Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rutland Arms Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Newmarket, CB8 8NB, United Kingdom

#17 of 18 hotels in Newmarket

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1004 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    staff were all pleasant and accomodating. Rooms were large and clean but a little dated. No problem parking in the free car park. Dinner was very good and breakfast even better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only that the room was a route march and up 3 flights of interesting stairs ! OK if you are fit and agile.

    Location, car park, hotel facilities, food and the best breakfast I have had in a long time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Fantastic location . Breakfast was very nice . On site parking a real bonus in this location. Not impressed with shower but it worked and bathroom was spotless . Very comfortable bed would defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a very old hotel and has no lift so it can be a long and exhausting walk to a room on the top floor - but the staff were happy to carry bags for those who need help. Evening dining facilities were limited to the bar area - food and service were good but it lacked the ambience of a restaurant.

    There is ample car parking space right next to the hotel which is free to visitors. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable and the provision of two comfortable chairs was a bonus. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a bit tired but functional

    Staff were good, helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location, right in the town centre. Private car park with covered parking for a few cars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sometimes feel with Booking.com that you don’t get the best rooms. I thought for the price we paid, the room was in poor condition. For example rusty taps and the duvet was in a disgusting condition.

    Friendly helpful staff who made us all feel welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Meals served in bar area in the evening were not as you would have expected,especially after a first rate breakfast.Maybe when the carriages bar opens this will fill the gap needed.Our bedroom was clean but tired.

    Breakfast was first class and served by pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. We have always found this hotel excellent.

    The young chef, David, is superb. He even made special gravy for my husband who has some food intolerances. The breakfast is genuine. Made on the spot. Real butter, not tiny pre-wrapped packages. Even kippers. Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very nice, had to try to figure out how the shower worked, as I turned the panel it fell off, the shower looked very old and was very discoloured, the water would not change temperature it remained boiling hot which ever way it was turned, the glasses that were poisoned on the sink slipped off and chipped almost cutting my hand, the room was tiny and very dark, the key to the door wouldn't work first time, I had to constantly keep putting it in and out to get it to work.

    The bed was comfortable and the tv had a good range of channels, the staff were very friendly and helpful, I liked the supply of water and biscuits, It was also a big help to have a fan in my room as it was very hot at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a particularly warm day and air conditioning would have been great, but all bedrooms had a fan.

    Very comfortable rooms, excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on Stair was very worn out has seen better days could do with being replaced. I feel bad in saying so sorry but this is my only complaint but i have to be honest.

    Staff were wonderful. Room was lovely food was very nice location of hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a mattress protector on it which was rubber. The weather and room was warm even with the windows open all night. Even though the bed had a cotton sheet over the mattress protector this didn't help and we both we were both sweating all night which lead to a very bad night's sleep unfortunately.

    The room we had was lovely, really good size and the location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was in very poor decoration. Windows not cleaned for years and sash windows broken. Generally the hotel is in very poor decorative order, threadbare carpets, walls need painting. Certainly wouldn't want to stay here again or advise others to stay. Shame as its a lovely looking building in a great position, but oh dear it needs a lot of renovation.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for work on a saturday night, our room was opposite the local bar and the windows were not enough to keep out the noise. We did ask for a quiet room on check in, so were dissapointed to be round the front, but not sure if the other rooms would have been quieter. Otherwise, a great stay .

    lovely room and staff, good location and good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely ready for refit but still nice

    The reception staff were really helpful and very pleasant the evening receptionist on Friday night was a little abrupt and grumpy not very approachable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offered me a “cupboard “ as a room and while they do have rooms like they show on their web site it’s not the norm! The worst hotel I have used in 30 years!!

    The location allowed me to attend dinner with friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wee bit dated in places but looks as if a bit of an upgraded is ongoing at present

    Centre of town with parking, friendly staff and history of building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative comment I can think of is a false fire alarm went off at 6:30am, it was not planned so warning was not given that it would sound. However the staff were apologetic and tried fixing the cause ASAP .

    Stayed on a race weekend for one night, they allowed us to check in early around 12 so could leave our bags in our room and freshen up before the race. Staff were so kind, very facilitating and bubbly. Very good breakfast cooked to order and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, tiny corridors, bathroom was abysmal, cracked sink, dirty bath, fittings horrendous, threadbare carpet in places, was told about new owners and their investment - it's needed so much. Building itself is lovely and well located, bar area nice and breakfast room wasn't bad but the rest is awful and definitely overpriced.

    Parking was easy, food was superb, staff really nice, very central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and in need of new carpet and complete decoration. Bedroom Window very small and very little natural light in room. Noise in the night from other guests. Don't recommend staying in the newer part of the hotel. Shower had no power so disappointed. Bed very hard and pillows a bit flat even with two! Breakfast plates could do with being hot when you are serving hot food on them.

    Restaurant meal very good, although more choice for vegetarians would be nice. Excellent welcoming from reception. Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (247) was small, cramped, dark and dismal, the bedroom/sitting area being only 10 foot square. It did not match up to the picture of the standard double on the website. Would not recommend.

    Nice friendly staff and good quality food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This will not stop me from staying here again..... but Just a general "tidy up as the whole place is a bit tired. I understand that it is partly grade 2 listed and that it has now been bought by The Bedford Lodge so perhaps they will be doing this over the next year or so.

    Bed very comfy....breakfast well cooked and and dining room service up to the usual great standard. Reception staff terrific as usual. Will certainly stay again whenever I come up to Newmarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist called Barbara worked very hard to help us with a problem with the room despite being the only person on reception and the phone constantly ringing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to all bedrooms . It was all a bit run down, with lots of small steps and stairways.

    Great position and free secure parking, receptionist and bar staff were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the reception, I smoke and had to walk a very long way to go for a smoke. When I booked I mentioned this but still had the same problem. I spoke to staff and have assured me next time will be better.

    The staff are fantastic, very helpful, very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired, but we did have a room that had been recently decorated

    As we are fairly regular at this hotel we always find the staff extremely helpful and friendly, reception staff, bar and breakfast staff are great, looking forward to seeing you soon, thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not realise there was no lift and our room was on the second floor. We got help with the luggage but had to manage the flights of stairs.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom floor tile grouting needed replacing......cracked window pane in bedroom.

    very comfortable bed...windows can be opened and radiator can be adjusted...all good points

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lot of age and character which is part of its charm but it’s getting ‘tired’ and the bedrooms and corridors could do with a bit of refurbish/ redecoration.

    Soft fresh towels, crisp bed linen excellent food and very friendly service. Excellent location and free car park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oops, answered in the wrong box, sorry.

    The shower was terrible, almost more like a drip than a shower (water pressure stuff I assume). But apart from that, we have a lovely time, thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken at 1am by fire alarm.. Thankfully false alarm and wasn't raining outside :-)

    Very comfortable surroundings and room. Staff very helpful and courteous. Location excellent. Parking available too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I can think of.

    The rooms have a lot of character. The single/ twin rooms for example have original oak beams and nice furnishings. The rooms are warm as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Hotel is looking tired and could do with some redecoration. the breakfast cold table was very limited and had hardly anything left at 8.15am when I went down

    very friendly staff and comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor experience, a much dated hotel in need of a complete makeover and investment. The corridors had no heating , and there was duct tape across joints in carpet in corridors and the stair carpets from reception where tatty split and threadbare in places.Our welcome from reception on arrival was very poor . Found PAT test on heated towel rail was over a year out of date.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs updating looking very tired. Everything else was excellent.

    We had room 114 four poster room not the same as in photo's on web site but very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just in need of a serious update. The carpets are very worn, wallpaper is peeling, the toilet in our room was very difficult to flush, stained ceilings in the hallways.

    The staff were excellent and the location is great. Size of room was gracious, the bed was comfortable, linens were nice. There’s charm in the bones of building, just needs a major update.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom radiator was not working so I had a cold bathroom and felt cold after my shower. Reported it to reception and they said they would look into it. Next morning cold again and when I reported it at reception, apparently it was, 'oh nobody spoke to you? we would have changed your room' but no one said anything at all. car park is not good if you have a big car such as an SUV or 4x4 type. For small cars its fine. Second night I left it in TKMax car park behind which was free and quite big and I could see my car from my room.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some decorating. The room was very hot.

    It is comfortable welcoming and very convenient to all there is to see and do in Newmarket. The food was very good and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was short of power - one of the least effective I've had on my travels.

    Went for a four poster - lovely room. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. If you want boring & samey, try the Premier Inn! Close to all the amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff could be more cheerful and welcoming. Bedroom door wouldn’t open and I had to go back to reception to get help to get into the room. Apparently there was a trick to open the door but I wasn’t warned about this by the lady who checked me in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wrote on the notes I was a coeliac and told the staff and breakfast was a little dis appointing they were giving me sausages assuring they were gluten free I asked the waitress to double check and they weren’t when is was brought out it would have been nice to have extra bacon or mushrooms as I couldn’t have black pudding either . Bed was a little small but I’m used to a king size bed.

    Room was a good size and warm staff were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disgusting. It looked like it had been sat under heat lamps for most of the morning. The beans had a crust on them, the tomato was shrivelled up, was asked if we wanted black pudding and never received so can only assume they plate up the breakfast and add extras if they feel like. Apparently the bar stays open for guests but when we returned to the hotel the bar was closed and the night porter said no chance that doesn’t happen so we ended up going back out again.

    Nice room and very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating in the bar could have been a bit more comfortable

    Food over Christmas very good and loved the extra touches such as Christmas presents on Christmas Day and it was a guests birthday during our stay and the staff provided a card and present .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don t like the revolving wooden door - it too small for the big luggage. I was struck inside. Hotel quite old (from 17xx) then you have to carry all luggage by hand, no lift. Light in room quite dark and room quite small. No free bottle of water in room.

    Good breakfast they serve hot full English breakfast and you also can order scramble egg with smoked salmon. Hotel located in good location just on high street then you can walk to the restaurant nearby the hotel. Reception are very friendly and good service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold and bed very hard. The main head to the shower didn’t work. There was no lift in the building Staff on reception were not attentive at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem we have ever found is the car park, which gets very full on busy racing days.

    We always use this hotel for the racing. It is ideally placed for this. The staff are excellent, the breakfast is brilliant and the rooms we have had have been great especially room 111.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was very dated. The bathroom was not clean and the shower pressure was extremely poor. The bed was not comfortable and had lumps in the mattress. I would not recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There comes a point when character and quirkiness do not compensate for the short-comings. The interior is in need of an over-haul, it's starting to look tatty in places and is very dated. I appreciate that it's a period property but it could still be freshened up in a neutral way. There is a maze of corridors with branches off in all directions to various rooms and a lot of these corridors are dead ends. Finding your room from reception is not too bad but trying to find reception from your room is something else altogether, it needs far better signage, I ended up in a dead end corridor more than once on day one. Trying to find your way out in an emergency would be terrifying. The water pressure from the shower was non existent - once the air and bursts of water had finally cleared themselves from the pipes, fixed head as well so even more difficult to have a satisfying wash. The bed was too small, I'm not quite 5'10 but still woke up with my feet hanging out the bottom. Breakfast was mediocre, coffee was awful and came out in a tiny pot which you would do well to squeeze 2 cups from. The hotel has its own parking area but it's not sign-posted until you reach it. Consists of a barrier ed area for about 10 cars behind a brick facade and is in a one way street, far too small for a hotel of this size although I never had a problem getting a space and parking is free.

    Lots of character, evening meals were good. Bar / dining area was nicely decorated and modern, staff were friendly and relaxed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was buffet style and as we had a lie in we had to make do with what was left. Central heating in room was inadequate, just 2 small electric heaters. WiFi was almost non existent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were a little disengaged considering there were only two of us in the restaurant!

    Lots of choice at breakfast and food arrived in good time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower was merely a dribble of water.it seemed hours to wash hair....lighting was too bright in dineing room

    location perfect for visiting surrounding tourist points.as well as Newmarket itself.breakfast very good.bed extremely comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the hotel restaurant was terrible - definitely worth visiting other restaurants on the high street instead Waited 40 minutes for breakfast one morning - not sure if there is just one chef! Not a great selection for drinks at the hotel bar compared with other hotels I've stayed in

    Really friendly & helpful staff Great location on high street Good parking facilities The team in the breakfast room worked really hard to look after everyone considering the long wait for food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful bed which desperately needs replacing Coffee machine in bar mot working Breakfast service incompetent... took over an hour.

    Good location, good decor and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a good makeover it's sad that a place like this has been left. It's in the heart of the racing world and could be spectacular.

    Breakfast was good and cooked well. The location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very tight carpark entrance, bed we had not comfortable, room small, unfortunately we stayed on a race weekend so the price was very high for what you get.

    friendly helpful staff, late night porter able to let you in in the earlyer hours. beer prices not bad, dinner was nice and breakfast was good. was able to leave car in carpark for a few hours while having a look around the local shops ☺

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. No complaints.

    We (3 of us) arrived around 01.00am. The night porter received us without any complaints and had a smile on his face during our check-in even offering to take our luggage! Our room (for 3 adults) was of a good size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, affording us a good sleep. Our breakfast was very good and offered a good variety of food. We really enjoyed breakfast and the dining area was spacious with a good atmosphere. Staff were very helpful at all times. Check out was very efficient reinforced when staff provided a free token for the hotel car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was very dated and needs a little bit of a face lift. The beds were awful!!!

    The staff couldn't be more helpful very friendly . The location of the venue is great and the quirkiness of the property was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms require upgrading, shower poor water flow, breakfast disappointing so didn't bother second day. Stayed here for years but probably wouldn't again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed and pillows were too hard on the first night. The hotel produced a mattress topper and softer pillows which improved things for the second night. Our room was well decorated but the public areas could do with rejuvenation.

    The staff were friendly and helpful without exception. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was the bed. For me, personally it was a tad too hard but thats just me. everyone is different and it was fine for my wife.

    The room was clean and cosy. The hotel is full of character. the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the bar on the first night and the service and food were excellent. We arrived back to the hotel very late on the second night and the night porter was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a renovation, breakfast was dry and had been sitting around. Poor quality cooked breakfast for a hotel at this cost.

    Lovely staff, great location. Run down and in need of a make over. Expensive for the quality of room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not to standard, tatty scruffy and dirty, the breakfast was very poor quality, no cold water running in the room, staff no where to be seen when arriving and again in the evening..

    Location in Newmarket high street is the only good point to this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property advertises that they have on-site parking; however, without notice they sold/gave their parking lot to city food venders. We were told on arrival that their lot could not be accessed during our stay due to street food vendors setting up on the access road. We had to park about a mile away in a long term lot at our expense. I had injured my leg and this was very inconvenient. I later observed that the food vendors were using the hotel lot and were coming and going through the (closed?) access road. When the hotel management was confronted with this fact he blamed his higher manager or owner. Poor management! The local manager should not have passed this off on his boss!

    The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Very dated decor and bedrooms. Carpet worn and dirty. The hotel doubled the price of the room because there was a race day. Daylight robbery.

    Porridge in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked the high street so unable to keep the window open because of the noise from the high street. This meant the room was a little stuffy. There is nothing the hotel can do about this though and they did provide a free standing fan and you can't beat the location for convenience.

    Bed was very comfy. Location is very convenient and it was lovely to be able to sit outside in their courtyard, even in October.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a small room, but bed was too small and t.v. too small to see. wallpaper peeling and dirty. Difficult to open window. Curtain tieback missing but whole in wall. Bathroom sealant black with mold. Room needed update ,also was up several flights of small twisty stairs and difficult to locate. Would not recommend.

    Room quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just had problems finding the hotel car park, but rang hotel and was given very good directions and found it in the end.

    overall the staff was very helpful, and very welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room, which meant I had to keep the curtains closed.

    It was a convenient location for my needs. Receptionists were very friendly, efficient and helpful. There is history in the place. The staircases and meandering access to the rooms are quirkThy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 355 and the mattress was truly appalling. Absolutely every bedspring could be felt through the ticking. I cannot believe that any hotelier thinks that this standard is satisfactory. Dinner was a joke. We had to have dinner in the lounge bar. The dining room was closed. I bought drinks at the bar and asked that someone would come and take our order and was told that I would have to come to the bar to order and, by the way, they had no burgers (didn't matter as we didn't want them) but also they had only one portion of mashed potato left - this at 7.15pm. Do they really have a chef that cannot cook mash? I ordered the sausages with the last (rather small) portion of mash served with a decent red onion gravy. My partner had the Hunters Chicken which was fine with some hopelessly undercooked chips. We then waited for someone to take away our plates and offer us dessert. We waited 20 minutes while the staff chatted at the bar and eventually had to summon someone to take away the plates - we did not order anything else from the menu. We would have got better food, better service and better value at the Weatherspoons pub just across the road from the hotel.

    The hotel is prominently situated and is a delightfully old and quaint property with many old features such as timbers retained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed short-staffed the weekend we were there, so they were a bit rushed and unprepared. Nothing terrible, but I felt the hotel didn't quite meet its huge potential, which was a shame.

    Great central location for exploring the area. Lovely old building with lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room with a poor mattress that's seen better days. Terrible pillows left both us of unable to sleep. In fairness they swapped the pillows for the next night after I complained.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel, smels very bad in the rooms, for the breakfast you have to wait 10-15 minutes to have the plate, impossible when you are in hurry. The lady if the entrance not very kind.

    Free wifi, free parking, good located...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very busy and they struggled to copy with the supply of food which was average.

    A really lovely hotel in the heart of Newmarket. The bedroom was beautiful and spacious. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Included breakfast was very poor. No water to drink until I asked for some. Decaffinated tea offered on menu, requested but coffee brought instead. No Gluten free cereal or other items offered. Cooked breakfast very poor. Car park off limits because of Newmarket Open Weekend - had to park in pay car park - not acceptable when room booked because of parking available.

    room comfortable but a very long way along corridors and up and down stairs from reception. clean enough, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was awful, room wasn't very clean, lots of noise in the corridors meaning your sleep is constantly interrupted

    staff tried to be as helpful as possible, despite several of them being new

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Rutland Arms Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: