Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Arms Hotel 4 stars

Main St, Sutton Cheney, CV13 0AG, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Sutton Cheney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was great

    The room was very clean and spacious. Nice hot power shower. Fantastic food, really nice restaurant and bar area. Would definately return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight disappointment with quality of breakfast , was fine but few items overcooked, service fantastic

    Lovely coaching inn, perfect relaxing location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 6 which is a bit gloomy due to its location next to the other chalets. Better to get a room with a window overlooking the car park which get more natural light. I found the portions in the restaurant a little small and the dishes were more expensive than I had expected but the room is good value so overall the cost of my stay was ok. Would have liked some fruit at the breakfast table but minor stuff.

    Rooms a nice size, easy parking. Footpath off the car park over the next field makes a nice walk. Good range of beers and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One person doing checkout, serving breakfast and taking orders is not good. Bar area itself is very odd. Totally understaffed. Also, being charged £10 to have a bowl of cornflakes and a cup of tea as I didn't want a cooked breakfast. Ludicrous.

    Barman was friendly and helpful. Evening meal was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with white sugar and a few more milk pods in the rooms ...but this was not a big deal as we had brought some with us.

    Peaceful quiet clean comfortable, very good value restful location, love the sofa as well as chair in the room and of course really helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good if a little pricey at £10, I think £8 would have been a fairer price.

    Staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. It is about 7 Minutes drive from Mallory Park Race Track.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired room with poor bathroom. Room upstairs may as well have shared as it was incredibly noisy and intrusive plumbing and creaking floors. No-one on reception or bar for 30 minutes at 1730.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was only average, and there seemed to be strict portion control in operation. Steak at dinner was chewy.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better. Fruit juice was more like squash.

    Evening meal in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was OK. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Seating area on the lawn outside the rooms was very pleasant. We sat and had a drink there whilst looking at the menu,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good except the vegetables with lunch, a little longer on the steamer next time and ditto for the roasters and the oven.

    Good location for a nearby Saturday wedding. Flexible re check in and out. Good breakfast. Nice gardens to enjoy the sun on the Sunday. Stayed for Sunday lunch, overall good, other than the vegetables were more wooden than slightly undercooked. Staff all very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities in room very basic. TV remote broken & held together with sellotape. I waited an hour for my dinner. no apology. WIFI is slow.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We up graded to a luxuary room and paid extra which from what I can see wasn’t much luxury. Then in one of the warmest days of the year they had the radiater on and it took and age to get them to turn it off. The room was so hot which made an uncomfortable sleep

    Loved the bar and the area It was set in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk thru restaurant to check in then back out to room as in court yard not very good for a lovely restaurant. Change of menu and strict ordering if certain things. We ended up going elsewhere to eat as nothing i could have. Disappointing as hsd driven 2 hours to get to hotel

    Very nice restaurant bar staff need more training

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service was a bit slow but we didn't mind. Only one poor lady serving & the other staff helped when they could.

    The staff were very accommodating, we booked right at the last minute (20min before arriving). Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant. I didn’t get asked if my food was ok. Which it wasn’t. I left almost all of it. I didn’t get asked at the end of the meal either. Surely leaving almost all my food should be queried. It was far too salty and tasted very odd for a curry. I had to wait almost 10 minutes for my glass of wine. Yet there were probably only 5 customers in the place. Also had to wait 10 minutes for a pudding menu and then the waitress didn’t know what flavour ice cream was available so had to wait again. I also thought £5.50 for 3 scoops of ice cream thrown in a bowl with some raspberries was a tad overpriced. A little finesse and imagination could have been used with the presentation as well. Maybe some sauce and a wafer. For such a classy place this let it down. As for the room. It was dusty. As you can see in the pictures. The desk and bedside table were dusty and the radiator was shocking!! There was also a drippping, ticking kind of sound that was intermittent coming from the bathroom. It would happen once every few minutes. Then the next minute it would be continuous. I think it was to do with the light. So I didn’t sleep well as even with the bathroom door shut you could still hear it. But it even disturbed you in the day. Non stop irritation. Also 2 plug sockets. One has the tv plugged in so one left. The plug sockets are so low - they are on top of a desk so it makes it really difficult to plug things in. Especially an iPhone as the bottom bit is where the cable goes. No where near the tea tray for the kettle to be plugged in either. The shower head handle was held together with tape. Not quite what you’d expect.

    The location is stunning. Lovely walks and local Chinese a must. The hotel and restaurant have a lovely feel and the rooms are beautifully decorated. I could live there if things improved!! I’ve stayed a few times before and really love it but the negatives have put me off a little.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was too full so my visitors had to park on the street.

    Food, drink and service are the real keys to this wonderful haven. Not simple to find the village but REALLY worth it when you do. The Manager lady is a very sharp Aussie and she has a wonderful smile and welcome. The other ladies are equally fun and efficient. The rooms are perfectly functional and the prices very reasonable too. GREAT stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While having a clean, modern feel to the place, they have maintained the old historical character. We didn;t try the food, but what we could see and smell was divine. The had a few fresh real ales as well as a good selection of other drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some room decor showing its age - cracked tile in bathroom - no shaver point in bathroom

    food in restaurant very good - room clean and comfortable - staff welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and moved away from the wall at the drop of a hat (wheels, on a wooden floor?) Radiator near bathroom clicked all night despite all efforts to stop it. Remote control on tv only worked if you were 1 foot away from tv. Water pressure in shower poor. Very bad nights sleep :(

    Location beautiful and staff helpful - restaurant and bar really nice atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room that was offered was not suitable multiple stairs to access and a looked tired could do with upgrade. Although in the first instance they said that were fully booked the management did some how find another room that was acceptable. Not good but acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complementary biscuit selection in room, and possibly tea and coffee selection

    The rooms are lovely, the bar and restaurant are really nice, good food and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing !!!

    Amazing service from Nadia, Luke & Erin.... A beautiful hotel with service to match, lovely room and lovey food! This will be my 'go-to' when I'm in the area. A+++++ X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was very high and had to keep opening the door at night to get some air!

    The staff were very welcoming and the food and cocktails were lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of housekeeper when we pointed out that we didn’t have enough towels in room. Cobwebs in room. Noise from room above ours. Shower screen sticking, shower pressure. Service for dinner, attitude of waitress and woman in charge of restaurant in the evening when my husband’s cheeseboard didn’t turn up with my dessert. Attitude when we cancelled this and asked for another coffee for husband because the one served went cold whilst waiting for cheeseboard. Breakfast standard was very disappointing. Paying over £200 for the service we received.

    Nice looking restaurant. Receptionist, barman and head chef very pleasant. Four poster bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room as there is an upstairs room tuning above. Heat footed elephant all night! Pillows are rock hard and shower has no power

    Lovely setting and beautifully laid out restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was dirty. The paintwork was chipped and the shower very small, although the room itself quite large. There was no telephone in the room.

    The breakfast was well cooked but served up warm not hot. The toast served on the plate with the cooked breakfast and not on a separate plate. There was no marmalade on the table. I think it was hidden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little disappointing in that the walls were very thin and the mattress in room 5 definitely needs replacing as it was uncomfortable and a bit lumpy. Neither my partner nor I slept very well either night.

    Beautiful location. The decoration in the rooms was lovely. The staff were excellent, very attentive and friendly. We ate in the restaurant each evening and found the food to be extremely good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping just left 1 towel each day and a second had to be obtained from reception, no decaf coffee in room and when supplied by reception was removed during cleaning.

    Excellent food, for breakfast and in restaurant - Classic selection very good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel and accommodation were excellent. Everything you needed. Would stay again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager on duty and a young lady called Teigan. The service and food above and beyond expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Miserable receptionist on check in Noisy as bedroom located right next to external window so people standing outside their room talking was very audible Room old, dusty, rock hard pillows, faulty shower - with crazy decor. Looked like the RED room off 50 Shades of Grey Breakfast small as served, not self-served

    Very nice young lady serving at breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dated. Toilet didn't flush, plug on sink broken and shower next to useless and shower door didn't close properly

    Room excellent, bed really comfy. Quiet and peaceful location and great restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    choice and quality of buffet breakfast was slightly lacking. We were charged for a bottle of wine onstead of a glass but the mistake was rectified when I pointed it out

    Evening meal in the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff on arrival, people smoking outside my room door (thanks to the cigarette bin on the wall of the room) and talking loudly at 12.10am. The bed needed brakes (!)

    Good location, good shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was poor, the room ,number 1,stank of mold/manure,the breakfast was weird,very poor quality and stone cold.Our friends room,number10,was dirty and the carpets were threadbear.The hotel needs a complete refurb to bring it up to scratch ,after looking at the evening menu we went out to eat.I complained to the waiter about the breakfast and reception about the room,nothing was done in both cases.

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit stingy with the facilities, i.e, one packet biscuits, one bottle of water, small tea pot with breakfast, one slice of toast, only one type of juice (multi fruit, yuk!) That being said, would stay again.

    Lovely big room, beautiful rural setting, lovely restaurant room and bar area. Welcoming, helpful staff. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of an issue with rooms at first (booked double and originally got given twin room) but it was resolved instantly :)

    Really friendly staff. Hotel and restaurant were very nice. Location pretty/what u expected from photos. Great for a short break away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner special was excellent, Beef Stroganov with Rice......one of the best meals I have had for a long time: I applauded the chef 3 times with my compliments to the kitchen !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ...

    We love the surrounding grounds and the character of the building/s the relaxed atmosphere and quality of the overall service ...most enjoyable ...will defiantly be visiting again ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    We have been here before but only for dinner. The room was beautiful with a great view of the countryside. Nice, clean & comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No moans.

    Everything. The waiting staff were amazing. They were still there when we went to our room and back in at 8am, looking bright and bushy tailed. The food was marvellous and very hot, which was good as they had functions everywhere. The staff made you feel as though you were their only guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Iron was broken and leaked all over my shirt which stained it. There was no towel when I initially arrived. There was one cob web on the ceiling, and I could hear the upstairs neighbors the entire night (and they weren't being noisy just ceiling creaked when they walked).

    Service was fact. Whenever I called them to notify them about an issue they resolved it quite quickly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were kept awake the whole night by the plumbing in the bathroom as every time you flushed the toilet or ran the tap the noise would continue for the rest of the night. Also an herendous clicking noise in the bathroom all night. Never have I been so disappointed in a nights stay than this.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot heating on all night. Noisy heating.breakfast was very small one piece of bacon one sausage 4 mushrooms one egg.and a mountain of baked beans.orange juice was more like squash very watered down.

    All good with the location and atmosphere staff were great. Barman was moody

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After visiting relatives on our return the two disabled spaces were blocked by a commercial vehicle. Bed a little too firm for me.

    Spacious room with excellent shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit hit-and-miss but mostly okay.

    Fabulous place, quiet and secluded. The staff were friendly but not intrusive and the comfort of the chalet was brilliant. Great parking and access, the bar was great and the atmosphere very good. I didn't eat there but menu looked very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WiFi didn't work properly everywhere, but there's good mobile coverage.

    Comfy bed, warm room, friendly staff, nice breakfast. The area is quiet at night - no road noise. Just 15 mins from the M69. There's also a restaurant serving until 9.30pm, but I didn't use this.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever

    Gorgeous food in the restaurant and the breakfast was superb also, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was superb will definitely be going back again and again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasure to stay here. Friendly staff and great customer service and great food really good. Next time I will book again for my next trip. Limited rooms. Special thanks to Sara and the bartender. Lovely people

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After requesting a quiet room, I was surprised to be sandwiched in a room between two very loud and noisy families.

    I liked the layout of the room. I liked the fact that the car park was within easy reach of the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in the room - either extremely bright or very dim. Only 1 towel was supplied, but this was quickly rectified by the hotel.

    The receptionist was amazing. She not only covered the reception desk, but the bar and delivering towels to the room. The hotel bar is a pretty cool place. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal I ordered was lamb cutlets, a special, it was very poor, not cooked sufficiently, of poor quality. I travel extensively but was disappointed with the dish, one I particularly enjoy.

    Pleasant, quiet period hotel, in a rural setting with good location for motorway driving.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled by public transport but definitely would have been better with our own car. Taxis charge a supplement due to location! 4.5 mile return journey cost £57!!! Breakfast juice was a bit watery - more like squash rather than pure fruit juice!

    Lovely location and setting. Good facilities and traditional property with a modern twist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit creaky and decor a little outdated but on the whole a nice room. We did eat in the hotel restaurant and although I specified a gluten free meal I spent most of the first night vomiting so there must have been some contamination.

    The room was chalet style so sense of privacy. Large room and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The honeymoon suite, which we booked, and have stayed in twice before, is beginning to look a little tired. While the window area of the refurbished dining room is lovely, I'm not so keen on the rest of it - it lacks the intimacy of the window area. Breakfast was poor; the table wasn't properly laid up - no plates or butter knives - and you have to keep going up to the buffet for butter and preserves. There was no fresh orange juice, only cranberry juice and tropical juice that tastes like squash.

    This pub has a great atmosphere - everything you would expect of a traditional inn. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant - I have never tasted belly of pork done so well. The evening staff were lovely, and the plush window seats very cosy. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside and close to the Bosworth Heritage Centre. Lovely breakfast and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Niggles: wifi kept dropping out, neither bedside lamp working, yucky dirty TV controls (why don't hotels clean them), creaking floorboards above because modern construction not sufficiently solid.

    Generally this place is lovely as other reviews have said.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was in need of service, old mattress, squeeky frame, no pat testing stickers on electrical appliances, bar closed early for residential hotel, told last orders at 10pm even though eight people in restaurant. Had lager which I was told by the bar was 3.6% when I believe it was actually 5%, possible issues for some people

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Always decent i put my clients here and they came back with the result above so well done royal arms the girls in reception very professional and dealt with issues quickly and knowledgable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been given room 9 for two weeks now and the door is broken, you can open it with a light push. The shower is terrible! There are a lot of contractors staying there who are very noisy

    The staff are brilliant and the parking is plentiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny and outdated. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Had to kneel on bed to use the mirror for drying hair. There was a tear on the duvet cover and the bedspread looked dirty. No fire safety information within the room.

    Excellent evening meal and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the power went off in our room there was knowone on site that could turn it back on? Equally when there was/is an error on the bill there was I have to email the hotel? No answer as yet?

    The bed was nice?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower - cubicle really small Ambient lighting - only one small table lamp otherwise had to use the ceiling lights making room too bright Bedside - only one bedside table in double room

    Staff very friendly and food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff generally were not very friendly. The beds were very narrow single beds, not very comfortable. The room needed a revamp, there was only one small window for the whole room so was very dark. The plumbing in the very small bathroom needed attention and the towel rail kept falling down. The second day we were there the room wasn't cleaned

    We ate in restaurant on two evenings, the first night the waitress was excellent with a good attitude.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very tired and rooms noisy - constructed to a pretty low standard. Only one set of towels and promised second set didn't appear. Restaurant overpriced for the pub food it was.

    Courtyard setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best part of stay was the food 9/10. lovely hotel very friendly quite comfortable. Would strongly recommend this hotel, very good price.Cam only add that if i am back in this area at any time this would be my first choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had one light by the wardrobe not working. The shower hose was broken and worse still the fire exit light which is not necessary kept us awake most of the night. A refund on the accommodation would be appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bitter in the bar all evening, as the hotel was preparing for an upcoming wedding. The lodge type rooms were well furnished and comfortable, TV was a bit small (around 18"), and the desk it sat on could do with a refurb.

    Staff very friendly and attentive, located in lovely countryside. Room rate was very reasonable, food was good quality, £20 for a mixed grill, £10 for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing that we did not like

    We ate dinner , at the Royal Arms , as we always do , which was perfect, there is no room for breakfast there and besides we always have an early brunch at the Bosworth battle field restaurant ,we go for the memorial service which starts at 1100. so too early for breakfast and by 1145 we are ready for another meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not value for money! Basic decoration no bath poor facilities dark room , small bed and cold water in bathroom. 1 pack of biscuits between two persons very stingy as we had paid extra for a luxury room! Definitely no luxury involved! Breakfast poor selection and you pay extra for it! Fruit was 4 pieces of melon choice of 3 cereals no pastries on offer! Cold breakfast to add insult to injury and staff were very unfriendly when we said breakfast was cold she said sorry about that !!! Forgot my tea had to be reminded and seemed great effort to get it staff all need a personality transplant ! Need to learn the hospitality trade !

    on a nice day they had a pleasant seating area outside !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, one bottle of water & pack of biscuits between two, small bed (though £35 more expensive than average room), £50 charge on debit card which stayed pending for almost a week and , worst of all, NO HOT WATER!!

    Restaurant was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I HAD to find a fault it would be that there weren't many accessible plugs I.e I had to pull the bed out to use my straighteners but this really wasn't a big deal

    I honestly cannot fault anything about this hotel. I feel it was such good value for money. The room was spacious, comfortable and the wifi worked. It was in a lovely area and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated and the shower was cold in the morning. Other guests at a wedding were very loud late at night. Don't go if there's a function on. Went away for a quiet weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and was disappointed.

    Lovely countryside location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have bare wooden floors and we could hear loud footsteps from the room above. Luckily the occupier was early to bed. I imagine that on a busy summer evening the rooms could suffer from noise from the beer garden which is adjacent to the bedrooms (it was cool and quiet the evening we stayed).

    I really liked the setting of the hotel in a quiet country road. It was close to the A47 and convenient for Mallory Park and Bosworth Field. The bar area is very comfortable and cosy. The bedrooms are more like terraced cottages in a small courtyard style. Ours was well appointed with a good shower and large bathroom. The room backed on to fields so the area was quiet and not overlooked. The breakfast was perfectly fine although not the largest full-English I've ever eaten. The restaurant had a decent choice of menu and the food was pretty good but don't expect Michelin stars. I particularly enjoyed tasting one or two whiskies from the excellent choice behind the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't as I expected ..I'm a vegetarian ..and had sent back twice ..still not as it should be .. but my husband loved his food ...and a cleaner was hoovering . Whilst we were having breakfast ...not good

    I loved the warm friendly staff as they welcomed us ..it was so cosy and luxury at the same time ..... the rooms we had were just lovely ..although ..dated ... needed updating the furniture

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi available in the room, with work to do this was a little inconvenient.

    Easy to find, lovely country side, not sure king Richard the 3rd would agree however. Plenty of parking. The property looks like it's been renovated over the last few years. The main building still retains many of its older characteristics with a welcome snug and sofas. The bulk of the pub/ restaurant serves food and appears a popular stop off. The accommodation is located around the courtyard. My room was well equipped spacious and comfortable. Tea coffee etc is available.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: