Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royal Hotel 3 stars

7 Bridge Street, Llangollen, LL20 8PG, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 hotels in Llangollen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1650 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    Web site photos are better than the realily. Only just a three star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is not open in the evenings despite appearances on the web site. No one told us this - we were left to have to ask as it appeared to be all set-up for breakfast. Old out-of-date furniture. Marks on carpet. Curtains not fixed properly on rails. Shower was a trickle.

    Central location for attractions. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great location in Llangollen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel provided great access to all of the sights around Llangollen. We could easily walk to restaurants, the rail station, the canals, and the shops. I would highly recommend the Royal Hotel if you are planning a visit to Llangollen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was used for an over-night stay on outward and return journeys to the Holyhead Ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information and signage of parking was poor. Being on a one way street with no on street parking available means that checking in requires finding the car park at first attempt.

    Good breakfast served quickly and freshly cooked to order

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flat, hard pillows. Noise from outside from 11pm until 2 am every night. No double glazing and thin curtains didn’t help avoid the rooms on first floor facing road. Walls thin

    Large room. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floors. Air in the water pipes. Our room was on the second floor - difficult to carry the cases up the stairs. The restaurant only serves food in the afternoon - no evening meals. WiFi a bit temporamental in our room. No yoghurts or croissants/pastries and limited fruit (grapefruit or prunes) for breakfast.

    Large room. Nice decor in the breakfast room, neutral in our bedroom. Has a lovely decking area but unfortunately the weather didn't allow us to use it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel, and as such was very noisy. Loud, rowdy, drunk groups of people walking around outside all night, along with the church bell chiming on the hour, all night. We didn't get much sleep! I realise these things are not within the control of the hotel itself (unless investment in double glazing is made) but definitely will put me off booking again in the future.

    The room was clean, bright and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Very happy with the bathroom. Overall the room had all that we needed for a night's stay. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and very good service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.5
    A comfortable stay in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do wish that they served evening meals . The weather was good during our stay so we didn't mind going out but it would have been a different story in bad weather.

    A very comfortable country house type of hotel. Wonderful situation. The breakfasts were really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value for a 1 night stay thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to bright from street lighting, dark curtains would help. A mirror above the dressing table near to electric sockets would be use full.

    Staff very helpful location perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    THE ROYAL LLANGOLLEN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING.

    THE ROOMS WERE VERY GOOD VALUE AND VERY COMFORTABLE. WE HAD TO TRAVEL BY TRAIN AS MY CAR BROKE DOWN. THE STAFF STORED THE LUGGAGE AT NO CHARGE AFTER CHECKOUT TIME. THEY FOUND TIMES OF LOCAL BUSES AND RETURN TRAINS. AND FOUND A TAXI FIRM TO GET TO THE STATION AND BACK. ALSO, VERY FRIENDLY. THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY EXCELLENT.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Amazing location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark could be better sign posted but otherwise a great hotel.

    Excellent location, great views over the river, especially whilst eating the tasty breakfast in the morning. Carpark situated just across the road from the front door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable rooms but more care needed on the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was rather tired looking and needs a makeover, a though it is comfortable. The breakfast could be better. The emphasis seems to be on quantity rather than on quality. They need a proper menu so you can make your selection and the cereals/fruit selection looks really poor. Overall presentation could be a little better.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing few days away for our anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift so we had to carry our suitcases up two flights of stairs. My husband also had mobility problems so a lift would have been a good benefit.

    Fantastic location, our room overlooked the river Dee. comfortable bed and spacious room . We also had a hearty breakfast with refills offered. Staff were nice and friendly. There is a cosy bar. There is also a terrace overlooking the river where you could sit out and have a relaxing drink or coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    OK if I ignored the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room poorly prepered, lights not working, just gave me a bulb and said they couldnt fix other one poor ventilasjon damp on inside of window.

    Food very good excellent service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel in central town location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in central town location. Room small. Lovely dining and breakfast rooms. Good breakfast but restaurant not fully operating at time of stay. Limited parking available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    DATED BUT PRACTICAL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite cold in the Room no double glazing but probably because it may be a grade 2 listed building. No hot water Lukewarm. Very noisy can hear everything going on outside and the town clock chimes every hour right through the night.

    The Breakfast was very nice and the view from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard the bells going off evrey hr .room need up dateing .car park was full with non reserdent .tele did nt work floor boads were creeking and un even

    The brecfest

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Nearly a holiday ruined but turned out ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived a room hadn't been booked. They blamed booking.com. it was odd because on the morning we were going i had no messages from booking.com normally get route map. Fortunately they had spare rooms. The hotel was clean just seemed run down.

    The staff were helpful. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Good guilty room lovely breakfast a smile from staff would be good Exellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No info when I booked in on times of breakfast where the dinning room was ...and I did ask on booking but NO GRABRAILS in the bathroom

    Exellent view ..comfy bed ..large bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A night at The Royal Hotel llangollen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for us , however that personal preference.

    Turret suite is a large room with bedroom and ensuite with a sitting room 2 armchairs and sofa tv . Wonderful views overlooking the River Dee. Part of a Victorian building furnishings maybe considered to be dated however we felt it all added to it's charm. Staff were warm and friendly greeted by a lovely gentleman on reception on arrival. Piping hot full English breakfast with great selection of cereals and fruit juices. Fresh fruit. Attentive staff . Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a great location. Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked out on the roof so the view wasn't great but we could just about see the river if we looked out and left.

    The room was lovely, very clean and spacious. Bathroom was a good size. Good tea and coffee supplies and free toiletries. Location was perfect for an event at Llangollen Pavilion. The free breakfast was huge!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was that the restaurant was not open on the Saturday night that we were there.

    Room was very good and plenty of space. View over the river was great .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a superb stay only one night but will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find any negatives.

    Family room superb as we had two teenagers . Views excellent & amenties on hand with restaurants nearby.Breakfast lovely & plentiful with attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    would definately visit this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good one day and not so good the next little hit and miss

    The staff were lovely and the cleaning ladies do an excellent job. Comfortable and brilliant place to chill in and beautiful area - rooms clean and comfortable nice old worldly feel about this hotel and vies were fantastic of the river Dee well recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    5 star for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could not find any faults

    firstly,the staff was brillant helpfull in all ways,breakfast was great ,anything you ask for no problem,beds etc great and views great, and hopefully we will be back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in bathroom for both shower and bath very poor temperature .

    Location was very good. great view from our room 105. Breakfast 1st class .staff very help full.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    We really liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water was not really warm enough, breakfast room was spacious and well appointed, breakfast was good but some ingredients a bit on the cheap side.

    Lovely, spacious old style hotel with fantastic deck overlooking the river. Great attentive service. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location and idyllic setting for meals and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is old and tired but perhaps an argument could be made that this adds to the charm

    Perfect location and idyllic setting for meals and relaxation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Okay! For it's position in the town could be somewhere really special. Needs some love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one on Reception to greet had to go seeking someone to help. Nobody to help carry bags, I had an elderly person with me whose single room was up 3 flights of stairs and no offer to help was offered. Room very dated, with stains on ceiling and furniture which has seen better days. Mattresses/pillows very soft not to everyone's taste No menu to offer breakfast selection. Lots of people complaining about extremely hot plates which could be dangerous for children. Although centrally located within the town the hotel could benefit from a little investment.

    Staff in restaurant for breakfast very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    fantastic, kids loved it, they've told all their friends that they have been to a posh hote!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View next time could be better.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful and friendly, also breakfast was excellent and staff in restaurant were lovely and helpful and friendly!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Was ok needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was so soft and uncomfortable they really need to replace them. Breakfast was not as good as the previous reviews I’d read.

    It was a great location. Looked just like photos by the river. Had a good river view from the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in desk very poor. When checking in just gave us room key. Did not ask if we needed any info or breakfast times etc. In fact stayed sat down all the time like it was too much trouble to get up!

    Excellent breakfast. Staff at breakfast had really good customer service skills and nothing seemed to much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Great time would return with no worries to this cosy and homely Hotel, Plus ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisey in the evening (traffic and builders next door)but nothing they can do about that.

    Location-great. Staff - pleasant and helpful. Breakfast -to die for !! Cosy and comfortable thoughout my stay. Some nice bistro's and restaurants near by . If your a real Ales Fan you musy go to the Ponsenby Arms...14 Cask Ales there !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some decor needed a little updating

    Amazing view from room Very comfortable Very friendly and helpful staff Easy parking Couldn't be more central Quality cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing break from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a suite and it was lovely. It was nice to have the double doors to close over whilst sitting in the front area. I opened the window, opened the window and settled on the couch with a lovely cup of coffee and spent a couple of hours reading and listening to the water run behind me. The positioning of this hotel is excellent and we had a really lovely, relaxing stay which was exactly what we wanted from our trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    River runs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great base and last minute booking. Very welcomed and polite helpful staff, breakfast was lovely. I had to leave in the small hrs 2nd night and check out was very easy with the night porter.. Its right next door to the bridge and other places the decking overlooking the dee amazing..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for what we needed
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water pressure and no phone to ring down to reception or a TV remote but the staff was super helpful with TV remote issue.

    Big comfy beds. Family was great 5 beds and still lots of room to move and relax. Bathroom very big. Staff lovely and polite very helpful and kid friendly. Hotel in centre of the town with a great view of river and of the stream railway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Everything you would hope for in a budget hotel, really
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't as good as a cooked breakfast should be - poor sausage, poor egg, beans all over everything else.

    The location and price... also loved the bar area, with seating outside. Great view!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so hot shower and not powerful

    Great location. Great views by the river . Just so relaxing . Nice staff especially the gentleman who served us breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    A bed for the night with a lovely view
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area smelt funny and drains in our en-suite stank, however both of these issues can be easily fixed.

    The hotel is dated but it’s what you expect from such a lovely old building. The location was great, the bed was clean and comfy and the staff at breakfast were great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    All in all had a very nice time. And will be going back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated. Floor boards creaking very uneven in places. We had a room on top floor. Glad we didn't have anybody above our room

    Location is brilliant. The town is lovely plenty of places to eat and drink. Breakfasts in the morning spot on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed, expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is only open for breakfast and 3 hours in the afternoon, (not in the evening)! The local clock chimes every hour throughout the night and can be heard clearly in your room. Service is very very slow at breakfast, made a mistake and never received the right food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from main road and hourly chimes from church clock

    Hotel was in a great location. The hotel is very old with quirky features and squeaky floorboards which I thought was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    very enjoyable, everywhere was in easy walking distance from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They didn't do evening meals, the meals stopped at 3pm

    Good breakfast and always hot, if you didn't want a full cooked breakfast you could choose what to have or not, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the staff didn't want to be there and didn't really want to engage in anything. When checking in just a case of here's the key that's your room. No directions, didn't quite catch when breakfast was, could do with some sort of house rules in room. Would look/feel so much fresher with a lick of paint throughout. Shower head needs changing.

    Location was fantastic. Breakfast hot, nice, sausages, cheap. A bit of a selection was good. Room size great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay, lovely hotel all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is very small as arrived late no spaces left, would be a good idea for hotel to offer ticket for long stay car park which Is not too far away.

    A lovely family run business, this hotel have prime location, the rooms were very clean and breakfast was excellent plenty of choice, lovely and peaceful for a big hotel and lovely views over the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection was poor, but then again we were there to admire the scenery so....: )

    Central to all that Llangollen has to offer! Rooms with view of the river are just gorgeous - this is our 2nd year/stay at this hotel. Rooms are very clean and serviced each day making your stay very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Last day of holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no restaurant facilities on-site in the evening,but went next door meal was lovely.

    Location and views of the River Dee were stunning. Loved the decking outside. Peaceful environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    My little girl and myself really enjoyed our stay, can't fault it, breakfast was exellent also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Turret Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds of people walking and talking from inside the hotel, but I'm a light sleeper anyway.

    The location was exellent, if I ever to go back to Llangollen I'd stay in the same hotel and the same room ( if possible ), river view, beautiful. My little girl run straight to the window to have a look at the river when she woke up in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel overlooking the river Dee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This wasn’t really a hotel problem as we booked thru booking dot com they allocated us two rooms and my daughter is fourteen and can’t stay in a room on her own lucky she stayed with friends so didn’t need the extra room.

    The quality of the bed was outstanding. Breakfast full English was delicious. Staff couldn’t do enough for you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Struggle with our luggage up 3 flights of stairs apart, we had a very pleasant & enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there is no lift & 3 flights of stairs with all our luggage for an overseas holiday did not start our stay on the front foot. It was hard going getting the suitcases up to the 2nd floor room.

    Breakfast was very good in a room overlooking the river, The hotel location was good in town centre & free parking was provided opposite the hotel. We found Llangollen a quaint & very pretty small British town & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were only there for one night we felt that there were a few things that could have been improved upon. No warning was given for the fact that parking would have been difficult. Had we been there more than one night it would have meant quite a cost to park. The room was very worn. It was clean but could have been updated especially the beds and furniture. The staff however were lovely and the restaurant had been upgraded and was very pleasant. The service was great and the food very nice. A note to people with mobility problems could be added. There are a lot of stairs and because of the age of the hotel floors were very uneven. The Hotel itself with a little love and attention would be just the ticket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were in need of decoration.

    The hotel was in a good location, rooms were ok, although the hourly chimes from the clock tower outside were not helpful at night. We only stayed the 1 night. We had booked two rooms and one of them smelt of damp and there were water marks on the ceiling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Great 3 day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff could have been friendlier and more welcoming. Car park small although we did not have any problem, plenty of room when we arrived, full later.

    Excellent room view over the river, first class breakfast experience. Decoration, although a little tired, only added to the charm of this Victorian hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Would recommend and would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I noticed it had been given four star rating for cleanliness. A five star should be aimed for really

    The location is excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay overall, although some aspects could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was extremely poor, making it difficult to even wash and rinse your hair. Also disappointed to find that the restaurant didn't serve evening meals - the signs outside and photographs were misleading in this aspect.

    Clean, comfortable, nice view from room. Locates centrally. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Llangollen is a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a full refurbish. We had 4 rooms from 3/8/18 till 6/8/18. We asked Mo the owner manager on two occasions (including our final evening )for breakfast at 7.30 on our last morning as we had ferry to catch , he said no problem but on that morning breakfast doors didn't open till 8.15. We actually paid him the evening before for our rooms as we didn't want any delay . It seems once he had our money he didn't bother.

    Llangollen is a beautiful town. river runs through.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Llovely Llangollen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking! The day we got there was fine but had to park on the road the rest of the time and move it by 9 am, because the car park was very full. This was a constant worry!

    Central. Couldn't wish for a better location. Breakfast was wonderful with hot plates and good coffee. They used 3 tea bags in the pot too which is outstanding for a B&B! Bed was very comfy. Tea ,coffee towels etc filled/changed daily. Room 204 nice and big with a view of the river Dee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable enough , lovely location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bulb out in the bedroom when we arrived and was still out when we left , the curtains had 2 or 3 hooks missing which didn't look good , there was only 1 wardrobe / closet just big enough for my wife's clothes , I had to use the small dresser draws, the bedside table draw and my suitcase , all paintwork could do with a freshen up , water pressure in the bathroom was really low making showering a little difficult, .

    Good views from our window , staff were pleasant , food was plentiful and always piping hot , plenty of choice with cerial and juice, the bed as comfy enough with towels and bed linen changed daily .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Location was perfect with everything nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A number of lights not working and phone not working - although when notified they fixed both. Room was quite dated and had spider webs and spiders. Shower had terrible pressure and took a long time to heat up.

    Location was perfect with everything nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely old hotel, a little down at heel but lots of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity the hotel restaurant was closed the night we stayed.

    Great location in a lovely town with a terrace overlooking the river. Rooms were comfortable. Superb restaurant just across the road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.5
    Romantic birthday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lifts if you are disabled, but manager helped us up with our heavy suitcase. Not a criticism of the hotel per se, but worth bearing in mind if you are compromised. Hotel parking, but obviously abused by non residents making it tight.

    Superb room with view over River Dee. Classic Welsh Breakfast with poached haddock or kipper on offer too. Did not see any croissants, but real stewed prunes - sheer bliss.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    a superb location let down by lack of investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a tired hotel. The curtains , net, were tagged and not clean. The restaurant was shut on a Tuesday although the town has others. The room was clean and painted but was chipped with mould around the bath and gaps under the door. The bath panel was not fixed properly etc

    Staff, the few that were on duty were lovely, courteous, helpful. The location us excellent especially the view from our room. Breakfast was good. There was nearby parking.it was really quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel as a leaving celebration for me and my friend as I was leaving the country the following week and wanted a lovely chilled weekend. Check in was easy but we were two ladies struggling with bags (and a portable fan) no help was offered from the 3 members of staff stood at the desk especially as we had to lug it all up to the first floor - no lift available. Room was described as a river view, more like a flat roof view and a view of the staff quarters with their seats and washing hanging out! River view was marginal. Beds were comfy and clean but no welcome pack or instruction booklet for times of restaurant etc. Bathroom - tiles were blackened by mould, sink had a piece of gauze in the plug hole to catch unsightly debris from teeth brushing etc. No hot water at all! Ended up having a very luke warm shower, I had travelled straight from work and needed a shower before I headed out we were told it was being looked into that night and in the morning it was still cold, I accept things break down but again Unacceptable for a large main hotel of this sort. I will add that they did discount out stay by £20 for the hot water issue.

    Location Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom / bathroom was very basic and the shower awful. Rooms needs serious upgrading.

    Great location. Lovely dining room and good breakfast although 8am a bit late for business users

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Evxcellent weekend away could not fault the Hotel Royal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside seating area on the decking the picnic benches were not comfortable but the lounge area had comfy chairs.

    The room had dual aspect windows overlooking the river. There was tea and coffee making facilities with good quality biscuits. The towels were lovely white and fluffy with toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Could not have been in more central area plus views of river etc brilliant.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking bit difficult due to local contractors using dedicated hotel parking during the day.

    We visited to celebrate 63 years of marriage and had requested a room with a river view what we got far exceeded expectations a LOVELY room wth views. The breakfast included in the room price was superb and hosted by an extremely nice professional man called Shane. I appreciate times are difficult due to the Hotel being up for sale but just hope someone out there will recognise the potential.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    A great location and historical building, Queen Victoria stayed here,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who dealt with me was a little off-hand.

    The breakfast and breakfast-room were particularly good with spectacular views over the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausage at breakfast could have been better quality the rest was very tasty

    Large, clean room with a bath and shower and plenty of storage. Wonderful property, beautiful location with plenty of history. There's a bar and restaurant, free wifi and outdoor seating right by the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Good location, cheap car parks in the town for when the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold showers that barely trickled, friends in different parts of the hotel suffered the same issue. Weird and rude front desk staff. Car park was a free for all with people getting blocked in. Decor is very dated but is clean. Noisy windows rattling in the wind woke up a few people in my group. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay here again.

    Good location, cheap car parks in the town for when the hotel one gets full

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Basic failings in comfort standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the evening, and none until after 9am. Couldn't get a space in the car park, which is woefully small.

    Hotel location is the best in Llangollen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Location is great. Tired building, could be wonderful with about £1,000,000 update!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff indifferent until check out which was courteous and easy. Breakfast staff run off their feet but trying very hard. Limited hot water

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Turret Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with spectacular views over the river Food was lovely and staff very helpful We had a very enjoyable stay the room was super we stayed in the turret room I would fully recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable experience will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available at hotel our room was directly over main road very noisy if you book ask for room on the river side

    Hotel clean and comparable good breakfast and service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Our room was good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, could do with a bit of investment. Noisy outside our road facing room at night - drunken people, speeding traffic and the town clock that clangs every hour - all night.

    Location very central, with car park, for the boats, railway, river, shops and restaurants. Nice old building. A fab fry up and friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Beautiful location however in desperate need of modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dated, curtains hanging off the rail, no mattress protector on bed, shower was just a drip with poor water pressure, stains on carpet.

    Beautiful location and view overlooking the river. Breakfast was good and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: