Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Albion 3 stars

6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs, CT10 1AN, United Kingdom

#12 of 21 hotels in Broadstairs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 687 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the reception staff was just dam right miserable , jobs worth.

    location is great, but hotel needs a little work to keep it at the top of its game. Parking could be an issue in height if season. None on site and you have to use the public car park some 400 meters away, plus now you have to pay towards this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public toilets were very poor & need monitoring regularly. There was no a la carte restaurant The bar area was a mess The menu in the bar was poor Need to inform customers there are no lifts

    The room & sea view. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the queuing at the bar for ages to get a drink at least 10-15 minutes as they don't have enough staff, no staff at reception when we went there on a couple of occasions as they was called in to the help with the bar queue, the variety of food on the menu is a bit basic, the price for 2 nights (£260) is a bit steep if you cant even get a drink after 10-15 minutes of standing in a queue ( for that kind of money they should employ more staff ), no parking aswell - you have to park down the road which costs £7 for 24 hours for the price of the hotel i feel that should be included and sorted through for the hotel....I feel that breakfast finishing at 10am is a bit early for people that have come away to relax and may need a longer lay-in...

    the bed was really really comfortable, the bathroom was nice and spacious and lovely deep bath, the freshly cooked breakfasts in the morning are lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    we had a lovely room at the top of the hotel with great sea views, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, even at a very busy time they made sure we were looked after. Food was good. we will be re visiting at some point!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather was rather cold, but couldn't get bathroom radiator to work.

    Superb view from room and access to balcony. Very large comfortable bed. Very good sized bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room - faulty thermostat in bathroom meant it was very warm. Lack of parking.

    Great breakfast. Wonderful view. Comfortable room. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is incredible if you pay for a room I’m with a sea view. the hotel is filled with history and the food and drinks on a sunny day are a perfect antidote to city living.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs updating. Bar prices extremely high. Attitude of some staff needs improving. Lighting in main lounge area too harsh

    Bed very comfy. Great position. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above.

    Breakfast was very varied and lots of choice. I had full english which was excellent with lots of scrambled egg which could have been more runny for my taste. I think was pre cooked and heated up. Small point. Next day wonderful kipper, large and juicy offered scrambled egg with it. It is good to avoid hot buffet like most large hotels. They dry out quickly. Could not make The Cloud wi fi work and member of staff came to room to sort out. Well done. Choice of Wi Fi provider is not good as you need a user name as well as password. This I did not have.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a heritage hotel it suffers a bit from creaky floors and staircases, hall lights shining through the doors, that sort of thing. Plus the town side is situated on a bottleneck for delivery lorries and traffic. So don’t expect a quiet lie-in.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was turning the shower off in Bedroom 17 the knob was really stiff, my husband and I barely managed to turn it so an older person would have a lot of trouble.

    Everything, the staff were friendly, the location and food fantastic, room lovely and also clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed, powerful shower, excellent breakfast choices - particularly for vegetarians, cruelty free toiletries in room, decor in the rooms and location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our family room was lovely, bright and spacious. The carpets must have been replaced recently as they were clean and very soft. Bed was extremley commroftable, just the pillows a bit too high for our liking. The batrhoom was large and very pleasing with a huge window and a large bath. We had lunch on the restaurant's tarrace and the food was yummy but we had to wait over 45 minutes for it. It looked like they forgot our order as people who arrived after us got foor before us. Breakfast room was very modern and bright, a satisfying choice of meals to chose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast was lovely and the room was amazing and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly especially the older lady in the restaurant who was run off her feet but still polite. Would definately recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If it is not asking for too much, there could have been almond milk for a milk alternative in the breakfast buffet.

    Excellent location. Very clean and neat rooms. Very helpful staff. The seaview rooms have a magnificant view. The breakfast buffet and the hot dish choices are exquiste, incl vegan choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and the Hotel has a nice atmosphere about it. You are next door to the beach and shops. Local car parking is available on arrival via the hotel reception. The hotel is directly in the highstreet with few unloading places, so initially you do need to park up and walk a small way back to it unless you can be dropped off. But dont let this put you off. The Royal Albion Hotel in Broadstairs is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious with superb views, Room 28. The staff were extremely helpful. Excellent choice of beers and wines. Sitting outside with a beer in the sun must be fantastic but sadly one aspect was missing, guess which. Numerous bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There seemed to be a lack of staff at the breakfast restaurant. On our first morning at breakfast, one woman was on her own doing all the work and seemed flustered. The fruit at breakfast looked like it had been on display for a few days as some of the fruit looked dry and inedible! We also had to wait a bit longer than necessary for our cutlery, tea and coffee possibly due to the lack of staff on duty.

    The room was very spacious and the bed very comfy. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked was a single but very small, no work space so I would not stay again. I should probably have looked closer. Though expensive for what it was but again I am not over familiar with the area.

    Breakfast good and starts at 0700, good location overlooking the bay. Good variety of restaurants in area including next doot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front rooms can be occasionally noisy, mainly from revelers and not from traffic.

    Nicely renovated, modernised, but characterful rooms. Good service throughout the hotel. Excellent breakfasts, including some fish choices, with artisan-style bread and good filter coffee. Lovely coffee-shop and bar. Some rooms are dog-friendly. Free day-long parking is particularly useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 35 was spotless. Very comfy superking bed. Tea coffee biccies etc provided. Glass water bottles lovely. Fantastic views from this room. Breakfast had really good selections. Will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was tired and dated. Shower soaked the floor as unable to adjust rain shower position. The pillows were SOLID and not comfortable at all. Door to the room was short and light from the corridor flooded in all night.

    Walking distance to the train station and centrally located for the town and beach. Nice food with sea views at lunch and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate heating in bedroom and bathroom which wasn’t able to maintain a comfortable temperature during the terribly cold weather on our stay. The windows were extremely draughty and the radiator in the bedroom (which was under the window) was hidden not only by a hardboard grill, but also by thermal floor length curtains! The bathroom was too cold for us to use one morning, despite us plugging the gaps in the window with tissues. One bedside cabinet was so uneven that a cup of tea slid off it (luckily caught just in time). The cabinet needs levelling to accommodate the (understandably) uneven floor in this beautiful old building. On arrival, no offer of any staff available to take our luggage up to our room on the third floor.

    View of Viking Bay from bedroom window was superb. Central location to town centre and numerous restaurants and pubs. Excellent breakfast with great choices of cooked food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived early and the receptionist was not welcoming or attentive, seeming preoccupied with other things. We were then informed that the car park was further away: in fact a good 10 minute walk up an unlit path past allotments. This was a temporary arrangement but we think we should have been informed of this at the time of booking.

    The location was excellent, right on the seafront. The room was pleasant and the staff very helpful and courteous in general. The room was warm and comfortable. It was pleasant to have a restaurant downstairs with a good range of food. The breakfast included in our booking price was very good and served promptly and courteously.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aware this hotel in process of being updated, would say decor perhaps ready for refurbishment in some areas.

    Lovely large room with view overlooking sea and terrace. Bathroom had shower and large roll-top bath. Perfect location to walk around shops. Staff helpful. Bar staff young lady who looked after us in restaurant very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were to hard could do with a fridge in the room as I do like a cold bottle of water

    We loved hotel and the location good choice on the breakfast menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room i paid for luxury and got fleeced

    bacon had white grunge all over it inedible. window latch broken we were cold room was cold not value for money wanted my money back not worth complaining

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slow brekfast

    Second time staying here while in Thanet and will stay here again on my next visit. Great hotel with a relaxed vibe, location is superb. Good quality hotel in the heart of Broadstairs, it would be hard to choose another hotel over it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was two singles pushed together, one was very soft (read saggy and you could feel the springs) and one was very hard and there was a gap between them, normally a hotel would put a topper on top to hide the gap.... The Royal Albion did not The shower was in a bath tub. The Internet was poor.

    Great breakfast and wonderful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you have to stay for two nights over the weekend only made a bitter taste in my mouth worse. I left after the first night. I am under the understanding that all the big hotels in Broadstairs operate in this fashion, which really shows a lack of respect for your clients. The breakfast when we eventually got it was luke warm, we were told you were under staffed. The windows in our room are ill fitting and kept banging all night until I wedged something in them. My opinion of your hotel as you may have guessed is not good and I believe it is over priced for what’s on offer. I wonder if filling out your form will really have impact ?

    Honestly, Not much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes the reception desk was not staffed for indeterminate periods.

    Room 11 has a really fine outlook on the harbour and directly faces the rising sun. The room has its own french doors onto the sun balcony. Breakfast was very good indeed. Service was first rate and always friendly. This is one to revisit - definitely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just wifi intermittent at times.

    Beautiful big room with sea view, Helpful friendly staff. Great food. A great improvement from when we stayed here in September.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view in room 35, really comfortable, relaxing and just a wonderful time! Staff were amazing, dinner for NYE was exceptional, great time and would definitely go back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff and overall service appalling bad! Hardly ever anyone on reception, so don't even think about telephoning for room service or information. Waited 25 minutes once seated for Xmas lunch before anyone asked us if we wanted a drink. Tables all around us were being laid up for breakfast before we'd even had our dessert! Breakfast waitress was blunt to the point of rudeness. This used to be one of the best hotels in Broadstairs, but despite a recent update and improvements, the quality of service and staff generally make it an experience that we would not want to repeat!

    Comfortable room, but one window leaked and was going rotten! Water dripping from light fitting due to condensation. Windows very difficult to close once opened. Food was good, they obviously have a good chef!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was more efficient on the first morning as the server wrote the orders down. Our bedroom was lovely however the halls and landings would benefit from an update. When the restaurant is busy in the evening perhaps other staff could help the server with table clearing when they are not busy.

    A warm welcome and we were provided with a flask of fresh milk on arrival for drinks in our room. The hotel is in an excellent location and our room was large and comfortable with a lovely sea view. The hotel staff were all very welcoming and the hotel looked wonderful with all its Christmas decorations. Our breakfasts were very good, freshly cooked to order. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the room a little too warm for comfort, although a fan was provided which we didn't get round to using. We did have the window open slightly which let the cool air in but the street was noisy at times which we accepted as it was Christmas and people were enjoying themselves so not complaining about that.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from Reception, to Dining to Housekeeping. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The location was perfect. Facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooking smells from restaurant.... not sure why they needed to start cooking bacon at 6 in the morning. Found the staff to be very abrupt (unlike previous year)

    Lovely location overlooking the bay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard( supportive) is which wouldn’t have been a problem had not the pillows been even harder. It kind of ruined a good nights sleep in what was an enjoyable stay.

    Staff are pleasant and efficient and the position of the hotel is ideal .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of close parking or loading unloading facility. Many narrow twisting stairs.

    Magnificent views from room. Combination of olde worlde charm and modern comfort. Good central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It states that there is room service available but when we enquired about it we were left feeling like it was a quite a bother and that they would rather we didn’t use the service.

    The room was very lovely and cosy we even awoke to a beautiful sunrise over the sea. The room has a beautiful bay window overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were rude when I told them about a minor problem with the room. It says there is 'parking' at the hotel which it isn't. It is in an open public car park 200 metres away. Behind the bar in the lounge was filthy, the floor was disgusting and the coffee machine not cleaned in days.

    The staff in the restaurant were great and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom long and narrow. Bath panel not fixed on properly. Fresh towels not replaced when used ones left in bath - just hung on door.

    Comfy bed, beautiful view, generous tea, coffee facilities and complimentary mineral water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not on site but vouchers provided and wi fi via sky cloud which seemed not to work very often for me / overall Staff needs to up its game - with exception of breakfast lady who was very nice and efficient and a chat called I think David who seemed to work all hours and tried his best to cover the cracks - all seemed disjointed for example was there a receptionist or was it whoever was walking past - Barman refused me a taster of a real ale so we only drank there The once

    Without doubt it was the location - and we feel sea view a must room smart and en suite looked new with great shower - Alrhough both tight for space so if available go for a superior sea view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toast was just warm bread, the bacon appeared to be steamed and was not crispy, the fat was still white on the bacon, the bubble and squeak was just mush and very unpleasant, some staff did not understand English. One receptionist was less than helpful.

    The view from the restaurant was overlooking the beach and sea which is very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to park car in public car park five minutes walk away. We are in our 70's and there was no lift, we were on second floor.

    Very comfortable queen sized bed. Excellent restaurant facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we feel the hotel is very understaffed and this shd be addressed. the young staff there are all super helpful and friendly but they are rushed off their feet and you can see they are very stressed. waitress had to call for backup on saturday night! crazy. also an offer with carrying luggage (for older customers!) wdnt go amiss. dinner looks better on paper than it tastes - sorry.

    location and pleasant staff. lovely clean bedroom and bathroom. excellent breakfast choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot!

    Room and breakfast were excellent. Inclusive breakfast was a great idea - especially the kipper. We had a lovely time. It was very restful and relaxing. God is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal, although huge was good quality. It was a little confusing in the dining room as we were unsure whether to order from the bar or wait for table service!

    The sea view from our bedroom window was stunning and the beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh my God! This Hotel was built around 1760, when sound proofing didn’t matter, so the stairs are right behind the bed headboard, and all night long the sound of other guests banging up and downstairs will disturb even the heaviest of sleepers. It was a terrible problem. On exploring the following morning, it seems this only affects Room 11. Yes, our Room. If you take this Room, bring earplugs, I’m serious. I’d come back to this Hotel, but I’d make sure I’d not get Room 11.

    The room was beautiful, well supplied with bath do da’s and coffee/ tea/biscuits. Also very clean with a nice terrace if you take the sea view premium room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding parking as not stayed before so got bit lost. Prefer parking on hotel site. Had to park a 5 min walk away. Hotel will give you a ticket for the car park so you can park for free but had to leave the car without a ticket as £4 for 1 hour! Luckily was no wardens around but no where else to park near hotel. If 2 of you, pop In & get ticket from hotel before you park in car park.

    Very welcome cosy feel, relaxing and food lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was so hot at night. Bar: very clinical, too big, impersonal, just didn't seem inviting nor like a bar. Food: sad that there was no specific dinner menu - no set dinner menu, no offers e.g. 2/3 course meal

    Room: comfortable beds, bathroom well equipped/set out, nice and bright, Sea view/location super Some excellent staff Oriental beef dish - very tasty! public ladies on ground floor attractive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is nowhere near the hotel but there is nothing they can do about that. The deck from our room was covered in pigeon poo. Looks as if the hotel never hose it down. Made going out there unpleasant. Also the fact anyone can walk past from other rooms and this did happen one morning.

    The fact we were only one flight up the stairs. Any higher and we would not have been able to stay. I did not know they do not have a lift. Our room had a nice deck with a perfect view of the harbor. The breakfast was wonderful and the lady in charge was the politest person I have ever met. She was super efficient too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was lovely, well furnished and comfortable. Unfortunately, there is n't a lift although we realise it is an old property. While the breakfast was very good, we found the evening meal over priced and some food not up to standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the road was quite noisy in the evening.

    A great location and walking distance to the beach. The outdoor area is amazing to have a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift to the third floor?

    Ask for room 35, it has the most amazing view of Broadstairs beach and is also the room where Charles Dickens stayed and wrote Nicholas Nickleby. A real treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    towels and robe rough, bed very uncomfortable. Room very small like a cabin. Not worth £150 a night. Sons room very badly lit and dirty towels Could feel springs in bed. Requested and got another room. Too many stairs to climb!

    The view and the breakfast not bad

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It being my first time to stay in a hotel on my own, I would like to praise the wonderful staff, from the young bar staff in the evening to the 'not as young' Breakfast waitress, who beautifully mothered me, and made me feel right at home X Thank you X

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Price for the room, considering in was a 2 star hotel ( £160.00 per night!) I think that as they have the situation of the Hotel, and also Monopoly for prime location, they can " get away" with what they charge ( Breakfast included as part of price)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed at this hotel many times love the location overlooking the bay Breakfast a feast and plenty of good food and drink available all day Will be returning to this hotel soon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on check in was very unhelpful and condescending, although on the next two days of our stay, a lovely different lady on reception was very helpful. We have stayed at the hotel many times and this time the standard of cleanliness had dropped, with dirty cups on our table at breakfast and dried food stuck to the juice jugs - other people were sending crockery back too. Also we noticed people complaining they had been served the wrong breakfasts and one man said his breakfast had been forgotten 2 days running. The young staff working at breakfast did not seem at all bothered that people were unhappy.

    As always the location is wonderful and the property has amazing sea views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too small, mattress uncomfortable could feel springs. Should have been able to split bed for two singles. No lift. Should be made more aware of parking vouchers.

    Atmosphere, location, staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd be nitpicking to find anything.

    The decor in the room was excellent, the view was AMAZING. The staff were helpful but laid back - we missed breakfast but they cooked us each a full English. The bar was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small & we struggled to dry ourselves in it but if there was any other room available the staff would have been happy to move us .

    We had a fantastic view from our room of the sea but also while your dining & relaxing in the hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable, our room was by the street very noisy. For some reason I couldn't get a coffee at the bar after 10pm plus was told didn't have time to make me an Irish coffee

    The location was perfect and great entertainment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI not working despite asking for help and advice.

    It was a little tired in decoration, but generally clean and comfortable. Majority of staff very friendly and helpful. Ideally situated for beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about this hotel. Nice central location with lovely outdoor terrace overlooking the bay. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Rooms comfortable and nicely furnished. Overall a good value and stylish seaside hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Little things that make a difference, like a magnifieg shaving mirror, still and sparkling water, buisuits for your tea or coffee, tissues, and the staff were excellent, everything was clean and tidy, good food etc, what more can I say, worth ever bit of the costs, had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All members of staff were friendly, helpful and very well organised. The breakfast was one of the best ever, served promptly and piping hot. As this was folk festival week there was plenty of entertainment at different venues around town as well as on the terrace at the Albion. This only enhanced our stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy outside with the windows open in early hours of morning but expected during Folk week.

    Staff were friendly and obliging. Lovely fresh breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't great. It didn't have some of the features listed on the website when we booked. It was a bit pokey and run down with things like the radiater cover all broken. The beds were not so comfortable. The light from the hall was on all night and shone in under the door into our room. It cost way too much considering the condition of the room.

    The restaurant is lovely, beautiful view, nice and clean and attentive staff. The location is fab!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didnt like

    Everything was fabulous. Great location, good sized comfortable rooms, huge bed, balcony overlooking the sea. One of the best breakfasts ive had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were quite hard. No clear instructions given prior regarding parking. Lunch menu, we had sandwiches which weren't that great for the money, not very substantial.

    Room was very clean, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not organised which left people waiting to be served or for a clean table (Saturday 22August - 9 - 10 o'clock) so appreciate busy time Sunday was much better.

    Location and light fresh modern decor. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was much too hot at night but with the window wide-open the seagulls wake you up, so air con would be good!

    The bed was comfy and it was clean - the bathroom was roomy and the shower nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from a very loud group of people drinking outside on the hotel terrace until gone midnight. Woken very early the next morning, first by a delivery lorry, and then a refuse lorry collecting a large amount of glass bottles!

    Amazing room with sea view and balcony. Good food. Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: