Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ryedale 4 stars

3 Atherley Road, Shanklin, PO37 7AT, United Kingdom

#7 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Shanklin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bnb in Shanklin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish all bnbs were tidy and clean like this one. I usually dislike walking barefoot on a carpet as it is never properly clean. I had to go back on my words this time. The breakfast is various: yogurts, cereals, fruits, scones etc. I asked for a full English breakfast and it was enough and properly cooked. Most important is the plating. No bean's sauce contaminating the bacon or flooding the eggs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great location- extremely clean and nicely decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location- extremely clean and nicely decorated rooms. Welcoming hosts that were helpful and friendly with useful tips about the area. Loved the large rooms and super shower that had great water pressure (NOT a trickle-style effect that one can sadly find) which was amazing after a day at the beach. Every detail has been thought about to add comfort to your stay and the breakfast choice and quality of food is fabulous. Would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    The owners were lovely and friendly, food was great and the room was lovely too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flats opposite were very noisey at night, but that can’t be helped

    The owners cleaned our room and left a birthday card and present for my partner because they saw a birthday card she already had left on the side for the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend on the Isle of Wight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My son & I really enjoyed our stay at the Ryedale. John & Hayley were very welcoming. Our room was lovely nicely decorated with everything we needed, & a super comfortable bed. The communal areas were clean & tidy & the breakfast room was nice & bright. Our breakfast was excellent & really set us up for the day. My son was very impressed with his scrambled egg. From the start we both felt very comfortable in their home. Great guest house I would definitely recommend them to friends & family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fruit salad at the breakfast was fantastic;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The street is sometimes a bit noisy, but no too late in the night; the wifi reception could be better.

    Fruit salad at the breakfast was fantastic; the owners were very accommodating; the family room turned out to be TWO rooms instead so the children had their own, albeit tiny, bedroom with TOYS supplied by the owners; books at the dining room (including children's); range of breakfast options and early breakfast on our departure – just generally exceeding the expectations everywhere. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Hayley and John are excellent hosts, and their breakfasts (mine a full English) are very good, certa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues to report.

    It is a minute or so from Shanklin railway station. Ideal if you want to go out to play with the 1938 stock (£6:50 Ranger) or the IoW Steam Railway Island Liner (£16;00) as I did.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Really really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really like this place. I came here alone, but I never felt lonely. The householders were nice, and they made a good breakfast. Their house are really lovely. I hope I can come back there soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    One of the best guesthouses I ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really good and clean. Beds are perfect and you will get a good sleep on it. Breakfast was outstanding and all the services were perfect. They help you with everything they can. Defenitely one of the best guesthouse I ever stayed in! Thankyou Jon and Hayle!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    The little jar of sweets and morning note left on the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really only nitpicking - the double-decker bus stops right outside the property which is great for accessibility (we used it numerous times during our stay), but it does mean people on the top deck can peer into the ground floor, street facing room (even with privacy curtains).

    The little jar of sweets and morning note left on the bed hoping we'd had a nice day were lovely, very nice attention to detail. The owners were attentive and friendly, the perfect balance for a B&B.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, excellent location, friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location if you're coming to the Isle of Wight without a car. It's a 30 second walk to the railway station, and there is a bus stop on their doorstep. Perfect! Lovely couple who run the place, and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and knowledgeable hosts. It was handy to have access to a fridge and use of the dining room in the evening. The Ryedale is in a great location - less than a 2 minute walk from the train station, less than 10 minutes to the high street and the beach. Delicious breakfast. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We found the the room and facility’s to be spotless and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the the room and facility’s to be spotless and well maintained ,John and Haley the owners of the B&B to be very welcoming and helpful ,rearly enjoyed our stay at the Rydale ,would definatlly return next time we re visit the Isle of Wight .loved the little smartie jar thought it was a lovely little touch ,yum yum xx

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    exceptionally clean, comfortable and relaxed, top hosts. thankyou xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only one thing and its a personal 'like' for me not a failure on their part....... I prefer a top sheet under a duvet because I very rarely am cold enough for a duvet, year round. Although saying that i am certain that if i'd asked i would probably have been offered one.

    Extra clean everywhere, very comfortable and a very relaxed atmosphere. Hayley and John provided very many little extras which enhanced our stay, wonderful and varied breakfasts each day and were so friendly and considerate to all. I felt when it came to saying goodbye, I was saying goodbye to a friend and not a couple whose house I had stayed in and met only three days earlier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We had a lovely stay......and will be back! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hosts, Hayley and John, were really friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. The room was immaculately clean and the bed really comfortable. The little jar of Smarties is a nice touch. The fresh fruit salad at Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the street with two bus stops right outside and it was a bit noisy. Especially since the weather was warm and we wanted the window slightly open. However my husband had earplugs with him and I'm an urban girl who can sleep through such noise so it didn't bother us too much. Everything else was great and weighed it up to an all in all great stay.

    Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Room was nice and clean. Breakfast was lovely and I experienced our stay as great value for money. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. We had complimentary smarties every day which was a great touch! ;-) Train and busses are near by if you want to get around. If you drive they will give you a card to display for free parking at the train station just around the corner. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place, great hosts, would definitely stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, as everything was perfect :)

    Me and my partner stayed at the ryedale for a week in july. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, they kept the whole house very clean and tidy. The breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from, was nice to be able to bring takeaways back with you. The location was great, about a 10 min walk from the beach (if you're a slow walker).The room we had was nicely decorated, nice bathroom. Overall a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fab breakfasts. Definitely value for money and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No razor points in rooms.

    Fantastic breakfast choices. Better be Han Travelodge. Good quiet location close to train and bus stations, short walk to shops and about 10/15 to beach. Fresh milk always available for drinks in room. Use of dinning room for own takeaways in evening much appreciated. Jar of smarties in each room a nice touch, probably got he idea from watching Hotel Inspector as she recommended his to at least two establishments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Was given a free upgrade - literally nothing to complain about

    Really friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was nice, flexible and well organized and great having access to the fridge in the dining room. The bus stops right outside and the railway station is just around the corner with a good Chinese Restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay for all the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect for us. We stayed as a family of 4 (kids aged 5 and 2.5). The room was great for a few days. It was a good size and the kids had their own small room with a bunk bed, Tv and loads of toys - they loved it! The sliding door meant we could watch Tv and have a chat after they went to bed (usually a problem when sharing a room with them on holiday). Breakfast was lovely - lots of choice and all good. Parking was free and easy at the local train station less than 3 minutes walk away. Lots to do in local area - nice restaurants, beach and loads of activities in the area! Kids are already asking to go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    A very comfortable and welcoming hotel, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very comfortable and welcoming hotel, the food was excellent and the staff friendly and professional. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, town and station so is ideally located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Lovely Bank Holiday stay at exceptional B & B with the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely couple, house had a warm cosy feel. Spacious property so not on top of the other occupants. We have the family room which has a small adjoining room with sliding door with bunkbeds and a tv for the kids. Perfect! We left very early on the Monday and John appeared with a takeaway breakfast of bacon sandwiches for us all. Would definately return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Fit for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Close to the seaside, spacious room. Confortable beds. Kids had their own space, a tv and a sliding door!! Oh, and Smarties for everyone!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    The photos on the internet do not do this accommodation justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The photos on the internet do not do this accommodation justice.

    Very helpful owners. A warm welcoming ambience.lovely and comfortable accommodation. The food was good with ample choice .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Extremely nice and homely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was superbly comfortable, and Johnny is one of the nicest hosts we'be ever met! Also, the place is extremely homely, and the breakfast is amazingly good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Great Comfortable stay at a fab price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very lucky to get the last room here for this weekend after being turfed out at 9.30pm of the Melbourne Ardenlea as they had messed up our booking. THANK GOODNESS THEY DID! We were given a warm welcome by host John and were put into a beautiful spacious double room, that was lovingly decorated and was a real home from home. Breakfast is a real treat with fresh fruit, juices, cereals and choice of many variations of hot breakfast choices - all cooked to order by John's wife Haley; yummy yummy!! All amenities that you will need to have a great stay are at hand, and the location puts all of Shanklin's old and new town just 5 mins away by car or a nice 15 min stroll if you catch a nice evening. All this for under £70.00 a room with breakfast for 2,with a discount if you return makes this one hard to beat little number. Highly recommended. Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 seem to be on the south side and get lots of lovely light and sun

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Perfect B+B for a perfect Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would recommend the Ryedale to anyone. My partner and I had the most lovely 4 night stay. John and Hayley were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was always spot on and served with a smile. The B+B was very clean and comfortable. The location was also spot on. No more than a 10 minute stroll from the beach, restaurants, bars/pubs, town centre. Next visit to the Isle of Wight, this will be my first choice of places to stay!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    A short break packed with good memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rear facing superior twin en-suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather! We arrived in beautiful sunshine and this continued for our second day there. Unfortunately after that the great British weather kept up to it's reputation and was grey and with a certain amount of rain. It did'nt spoil our visits to various parts of the Island though.

    The property is a beautiful Edwardian house. Everywhere is extremely clean and well appointed. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was very varied and the home prepared fresh fruit salad was delicious. There were always refills of tea and coffee offered at breakfast and Hayley, the owner, stressed that there was no ration on what was available to eat. A further thoughtful touch was the refridgerator provided in the dining room plus the availability of crockery and cutlery to use in the dining room if guests brought in takeaways to eat in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Smells like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking location is about 100m away (Shanklin Rail Station parking lot)

    - Near the beach (10 min walk) - Clean and tidy - Friendly staff - Nice breakfast - Some restaurants around

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    I can confirm all the other positive comments including the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can confirm all the other positive comments including the very friendly, helpful and personable hosts, the comfortable rooms with nice contemporary décor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    A lovely place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are lovely and very helpful and knowledgeable about the Island. The room was spotless and very well decorated :) The breakfast was outstanding, with the most delicious and fresh homemade fruit salad! Vegetarian and vegan cooked breakfast available :) parking the car was really easy and free! Happy guests! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    will go back there as we enjoyed our time at the b&b and the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    do not think anything could be better.

    hosts excellent. breakfast excellent. parking could not be better. nothing was to much trouble for the hosts. will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Hayley and John friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step down from the shower For a tall person the bed frame at bottom of bed

    The hanging baskets The no-smoking The breakfast Allowing take-always in breakfast room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Perfect guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing not to like!

    Very welcoming hosts. Lovely bright tastefully decorated room that was spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfectly situated for exploring the area, exceptionally clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms, fabulous breakfast!! This is our second stay, and we'll definitely be back!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    A very warm welcome from the hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome from the hosts. Rooms spotlessly clean, breakfast delicious, nothing was too much trouble. We will be recommending this bed and breakfast without doubt

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    wonderful friendly holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rear facing superior twin en-suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing could have been better. I'm sure you that if you had a problem they could of sorted it out, as they were so helpful.

    The lovely friendly family atmosphere, the decor was wonderful,and a really good breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Lovely owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was lovely.

    Lovely owners. Great place. Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and a most enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing we didn't like

    Lovely comfortable room. Great breakfast. Lovely hosts. Next to bus stop and station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hosts and nice extra touches, like a fridge you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hosts and nice extra touches, like a fridge you can use to store food and a dinning area for takeaways.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Convenient location for my needs. Pleasant house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendliness of hosts. cleanliness of room and food was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Lovely time in a lovely place with lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    interior design and hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Good value unusually high standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast with a good choice Friendly owners Immaculate rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous B+B very family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Lovely hosts and great breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    3 minutes from the station, Quiet area to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Courtesy, attention to detail and hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Fab family short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Good sized rooms, tastefully decorated, superb breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    My daughter who is very picky with her food loved breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, very friendly. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at the Rydale
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. John and Hayley were great hosts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    IoW holiday 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing , thats why I've stayed four to five times now.

    Breakfast, location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was great

    Great stay, really happy, definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Hosts very friendly and breakfast superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hosts very friendly and breakfast superb. Place so very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Loved it, kids loved it. True Family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quite, well decorated through and good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Wide Choice of breakfast close to all amenities lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wide Choice of breakfast close to all amenities lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in Shanklin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable. Hosts very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Flexible on choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rear facing superior twin en-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flexible on choice of breakfast. Accommodation well thought out and good on small details. Helpful owners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all fantastic

    Fantastic service great breakfast very clean and the owners are lovely

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful cosy bedroom and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful cosy bedroom and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff and excellent accommodation and food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rear facing superior twin en-suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The decor and comfort plus location was perfect. Breakfast was just right and served with a smile. Perfect hosts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    The owners were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast fruit salad was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    The closeness to Shanklin , very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The constant flushing of the toilet, above me

    The closeness to Shanklin , very central

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve

    Very friendly staff, clean,comfortable and lovely breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    The cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    We stayed as a family of 4 and were welcomed from the moment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We stayed as a family of 4 and were welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was excellent and the smarties in the room was a fab idea! Breakfast was outstanding and our wonderful hosts were a great source of information regarding all you need to know about the island. Great location near the station and lots of great family friendly bars and restaurants within walking distant.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Everything about The Ryedale is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything about The Ryedale is excellent. Happy,pleasant and helpful hosts, comfy bed, lovely food and clean rooms all made the visit so enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    This place was perfect for what we needed and we would love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This place was perfect for what we needed and we would love to stay again in the future. The owners were kind and accommodating, the rooms were spotless, nicely decorated and comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    We loved the family room, where the children got their own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the family room, where the children got their own bedroom. They even provided a selection of toys which my children loved playing with, they really have gone the extra mile and thought of everything. We loved the fruit salad for breakfast, food was very fresh with lots of choice.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    the room was decorated in a modern style - very comfortable...
    • Couple

    on a busy road - some traffic noise - would have liked a radiator in the bathroom - no off road parking on the premises

    the room was decorated in a modern style - very comfortable bed - very clean - a wide choice of appetizing breakfasts - very near the centre of Shanklin - ideal location if you have travelled there by train

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Lovely, friendly, family run guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely, friendly, family run guest house. Great location. Spotlessly clean, comfortable room with everything you needed. Fantastic breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Will definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    The hotel was in a quiet area, but just round the corner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Be aware that the hotel is not open in winter months.

    The hotel was in a quiet area, but just round the corner from Shanklin station, and with buses stopping outside going to Ryde, Newport and Ventnor. The furniture, décor and even the breakfast suggested quality throughout, and the couple running it couldn't have been more friendly. Great sausages made by the local butcher! I will be back next year - fabulous place.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Location was perfect for what we wanted, rooms were clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect for what we wanted, rooms were clean and very well maintained. For breakfast, there was plenty of choice, food was tasty and served timely. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    Room was very clean and well stocked with tea/coffee etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very clean and well stocked with tea/coffee etc. Hosts very friendly and helpful, parking was no problem as it was at the station but was only a minute walk. Breakfast was well presented and plenty to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    We liked everything about this B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about this B & B. The breakfast was possibly the best we have ever eaten and this includes some 'top' hotels. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are extremely comfortable and even the smallest detail had been considered for the guests' needs. Can highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    My single room was tiny, but had everything one needs to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was absolutely nothing to complain about.

    My single room was tiny, but had everything one needs to feel comfortable. Great hosts, cleanliness, delicious breakfast - what more could one ask for?

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: