Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Duchy Hotel 4 stars

Cliff Road, Falmouth, TR11 4NX, United Kingdom

#22 of 45 hotels in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Welcoming and elegant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking a little difficult as it was always full when I arrived back., however, there are usually spaces along the esplanade at the front.

    Room spacious for a single and very comfortable. All the staff are friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is luxurious and all staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found that it was a tight squeeze between the washbasin and the wall to get into the bathroom.

    I liked fresh bedding and towels every day. The tea coffee making facilities were kept topped up and bottled water was provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit disappointed with our evening meals. Breakfast was very nice.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - especially James. The hotel was lovely, the rooms very comfortable and bathrooms very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m aware that all the following things are small and that they would have been rectified instantly if I had complained at the time but when I am paying £95 per night for a small single room I expect everything to be pretty much perfect..... The towel rail in my ensuite was very dusty. Only 2 of the 3 bulbs in the main light fixture were working. Towels were all replaced daily, despite me leaving them tidily on the towel racks, which is a complete waste of resources (the info folder specifically says to leave them on the floor or in the bath if you want them changed). There was a stain on the bed runner. The toiletries were made by a London company (I expect fancy hotels to use lovely, locally sourced toiletries). The brown sauce (with breakfast) was a cheap one, no where near as good as HP sauce.

    Very close to the beach. Lovely, helpful & friendly staff. Nice looking pool. Grassy outside space with comfortable chairs. Great breakfast with a lot of options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    3 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pokey little room. Screaming seagulls from 4am. Walls thin could hear the people in the next room talking until the early hours . Food lovely but way too expensive. Shower pathetic and facilities too small for 2 sharing.

    Lovely position overlooking the sea

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was comfortable however the generator below the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All ok except for the generator.

    The room was comfortable however the generator below the room if that is what it was noisy and woke me at 6am in the morning so if you like a quiet time choose an alternative room. A good venue as it I could walk to my daughters. Thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Very comfy bed, clean bathroom, attentive staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal -Steak was not of great quality, Priced at £17 (only chips and salad garnish) its is possible to source a better cut than a Rump steak, which is the toughest of all the cuts. The chucky chips tasted like bought in chips and the béarnaise sauce collapsed on touching the heat of the steak, leaving an oily sauce. The so called seasonal vegetables consisted of Broccoli, Cauliflower and Carrots, this is hardly seasonal summer vegetable. they looked liked they had been scooped out of the water with all the little bits floating around. The Sticky Toffee pudding was Okay but again the ingredients felt cheap, the sauce wasn't thick and velvety as the cream didn't taste rich! just felt the hotel is cutting corners but charging a top price. Breakfast was good !

    Very comfy bed, clean bathroom, attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    everything that had been written about the staff being so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get what you pay for so a real bargain is a disappointment!

    everything that had been written about the staff being so friendly and helpful was true. The food was just what I wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    More good points than bad points.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There is no gymnasium. 2. Swimming pool is very small. 3. Smokers not considered. 4. Mini bar prices are ridiculous. £4 for a small Pringles and £9 for a shot & £3.50 for the mixer. 5. No iron in my room. 6. Seagulls are a nightmare! 7. I wouldn’t rate the hotel 4* but I’m a city boy and used to a more modern purpose build hotel. 8. Hotel attracts a lot of retired couples and has a sense of snobbery about the place “not including the staff”

    1. The food is phenomenal! 2. The views from the dining area are sensational! 3. The staff are really sociable and helpful. 4. There is a games room to keep children occupied. 5. Large car park with charging points for electric cars. 6. Room cleaned to a high standard every day with fresh towels & stock replenishments. 7. Very quiet. 8. If a sea side holiday is what your after for peace and quiet with great food and abit of class then this is for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    A very good holiday for me. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couple of broken lights but otherwise all good.

    Breakfast very good. The staff were good as I am deaf with no speech and they were good at adapting to my way of communicating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    527RMD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NOTHING to dislike. 😎

    All the staff across the board were perfect. I've stayed at the Royal Duchy a number of times in the past and have never had a bad or poor experience. 😎

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was smaller as it was a single room it had everything I needed and was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and location and views from the hotel were amazing and the breakfast was great. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though there were some disappointments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had paid for three nights in a delux sea view room but according to the restaurant staff that did not mean we had "paid enough" to have a window facing table for breakfast! We did get a window table for dinner on our anniversary night after much debate. The room was lovely but the shower over the bath (!) lacked water pressure.

    Beautiful hotel. Exceptionally well maintained and immaculately clean. Fabulous location. Reception staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and good hotel. Pleasant stay apart from the buzzing continues noise at the rear of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the rooms was at the back of the hotel and we suffered by a continues day and night buzzing noise coming from a machine/extractor located at the rear carpark.

    Location near the port and clean hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booked a sea view turned out to be a side sea view, partial view of the sea through the only window also the room was not of generous size you would expect of an hotel of this status.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Confy and classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good in terms of options but a bit below the hotel standard in terms of taste. And I wanted to try the kippers but unfortunately they were not available. They said it had run out of them but I think they should have enough stock at least for the number of guests in the hotel each day. But I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    We were pleased to be told on our arrival that we had received a room upgrade. Don't know how the other room would have been but the one we had was very confy and clean. Breakfast was ok as it had different options. Even if you have to pay a little for that, it's nice to have the choice. Room had a lovely box with choice of hot drinks and biscuits. Hotel is in front of a beautiful beach close to the castle (which was an amazing attraction). They provide some special touches I just loved,like the the aromatic sleep aid and the beautiful purple flower that was in each breakfast table. Just loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel overall, with lovely staff. A credit to the Brend Hotels group.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stay away for work at weekends and never have breakfast as it is served long after I have had to leave for work. It can be a little difficult to obtain drinks or service out of hours and the tables in the conservatory area are rather low and not really suited to having a meal.

    Very comfortable room. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The food was excellent and the bar has a great range of drinks, including some fantastic real ales. The hotel is in a good location and there is ample parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    A very nice relaxing proper English hotel in a super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had so little pressure it was a very disappointing experience. (Considering the bath taps were quite the opposite)

    Excellent breakfast, not too long a wait for the cooked elements. Comfortable spacious room, thoughtful lighting (variable brightness), plenty of storage with proper easy access wardrobe. Huge window to lookout to sea on comfy armchairs. Bath, just the right size to sink into with a fairly quick fill up. Amazing large fluffy towels. Attentive staff throughout

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Worst night’s sleep ever at a hotel and severely underwhelmed for a supposed 4* rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom much smaller than online photographs and therefore misleading. Bedroom so hot that we couldn’t sleep - no way of altering room temperature. Shower lacked any kind of water pressure and took 5 mins just to get wet!....a slight exaggeration, but I think you get my point! To compound the already negative view formed from a poor night’s sleep the breakfast ‘meet and greet’ staff lacked any degree of good customer service....all in all, an overwhelmingly disappointing stay having travelled 6 hours to get there! Would not recommend and will never be returning......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location but didn’t think value for money
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi Beds too soft. No soap shampoo etc in rooms Slightly faded decoration and carpets A little old fashioned for our taste

    Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, perfect stting, and very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out - payment already taken from the card we booked with, for both rooms (ourselves and our friends). We had not planned on paying by that method, but were never even asked how we intended to settle our bill when checking in, which is usual practice.

    Rooms were clean and nicely decorated, but a little small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure in the morning, the shower only just managed to deliver water.

    Comfortable bed, good size for a single room, lounge and breakfast first-class. Winter B&B room rate is very good value. Excellent location for the beaches, the town and train.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall we enjoyed the stay however the amount of price at the time of year is on bit higher side
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small and only one lift and couldn't use staircase due to renovations. Rooms were clean but beds were bit hard and not comfy(typical hotel bed). Overall we enjoyed the stay however the amount of price at the time of year is little to much.

    Friendly staff, wonderful location, swimming pool was nice and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Good out of season rate. Excellent location. Pricey evening meal in restaurant with dress code.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double room was fine for a solo traveller but would have been tight for two. Overlooking car park with building materials. The bathroom could have done with a shelf for personal toiletries and another grab rail on the bath to help getting out of bath after a shower.

    Location is superb. Furnishings are 4 star. Thought the evening meal at £39 was overpriced, but it was formal dining with silver service. Cheaper meal options can be taken in the lounge where casual dress is acceptable. Out of season rate was good. Hoteliers could pay more attention to making solo travellers feel at ease in dining areas, i.e. seat near other solos for easy conversation as couples talk to couples.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Right opposite Castle Beach. Beautiful views of the bay. Staff are lovely and the rooms are perfect. Ask for a recently refurbished room if you prefer a modern feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Good short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have given us a better table at breakfast overlooking the sea instead of being out at the back in a corner. Inland view rooms are small wouldn't pay any more money to stay in one

    Friendly staff good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel & would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy maids outside my room early mornings,talking & laughing loudly,we are on holiday or going out on business,so do not need to be awoken up by staff catching up on the gossip??

    Everything seemed to be sparklingly clean. Polite & friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Loved every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I didn’t have chocolates in my single room this time like I did before. Which I just think is a very lovely thing to have on arrival. But when I queried the difference this time a member of staff kindly obliged and got me some. So no complaints at all.

    I just love it here. Loveliest hotel and staff one could ask for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    I stay quite regularly and the staff, especially the older,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A view of the fire escapes and other back walls is not particularly inspiring but someone- particularly those on the special deals-. has to get the short stick.

    I stay quite regularly and the staff, especially the older, regulars, are very friendly. The pool is excellent, very restful as it does not appear to be open to the public, which some of those attached to other local hotels are.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too warm at night due to the thickness of the duvet and the room temperature. The room was a bit noisy in the evening (due to a kitchen fan?).

    The food was good (above average) and the bed mattress was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Perfect for a senior couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water pressure was terrible, and on one occasion, water supply was intermittent.

    A very well appointed, comfortable nicely decorated sea view room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended. Felt looked after and relaxed. Next time will stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been a bonus to have Earl Gray teabags in the room and a safe in the room. Non-sliced bread for toast would improve breakfast.

    Friendly staff most welcoming. All relaxing and comfortable. Great views. Loved the complimentary lavender bag- nice touch ! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Unlikely I shall stay there again as the Hotel was excellent but the town itself looked tired and wo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff and their lack of interest towards me and my comfort and stay. Restaurant too costly and too cordon blur.

    Bedroom, terrace restaurant, majority of staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, great views and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant seemed a little over priced with limited menu.However bar snacks were excellent as was breakfast.

    James the guy who greeted me at the door was marvelous very informative and helpful, was a fault in my room, he ensured I was moved without asking and upgraded immediately, absolute credit to customer service and the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    First class accommodation, facilities and staff, including the availability of senior management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking bays are tight, which makes it very easy to collect damage to bodywork when other guests attempt to open their doors without great care. I accept that this limitation is difficult to avoid and is not uncommon these days. Still the opportunity to discuss this with a director was very impressive.

    Everything about the hotel was very good and all the staff were first class. What was extremely impressive was that a director took the trouble to seek me out and explain the hotels position on an issue that I had with what I personally considered to be tight parking bays. We did not see eye to eye on the issue, but despite this our conversation was measured and reasonable. I have travelled widely and cannot remember such consideration from such a senior manager. Full marks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved everything & hope I'm lucky enough to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is a very hard question , I've tried to think of something but can honestly say there is nothing I didn't likr

    The hospitality , face to face staff were so friendly from the concierge to restaurant, made you feel so welcome, best hotel I've stayed in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Luxury hotel, extra comfort, great design but not great value on the room and expensive dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the pool and bed to be bigger than what I got compared to the money I spent. The inland room had a terrible view on the emergency stairs. Dinner is quite expensive.

    Bed and pillows are extra comfortable. Sunday roast is delicious and affordable. The staff is so nice that might embarrass you.Common areas'design is marvellous, just a pleasure for your eyes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay at the royal duchy again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was absolutely tiny and expensive. At almost £200 a night I expected a better size. Also the floor we were on wasn't refurbished. Very disappointed in our room

    The breakfast was nice and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, relaxing and emjoable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of apology from breakfast staff when asked for an unsatisfactory eggs Benedict to be replaced. Subsequently remedied by management on check out.

    The location, layout and style, of the hotel together with size and view from the room were all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    It's a nice hotel and staff are very good. Wasn't impressed with the terrace restaurant food quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was incredibly small with no aircon. Also right above the kitchen so very noisy. I had fish and chips in the terrace restaurant. Pretty measly and nothing to write home about.

    Good wifi, lovely pool and sauna. Spacious restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant experience enjoyed by my wife and myself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found having tried the evening restruant on our first night that the menu were not to our particular liking and subsequently dined out.

    The indoor pool and associated sauna change room seating and. Pool beds were excellent and most importantly the accommodation throughout. Breakfast was very well presented and most enjoyable with a great choice. The staff were very attentive and made sure we enjoyed our weeks stay at this quality hotel.The general cleanliness and presentation of all aspects of hotel expectations was not compromised in any way a very enjoyable experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly The restaurant onsite is amazing - no need to look for a restaurant anywhere else during the stay Very clean rooms Free parking right outside the entrance of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing definitely one to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything was fantastic from the moment we got there staff helped us with our bags to our rooms, we got told about the area straight away with help on a map and the door man was able to tell us everything about the area. We went for our honeymoon and we would definitely go again with our children. We have already recommended to family and friends about the hotel and the surrounding. Best place most comfortable stay we have ever had any were. I have back problems and those beds I would of loved to have brought home. Thank you everyone at the hotel it was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Position of the hotel in front of the sea and the quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality/price ratio: we had got two rooms faced the side/back of the building (no sea view) at a quite high price.

    Position of the hotel in front of the sea and the quality of the service; very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our week and if in Falmouth would certainly go to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room could have been larger but was adequate. The menu for the Lounge food was limited. Our early booking of the holiday prevented us taking advantage of the "special" offers advertised in the brochure. We paid the rack rate for the room and breakfast.

    The view from the room was superb as we hoped. The staff were friendly and efficient and made us very welcome. Parking was easy. Breakfast choice was very wide.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Healthy options on breakfast menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dishes to select fruit salad etc from at breakfast are too high for anyone not very tall. Minor point but lots of us ladies were struggling on tip toes & if mobility challenged would struggle to see. I am sure the attentive staff would assist ultimately. No gym but excellent pool

    Healthy options on breakfast menu. Chocolte box in room!. Pool temperature. Wonderful towels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.3
    Sorry but I will never stay again and will Denver recommend again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. both rooms close to a big air pipe and really noisy 2. 4AM false fire alarm, terrible and no apologies from the hotel 3. Hotel floor noise, I can't believe this a 4 stars hotel charging 160 pounds per night... it is at most a 3 stars hotel 4. Breakfast takes 40 minutes to prepare 5. Bed is extremely soft and imbalanced, uncomfortable. 6 neither of the tele remote works...

    The location is near the shore which is quiet and good. That's about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    A nice one night stay away, would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For breakfast we asked for a specific way of how we liked our eggs cooked and it came out opposite as the waiter did not understand us (was not English)

    Nice bed and also it was a nice idea to have a fridge in the single room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Glorious views- for some!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My poky little single room at the back of the hotel was stiflingly hot and noisy from kitchens (?) when i opened the window. Had to pay more for some breakfast items, e.g. Extra £5 for an omelette. There was no hot food on the buffet you had to order it, yet most things off the menu were extra cost.

    The views from the front of the hotel over the sea were beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Grand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom view could have been improved with a roof garden.

    The restaurant area and billiard room. What more can you ask for? Oh and the view was amazing too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    A weekend away in Falmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was small and rather boring to the side of the hotel so sea view was impaired. Had to pay extra for certain breakfast items which I would have expected to be included. The shower in Gents changing room at pool had no curtain or privacy. No entertainment in the evening although advertised. Only one therapist in the Spa who was away for the whole weekend so no treatments available. No outside pool which would have been appreciated as it was the hottest weekend.

    Location and view, Front garden and seating areas outside. Comfortable beds and willing to change pillows. Excellent breakfast good evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was my room was by the elevator, which I could hear through the night and early morning. Also a regular banging sound (possibly also from elevator) Shame, as otherwise a brilliant hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. (just not by the lift!) I'm sure if I'd been staying more than one evening they'd have moved me to a different room.

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    spoiled by how much more we paid than other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How much more l paid through booking .com never again!!! When queried at hotel reason given was feeble always book with hotel although hotel was good never worth the money we paid!!

    Outside space overlookinear beach loverly room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was so slow it took such a long time to have meals come out between courses

    It is a gorgeous location and a lovely place to stay they upgraded me to a suite and it was so good. The food was so nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    What we thought
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying bed and breakfast,and the one night we booked the restaurant for a special occasion we felt secondary to those who had booked all meal options.

    Lovely views over the sea,lovely pool and sauna facilities,excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, but unfortunately not worth the rates charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never stayed in a hotel of this category before where there is an extra charge for some of the cooked breakfast options. Additional £5.00 for omelette etc! Continental breakfast choices limited & buffet area cleared away even though guests still eating without checking if anyone required anything further!! Dinner menus very confusing as they only have one version which is aimed at guests on DB&B package. Waiter took order & then told us several minutes later that they had run out. Don't expect this when paying in excess of £270 per night B&B. Bedrooms need air conditioning. Nice pool, but lacks jacuzzi. Changing rooms rather crowded as very small with no lockers provided.

    Good location & view. Very friendly & helpful staff, particularly James the doorman whose duties extended beyond the reception area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and convenient, excellent location, mediocre restaurant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant dinner menu. Best described as traditional British. Very limited and unimaginative. St Michaels and Budock Veane (where I have stayed in the past) both offer much better food.

    The hotel has Tesla chargers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    lovely comfortable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleanliness was exceptional lovely quality towels!.Staff were very friendly and attentive.views over the bay were lovely from the comfortable terrace bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Welcoming...comfortable...and fitting of its beautiful surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave early so never got chance to experience breakfast as it didn't start until 7.30. Not really the hotels fault on that one though.

    Food was first class. Hotel was clean and idilic. Staff were relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely to avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was terrible, The staff was not kind and NOT available to customers (apart from the staff working at the restaurant). The room was smelly and noisy so we called reception to change but they suggested we book a more expensive one. Finally, the bill was wrong with additional drinks we had not ordered.

    Absolutly nothing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    The hotel is very clean and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very comfortable. Very good breakfast. The staff very nice, everybody's are smile and they are helpful all day and night.hotel is very clean and elegant. I recommends this hotel.:);)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    We were disappointed with the organisation of the breakfast, the food itself was good but the staff took the order...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very surprised but delighted to be upgraded to the Armada Suite which gave us a lounge with lovely sea views and two bathrooms which looked llike they had recently been refurbished. The chocolates in the room were a lovely touch, not sure if this is an Easter bonus or not. The room was spotlessly clean, had magazines to read and was well appointed. The hotel was well situated within easy reach of the town as well as the beach and close to Pendennis Castle. A very comfortable room and would highly recommend this room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    4.6
    An unhappy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Inland Facing Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling with my adult son who is autistic, the first room we were given was tiny with a double bed even though I had requested a twin . I was told they could seperate the beds but the room was so small I was unhappy (The room was half the size of the Travelodge room we had stayed in the night before) We were moved to another room which was abit bigger . I should have been alerted when the member of staff said we wouldn't need to open the window as there was air conditioning, but as this was the first time I had ever asked to be moved to different room in a hotel I didn't want to make more fuss and question why this would be an issue . When we returned to the hotel after dinner it soon became apparent, the noise was terrible. I thought at first it was a generator, but now think it could have been something to do with the kitchen . I could stand it no more and was about to phone reception when it stopped at 22.45 , unfortunately it started again at 5.45 . When I spoke to reception they couldn't have been less interested, they said they would sort it ,but as we were then leaving that was no use to us . My upset is that I'm sure they were aware of the noise in room 123 when they put us there . If I had been a businessman in a suit would they have put me there? I had already given my card details guaranteeing payment though Booking.com so had no option but to stay . Though I have used Booking.com many times in the past and have always been happy I am now unsure if I would again.

    The breakfast was good .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Very good and already booked to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No pancakes on two mornings, some of the rooms are a bit dated and I don't get the smart casual for eating in the restaurant.

    The bar menu is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    A great comforting break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor is very old-fashioned and needs attahion, guest attending where are the senior age needs to be moden in public areas for a more mixed guest to stay .

    Great location by the beach , Close to the town center , it provides everything that you need for a break away .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Ideal place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, well appointed room. Dining room and bar/lounge had lovely views across the sea. All staff were polite and friendly, dinner and breakfast were good with fast efficient service. The stay was for a job in the dockyard, so the hotel was ideally placed. Free parking an added bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    Good location Falmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Original room was lovely located in the newer part of the hotel but located by the lift shaft! I asked to be moved but unfortunately was moved to a room which was not so nice! Breakfast was very good with a good choice and quick service. Room was always well cleaned.

    The hotel had a good location. Bedroom I ended up with was a good size with a comfortable bed. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.0
    A superb location in good weather.
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the food charges were too high, so ate only the breakfasts, for which I had paid.

    The staff were all very friendly & helpful. Any problems were sorted out as quickly as possible.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    2nd time extremely disappointing
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed this time. Having only stayed here last weekend we were expecting the same outstanding room and service. Last week we stayed in room 203, today 202. Having asked for an extra single bed we remarkably had an extra room but this only meant the main room was smaller. In fact the bathroom and whole bedroom were smaller than just a double room. This meant we had no table to sit at to read a paper and a small TV which was hard to see from the bed. I would have liked to watch tv at a table. The extra single room had a bigger TV? Last week we ordered room service - fantastic! This morning we ordered but didn't get it. Having woke early for a 7 hour drive home it would have been nice to be told we wasn't getting breakfast. The shower had no hot water, it took over 20 mins to warm up, my husband having to bathe with lukewarm water. After my first visit I wrote a well deserved full mark review of this hotel. I then read some other reviews on here and found it odd at what some people complained about.however , now I know and it's true. If you stay in room 203 it's totally amazing- but if you get 202 check the hot water and furniture if you want to read ,a very disappointing stay this time - will not be back as there are other sea front hotels along this road to compare with.

    The Receptionist this morning. Apologetic, thoughtful and caring . Thank you

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    I will definitely stay at the Duchy again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    Very courteous and welcoming staff. Exceptionally clean rooms but most importantly very quiet rooms and a really comfortable bed! I have no hesitation to recommend the Duchy Hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Brilliant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really the hotel was well presented, warm and comfortable what more could one ask.

    The attentiveness of the staff which could not have been better.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.8
    A pleasant hotel. We would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Inland Facing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found hairs in the bed which wasn't pleasant and no coffee sachets in the bedroom but they were brought up to us upon request. Breakfast was the standard you would expect. Veggie option was very bland.

    Close to local amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice decor and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Top Class Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Excellent location with excellent staff and facilities. Very clean and comfortable room. Everything you would expect from a quality hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    The location of the hotel overlooking the sea was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were a few small niggly things nothing major and I have contacted the hotel through their e-mail but I still have not received a reply. I am waiting for a response from the Brend group before I post anything negative.

    The location of the hotel overlooking the sea was super. The staff were all extremely friendly and very helpful. The lounge, bar and restaurant were all very comfortable so on one very rainy day we were happy to stay in the hotel and relax in the dry!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    Stylish traditional Hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Inland Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym

    Stylish traditional Hotel . Great views. Polite courteous helpful attentive staff. Comfortable lounge. Good bar and selection of beers. Good breakfast.Great value for money, A very pleasant surprise on my first visit !

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: