Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Rutland Arms Hotel, Bakewell This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Square, Bakewell, DE45 1BT, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Bakewell

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1029 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely Short break excellent breakfast hotel in walking distance of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything , we didn't, like about the hotel

    We have a small dog, & al though of course as expected he wasn't, allowed in the restaurant the hotel set breakfast up for us in the bar, & an excellent waiter attended to us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing the Hotel could do but room was really hot and because windows all had to be opened it was a noisy with traffic.

    There was a little confusion over my booking but it was sorted out promptly and to my complete satisfaction

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    5.4
    Not the best stay by any standard. Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room in the courtyard, carpet was very dirty.The breakfast was poor.Tea cups dirty. Having to cross a busy road in the rain for breakfast.

    Thursday steak deal in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park wasn’t clearly shown so we ended up parking in a long stay car park which was fine. The main issue was the room we was put in (6) was quite small, very warm and stuffy and had a lovely view of the kitchens!! Not worth the price we paid. Also when we went down to breakfast we were completely ignored by the two waiters, so after a while decided to seat ourselves on a already used table. We then sat there waiting for them to take our order and offer us coffee etc, but they still ignored us. In the end I went up and asked if they were still serving and he said yes. He then came and took our order, we both ordered salmon & eggs and when it came was missing the muffin, when we asked where it was he just said it wasn’t on the order!!! They bought us a pot of coffee with no milk and all the juices were either gone or warm.

    It was in a good location and most of the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    A very welcoming place to stay in a beautiful part of UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no mention on the paperwork we had about the parking arrangements. We drove around the hotel twice before we finally gave up looking for the hotel car park and found one in the town centre. Long walk with. The luggage. It is in fact over the road from the hotel in the antique centre.

    A few creaky floorboards and sticking Windows but nothing exceptional for an old building. Other than that reasonably well decorated and furnished. Had a nice feel to the place and over all we felt comfortable there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    we really enjoyed our stay - thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower power was poor - but appreciate its an old building.

    the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. the room was comfortable and spacious. parking was great. the venue is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    It fitted the bill perfectly for a short stay on a beautiful Summers day/evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a courtyard room which was small and basic but comfortable and most of all quiet. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of made to order choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing. Not a good start to my 25th Anniversary celebrations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was the noisiest I have ever slept in, our room was on the roundabout of the A6. Conversation in reception very audible, woken at 6.00 am by staff talking downstairs. At the hotels recommendation we tried their Juniper Gin and Pizza restaurant, gin good, pizzas and staff awful. We were offered compensation of a free breakfast, we had already paid for it in our room rate!

    Breakfast. It was plentiful. The bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    But disappointing but was rectified but a reduction in the rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower didn’t work and despite asking for someone to attend to it no one came before we had to leave. We were on a tour of England so not having a shower was disappointing. Also only one pillow each and my friend said her bed wasn’t comfortable but mine was fine.

    Excellent breakfast and was given a reduction in the rate due to poor facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.4
    Bakewell beautiful, hotel tired and needs money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room carpet was dirty and mouldy on the shower tiles. The whole of the main hotel was very tired and needed money spent as it could be a superb hotel. The breakfast room is was too small for all guests and it felt a little like Fawlty Towers at times! I.e. Being served tea in a coffee pot and staff talking over us at the table to other guests!

    The location was excellent staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.8
    Was ok stay breakfast was the best thing about the stay and waiting staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist was rude and unhelpful. Rather like faulty towers . Rooms could do with a spring clean and steam the carpets

    Comfortable dining room and bar area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Shocking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where do I start!! We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who was very helpful but that was where the positivity ends about this stay!! Yes car parking is available but it’s a bit hit and miss if you will get a space plus it’s a little bit hairy getting in and out of the car park which is over the road. On our return we asked the manager if we could have two extra pillows and he grunted that the hotel was full so probably not and he’d ‘try’! He did show up with two extra and damn near threw them at us! He’s a very strange character to be the face of the hotel, no exactly welcoming. Anyway room ok but definitely over priced for what you get. Yes relatively clean but not to the standard we would have expected for the price. Slept ok, down to breakfast and this is where ‘the manager’ excelled in his customer services skills NOT!! Staff were fantastic, very welcoming and breakfast was actually really good, we were in the breakfast room for around 20 mins and just finishing our tea when ‘the manager’ came up and asked us to leave as he needed the table???????? We were in disbelief!!! I’ve never been asked to leave breakfast?? There was another seating area in the bar that could have been made available for other guests if they were full, yet he said that some guests want to eat in the breakfast room and we explained that yes we also wanted to eat in the breakfast room?!!! It was shocking and other guests could not believe he did that to us!!!!! He was feeble in his response to our disgust and we left paying him only a nominal amount for such a shocking stay here!!! All the other staff were excellent but they really need to get rid of this man, he’s awful.

    Fantastic location and breakfast. Staff on reception, bar staff & breakfast staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    The food was excellent as we had dinner in the evening and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was rubbish and didn't work in our room. Each time we got in it stopped and then we had to go through the whole process again. How many times do you want to put in your name and e-mail and why they need my age, I have no idea!!!

    The food was excellent as we had dinner in the evening and it was delightful and the flavours were really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.9
    Fine for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely hot -it was a hot day but windows all closed and towel rail and heaters on. Shower was barely above a dribble

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    My daughter and I both enjoyed our stay and agreed we will stay at the Rutland Arms again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor wifi. Ground floor room in annex was too warm and unable to open window as by busy road. Will request upstairs room next time. Parking like Russian roulette. But we managed parking two cars so must not complain.

    Superb breakfast. Very clean room, friendly staff. Convenient as in the heart of the town. Intent to visit again next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.0
    Ideal situation with one very attentive member of staff but overall rather disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our reception was cool. I acknowledged that we were early but there was no suggestion that the room might be ready earlier than 3.00 p.m.. I was told it would be ready at 3.00 p.m. and that was that. I booked the hotel partly because it affords parking. I was unaware that there are parking places for fewer than half of the rooms and that there would be the need for much manoeuvering! I had the misfortune of ordering calves liver and was served with a bowl of mash with 4 chunks of liver on top - I have never experienced calves liver like this although I was assured that it was indeed calves liver. It did not look like calves liver and it certainly did not taste like calves liver! Very disappointing indeed!

    The situation is ideal and the bedroom was very confortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at hotel early afternoon. The receptionist would not let us check in until after 3pm, she made no attempt to find out if the room was ready prior to that or not.

    All round good standard of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    3.8
    The location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The public areas are fine, but our room was disgraceful at this price point. The carpet was filthy. Ancient secondary double glazing was also very dirty and the windows behind it had not been cleaned in a long time and, in the bathroom, were even badly cracked. The room looked and felt like something in a cheap B&B. WiFi can only be used if you agree to their full access to your data for marketing. The shower over bath is one of the most feble I have ever experienced and the sink tap only ran hot with no cold water available. The full cooked breakfast is good but the continental is very limited. Forget ham, cheese, melon, strawberries, musli etc., think basic cheap cereals, Danish pastries, prunes and yoghurt. Even the apricots and fruit compote promised in the menu were missing. I raised all these issues with staff and the attitude seemed to be, 'it is what it is' . Their solution to the outrageous WiFi condition? Oh, just enter a fake email address!

    The location; right in the town centre but , beware, that does mean a lot of traffic noise as it is very close to a busy roundabout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Charming, extremely helpful staff, delicious food, spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming, extremely helpful staff, delicious food, spacious, comfortable bedroom. Try the Bakewell Pudding from the little bakery down the road - outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    3.8
    The breakfast was the best part, but overall just average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Standard of room upon arrival was very poor and had to be changed. Also staff at check in very pompous. Rooms need an upgrade especially the carpets. Whilst parking available it is very dangerous to get in and out of. Overall hotel did not meet expectations for the price.

    The breakfast was very good as was the service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably pleasant hotel in centre of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fan or air conditioning in rooms and if you are on the 2nd floor, its a climb up 2 flights of stairs with your luggage

    Breakfast was good and the location is excellent, limited parking spaces available - but if you managed to get one, that was quite useful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Stylish, welcoming traditional hotel in heart of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Scrambled eggs were accompanied by slightly burnt 'doorstep' slices of brown bread. A shame as the eggs were good. Simple toast would have been better.

    Good choice of hot breakfast options as well as cold buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room as a clean and comfortable with basic amenities. The staff were very helpful Breakfast was cooked to order and the ingredients tasted fresh and wholesome! The evening meal was very nice at the Rutland Arms. There is little choice in Bakewell in terms of restaurants but if you are in the area be sure to dine here as a change from pub food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet in the four poster that we were in needed cleaning it was really grubby.

    We liked the location could see all the main street.The breakfast were very good well cooked.The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The original room we were put in hadn’t been cleaned properly, the toilet had been used & not flushed but still had a sash over it to show it had been cleaned, I’m not sure how that happened at all as not only was the toilet ful(I won’t go into further detail!)l but I smelt it as soon as we entered the room & thought there must be a drain problem, sadly not! Also the bins hadn’t been emptied so the room clearly hadn’t been cleaned very well. At this point my husband went to the reception to complain. They couldn’t have been nicer about it & repeatedly apologised. We were then given a lovely room with a four poster bed in the main hotel at the same rate we’d payed for a standard courtyard room so that was fine. I’m sure this doesn’t happen often if at all & I know they had a wedding on that day & a 90th birthday because they had told us before when we had asked about parking. They didn’t try to fob us off with that excuse though, they were aware the state of the toilet wasn’t exceptable. Anyway we got off to a bad start but all ended well & we would certainly stay there again

    There was a nice relaxed atmosphere & friendly staff. The included breakfast was good & the restaurant tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely Welcome, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative we didn't have Hand Soap, grand scheme of things not a major problem.

    Had a lovely welcome when checking in, wasn't aware there was a car park so we were directed to that. Room 9 was very pleasant, clean and had a view of the main square in Bakewell. Thought the traffic noise maybe an issue but it wasn't. The breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Ideal town centre hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom on the small side and poor pressure in the shower but it was spotless. Crossing the road to get to the main building at busy junction was a downside.

    Excellent Courtyard room, very spacious with lots of drawer and hanging space. Very comfortable beds and lovely linens. Toiletries by Pure were lovely. Parking on site. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Good central location, good helpfu staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean and well laid out, could have had more hangers for dresses and shirts, luckily we arrived early and so managed to get a parking space, bed was comfortable but the wooden frame was noisy when you moved,staff were friendly and helpful only complaint was breakfast, service staff were great but my wife ordered buttered mushrooms and poached egg, the egg and bacon were well done and the mushrooms came cooked in a hot black pepper and cream sauce so she left them. Overall a nice stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal we had 4 kids fish and chips and 2 adults fish and chips price difference £5.00 difference in size nothing. So I would suggest an adult have the same as kids and save some money.also kids would eat fish fingers better than fish as u have to check fish for bones.

    Breakfast really good.we hadn't booked an evening meal however tables were put together to accommodate 10 of us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff serving are a mix of very good and very poor. Breakfast service is chaotic with an hour's wait one day. The low water pressure means the shower doesn't work.

    The location is great, although if you have a room in the courtyard you will cross a busy road to go to the main building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    Sadly not as good as it used to be! Overpriced for the level of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom not cleaned properly. Toilet broke in middle of stay. Shower kept changing temperature while using. Could become dangerous when scalding water coming out!

    Most staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay. Hotel good position. Bathroom issues marred perfect weekend but still good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom floor was slippery on the tiles with the bath mat and stepping into and out of bath to shower had no hand rails, hence the towel rail was loose as this had been used previously. There was no shower mat so bath was slippery (available from foyer apparently but little use when you are in the shower), and the shower glass did not stop a lake of water on the floor after each shower use. Sink was partially blocked and took an age to empty.

    Rooms comfortable and clean. Amenities all worked and high level of facility in the room (iron etc). Beds comfortable and large. No issues.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in a charming location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with an extra shelf in the bathroom as the only one is very high up. Very small hole in my duvet cover. It was lovely to have the white cloths at breakfast but they need to be changed in between guests another family were at our table before us and ours was a little bit dirty

    Absolutely charming historic hotel in a great location in the middle of Bakewell. My single room in the stables was very cosy and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I'm being really picky, mugs instead of cups & saucers in the room.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Room a nice size, the chair & table in the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Good location but noisy and poor attention to room maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking is insufficient at weekends and cars need to be double parked, the hotel staff are then expected to move cars if required. This we heard at 0100 on Sat morning with a lot of shouting, swearing and car alarms be set off by the staff moving cars around. The toilet flush took 10 mins to fill the cistern and the shower mixer dud not work so either scolding hot or cold shower was possible. The hotel being surrounded by roads means from 0500 car traffic noise is an issue.

    The hotel is ideally located in centre of Bakewell and the room servicing was done well, clean hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Fabulous and breakfast was outstanding x
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole experience. We were tired from travelling and the hotel was soft and comfortable. The staff were resourceful and a real pleasure. Thank you we will be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    4.2
    Would recommend that people try and find another option to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite shabby and in need to renovation. Everything was very out dated. Room hot and stuffy. There were very noisy road works just outside which went on until 1am and we couldn’t have the window open so room was very hot. We couldn’t turn the heated towel rail off so even hotter.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff clearly overwhelmed with guests and long wait for timed Dinner and seated queue outside restaurant for breakfast. Loose floor tile in bathroom and light bulb out in bedroom as reported

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing time after happy memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room and particularly the bathroom. The cost of the stay. Lack of places to sit and have a drink in the evening. The shower and shower screen were difficult to use.

    The bed was very comfy. There was a lovely choice of fruit at breakfast and you were able to toast your own bread. The central location is ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel to stay for walking in Peak District in Bakewell area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for walks in the Peak District straight from the front door and short drives away. Reasonable food and good beer in the bar. Staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    We found the staff friendly, the room clean and an variety...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the staff friendly, the room clean and an variety of choice for breakfast. All in all an excellent stay and the Rutland will be our first port of call when we return to the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered the "calves liver" menu item in the bar. What was served was lambs liver. I am willing to pay a premium price for calves liver but lambs liver is much cheaper and much inferior. Your bar staff did not know the difference. I am sure the chef must know the difference. The restaurant was crowded that evening but that should not have affected the raw material! There was however no problem in changing the meal, which was a significant plus! I was also erroneously charged for a bottle of wine which I neither ordered nor drank! The bill was amended when I pointed out the error.

    The atmosphere, the staff, the spacious bedroom, the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was rubbish place

    It was a disaster. Foul water would not drain from the bath or sink. Three reading lights in the room only one worked and that with a long delay starting. Very overpriced for quality of hotel and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, Beautiful buildings, nice room and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV screen was cracked down one side, there was a gap in the floor boards under the carpet in front of the bathroom door big enough for my foot which I almost twisted my ankle in. The water pressure in the shower was terrible.

    Buildings were beautiful, the room was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, it was relaxing and we enjoyed our short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    climbing the second floor steps are very steep, naturally it's an old building. Rooms advertised in being in the courtyard are across the road from the hotel.

    lovely surroundings quaint, love the architecture, not our first visit to this hotel. staff are very friendly and would the OWNER please note, do not loose the staff as they are a big bonus to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous. Would definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were courteous and helpful and the room was clean and well furnished. The hotel itself is in an excellent location; a few minutes drive from local attractions such as Chatsworth, walking distance to Monday trail and there are really good public transport links. Breakfast is cooked to order so is really fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent hotel and town for all visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carrying the suitcases up two flights of stairs

    Rutland Hotel is well situated for tour the local area. Rooms were lovely and staff friendly the only downfall was the weather but still a beautiful part of England

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    6.3
    Very average, probably wouldn'the stay again in the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My dessert was either a failure or stale. I would not have served it to my guests. Our room in the courtyard was rather dark but that may have been the awful weather. I would suggest lighter coloured 'nets' they were brownish and made the room seem dull. We found the bathroom door awkward. It would have been better hung to open into the bedroom which would give better access.

    The breakfast food was good, plenty of choice. Prompt service. The staff in the morning were more efficient and friendlier than the evening staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in the centre of the Town.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was a little small, and digitally did not hold BBC 1 and 2 programmes. Other channels were not a problem. Glad it was only me as one person would have to climb over the other to get into bed.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, who took time to explain about the hotel and what was to be expected. Very useful to have own carpark in the middle of a very busy town. Breakfast was easy to negotiate, with a good variety of cereals, and fruits. Cooked meal was quick efficiently served. Great to be able to do your own toast when wanted. Wi fi was good and quick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.1
    Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise - there were street repairs at night in road right next to hotel - old windows so very noisy. Fire alarm went off randomly one afternoon - no explanation given.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.0
    Great location, superb breakfast, wonderful staff, memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been useful but we were offered a ground floor room and the staff carried our bags to the first floor therefore no real issue.

    My husband and I loved this hotel. The breakfast was delicious and expertly cooked with lots of choices. The bed was super comfortable and the ensuite much larger than in most hotels. Staff fantastic and extremely helpful. Wonderful stay in a hotel in an excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.9
    In town centre, nice breakfast
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It woud be good to make clear that the courtyard rooms are in a different building and that you have to cross a very busy street.

    In town centre, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.2
    nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 1 and unfortunately you could hear talking from the Bar downstairs. I heard two old duffers chatting until about 1am and then I could hear the floor boards creaking above me after they got kicked out the bar. other than that great place.

    nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Clean & well located - but distinctly average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very basic, and taking a shower felt like being gently sprayed with a fine mist of water rather than an actual shower. I was travelling with my parents, and we'd booked two rooms. They came down early for breakfast and then I came to join them; the guy from the hotel said they'd have to vacate their table because they'd been there too long, so we didn't get to talk over breakfast as a three. Didn't have dinner but the breakfast was middling; I ordered the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on muffin. The eggs were a bit overdone and smoked salmon tasted a bit dry.

    Hotel was very clean and well-located, with good parking access

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in room 12. Uncomfortable bed. Plumbing is dire. Couldn’t get cold water into the sink. Tiling in bathroom poor. No safety handles for the shower, or a non slip mat. Poor service at breakfast. Had to ask to be served a cooked breakfast. Newspapers were ordered, never showed up.

    The hotel was convenient for our walks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was ok, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms too inconvinient in the Courtyard, No ambiance there, very difficult to take baggage upstairs due to so many doors etc. Bathrooms also not good and small. One room Toilet Flush was not working, called hotel reception to get it fixed, but no one came to do this till we left later on

    Breakfast was ok, not great Location in Bakewell is very good but then facilities lack the standard for 3 star Hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location in the centre of Bakewell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in court house opposite main hotel, bedroom excellent size and comfortable. Parking facility on site. Chose to eat evening meal in bar but also a separate restaurant with a different menu if required. Breakfast good menu to choose from. Polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    Bakewell and the Rutland Arms both lived up to expectations and we had a great time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have to go across the road in freezing weather to get breakfast but it was worthwhile.

    We had a quiet room in the stable block overlooking the gardens. We had the last parking space close to the room. Centrally located to explore Bakewell and the surrounding area. Breakfast was freshly cooked and superb and the croissants were very buttery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great location in the heart of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the room upstairs during the night. This is for a room in the courtyard, the experience in the main building may be different. The shower is only a little stream due to the small shower head and not nice especially in winter and this room had a shower only. Breakfast felt a bit rushed as the number of tables is probably a bit small for the size of the hotel.

    It is easy to find, in the centre of Bakewell. Right on bus routes between Manchester-Buxton-Matlock-Derby and Chesterfield for someone travelling by public transport. Also within easy reach of the Monsal Trail which is great for walking, running and cycling. Staff was helpful and quickly replaced items missing from the room. Breakfast selection is good and also tea and coffee in the room. Also nice coffee shops, restaurants and pubs nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the heart of Bakewell
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is only a little stream due to the small shower head and not nice, especially in winter. It was better just to have a bath. The heating in the bathroom did not work, so no warm towels. Breakfast felt a bit rushed as the number of tables is probably a bit small for the size of the hotel.

    It is easy to find, in the centre of Bakewell. Right on bus routes between Manchester-Buxton-Matlock-Derby and Chesterfield for someone travelling by public transport. Also within easy reach of the Monsal Trail which is great for walking, running and cycling. Staff was helpful. Breakfast selection is good and also tea and coffee in the room. Also nice coffee shops, restaurants and pubs nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Courtyard room was across the main road. I had enquired about this, looking back the answer had been ambiguous. Not brilliant for an 88 year old going to room after dinner.

    Great location. Lots of character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like having do cross a busy road to get to our room and then have to climb stairs to get to our room at 85 years old .

    The breakfast was very good although small portions ? Liked the style of the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    A comfortable, welcoming hotel in a central location, already looking forward to visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The queue to use the toaster... nice way to meet new people and swap life stories.... but it was a small negative against a whole bunch of positives

    Really impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Excellent breakfast , full English, cooked to order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    An excellent experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing at the Rutland that I didn't like.

    Very high standard of Cleanliness. Bar meal contained good quality ingredients - most enjoyable Breakfast again quality excellent start to the day. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was only a dribble in the room we stayed in. The road you cross to get to the courtyard from the main building can be very busy.

    Great location, nice and central. Courtyard room was quiet, comfortable, clean and convenient. Very good breakfast and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    I love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I enjoyed my stay at Rutland Arms Hotel in Bakewell, I loved the city and the atmosphere in there. We enjoyed to stay at the lounge at evenings as well where Pete was very kind to help us with the menu at the Bar. Definitelly I would love to back to Bakewell and stay in Rutland Arms again. Lovely place, great service, kind people and I learn before to leave that one of my favorite writer, Jane Austen, stayed there... so a perfect place. Thanks for everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxed, very comfortable. It was a good base for a few days walking and exploring Bakewell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our initial room had an unpleasant smell, which we would have put up with if we could have opened the window which was painted shut. We asked the male receptionist if it would be possible to move rooms and it seemed like a reluctant move. However, we were very pleased with the room we were moved to.

    The room we were moved to was exceptional! The four poster bed was beautiful, the room was an amazing size and the views of Bakewell were gorgeous. The breakfast was incredible, especially the 'Rutland Grill.' The female receptionist was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful and helped us find the parking which was a bit tricky.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking spaces available. No receptionist available at checkout time.

    Clean and comfortable room. Fast WiFi connection in the room. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Nice large room, perfect location, breakfast disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn’t good. My husband and I both had the full English and it was all cold. The bacon was strange too, more like ham. There was a good selection of continental options too but the cooked breakfast was a real disappointment unfortunately. The shower was also very low pressure in our bathroom.

    The room was really spacious, and was modern and perfectly clean. Well equipped, including iron and ironing board. Location ideal in the centre of Bakewell. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.8
    Quaintness in a picturesque old England town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in room. Had to ask for more toiletries on the second day as they weren't replenished. Shower very poor force. Cocktail menu was a waste as they couldn't provide them due to not having all the drinks available.

    Quiet. Warm. Great location. Nice view from room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    7.5
    The positives outweigh the negatives , would give the hotel another try !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cooked breakfast was cold for both myself and my wife . No toast offered until we asked . Arrived at 830pm , bar food allegedly available till 9pm but was told the kitchen was closed at 845 pm

    Beautiful hotel , fantastic location . Courtyard room was excellent , David was meticulous , precise and professional on check in !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    An annual pilgrimage.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In returning to Bakewell and especially to the Rutland Arms we mix duty, pleasure and a good dose of nostalgia. Hotel facilities have obviously moved into the 21st century but have done so sympathetically, with charm, efficiency and the ever present northern welcome. The bar and restaurant food is well presented and we love the lightly boiled egg and smoked haddock which is on the menu for breakfast. Finishing the evening with coffee before a roaring fire in the original fireplace is also a special treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food and drink in the pizza and gin bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    A half-open lock on the window would have been good - I like to sleep with the window open, but with a ground-floor room looking onto a courtyard that seemed a really bad idea.

    Excellent food and drink in the pizza and gin bar. The breakfast waitress was particularly kind on what proved a difficult morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedside table dirty, cot not in the room on arrival as requested, only just arrived before little boys bedtime, high chair in the restaurant not cleaned between uses, shower very poor water pressure, WiFi inconsistent

    Large comfy bed. Nice breakfast, gorgeous bread! Large modern rooms in the courtyard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    7.5
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in Room 1 needs a bit of tlc. Floor tiles need re-grouting and the shower screen leaks over the side of the bath; I'd left dirty clothes on the floor and they got soaked.

    I and my friends (in room 2) visited for just one night but we were very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. I appreciated the second pot of coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: