Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Running Horses 3 stars

Old London Rd, Mickleham, RH5 6DU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Mickleham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was great!

    Loved the whole place. People were friendly, the food and coffee was amazing and the facilities were gorgeous. Very quaint old pub with lots of character. Be aware there are no lifts! Just a steep staircase.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy woke be up about midnight with banging I can only explained like beer barrels banging , this went on for over an hour ! Also in general very noisy place ! No parking , no breakfast WOUNDNT RECOMMEND RUNNING HORSES

    I stay away working couple of days nearly every week , but never stayed anywhere like this !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having eaten here several times before and had excellent meals, we decided to stay overnight too, for the price we expected more. Perhaps staying on a Sunday evening over a busy bank holiday weekend is not ideal; our room wasn't cleaned properly, (hairs in the sink, toothpaste marks on the shelf, used towels in the bathroom, fresh coffee cup stains on the bedside table etc) a broken toilet seat was not repaired throughout stay etc. Sunday evening dinner, (they don't usually provide dinner on Sundays) had clearly been prepared for lunch time. The staff/management did acknowledge the above with a reduction, which probably brought it into line with what it was worth, but we would have preferred to pay the full price and receive better.

    A typical old English coaching inn set in a picturesque village, bedrooms and public rooms are spacious and full of character Good atmosphere within a cozy bar and around the outdoor seating areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight. Be flexible, its worth it

    Lovely private cottage with beautiful areas to walk. Food was 5 star. Very close to a village with shopping. It was marvelous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one facilities niggle which was a loose toilet handle. Nothing major.

    Second stay here. Rooms are very nice, refurbished in the last few years and the style is a really stylish balance of old and new. Nespresso machine in the room is a nice touch. Also ate in the restaurant which has excellent food. Village setting opposite the church and close to Box Hill is peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cold when we arrived (we'd booked a few days earlier) and the heater clicked on and off all night both the mobile radiator placed in the room and some machinery outside. Then the shower heater controller was stuck on boiling hot!!! I think maybe just a few maintenance issues for Mgt to resolve because otherwise the room was lovely.

    The rooms are very nicely styled and main bar and restaurant have lovely warm atmosphere. Roaring fire and smell of wood. Food excellent as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stair carpet needs to be cleaned or replaced. It is dirty. No off street parking available but a quiet road on a sunday night.

    The room was clean and comfortable. It was quiet. A good large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy radiator but could be unplugged if you realised. Lighting a bit dim.

    Comfy beds, nicely decorated rooms with interesting furniture and good bathrooms. Friendly staff. We didn’t eat there so can’t comment on the food but dining room looked attractive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairway leading to and from rooms smell of food cooking. Mostly I smelled fish. Not pleasant. They may need better ventilation in the kitchen. That was the only area that needed attention.

    Cozy room with comfortable bed and pillows. Large bathroom with deep tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Eggs abit watery and parking not great but we did arrive early during a busy lunch hour

    Staff very attentive and beautifully decorated homely rooms. Lunch was superb and not overpriced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took very long in the morning.

    Great WiFi in the whole place. Nespresso machine in the room. Food very good. Great area for walks or runs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We encountered some noise at night which was probably "out of character" for this Inn, It did spoil what would have been an excellent stay.

    The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff were pleasant and informative and the cooked breakfast a delight. If we travel that way in the future we would definitely stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things to make it even better: biscuits with the free tea & coffee in my room would have been lovely; The option of a bit of extra light in the bedroom at times.

    I loved everything about your hotel, including the excellent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy heating system. No shutters for the window

    We were warmly welcome on our arrival. Fire was very nice in the fire place. I appreciated much the coffee and tea in the bedroom At breakfast, Nelson the waiter was very helpful .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, nothing to dislike about this charming pub/hotel

    A great coaching house style pub, serving really nice food. The staff were really friendly and could not do enough when asked to make the stay great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only concerns were a broken toilet seat and it took some time at night to realise that the electric oil heater was making the noise like a boiling water tank until I turned it off around 2.30 in the morning. But these minor maters did not detract from a lovely stay.

    Staff were excellent, location brilliant, room really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to be critical

    Running Horses is situated in a tiny hamlet opposite a historic church and the building retains all of it's old world charm (be sure to close the curtains as the rooms have large windows overlooking a street but noise is very low to the quiet location) the bar and restaurant are busy enough to create a charming atmosphere and the English real ale and food are a great pleasure. The extensive walks through the vast woodland are excellent but challenging enough to prepare for the evening meal!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities i.e. Room service, wi if etc for price. Communal areas a little shabby i.e. Staircase carpets.

    Staff good, accommodating, helpful. Relaxed, pleasant environment. Old building but warm and comfortable. Really good location for walking Box Hill. Restaurant excellent. It is a pub but a good one. I would recommend. Room decorated nicely and good size. I got a deal on price but otherwise normal rate I would say pricey for what you get in terms of facilities. I would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was the quintessential historic little English inn. A huge fireplace, a cozy pub, great food, and a beautiful location. The staff were wonderful and the locals at the pub made for a great atmosphere. The bus stop is right across the street and the bus arrives every half hour, so it's easy to get around if you don't have a car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not fault our stay at the Running Horses.

    Every was great about our stay at the Running Horses. The room was comfortable. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Running Horses is one of the best places we have stayed in the UK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wardrobe, only coat hangers on wall hooks. Shelf above sink broken no room for our toiletries, had to put them on mantelpiece in bedroom Temperature control on shower was extremely stiff and difficult to adjust. Dirty stairway carpet to rooms. Stayed in room Cheltenham

    Food was adequate. could have been better considering it was a 1 Rosette restaurant. Bed was comfortable and the coffee machine made good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was on the street, but not really a problem (outside school run times).

    Great pub style B&B, good ambiance, food was very good whether breakfast of dinner. Staff also excelent. Manager Ian was a great guy, helpful and friendly. Very impressed with the coffee maker on the room, pod style and gave great coffee very easily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom rather small but ok for one night and bed was comfortable.

    Breakfast was very tasty and good quality. The finest tea on looks and taste I have had in years - Birchal Great Rift. Large bathroom although toilet seat and taps very loose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deco just a bit dated

    Great location lovely comfy bed and great breakfast. Very friendly bar staff just s little run off their feet , could do with another member of staff to help

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had been to Denbies estate for a wine and cheese making day and was recommended the Running Horses as it was only just a couple of miles away. Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean room and liked the Nespresso machine. Excellent breakfast - full english included in price of room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation was okay since we always arrived early enough and had opportunity to park off the street.

    Staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used razor left in bathroom and someone else's bath gel.

    Rooms very tastefully decorated and plenty of room. Nicely appointed bathroom. However, a shame that the shower temperature control was not working resulting in only very hot water. And there was a used razor left in the shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been slightly improved with a wider fresh fruit offering, although the cooked offering was good. I would also expect (but could not verify as the weather was very inclement when I stayed) that the front bedrooms could be a little noisy if the outside revellers were present at the external tables in the evening.

    A nice inn with good rooms, but what was really good was the evening meal (very tasty). It is very handy for visitors to Box Hill (whether cycling or walking). The Box Hill hike was very well signposted by the National Trust, so easy to follow. There is lovely old church opposite the inn, so something interesting for visitors to see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had stayed for dinner, the menu looked more than tempting. A new chef who clearly knows the meaning of good country food.

    A true English pub with first class accommodation and breakfast to get up early for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so comfy, the staff could not have been any more helpful - both prior to our stay and while we were there, and the food was brilliant. I am gluten free and food decisions were easy to make, with well informed staff. The room was lovely and quirky - just how I like it, and I had the best night's sleep. But I have to say that the staff really make this place. They are funny and friendly and make you feel so welcome. We will definitely be returning, and if I lived closer this would definitely have become my new local!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath was difficult to get into, the room was quite noisy, both internal and external noise. Breakfast was mediocre. There was no off street parking. The roadside parking was covered in very deep pot holes (beware).

    The bedroom had a lot of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a small issue, we were not concerned but others may be parking on street.

    The bedroom was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was fantastic. Staff were helpful and breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room, nice linens, tiled bathroom in excellent condition, good dinner and breakfast. In short, we liked everything, including the proximity (1/2 hour) to Gatwick Airport, while still being in the countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the front outside beer garden which made it a little noisy at night. It was a very hot week and without air conditioning the room was very warm. Internal lighting was too dark. Parking was OK but not easy as visitors parked all over the place making it difficult for resident guests at times.

    The room was comfortable, the hotel staff very obliging. Convenient location to what we wanted to do on this trip from Australia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beer was lacking a bit, would be amazing to have a good selection of more craft beer.

    Amazing rooms, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Food was equally amazing with a talented and experimental chef.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was featured a luxuriously soft bed and a large ensuite. The breakfast included with the room was mouth watering. Running Horses also kindly provided a booklet in our room detailing nearby walks and activities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our visit it happened to be noisy from 6.30am with delivery of goods to the pub.

    This is a very comfortable and friendly country pub convenient to walkers if you are walking the North Downs Way. Rooms are very comfortable and well-equipped. Restaurant is good (but not outstanding) and there is a very good wine list.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise coming from other rooms.

    Full of character. Lovely quiet location. Great walking from the door. Stand out breakfast and one of the best we've had. Lovely eating area: Cozy but with natural light coming through the glass roof.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The whole experience is first class from the very welcoming friendly staff, food selection at dinner, accommodation (the room was amazing) and a perfect breakfast all contributed to a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the food was average and the full English breakfast was lukewarm considering there were only 2 other people taking breakfast when we arrived. We thought this area let the other aspects of our experience down. We decided if we were to stay again we would go into Dorking to eat.

    The reception from your staff when we arrived,very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in procedure took quite a long time due to starting up of the computer system, tip; leave reservation system open especially during check-in time (14:00 - 18:00).

    The room was absolutely gorgeous, I could have spent a week here. Beautiful view of the church, cosy bar and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities were on a side road adjacent to hotel. Parking was on the road. I must add we didn't have a problem parking each evening but would imagine during summer months parking near to hotel could present a problem.

    Staff excemplary. Good choice at breakfast, nothing too much trouble for staff. Close to Box Hill and Denbies winery, both worth a visit. Bedrooms were nicely furnished and there was an excellent choice of toiletries. Towels changed daily. Nice touch included coffe making machine and kettle for tea etc. Excellent dining facilities which proved very popular most evenings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was hoping for a better selection of beer...

    Beds unusually comfortable, breakfast really good, also for a vegetarian. Room very cosy and homely. The best part is that EVERYTHING contributed to the 'old british pub' feeling: the surroundings outside, the pub itself, the restaurant with very tasty food and the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very pleasant stay and will probably stay again in the future. We stayed in Ascot room which was very nice, extremely comfortable bed, had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was beautifully fitted out. I felt the bath though could benefit from a couple of grab handles and some sort of step up as I felt a little unsafe getting in and out. The reception area could do with improvement as it was not clear where to go to check in. The bar and restaurant were great although I thought a little bit pricey. Food was excellent. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the Cheltenham Room, please be aware you are at the side of the pub and the Grundon Bin lorry arrives at 6.55am also the kitchen ducting system started up at just gone 7am. Not a big issue to be honest if the door closed to the bathroom, however the handle didn't work correctly so we had to wedge it shut with a magazine. Might want to get this sorted out.

    The pub was a lovely old coaching inn, very comfortable lovely bedroom in a beautiful village location but close to Dorking and surrounding areas. The rooms were very well appointment with very comfortable beds and everything you could need for a lovely stay away from home, we stayed two nights. We eat at the pub on Wednesday night and the food was very good indeed, and we were joined by friends for the evening. The wine choice was great as was the real ale available which was also very well kept.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    Quite simply a wonderful place to stay. The food delicious and generous portions. The room was beautiful. Great location. Super-friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have preferred a lighter duvet as the one we had consisted of feathers.

    The quirky building was most exciting, set in the beautiful rolling hills of Surrey. It was in the perfect position for visiting Polesdon Lacey and Boxhill. The staff were very efficient and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water tap turned on opposite way and scalded us both .. no shelf in the bathroom for toiletries .. no soap to wash our hands though there was shower gel etc.. but these were very minor issues !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was comfortable reasonably equipped but had no wardrobe only hangers and a coat hook which would be a disadvantage for a longer stay. Food is first class modern cuisine beautifully presented and delicious. All staff are friendly and efficient and the whole atmosphere is very good. A very well run old charm Inn ideal for a relaxing break or as a base to explore surrey. Good place to stay for horse racing fans. Only minor complaint is there is very little at Michleham where the Inn is based but I would still return to stay again and recommend to anyone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Car Park, but we were aware of that before we arrived, however, found a place at the side of the pub.

    Excellent service and breakfast. Staff wonderful, food wonderful with a great local atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site parking apart from lane next to Running Horses or on main road.Comfortable Stay at Running Horses

    Size of room was very good also large bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Staff very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited parking. Timing of breakfast is not helpful if you have to leave for work early and no offer of anything to have in your room instead so I had paid for a breakfast which I couldn't have.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room that was well equipped.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like but would be nice to add biscuits to the room.

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. The food was wonderful a true find.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disasterous "superior" room. The washbasin taps were literally falling off. The shower head was loose and water went outside of the cubicle. We reported the problem to the staff. We were promised a call from the manager (who was out at the time) but no call has been received after 4 days. The fact the manager did not bother calling suggests a lack of commitment so we will be cancelling our return booking.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We should have had an extra night!

    We enjoyed every part of our stay. The room was cosy & very comfortable. The breakfast was great & there was a menu for cooked choices.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely decorated room with very comfortable bed. All staff welcoming and helpful. Food enjoyable and tasty. Quiet village location. Fresh breakfast. Little oasis a few minutes off main road.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no formal parking. Arrive early for the nearest spaces.

    This is a pub with rooms, so it is cosy, informal and very relaxed. It also retains its character, so our room was twice the size of an average modern hotel and the floor sloped towards the door so it was easy to find your way around at night. In contrast the dining (and breakfast room) are 'country' formal. Overall a very welcoming and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one complaint. There is a pub called "Running Horse" (single) a couple of miles away. So, though we had booked a room, we had to get a second taxi to take us to the other pub Running Horses: which does do accommodation! Both are close to Leatherhead. The web sites really do not make it clear there are two separate establishments. This confusion must happen frequently, and it should be sorted out.

    Clean and comfortable, with very helpful staff. When we got there, we did not want a big evening meal, so we had just two starters, which was fine. Both were excellent: and one was a souffle to die for!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nowhere to place your toilet bag in the bathroom. Needed a towel ring/rail near sink for hand towel. More light needed in the bedroom by the mirror. Service very slow at Dinner on second night.

    Comfortable room. Good breakfast. Good location. Quiet village.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and efficient staff, Comfortable and clean room and smart on suite bathroom. Good Breakfast. Downstairs nice pub and restaurant. Happy to recommend Running Horses.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem is lack of dedicated parking.

    Excellent food for breakfast and dinner, very friendly staff. The room was great, everything I needed was there. Bathroom with all the new equipment. I was worried a bit about staying in the cold weather, as historic buildings unfortunately come with historic windows, but they gave me enough radiators in the room to overcome the problem. :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Staff were amazing the whole time we stayed. We had a few special requests and they went the extra mile to look after us. The room and facilities are beautifully decorated, modern and very comfortable. Dinner at their restaurant was delicious, as was breakfast next day. Lovely roaring fire in the pub. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing...sorry...but it was the restaurant staff uniforms...they weren't very complimentary considering what an amazing hotel it is...change that little 'dislike' and it would be 10/10...see you soon :) Jack & Diana

    We arrived to a warm welcome and quick, attentive, service. It was our 30th anniversary and we were pleasantly surprised being offered a complimentary glass of champagne. This was despite the hotel not being informed when booking. We were in the Oxford Suite, which we both loved, and dispute the floor sloping away (or was that the drink)it was a truly memorable evening and the morning breakfast (delivered to our room) was delivered by an attentive (French/Spanish accent I think) member of staff who looked after us both, without fault. We are already planing coming back for my 60th in February but I am sure we will squeeze in a visit or two before then. I'd offer 9/10...only for the one small negative in 'what didn't you Luke's comments.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner stopped at 6pm....just as we arrived so we had to go out to eat which was a shame as we were tired from a long drive and just wanted to get comfy and relax.

    Decor of room was of very high standard. Loved the expresso machine facility. Shower was amazing. Staff were welcoming and helpful. ...especially Nelson. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking no problem on this visit - parked right outside, but is limited and possibly could be a problem as it is limited to the roads around the pub.

    Lovely period rooms and bar area. Staff and locals extremely friendly and helpful. Selection of ales good and food excellent in quality and quantity! Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking limited although we found a space at midday and returned fairly late to check in apart from that nothing else was a negative.

    The room was perfectly appointed, The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was a statement piece.Lovely to have a coffee pod and a selection of teas in the room which were the best I have tasted!! will try and order them now. We ate late just before the kitchen closed and both chose a starter as we wanted something light,the food was superb. Breakfast was exceptionally well presented and extremely flavorsome.All staff were very welcoming.If we are in the area again would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little tricky sometimes but we always managed to get reasonably close. Perhaps a choice of a 'Continental' breakfast would be nice.

    Lovely room, very comfy bed. Breakfast was good though a bit more selection on the cereals and fresh fruit may not go amiss. Cooked breakfast was superb. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in the bedroom, one of the bathroom lights not working, quilt not big enough for King Size bed.

    Comfortable bed, nice size room, great shower, fabulous breakfast, the staff were very attentive and polite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage/clothes storage in room could be a little better for stays longer than 2-3 days.

    Very friendly welcome, and throughout the whole stay. Breakfast and evening meals were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an incredible find! The rooms are absolutely stunning (think soho house standard), the beds are heavenly and they have all the gadgets you could ever need. The pub itself is near perfect, the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic. What a gem of a place, can't wait to return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, staff were all amazing as a woman on business I felt totally at ease. Food was to die for with a superb wine list. Absolutely Amazing ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was quite dim and needs some task lights for reading, pouring out hot drinks and working at the desk. Bit sad soya (milk alternative) could not be provided. Breakfast is not served promptly at 7:30 but is good when it does appear...

    Fabulous bed, which has lovely silky/crisp linen and a soft overlay on a supportive mattress. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The decor is individual, well designed and in keeping with the age of the pub. Also nice and quiet. The bus stop right outside is potentially great but I couldn't get on the peak hour one to Dorking :( Good location for walking & National Trust (Box Hill etc) and near a nice winery.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was pricey and no very substantial. We did add chips as an extra afterwards, when we realised the small quantity but these, or a roll an butter should have been included in the price! The quality of the food was was good.

    Beautiful location. Good quality furnishings and bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room furniture looked fine but is not really comfortable. The bed was fine but the old fashioned chairs are not what I want to relax in.

    My wife and I enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with the way we were treated by the staff especially at breakfast. Hafiz went one step more than most waiters to see that we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was Epsom, and it was a bit difficult getting into the bath to hae a shower. Also the room seemed overly hot.

    Location was very good for us. The staff were cheerfull and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, would have liked more choice on the cereal side.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Running Horses traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: