Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Richmoor Hotel

146 The Esplanade, Weymouth, DT4 7NP, United Kingdom

#17 of 19 hotels in Weymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and near a road but was a good price for what you got everything you needed was in the room and if you like fried breakfast a good buffet.

    Good location for public transport and beaches and town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont know where to begin. Firstly avoid this hotel unless you want to pay double for a room that has a shower that runs rusty water, is cramped and unventilated and the ‘complimentary’ water has algae growing in it!! The shower lights were broken and had cobwebs in...probably not fixed so you didnt notice the water ran with an orange tinge. This hotel is so deceptive it’s a joke. It’s run down, dirty, shabby, unloved and extremely overpriced. After noticing the above issues we complained and were moved to the hotel next door - Mon Amis, that they are renovating. This 2nd room was a vast improvement because it was bigger, nicely decorated & seemingly cleaner but the hotel itself was still like something time forgot. Building materials everywhere, ancient lift, worn carpets etc. Then we noticed the bedsheets were stained and one of the chairs was heavily stained with mysterious hairs on it. The staff were quite helpful but interestingly, not that shocked by what we said and they were clearly aware of the issues (they even mentioned that other rooms had issues with the the rusty water too). I’ve also never seen a guestbook with so many bad comments, which begs the question, why on earth are they still able to operate? So much for a stress free gettaway!! Although the 2nd room was much nicer (thank god). I paid extra for breakfast but couldn’t bring myself to eat anything from a hotel so lax in cleanliness. There was even grease leaking out of the wall from the kitchen extractor fan. See pics if you need more proof. Worth £150 - how about no!! The 2nd room was pretty and how all of the rooms should’ve been (despite also falling short on cleanliness when you actually looked)...this room was a bit more worth the price but I could stay in the Hilton for cheaper :/.

    The view from the 2nd room we got given after rightfully complaining about the standard of the first room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spring in the shower rail was broken.

    Location, the hotel is only a short walk from the railway station, on the seafront and close to the centre of town. A pleasant welcome. Noticed the hotel has a 24 hour bar and dog friendly rooms. Liked the stone front of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the room was not very clean and indeed the whole hotel needs a makeover. The maintenance and cleaning were of a low standard: dirt behind the bathroom door, neither bedside lamp working, a roller blind that was almost impossible to use, stains on the window glass, everything a bit tatty.

    The sea view was good, we paid extra for it and it was worth it. The beds were good and gave a good night's sleep. The floor had a pronounced slope, not sure if this added to the good sleep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remote for tv. My husband was told "Sorry. Previous guests stole it." I went and spoke to staff and he looked quite shocked and asked "Oh was that your husband?" Could not do enough then. Upgraded room straight away. I am white British. My husband is Arabic African. Not to be cynical but...

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pint of cider was off, and no offer of a refund even though there was nothing else to my liking..

    The room was very nice even for a basic room, and breakfast was very nice and staff are very friendly...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not as modern as photos made out. Very dated furniture and carpets etc. Our room was on the top floor and slept 6 as a family room but the old sash window did not close properly and no guard on the outside to stop someone from falling 40 feet to their death. Breakfast was what only can be deemed as in the basement and run by children who had no concept of customer service or even memory as couldn’t get me a coffee after asking twice for one. Very overpriced seeing as it’s a dated hotel which is merging with an even more dated one next door. Location and a very cheap breakfast may be the only positive really.

    Friendly staff and clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic, they had to deal with a difficult family who were being very rude to them and their professionalism was so good! I fail to see why people think they can treat hotel staff so rudely - makes me v angry. Can’t fault their way of handling this and how kind they were to me and my family! Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets were disgusting, there was blood stains on the cushions on bed, the pillows had makeup on from previous guests, there were stains on mattress, a clear bathroom window looked on to the road at road level, breakfast was chaotic, could hear guests in next bedroom snoring and baby crying all night, was put in an annex which was like bad student accommodation.

    Breakfast was ok but caotic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 101.....nothing like asvertised by booking.com. dirty bedding! Clown theme. Bunkbeds not suitable for teenagers. Room temperature was too hot!! Awful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the room was very bad - on the back of the building near rubbish bins where the ground was very messy and smelly, and where people (not only staff) was meeting there in free time, it was looks like place where people waiting for council houses - not the best place to be. Plus.......No one inform us about bedroom cleaning, so we felt very bad that someone went in to our bedroom and touch our private things included pyjamas, cosmetics etc. Bedroom cleaning it was more tidy up - beds tidy up and towels were rolled up again but not changed for fresh ones !!! Bedroom at the first view was looking clean but closer to look was dusty and some parts were loose. Bathroom was a good size but sink it was definitely too small !!!

    Very good location. Lovely and helpful personnel (reception, maintenance and restaurant). Good and tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were moaning very loudly about their lives/work etc right outside my bedroom at 11pm at night and again early in the morning whilst smoking! (Everyone seemed to congregate before work after work and breaks outside my window! The rooms were very small and very hot I opened the sash window a bit too far and the whole window fell inwards out of the runners! If the blind wasn't there it would've smashed over my head Breakfast was a nightmare ( the staff were overworked ) we were cramped up not enough space! As a table of 4 we only got a small pot of tea (not a full cup each! ) we couldn't ask for more as the staff were dashing about trying desperately to do everything! The carpets throughout the hotel were dirty and the whole place looked run down!

    Location is great beach nearby short walk to bars a lovely Italian across the road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    filthy dirty. Rooms hot & small. Left after 1 night. Could not get refund. Disgusting dirty tables in breakfast room. Cost £150 for 1 sleepless night.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced, delapidated, fan in bathroom not working making the room very uncomfortable after a shower as bathroom enclosed with no window. Tiny room, we chose the family room which was way too small

    The staff were the only positive of our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony being open meaning we couldn’t leave the window open as our dog could wander into someone else’s room. This made the room ridiculously hot and unbearable during the night

    The location was really good and the staff were friendly. Decor a bit outdated but the rooms were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages at breakfast!

    Lovely big hotel. Could do with up dating the rooms. Breakfast was good, apart from the cheap sausages. Staff was very pleasant. We would stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lights were broken, the staff did get them fixed straight away however, they had left our bedroom door a jar twice after leaving the room. The bedroom was very hot and stuffy the first night we stayed, and uncomfortable to sleep in but there was a fan provided which did help a little. The towel rail was broken, they did not give us clean towels even though the could see they were dirty. Room was quite small.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, beautiful sea views and not too far from family attractions including; arcades, fair, cafes and restaurants. Dog friendly. Refundable parking permits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful Lift! Difficult for more than one!

    Excellent, helpful staff. Lovely Pain au Chocolate at Breakfast. First class meal in evening. Good spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Son was given a master key and could open other people's doors. Cleaner also came in and took stuff after they had been given a room. Then joked about putting it on eBay...We were given the wrong key initially and went in someone's room with them in it. Staff service very slow at breakfast and no plates.

    Location...clean comfortable room and great shower. Staff were friendly and parking permit was a huge plus. Breakfast was lovely and good value...just slow service spoiled it...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All carpets on flooring nice restaurant friendly staff I would stay hear again

    Nice and quite nice reception area nice rooms with tea coffee in them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the room was quite small. 3rd time staying here and the smallest room out of the 3. For £120 and a bottom floor sea view i would of expected to pay a bit less tbh. The room was clean and very nice apart from a bulb gone which was reported and fixed. I didnt see any cereal or fruit at breakfast atall. I must admit they were very busy and cooked brekkie was spot on as usual :) Little annoyed at the fact Shelleys restaurant wasnt availiable to sit in due to wedding party. I had no problem with the wrdding oarty but it would of been nice to know prior to booking. Overall though a decent stay. And will be back again :)

    Good Location.. Friendly Staff as always.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, they were kind to us and our dog. We had a lovely view of the the sea from our window and there was a newsagent around the corner for emergencies which worked well for us. Weymouth has left a positive impression on us and we will back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Had a fabulous few day's away at this hotel. On arrival the staff made us feel very welcome.We stayed in room 109 which had a lovey sea view and was very clean and a comfortable bed . We enjoyed our breakfast , the young waiting staff were excellent and very polite. Would stay at this hotel if I was in Weymouth again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its obvious that the hotel has been renovated recently but quality of renovation isnt brilliant. Main carpet area is dirty with stains in some areas. They also own the hotel next door and im sure that once both are open they will be better kept.

    Excellent breakfast. very friendly manager in restaurant area. Reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could not find my booking. First room proposed was not a double as booked but a large single bed. Toys, socks and a baby milk bottle were found under the bed, so it looks like no cleaning is done. Breakfast room was full and staff could not cope. We had to have our breakfast next to the pile of leftover eggs smelly bacon and sausages of the previous table people as the cleaning of the table was not done. Fairly disgusting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated and tight on space, bed was uncomfortable. Staff seem a bit vacant with exception to the check in lady who was fine.

    Great view over the pier

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom (not much room to manoeuvre), not a problem for myself but for my partner, although I should have checked room size first Wasn't totally clear on what parking there was available Lift wasn't working, again not a problem for me, but potentially a problem for my partner

    Location The sea view Comfortable bed Friendly accommodating staff dietary needs catered for

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very small, the seaview was poor, the cutlery and crockery was old and poor quality. The breakfast was very poor, tinned fruit salad, tinned tomatoes, poor quaility bacon and sausages. I asked three times for a VAT receipt and I'm still waiting.

    The meal in the restauarnt in the evening was very nice and good value for money. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed on both nights due to chef sickness, Provided with 20% voucher for restaurant across road. Mattress too soft for my liking.

    Location was good. Sea view from room excellent. Good breakfast, Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall poor sound quality Hotel wasn’t busy but we were right next to a noisy family Family next door seemed to be getting ready for school next morning Breakfast was very greasy and poor quality although staff very friendly

    Very pleasant, friendly staff Comftable bed Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was well presented but, it was small to the point the door into the room hit the bed and very thin walls could hear conversations clearly in the corridor. Loose door lock on bathroom

    Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel in a long time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a family room with a seaview for 1 night. It was perfectly suited for our family. Hotel right on the seafront & walking distance to town. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed covers weren’t very clean, there was lots of dust on them. The mattress wasn’t v comfy, you could feel the springs. The room felt quite tired. The breakfast room was depressing and the sausages were really cheap.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, breakfast wasn't served until 8.30am, parking was limited, however I was able to park next door which is currently empty. The wi-fi was poor and I was unable to check my e-mails which is not good when you run a business.

    The property was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room and the heating was on full and we were too hot

    We knew the hotel was undergoing work but it was still value for money. The breakfast didn’t look amazing so we ended up eating out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had next to no power as we were on the top floor so would recommend investing in a bigger shower pump.

    We only used the hotel for an overnight stay as we were visiting family in Weymouth, we didn’t have breakfast as we were meeting for an early lunch but am sure it would have been lovely judging by what we experienced on our stay. Room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a family room with a sea view, instead was given a standard twin room without the sea view - yet charged the family room rate. Staff unavailable to complain to. Would not recommend and certainly will not book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options could be better. Perhaps there could be some fruit and veg? Otherwise, this is a simple, homely, clean hotel. Don’t expect great luxury and you’ll be fine.

    The beds were warm which is great in winter. The staff were very very pleasant and fun to be with. Dancing waiters at breakfast! Sea view is fabulous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and cold chill in the air. Parked round the back of the hotel but had to leave my keys with reception incase they had to move to let someone out - noticed later that keys are kept in a box in an unlocked cupboard. Breakfast could be better - food looked dry and bacon looked anaemic / milk and juice jugs empty.

    Liked the location Staff friendly Relatively clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom rather small but lovely hot water.

    having read reviews we were pleasantly surprised every thing was wonderful comfy bed excellent Breakfast better than we have had before. Staff helpful over parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some modernising, new carpets and repainted, could do with some new breakfast equipment. Parking is an issue

    Room was really nice, lovely sea view, staff were really friendly, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was a decent size for the money (though the bathroom was small it didn't bother me, but I can see how it might have bothered other guests). The room itself was very cold when I arrived, and there was an evident draught coming through the large window (over which the curtains didn't quite shut properly.) The TV didn't switch channels at all either. Other than that, the facilities - while dated (and the decor also) - were fine and worked well. I didn't report either problem to the front desk because I was just very tired, but I am sure they would have been more than happy to help. I had to check out early due to a family emergency, and went I went to reception (advertised as 24 hour), there was no one there but a decorator working. It took about 10 minutes to locate a member of staff (in his pyjama's I think), who then seemed very annoyed when I explained that all I wanted to do was check out. His attitude put me out a bit, and it wasn't late or anything. However, despite these problems, if I were looking for somewhere of good value to stay in the area, I would stay there again.

    When I arrived to check in, the reception staff memeber was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to find and in a nice area of Weymouth, the quieter end of the seafront.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they had problems with the boiler so not much hot water.

    Best breakfast at a hotel we've ever had. Fabulous room with sea view. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, as was the shower room. It was terrible for two adults, certainly not worth the price. The downstairs carpets were filthy. It appears the whole place needs some TLC.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's was constant banging near the room up till 11pm and then been woken up at 6:40 to some horrid scratching/squeeking notice from right outside the door! Breakfast was diabolical!!!! It was from 8-9:30 which is a really early finish for any hotel! We got there around 8:50 and everything had clearly been left there since it started! All food was been kept "warm" under heat lamps but they were so hot and the food was left there for so long that everything had dryed out!! The eggs were solid, the beans.. Well they were disgraceful there was no juice left in them at all!! I literally could just stomach some of the tomatoes, they seemed okay. The rest was just unedable!!!

    All staff nice and friendly! The room was a decent size too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the heating system was not working properly and worse still no hot water, so not able to shower from when we arrived on Thursday until got home on Sunday, had to boil kettle to get hot water to wash. The staff agreed they had a real problem. Although they did not make any reduction in their charge for our stay.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The Shelley restaurant was very good value, staff went out of their way to help. Hotel staff were polite and helpful, breakfast had a lovely selection of hot cooked meals and continental.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated and it smelt as if there had previously been a smoker staying there. There was no parking on site and we had to park at a pay and display (at our own cost) as the staff did not give us a permit (which they gave to other guests).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was freezing cold after letting it run for 30 minutes. The room was freezing and tiny. Nothing like the pictures. Also there was a 2inch gap under the door to the room so we could hear everything!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensure that the heating works , and the shower runs away not fill up. ENSURE When given a menu for food you have it not told 10 minutes later they have not got it.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a very warm welcome when I arrived at the hotel. All the staff was very chatty and made my children very welcome as well. The level of service is too the most highest standard. Love the fact you can just help your self at breakfast time. The room was very clean and tidy as. I look forward to staying at The Richmoor Hotel again. 👍😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room in the basement could be bigger and the service in there could have been better. It dropped quite cold in the rooms in the night and the windows were only single glaze which let the cold and the sound (from the road) in. The shower didn’t have very good pressure but this could be due to limescale build up as this is a issue in the area that should be kept on top of.

    We expected a twin room and got a double room with a single bed which was lovely. Our dog was allowed in the hotel with us, even in the breakfast room in his little carry bag. They looked after our car in their car park throughout our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband wished the lift went to the top floor not just the second floor

    The food was excellent,quality and quantity. All the staff were so happy kind friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We were there for my sister's 90th Birthday party, the staff went out of their way to decorate the room it looked wonderful and the service was excellent.The beds were very comfortable, the décor was ok but looked a bit tired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work however we didn't need it so wasn't a problem and didn't notify until leaving. Parking wasn't guaranteed. Had to find space on streets

    Friendly staff Lovely breakfast Location great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dirty, room was tiny & very dated! Very overpriced & a waste of money basically. Went out for an evening and ended up being locked out of the hotel for over an hour because there was no staff manning the door which should of been 24hours. Only got back in because another guest kindly let us in. When we complained to the manager in the morning she just tried shifting the blame it was disgusting, although did offer us a discounted stay if we wanted. We would never stay in that hotel again!! Door was keypad locked but we wernt given the code and was told door would be open at all times! Very noisy in the mornings from around 6am, due to staff & smoke alarms going off throughout the night. We paid 90pernight and I would say it was worth 30!! I can't believe how they charge such an amount because as facilities and rooms are very very poor!! Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here!

    Location was good. Beaches and Weymouth is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare it does not offer free parking as stated on premises ,breakfast could of been better,shower and toilet were in a broom cupboard not a nuff milk,sugar for more that one cup each a day and bed to soft could roll out on one side and the other bed creaked every time you sat on it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very overpriced for what they offer. Room was really small and quite dated. We were also locked out of hotel for over an hour, main door was closed and no one answered the phone or door. We only managed to get into hotel because another guest opened the door. When we told staff they suggested that our room key opens main door but main door was keypad locked not key. Very disappointed with stay.

    Location was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived and saw the outside of the building I thought oh my God what if I let myself in for but oh what a difference when you just get inside the door and you feel at home they know they've got some work to do on the front but please don't let it stop you from going there

    When I arrive the lift wasn't working and the man was working on it and they just turn round and say what floor are you one love they Took my bag and carried up there for me .all the staff the owners were fairly friendly the food was excellent in the morning for breakfast and I am booking to go back next year

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and nothing like photo's, toilet didn't flush correctly and had not been cleaned / flushed prior to our arrival. Parking is very limited and you have to leave your car keys at reception,given the owners reaction when asked if they hold insurance to drive any vehicle I would guess they do not. My vehicle was reversed into in the car park and the car left resting on mine, which I discovered on leaving! Payment for the room was also taken twice, which I had to bring to their attention.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold, it was good food but not kept hot and only cold plates available. Said it was Health and safety couldn’t have hot plates! Lounge looked like old folks home and bar was mainly closed

    The lift

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it needs a complete revamp the beds need to be thrown away overall everything was a very very poor quality the dining room was disgusting the floors were dirty the cutlery and crockery I have to send back because it was not clean!

    This is actually the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in the cleanliness was to be questioned!! the bed was the worst bed I’ve ever slept in over all this hotel was definitely a no go !!!I would never recommend this to anyone and if you are thinking of going to this hotel please do not go !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't eat at hotel all booked up

    Sash window didn't stay open , in need of a new shower staff in breakfast room useless overall hotel in need of remodernising

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned behind the bed or cupboards, I brought this to there attention.

    The breakfast was very nice. They are in the perfect location for the beach. Plus the main town is within a short walk and close to the railway station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little tight but free street parking voucher available. Bathroom pretty small.

    Good location. Very nice helpful staff. Very impressed with restaurant and dinner and breakfast was better than we expected. Dinner we had was fish and lamb, both very well done and presented. Breakfast cooked buffet good selection and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is dirty with bloodstained mattresses and broken beds. The crockery, cutlery and floors are filthy. The rooms aren’t cleaned and the drains so blocked that water overflows onto the bathroom floor. The management make no apology or even respond to complaints. It barely rates 2*. The lovely Alex Polizzi Hotel Inspector really wasted her time and money!

    The beach was across the road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just very disappointed in my room. it was the size of a cupboard . the ensuite was like showering in a small caravan there was barely enough room to turn round. we left a day early because of the room.

    staff very friendly, food was great, very clean hotel. great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress on bed was like a biscuit, slept on top of bedding as it looked like it hadn't been changed from previous occupant, room shabby.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertising was indicating that your room would be in the main Hotel, but we were given a small room with a terrible bathroom in a rear building.

    The staff we friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner very rude and upset my elderly parents who have just lost a second son to suicide. As soon as I was getting my parents out of car and suitcases and my dog. How long are you going to be. I'm moving my parents. Do I have a parking pass. I Replied receptionist said I was ok to park here the owner replied she doesn't know how to organise the car park. Also in my shower was a pubic hair and a human hair from head. I work in a hotel and I know at my hotel this would not be acceptable.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue but the staff were helpful , but I got sorted at the back of the property , my sheet on the bed had a hole in it but I didn't really mind , they just need to replace it . The chef looking after breakfast and reception in the morning (6am) was brilliant and extremely helpfull full marks to him

    Staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was faultless . The room and bathroom were very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a warm welcome – the staff were very friendly, cheerful and good fun. First impressions of the hotel itself were however not encouraging. The decor was rather shabby and the carpets were dirty. Parking was very limited but the hotel dealt with this by providing resident parking permits. Unfortunately we had to park 2 streets away which is not very convenient when carrying luggage. The publicity material states that “The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning views” and “Some boast views over Weymouth Bay”. We were initially shown a room which looked out over back yards complete with lines of washing. We had actually booked a room with a sea view and when we pointed this out the mistake was quickly rectified. However, there was an amusement arcade directly opposite the hotel which spoilt the view entirely. Our en-suite was very cramped, particularly the shower, and the walls and the shower head were not clean – the latter discouraged us from having a shower at all. The television did not work and although the nice young man on Reception tried to sort this out, he was unsuccessful. The breakfast buffet was disappointing. Tongs were provided for the cooked food but not for the toast. One of the other guests entered the breakfast room wearing her dressing gown – why was this allowed? When she served herself from the buffet, her sleeves dipped into the trays of cooked food, whilst her partner helped himself to sausages with his fingers. Not the hotels fault, of course, but given that the food had gone cold, table service would have been preferable.

    The Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Twin room dismal. Don't stay in room 106! Very small and "en suite" was a cupboard. Mattresses on bed are old and worn and didn't even match bedsteads. I have phoned almost 10 times because I had a query with my bill my sister had a meal which was inedible and was told that that we would not be charged but still on bill - I have requested a breakdown but nobody has come back to me despite numerous promises to ring me back "straight away". Anyone thinking of staying at this hotel - think again. £100 per night for extremely poor value for money!!!

    The staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven't anything bad to say we had a lovely stay food was good breakfast was great and rooms very clean

    We had a lovely comfy bed very bid in room 109 staff very friendly I was given the loan of a mobility scooter free of charge to get around on which I wasn't expecting so was able to see all of Weymouth

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold Cold shower the first morning The room smelled of dog The crockery was unclean Overall the room was dirty The curtains were falling off Wifi speed was pathetic

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms very small - window broken and hanging on at hinges therefore a draught into the bedroom making it very cold. This was reported but nothing done. Had to tell them to change the dirty hand towel in the cloakroom as was filthy. Had to ask for clean towels.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were very good for families. We had two rooms, but could easily have slept in one (which had a double bed, bunk bed and single bed). The other had a double and a single bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Richmoor Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: