Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rutland Arms Hotel, Bakewell 3 stars

The Square, Bakewell, DE45 1BT, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Bakewell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1005 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Rush to the Rutland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a proper glass in my room ( not plastic)and maybe bottled water.

    I have stayed at the Rutland many times and have always enjoyed my stay. Very comfortable with a very good breakfast and in a superb location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Central location and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi-fi access/connectivity in the bedroom; shortage of parking spaces resulting in having to double park and having to then move the car

    Central location and rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult to say the least and the fact that although two single rooms were both booked together we were nowhere near each other which would have been handy.

    Very central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    A short break in the Peak District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is situated in courtyard opposite hotel near a busy junction of A6. Difficult to see approaching traffic when exiting the car park. No space in bathroom for wash bags. The little display shelf was dusty, so I cleaned it before putting anything on it. We had an evening meal on our first night. When I enquired about the specials (which was printed at the bottom of the menu which stated 'please ask about the specials') I was informed there weren't any! So why offer it?

    The location was central in Bakewell & handy for local buses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Central Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park across from main hotel and not well signposted, a little hazardous for those coming in/out at same time. Stayed in courtyard room where door was a little hard to open and although shower was hot the shower head is too small.Had to walk over to main hotel for breakfast in the rain.

    Good central location, extra large bed, did not wow but clean and comfortable. Choice of breakfast was good although not the best coffee, the waitress service was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay but very warm room, hard work with the dogs but accommodating for us. Lovely staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The closeness to the car park

    The staff are really great. Our room was ok, we had a dog friendly room so was in the courtyard. It was adequate for our needs but little things like ant catcher traps on the floor behind the chair and dressing table which our pets found and presumably ingested some of the chemicals so we were up with one of them at 4 am! Our room was directly onto the car park so lots of noise when some bikers were leaving behind early. The room was also really warm, we had a fan so that helped. I'd definately stay here again but maybe in the cooler months and when it's not so busy in Bakewell 😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    near perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff having a conversation with every other word a swear word!

    Excellent location, clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    the staff are very nice, polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the parking is very tight and the pressure of the shower is very weak. Not that clean either, the staircase did not look like it had been hoovered for days. the lights in the bedroom are very low, hard to read in bed and the room was very small. But the worst was the noise from the traffic just outside the hotel. I was expecting better for the price of the room. We also had to wait 1.30 hour after 3pm for our room to be ready, not a good start after a long drive.

    the staff are very nice, polite. the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Central location, so not for a lay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is located across the road from the hotel. There they own a courtyard with some additional rooms. The car park can get busy, and the hotel says to double park and leave your keys at reception.

    The hotel is situated in a very central position in the town, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable, but because of the road outside can be a little noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    The room in the hotel was good, the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived we were given a room opposite the hotel. The room smelled awfull. They had cleaned the carpet that morning, and was still wet. I complained but the lady of the dayshift said there was no other room. Later that day i returned and asked again for the smell was terrible. The lady of the eveningshift gave us a single room with a small double bed. We were happy as long as we were out of that room. The next day we got a double room, and that was fine. We were offered a drink on the house, allthough i thought a money compansation would have been better. But having booked with Booking.com she said that was no option?? When we returned for the drink, there was no beer( for my husband). something was broke. We had our belly full of mishaps, so we went somewhere else.

    The room in the hotel was good, the bed was comfy. The bathroom is a little dated but functional. The breakfast was plenty and very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    good hotel excellent location friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    during breakfast more than one staff were on their mobile phone!!!!

    location - stayed in the courtyard small room but comfy - ideal for business reception staff very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, central location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the 3rd floor which was not ideal with a baby, buggy etc and it was so hot up there too we had to keep the windows open all the time. No storage or shelves in the bathroom and the water pressure on the shower and bath was really poor. There is nowhere to stop directly outside as the entrance is on a roundabout! So you have to park over the road and walk back which is fine but it’s not very clear when you arrive.

    The staff were amazing so kind and they helped us a lot with everything as we have a young baby so lots of stuff! The breakfast was amazing so delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was not serviced one day at all, no clean cups or replenished drink making facilities, one day we had no toilet roll left. The shower would not drain, it was blocked with other people's hair.

    Breakfast was good (but ran out of hash browns for 2 days). Staff at breakfast friendly and helpful. Room comfortable - we stayed in the Courtyard and it was reasonably quiet even for a bank holiday weekend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs attention to detail. Shower pressure low and mattress poor. But when I told staff they were receptive and helpful

    Central easy to find and nice to stay at an old traditional property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, decent size room but in need of more comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparseness of the room, cheap furnishings, no room in the bathroom for toiletries (room 7). All a bit in need of a little luxury. Fresh fruit would be nice for breakfast rather than tinned

    Size of the room and the location was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Love Bakewell but disappointed with room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom carpet needed cleaning big stains on it.There was no view from the window it looked over the kitchen roof very disappointing.The lights in the bedroom very poor couldnt see with the bedside lamps.

    The location good and parking was good breakfast very nice staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast very good, service excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, booked a twin room but given a double room on first floor, instead of twin on second floor. Staff did not come to change room over to twin set up.

    Breakfast very good, service excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't as clean as I expect, carpet dirty. Room wasn't serviced, had to ask both days for it to be done even though it said the rooms as serviced and replenished everyday. 2 days out of 3 they ran out of certain breakfast items.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fish and chip evening meal could have been better (but excellent service)

    Brilliant location. Grateful that bag was taken to our room without us asking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On both mornings we had to queue to go in to the dining room for breakfast. The scrambled eggs did not appear to be fresh and the coffee was tasteless. Our bedroom was very small and in need of decoration. The view from the window was of pipes, extractor fans and flat roofs. We had dinner in the dining room on the first night, the menu was very limited and the steaks were not cooked as requested. We have stayed at The Rutland Arms Hotel on previous occasions and have very much enjoyed our stay. Standards appear to have slipped since then and we would think twice about staying at The Rutland Arms again

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our visit to the area, but found the hotel disappointing,apart from the food & the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old & in need of some serious renovation.The window frames need replacing & the plumbing needs attention.The furniture in our room was good ,but the duvets were needed a wash.The seal between the bath & the floor needed attention in our room.

    The food was good & the staff were extremely helpful. The position of the hotel was good,central position in the town & near to other places of interest such as Chatsworth.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were incredibly friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small and there was some noise from outside which made it difficult to sleep

    The staff were incredibly friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff are great, very friendly helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and dining room needs huge modernisation and investment Car parking can be difficult, limited spaces and very tight, better than nothing I suppose!

    Staff are great, very friendly helpful Breakfast was really good Rooms were very clean Location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming but spoilt by traffic noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old building, very central and the traffic noise at night is awful especially as it was warm and there was no air-con so we had to have the window open. Someone said that rooms in the annex were quieter. Also the water pressure on the top floor was very low and it took 15 mins to run a bath!

    The staff were all friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was good with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    Friendly Staff, Awful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room incredibly hot. Noisy, as hotel is on a large roundabout. Shower too weak to use, so had to have bath which took 30 minutes to run. Tap runs hot water only at night; not great for brushing teeth! Breakfast room incredibly hot too. Hotel very tired. Not sure if it has new owners since it was on TV’s Hotel Inspector but they’ve a lot of work to do! Shame, as staff all very pleasant. Bakewell is nice and fairly busy during the day but even in August it’s dead in the evenings with most pubs and restaurants pretty empty.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with parking. Hotel was very clean & the room was spacious & comfortable (room 9). Breakfast was very good with a wide choice. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok for an overnight, but no great shakes for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was moderate, and not as good as it should have been for a three star hotel. The evening meal was particularly disappointing: the pasta and steak were both poorly cooked and the choice of sauces inappropriate.

    Large bedroom with fan, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    A lovely hotel with friendly staff in the heart of Bakewell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The room was a good size, bathroom a little small but it was ok for one night . Bed was comfortable, room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side for the price. Bathroom was clean but very small and it was hard to squeeze around the door. The room was located in a courtyard car park so it was difficult to open the window or curtains for ventilation without being seen by passers by and other guests.

    Location was excellent. Very clean room and the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    The location & the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the shower was basic & needs improving. Also I'd asked for twin beds but got a double.

    The location & the view. The breakfast & parking. Lovely room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Will use again if ever back in Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small issue would be the parking. Struggled to get into the car park after nipping out in the evening but that’s not exactly something that can be altered.

    Ok I only stayed for a night but would happily return for longer. I was in Bakewell as was taking part in the Macmillan Cancer Support Peak District Mighty Hike so left in the early hours(4:30). Was mightily surprised when they told me they would still provide me with a continental breakfast! Room was clean and tidy to the standard you would expect. Very happy with the staff, room and breakfast provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    A lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the other barman whilst perfectly pleasant, kept looking at his phone - would be better done out of sight of customers.

    A lovely old hotel. Ate in the bar, steak & wine for two at £24.95 good value for money. Lovely breakfast next morning. Young lad on the bar very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location,try the wheatshief for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 33 across the main a6 road in a annex,breakfast was in the main hotel.the weather was good so not a problem to us but a different story in bad weather.would not be as easy for people with walking problems.wheelchair ramps are there

    Nice room ,very nice breakfast,location very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved Hotel very central for every thing we wanted to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Lovely room bed comfy was very hot weather and was provided with a fan. Parking good was allowed to leave our car on day of departure whilst we did some extra shopping etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, fabulous old historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in coaching house over the road and room was right on the road. As we were not use to traffic this room was noisy,particularly early morning, otherwise everything was fine.

    Fabulous location in Bakewell. Breakfast was lovely. Parking was a breeze. Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    A great location to visit nearby attractions Haddon Hall and Chatsworth House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi fi without putting all your personal details into the system, even then it was slow and patchy. Some may not like that you are on a busy roundabout, so there was lots of traffic noise - but that didn't worry us. You are in the middle of the town. So convenient, great pubs nearby.

    The position was excellent the parking fantastic and the staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Central location, friendly staff, nice bed, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the hotel car park is an issue sometimes as it is tight and small! We changed rooms (only because we booked an extra day) from the main building to the courtyard. When I went into the bathroom the toilet seat had a cleaned wrap around the seat which is great, but once I removed this and lifted the seat the toilet and rim had not been cleaned at all and was dirty. We called reception and the receptionist came over (the courtyard is across the road from the hotel) and cleaned it all herself.”

    Central location, friendly staff, nice bed, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although comfortable was a little cramped for small cases. The parking is not evident upon arrival and we had to go to reception to ask for directions.

    The room was comfortable. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast as there were choices apart from a big fry up, such as smoked salmon and smoked haddock . The hotel being in the town meant there were choices for dinner and space for a pleasant evening walk. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Short break excellent breakfast hotel in walking distance of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything , we didn't, like about the hotel

    We have a small dog, & al though of course as expected he wasn't, allowed in the restaurant the hotel set breakfast up for us in the bar, & an excellent waiter attended to us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing the Hotel could do but room was really hot and because windows all had to be opened it was a noisy with traffic.

    There was a little confusion over my booking but it was sorted out promptly and to my complete satisfaction

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Not the best stay by any standard. Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room in the courtyard, carpet was very dirty.The breakfast was poor.Tea cups dirty. Having to cross a busy road in the rain for breakfast.

    Thursday steak deal in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park wasn’t clearly shown so we ended up parking in a long stay car park which was fine. The main issue was the room we was put in (6) was quite small, very warm and stuffy and had a lovely view of the kitchens!! Not worth the price we paid. Also when we went down to breakfast we were completely ignored by the two waiters, so after a while decided to seat ourselves on a already used table. We then sat there waiting for them to take our order and offer us coffee etc, but they still ignored us. In the end I went up and asked if they were still serving and he said yes. He then came and took our order, we both ordered salmon & eggs and when it came was missing the muffin, when we asked where it was he just said it wasn’t on the order!!! They bought us a pot of coffee with no milk and all the juices were either gone or warm.

    It was in a good location and most of the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A very welcoming place to stay in a beautiful part of UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention on the paperwork we had about the parking arrangements. We drove around the hotel twice before we finally gave up looking for the hotel car park and found one in the town centre. Long walk with. The luggage. It is in fact over the road from the hotel in the antique centre.

    A few creaky floorboards and sticking Windows but nothing exceptional for an old building. Other than that reasonably well decorated and furnished. Had a nice feel to the place and over all we felt comfortable there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    we really enjoyed our stay - thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower power was poor - but appreciate its an old building.

    the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. the room was comfortable and spacious. parking was great. the venue is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    It fitted the bill perfectly for a short stay on a beautiful Summers day/evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a courtyard room which was small and basic but comfortable and most of all quiet. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of made to order choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing. Not a good start to my 25th Anniversary celebrations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the noisiest I have ever slept in, our room was on the roundabout of the A6. Conversation in reception very audible, woken at 6.00 am by staff talking downstairs. At the hotels recommendation we tried their Juniper Gin and Pizza restaurant, gin good, pizzas and staff awful. We were offered compensation of a free breakfast, we had already paid for it in our room rate!

    Breakfast. It was plentiful. The bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    But disappointing but was rectified but a reduction in the rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work and despite asking for someone to attend to it no one came before we had to leave. We were on a tour of England so not having a shower was disappointing. Also only one pillow each and my friend said her bed wasn’t comfortable but mine was fine.

    Excellent breakfast and was given a reduction in the rate due to poor facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Bakewell beautiful, hotel tired and needs money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpet was dirty and mouldy on the shower tiles. The whole of the main hotel was very tired and needed money spent as it could be a superb hotel. The breakfast room is was too small for all guests and it felt a little like Fawlty Towers at times! I.e. Being served tea in a coffee pot and staff talking over us at the table to other guests!

    The location was excellent staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Was ok stay breakfast was the best thing about the stay and waiting staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude and unhelpful. Rather like faulty towers . Rooms could do with a spring clean and steam the carpets

    Comfortable dining room and bar area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Shocking!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start!! We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who was very helpful but that was where the positivity ends about this stay!! Yes car parking is available but it’s a bit hit and miss if you will get a space plus it’s a little bit hairy getting in and out of the car park which is over the road. On our return we asked the manager if we could have two extra pillows and he grunted that the hotel was full so probably not and he’d ‘try’! He did show up with two extra and damn near threw them at us! He’s a very strange character to be the face of the hotel, no exactly welcoming. Anyway room ok but definitely over priced for what you get. Yes relatively clean but not to the standard we would have expected for the price. Slept ok, down to breakfast and this is where ‘the manager’ excelled in his customer services skills NOT!! Staff were fantastic, very welcoming and breakfast was actually really good, we were in the breakfast room for around 20 mins and just finishing our tea when ‘the manager’ came up and asked us to leave as he needed the table???????? We were in disbelief!!! I’ve never been asked to leave breakfast?? There was another seating area in the bar that could have been made available for other guests if they were full, yet he said that some guests want to eat in the breakfast room and we explained that yes we also wanted to eat in the breakfast room?!!! It was shocking and other guests could not believe he did that to us!!!!! He was feeble in his response to our disgust and we left paying him only a nominal amount for such a shocking stay here!!! All the other staff were excellent but they really need to get rid of this man, he’s awful.

    Fantastic location and breakfast. Staff on reception, bar staff & breakfast staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    The food was excellent as we had dinner in the evening and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was rubbish and didn't work in our room. Each time we got in it stopped and then we had to go through the whole process again. How many times do you want to put in your name and e-mail and why they need my age, I have no idea!!!

    The food was excellent as we had dinner in the evening and it was delightful and the flavours were really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Fine for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely hot -it was a hot day but windows all closed and towel rail and heaters on. Shower was barely above a dribble

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    My daughter and I both enjoyed our stay and agreed we will stay at the Rutland Arms again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi. Ground floor room in annex was too warm and unable to open window as by busy road. Will request upstairs room next time. Parking like Russian roulette. But we managed parking two cars so must not complain.

    Superb breakfast. Very clean room, friendly staff. Convenient as in the heart of the town. Intent to visit again next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.0
    Ideal situation with one very attentive member of staff but overall rather disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our reception was cool. I acknowledged that we were early but there was no suggestion that the room might be ready earlier than 3.00 p.m.. I was told it would be ready at 3.00 p.m. and that was that. I booked the hotel partly because it affords parking. I was unaware that there are parking places for fewer than half of the rooms and that there would be the need for much manoeuvering! I had the misfortune of ordering calves liver and was served with a bowl of mash with 4 chunks of liver on top - I have never experienced calves liver like this although I was assured that it was indeed calves liver. It did not look like calves liver and it certainly did not taste like calves liver! Very disappointing indeed!

    The situation is ideal and the bedroom was very confortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at hotel early afternoon. The receptionist would not let us check in until after 3pm, she made no attempt to find out if the room was ready prior to that or not.

    All round good standard of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    The location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas are fine, but our room was disgraceful at this price point. The carpet was filthy. Ancient secondary double glazing was also very dirty and the windows behind it had not been cleaned in a long time and, in the bathroom, were even badly cracked. The room looked and felt like something in a cheap B&B. WiFi can only be used if you agree to their full access to your data for marketing. The shower over bath is one of the most feble I have ever experienced and the sink tap only ran hot with no cold water available. The full cooked breakfast is good but the continental is very limited. Forget ham, cheese, melon, strawberries, musli etc., think basic cheap cereals, Danish pastries, prunes and yoghurt. Even the apricots and fruit compote promised in the menu were missing. I raised all these issues with staff and the attitude seemed to be, 'it is what it is' . Their solution to the outrageous WiFi condition? Oh, just enter a fake email address!

    The location; right in the town centre but , beware, that does mean a lot of traffic noise as it is very close to a busy roundabout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Charming, extremely helpful staff, delicious food, spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming, extremely helpful staff, delicious food, spacious, comfortable bedroom. Try the Bakewell Pudding from the little bakery down the road - outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    The breakfast was the best part, but overall just average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of room upon arrival was very poor and had to be changed. Also staff at check in very pompous. Rooms need an upgrade especially the carpets. Whilst parking available it is very dangerous to get in and out of. Overall hotel did not meet expectations for the price.

    The breakfast was very good as was the service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably pleasant hotel in centre of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan or air conditioning in rooms and if you are on the 2nd floor, its a climb up 2 flights of stairs with your luggage

    Breakfast was good and the location is excellent, limited parking spaces available - but if you managed to get one, that was quite useful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Stylish, welcoming traditional hotel in heart of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs were accompanied by slightly burnt 'doorstep' slices of brown bread. A shame as the eggs were good. Simple toast would have been better.

    Good choice of hot breakfast options as well as cold buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room as a clean and comfortable with basic amenities. The staff were very helpful Breakfast was cooked to order and the ingredients tasted fresh and wholesome! The evening meal was very nice at the Rutland Arms. There is little choice in Bakewell in terms of restaurants but if you are in the area be sure to dine here as a change from pub food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet in the four poster that we were in needed cleaning it was really grubby.

    We liked the location could see all the main street.The breakfast were very good well cooked.The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original room we were put in hadn’t been cleaned properly, the toilet had been used & not flushed but still had a sash over it to show it had been cleaned, I’m not sure how that happened at all as not only was the toilet ful(I won’t go into further detail!)l but I smelt it as soon as we entered the room & thought there must be a drain problem, sadly not! Also the bins hadn’t been emptied so the room clearly hadn’t been cleaned very well. At this point my husband went to the reception to complain. They couldn’t have been nicer about it & repeatedly apologised. We were then given a lovely room with a four poster bed in the main hotel at the same rate we’d payed for a standard courtyard room so that was fine. I’m sure this doesn’t happen often if at all & I know they had a wedding on that day & a 90th birthday because they had told us before when we had asked about parking. They didn’t try to fob us off with that excuse though, they were aware the state of the toilet wasn’t exceptable. Anyway we got off to a bad start but all ended well & we would certainly stay there again

    There was a nice relaxed atmosphere & friendly staff. The included breakfast was good & the restaurant tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Welcome, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative we didn't have Hand Soap, grand scheme of things not a major problem.

    Had a lovely welcome when checking in, wasn't aware there was a car park so we were directed to that. Room 9 was very pleasant, clean and had a view of the main square in Bakewell. Thought the traffic noise maybe an issue but it wasn't. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Ideal town centre hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom on the small side and poor pressure in the shower but it was spotless. Crossing the road to get to the main building at busy junction was a downside.

    Excellent Courtyard room, very spacious with lots of drawer and hanging space. Very comfortable beds and lovely linens. Toiletries by Pure were lovely. Parking on site. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Good central location, good helpfu staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and well laid out, could have had more hangers for dresses and shirts, luckily we arrived early and so managed to get a parking space, bed was comfortable but the wooden frame was noisy when you moved,staff were friendly and helpful only complaint was breakfast, service staff were great but my wife ordered buttered mushrooms and poached egg, the egg and bacon were well done and the mushrooms came cooked in a hot black pepper and cream sauce so she left them. Overall a nice stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal we had 4 kids fish and chips and 2 adults fish and chips price difference £5.00 difference in size nothing. So I would suggest an adult have the same as kids and save some money.also kids would eat fish fingers better than fish as u have to check fish for bones.

    Breakfast really good.we hadn't booked an evening meal however tables were put together to accommodate 10 of us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff serving are a mix of very good and very poor. Breakfast service is chaotic with an hour's wait one day. The low water pressure means the shower doesn't work.

    The location is great, although if you have a room in the courtyard you will cross a busy road to go to the main building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Sadly not as good as it used to be! Overpriced for the level of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not cleaned properly. Toilet broke in middle of stay. Shower kept changing temperature while using. Could become dangerous when scalding water coming out!

    Most staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay. Hotel good position. Bathroom issues marred perfect weekend but still good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom floor was slippery on the tiles with the bath mat and stepping into and out of bath to shower had no hand rails, hence the towel rail was loose as this had been used previously. There was no shower mat so bath was slippery (available from foyer apparently but little use when you are in the shower), and the shower glass did not stop a lake of water on the floor after each shower use. Sink was partially blocked and took an age to empty.

    Rooms comfortable and clean. Amenities all worked and high level of facility in the room (iron etc). Beds comfortable and large. No issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in a charming location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with an extra shelf in the bathroom as the only one is very high up. Very small hole in my duvet cover. It was lovely to have the white cloths at breakfast but they need to be changed in between guests another family were at our table before us and ours was a little bit dirty

    Absolutely charming historic hotel in a great location in the middle of Bakewell. My single room in the stables was very cosy and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being really picky, mugs instead of cups & saucers in the room.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Room a nice size, the chair & table in the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location but noisy and poor attention to room maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is insufficient at weekends and cars need to be double parked, the hotel staff are then expected to move cars if required. This we heard at 0100 on Sat morning with a lot of shouting, swearing and car alarms be set off by the staff moving cars around. The toilet flush took 10 mins to fill the cistern and the shower mixer dud not work so either scolding hot or cold shower was possible. The hotel being surrounded by roads means from 0500 car traffic noise is an issue.

    The hotel is ideally located in centre of Bakewell and the room servicing was done well, clean hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous and breakfast was outstanding x
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience. We were tired from travelling and the hotel was soft and comfortable. The staff were resourceful and a real pleasure. Thank you we will be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Would recommend that people try and find another option to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite shabby and in need to renovation. Everything was very out dated. Room hot and stuffy. There were very noisy road works just outside which went on until 1am and we couldn’t have the window open so room was very hot. We couldn’t turn the heated towel rail off so even hotter.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: