Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rothwell House Hotel 2 stars

Bridge Street, Rothwell, NN14 6JW, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Rothwell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Great value, great breakfast, clean and lovely friendly atmosphere - would definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only critisim would be there was literally nowhere to hang your clothes - would not expect a wardrobe, as price was sooo good so only expected basic, however a couple of hooks on the wall would suffice.

    The staff were lovely - really friendly and cheerful, breakfast was perfect, fresh, hot, and well presented. Hotel clean, and for the price, perfect for the night with my husband and daughter - if i were back in the area, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Not the greatest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and dated. The bed was awful! The floorboards creaked soo badly no-one could move once the kids were alseep!

    We had a fire escape door to a set of outdoor stairs so we could come and go without going through the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Noisy neighbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys to get into rooms were awful, had trouble getting into the room, it was like trying to get into a lock using the wrong key. Another came back late and couldn't get into his room and there was no staff members around to ask for help. The room was very dated, throw on one bed looked like it had a drop of blood on it, only one double plug socket in the room, so had to boil the kettle on the floor. Bathroom was also very dated, handle on the bath had came off and struggled to get hot water, so I didn't get to have a shower in the morning. The worst night sleep ever was due to the guest in the room next door to us. We believe he has been staying there a while as he seems to have a few personal belongings with him such as a stereo which he played fairly loudly through the night until 4.30am and a guitar which he also played on occasions. I will give him credit as he did come out and try and help the guest the other side of us with the key issue and pointed him to a room he thought a member of staff was staying in. Then when no staff member presented themselves, our noisy neighbour let him in his room. Obviously music went up and there was more guitar playing and the occasional screeches the noisy neighbour made went through everyone including the neighbours above him who banged on the floor at about 3am, this still did not shut him up and eventually things went quiet around 4.30am. I was shocked that no member of staff heard the noise he was making and came to talk to him, especially as he must of accidentally tripped or kicked something during the course of the night that made a huge bang. Breakfast was nice but feel things could of been explained better, like if you were allowed to help yourself to cereal well waiting for your cooked breakfast.

    The breakfast was good and the lady who seemed to be single handily running the place seemed pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bedroom was in the lounge/kitchen so it should not be called a 3 bedroom apartment! Dust everywhere Cobwebs everywhere Couldn’t work the shower, apparently there was a special knack to turning the knob The mattresses were very uncomfortable in all beds The couch had cigarette burns in it and stains on it Not enough utensils in the kitchen

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Rothwell could do it better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extra small, the door key kept sticking, the bed mattress was very uncomfortable and should be renewed, room to room noise was high.

    The hotel was only round the corner from my family

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    You get what you pay for! Although would have expected the room to be cleaner.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of cleaning in the bedroom. Dirty wardrobe floor and not much sign of dusting window ledges etc and carpet didn't look very clean.

    The newly furbished en-suite shower room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    We have Stayed in worse accommodation.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to be used by a lot of out of town contractors working in the area. Breakfast not included in the price, £5 each extra.

    Close to the venue we attended for a family party.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Ideal for purpose of vist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses need renewing, quite lumpy so not best nights sleep had!

    You had everything you needed in the room including iron & ironing board. Also good to have a fan as it was warm when we visited.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Good room for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but then I did book a single. The ensuite was so tiny I wouldn't have fitted in it if I was any bigger. The Dado rail half way up the wall was thick with dust as I found out and started sneezing :( Only 2 thin pillows.

    I asked for ground or first floor and the request was given, so not too many steps. The room was good with comfy bed. Also had an iron and a hairdryer, kettle, basic chunky mug but plenty of drinks which I drank and enjoyed. Had a tv, wardrobe and chest of drawers with ensuite shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Served it's purpose and I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and new decor required.

    Although reasonable value the building is a little tired. Our room was adequate but we could not get the shower to work and the bathroom was rather poor and could certainly benefit from a complete refurbishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Rothwell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel in middle of possible revamp,bit rundown in some parts excellent in other areas,staff so friendly and welcoming,very good value,not excellent in cleaning dept,but maybe due to revamp work,

    Staff n location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for what we required and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations need to continue to all areas. Some rooms need to be renovated. this is a work in progress.

    The cooked breakfast was excellent and amazing value for £5. Staff were positive and friendly. The bar area and dining area have been recently renovated as was our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.3
    The room had loads of cobwebs in the corners, the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had loads of cobwebs in the corners, the bathroom shower was so dirty. I couldn't have a shower as i didn't want to put my feet on the brown dirty matt. The doors of the shower were dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. very noisy at night and a lot of banging doors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for the local shops and high street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the pubs in the high street. Curtains not great - too much light getting through. Small TV - size of postage stamp.

    Convenient for the local shops and high street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Stairs not for the faint hearted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are quite steep, and not advisable for anyone with walking difficulties. the lack of a wall handrail adds to this difficulty. I only found later that ground floor rooms for those with disabilities were available after I arrived, by perusing the hotels own site. nothing mentioned on Booking.com. room furnishings quite basic but serviceable, but looked in need of a coat of varnish. Due to her walking difficulty, my wife was unable to utilise the shower, as it was located over the bath. The room occupied by my sons however, was cause for concern. the kettle was plugged in to an extension that was left hanging in mid air. the weight of the kettle was the only thing holding it in place.

    The receptionist was very friendly, and is a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    the room looked very shabby and dark and it appeared not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room looked very shabby and dark and it appeared not to have been dusted, there was washing up/glasses left on the draining board not put away, the iron when used leaked the water out so I was unable to put down as either my hand got scaled or the ironing board cover would have burnt, on making a hot drink for 5 people found only 2 mugs in the cupboard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Stayed for 1 night. Good value at £40 for a single room. Some areas need attention. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky. Looks like they are refurbishing bathrooms as mine was good but friends room had mould in shower. Some areas need attention, decor wise.

    Nice looking building. Central. Nice staff. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable. Perfect when the room is purely for sleeping and bathing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have to say the building décor etc is tired but for the price paid all the essentials were more than adequate.

    The breakfast for the price of £5 was excellent. Juice, Cereal, Croissants and full English which was beautifully cooked. The bed was comfortable with lovely clean linen and nice white towels. Tea and Coffee facilities in the room and hairdryer. We requested a room with a bath which we got. The room wasn't huge but adequate for what we wanted. We were attending a show at Kelmarsh so only wanted a place to sleep and wash and this was more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Also we found the town of Rothwell superb for food. We ate at the Indian, the Chinese and the Toro steak house over the weekend and all of them were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice looking building, stayed in 2 rooms at the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our bathrooms had some black mould in the shower enclosure.

    Nice looking building, stayed in 2 rooms at the top floor. Small Tv, kettle and tea/coffee/milk supplied. WiFi Free. Iron and board in room if needed. Bed fine. Slept fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Well placed for an overnighter if traveling on the A14.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well placed for an overnighter if traveling on the A14. Pleasant town. Tricky car park to park in. Tired fixtures and fittings which is presumably why it was so reasonably priced. Good breakfast for £5 each.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    We would never stay there again which is a shame as Rothwell was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is REALLY dated. The bathroom smelt of mould and damp. There was no shower curtain so,consequently the water went all over the floor, hence the damp mouldy smell. The dado rail was coming off the wall - all it needed was refixing but it hadn't been done. Every time you turned over in bed the headboard hit against the wall and woke you up.

    The location was good and the bar was fine. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant four day break, visiting family, and are already planning our next two visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All steps to front door, and not having a path from car park direct to front door to avoid going back on to street... Please consider having a permanent side access for disabled or physically challenged customers

    The kindness and friendliness of staff, even going that extra mile to direct me to a gluten free fish and chip shop. The openess and good lighting benefited my blind and partially sighted husband. The easy access from side/car park also benefited us. fantastic disabled rooms and access to all ground floor amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant break on our journey. Will be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed-side lamps would be beneficial in the winter months but wasn't a problem for us in July :-)

    This hotel offers excellent value for money. We booked it as an overnight stay on our journey back from the Netherlands so that we could call and see our son & family the next day. The receptionist was very pleasant and friendly and always cheerful. The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast. The chef really knows her trade :-) The room was clean and comfortable and as this is an 'old' building would probably benefit from a little up-grading but hey! … at £50 for a night's B&B … This hotel cannot be faulted. We will definitely be using again. Thank You

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Dreadful. I didn’t want to stay the night and could barely sleep with how unclean the room was.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgustingly unclean - the bed sheets looked like they had never been cleaned. Do not stay here it is disgusting

    The staff were the only positive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very unclean and either broken or just hanging on. They charge for breakfast which you aren’t told until you arrive. Staff we rude and unhelpful Curtains were falling off the curtain pole. No tea or coffee in room, no cups for water. Shelf in bathroom was broken and hanging off wall

    That the toilet had a wind up handle Only positive was the bathroom was well equipped for disabled person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Quick stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin in our room hadn't been emptied. The car park was full so had to park my car in the high Street on a Saturday night.

    Four poster bed was a surprise 😲

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food. Sat out the front of the hotel to eat. Rooms clean and roomy. Very accommodating staff. Bar area nice with darts and pinball machine. Full English breakfast with tea coffee pastries and ceareal. Good location with other restaurants around and local shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel is a good location.in the centre of town. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable chair to sit on (None provided). Larger television. (The one in the room was VERY small). A place with hangers for clothes. (None provided). These items would make the hotel a more comfortable place to stay.

    Friendly helpful staff. Room clean. Good reasonably priced breakfast. Car parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very conveniently situated and more than came up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the corridors to the bedrooms were a bit "tired" and the red carpets to the stairs was also in need of renewal with something more neutral. Although the bedroom had been obviously been partially updated it was spoilt by the dark, large patterned wallpaper and the fact that the main double bed was too far away from the wall switches. Perhaps the double bed and the single bed could be reversed in their positioning,

    The double bed was very comfortable and the bed linen smelt beautifully clean . Tea, coffee and chocolate was unexpected as was finding an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The en-suite was far better than expected since it appeared to be brand new. I was in room 6.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.9
    Fawlty Towers without the houmour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above. As I can not really find a positive thing to say. Apart from the central location this B and B was definitely in need of an up grade and the staff in need of some training in customer service. Although they apologised about the mouldy bread they still charged us and too be honest to say " we will change it for you" as if they were doing us a favour was laughable. In fact I would say this is Fawlty Towers without the laughs. Oh yes and views of wilderbeasts sweeping majestically no we had views of bans parked outside our room. The bases of the beds were filthy and the wet room was dirty all in all I cannot recommend this hotel in any way shape or form.

    Absolutely nothing The room was dirty including the shower room poorly decorated and the restaurant was awful dirty tablecloths and Mouldy Bread! The receptionist on arrival was unhelpful the whole experience was appalling. The room still had masking tape round the light where they had decorated but the room had not been decorated for sometime peeling wallpaper. The"wardrobe" was coathangers on wall hooks you could not open the bathroom door without hitting one of the beds all in all I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Sheets, toilet and wash basin clean wouldn't use the shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very very dated just a velux window that was covered in so no real light in room and very cramped. Daido rail full of dust. 2 adults and 15 year old in small room, niece booked a double room for 2 and got a bigger family room than ours

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    I wish I'd booked one night rather than 4.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    8x6 ft room (40 quid, room only), bathroom door hit sink when opened, so had to close door to use sink but when bending down to use sink my backside hit door , so had to stand up to have wash due to shelf above sink, so water all over floor. if you are a larger person ( I'm 5'8, 11st) you will not get on the w.c. Paper thin wall. Trailing socket around door frame 4ft off the floor. Would rather commute the 200mile round trip than stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    There was parking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The back of the door was dusty must've vacuumed with door opened and missed it. Head board dusty, bathroom funny smell, soap dispensers empty. Extremely tiny television. Staff not that nice, Wi-Fi code was given but it wasn't available

    There was parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but customer follow up regarding my early departure and refund is poor, perhaps you can resolve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to cut short my stay and only stayed for one night, asked girl on reception for 1 night refund and she told she would speak to Nicola the manager and ring me, I have heard nothing !!!!

    Comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    Below par.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General maintenance and cleanliness was poor. The floor was extremely creaky, very noisy! The beds were very uncomfortable as they were far too soft and/or worn out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    Avoid this scummy, excuse for a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking. Very small room with a cheap, very squeeky, tacky four poster bed. I can only assume it was the cleaners day off as there was dust around the very small TV and the one(?) bed side lamp. The canopy over the bed has dust and hair on top. The mattress is so thin I wouldn't put it on the floor as a dog bed. Dated decor. Kettle still had water in. Pleasant bar area with a small bar and seating area. The hotel is centrally located and is surrounded by bars and food outlets. We asked if breakfast was available to be told she wasn't sure as the manager was away? Oh and you need a large pocket to take the key and the lump of attached tree out with you. Would rather camp on the central reservation of the a14 than waste my money on this poor excuse for a hotel.

    There is a mat on the way out so you can wipe your feet before leaving.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    I would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The on-suite was excellent and the shower superb . Breakfast was very good and all staff were very friendly. Parts of the hotel were being updated but this didn't affect us.. the room was a little crowded and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Not a place I'd recommend and I certainly won't be staying there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing, the room was small, the bed uncomfortable, the walls were so thin I could hear a voice on the other end of the phone when the man in the room next to me made a phone call, shouting and banging on doors at 2am in the morning and there were only 6 items on the menu in the restaurant, none of which would be considered healthy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.9
    Avoid at all costs. Terrible place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a dreadful experience. The room was dark and filthy; had not been cleaned in some time. I obtained cleaning materials from the uncaring manager and wiped up thick dust and grime. The double bed was old and broken with protruding springs. Several lights had no bulbs/did not work. The table was covered in dust, crumbs and sticky marks and the fridge had sour milk stains. No bedside tables or lamps for the double bed. Fire escape door onto a filthy, rickety fire escape was swinging open when we arrived and would not shut safely. The floor was uneven and made a terrible creaking; I can't imagine how noisy it was for the room below. Decor throughout the hotel dirty and stained with peeling wallpaper, worn out carpet, aggressive instruction notices taped to walls, damaged banisters and doors that either wouldn't shut or slammed loudly. When I eventually located the manager (one of only two members of staff in evidence) to complain, she was unsurprised and indifferent. We spent a long time trying to locate alternative accommodation but it was late and nothing was to be found on this popular weekend.

    I cannot think of anything good to say about this hotel. We left feeling tired, dirty and deeply unhappy with all aspects of our experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty halls and stairs. Hotel desperately needs some tlc rooms tidy but in need of modernisation. The heating didn’t work in room, so oil filled heaters where supplied. Bathroom extremely basic. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone and wouldn’t return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Glad we had only booked one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired looking hotel in need of a face lift. Shower was not very clean so didn’t use it. My husband tried, but by the time he worked out the complicated controls, he didn’t fancy it either. Took ages to find the light switch in one room - it was hidden behind the headboard of one of the beds. Single room of the apartment had no window!

    Bedding was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Not luxury but served our purpose at a reasonable price.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 30 nights

    An update to facilities such as bathroom (to remove mold) and double glazing (ice on the inside) would turn this hotel into a lovely place to stay.

    Breakfast and mid week carvery were good and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Value for money. Adequate but certainly no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guest areas are tatty and corridors desperately need redecorating. Room facilities are low-cost but functional.

    Breakfast comprised a good choice of juices, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was well prepared.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.3
    Not as expected, disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't like the ones in photos on Booking.com site, tiny bathroom hardly room to move in it, no bedside table. Bed spring 'bonged' everytime I moved in bed, so didn't sleep well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    We got a refund and booked elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was so called outside and the hotel didn't put us in a heated room. The radiator didn't work in the room but The lights didn't have any covers on them so u could see into the loft and putting the heating on would have been pointless, hotel staff didn't seem to care when we told them there was no heating, after a 7 hour drive that's the last thing we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Needs total overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. The Yale lock was broken off the door so had to use the second lock and the the dado rail was ripped of the wall. No bedside tables instead there were chairs. Can of fly spray in corner of room! Window not double glazed and ivy growing through gap. No hooks for coats or wet towels. Only one mirror in bathroom. Bathroom was tiny and shower not powerful. Could feel springs poking through mattress on bed. Whole room was very dated.

    Parking handy onsite and good location for us

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable cost, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good apart from when we returned, a lady who was playing the fruit machine yelled Bar's Closed. Bit rude as it wasn't that late.

    Reasonable cost, very central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was aweful, could feel base through mattress, like a bed of nails ! Think an upgrade would be in order here !! Bathroom very small, clean but tiny. (room 15) Main room had missing rail around walls whilst not a problem did nothing for decor The wardrobe and drawers un-usable as had handles missing. Certainly wouldnt stay again but Rothwell as a town is lovely and local facilities great. Highly recommend "Taste of India" restaurant and Red lion pub

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.3
    If you HAVE to stay in Kettering....don't let this place be your hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately myself and my guest both had rooms that were prehistoric. His mostly had wallpaper hanging from the walls, and mine had the added bonus of additional guests....wasps. Upon reporting the additional guests sharing my room, I was given a can of fly spray which I thought relatively poor. Both beds were hard and lumpy, the bathroom I was unable to turn around in, TV was unwatchable due to it being smaller than an iPad and overall it was quite frankly a dump.

    There wasn't a lot too like at this hotel...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    We paid a 2 star price, the facilities were 3 star but the service was 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilities need updating but it is clear that this is being done in stages

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful with any queries we had

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Pay an extra £20 and stay elsewhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even at £40 this was bad. Car park full so no choice other than to park in the public car park 4 minutes away. The single room was tiny and the ensuite only about two feet wide. The room faced the busy street which would be fine if it wasn't for the single glazed sash window which blocked no noise whatsoever and the floodlight outside lighting the exterior of the building shining straight though the window. Curtains 1 or 2 mm thick didn't block a thing. Ohh...and the church bells across the road chime all night!

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.6
    Gave us a bed for the night at an inexpensive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tatty, needs money spent, poorly maintained. Mattress in first room was appalling. You could feel every spring with your hand without pressing down. Dirty windows. Loose loo seat.

    Staff friendly and helpful, and moved room without question when we complained about the matress in our initial room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Awful worst hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone came into our room when we were Out and put a plug back in left a sticker asking not to unplug.. This was attached to an extension cable with wires going out the window.. None of the windows would shut When we came back the key snapped in the lock we got no apologies left standing on the landing while they called a maintenance man. We were expecting 3 bedrooms and a small kitchenette what we got was 2 bedrooms and a bed in the kitchen. The shower was filthy..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was Lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful .Value for money

    Close to our Daughters, the area is very lovely and close to most things we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    This is a really nice, good value hotel. The breakfast costs £5 extra which is very reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably warm. The thermostat in the hallway was reading 26 degrees centigrade. I advised a member of staff who claimed that other residents had said it was too cold. The problem was not rectified on any of the three nights. This is a lovely hotel with lots of period charm but it needs maintenance and the addition of a few basic facilities to make it much better. For example, the sash cord on the window was broken and there was paper jammed in the frame to stop it from rattling. A bathroom tile above the sink was very loose and the shower door was repaired with parcel tape and the toilet seat was loose as was the shower head holder. The bathroom would benefit greatly from the addition of a towel rail, shelf and robe hook. I do hope the owners of the hotel will rectify these small details because they let the place down which is a real shame. It wouldn't take much to make it a first class hotel in all honesty.

    Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. Great location and parking facilities. The addition of hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee is a nice touch in the room. The room also had an electric fan, iron and ironing board which was very thoughtful. The breakfasts were really nice and there's a wonderful restaurant over the road called A Taste of India. Rothwell is a really lovely historic town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing as spoiled our weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so dirty when walking up stairs they looked like they may have been hoovered in middle but thick dust on outsides. The walls were dirty and shabby in the building wallpaper falling off the wall and windows were so dirty. After booking our breakfast for following day could not eat it as was thinking of dirt and wondered what the kitchen was like! So sad as like to back the towns businesses but would book into premier inn or same as next time as these are much nicer. A mismatched bedroom not at all inviting but gladly only there for a couple hours sleep where the beds seemed quite clean but didn't dare look any deeper as was afraid what I would find. Def never stay there again I would rather sleep in the car.

    Nothing about the place itself but the one member of staff we see was nice and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Value hotel. Friendly staff. Some facilities unsatisfactory. Single room undersized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed partly blocked the opening to the shower and loo which didn't have a door. The light didn't work.

    I stayed 2 nights in double room..goid size. Booked 3rd night in single room. Very small. In double room the tv dudnt work abd there was no bedside lamp until i asked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.9
    It's not the sort of place I would like to stay again or recommend to any of my friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was scaled up, it did not always turn on. We did not have our beds changed during our stay. The lampshade was broken and dusty. The ironing board was all murky. There was nowhere to put your stuff in the bathroom. The bottom of the shower cubicle was not too clean. The photos available online are no comparison to the actual condition of the room.

    I was not too impressed with the facilities on offer, for instance the window had to be kept open with a piece of cardboard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower gel as stated, the toilet seat was wonky, the bathroom light went off and the cooked breakfast was not very nice

    The staff were polite, the room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.8
    Never again, I would rather sleep in the car.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where do I begin? Parking. Up a narrow side strip and when you reach the top and find there is no space you have to reverse all the way back down (I only got parking at the hotel on 1 night out of 4). Electrics were a 4 plug extension coming out of the wall and just hanging there. Bathroom- couldn't fully open the door because the sink (which could only possibly be used by a small mouse) . Fixed head shower so I could only shower the top half of my body. Toilet wedged into a tiny alcove so whether I stood or sat I had my shoulders rubbing on the walls. Finally the prison cell sized room (about 7 foot by 6 foot I reckon) did not even accommodate an extra chair so I had to sit on the bed when in the room. No headboard on the bed. When opening the room door it rubs against the bed. Never saw staff after checking in. Could not even tell them there was no shower gel coming out of the container on the shower wall.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.3
    If the price seems to be too good to be true, it probably is!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was TINY. It, and in particular, the bed smelled of sweat. The bathroom was a broom cupboard that you could not open the door to because it hit the handbasin and it smelled mouldy. The interior walls were so thin you could hear people breathing in the next room.

    It's location, for the purpose of my visit. It's location in relation to places to eat. The proximity for access to main roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.3
    £100.00 per night (no breakfast) total rip off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    windows in the property didnt lock shut, fire door was in our bedroom and wasn't secure, kitchen doors were hanging off, bathroom was dirty, tv's in kids rooms didnt work. We asked staff for help with the windows as I didn't feel the kids were safe, they offered some cardboard and told me they couldn't get anyone to look as it was too late. Shower was difficult to use. Room is in need of a good clean and needs to be 'made good'. We didn't try breakfast and couldn't wait to leave. Very disappointing

    The space in the room was great with five of us in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    They let us check in a bit earlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't full breakfast choices everyday, but just on work days and Saturdays. Nothing to put clothes or toiletries down.

    They let us check in a bit earlier

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    It was wretched for the price and my previous experiences with the rothwell house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the bathroom shabby. There was nowhere to park, I had to park my car around the corner. The tap leaked all night, I couldn't turn the tap off or on, it was jammed. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The sink was chipped, the bathroom floor was dirty underfoot. The cup I had was dirty so that put me off my morning cuppa, even though it took best part of fifteen minutes to fill the kettle from the dripping cold water tap. The wifi didn't work. Rothwell house, keep this as the box room it deserves to be, it's dragging down the standard of your charming hotel. I'd have been ashamed to show guests into this room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Only positive thing is the price. I suppose you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too hot, window wouldn't stay open, noisy street outside. Décor poor and dated. Mattress old. Shower small and bathroom very small. Wash basin too small.

    The price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst accommodation I have ever used should be removed from booking .com , dirty tiny rooms sink tap leaking don't think about eating there

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Need a bed in a storm you be grateful
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to hang towels after use, had to move the kettle to the floor between the single beds to make coffee. Wires stretching from wall socket to the TV in the middle of the next wall. Not enough accessible power points. Not one chair in the room. The "restaurant " offered food I might have found at a number of chain pubs. (The meal was acceptable the evening we arrived) no starters, staff unsure what was on offer. We had paid for breakfast in advance. Day one my husband had cold poached eggs on cold toast. My full breakfast was not good although the bake beans were hot. The coffee needed some coffee beans. Day two gave breakfast a miss.

    Parking was good. Having a restaurant seemed like a godsend after a long journey. There was a TV, coffee making facilities in our room along with an iron and ironing board.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Ok for 1 night, mould smell and black walls not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in shower room was very bad Smell from mold was bad Blind on window had failed 2 bulbs gone in the room Shower constant drip Extractor in shower room wasn't efficent. Had to wait 40 mins to get breakfast, it wasn't even busy. Parking spaces all taken Looks like someone had tried to brake into the room in the past but lock still worked Stayed in room 6 Ask for a different room is you get this one. Shower was dirty/ not cleaned

    Breakfast was very nice. Room ok size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Not great but cheap
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite unclean and very dated. The bathroom was awful and smelly. The beds were lumpy and the walls were paper thin! The room we had was only single glazed so we heard quite a bit of traffic noise.

    The welcome from the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Pricey for what it was. This time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given was for three people. It wasn't very big. There was no wardrobe, and nowhere I could hang my uniform. There was no shower curtain although there was a shower over the bath. The bathroom was very shabby with a grey suite. There was no mirror in the main room, I'm a professional person and need to look my best for my job. The tv was too small to see and in the wrong place for a family room. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The wifi did not work. I paid the same price for a different room last time I stayed and had none of these problems. You let me down this time, Rothwell House Hotel 😕, the room was not worth the price I paid for it, perhaps it was more expensive because it was for three.

    I love the hotel and the area, it's quiet and peaceful. The staff are welcoming and unintrusive. It's only 3 miles from my place of work.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    No a great hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't very clean and the wallpaper was hanging off the wall and there was no shower

    The restaurant was clean and it was in a great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Hotel could do with some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 room had stains on the chairs and the room was dirty, but were moved to another room which was better. 1 room had a 4 poster bed, but the mattress was very poor, sagged in the middle. The windows didn't shut properly, and the whole hotel could do with some TLC, it could be made beautiful

    Booked 3 rooms and only 1 had no problems

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    Dirty Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was appalling, see attached photos. I emailed my complaint with the photos twice, and also phoned and was told someone would call me back. I have had no response whatsoever.

    I cannot think of anything I liked about the property other than the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as 3 bedrooms = 1 double, 1 twin and 1 single. Did not mention that the double bed was in the lounge area which also had the kitchenette and sofa. So I would say only suitable for a family as privacy was an issue ( we were 2 couples ).

    Good location. Free parking. Kitchenette with kettle and microwave. Staff were friendly. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.8
    get a little less than what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breaky very poor eg mushrooms burnt. coffee horrendous. my front door didnt shut, wifi didnt work & just blamed on british telecom. TV small. other guests i spoke to very unhappy. chairs outside room falling apart. scruffy. fight in carpark over parking

    bed comfy, shower pressure good & hot

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: