Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Suffolk hotel reviews
  4. Southwold hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Sail Loft

Reviews of The Sail Loft

53 FERRY ROAD, Southwold, IP18 6HQ, United Kingdom

#5 of 12 hotels in Southwold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    8.3
    Overall a good stop over location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not served until 9.30, found this rather late for us as we like to make an early start

    We liked the location and the restaurant was good and convenient

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    9.6
    This was a return visit and we will go back again. The Sail Loft is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast arrangements are unusual but the food quality and friendliness of the staff are excellent. The Sail Loft is in a great location close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    9.2
    Good position and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor boards a bit creaky which I worried might affect the room downstairs. But no comments received.

    We had the top floor room with lovely views. Nice and clean and comfortable bed. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    6.3
    A fairly pleasant stay, comfortable room & delicious food. Definitely some areas for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in experience - we were asked to pay for stay immediately on arrival by a rude 'crew' member, something I've never been asked to do before. We also had nowhere to park and the same staff member offered no help on the issue - not a great first impression. The standard double (Room 1) was spacious and amenities were good, but very tired and shabby decor for the money paid, £180 per night - I expected far better and the photos online are clearly outdated. Also extremely noisy and constantly smelled of food due to being located directly over the kitchen. The balcony was a nice feature, but overlooked by neighbouring room and bathroom (!) and lacked any real comfort. The overall cleanliness of the restaurant wasn't great, as well as the toilets - it was evident communal spaces are not thoroughly cleaned from the day before. I think some of the staff could also do with a lesson on how to speak to their guests; we're not easily offended at all, but several times we were spoken to quite rudely and as most of the staff are extremely friendly, this let's The Sail Loft down in terms of customer service.

    The location is great, very close to town as well as just a few steps from the beach. The female staff, as well as Yunus (one of the male wait staff) were all very friendly and could not do enough for you. The food was delicious, good sized portions and served quickly.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    10
    The room, food and friendliness of the staff added to the enjoyment of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I didn't like.

    The room was a nice size an there was a fresh fruit bowl every day together with the usual tea/coffee/hot chocolate and divine shortbread biscuits. The food was excellent - breakfast menu most unexpected and delicious. We had two other meals at The Sail Loft and they surpassed our expectations. Troy is an excellent manager and nothing was too much trouble. I like a softer mattress and they arranged something immediately. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would go back there anytime. About 2 minutes drive to centre of town but there is a good path for walking to the town if you are fit.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    9.6
    Relaxing and tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the pillows were way to soft !

    The food and wine was excellent, honestly the portions were big and the beer was cold . The room was nice my only gripe is that the pillows were way to soft but that’s it ! The service great and breakfast was amazing we will definitely be back !

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    7.1
    Enjoyable, good food and beer, overpriced accommodation, creaky floors and noisy bird life in roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast start at 9:30 far too late. Too many dogs for my liking, especially allowing them in the restaurant at night, barking while I'm trying to enjoy my meal. I blame the owners first for nor controlling them properly, but ultimately the hotel for allowing them in at that time, should be made to leave by 7:30pm.

    Liked the location and beer options in the bar

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2019

    7.9
    Good location, friendly staff. Would recommend and stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening due to the dining room smelling like a chip shop.This must have been a temporary issue as by breakfast the room was fine and the food was excellent.

    Location was good. Just out of town but only a short walk into the town centre. Room clean & tidy. Staff very friendly. Breakfast very good. This was out of season so not many tourists. In season the town is heaving.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay and location, but don't forget to pack your mac.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Note: This is both a good and a not so good thing: Breakfast is from 9.30am onwards, which suited us - and gave time for an early beach walk beforehand - but this late start might not suit a fast getaway or a day trip elsewhere. Again, a time thing: on Sundays, 5pm is last orders for an evening meal and the bar starts to shut fairly early. We had arranged to meet a couple of old friends who live locally, and though they arrived by 4.30 and our meal was served, we ended up walking into town for later drinks. On reflection, I could understand why - the Salt Loft is a bar and restaurant, not a pub. Suggestion: MAYBE the start and end times of meals service and the bar hours etc could be made clearer, including when one is there?

    Liked: The Ferry Road location, knowing the area and that it was a little out of town. On-site parking, too, which counts as Southwold can get crowded, The beach is a short walk over low dunes from the door. The walk along to the harbour and Walberswick Ferry is pleasant - beach or pavement - though check the times. Weekend only when we visited mid May, and it is not far back into the town itself, via the Gun Hill greens. In addition, the staff were friendly and helpful, both meals and for drinks, our room was attended daily, and overall the Sail Loft had a pleasant atmosphere. The live guitarist playing on the Thursday night, was just right, and as diners that night we had been placed at the "restaurant end" of the bar so the music was not intrusive. Enjoyed our stay, and we would probally go there again.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2019

    9.6
    Great accommodation and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Accommodation very modern, new and clean. Nice touches like toiletries, hot drink facilities and biscuits. Staff very pleasant and on arrival, bag carried to room. Restaurant meals - evening and breakfast - very good. Nice scenic views to rear from the 'cafe' area. Great for beach walks just across the road and 10 mins walk to the river where eateries and scenic views abound!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful spot, and a fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right by the beach and a short walk or drive into the centre of Southwold. Breakfast was really very nice and the staff were really attentive and very relaxed. Beautiful decor and really comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2019

    9.6
    Great place in a great location, nice walk along the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything not to like

    Great place in a great location, nice walk along the beach into town, food was excellent, staff really friendly ,lovely rooms

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    7.9
    Location of the Sail Boat is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 2. It was clean and airy but for a cost of. £162 a night was very over priced. Toilet seat didn't fit and shower head wouldn't hold on the slider rail. Floor boards noisy so if there is someone in the room above its enough to keep you awake. Did tell the staff about the shower head on the first night but wasn't sorted for our second night. Was just not impressed because of the amount of money charged per night to stay.

    Location of the Sail Boat is great. Just over the dunes to the sea from the front and looking over the marshland from the rear. Harbour area is a short walk away and the centre of Southwold about the same in the other direction. Breakfast was really good offering plenty of options. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    10
    Great location, 5 mins for the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location, 5 mins for the town centre. Friendly, helpful staff - and a warm welcome! The rooms are very clean (we booked two), towels white and fluffy and good tea/coffee and quality toiletries. Breakfast is AMAZING!! Free car parking also a big plus. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    10
    An excellent B&B .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant music and conversations were audible in the bedroom, but it did stop very promptly in the evening and therefore our sleep was not affected

    Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very attentive, especially, Peter. Our room had great views toward the coast and great location for walking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    9.2
    Lovely weekend by the seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather!

    The accommodation was very comfortable, the in-room tea and coffee facilities excellent, and the breakfast the best we've had anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2019

    10
    A wonderful stay at the lovely Sail Loft, as a result of a great staff team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The staff are fantastic. There are new staff since our last visit last May 2018 and they are a great team led by a superb general manager. They really want to make sure that everything is top notch. The breakfast is fantastic, both choice and quality. The devilled eggs are amazing; I have never seen that on a breakfast menu before. Lunch was also top quality. Next time we will eat dinner at The Sail Loft.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2019

    5.4
    Great setting but wouldn’t let my dog stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very poor, they do not know how to look after people. The restaurant doesn’t know what it is. The food is of poor quality and a mess. It is 50 yards from the sea and about 50 miles from Europe and it services very poor American style rubbish! The bedroom has excellent views but you can’t open the windows due to the fan from the kitchen blowing the fat smells into the room. Breakfast very poor again.... doesn’t know what it is trying to be. Staff... poor. Check in process is a shambles.

    The setting is excellent

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2019

    10
    A very spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    A very spacious room. We really liked the croissants, fresh fruit and drinks in the room. Breakfast, not over-facing but filling. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed the evening we stayed, so didn't sample any other meals. The location is great, away from the crowds and with a hop, step and a jump you are on the quiet end of the beach in March anyway! The town is still within easy walking distance for an evening meal. Thanks.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    9.6
    Peaceful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and we liked the little extras in the room- fruit, croissants and fruit juice as well as the usual tea and coffee. Position on the edge of town very good for a 15 minute walk along the beach to the pier.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2019

    7.9
    Well located, with just a 10 minute walk along the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building wasn't well sound-proofed and other guests / staff could easily be heard in the corridors outside the room. The floors were very creaky in and outside of the room. Our welcome upon arrival felt a bit odd and the staff member's sense of humour was a bit unnecessary and not the most welcoming ("I'll get the manager, who is the most sarcastic person you will ever meet"). Overall the room was comfortable and well located but a bit pricey for what it was.

    Well located, with just a 10 minute walk along the beach into the centre of Southwold. Great breakfast options included in the price - eggs benedict, french toast, etc. Nice-looking bar and restaurant in the same building, although we were told on arrival that it would be closing early that evening, which would have been useful to know in advance.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2019

    7.9
    Lovely midweek Suffolk break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ‘out of season’ (end of Feb) until Easter and the evening restaurant was not open during our night’s stay midweek. This was a shame as we’d booked the room based on a good restaurant being on site as the venue is slightly out of the town centre. This should have been advised in advance. It’s only a 10 min walk to Southwold’s high street though and as we had great dry weather it was ok :)

    Friendly staff and a warm welcome. The room (top floor no: 5) was lovely and comfortable with views across the marsh at the rear and sand dunes/sea at the front. A great free-standing deep big bath within the room with sea views. Nice touches such as complimentary croissants/jam, biscuits and water/orange juices plus usual tea/coffee. Our Breakfast was really delicious - creamy scrambled egg/smoked salmon on sourdough bread and a door-step breakfast filled sandwich (bacon/sausage/mushrooms/egg) with great fresh produce. A buffet also for cereals and juice etc. Well done! The beach is literally across the road with some free parking.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2019

    7.9
    Staff-brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky Kilner jars at breakfast-two trips to the loo to wash hands before the bacon arrived. Check crockery after it had been through the dishwasher-not always as clean as it might first appear.

    Staff-brilliant Location-even better than the staff, but that was down to geography! Food-huge portions and nice choices.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2019

    10
    I booked this place because of the breakfast reviews and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this place because of the breakfast reviews and it didn’t disappoint! Great food, lovely, friendly staff and a super comfy bed! Everything was spotlessly clean, what more could you ask for?

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic Place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only dislike was the room was freezing cold in the night. The heating went off and the duvet was very thin.

    The hotel was great. The food and staff in the bar were great. The room was very clean and very nice. The shower was fantastic! The location is just perfect, parking and wifi.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    Very mellow weekend with great food and comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap in the rooms in addition to hand wash and shower gel . Other than that .. fabulous!

    The staff were brilliant . The place was mellow and the food especially breakfast was out of this world!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    9.2
    The room was spacious with great views and a lovely terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin unfortunately and we could hear the conversation in the room next door.

    The room was spacious with great views and a lovely terrace.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2019

    9.6
    Good Seaside Bolt-Hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we can think of...

    Excellent lunch and breakfast - the food was delicious, and the staff helpful and pleasant. Our room was of a good size and comfortable and warm (just right for a January stay!) with table and chairs on a veranda. As it is currently out of season, the restaurant is not open in the evening but this is clearly stated on the web-site. Excellent choice of teas, coffee and orange juice available in the room along with croissants if you get hungry before the 9.30 breakfast! Location is just out of town by a lovely sandy stretch of beach and just a short walk along the beach into the town.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous breakfast, the compost were amazing. The location is perfect, cross the road and you are on the beach. Very comfortable bed. Easy car parking

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    9.2
    Lovely room looking over the sand dunes, extra bits in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open fire would have been lovely in the restaurant/ bar area on on cold winters day

    Lovely room looking over the sand dunes, extra bits in the room , orange juice, bottled water, biscuits, tea and cofffee

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    10
    Fantastic short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Absolutely fabulous place. Great value for money, exceptionally nice staff. Brilliant little extra touches in room such as orange juice and croissants. Food really good, especially breakfast. Much better than many more expensive places we've stayed in

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    10
    Location was brilliant, lovely walk into the village along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint and it wasn’t awful by any means but the bed wasn’t the comfiest but it wouldn’t deter us from coming again.

    Location was brilliant, lovely walk into the village along the beach and a great view from the hotel room itself. Food in restaurant was incredible and the staff couldn’t have been friendlier. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    10
    Perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night !

    The stay was perfect can't fault anything.... .Sunday roast and breakfast cooked to perfection. .Location is excellent .Room was spacious & comfortable with a lovely shower and lots of extras. .Staff are accomodating and attentive. Well recommended. Will book again without doubt. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay, wonderful breakfast included, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay, wonderful breakfast included, great location. Hope to return in the summer. One thing for the owner to consider would be to soundproof between the rooms to minimise noise between.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Excellent location, lovely and clean, plenty of tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Excellent location, lovely and clean, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities especially extra pots of milk(there are never enough in other hotels)! Staff were very polite and helpful. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in comfortable room with beautiful views. Great food, helpful manager. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only slight disadvantage of Room 1 was the large extractor fan from kitchen, situated on roof outside windows. We could hear this until the kitchen closed at about 10.30pm. The double-glazing cut out most of the noise but we were still aware of a background hum.

    Room freshly decorated - all furniture and fittings, bedlinen, shower, TV excellent quality. The room had views across fields & towards harbour. Fruit, croissants, real coffee in room. Roof garden with table & chairs. Evening meal in their restaurant was excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    We loved everything, the locations is right on the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything, the locations is right on the beach and we were lucky to have the bath tub room that has a sea view. Great little personal touches in the room and lovely decor. The food both dinner and breakfast was delicious and the staff were so personable and friendly! we would 100% recommend this hotel and will return when we have the chance to revisit Southwold Thanks for a great Sail Loft!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Excellent, would go back and would have no hesitation in recommending to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing comes to mind

    The staff were knowledgeable and very friendly, the whole atmosphere was one of comfort and of being well run for the benefit of the guests.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable overnight stay with fabulous food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great, lovely views, shower room warm and clean with a great shower. Tea, coffee and continental breakfast items in the room very welcome. We ate in the restaurant at lunch time and for dinner, the food was fabulous, we also had breakfast prior to checking out. I think this was the best scrambled eggs I’ve ever had. The other breakfast items were fantastic and we really couldn’t have asked for better choice and quality of the food. The staff were friendly, efficient and professional. The manager accommodated our request for a slightly earlier breakfast which was very much appreciated. Our compliments to the management, staff and chef for making an overnight stay very enjoyable. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    7.9
    Great location... great breakfasts... lovely girl doing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely freezing around 1am both nights and the radiators did not come on when adjusted !!! Terrible draughts !!! Room wasn’t cleaned or coffees/ teas topped up during the stay ...

    Loved the location and the lovely staff and Southwold itself

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Ideal for exploring the local area and a special welcoming small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is very new and a great addition to Southwold. The room was very clean and comfortable. The views towards the harbour added to the rooms charm as did the choice of complimentary drinks and snacks. The breakfast however was the highlight . We'll be staying again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the time of year the restaurant wasn't open in the evenings during our stay. I may have missed the email stating this. Understandable that it is as the town was very quiet. Other eating options are only just up the road though. They open for breakfast and stay open til early evening in the winter on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

    We arrived late and was pleasantly surprised how nice the room was. Furnished really well with a nice showerroom and balcony area looking out to the west. Bed was good too. The sailloft is 30 seconds from the beach and a 5 minutes walk from the next pub.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    8.0
    Lovely position, easy walk into southwold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals during winter months which we were not made aware of. Probably did us a favour as we found a little restaurant in Southwold called coasters which was just delicious. The room we had 5 could have been fabulous,thought corners had been cut & it showed the finish was poor, no attention to detail. Another fault light fitting in bath area wouldn’t meet regulations, should be a concealed unit rescessed in ceiling,Unable to be touched while in contact with water.

    Location was very good,views lovely. Staff pleasant. Breakfast was ok, really pleasant service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    The Sail Loft is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The Sail Loft rooms are large, but comfortable and in our room, each of the three windows looked onto a vista worthy of a painting, salt marshes to the side and the sea dunes to the front. The whole premises is beautifully decorated but in a style absolutely fitting for a Suffolk sea edge shanty town. The bar and restaurant again manages to be large and cosy. The food is exquisite, eat there on the first night of your stay and I doubt that you will go elsewhere subsequently. All this is run by friendly staff who know that they are providing something special and clearly take great pride in it. Finally, when the sun sets climb to the top of the dune across the road and watch the lighthouse beam sweep across the town, magical!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    9.2
    Stunning place in a stunning location 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs and shower head was a bit too big for shower so short for space

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious and best lobster risotto I’ve ever had!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    A fantastic short break !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly lovely place! Stunning location ! Loved our room with the bath overlooking the dunes! The breakfasts were fantastic, hugest portions and scrumptious fare! I stayed with my 19 yr old daughter prior to her leaving for Uni , we both had an amazing 4 days!! We will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Chilled comfortable enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Would stay on top floor next time so we had a view.

    Food was excellent and staff lovely and friendly - one or two a little scatty but that added to our overall enjoyment! It was so laid back and relaxed - we loved it and have already recommended it to friends. Absolutely loved the place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not available on arrival which meant parking in the adjacent pay and display. Our room was hot so we opened the windows. The noise from the kitchen ventilation and air conditioning kept us awake. The management did engage with us and have committed to put it right for future guests. Our deal included a continental breakfast in the room. A cooked breakfast was available to purchase however we declined.

    Great location next to the beach and close to Southwold town centre. Good evening food from the restaurant. Room came with balcony area. WiFi was free but not reliable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous weekend away in Southwold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a wardrobe in our room.ok for 2 nights but if staying longer would like a wardrobe

    Fabulous weekend away in Southwold lovely clean room. Comfortable bed. Fabulous food definitely a 10 out of 10 for the food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Great short weekend break in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over a pub, so a little noisy at times. Quite pricey, but the benefits of the location made it worthwhile

    Excellent breakfast and modern rooms right on the sea front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxed restaurant and rooms in fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service took a little prompting as did replenishing of breakfast buffet items. However they were generally quite busy.

    Location, lovely bedding, cleanliness and space in bedrooms. Little outside balcony (room 1). Nice relaxed atmosphere, dog/kids friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not particularly welcoming. 😔 and had to wait for any service both checking, advise or taking our order.

    We eat dinner and breakfast, both were 10/10. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Great food and comfortable room, but needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt very rundown. I understand that it’s supposed to be a rough around the edges and I usually like that. But the main dining areas and breakfast areas were dirty. You can still have that rustic appeal without it being sticky and grimy. The outside areas really needs someone to get and outside and give it a tidy, dead plants and litter all over the place. It’s a shame as in essence it’s got all the right ingredients. Also despite it being a night in August and prices go up dramatically, £168 is way to much for this property.

    Great location, food and staff good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location across from the beautiful sand dunes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed two nights. We have stayed before in other rooms which are okay but this time we stayed in Room 1 which has some sort of machinery and kitchen extractor right outside the window which is noisy and unpleasant so it was impossible to sleep. Also a very poor wifi connection.

    Perfect location across from the beautiful sand dunes and beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little uncertain as although it is reserved it isn't guaranteed as - as they said - anyone can park there to go to the beach!

    The room was lovely with generous attention to detail, especially the cafetiere with fresh coffee. The location is perfect, very quiet within walking distance of the town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Had a really enjoyable stay and loved the location and accessibility to the harbour and Southwold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could smell a bad odour - vomit on the bedroom flooring which was rather off putting.

    The extra touch with the croissants available in the room. The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Decent location and fairly comfortable, but overpriced for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast....breakfast...breakfast. The menu reads like a hipster parody but the biggest failing is not being available until 9:30. The explanation given is that they prefer to provide a relaxing break but it feels like trying to be different just for the sake of it. I don't like being told how to relax anyway. Didn't think much of the breakfast menu either - breakfast is the time for the standard fare, not experimentation. They did rustle up some decent poached eggs on toast when we asked for it though. Pillows are far too soft as well

    Tea and coffee making in the room were very good. Staff are very friendly and try their best to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Property was so close to the beach which was a lovely short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Property was so close to the beach which was a lovely short walk to the town centre. The room itself was clean, bright and modern and loved the extra touches of coffee, tea and croissants left in the room! The breakfast was fabulous, both me and my partner were very impressed. Had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to return in the future!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit disorganized staff need a team leader as manager was doing everything but still everything was done overpriced alcoholic drinks private parking should be addressed as people going to beach who were not staying at hotel were parking in private car park

    Location cleanliness of rooms nothing was too much trouble food was good rooms were nicely decorated with lovely bathroom and patio area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a lovely stay at the Sail Loft. Staff were friendly and professional. The room was modern and nicely decorated. We ate in the restaurant and we were very impressed with quality of the food. A continental breakfast was provided in the room with fruit, water and orange juice. We also had an excellent cooked breakfast mid morning, with plenty of choice on the menu. I can't wait to come again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant could have been better when it was very busy.

    Lovely comfortable room, great view and friendly staff. Very well stocked room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    We throughly enjoyed staying at the Sail Loft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We throughly enjoyed staying at the Sail Loft. Excellent location, ideal for the beach and a short stroll to the town. We particularly loved the food which was of a very high standard and reasonably priced. The bed in the room was very comfortable and we loved the views from the bedroom window of the countryside. We would definitely come again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our stay but record temperatures did cause an inconvenience. This was unusual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were there for the hottest July on record and the small fan was unable to keep it cool. When we got into the room late each afternoon we needed to open all doors and windows which unfortunately brought with it, the flies. There was an extraction fan for the kitchen on the roof outside which was pretty noisy but this did go off about midnight.

    Breakfast was excellent with ample choices. Location was excellent. Only 3 minutes stroll to the beach and 10 minutes to the town center. Room was large with a large balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable B&B rooms. The breakfast was probably one of the best ever for a B&B stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garden could be tidier.

    To have tea and coffee facilities along with bottles water and orange juice, croissants and jam, biscuits and fruit: such unexpected extras.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Expensive, wont be going back and to be honest I would avoid the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There did not seem to be anyone in charge, so it was all a bit take it or leave it. The breakfast arrangement is quite bizarre, you can have cold buffet at 9:30 in the morning and according to a leaflet in our room if you wanted cooked breakfast you had to hang around until 10am, which is far too late for us, we packed and left just after 9am, incidental when leaving it was all locked up and we had to bang on the window to get someone to take the key!

    It was clean, bed comfortable, big room, great shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    3.8
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No help with our bags. We were told we would have to have our continental breakfast in our room. One croissant wrapped up! We paid £ 180 pn We should have had our breakfast in the restaurant. The member of staff who checked us in was off hand and unhelpful. We had to go out of the building to buy our breakfast. All the items in our room should have been put in a fridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses for gin and tonic at 18.45 ! Served in half pint glass and then in a brandy glass ! Room 2 noise from bar . Tables in pub very sticky .

    Lucy very pleasant and chatty .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    Terrible ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked originally because other property was closed on a Sunday. Only to find every thing shut including the bar at 1800. OK My fault but not obverse on booking .Room clean but bits missing in the bathroom ( shelve) But Main complaint was the Extractor exhaust right outside the window, Room 1 Even with window shut, fan switched on/ off all night, neither of us slepted a wink, and at £180 pounds, the biggest rip off I have experienced with Booking . Com

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely return and stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday evening is a bit like a ghost town, even the bar downstairs closed early

    Perfect place! Ideal location, 5 minute walk into Southwold, 5 minute walk to the marina. Room was perfect too...continental breakfast in your room in case you don’t make breakfast downstairs which is served at 9.30am. Would definitely return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant seaside accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were confused about the breakfast arrangements e.g. times and extra menu choices. The waitress dealing with the drink order was inexperienced and could not suggest alternatives to the drinks they did not have available.

    The decor, cleanliness of the bedroom, quality of the linen and toiletries and continental breakfast was excellent. Parking and access to the beach and town was good. Staff on arrival were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent one night stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with a balcony with seating. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a good size with everything you need. Great location across the road from the beach and just a short walk into town. Good pub on site serving excellent food and great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing break with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't believe there is anything we didn't like.

    Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Location brilliant, would certainly book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Close to town, comfortable, spacious and friendly - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room looked out onto to the countryside rather than coast. We didn't mind as that the coast side would have been close tot he road which would have been on the road side however instead we were opposite a large chimney vent (Room 1). However, given we were out exploring beautiful Southwold most of the time it didn't matter. The door to the bathroom had a rather loud creak but again not a massive issue.

    Staff were lovely and room was spacious with it's own terrace which was lovely. Also brilliant breakfast - have the sourdough, devilled eggs and sour cream - delish!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stale croissants and fruit in the room for breakfast, while we were expecting a hot meal in the price. Also there was no shaver point in the bathroom.

    The staff with the exception of the manager who hardly acknowledged us were really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.3
    Nice location over looking the dunes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on first look nice, however then discovered huge amount of cobwebs over he walls pictures and extraction fab in the bathroom, the Roman blind has what could only be what looked like someone had been shot?? Very disappointed and also only found out when we arrived that the food hygiene rating is a 2! However this was not displayed anywhere and I had to ask the staff which they confirmed it was although under review, really would not stay again, assistant manger was extremely rude when confronted did not like that we were unhappy and after a fashion resolved our complaint

    Nice location over looking the dunes

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!