Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Rutland Hotel 4 stars

1-3 Rutland Steet, Edinburgh, EH12AE, United Kingdom

#6 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 965 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and staff were delightful. Delicious breakfast in the Huxley and fantastic to get discount in Kyloe where we had a lovely meal. Staff were very accommnodating when i asked to put Scottish meat goods we had bought in their freezer, just a shame they couldn't find them again on check out! The bath was great and super facilities in the room including Nespresso machine and hair straighteners.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As these are self-service apartments, for breakfast etc one is directed to a bar/restaurant at the end of the street which is in the same ownership. We had one meal there which was worse than poor. Fortunately there is a good ASK Italian round the corner. The bathroom is exotic in the current fashion, but not user friendly.

    Despite the name this is not a hotel. It is a collection of apartments in a period terrace. Apart from daily cleaning there is little contact with staff who are in a small office nearby. No expense has been spared in the refurbishment - the apartments are huge, well equipped and very clean, but the décor and fittings may not be to everybody's taste.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed. Despite the city centre location there was no sound from outside..very quiet room. Great central location with tram and bus stops on the doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice hotel with boutique style rooms which were very comfy. The breakfast in The Huxley was really good too. Set us up for the day. The hotel is in a really good location at one end of Princes Street with a view of the castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the ground floor apartment with the patio but were put in the upstairs one. We felt disappointed as we’d booked it 8 months ago and I had proof in my reservation. As 2 of us live in upstairs flats with no garden and with the good weather we had planned a patio party. We didn’t get an apology when we said we’d booked the apartment with the patio. We were fobbed off on 2 occasions once as we checked in with “someone else needed the bed settees” and then as we checked out with “someone else had mobility issues.” This spoiled an otherwise great weekend in Edinburgh.

    Great location and well equipped apartment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't pick up the Wi-Fi, but this wasn't the Hotel's fault

    Absolutely everything was very impressive. Worth every penny; hard to find fault. Just as handy for Haymarket as Waverley, so consider this when choosing where to alight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I could fault

    Everything was fantastic ..decor was fab, the size was perfect one of the best apartments i have stayed it just had the wow factor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    There were so many little extras at the Rutland which just added to our one night stay, such as fantastic GHD straighteners (better than my old ones) and additional toiletries, hair bands and chewing gum. The hotel is in a fantastic location (on Princes Street, across from Frasers) which is ideal for either Haymarket or Waverley stations. Breakfast at the Huxley was amazing too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer

    We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment with full kitchen. The quality of every aspect (furnishings, decor, service, location ) was excellent and exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in apartments - your left out on your own a bit - eg ordered morning paper but it was forgotten to be ordered. Phoned to look at room service but was told there wasn’t any (although it specifically said) then I was told we could order from Huxley. In the end we didn’t due to being time constrained, staff were good but there was some confusion over offering. Also, only 1 remote control between 3 TVs. 😳.

    Loved location, size of apartment, comfy beds and great jacuzzi bath

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy. Location was perfect and great location for getting to restaurants and bars nearby at Rose Street and Thistle Street. Staff were fantastic and friendly, and the apartment itself had everything you could need and more. Fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a faint food smell when initially entering the room .I had ordered prosecco to be left in our room for our arrival and it wasn’t there .

    The location was excellent for us.kyloe restaurant was very good and staff were helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in Rm 7 just above the kitchen & the fans made the room vibrate, it was a very disturbing feeling when you lay trying to sleep, I had to as for them to be switched off, but once the kitchen was being used in the morning they were back on

    Location in town, room proportions & bathroom style. The staff were lovely, helpful & friendly & very cheerful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be warmer.... bed could be softer, and pillows firmer... plus no lift to 3rd floor..

    Mattress could be softer and pillows could be firmer and water in shower could warmer... still, excellent hotel and service and location!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing - no USB port in the room to charge my IPad but the friendly staff at reception charged it for me.

    Very comfortable room, close to everything, helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caught out by the cleverly placed wine! Stayed with my partner for his birthday. Upon check in we saw a lovely bottle of wine placed next to the bed. Assuming it was a birthday gift from the hotel we drank this to be charged £19 on departure. No visible signs of price list but we did locate this in a booklet propped up against the wall.

    Location location location! Lovely hotel in a great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms very comfortable and had everything we needed. Lovely breakfast and lots to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention on the booking.com site or hotel website that the two bedroom apartment we rented wasn't accessible. Considering the money spent, this would have been a good thing to know. We requested new pillows (which came), but also asked for some burnt out light bulbs to be replaced, this did not happen.

    Apartment was nice, had everything we wanted during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff showing you to your room, and making sure everything in the room was okay. Cleanliness was top notch and furniture and fittings were of great quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when staying in Apartment 15-2 and 17-2, we could hear everything from the basement flat and smell the smell of cigarettes as they were having a party which kept us awake until 2am. Which is fair enough as it was a Saturday night. An easy fix would be to fit extra glazing over the sash windows.

    The kitchen/living area in the apartments was great when entertaining. The super king size beds were really comfortable. We also loved the design of each apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The luxurious apartment with all the little extras. Our luggage was already in our rooms when we checked in. The restaurant and bar excellent and very good service from staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but the website states that you get Sky Sports and Cinema but its just standard freeview. My partner was also gutted that she didnt get her complimentary shortbread on arrival 😂

    Location is fantastic, plenty of free street parking provided you are away by 8.30 and arrive after 6.30. Breakfast is in the attached Huxley Restuarant and the Full Scottish was as good as it gets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    The bar/restaurant affiliated with the hotel had delicious food and drink- the decor was funky and there was a great view of the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like, but if something has to be said, the bathtub jets could be timebased and not by just pushing the button? Would be easier to just kick back and relax. :D

    The location was excellent along the Princes Street but there was no disturbance from the street noise etc in any way during our stay. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was excellent at the Huxley.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very clean room. Quiet. Comfy bed. Great shower and toiletries. Staff very personable and helpful. Super central location. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service a bit slow, pity the bedroom windows can't open a bit. Felt a bit overlooked by the hotel opposite unless we closed the heavy curtains so voile curtains might be an idea.

    Reception staff very welcoming and housekeeping very good. Liked the selection of herbal teas as well as the Nespresso coffee machine. Excellent view of the Castle, lovely seeing it last thing at night all lit up and first thing in the morning with the sun coming up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stay was really enjoyable the staff very attentive so really there wasn’t anything we disliked and will return

    The bed was very comfortable. The location was really good , very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed a night away from to wind down. The apartment I had was fantastic, all mod cons, very clean and allowed me to just relax. Great patio as well!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few minor niggles: Shower water temperature was too cool and a little bit variable. Could have done with a blackout blind in the room as the morning sun shone in through the window and the blind wasn't very thick. TV was small for such a big room and a bit far away from the bed. Only one of the Sky channels was working - I'm sure the very helpful staff would have looked at this but I was too tired to bother by then.

    Great hotel and room. Lovely decor. Lots of space. Big wardrobe. All mod cons (iron, haridryer, straighteners, safe, minibar, bluetooth music player, etc. etc.). Warm, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. Lots of nice touches in the room. Fantastic location - right at the west end of Princes Street with a view across to the Castle and yet (surprisingly) no problem with traffic noise. Good breakfast. I would recommend them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was okay temperature-wise but bathroom was really cold. Put me off using the lovely whirlpool bath. A broken light was mentioned when we checked in and we were told it would be replaced when we were out during the day. Unfortunately it was not.

    Very central location- so handy for shopping and exploring. Bedroom very pleasant with a few thoughtful extras, including a half bottle of red wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was amazing.

    We were upgraded on arrival to an apartment which I could only describe as amazing. Wow was all I could say as we entered, So much space and very comfortable bed. Amazing Amazing will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We were graciously given an upgrade as it was our silver wedding anniversary. It was the loveliest surprise and My wife said she felt like a princess. It was the perfect start to a week long celebration. Thank you Rutland hotel for making special memories for us. X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a big issue but it would be good if in the room there's a window you can open for fresh air.

    Perfect location, beautiful and comfortable room. We loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only 5 hangers in wardrobe (two of them holding bathrobes). However, a staff member kindly located 2 more for us. Poor lighting for 'dressing table' mirror and bathroom mirror a little high for a short person.

    Comfy bed and fabulous breakfasts! The full breakfast was very tasty as was the lovely toast and home made marmalade. The low level lighting in the bathroom and bedroom was much appreciated for night time trips to the loo. Perfect hotel location for us attending a wedding next door. Also close to shops and transport links.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unfortunately rudely awakened at 6.30am due to a technical fault with the fire alarm. If this had not happened, our stay would have been perfect. Interrupted sleep clouded the rest of our day thereafter.

    The view of Edinburgh Castle from the room was beautiful. Location, size of room, complimentary provisions were an added bonus. The spa bath was an added bit of luxury to the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome, staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable room which was both spacious and airy. Hotel itself in an excellent city centre position just a fifteen minute walk from the train station yet our room was very quiet with no noise from other guests or from outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was well placed. Breakfast was more like a dinner. I would have preferred that you could have chosen more individual items on the menu. Which would have been less waste. Tea and juice. I do not like water in a bottle I prefer it to be in sealed. Given a choose of bread would also have been nice. Sad the receptions did not tell us that painting work had taken place. Luck for me the paint came off my hand easily

    Well placed in a very quite area of a busy city. The staff were lovely. Liked the fresh milk in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've liked a little appartment guide on how to use the facilities There were a few items missing in the kitchen that would've made cooking easier

    Beautifully decorated Excellent location Comfy bed 2 toilets Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet roll when we arrived and some of the complimentary shampoos were half used.

    Beautiful apartment, rooms, warm when we arrived. Great place to catch up with friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    My only issue was there was no way to ring the front desk . The phone in the apartment wasn't working . I had to get dressed and walk down the street to speak to the receptionist . Also there were no snacks in the mini bar . Otherwise a pleasant stay .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. It's a really good hotel.

    Fantastic breakfast with lots of gluten free options. The room was great and the bed was really comfortable. There was good free wifi and the staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few small niggles but nothing major - shower gel not replaced and minibar not restocked after first day, TiVo didn’t work and no manual/guide in the apartment.

    The apartment was amazing and really had the wow factor. Decor really funky. Really spacious, kitchen very well equipped, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. All very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2 bedroom apartment was AMAZING! Spacious, luxurious, immaculately clean, with so many amenities in an absolutely perfect location. All the staff were very polite and helpful. It was a huge surprise that the apartment was so nice. The online pictures do not do it justice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening snacks/meals in the downstairs bar were poor

    Friendly and welcoming in a convenient location near the centre and with good access to transport links and attractions. Good price for the excellent facilities and some nice extra touches in the room and hotel. Had to stay extra nights due to travel disruption (due to snow) which was arranged with minimal fuss and charged at the rate I originally booked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of small things which could have improved our stay. The bathroom door required painting and the pillows were a bit firm. On the second point, however, I am sure if I had mentioned this to staff the problem would have been rectified.

    Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Food in the restaurant where we had lunch and breakfast was first class. Our room was nice and fresh prividing everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Loved everything about apartment 15. Couldn't find fault with anything. What a fantastic place to stay , wish we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small problem we found was the room was a little cold!

    We really enjoyed our stay the bed was extremely comfy! We would definitely recommend staying here and we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorman at the Huxley but not fair to hold this against the wider Rutland experience !

    Reception staff very good - especially david who went beyond the call of duty for us - great service and his courtesy and patience much appreciated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic hotel and apartments. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, apartement was huge, clean and well equipped with an amazingly comfortable bed. This is surely the best place to stay in Edinburgh and I will be coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the windows in our room could be opened! , would check next time, it is nice to be able to get some fresh air in...

    Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and with the excellent Kyloe restaurant and a great spacious bar you can easily spend most of the day there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we could not stay longer.

    The location and style of the hotel was excellent. The staff was so accommodating and the fact that we had access to gluten free facilities was of great relief. thank you for the wonderful experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy from the corridor where giggling passing by staying guests can be heard, as well as slamming doors and heavy footsteps. But this is a refurbished old buiding. Noise sensitive guests should ask for quieter room than ours

    Amazing staff, ready to help and polite at all time Room nicely decorated with all the amenities and equipment expecting at this range of price Central location, with nearby stores and restaurants. 5 minutes of slow walk to the tram Gorgeous choice for breakfast prepared to order and served at the table Carnivores will be happy with the in house Kyloe restaurant and enjoy 20% off the final bill. While a nice bar is found right below for all kind of drinks and munchies

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two pillows each which were too thin and lumpy. Not comfortable at all. Made sleeping difficult.

    Jacuzzi bath was a lovely surprise. Very quiet which was unexpected and couldn't really hear passing traffic. 20% off food for all guests, excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The App is not helpful. The cost was quite high for the apartment which I suspect may have been because the rugby was on. The hotel room was more reasonable.

    We stayed for the first two nights in an apartment. Quirky and well appointed but the App does not help you with the instructions you need such as switching the bath lights off! Also our apartment was at the very top of the building which would not suit those less able. We spent the last night in the hotel itself which was super! The staff at the Rutland were marvellous (loved the answerphone being 'manned' by Alan Dedicoat) and the location is superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in all the snow and the team went out of their way to help. We booked a castle view room which delivered just that and an excellent view up Princes Street. Our only regret was we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was slightly too soft for our liking. The free view tv seemed to drop out of signal every so often.

    Perfect central location with spacious rooms. Staff were excellent, friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was hard to regulate the temperature of the room and we did have to walk up a flight of stairs with heavy luggage which wasn't ideal.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was great as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like my bathroom to have had a freestanding bath like the pictures.

    The room was very spacious, the staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room bigger than expected. Complimentary daily newspaper was an unexpected bonus, staff friendly and were helpful each time we requested assistance about hotel facilities or Edinburgh in general

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the castle, lovely decor and great jacuzzi bath. Good quality breakfast. Was my husband’s birthday and chocolates/fudge on a decorated plate were a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail. Eg Holes in the hand towels, no shower caps, no complimentary slippers although there were complimentary bathrobes; no body lotion; only one small soap to use for shower and bath. Additional charges for any extra breakfast menu choices; no rack of toast or spreads unless specially requested. High cost for accommodation so expected better.

    Staff great; location excellent; room size good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lightbulb had gone in the toilet but it wasn't really an issue and a £19 was left out so if you hadn't had checked the prices you might have gone and spent £19 on a 2 glass bottle.

    The woman on the front desk was very welcoming. The junior suite was brilliant, we loved the night that we stayed there. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very attentive. Room and bathroom very clean. Great location and easy to get too. Breakfast was excellent. Nespresso machine in the room is a great touch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent for shops, bars and attractions. When we got there they gave us an upgrade to a castle view room. The staff were so helpful too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub! This was a major splurge for us and everyone was so disappointed they didn't get the longed for bath (we'd been travelliang for a few days so were really looking forward to it.) we changed rooms the next day to one with hot water and this was a major hassle as yeah can imagine for hate four of us. I think a drink voucher at the bar or something to soften the disappointment might have been nice. Also, for a place which obviously paid a lot of attention to details, the discarded bottles and butts in the courtyard were hard to understand

    The beds were amazing and the decor beautiful, we were so comfortable we really didn't want to leave the room. Great to be able to make your own espresso of a morning. Location was fantastic and the bar upstairs another bonus. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff not really on the ball, and some flex on late check out would have helped me do the calls/business I needed to do. Not happy about being offered hourly rate to extend after 11, which I didnt take.

    Location and has its own style with great restaurant below the rooms/next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty cotton bud in bedroom. Faulty bed lamps. Bed was uncomfortable. Very noisy at night. Terrible view. Not the room we booked. Room was double booked (i seen the other guests review). booked here ONLY for spa bath and got a tiny bath. No hair appliances and £1 for 1 tea cake from fridge... definitely not worth the money we paid.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be some storage for clothing. Minimal which was surprising for the level of the hotel. Standard for rooms should be some drawers and hanging space and a safe

    Staff were very helpful and professional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent from check in to breakfast to checkout. The breakfast itself was plentiful. Lots of choice and very tasty. Would definitely recommend booking breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was quite a few stairs to apartment if guests had walking difficulties.

    Great location. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very tastefully furnished and spacious. Very pleasant and helpful staff. I definitely would go back to The Rutland.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler lost pressure during the night so we had no hot water, the phone didn’t work and the fire didn’t work.

    The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great size room.Right in the heart of Edinburgh.Great bar attached to hotel where you also go for breakfast.Mini bar tea and coffee facilities in room including coffee pod machine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to locate the hotel - could do with a sign at street level - I mentioned this on arrival and the receptionist commented that lots of people say that - go figure 😆 nice coffee machine in room with 3 capsules however only one was regular coffee - the other two were decaf - think if you go to the both of having a coffee machine then there should be more capsules included.

    Location was superb. GHD straighteners supplied in room which was really handy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was set up with the tap on the side so water got everywhere not a good set up

    The position for you he town center was great, staff all friendly and the bar was very good with a door direct to reception only for guests so you don’t have to go outside to get to reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the door staff, I always take my running gear away with me and after a muddy run on the morning I returned to the hotel nd removed my muddy trainers at the front door out of respect of the hotel and guests as I didn’t want to trail mud through the hotel and room....,I stood and asked the door staff If he had a plastic bag of some sort to put them in and he said “no”. I then said ya must have something, anything I can put my trainers in.. he again with an attitude “we’ve got nothing”... in future I’ll just walk all the way through the hotel with my muddy wet trainers.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: