Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal & Fortescue Hotel 3 stars

Boutport Street, Barnstaple, EX31 1HG, United Kingdom

#15 of 16 hotels in Barnstaple

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 653 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.5
    Good central location for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our superior room had a single window which was opaque at the bottom and opened straight onto a flat roof with fire escapes. This was the only thing we didn't like.

    Good sized room with comfy bed. Good breakfast and a lovely lounge for coffee. Very good location right in the centre of Barnstaple.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    All show on the ground floors - after that - not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and needed updating. Sash windows that rattled all night and next to a fire door that people used as a cut through that banged shut so hard that it sounded like an explosion. The bathroom was also small and you had to climb over the toilet to get into the bath to have a shower!

    The location is perfect for shopping and exploring Barnstaple

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Good staff and location, just difficult to find. The room was ok, but I wouldn't say Superior!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a superior room, but disappointed as the window looked straight at a brick wall 2 feet away. Probably my sat nav, but was very hard to find the parking.

    A great breakfast, good location. The Bank, adjoining the hotel, was excellent for food and service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Lovely treat for me and my mum as she always used to come into your hotel for coffee with my nan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely treat for me and my mum. Beds very comfy and room spacious. The lounge was lovely to relax in. The parking made the trip a lot easier. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    The location was good and close to all town centre amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My entire room was on such a slope the level of the floor must have been one foot higher on one end of the room than the other. The shower was quite weak and the parking was very restricted however it was in a town centre so this is understandable.

    The location was good and close to all town centre amenities. The staff were helpful and friendly. The residents bar was quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    We are going back in 5 weeks time. .so It"s got to be good"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Thy staff very nice and you could have a conversation with them before you set off for the day.Location of the hotel great close to everything that we needed ,we had stayed in one of the Brends hotel before so we knew what to expect "No problems ".We stayed in September for 3 nights and we have booked 4 nights in November this year, that shows how much we enjoyed this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    It was nice to be able to have a drink in the bar and then have dinner in the restaurant. The barman was helpful and service was appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Better hotels near by
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception & Bar staff were either not around or very slow.. upgraded room weeks before arriving to the upper levels away from the street. Having to pay upfront found that we were on 1st floor next to a alleyway that lead to taxi rank and late night bar... ( the noise was ridiculous) what did the staff do .... nothing apparently hotel was booked out .. found out on Saturday that it was barely half full.. breakfast was disgusting, coffee was awful, bed was so soft that I actually ending up on floor.. no help from reception staff. And to top it off I wanted an itemised bill on check out.. that didn’t happen either .. at that point I gave up... just a bad experience, in a bad hotel not to be repeated...

    Location was great for the wedding and reception, Restaurant staff were outstanding, very engaging, and the hotel bar was large and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Would highly recommend a stay here or even just to pop in for a carvery as it's beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we stayed here for our wedding night and it was beautiful and the staff were lovely and helpful

    Staff were extremely helpful and customer service was brilliant Food is amazing especially the carvery 😍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners woke us up slamming doors in room opposite at 8.30 onwards which woke us up. We stayed a Saturday night and think 8.30 is too early to be making so much noise.

    The bed was really comfy and room very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Amazing Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially our first room had a aircon unit outside bedroom window very noisy but the hotel immediately upgraded us to a Suite which was amazing 😉

    Was upgraded, thank you 👍💕

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was really top class

    The staff were excellent, I didn't eat there as customers had booked an outside restaurant 2 Car parks close by. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Acceptable stay and suited purpose of visit
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room - have had larger cabins on a cruise ship. It appears a single room has been doubled to maximise revenue. However was clean and tidy. Acceptable for a few days. Would not stay in that room for a week (109). One bed pushed against wall and one right up against the entrance door. No shelving space in bathroom. Dining room - not allwed to sit in preferred seats for breakfast - all were reserved - why? Made to feel uncomfortable. Regrettably the chef on one day could not poach an egg properly ! Otherwise fine. We would stay again but would be more careful in selecting room. Overall the staff were helpful and mainly polite.

    Croissants were fine ! Food generally very good and adequate

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel exceeded our expectations and the food in Bar 62 was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is hit and miss with 2 car parks situated behind the hotel, one a bit of a walk... Which when you have bags etc isn't the most convenient. Nothing the hotel can do about it though... The only other thing missing was a fridge from the room. Would have been helpful with a toddler just to put drinks etc in.

    Staff were lovely, room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Bed was really comfy. They provided a zed bed for our little one which was really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    I still like this place, but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Avoid room 109 (a twin and it's very small). Also there is intrusive kitchen fan noise from 6am to 11pm. This will also apply to nearby rooms. Please bear in mind that will be external noise Friday and Saturday night.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and polite,breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a damp smell,possibly from bathroom,i don't think ventilation worked very well.The room was in outside courtyard which was fine until it rained because there was a ramp from main building,which was slippery when wet.Internet very slow could do better. Did notice that you could hear residents in next room taking a bath as though they were in the same room,obviously very little sound proofing between rooms,especially as they had been recently renovated.

    Staff very friendly and polite,breakfast was very good.All recently renovated,decor very nice. Facilities very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Hard to find hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on a Saturday night .the area was full of drunk people, no free parking and almost impossible to find

    The shared areas in the hotel were lovely , the room average

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good once installed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the claims that onsite parking was available, when we checked in at about 5 pm it was said to be full. We had to find a car park elsewhere and carry our overnight bags about 500m back to the hotel.Very good once installed.

    Staff and the room were just fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Value for money, unfortunately not... i think stay in a BnB or elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room didn't have a working shower on arrival & i had an important event to get ready for that night. They were not able to switch my room while organising to fix the problem even after expressing i had just travelled internationally to get there. The room also backed onto an alley & had huge, loud air conditioning units directly under the window. There is advice to close the window to minimise the noise, however the air conditioning unit provided inside the room was equally as loud & prevented a quality sleep. The double bed was more like a king single & the smallest out of the 6 rooms we had within our group. This was all advised to reception on departure.

    The bar downstairs was nice, & location wise is great but unfortunately that would be all i could recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food, friendly staff and modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was way to soft but after speaking to reception they kindly arranged for a bed topper to be put on.

    It was lovely and clean and the dining room and bar area were excellent as were the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Seemed like 5 star for a 3 star value just fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, maybe a little high on room temperature, apart from that nothing.

    Room and bathroom very clean and tidy, shower excellent. The hotel looked fantastic as we walked clean very well decorated and finished to a high order. The Bistro, was excellent food and service were outstanding and value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    The worst nights sleep in a long time!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped, back bedroom next to the industrial fans! Located up a narrow, musty corridor and next to the fire door which banged and woke me up every time somebody went through. The oldest bathroom I have seen in a long time and not in keeping with the recent refurbishment in the front of house. Really not what I expect from a Brend Hotel and I have stayed in all of them.

    Great central location. Bar has been nicely updated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is directly on the street and it was a saturday night so yeah it was pretty noisy.

    Good location. Close to the shops. Nice appliances ie smart tv, 2HP air con

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Lovely, well-run hotel with fabulous restaurant. We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night room looking out over a night club. Nothing that hotel can do ( they have triple glazing but it was warm so really, the room would be stuffy without some air) There was a portable air con unit but it was very noisy. I did not get much sleep. They cheerfully moved us to a quieter room on night 2 so thanks to the staff for that.

    Restaurant was brilliant. Well priced, well thought out menu. We live in central London and rarely find such good choice and service. Many thanks to the chef for the best risotto I have ever tasted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Awesome and will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How are room slanted to one side by the toilet area (room 205).

    The hotel was lovely! Very stylish. Room was lovely and big even though it slanted to one side. The cocktails in the bar looked lovely even though I couldn't drink as pregnant. The food in the bistro was absolutely beautiful and reasonably priced. If you're going to have breakfast, try and get there early as if you leave it late, it seems to have dried up a little- still nice though! We found it s good base to travel to ilfracoome and also into Bude. Always found parking when we arrived back to the hotel on the evening! Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed with this visit. Won’t stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But since the refurb (which is nice), they have changed the breakfast to a buffet & we weren’t very impressed with that....salty bacon, strange scrambled egg, cold bendy potatoes, warm tomatoes & beans. Paid extra for a superior room & it was no better than a basic room we had last year

    We ate in the restaurant omSat evening. We were quite impressed with that meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was over the bar so a little noisy at times.

    Great location. Walking distance from the station. I have stayed here many times before and the hotel has invested in a major upgrade to the rooms and it has paid off

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact room, not representing the value for money expected. Noisy street location (it was Saturday night). Portable air conditioning unit used in the room which was noisy but necessary in the hot weather. Secure garage for cycles which at the time had a broken lock.

    Central location, just off the Tarka Trail. Good bar, lounge and restaurant. Excellent breakfast included. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Barnstable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem we found was the water pressure in the bathroom taps, it just trickled out really slowly

    The three course evening meal was delicious, very good value for money, and had a beautiful room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great stay at this hotel, our room was spacious, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have a window to look out on as we were on the first floor and as we were one of the first rooms on the first floor we heard constant banging of doors from other rooms and people walking past our room as the floor boards were creaking badly and taking very loudly.

    Great stay at this hotel, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable! The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were helpful and was in a great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Great central location, newly decorated large airy room, stylish bar for pre-dinner drinks, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was told I had pre-paid in full but somehow I owe them £10??

    Large airy room with secondary glazing to keep noise levels down and big fan to stay cool. Walk in shower, coffee maker and nice biscuits!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall very happy. Your staff are your biggest asset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment at rear of hotel, by the parking. I appreciate this is not really the hotel's responsibility but the litter and general state of neglect detract from the hotel's efforts. The council need a nudge to clean up the area. The Great British public need a shove!!!

    Friendly, professional staff. Freshly cooked food at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Very central, very clean, very good!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the bed was rather hard, though perhaps that was just me. The breakfast coffee was pretty weak, but I asked for, and as brought, an espresso, and that filled the gap nicely.

    We asked for sheets and a blanket instead of the usual duvet and, in the intense summer heat, we were very grateful to be provided with them without fuss. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    nice place but shame about the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other than the young lady waitress in the Brasserie, who was quite friendly, quite frankly the rest of the staff were perfunctory (not rude) and gave an air of being above the tedium of dealing with such things as guests - very disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Location very good, clean and well decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, with large floor standing air conditioner, and only a narrow space round the bed. Also water pressure in bathroom very poor which meant shower was definitely not a power shower! Lovely big bathroom though Bed very comfortable and room well decorated and clean

    Location very good, clean and well decorated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Only stayed because I didn’t want 2 travel home that nite. Wouldn’t do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that bookin.com use all the pictures of the big grand bedrooms for the advertised rooms but when u get there you’re put in sum sqautty little ground floor disability room which isn’t even really part of the hotel. I complained and was moved 2 a different room but was still nothin like what was advertised. The surrounding area is a dive to be honest. I’ve got no interest in goin back there.

    Nothing I’d never go back. Only stayed because I was willing 2 travel 150 miles back home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Superb.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside the window was quite noticeable when sleeping and due to the hot weather the window had to be left opened. However, the fan supplied in room was also a God send!

    Superb. Very smart hotel with gorgeous food and right in the heart of town. Simply perfect !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    The location, decor and cleanliness was superb as were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very soft and unfortunately not suited to us however I appreciate we all have different preferences. The room was particularly hot and although Aircon was provided we could not use it as it was far too noisy. We tried opening the window but the street noise was too loud.

    The location, decor and cleanliness was superb as were the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Ideal location,parking close by,very friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisey at night from traffic.Water pressure in bathroom very low,showers not working very well

    Ideal location,parking close by,very friendly staff.Food very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The bed was super comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame not to be able to open the window, and the toilet didn't flush properly. Also, the toilet had not been thoroughly cleaned when i arrived. But apart from that, it was an excellent stay.

    The bed was super comfy! Love the pillows, love the duvet and loved how friendly and helpful the staff were.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced and VERY noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not look like ANY on the website.......was very disappointing. Also I was woken at 6.20 on the Sunday morning and several times after by staff talking very loudly outside the room - which was a courtyard and therefore echoed around. There was a metal staircase that echoed loudly there too.......in the end I got up and left.

    Clean - friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced and underfacilitated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The allocated room in the ‘Mews annexe’ was not of the standard advertised on the booking.com page. There was a musty smell in the room and bathroom. No complimentary water which is usually standard. Breakfast was not included in the overpriced room rate. The staff were a little offhand. Very noisy housekeeping in the early morning - and very noisy from late night town centre revellers.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    A nice treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean, feels high spec. Food and drinks at the restaurant were great (big portions!). Nice covered hotel car park just a block from it. Check-out time is 11, and in so many other places it's at 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, great location, will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the room could do with a bit of a spruce up. And perhaps offering bottled water would be a basic but lovely touch.

    The receptionist was fantastic - very polite, helpful and informative, both when I called earlier with some queries, and when we arrived to check in. I think having such a wonderful person front of house instantly starts the stay off on a positive. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfy - top priorities when you’re staying away I always think!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent support from staff. Room service/food very good. Restaurant not used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weather cold for early May. No central heating available in room or hotel. Had to request room heating. Was provided with an electrical heater which solved the problem. Issues with parking area security, mainly down to other occupants not closing security gates when taking their car from the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay and we shall return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one comfortable chair in the double bedroom but this is a minor point.

    Excellent meal in the bistro. Helpful staff when we asked to change our annexe room for something without the noise of the kitchen fans.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Might stay again in main hotel but never in mews rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in downstairs mews room which seemed to be opposite kitchen and was incredibly noisy until late. There was lots of coming and going and sounded like staff quarters up a noisy metal staircase.

    Bed was comfortable and good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice break and the staff were very helpful, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travelled with my brother who is disabled, his room was not near mine, which I think I requested ?and his room was very poor indeed, not adaptable for a disabled person, but it was only for one night, otherwise I think I would have asked for him to be moved, on leaving this is when I did ask at reception, and the staff informed me that the hotel was under renovation and they do have facilities for disabled people, the staff were very helpful, would go there again but perhaps try another of their hotels.

    Staff were helpful in answering all my questions, Bistro nice lunch, my bedroom was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and despite having booked a room for two adults and a child aged 10 we had to request A bed to be sent for my daughter to sleep in surely the receptionist checking us in could see that checking us into a double room with no other bed set up would not work for a family Of three . Noisy at night because of location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall a nice place to stay but could have been better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was chilly, weather had changed and turned very cold and wet. We had a problem with hot water tap and that was resolved after our 2nd request, and a bedside table would have been very helpful (on one side only) there was room for one!! it made it difficult when drinking a morning cup of tea.

    Hotel location was excellent, bed was comfy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Location and the adjacent coffee bar and restaurant were...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold - radiator wasn't working. Staff brought up a mobile heater though. Bathroom was dated

    Location and the adjacent coffee bar and restaurant were super

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We both are going back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location near to train station, bus station and shops. The staff were always HELPFUL AND COURTEOUS. the food both in bar 62 and the main dining room was ecellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Good break,at good hotel,well run,with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff very good,nothing to much trouble.The room was a reasonable size,and very clean.The restaurant was very well run,and food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice place, wifi not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities were terribly cramped and someone hit my car and drove off as a result of how ridiculously tight the parking space was. The wifi didn’t really work at all so that was the only real negative.

    Nice place in a cool little town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    It was okay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but we were placed in the court yard which is mainly the entrance and exit for the hotel staff, I was kept awake by bins of bottles and people walking backwards and forwards. The bed was dipping in the middle. The rooms was also dated

    The staff where lovely and the room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    tolerable - just
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    doors that don't bang like a gunshot

    room doors banging all day - some sound like a gun shot - some older guests like a snooze in the afternoons........should be fixed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Our room let the hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mews room was musky on entering and carpet black around edges, also threadbare patches in places needs to be replaced. Noisy extractor opposite room.also we were unable to get sandwiches in the evening,had eaten a meal lunch time and didn't want to have a meal again

    The carvery and breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable weekend break in friendly city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was so slow. Everything took ages to load. 3G in area was poor too

    Nice sized room. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Loads of space in bars to relax. Food was good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, worst parking at a hotel I have ever experienced, really lets the hotel down

    Bed was fabulous. Only complaint was the dirtiness of the chairs and sofas in the lounge, they desperately need a clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Coffee selection in the room included decaf and hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creeky floorboards in the corridor. Bin emptying from the bar very early on a saturday morning woke me.

    Coffee selection in the room included decaf and hot chocolate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Upgraded to a Superior Room free of charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both showers in bathroom took ages to heat up, even then the pressure/warmth in the shower cubicle was poor. The only negative about our stay.

    Upgraded to a Superior Room free of charge. Lovely surprise! Huge room, great bathroom. Quiet & cosy hotel in fab location. Nice touch to have discount vouchers to spend in bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff going past with noisy trolleys quite early in the morning, but no big deal. I was in room 403.

    Nice room. Great bathroom. Lovely tea. Lovely hotel altogether.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    If I was to stay again I would request a room away from the high street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately it appeared that everyone in Barnstable was having a party outside the bedroom window. The constant screaming and shouting went on until 0200hrs at least.

    The hotel itself was very good , the bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean. the facilities were good as was parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Was not what we expected
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways narrow, strong Oder through hotel, small room, old fernishings, nothing like the photos, noisy, nothing like the website description or pictures

    Great location and reception looked amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    It was cosy, comfortable and very closed to nice restaurants.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing especially. Sometimes the smell of humidity but I guess this is something that we cannot change due to the weather.

    We like the sweets left inside the room and tea, so we could have a snack in the room. We like the bed as it was confortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food at all was available when arriving at 11 pm. Despite leaving my towel on the rail, it was replaced daily. Slightly run-down atmosphere when I visited at a non-busy time in the week. There was a stale smell in the stair area.

    Very good value. Elegant furnishings. Helpful reception staff. Excellent, good quality and value adjacent Bistro with discount for residents. Free admission to Health Club and pool elsewhere in the Town, which unfortunately I could not take advantage of. Close to riverside walk and town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    You know everything will be taken care of.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an excellent stay. The staff put themselves out to take care of my needs especially with checking out then returning for lunch with friends as they looked after my bag etc. Hope the staff get the pat on the back for doing so well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misrepresentation on booking. Com site very small room's Air conditioning fan outside window found it difficult to sleep Terrible smell throughout corridors Looks amazing in reception very dated would not consider staying again I have moved to a different hotel as i am staying in Barnstable another 12 weeks Very disappointed as i am also booking rooms for more colleagues to join me and thought this one would have been ideal

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall I would stay there again as the situation of the hotel is good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old corridors had musty smell which is not healthy. Cheaper rooms have no nice outlook. I asked to move from one room which had lots of things not working well, which they kindly did for me but I think tired rooms would be worth updating. It would have been good had they given me a discount for subsequent nights! Prices are high considering tired decor and fittings but they could improve experience by including breakfast in the price and updating rooms.

    Lovely comfortable hotel with character. One room I had was small but adequate and comfortable. Restaurants and space for family gatherings better than normal restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is very comfortable with attentive staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The book in receptionist was a bit vague as we turned up early, we knew we couldn't get in the room but it took a few minutes. Also asked 4:30pm on the Wed afternoon for two tea bags and milk for the room as not topped up in the morning. 6:30pm had to remind reception we were still waiting.

    The hotel is very comfortable with attentive staff. recommend the Bank restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    I had a lovely experience and the staff were professional,attentive and very polite.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge furniture could do with a bit of a upgrade also the furniture in situe was on the low side making it difficult for elderly guests to get up comfortably and with a certain amount of dignity.

    Breakfast and all meals first class, also the bed was large,comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Barnstable then don't dither book the Royal & Fortescue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A pleasant traditional hotel in the heart of Barnstable. It creaks a little but that is what you want from an old hotel. The staff are smartly dressed and very professional. Easy to access car park. Lovely toiletries and tea making bits. Stayed one night to see a concert at local theatre - about 5 minutes walk away (fab) . Got a good rate and liked Barnstable Town. Will certainly be back for long week end or midweek break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Great room with massive bathroom and bed. We were upgraded before our arrival which was fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was roomy, bed comfy, bathroom modern and well appointed and massive! Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty and delicious. The coffee was the best I’ve had in ages!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Hotel ideally situated for meeting up with friends,close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the booking price for room only, was expensive as no breakfast was included & then having to pay extra (12.50) if breakfast required was over the top.

    Lovely large room all to myself, was upgraded on my late arrival, breakfast was not included in the deal, so could not comment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little too hard for me, but I am aware that this is a matter of personal taste.

    There is little I can add,as everything was exceptionally good and I would certainally book again. The evening meal and quality of the wine was exceptionally good

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Royal & Fortescue Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: