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment, I am sure it was once very opulent but has become jaded. There is a lack of attention to detail in the rooms - missing light bulbs, dirty windows, cracked toilet seat and tiles in the bathroom.... The staff try to be attentive but need some further customer service training. Breakfast needs a lot of work to compete with the many cafes in Henley that offer much better breakfast choices. When you order poached egg on toast, you do not expect to be presented with 2 poached eggs and told to go and make your own toast!

    Central location and nice view of the river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was jammed full, so we had to drive around the town centre looking for a car park close enough the the hotel. The staff weren’t as friendly as I would have hoped. The taps and shower head in the bathroom didn’t work very well.

    I added a special request of rose petals being laid on the bed when we arrived and they did exactly that. The room and bathroom were a very good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As explained to the duty manager when I checked out may aspects on my stay were not acceptable. For this reason he gave me a significant refund on what I had paid up-front.

    Nil

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra pillows in the bedroom (we were only given one soft pillow each) and a bedside light would have been useful. There was insufficient light to read a book. Breakfast was not particularly good and we assumed that the price was included when we booked in. We had dinner the night before in the dining room and the Roumanian waiter was charming and attentive as were all the east European staff. Parking in the Hotel car park came as a shock and £10 was rather a lot to pay. We should have asked for a room closer to reception as we had to walk up lots of stairs which my husband who is nearly 90 found a little difficult.

    Loved the history and decor of the hotel which had some nice antique furniture and portraits. Staff very helpful. Well situated beside the river Thames so good views from the bedroom of the Leander Club. Suited us perfectly and I enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt room rate over priced for tired rooms, poor matress/pillows. Laundry left in corridors and didn't appreciate then another fee for use of hotel car park. I've stayed in better quality in the area for considerable less

    Attended for a wedding, very nice breakfast room and good space for evening. The mass catering was excellent, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel a bit tired - as was our room. Clean enough overall, but lots of worn/old/marked stuff. Also not too impressed with Hotel trying to charge 10.00GBP for parking - left car on road and payed about 1.60 GBP instead.

    Great location, lovely old building, friendly reception staff and decent sized room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet bowl was dirty and room was a tad shabby - no info pack on Henley or on the hotel, apart from info on back of door. Room wasn’t serviced during my 2 night stay, I was not informed of this. The doubts cover had a blanket in it, rather than a duvet?

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was £10 extra. Greeted by the rudest manager who made us all feel completely uncomfortable. Had to separate from a family room we thought was meant to have two double beds but instead one double and an unmade pull down disintegrating mouldy pull down cupboard bed not suitable for a dog or homeless person! The disgruntled manager then spoke meanly to her staff to make up (hide) the bed. I refused saying I would not let my son sleep on it. Reluctantly she had no camp beds and was forced to give us two separate rooms. We spoke with other guests who also nicknamed her "the dragon" and found her two be horrible to her staff and guests. I awoke to lots of shouting outside our door and a member of staff knocking and had opened my sons room. So overall not much sleep had to pay £10 for parking and no family room available And the rudest most unhospitable manager felt super sorry for her staff who she constantly yells at. Would never stay here again appalling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor and not well cooked (Eggs Benedict) The breakfast buffet was lacking in variety We had a dirty table cloth.

    Room was nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in our room was very tired, mould in the shower, and the shower itself was just a trickle. We ordered the full English breakfast which took an hour to arrive, missing some of the staples, like bread, salt/pepper, sauces. Wish we had said something on checkout, but were in a hurry to get home.

    Location was brilliant, very scenic and hotel had rustic charming feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was right next to a busy street and so opening a window introduced noise and traffic smell. The room itself needed upgrading. The television was ridiculously tiny.

    I loved the view of the river, availability of parking and location. The hotel was quaint and the room was a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Champagne Weekend Special - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very expensive and you do not get what you pay for

    The hotel is very very dated and a lot of things need replacing both chairs in our room are very dirty and unkept threadbare so you do not wish to sit in them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room. Poor facilities. outdated and dreary. Shower covered in lime scale. Couldn't turn off main lights without turning off lamps. Scruffy. Dirty worn carpet. Lots of dust and cobwebs. Staff poorly trained.

    Not much except a lovely view of the River and Leander Boating Club. Potential to be a lovely old hotel. Let down by lack of cleanliness, service and overall facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road from early morning. Pillows hard and only two on the bed. Towels need to be changed - they are old! Wires could be tidied up in the room. Parking expensive. Reception staff could have been more engaging.

    Location perfect for business in Henley. Lovely view from the window. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no soap in the bathroom. The TV did not work properly. The telephone did not work. The clothes cupboard door handle was broken.

    The Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a stale odour in the room when I walked in so I had to ask to have it freshened up. The upholstery on the chairs in the room was torn around the edges. The bathroom sink did not have a mixer tab which was an inconvience for me as I had to struggle with boiling hot or ice cold water. I know it's a common thing in the UK but I guess a hotel room should get updated. The shower curtain was looking cheap and stained, and kept getting stuck on me while showering. There was only an over-head shower unit.

    The staff was polite and friendly. The bed was relatively comfortable with feather pillows and duvet (beware if you have allergies) but not very sturdy. The location is very good and central plus the view to the river is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful with very limited options. The tea was cold and my freshly made scrambled eggs were grey. The breakfast room didn’t seem to understand English. It really let down our stay.

    The location was perfect for walking into town and the riverside location would have been ideal if we had been there over a warm weekend (we had bitter winds and snow). Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is shabby and run down. The shower was a joke! Breakfast @ an extra £17.50 each was really average. We were made to pay in full upon arrival so I’m guessing people may be inclined to argue the bill after staying here. £10 to park the car for a night is robbery.

    to be honest, not much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff wasn't very polite. They said they would keep our bags out the back until we could check in. When we came back 3 hours they were just left by reception at risk of being stolen. We rang 5 times for room service in the morning with no answer. Broken window in the bathroom. A little scruffy overall. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basin and toilet badly cracked and brown stains in toilet. Carpet marked and shabby, paintwork worn. Noisy, needs better window insulation.

    Pleasant room, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisey from the road but thats a play off against having the view. Toilet flush was useless. Had to pay £10 to park in hotel carpark.

    Location was great. The family room overlooked the river which was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and not very comfortable and the toilet didn‘t work properly. There was no specific doorlock- the door cannot be opened from outside without a key- still it gave an unsecure feeling and the door moved and made noise every time the neighbours closed their door. The bedside lamp didn‘t work. The food smell from the restaurant was in the room, as probably the room was located just above the kitchen. The breakfast was very basic.

    Very charming old building and room full with historic interior details. Perfect location. Very helpfull staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had flagged up a late arrival when booking, this was on the cusp of the kitchen closing for the evening and by then the restaurant/dining room was empty. Notwithstanding, they came up with choices from the main and bar menus the were served with a smile and no hint of being rushed. a great start.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a courtyard and we felt like second class citizens, it was absolutely filthy (including big lump of Snot on skirting board), very cold, bathroom tap shot water everywhere, leak under sink, unstable chair, sockets behind bed didn't work, phone didn't work (too name but a few) and it was nothing like the lovely rooms advertised. Extremely disappointed and wouldn't stay here again (if we had to stay in these rooms) The receptionist on arrival was more interested in getting the £10 parking money than making our stay memorable and comfortable!!!

    The Romanian lady who served behind the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and tired decor, dirty bath and toilet, very small televisión, some plugs didn’t work. Bed throw very stained

    Location, friendly check in and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Is in desperate need of a makeover in all areas. Threadbare carpets and poor bathroom. Lumpy bed and bedding that was too small for the bed made for an uncomfortable night. Bar needs a refurb too.

    The hotel is in a fabulous location in Henley. Staff were friendly and bar snack lunch was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While decoration and furniture is deliberately old some facilities in the hotel are tired and could do with updating/repairing. Staff were very lovely

    Traditional features, different reception rooms, central location over looking the river and onsite parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place feels a bit tired and could do with a facelift, but it has its own charm.

    Quiet room (until the kitchen extractor outside the window came on for breakfast) and comfortable bed. We got a last minute deal which was not bad value for money given the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was a little tired and could do with a thorough clean to remove some of the lime scale etc

    Location was good, and the hotel is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was a bit dowdy. It needs sprucing up a bit. It had no ambience, the bar was empty of people. I felt at about £100 per night it was a bit too expensive . Most of the staff were foreign

    The bed was comfortable, not too much bedding for me. The room was fine despite being neat traffic lights it was not too noisy. The off street parking was good, the breakfast was good. I would not necessarily stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is limited in space and if you leave for the day and return, there is no guarantee you can get back in, particularly if its a Friday/Saturday night as other visitors use it and don't always park well. Parking on the road is pay as you go weekdays and Saturday, but Saturday nights and Sunday are free next to the hotel if you can find a spot. The room we stayed in was very hot, a fan was provided which was great and this was needed because only one of two windows opened and that closed itself unless you jammed something into the open window. The bathroom was in need of some upgrading. Quite disappointing because the rest of the facilities and staff were very good.

    The staff were very helpful, location was excellent, generally a nice hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty,stained furniture,mound everywhere in the bathroom,stroppy staff,trying to charge £10 for parking.Overall it could do with a massive overhaul

    The view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in an area of the hotel not for dogs and when the manager found out she tried to move us. We later looked at the dog friendly rooms which look to be a poor alternative to the room we had

    Nice bedroom but dog friendly area was poor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were tatty, but the bedding was clean, i dont think it was a double bed, breakfast was ok, but the eggs need to be cooked better. the yoke was still uncooked .

    The Staff were polite and friendly, and made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail. Only one bedside light. Lovely bath that could not be used as the plug kept letting water by. Broken tiles on bathroom floor.Lovely little bar area in hotel but seating torn. Worn carpets

    Location and they accept dogs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire hotel is in desperate need of renovation. Chris in the bar area and lounge were tattered. Room was run down. At this price point expectations we’re far from met.

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the decor needed attention, our room was not very well decorated it looked like it had been done in a hurry by amateurs. We expected much better. We asked reception to replace a light bulb that had blown on the first morning, this was not attended to by the time we left. There was a function on when we returned one evening and we had to park in the Waitrose car park, we told the receptionist when we went in, she said she would all us when the function had finished, she did not. It was a freezing cold night and we rally wanted to get to bed early, at 10.15pm we decided to go and see if the car park had any spaces. We saw there were two spaces and the function was finished. Then walked the 10 minute walk to bring our car to the Red Lion car park. There is a fist come first served policy for the car park although is costs £10 per night.’

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The Hotel is in a very good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    State of bathroom. Front of house staff need a better command of English and a smarter appearance.

    We have stayed at this hotel many times, Sadly I is falling into decline and requires investment in refurbishment particularly the bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'd booked 2 rooms for 3 people, but on arrival only 1 room had been reserved. A breakfast we were only charged for 2 breakfasts not 3 and we weren't charged for the car park. Simple things but over time will have a massive impact on the profitability of the hotel.

    The hotel location is great next to the river, we had a small room at the rear of the hotel so was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didntr specify a room with a view and ended up with a room that the window faced the wall of the Chruch next door. This wasnt a major problem but in hind sight we would have prefered to see the Thames.

    We opted for a 4 poster and the room was decorated like a cottage bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for the centre of Henley and views of the Thames if you get the right room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit underwhelming. I paid for our breakfast to be included but I would not have paid £13.50 for what we got as it was only okay. If you added beans and hash browns then it would be more justifiable

    Really nice river view from our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor bathroom with poor water flows and worn out equipment. Bedroom in need of renovation

    Historic hotel and grand looking building well located.our room was of an excellent size.bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had what seemed to be at first a very large bed, but turned out to be 2 single beds pushed together, the quilt was too small for the bed and didn't overlap the sides, the mattresses came apart during the night creating a gap. Breakfast was plentiful and good choice, advertising black pudding on the menu, but had none on both mornings, apart from the sausage the rest was not very hot, cold plate probably didn't help. Hotel has great look about it, being quite old with great architectural features, however some decoration and furnishings were not in the best condition.

    really large room with a great view of the river Bar convenient and staff polite throughout stay. location of hotel is great and probably best located hotel in Henley.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the breakfast on Sunday - maybe because of party booking on Saturday?? Not enough selection of cooked breakfast, and people waiting for food to arrive.

    Lovely hotel, in fantastic setting. Everything close to hotel - highly recommend Thai restaurant two minutes away 😋😋

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strange green light over the bath/shower was odd. There was a private party Saturday night and the music was very loud until midnight- we should have been warned about this, I had specifically added a note that I would be heavily pregnant and wanted a quiet room. The taps in the bathroom were very old so you had to turn them a lot to get water- makes it hard to mix hot & cold, and the flush didn’t work very well. We were given the wrong room- it was cheaper than the one I booked, we were upgraded after I questioned it because none of the 4poster bedrooms that I had booked were available, however as I’m heavily pregnant walking up to the second floor was less than ideal. The facilities and breakfast were basic- more in keeping with a travel lodge.

    Good location, the room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay itself was comfortable but the staff not so helpful!! Also arrived down for breakfast at 9.40 (breakfast is served until 10) when we arrived there was no hot food after numerous people complaining they brought a handful of items of hot food at 10.10 and the manager was rude!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit flaky. My booking of breakfast, which I made on the Saturday. had not been communicated to the breakfast team, so they weren;t expecting us. There was a large party staying at the hotel, and we were asked if we were with them. We said no, but were still placed in a separate room with this large party, which was a little uncomfortable. I wonder whether the breakfast team were sufficiently competent in English. Also the price of the breakfast was different to the price advertised on my booking information, although the manager gave us a discount anyway.

    Lovely room, great view over the river.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: