Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rothley Court Hotel 3 stars

Westfield Lane, Rothley, LE7 7LG, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Rothley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Far below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very accommodating, rushing around with no commitment to service. Very different to previous stays

    venue is very attractive and has good links to local attractions

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.8
    Nice building and location, just missing some little luxuries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't get internet in room, poor connection. Coffee was difficult to get at breakfast as waitress had to go into kitchen for the pot for each refill, should have left pot out to help self. Napkins too small, like a tissue. Had said it was a 60th birthday when I booked but there was no note for that at hotel and they just dismissed it as not their fault. Liquid soap in bathroom almost empty. Only 2 sachets of coffee and tea in room, like rations! One receptionist was new and didn't seem to know anything.

    bed good, food fine

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Liked the hotel, food and staff and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    family room smelled of smoke, not really the hotel fault as they operate a no smoking policy

    Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and tasty but they only had white bread for toast, not a huge problem for us. Dinner the previous night was very nice but some items not available. Nice and quiet even though there was a wedding going on.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.3
    The receptionist was fantastically friendly and warm and...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little dirty with dead flies and wasps. And the towels were left on the dust.

    The receptionist was fantastically friendly and warm and made us feel welcomed immediately!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, characterful, with historical interest.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi almost non existent in areas which is a shame because mobile reception is poor in the area.

    Away from it all in a lovely location, relaxing and full of character.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    We were in the annexe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the annexe. It was very noisy with paper thin walls so we could hear everything!! At 6.30 the radiator fired up with horrendous noise which scared the crap out of myself and my daughter. The plumbing needs some serious attention as it sounded as though we were being flooded every time someone went to the loo or put a tap on. Overall not a great stay and definitely NOT worth the money we paid.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very poor, the waitress at breakfast got the order wrong, had porridge and fry up at the same time, never got the toast.

    No croissants available at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    would we come here again ? doubtful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very slow restaurant service , not enough staff , food luke warm , only 1 waitress doing the work of 3 must be down to the management

    helpful reception staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.5
    Visiting family in Rothley village so great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 small packet biscuits, and a small amount of tea, coffee and milk. Two packets on previous visits. However, when I asked for extra tea and coffee this was provided😀

    Rural location, breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Since I first went 2/3 years ago, has gone downhill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanliness of the bedroom. restaurant...lipstick still on the cup. Breakfast food standard was poor, burnt toast overcooked mushrooms, omelette badly filled. Table prepared without serviettes , asked to wait to be seated> nobody around. Do they have management ?

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Historical setting and old church
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has gone to the dogs! Place has degenerated very badly. Chairs were ripped and stained. Staff were untidy, poorly presented and un-organised. Had the felling of a Hotel on the way out. Staff were mainly of very low ability with the odd exeption and the place was filthy and tatty. I used to LOVE staying at the Hotel and am so sad to see it deteriorate like this so quickly. I do hope the owners get a grip fast as this will not survive. People will NOT sit in heavily stained and ripped seats and MOST are in a vile condition.

    Historical setting and old church

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant, nice food, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs some updating, better lighting and more staff. they were very stretched and breakfast took a long time coming.

    Lovely setting and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Loved it thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism not great wifi connection and mobile phone coverage poor which hampered night time business meetings in New Zealand. Oh and the property is not found using GPS

    Everything about it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful setting and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the ambience of the grounds and Manor House did not filter through to the Annexe accommodation. The rooms were basic and tired. The bathroom could have been cleaner (hair in plug hole of bath). No mobile phone reception and WiFi very weak/poor reception. Reception area was busy with members of staff chatting and whilst the staff were pleasant it came across as very un professional and not what you would expect from the beautiful period building. Sadly, this hotel has lost its grandeur. After speaking to some locals they all said how wonderful Rothley Court 'used to be'. I do hope Greene King take these comments on board as they are meant to be used constructively so improvements can be made to restore this hotel back to its former glory.

    On arrival whilst driving up to the Manor House we were very impressed with the location and look of the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room is very comfortable for two people. Only the toilet a little bit leaking. I have reported. The environment is excellent. Unfortunately we didn’t have enough time to walk around this area. The breakfast is great. Hot breakfast with a list of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    OK for 1 night stay but did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top of the building which was difficult to get to carrying suitcases up narrow staircases. The staff did not offer to help with our luggage and there appeared to be no lift. The bathroom was very small and narrow. The restaurant served food typical of a Greene King pub and several of the options were unavailable.

    Old Manor House with many of its original features and full of character. Countryside location, very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Night out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barking dog in the room next door

    Location was going to family party near by also helpful for organising a taxi for us even though they were very busy with a wedding. The receptionist kept on smiling through out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. Evening reception did not answer the phone when we needed them. Twice, we had to walk over to reception.

    Owner was very helpful, breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    beatiful location with excellent gardens , good breakfast ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    beatiful location with excellent gardens , good breakfast , rooms excellent and bar staff really friendly , most helpful getting taxis and waitress service was top class , the new trainee waitress was extra special

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    For such a lovely old building and picturesque setting the stay did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in need of some improvements, our room in the annexe was very basic and have stayed in much nicer budget hotel rooms, main hotel area in need of refurbishment , eg. mix and match furniture in the dining room. Was here for wedding the food very disappointing, stuffed mushroom starter was very poor, 3 button mushrooms sprinkled with Stilton and served on bed of lettuce. Roast beef tough and vegetables undercooked. Staff did their best but there were not enough on duty. Bar service slow again due to lack of staff and ran out of glasses, lots of dirty glasses remaining in tables as not being collected.

    Good location and a lovely old building with lots of history and very nice grounds . Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    I did this for my partner as a treat as we have been together a year but overall it was averaget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little run down, didn't get enough milk in the room, not a very good view out the window, staff seemed like they had not had enough training unprofessional at times. When it comes to breakfast the next day they must have had a busy spell we were there at 9am we waited to be seated about 5-7 minutes the tables hadn't been cleared and sat us at a dirty table, the orange juice had run out hardly any milk for cereal not a good choice. I had no cutlery I asked for a spoon by the time i got it within 2 minutes my egg on toast came out i hadn't even finished my cereal. Poor service. I don't think it was worth £67.50 nearly £70. I won't be stopping again.

    The bed was lovely and comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful old building in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very sparse and very noisy! Noise from above and next door went on until the early hours of the morning. Breakfast was very average.

    Beautiful old building in lovely grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had lost control of a wedding booking and the staff on duty were not able to provide what was required. We had to call reception to have wedding guests removed for swearing and fighting. The hotel is advertising very cheap wedding packages which may not be a good idea.

    We had only booked one night and that was refunded for our trouble.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Rubbish Rothley Court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shambles, messy with a dusty room and over priced. Facilities poor. No staff available because a wedding was on. I think they ought to tell you when you book that there’s a wedding going on. Won’t be staying there again. I would have complained in person, but I could not find any staff as they were rushing about for the wedding party. 😐

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the annex are tired and very hot. Reception do not answer the phone. Maybe more staff when you have a function on.

    Breakfast was lovely, as were the grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Bed was lovely and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer in the room. The service at the bar was very poor in the evening. The whole place seemed under staffed especially at breakfast.

    Bed was lovely and comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Served its purpose but wouldn’t stay there again !
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no way to turn down it was dangerously hot ! Was there for a wedding and on the morning for breakfast we was told to sit away from the wedding party as there was no tables cleared and it was too much trouble for the girl to clear so I Started to clear 1 myself with help from the bride ! Wasn’t very good service at all !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Loved the hotel itself but needed a bit of tlc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner service very poor with long waits. Staff very good but kitchen very slow. There were 8 in our party and everyone thought food standard had gone down since our last visit. Very noisy as there was a wedding on with screaming children running up and down, so all went to bed early. Could have done with a shelf in the bathrom for toiletries instead of having to put bags on floor and toilet roll holder needed to be screwed on to wall. The whole place needed a good hoover through.

    good size bedroom. Good staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets, furniture etc in the areas we saw (bedroom, breakfast area) could have done with some refurbishment

    Breakfast was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The garden was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    The setting is beautiful & was very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only tea & hot chocolate in the room - no coffee. The breakfast room was very hot & the windows didn’t open. The waitresses were lovely but the cooked breakfast took a long time to come & guests who ordered after us were served before. Because of the wait I explored the chapel which is connected to this room - it was untidy & disorganised. Looked like an abandoned conference with stuff strewn around. Only needed a tidy up. I tried to call ahead to get early check in the night before but no one picked up.

    The setting is beautiful & was very relaxing. They let me check in early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Perfect romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the toilets in reception area could have been cleaner and I would expect them to e regularly checked to replenish loo roll, etc.

    Our room was superb. Comfortable bed, lovely decor and furniture reflecting the history of the house. A perfect romantic getaway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Very poor value - would not recommend unless you want to pay for a 2 / 3 star expensive room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was very dusty (bedside lamp thick with dust), furniture was extremely tired. No saucers for cups. Cup was dirty with old coffee stain and when I asked for a replacement i was told to take the cups to the bar across the courtyard and get them replaced (proper answer should have been - sorry we'll get housekeeping to replace them for you). Incorrect remote control for TV so we couldn't get the Guide up. At breakfast the Danish Pastries had big flies in the centre at the jammy bit. Looked a bit grubby under the furniture. Had another family complaining big time about the speed of service - and the manager had to come and calm things down.

    Bed was comfy and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    A good wedding enjoyed by all.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    Very hot weather and therefore air conditioning would have made a difference. Lovely location and grounds. A change of room was requested and accommodated by a very helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    See paragraph 9 above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Either there was no-one in reception or 3 at once but never anyone there when you needed them. 2. We reported that there was no cold water coming out of the bath tap. Never looked into or repaired. 3. Breakfast menu states that you get 2 hash browns. Only ever received one. Didn't notice until last day. 4. On the last night (Sunday 22nd) a charity night had been organised. It stated on the leaflet that a bbq would be available. We went out for the day and were looking forward to the bbq on our return. When we got back we found out that the bbq had been packed up at 4pm because no-one was using it. But that didn't help everyone else arriving later on expecting a bbq who like us, had to then order meals from the hotel menu. 5. At one point I went to the bar for some drinks and waited patiently for the 3 people in front of me to be served. Another man came in to order drinks followed by a member of staff who knew him. She then walked behind the bar and served him despite me waiting there. Totally unprofessional. 6. The guy serving breakfast on the Monday morning (23rd) was laughing and joking with everyone who came in and telling them stories as though he knew everyone personally instead of concentrating on the job at hand. Totally unprofessional. 7. On leaving the hotel we brought up a number of issues which had come to light during the last 24 hours. There were 3 members of staff behind the reception desk. On listening to each of my points we certainly got the feeling that they were not interested and never wrote down any of them or made the effort to have someone look into it. 8. On entering the dining area for breakfast we noticed that it hadn't been cleaned from the night before. We brought this up at reception and was told that it would be done later because the vacuum cleaner wakes up the guests upstairs.

    1. Excellent breakfast. 2. Room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. 3. Hotel situated in beautiful surroundings. 4. Evening meals were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Location and building pleasant but meal disappointing.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately due to a large party in the dining area we had to wait an hour between ordering and receiving our meal. My husband's meal was cool and not as anticipated.

    The surroundings were pleasant and the buildings interesting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Beutiful old manor house wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the annexed had very thin walls and the people next door were talking and playing music til after midnight

    Fantastic, 11th century chapel as a restaurant...amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Place has potential. Needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't open fully. It was an unbearably hot day! Staff seemed inexpierianced. No one on reception when we arrived.

    The building was very attractive with many interesting features.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.5
    We have nothing good to say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel. It us the quality of a youth hostel. It is absolutely dirty. We waited 20 minutes at the reception before somebody turned up to check us in. Staff were too familiar and kept calling us 'guys'. Very unprofessional. When you see how dirty the rooms and facilities are, you don't want to know what the kitchen looks like, so we dreaded breakfast. Breakfast took more than 20 minutes and they got the order wrong. We then waited another 10 minutes for them to bring boiled eggs that were undercooked and had expired the day before. Grubby is the only word we could think of. Never ever again! The pictures are deceiving. The ibis budget will be better than this.

    We have nothing good to say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Such a pity - the property itself deserves some investment. And a decent chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful outdoor aspect of property and grounds let down by quality of catering and the indoor decor extremely tired and need of investment. 1st class building run basically no better than a chain-owned pub. Food quality was poor and the top floor Room 10 there was a dreadful odour which we realised was from some old bed mattresses that had been left in the corridor for our entire stay.

    The location very pretty and the property historic and quaint. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    The food was very good and the staff were extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the annex building where the walls are very thin. We could hear every word spoken next door.

    The food was very good and the staff were extremely helpful and hard working - honestly attempting to be as great as possible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Historic property in great location, but stay massively spoiled by hotel's preference for weddings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it did mention in the details that this was a wedding venue, 2 days of our stay were massively affected by loud all-day wedding parties and many other "normal" guests seemed to be disgruntled by this too. It also meant that the room we were allocated was a stifling attic (though it did have a "garden view" out of tiny, barred, windows). Most staff were over-worked and under-trained, though they did try their best. Bedroom housekeeping was fine, but most public areas were a bit shabby and grubby.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently situated for visiting places of interest in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls between rooms in the annex. Could clearly hear people speaking in the next room . Not enough shower gel provided.

    The food was very well cooked and presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    40c in the room receptionist advised it was the weather when we requested a fan as it was on the ground floor and not safe to leave window open. No fans in the hotel so we left.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I would expect a higher quality of service, accommodation and experience. Hairs on the bed. Breakfast order was wrong, no soya milk 'until later'...really helpful at breakfast when you have to check out before its going to arrive. Croissants etc ran out. Speaking to other customers in the breakfast queue (as the staff could only handle greeting one person at a time) they also spoke of their 'Faulty Towers' experience. Promised a 50% refund upon check out and had to chase the hotel twice for it, and then Booking.com Finally received this 3 weeks later.

    The location was good and eating dinner at the local pub, the Blue Bell Inn was the best decision I made!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    An interesting stay be not keen to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Cleanliness of the general hotel toilets and the lack of cleanliness of the seating and tables outside. Hotel needed a little TLC.

    The historical information provided around the hotel, it history and the room I stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent overall. I will be going back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi and mobile phone reception in room poor. Bathroom needs renovation, re-tiling.

    The property is excellent with an excellent location. The food was excellent. Excellent choice of top quality real ales.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely building let down by appalling service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No organization amongst staff Service appalling Food not appetizing Slow bar service No table service Kids running the entire place Chaos at breakfast and burnt toast

    Checkout was the highlight of our stay... although that was a rather sloppy service too. Items charged to our room that we hadn't had due to the staff allowing us to order things then later informing us out of stock!! We we reassured these items would be removed from our bill

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Rather disappointing. Could have been much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very offhand. Table for 8 for breakfast not possible. Tea came in a one person teapot to serve two, no offers to top up and it was made with lukewarm water. Poached eggs served on unbuttered toast. Hospitality tray in room had two teabags for each 24 hours so we had to go out to buy teabags.

    Location and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar hours shut to early in this day and age 11pm, Poor reaction from the reception when asked for more coffee and milk for the room could not be bothered to go to the cupboard to get some said it would be in the room when we got back, it never appeared.

    The building the setting the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    A very much needed break to see family in Rothley/Thurcaston/Wanlip hotel was really convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like payment being taken from my account prior to the visit but hotel refunded it so we paid when we were there.

    The bedroom cleanliness was excellent as was the bathroom however, we found the furniture in the bedroom a little tired looking and not particularly well cared for - but it did not take away from the enjoyment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    The Rothley Court is a charming, historic hotel which offers a great location but not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a bit dated and could do with some repairs. It is not the cleanest of hotels, the underneath of the sofa bed was heavily stained and there were hairs in the shower. The free cooked breakfast seemed to use cheap bacon and sausages, would have been nicer if it was local farm bred.

    Th location and historic charm of the Rothley Court is the one thing that does really stand out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the breakfast waitresses was miserable and needs to learn how to smile and be customer focused. The other waitress was perfect.

    The hotel was fine, rooms average but OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location so peaceful staff lovely but think a bath mat should be in every room akll the time without having to ask for one but other than that loved it and will be back for another stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited in selection.eg no sausages.mushrooms.

    We were able to have late breakfast after 11.00 sitting on the patio enjoying the sun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    A bit disappointing for the price. Will not choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More teas and coffees in the room as hot drinks were not served after 10.00pm. One biscuit each in the room a bit miserly Decor a bit tired and grubby in the room. Cooked breakfast a bit of a disappointment.

    The beds were very comfortable. The building and grounds were wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    The history of the buildings, hard to keep historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history of the buildings, hard to keep historic buildings looking good without spoiling them,English Inns seem to have managed it with this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful, hospitable, friendly, nice and clean, 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, the place was perfect, I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

    This was the quintessential old English experience, right out of a movie. Pastoral farm lands, quiet and peaceful. We woke to the sound of birds chirping. There was a wedding going on during our stay and just like a movie we were invited to join in and crash their wedding, very nice folks, we felt at home. The Staff deserves much of the credit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Good value for an overnight business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attentiveness from staff was not great - had to wait longer than I expected before being served on every occasion at reception and in the dining room. Managed to connect to WiFi once on my mobile, but the connection dropped and after that I was not able to connect again from any device. Inadequate space on the side table in the room to work comfortably on the laptop.

    Bed was comfortable - nice, fluffy duvet. Building was beautiful inside and out. Food was very nice in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    great for short stay
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast perhaps some brolly's at door of annex for guests to use in case of heavy rain .great for short stay

    We there just for 1 night the grounds were great hotel good and close to where we wanted to be .We had drinks in the bar in the evening and we were the last there so we were asked to move as it was closing and had to take our drinks to lounge. we did not mind as it was our last drink. Our room was in annex so had to walk across grounds that was okay but next morning pouring down got a little wet running to hotel for breakfast. fruit juice cereals pastries yogurt etc. all self service tea or coffee toast and cooked breakfast was served to you. Service a little slow not many staff on but breakfast cooked to order and was very good. Would stay there again if we were ever in area again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable but the noise from adjoining rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality tray was mean and on day two no biscuits were provided. Take your own supplies of tea and coffee. They are on ration as are toiletries. Poor for a hotel.

    The bed was comfortable but the noise from adjoining rooms was awful. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good sized room which was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the room was clean and comfortable, there was only one bath towel between two people. The service at breakfast was poor as we had to ask for coffee and tea on two separate occasions and had to collect milk ourselves from another table. Whilst the breakfast was nice, the toast was brought out 10 minutes beforehand so was cold when the breakfast arrived. The hotel were able to provide gluten free bread which was great but the waiter made a comment about the fact that I hadn't eaten both slices which I didn't feel was appropriate.

    Good sized room which was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable, would use again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bath with shower over, lack of ventilation other than window which you couldn't leave open as on ground floor and poor mobile reception

    Comfy bed but was given a twin room instead of a double. Breakfast lovely with lotsof choice and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    A beautiful location for a wedding but more staff on duty required...!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very pleasant but there wasn't enough staff on duty serving behind the bar or even on reception. I asked for more tea & coffee milk for our room as there wasn't enough in the rooms we had 1 cup of tea each that used up what was provided. I asked a male member of staff he said ask later if it was ok. I understood he was busy. Later on that evening no one was around to ask for tea & coffee milk for our rooms. In the morning one guy tried very hard to serve talk our orders for breakfast. The same issue not enough staff. If you have a wedding surely it's common sense your going to be busy.... people have spent lots of money and also booked their accommodation more money.... so having more staff on duty to run a smoother ship would make people more satisfied!!

    We were at a family wedding the rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing and frustrating despite being in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very surprised and disappointed that our room was separate to the main building requiring a walk in the rain to get to the reception or restaurant. Room lacked many of the basics expected in a standard hotel .eg writing paper and pen/ pencil, bath hat, moisturiser, tissues, choice of pillows ( far too deep for my neck) etc. Very poor lighting in room, no overhead light and even in daylight side lights not strong enough. Bedside light was positioned too far from the bed so had to get out of bed to turn light on or off. Very, very noisy toilet water system. Went on for ages and disturbed sleep. No facility to programme a wake up call on phone. Had to call reception. Rang twice but no answer after long wait. Had to walk...in the rain ... to reception and then hunt in the hotel to find a member of staff to book a wake up call and find out how to access wi fi. No call system in reception to summon help. The wake up call didn’t happen ! Despite being told in the room info to contact reception to get wi fi access there was no need to do this ...just connect to the cloud. Why didn’t it say that in the info? Restaurant floor was dirty and tables had a number of badly chipped cups which should have been thrown out. Hash brownies were anything but brown, rather a cream colour and tasting very underdone.

    Lovely looking main building and ground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location, friendly staff, tired facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in bathroom. Dirty glass at sink. Ants crawling on the floor and bath. Generally tired.

    Location and grounds. Restaurant and bar. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    What a Gem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is gorgeous, grounds lovely, bar, restaurant and food great! Staff brilliant (thanks David and Malik!). Great place definitely will be coming back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay, good staff and food, hotel showing it's age a bit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is a bit tired and not all areas are clean.

    Excellent staff and the food was good. The setting at Rothley Court is fantastic with views across neighbouring parkland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Interesting period building which has been renovated on the cheap, needs some taste and TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly shabby, in need of a facelift and though we weren't told there was a wedding that night with disco, lots of doors slamming and pretty crowded bar, which didn't really add to my stay.

    Lovely building and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Very bad experience - never use your company again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service level - abismal !!!! No one at reception on arrival - had to engage a staff member from the kitchen !!! No one ever answered the reception phone at all.

    The room offered was sub standard and difficult to locate or access. Upon complaining we were offered several “ proper” alternatives. The weather was very cold and no heating in the room. Very uncomfortable in the British weather. Your duty manager “ Malik” was undoubtedly under the influence of drink and or other substances. When leaving our better room he offered us he was not able to control himself showing signs of drunkenness / similar. Worst hotel experience in UK on our extensive holiday from our home in South Australia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our visit and hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unable to regulate/reduce the flow rate of water from the shower - a very minor issue in the overall experience.

    The location, history and food were all very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired and too few staff for the work required. I waited too long to check in and too long to be seated for dinner. I recognise economics are difficult here, but a bit more awareness from staff would be helpful.

    Comfortable. Beer a decent price and food well prepared.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could benefit from mini fridges in the rooms, grip mats in the shower/bath. Hash browns in the breakfast were probably the worst I've had.

    Staff, history of the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Great countryside location, could be amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite jaded, tired and seems unloved. Lots of litter in addition to wedding confetti and cigarette ends around the grounds. Tables in the garden had loads of used glassware on them. Breakfast glassware and bowls were quite dirty and smeared. Room booked for 2 adults and 1 child only set with 2 towels, 2 mugs etc. Sofa bed made up but we had to pull it out ourselves and no pillow provided. Staff presence really lacking on reception for a Sunday morning departure and quite lacklustre too, no apparent management around. Staff seen wandering through the restaurant with their own drinks at breakfast. If we'd been asked how everything was at checkout we'd happily have provided feedback, the positives and the opportunities. Shame, with a few changes this place has the potential to be absolutely amazing!

    Location and grounds. Friendly team on duty on arrival, at dinner and in the bar on Saturday night. Good choice of food on breakfast buffet. Room was a decent size and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The location of the property is fantastic and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was lovely but the rooms looked very tired and could do with a bit of a makeover.

    The location of the property is fantastic and very picturesque

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.8
    Ugly duckling waiting to turn into a swan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything is run down. Bedrooms are seriously out dated, not comfortable. Breakfast quality was poor, missed the mark completely.

    Lovely historical building, this hotel could be something really special, needs investment, and complete refurbishment to bring it up to modern standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: