Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Hotel and Bar 3 stars

Thurnham Street, Lancaster, LA1 1YD, United Kingdom

#5 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't as large as was advertised, it was a standard double but was advertised as extra large. Minor thing, over all was a lovely place.

    Lovely place, nice room and friendly staff. Nice continental breakfast. Central location, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pastries could have been fresh and there could have been a better selection of bread

    The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was good but could have been better with a few changes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of fans and air conditioning. Traffic noise

    Comfortable bed and room. Big bathroom. Ideal location. Separate entrance to avoid going through the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only down point was hotel on a busy road, and pedestrian traffic lights beeping and bikes racing off was off putting BUT in fairness it all quietened down later and we slept well.

    location is great for city centre, only 5 min walk to the centre. continental breakfast was very good, nice modern bar good selection of beers and spirits

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot because of the weather and the fan helped but it was still very warm and with the window open there was a lot of street noise. Earplugs were provided.

    Comfortable bed, clean room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not as good as publicity; basically a continental breakfasts with a wide variety of breads. Hotel hard to find.

    Confy Bed. Good TV. Well stocked bedroom tea & coffee. Fancy Coffee machine. Hepful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noting we didn’t like. Although a lift would have been great

    Michelle, the manager, was exceptional in providing everything we needed. Choice of rooms, local information & our dinner was superb . This hotel was really exceptional experience . We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com website should be clearer that breakfast is continental only. Since returning see Booking.com website has this information only behind ? icon, and I did not see this specific information stated on email confirmations received from Booking.com

    Location good for railway station, cleanliness good and staff cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in great situation for getting around Lancaster. It was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is was just what I like- continental but plentiful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this for a colleague who was looking for a regular place to stay whilst here on business. His description was Nice family run hotel, very welcoming, very comfortable and clean. I have booked him in for next week

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have mentioned above about the fire exit. I tried to leave through the bar areas fire exit on the ground floor. Which I assumed the hotel had. However, the door at the bottom of the stairs was locked so I had to leave through the fire door. I would have thought there should have been someone on the premises in case of an accident.

    The bedroom was really lovely and clean. However, I had to leave at 6.15am and was told I would have to use the fire exit. I could also not obtain anything to eat in the hotel because I was told it was fully booked. Nearly slipped on exit fire stairs cos it was raining hard and nobody seemed to be in the building. If I had slipped who was there to shout for. I have recently had a new hip and walk unsteady.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is that breakfast is only continental

    Perfect location and lovely homely feel to the property. Bedrooms nice and cosy with great coffee machines in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disturbed by the green safety light when trying to sleep but I understand that it will be a legal requirement.

    Very comfortable bed. Extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a negative point to the staff, the food, the drinks and I loved the fairy lights!

    The whole of the stay was relaxed, interesting and inspiring. My daughter will be attending Lancaster Uni from October this year and I feel very happy with her choice of location. She will be looking forward to using the Royal Hotel Bar for treats and I will be stopping there again on my visits to see her.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband would have preferred a cooked breakfast.

    Location was great, in city centre and right over the road from the town hall, where we we going to a gig. Good sized, reasonably priced car park nearby. Pub downstairs was lovely and there was easy access to the rooms once it was closed. Continental breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. No food available on Monday but not a problem - directed to an excellent pub.

    Small, friendly hotel centrally located. Nicely decorated and comfortable rooms. Super-friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was situated by the main road, and there wasn't sufficient sound proof, which meant I had a poor sleep, the breakfast was very limited.

    The hotel and staff were nice and the room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Newly fitted out room with nice decor. Well planned room and ensuite with all little details thought of. Good location near to the town centre and about 10 minutes walk from railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed not to be offered a cooked breakfast, and that breakfast wasn't served until 8.30 which was just before my departure time. The temperature control on the shower was difficult to operate. Overall, I thought £80 for b&b (with the breakfast a packed one) was poor value for money.

    Clean, warm and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have made it easier to understand that parking was included with a charge before we spent a lot on parking

    The bathroom light was broken which was annoying

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Noisy you need to make people aware this really is a Pub I know we stayed New Years Eve however the music might as well of being played in our room.

    comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel at the last minute. The lady that booked us in was a extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel bar was closed on the night we arrived (between Christmas and New Year). She told us which bars to go to and even marked them on a map. The hotel was warm and the continental breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although continental breakfast is included, cooked breakfast can be had at a discount however is served after the continental breakfast finishes.

    We were staying in the travelodge down the road but the noise from people running the hallway in the middle of the night and the hard mattress made us abandon our stay and choose another hotel. So glad we did as our room was absolutely beautiful and although facing a busy road there wasn’t too much noise. The room was very spacious and clean. Continental breakfast is included in the price. The great thing with your room being above the bar is that you can enjoy a nice drink by the fireplace before going to bed. A place worth returning to for sure. We paid extra to have the continental breakfast. You pay per item rather than a fixed price so you can put together your own meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it because it was close to the town centre the rooms were Modern and a good atmosphere

    The staff are warm and welcoming the food is value for money and would recommend it to anybody

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was warm, clean, and comfortable. The central location also makes it very convenient for both business and leisure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only suggestion would be that a couple of glasses in the room for water would be useful. There were 2 nige big mugs however . The extractor fan in the bathroom was a bit noisy, but didnt impact on our appreciation of the hotel and bar. Thanks !

    The rooms very immaculate and beautifully styled. The staff ( Kat) in the bar was so friendly and accommodating. And again the owner attending to breakfast went out of her way to ensure our comfort. Would definitely recommend and want to go back as we didnt have enough time to explore the area, it just being an overnight stop off point for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great hotel to spend a few nights in Lancaster. Although our time was short, we had a lovely stay. The room was cozy and clean. Great atmosphere in the bar on the ground floor. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little tricky - not much room.

    Lovely continental breakfast laid out very nicely. Had to ask for 'real' coffee. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, a warm welcome. Nice room, although quite small. Good facilities though. Continental breakfast. Parking if you get there early enough (limited spaces)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't rate the area restaurants because I ate at the hotel's own bar/restaurant, and it was excellent. The food was great, the room was large, clean, very comfortable. I really enjoyed staying there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front facing bedroom was quite noisy from the main road right outside even, at 03:00 am in the morning. If you want a quiet room as for a rear facing one.

    Even though it was Fresher's week and the bar vey noisy it did not travel up to our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have mentioned the 5 pound parking fee.

    Was pleasantly surprised as the accommodation is really good and goes against he initial impression when you walk into the bar. Room was comfortable and clean. I will definately stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent local, room very clean and huge bed. Did not have breakfast as this starts at 8am but take away bagged breakfasts are available on request. Also very nice on site evening meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep was not possible due to a constant drip drip click click of pipes. All night it went on.

    That it is very close to other pubs and the city centre. A big building tjat was accomodating for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of overhearing, both from surrounding streets and from surrounding rooms. Check-in at 15 is late.

    Friendly staff. Spacious room / impressive ceiling height. No English breakfast, but the continental was still nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom light (room 4) is too low powered. Would have preferred a cooked breakfast but the type of breakfast available isn't defined until the booking is complete. However, what is provided is well presented and fresh :)

    Staff very helpful/friendly. Room very nice, modern feel and great shower. Great location and despite being on a main road, not too noisey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room temperature was constantly about 20 C so a lighter blanket should be included in early Autumn. The one available would be more appropriate during winter.

    everything was great. Probably the best value for money hotel that i've stayed in the UK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we missed was a private car park, however there is a public car park at the side of the property and, because we arrived late afternoon, the overnight rate was extremely reasonable. Just a bit of a pain having to replenish the ticket at 8am...

    The ambience of the hotel, and the friendliness of the staff, helped to make our one-night stay lovely. Cleanliness, customer service and comfort are obviously important to the staff. The location of the hotel is a bonus - right in the town centre, and within walking distance of most of the local attractions. A must try are the flavoured gins - the raspberry gin and elderberry tonic was absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy place night and morning hours

    Good and clean rooms and facilities. Close to town centre, a lot of sight-seeing, shopping places, bars, cafes and restaurantes around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having a washer and dry cleaner available to use with coins in the premises would greatly help. It rains often in the region and clothes do not dry in the room. The staff were very kind to dry some of my clothes for me, but this was done as a favour rather than as a standard service.

    Very friendly and warm staff. The staff were very kind to dry some of my clothes for me at no extra charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault hotel.Good choice of beers, wines and food. Continental breakfast with good choice of foods.

    Staff really friendly and the hotel and room clean and tidy. Convenient for town centre and rail station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a little small, only one chair which was not very comfortable. Not much parking space although we were able to reserve one of the two available spaces

    Good location,comfortable bed. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking over the road was convenient but cost £10 for twenty four hours. We arrived to find the hotel bar and restuarant were closed on Mondays which wasn't mentioned before booking. We were on the top floor and although it wasn't warm weather the room was hot which meant either leaving the window open or putting the blower on - both were a little noisy. The room was a little cramped and only room for one chair and a clothes rail.

    Rooms were bright, nicely decorated and very clean. Bed was comfortable and continental breakfast was really good quality and plentiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good position on the edge of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was near busy roads, so was some noise. Even with secondary glazing.

    Hotel Accommodation was very clean & comfortable,room decor smart & contemporary. Overall,very satisfying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parkin wasnt brilliant .. the one way system made it difficult when you missed the entance to the car park but there are only a couple of spaces so we had to park in a pay and display . no reception area means you walk straight into the bar , which on our arrival was holding a pirate themed party nite just a little awkward !!

    liked the room it was modern great shower clean, bed was comfy bright lite and airy ! the breakfast was lovely freshly cooked , staff were really nice .very good central location to explore this city and tryout the varied bars and nitelife.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as stated above about the chips! Décor (especially the window frames) on the outside of the building could do with being upgraded but room we have was very well decorated and comfortable

    ordered chicken and chips but the chips came already heavily salted and very spicy chicken. It should be the guest who themselves chose to salt or not. I take tablets as I have high cholesterol and therefore could not eat them all! Apart from that ,a very comfortable room and breakfast was excellent with a wide range of food for a continent breakfast. Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    City centre so great location but have to accept some street noise.

    Recently refurbished, room was good clean modern, didn't use the bar or resturant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind at all

    The hotel style was amazing, the staff were super helpful and willing to go out of their way! was comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said breakfast when i booked it didnt state it was a contential one was expecting full english a bit disappointed

    Beds where comforty and rooms clean staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View was not great but not really an issue and can't be changed

    Shower was great, breakfast was nice, room was comfortable and had necessary amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be served from e.g. 7.30 (it is served from 8, which leaves little time to get for 9 o'clock appointments (at leats in my case)).

    Staff very friendly and ready to help in any circumstances. The bed very comfy, clean bathroom, coffee machine, kettle and a few biscuits waiting for me everyday were exacly what I needed after a long day in work. Breakfast said to be simple, but I found it exceptionally up to my taste. No cooked food, true, but toasts, jam, ham, cheese, sweet rolls, cerelas (uite a choice), milk, coffee, tea, fresh fruit is more than enough. Didn't use the bar in the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The way the hotel staff managed the complete mess up made by Booking.com to accommodate us across three nights was outstanding. While I received a booking confirmation from Booking.com, the hotel did not! The second booking failure by Booking.com for us in the same week, so definitely not the hotels fault. That being said the hotel is centrally placed, recently revamped and has very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing and I should have asked but would have liked an extra hour in room to get organised. Maybe a late check out facility.

    From start to finish, everything was great. The room was bright and immaculate. Shame TV was not connected to internet. We couldn't fund a decent music Chanel. Slept really well. Didn't make breakfast unfortunately as had a late night. The shower was great and powerful. Can't wait to return but already finding it hard to rebook as very popular. Hopefully get to try a superior room next time but think standard room would be hard to beat. Great location for station plus M6. Lancaster is a great town steeped in history with great bars and restaurants. Well done everyone. Great job.👍👌💝

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is on a busy street that can be a bit noisy. There is a pub on the ground floor and no "normal" reception.

    Very good location - close to the city centre. Staff was nice and friendly. Breakfast was better than expected (stated as continental).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking, but there is a short-stay car park right next to the hotel. There are different rates for overnight parking and I did have to nip down at 8am to update the ticket. Maybe I just read it wrong and you can do until later if you arrive the night before

    Clean room; very comfy bed; lovely staff. Breakfast was huge. As a coealic I have to eat gluten free. There were plenty of options and for the first time I was offered toastie bags to use in the toaster to avoid cross-contamination (other coeliacs will know how important this is).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an absolutely wonderful stay. The room was clean and comfortable, exactly as shown in the photos. The rooms are above a bar, but the soundproofing is excellent and I never heard any noise, even though I was there on a Friday night. The staff were wonderfully warm and friendly, and helped me arrange a taxi on a rainy morning. A truly fantastic experience indeed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New owners have done a wonderful job renovating and updating the hotel and bar. Very clean and comfortable and a great place to stay in the city centre. Would definitely stay again. Owner family staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely room with very comfy bed, spotlessly clean. Overall I was very pleased with everything and it was a good location for us to explore the city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Very friendly helpful staff. Great size room. Lovely decor. Extremely comfortable bed. Hotel was clean and comfortable throughout. Continental breakfast was ok. I was fortunate to be able to book one of the limited parking spaces but there is public parking opposite. I would stay again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety light in the bedroom was quite bright. However, the owners are looking at ways to remedy this.

    This hotel is right in the town centre and central for restaurants. The Monument is a 15 minutes walk away and is set within the the beautiful Williamson Park. The castle is about 10 minutes walk away. We stayed on a Monday evening when the bar is closed and found it very quiet. Breakfast was continental style and delicious with a selection of cheeses, cold meats, breads, cakes, yoghurt and fruit. On arrival we received a warm welcome . It is advised as having no parking but they do have a couple of spaces which can be reserved in advance for a small sum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very noisy location above a busy street. The secondary double glazing didn't fit the windows so was useless at keeping noise out. A green fluorescent light above the door casts a ghostly glow throughout the room all night. Breakfast only begins at 8.30 - for whose convenience? Calling this place a hotel is pretentious. It's a pub with rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant green led light for emergency lighting on all night. Apparently compulsory for new installations but so bright you could read by it. Complained to staff you could do nothing except try and find an eye mask.Not the first time we've come across this so may be time to buy my own.Secondary double glazing wasn't enough to stop the traffic noise.

    Location and general atmosphere. Pleasant staff and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The difference in price between the two nights booked of £30. Room small for price of the first night.

    Comfortable bed and 24 hour access to rooms without going into the bar. Good parking spot. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The green glow from the emergency light is sufficient to light up the whole room it was like sleeping with the lights on. Breakfast was basic!

    Room was clean and bed was comfy. Position is very close to town. Limited parking for an extra payment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The friendly staff naturally helps one adjust. Things like storing luggage for late departure, providing extra pillows etc.-these are all make travelling more comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. The hotel is really fresh looking and clean. 😀 The staff were wonderful especially the breakfast ladies. Nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly slept as room was so hot,turned radiator off but was unable to do this to large heated towel rail in bathroom which remained on till midnight. Definitely need air-con. Continental breakfast was ok but I would expect better pastries than the Aldi ones offered. A full english should be included for £90 a night and maybe some bottled water in room. Music in bar was awful which caused us to leave after an enjoyable afternoon watching rugby on tv.

    Spotless room. Bed really comfy. Bar food great. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no privacy curtains. More shelf space to put toiletries on near mirror.

    Had a wonderful stay. Room a little small. Overlooking police station so needs privacy curtains in room. Staff very friendly especially young bar man who checked us in and the lovely lady who served us breakfast. Would definitely stay again! Bed was amazing and so comfortable!😁 Central for everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing would be the addition of eggs at (what was already a great) breakfast, but I realise that can be a bit hard to do with only one staff member. Our stay was still exceptional!

    The bed was ENORMOUS and extremely comfortable, as was the room itself. Huge TV and good wifi. Great coffee facilities, delicious biscuits. We were allowed drinks from the bar in the room. The staff were especially friendly. Upon entry, the hallway smelled wonderfully clean, as did the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer to have a cooked breakfast but suitable alternative options available

    Overnight stopover so met our needs perfectly. No Sunday evening meal available but decent choice of restaurant in the same street. Tidy & clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Good night sleep. Comfortable bed. Quiet room despite room windows facing road & traffic, the double glased window did an excellent job to stop traffic noise. No significant noise from the bar downstairs. Nice continental buffet type breakfast. Polite and very helpful staff. Lovely decor of the hotel room and the bar. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was awful, really disappointing choices - could have been more considered even for a continental breakfast. Nearly £100/night was way too expensive - won't be staying here again.

    The room was warm and bed comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfy - clean - nicely decorated and welcoming. I arrived early but they gave me a snack lunch and I even managed to check in before going to a wedding so couldnt have been more helpful. I was leaving early in the morning but they gave me a take away breakfast before i went to bed which was better than anywhere else i have stayed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening snack availability but they are addressing that.

    Kim and Victoria Marie are very friendly hosts. Comfy bed and great variety on continental breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We haven't got anything negative to say it was a very enjoyable stay.

    Staff where very helpful, room 1 was excellent and very large. Food in the hotel was fab, there was a continental breakfast which was also very nice. We couldn't find anything to complain about, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: