Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Castle Hotel 3 stars

The Quay, Dartmouth, TQ6 9PS, United Kingdom

#14 of 30 hotels in Dartmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 3 and a dog as I was taking my elderly parents. The room (no 25) was up 5 flights of stairs in the attic. It was very small and very low ceilings and a very long climb up for my parents. They provided nothing for my dog, luckily I had taken bed and bowls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs - 62 steps up to our room! No view / low ceiling in bathroom where I kept banging my head on the roof beam. Open velux roof light clashed with shower screen. Had to bow head to shower. Not fun! Was asked when we were leaving "how was your room" ? When I explained was asked "why did you not ask to be moved"?

    Location excellent. Car was parked free for us short distance away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have booked for dinner but the room service was good - food arrived hot and in good time

    Lovely service. Well organised and very helpful. A treat to stay in such an historic building. Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault it.

    I liked the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the facilities which were superb. The location is perfect. The hotel itself was beautiful, with lots of character and in first class condition, every possible thing that you would require was provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel provides so much more than they have to! Little touches make this hotel a real gem. How many hotels actually show you to your room? Upgrade to stylish harbour view room. Luxurious bathroom and huge bed. Building is quirky and very old but beautifully decorated and furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I was allocated was in the eaves which is fine but the bathroom in particular was exceedingly scruffy and in need of a make-over. The velux window was reached holding a repulsive piece of cord, the bath panel was marked where it had been removed and looked decidedly unpleasant, someone had been experimenting with mastic, the anaglypta wall paper was lifting under the window, the woodwork was chipped, the velux opened to let in fumes from the kitchen extraction so everything smelled of chips, the other windows opened on to the glass roof which was in desperate need of a clean. I have stayed previously and was very happy with the room but I would not choose to stay in future.

    The pillows were comfortable and I liked that ice was left when the room was turned down in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no lift - but staff very happy to cart bags up 3 flights stairs. If you have a problem with stairs - look elsewhere.

    Location is perfect and parking arrangements great. Good food, pub bar, restaurant. Best place to stay in Dartmouth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window for bedroom opened into interior hall. Couldn't be helped because of the nature of the historic property but made the room stuffy.

    The charm, the food, the bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the hotel is an historic building there is no lift. The accommodation starts on the second floor and the stairs with limited grips in places was a nightmare for my partially disabled wife. No hand grips on the bath either. Breakfast was good but we were disappointed with the meal in the restaurant.

    Great Location in central Dartmouth looking out over the inner harbour and river Dart. Nice view from the first floor restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. No on-site parking but the valet parking service worked well. Busy, friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old fashioned hotel oozing character and a refreshing change from the monotone chain hotels. Perfect for visiting my son at the nearby Naval College and much better than our experience with a large out of town hotel last year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When looking at the amount of bird mess on my car I would have preferred an option of leaving and paying for parking at he nearby car park rather than the free car parking provided by. the hotel

    Accommodation excellent and staff I came into contact with extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a quirky historic gem. Very comfortable room and bed..excellent restaurant and staff..great views at breakfast over the river.really nice bar and fantastic live music on the Friday of my stay. So glad I stumbled across this place. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside the window at 5am and 6am each morning woke us up !

    decor, jacuzzi bath, child friendly, we were given a larger room to accommodate our 9 year old on a Z bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 31 was at the top under the eaves. It looked tidy and clean enough but the smell hit you as you walked up to the door. Unfortunately it didn't go away or get any better, it was awful. And as they had no other rooms available, we had to put up with it. They gave us free breakfast as compensation but it didn't really make up for it. The room otherwise wasn't really worth the price we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Breakfast room had 2 waiting staff and could have been better with 3, but the breakfast itself was good.

    The building is beautiful, very well located, and the rooms both cosy & elegant, which is not an easy combination. Useful little sitting or working areas such as the library. Overall, the main positive impression came from the staff, who were as good or better than we have ever encountered. Parking, luggage, all little extras handled perfectly and cheerfully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and service in the restaurant were the only things that let this hotel down. Breakfast was good quality but there was a long wait to get it and restaurant staff seemed unable to cope once a few people were in the restaurant. Had to ask for pepper, sauce etc and still didn't get as the waiter appeared to have forgotten. Evening meal in the bar turned into a bit of a disaster - fish was served uncooked and cold in the middle. Staff did apologise profusely and offered to cook another meal immediately although not fish as they had run out. Food is the only let down. Much better food and restaurant service can be found in dartmouth..

    Bedroom was very comfortable and immaculately clean. Tea and coffee provided in the room with complimentary bottled water. Furnishings were of a high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One down side for some, be ready to use the stairs, there's no lift.

    Location, location, location. The rooms are of good size and the food is great. Parking is available and the reception staff look after that for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find anything to fault!

    Staff were very helpful and attentive. Our room was upgraded to a sea view. Enormous and very comfortable bed - best we have slept in other than our own bed at home. Lovely bathroom. Everything clean and presented well. Tea and Coffee facilities were very generous. Best hotel in Dartmouth!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking was great but when they returned our car it was covered in seagull poo! There wasn’t really an apology from the manager but once we said we weren’t happy about it she did clean it off.

    The staff were so friendly and it was in a great location. Breakfast was fab too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chloe the receptionist was extremely friendly and most helpful, the service from the team was excellent and the evening meal and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather!!

    Great room, great views, great location and wonderful helpful friendly and eager to please staff, always an absolute joy to stay here, Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    From the moment we arrived until we left , the staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. It was like our home. Despite the appalling weather when we arrived (Red Alert 1st March), there appeared nothing out of the ordinary when we got inside. A smiling face around every corner. Lovely log fires. Delicious, unusual and varoed menus. A good selection of wines and beers to suit differing tastes. The chef is excellent and personally came to speak with us on our departure. We were also upgraded to a River Viee Room, with yachts bobbing in the inner Quay outside our window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very busy and a little noisy in the bars - didn't spoil our stay and altogether added to the atmosphere.

    My wife daughter and myself thought that it was very good. Taking into account the number of visiting dog owners, we didn't hear a bark or smell a dog. A vibrant and welcoming hotel. Our room (25) was exceptionally clean. All staff encountered were a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely nothing to dislike about the Royal Castle Hotel!

    An absolutely fantastic stay for a reunion at BRNC. Staff were wonderfully helpful, polite and friendly. Breakfast was superb (full English), but the hidden gem of the Royal Castle Hotel is valet parking they offer....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I was slightly disappointed with the bed size and bath size. We had one of the more expensive river view rooms and the bed and Jacuzzi bath were smaller than I was expecting.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so welcoming & helpful. The food is well presented & is of an excellent quality. No worries about parking the car, as not only does the hotel have a car park, the staff park the car for you.

    Staff are so welcoming. They go over and above to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We will be returning!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were very tiring to mount. The bed was too high. There would need to be an electric socket nearer the mirror in our room as the hairdrier would not reach to see

    The breakfast was superb. Lounge bar comfortable and great meals. Bed very comfortable. Staff efficient and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The bed was very comfortable and I particularly liked the toiletries in the bathrooms! Breakfast was delicious- freshly cooked bacon & eggs, fresh baked croissants, lovely local juices ....!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift although the staff were very helpful with luggage.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was cosy. Also it's right in the centre of Dartmouth

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from the kitchen fans through the day and evening, plus less kitchen noise (fans etc) during the night. Less sleep throughout the stay.

    The room size and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel but due to rates being increased for Passing Out at BRNC, it was very overpriced.

    Excellent quality of food and service in the bar (did not use restaurant).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated did not like the fact that bt booking through booking.com that breakfast was not included...not sure what this should be and booking.com should address this with the hotel. Also, the bed, although a lovely four poster, is a little on the small side for our personal liking.

    Love the hotel, love the staff, love the location. Should be excellent overall, but breakfast not included at these rates (£170 a night) is naughty we feel, and the bed although quaint and lovely to look at is a little too small for our personal liking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really think at these rates charged that breakfast should be included, but booking through booking.com means breakfast is not included. All other hotels I have used in Dartmouth do not peanalise you for using booking.com. 🙁

    Lovely atmosphere and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady behind reception could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful - this really made our stay! The location by the water is fantastic and the room was excellent. 10/10!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expectations were exceeded with car parking, turning down the bed and delivery of additional tea and coffee to the room. There were plenty of very friendly helpful staff. The owner circulated, welcomed and helped residents over breakfast, lovely touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, right up in the roof. There was no view out of any of the windows. The wall to the next room was so thin I could hear the tv in the morning so well i could clearly hear what was being said.

    Good location Friendly helpful staff. Easy parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had a window but it was looking out onto the staircase so no real natural light in the room . The room was very dark and so the lights had to on all the time . Not s very pleasant place to be during the day. Four poster bed was rather narrow and had to climbed into ! I appreciate it is a very old hotel and the furniture reflected the period of the place but the dark furniture made a dark room even darker .

    The location of the hotel was superb, right in the centre of Daetmouth and the breakfasts were wonderful . The staff were wonderful , very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at the eve and night of our wedding. Excellent service, nothing was too much trouble. We got a room upgrade and even had a complimentery botttle of champagne and print of dartmouth Castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of a pint was rather expensive in the bar, but no more than most hotel bar prices.

    Stunning hotel who pay attention to detail and the staff make you feel very welcome. Clean, tidy and stunning views if you book a river room. I wish more hotels offered this level of willingness to please their customers. Four poster bed with quality sheets and pillows were an absolute delight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of laundry in area next to our room, but otherwise a lovely night.

    Beautiful room and amenities!! Great location. Helpful staff. Wonderful public rooms. A pleasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could have been served a bit quicker

    Location excellent. Good job we were fit - we were on the top floor and the stairs were very steep and no lift

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The staff were lovely couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. We were very disappointed with our room which was at the very top of the hotel. Sloping ceilings on both side of the room, and the window was blocked by a large glass roof..The friends we travelled with had a much superior room, and we both paid the same rate. The breakfast were delicious, but our dinner was very average and poor value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable but a little tired. The shower was small with a plastic curtain. The shelf above the washbasin was too big and made access to the basin difficult.

    Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast excellent. Ambiance excellent. There was a problem with my original single room, but on reporting it I was offered an alternative straight away, which was a double, so very impressed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right at the top of the hotel, with a lot of stairs to climb so a lift would have been useful. We only had a small amount of luggage for the one night so it was okay.

    Generally a really nice hotel, in a very convenient location as one of has some mobility issues with regard to walking. Very helpful and friendly staff, with good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was pretty cramped and had a noisy vibrating radiator. The air conditioning unit right outside the window of room 23 was pretty noisy too. It also looked like it needed a good clean as seagulls used it as a roosting place.

    The staff were excellent. The lack of on site car parking must be a real pain for them constantly moving cars around in the little car park. Also, the receptionist spotted a discount I hadn't received as I was checking out so she saved me some money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a larger bed but that's just a small criticism.. ..

    The outstanding location and views across the river dart, amazing staff, very chatty, good humoured and courteous. Finally delicious and locally sourced food you d both in the bar and the restaurant......fantastic breakfast too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find anything negative

    A beautiful hotel full of character, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff could not be more polite and helpful. The location was excellent and very central for trips etc. Would definitely return to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lift would be nice.

    Ice for the bottles of water. Choice of bedding. Bible. Canvas shopping bag. bath robe. Air conditioning. Wide choice of drinks. The lovely view out of the Dining Room windows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We initially booked an internal room , this offered a window opening onto a central hallway and staircase in the hotel , this room was expensive for what it offered and we took the opportunity to upgrade. Would advise not to select these rooms

    Pleasant staff, convince to shops, excursions and places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Mattress though nice and soft was difficult to change position on and we often felt like we were going to roll out of bed . Sadly no lifts,found the stairs breathtaking (literally ) as we were on the top floor.

    liked the 4 poster . liked the Jacuzzi bath. liked the idea of valet parking. liked the bar/restaurant area. liked the variety and service in the breakfast room. Staff happy to deal with suitcases on arrival and departure and information

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately no lifts, but the property has no room for one anyway.

    Always a pleasure to stay here.. The rooms are so beautiful, the beds always soft and comfortable. We had a wonderful view of the River Dart. Very friendly staff and we had a family meal for 9 of us in the library (private dining) where we were looked after very well. The food is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally did not like the bedroom it was dark and with the window over looking a passage no daylight also bed was far to high couldnt get into it so wont be staying again also no lifts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and over-priced. We've stayed in b&b's in Dartmouth for almost half the price and they knock spots off the Royal Castle. Our room was up in the eaves and was cramped, hot and very smelly. The rate of £220 didn't include breakfast (which we were grateful for in the end as we wouldn't have wanted to eat there). The decor was tired and shabby. Grubby marks on the walls, stains on the headboard, black mould under the soap bottles in the bath/shower. The bathroom was so cramped that my husband couldn't even stand up straight under the shower. The skylight couldn't be opened more than an inch without banging into the top of the shower door. There was a radio in the bedroom with nasty brown stains all over the speakers. All in all a very, very disappointing stay and a real rip-off. We would not stay there again.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and valet parking a great advantage in Dartmouth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ceilings very low, shower tiny and the food served in the pub downstairs was in general a let down. Expected lovely local seafood but tasted more like packaged frozen variety.

    Amazing look and feel to the hotel and in a wonderful location in Dartmouth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful few days staying at this hotel. The location was superb with amazing views across the river and our room was cosy and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating and our dog was made to feel very welcome! I think the owners of this hotel should feel very satisfied with the staff that they employ from the chamber maids who were cheerful and friendly to the reception team who were first class - I hope they are well paid as they really did make this stay and we re-booked upon our departure which says it all!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the lower floor bedroom we requested well in advance. Elderly mother allocated to a third floor with no lift. This is not a good choice for anyone with serious mobility issues as per their website. Our bill was wrong at checkout as were others judging by what we heard in the queue.However receptionit was apologetic and corrected without fuss.

    Location can't be beaten. Great breakfast. Staff offer friendly personalised service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some might find the stairs a challenge, but it's an old listed building and it's more than worth the effort

    Lovely room with view over the inner harbour and the river - sun on the water was beautiful. No lift because it's an ancient building - but it wasn't so bad going up and down stairs slowly! Staff were very attentive and offered to help, but we didn't take much for three nights. Breakfast was very varied and we ate one night in the bar downstairs, which was OK. Otherwise there's a good selection of fish and chip shops - and it's easy to tell the good ones because of the large queues outside!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was a little slow and the valet parking, whilst good, was clearly uncovered as my car came back absolutely caked in bird mess

    Bed was really comfy. When we told them it was our engagement week they brought us free champagne. The receptionists and bar staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a three star hotel with five star prices, especially if you have a 'river view' room.

    The beds (including the pillows) were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Number of stairs to the top floor when we had 2 ladies one 84 and the other 91 years old. But the staff were amazing in helping to change rooms to a lower floor even though they were fully booked.

    Breakfast & Dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, annoying that car not available when required. Room ventilation, no natural air, A/C or nothing.

    Comfort and boutique nature of hotel. Restaurant good but food overpriced for what you got.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms slightly dated - TV only had 7 channels despite re-tune - hotel is very old with uneven floors- room was not cleaned after we had returned from day out , would have expected better when paying London rates as this hotel is

    Great location on the quay - excellent staff always helpful and informative - nice view from the room - good food in restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was right at the top of the hotel and I kept banging my head on the low beams. There was no view at the back of the hotel. Both minor matters though

    Staff superb, all very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking . Com you offered me the same room half price minuets after I booked with you . Fortunately I work in media and will make sure I express my view of your ethics in as many outlets as I can.

    Hotel and staff excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside line in Room 23 did not work

    Everything. Staff superb. Dinner quite exceptional - steak to die for and chips best in Devon - maybe even in the world!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was good size and clean but it was above the kitchen so the smell of cooking was a little too much first thing in the morning. Would have liked a room on the front but I didn't ask.

    Staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Great valet parking, great location. Bed was super comfortable and the linen was luxurious. It was a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old building, and some rooms overlook the central higgeldy-piggeldy staircase well; avoid these, as they are cramped and noisy. We shifted rooms, and bathrooms and facilities were good, but floors are creaky. Fire instructions need to be more prominent, in all rooms and public spaces. We booked via BOOKING.COM, and on arrival discovered that our tarrif did not include breakfast; Eh? Amicably resolved by hotel staff without additional cost.

    An old hotel, full of nooks and crannies, and creaky floors. The Grill room is very good, with a good menu, attentive staff, and excellent breakfasts. It is a building with history and character, but as a hotel it is not cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was surprisingly modern, well appointed for such a small space and a good shower. The only thing which would have made a significant difference was to provide a shelf or two to put washbags etc. on as these ends up on the floor due to lack of space which makes things awkward. The room was comfortable but could do with a ref-fresh on the decoration front.

    We booked very late in the day to visit our son and I did not have high expectations of a late booking in a three star hotel.However.....what a great surprise although the room was small it was comfortably furnished, the bed was very comfortable and the little extras such as dressing gowns and decent containers of shampoo etc were appreciated. The bars were full of locals and visitors alike and both had great atmosphere as did the whole hotel. The staff themselves are really the star of this hotel, so helpful and pleasant, especially at reception. We ate at the Sunday Carvery which was very good and reasonably priced. Excellent location.All in all a very pleasant experience and we shall be back !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom without window and fresh air. Can't breath all night.

    Amazing location, nice stuff. Food was good but very small portions and quite expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knowing now the accessibility of some of the room perhaps a reminder to some who haven't been for a few years plus those first timers an enquiry "are you happy with quite a lot of stairs" might save last minute changes..great

    The view from no 9 wasnonexistant but let in enough sun. and fresh so fine The heating/ventilation took a bit of sorting to adjust the changing time and weather otherwiseagain fine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a lift for the less mobile (did not affect us). The atrium was quirky and we soon got used to the stairs.

    the staff were very friendly and helpful. The mixture of old and new made for a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to river view without paying extra - apparently it is the owners idea Mr Way - they said not all about money which is nice and unusual these days Staff naturally friendly - very relaxing - good food Glad the owner won an award from the queen

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Amazing staff who went an extra 10,000. miles, rooms were excellent. Food both breakfast, evening meal and bar food especially curry night. We could not recommend the Royal Castle Hotel highly enough. You have to make this your hotel destination in Dartmouth.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Initial room aircon was noisy and so helped to change without fuss. Excellent location, central in Dartmouth. Building has character.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments to make at all.........except that the brass plates on the room keys are a bit big and heavy!!

    Excellent breakfasts and dinner. Very helpful, welcoming and efficient staff. We had a delightful stay with you. Many thanks!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: