Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Salisbury Hotel 4 stars

43-45 Salisbury Road, Newington, Edinburgh, EH16 5AA, United Kingdom

#56 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 660 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay, friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the room, no aircon but windows did open. There is no lift at this property but this didn’t bother us..loved the spiral staircase.

    Friendly, relaxed staff. Comfortable bed. Very nice dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garden part of the restaurant was nice, but in time some upgrading would improve it and make it more attractive. Great to have a green space during the exceptionally warm time of the year (July 2018).

    A very friendly staff and manager. Good connections to the centre and some nice restaurants close by, also the hotel restaurant was good. Everything worked very well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Well pleased with our decision to stay here, an
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, there was a personal problem relating to steps which could not be completely overcome. A more exact description of the difficulties for a.person with walking problems should be available.

    Extremely helpful and conscientious staff, proferred valuable information about the area and advised on best way of getting to the wedding reception to which we had been invited. Including how to arrange taxis and how my personal walking disabilities could be best overcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location in Edinburgh, 30 min walk to city and bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad thing to say is that bar was closing when we came back at 8.30 after a dinner and wanted to have a drink in the backyard garden, which they also had closed.Apparently they hadn't have many dinner guests and decided to close restaurant and bar early despite arriving hotel guest. - not really something you would except from a hotel bar.

    Good location in Edinburgh, 30 min walk to city and bus stop just outside hotel. Comfortable rooms but very small and with tiny bathroom (we had the standar room). Parking in front of hotel. Great reveption staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean comfortable rooms in a lovely old building overlooking a garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested two single beds rather than one large bed. The two singles were a little uncomfortable - overly soft. Wish we could have opened the window as the room got stuffy and airless due to the heatwave that Edinburgh was experiencing but the room was easy to access from the outside so the windows were sealed shut.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely old building with a garden to relax in. The superior double room was smaller than expected but was clean and fairly comfortable. Good tea and coffee selection and free bottled water daily. Pleasant restaurant on site with a good and reasonably priced breakfast. Complimentary glass of wine from the restaurant. We liked that the hotel was an easy walk to Holyrood Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent place to stay on good bus route. Park in the hotel - or pay for on street parking!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bathroom had no shelf space which was somewhat inconvenient. Information about on street parking was non existent at reception. Due to lack of space in the car park, we parked in a bay immediately outside the hotel. We had failed to see the only parking meter in the street. When reception asked if we'd parked in the car park and were told 'no, we parked in the bay in the street', they might have saved us a £30 fine had they checked that we had paid for parking. This was pointed out to them, but I don't feel my comments had any impact.

    Very comfortable large bed. Lovely garden. Enjoyed the bistro. Staff were friendly and polite. Issues with a light bulb that needed replacement and a curtain the had partially come adrift from the rail were immediately dealt with once reported.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet street but within walking distance of vibrant area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was quite small

    The room was very big and the bed extremely comfortable. There was a patio door out onto the garden. The room was very quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Ironman 70.3 Edinburgh ideal athlete location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast fine lots of choice for the price. Bathroom as described in small double but actually not very private as literally sitting on the toilet when partner in bed uncomfortable for most couples I would say!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area needed a good clean

    The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We parked the car once we arrived and it did not move during our two night stay. Although the hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the Royal Mile, it is in a quiet location with many restaurants close by. The staff were friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Was not an unpleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed to find out our friends who we traveled with paid £30 less for this hotel. There is no one at the desk during the night and the price did not include breakfast. I feel for £150 this hotel is well overpriced. A lot of noise from reception area in the morning. I found i could not regulate the shower to stand under as it was roasting hot.

    The receptionist was very helpful and organised a taxi for us to our venue. Nice quiet street. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way......20 min walk to the center Bar not open till after 1700hrs. ....it was a sunday

    Staff very helpful .....breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what I needed as a base for my work, which took me all over Edinburgh and East Lothian.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. For one, the room was the right size. For two people, it would be quite small.

    My room was comfortable and clean. It was very quiet and overlooked the garden. I had a continental breakfast which was more than adequate and good value. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, hotel is as described and comfortable, good breakfast and overall great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like

    Staff are all excellent and very friendly, in a 'pre-Brexit' Britain it is lovely to see so many nationalities working together in harmony to run a hotel so well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall not bad for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is pretty small (to be expected I suppose), window didn't stay open without being propped up by books, could hear the room next door a bit and the bedding could be higher quality

    Friendly staff, car parking on site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Our visit to Edinburgh was all the more enjoyable due to our stay in this lovely hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and we were told we had been upgraded to a family room.Our room was really lovely and very clean and comfortable.The breakfast was delicious .The staff couldn’t have been more attentive.The hotel has a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm through the night.

    The bed was very comfortable. Coffee/ tea making facility well stocked. Free parking and nearby bus routes very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Very proactive and friendly staff, really clean and pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good, maybe the price a bit high and absence of a lift to take heavy luggage up are weak points that do not compromise the good experience.

    Very proactive and friendly staff, really clean and pleasant room, recommended! Parking is available in the place with no extra costs, and location is within 1,5Km from the Castle and historic center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small and the sliding bathroom door was right by the bed. The bathroom was also tiny. This is not a criticism,it’s a boutique hotel and in a lovely old building so this is what to expect

    Great location for Edinburgh,about half hour walk. Really clean and well presented

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub has seen better days and shower soaks the floor as no screen to keep water in which made floor very slippy

    Room was clean and in a good location friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and homely boutique hotel with very...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar had no lemon for gin and tonic and the dinner menu was very basic. Rather expensive for the level of the facilities (but the room comfort made it worth it).

    Very comfortable and homely boutique hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Bed supremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.0
    Charming small Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we chose this hotel for parking and there was none actually available for us was a huge drawback.

    The bed was very comfortable, the food was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location for the southside of Edinburgh and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, I found that one of the pictures hanging on the wall was smashed with broken glass in the frame. This was sorted when I mentioned it to reception. Bathroom cleanliness left a little to be desired. Some grout was brown and mildewy, the shower screen wasn't totally clean and a skylight above the shower had dirt and dead bugs on the other side. Needed a little more attention to detail from housekeeping!

    Friendly staff, very comfy bed and good location for the southside of Edinburgh with Holyrood Park just a short walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfort for a single visit to Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price always expensive as everything in UK

    Nice breakfast, easy check in and check out, large room for a single person, good bathroom in an old house one mile from Edinburgh Castle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable alternative to big brand city centre hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this visit the WiFi was poor and intermittent in service. Eventually sent from reception area not room.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Arrived late and was given an upgraded room. Good breakfast and ideal location for getting into central Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good staff make a big difference. Thanks.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet probably needs cleaning or replacing. TV wasn't so good (switched off only high up on the wall, e.g.) Curtains needed a lot of tweaking. The area seemed to be going down.

    Hotel needs a bit of refurb' in rooms & garden. Bathroom beautifully modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very accommodating and clean. I love Scotland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the view was odd but I personally do not care. I care more about my comfort in my hotel room.

    Bed was very comfortable. The room looked extra clean. Our previous hotel was awful and it was very nice coming to a clean and put together hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Very personable alternative to city centre brand hotels .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No obvious downside but slightly limited parking.

    Very personable alternative to city centre brand hotels ... comfortable room with all amenities and an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The room I had been given (Mayfield) exceeded my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had been given (Mayfield) exceeded my expectations: fancy and full of amenities, with a nice small bow window. The bed's mattress was excellent, I had a wonderful sleep. Staff was awesome :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff, excellent dinner places nearby, good to walk to town cetnre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four-Poster Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like the walk to town centre of approximately 20 minutes. There are regular busses easy to take. But this is not in the town centre. And that works well for me to see more of Edinburgh.

    Excellent front desk staff, welcoming, efficient, and friendly. Excellent location for outstanding Italian and other food nearly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing overnight stay in peaceful and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! The hotel was great value for money.

    Friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Lovely old building with original features like the shutters in the bedroom. Comfortable bed and quiet bedroom. You can walk into town but there's a good bus service from the end of the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A very comfortable and quiet but central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with a couple of coat hooks to hang up wet coats.

    Bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and offered a great choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall we had a lovely stay at the Salisbury.even thou it was a fair trek to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is overpriced at £10 pp each day. We stayed in 4 other hotels during our stay all of those included breakfast in the price The steps up to the property are very steep, easier access would be much more appreciated.

    There was everything you could possibly want made available in the room. The restaurant was closed on our first evening there. We felt there was not enough choice on the menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely area within healthy walking distance of the Royal Mile, and although the street itself is quiet, there are many good restaurants & bars nearby in the lively university district. Very comfortable and cozy room and bed. Welcoming staff, efficient check-in. Nice, quiet house and gardens and a superb breakfast made to order. Top value for money and highly recommended. Free parking in the on-site car park is a huge plus for Edinburgh, where parking is usually difficult.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Boutique hotel - would stay again on another visit and would recommend to Edinburgh visitors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very comfortable and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There was a lovely lady on reception who was most helpful and polite to whom I would like to say "Dziękuję"!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful little hotel - we would definitely return.
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We were upgraded to a better room at no extra cost - it’s the nicest hotel room we’ve stayed in. The toiletries were lovely, as were the choice of complimentary teas, coffee, biscuits etc. The car park was great and there’s on street parking nearby. It was terrible weather so we didn’t do much exploring on foot, but you’re a 5 minute drive away from the centre. We felt we’d landed on our feet finding this place, so big thumbs up from us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.0
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Garden-view rooms are lovely, nice classical-style decor. Location is pretty great: central to old town and university, with buses less than a block away. Good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Not a 4* hotel standard like in France but enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DISLIKES: -The view (and the noise) on the street -The mirror shifted from the sink (really annoying) -The door between the bathroom (WC) and the bedroom not really "hermetic"

    LIKES : -The kindness of the staff -The carpet -The free & near (but little) private parking -The cleanliness of the room & the bathroom -The wifi -The non-smoking bedroom -They accept American Express -The decoration of the bedroom -The number of pillows -The wood shutters :) -The ceiling height -The Continental breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Not bad enough to complain about but not one where you would want to re visit or overly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly cramped room size although adequate. Decor was fairly dark and dingy. Plenty towels and toiletries but surprisingly no face flannel. No lounge or public area. All felt a little clinical and uninviting. Attached restaurant was closed and only opened for breakfast but the staff there who doubled as the housekeeping staff were very friendly and nice. It felt almost like an eerie guest house with no owners or hosts to be seen or heard.

    It was pretty quiet for sleeping and there was a car park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly - will use again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apparent on first visit. If car park full the on street options are limited.

    Good location and on-site parking. Large and comfortable room with additional heater thoughtfully put on prior to arrival. Excellent toiletries and plenty towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    A stress-free stay in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small niggles only. The towels were replaced after the first night even though I left these on the rail. The bottom sheet did not seem to be big enough as it did not appear to be tucked in properly.

    The size of the room was good for a single room. It was quiet. The decor felt both plush and cosy. The fact that the hotel agreed to hold my case after I checked out so I could enjoy the rest of my day before making my way to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on the food. We stayed in a small double room which was fine for us. The only thing was that the bathroom was small but lovely and modern the down side was the door which was sliding and no privacy at all. We would go back again as this was the only thing we could think that might put people off but could easily be rectified. All in all a lovely stay and pleasant staff at reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    A lovely boutique hotel, just a little different in a special way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault, made very welcome.

    Staff very attentive, and nothing is a problem for them, thank you, 4 poster room lovely, additional heater is supplied. Fabulous sleep. Easily a 30 minute walk into Princes Street, but plenty buses and taxis in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Met all expectations would be happy to recommend and return in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult for those with even minor mobility difficulties.

    Beds were extremely comfortable and room very quiet and well equipped. Good selection for continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Edinburgh Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Will definitely book again. Excellent value.

    Excellent welcome, check in a breeze. Room was upgraded foc from what I had booked. The room was clean, warm and had all the things you would need, including an iron & ironing board! The double bed was large and comfy. The bathroom was modern, with a large bath and excellent shower. Our car was parked off street and the hotel is ideally situated for getting into Edinburgh city centre. 10 mins by any number of buses. The following morning, our breakfast was excellent and the staff could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent night's sleep. Comfy bed and quiet room. Clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Moderate walk from City Center and a great place to start the walk up to Arthur's Seat from. If I was a swimmer I would have loved the vicinity of the Olympic pool and discounted entry for guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    A weekend in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable and welcoming. The staff were helpful and very pleasant to deal with. It was in a very convenient location for getting buses to the city centre and only a short distance on the bus to the main sights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Just the job for our overnight in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spaces are limited and awkward to get into car park - we had to park elsewhere Breakfast was too expensive for us (£10-12 pp) so we ate out instead

    The location was handy for buses to Princes St, reception lady was very friendly, big bed was comfy, room was huge, lots of tea and biccies in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    The Room and Bath was clean and Amazing i like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out early about 10:30 and check in 2 PM.if i wanna go to another hotel i have to wait for around 4 hours.

    The Room and Bath was clean and Amazing i like it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place, good prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were both over and undercooked in the same pastry... on both days Breakfast otherwise varied and high quality

    Beautiful building Felt like a boutique hotel Very helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Weather was miserable when we arrived, but we soon cheered up when we saw our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish it was a little nearer the city centre

    Everything was perfect. will definitely be going back in the near future. Staff extremely helpful. wonderful experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely everything you would want. Couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Attention to details ie toiletries, ( even had cotton buds) iron, hair dryer, choices of tea in room etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant but hotel needs attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bath towel would be good. Taller bedside table.needed, ie level with bed.Tv controller needed batteries and clock radio not working. Bathroom towel rail was cold. Attention to detail would be good.

    Quiet room. Nice shower room.Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice room good size accommodation spotlessly clean, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had my two daughters with me and our plan was to have Saturday evening in having a DVD evening. Their was no facility to play a DVD or to watch Netfliks. I think as this is advertised as a family room they should have this.

    Nice room good size accommodation spotlessly clean, good parking, god value breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    Lovely staff & restaurant - everything else goto IBIS, holiday inn, travelodge etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing room. Dismal heating. Freezing bathroom - risking frostbite going to the toilet. Poor Wifi signal. Doesn't accept late travellers (ie anyone trying to get a room after 11pm had better go somewhere else). A glorified B&B but not a hotel ...

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    I would certainly stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower screen was a little old and inefficient, and the bath very small.

    Bed was amazing. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Location was perfect for visiting student granddaughter. Daughter stayed in the next room, which was very convenient. The choice at breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a wee bit disorganised. Staff very apologetic and organisation was soon restored.

    Comfortable bed. Great tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four-Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff really lovely and friendly - this was a return visit as I have stayed there many times whilst visiting my daughter who is at the uni in Edinburgh. The rooms are lovely and you are always made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice quiet location but 2 mins walk to bus and restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quiet location but 2 mins walk to bus and restaurants etc. Very comfortable rooms and beds an excellent hotel and would definitely return when next in Edinburgh

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, quite location and close to the commonwealth pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window could be easier to open it is an old sash type without counterweights.

    The room was clean comfortable and well equipped. The hotel is located close to the commonwealth games swimming pool and the hotel can provide a discount card. If you are a swimmer the pool is excellent. There are plenty of busses running into the city - it is also possible to walk. There is also a reasonable range of bars, cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Fanatastic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One small irritation was that the four poster bed blocks the view of the television in the Salisbury room I stayed in, and as the television is wall mounted, you have to position yourself on the edge of the bed to be able to see it fully.

    I stayed in the Salisbury room which was spacious and well equipped with everything you need. Large, clean bathroom and very large comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good. Parking is available on site, and although is first come, first served for the few spaces available, the owner is happy to move cars around to accommodate where possible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The best experience!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Second time I'm staying at this hotel and absolutely loved it! Got upgraded to a four-poster suite this time and the room was marvellous. Staff always extremely helpful and courteous. The weather was beautiful and we walked into town - only took us about 20 minutes (and there are some great cafes along the way!). Would sincerely recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall value for money in a hotel close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could do with refurbishing and the garden was overgrown and in need of some attention. The rooms were not big but the space had been well used.

    The hotel was convenient to the city centre and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The free WIFI was also a bonus. We were lucky to be able to secure hotel car parking which was really conveniently located at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, lovely neighborhood - great stay 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beds were sooo comfortable - never slept so well in a hotel! 10 minutes walk to the Salisbury Craggs, and 1/2 hour to the Royal Mile. Busses galore to cover the city.Nice and efficient staff and a great choice of breakfast. Omelettes to die for. Will be back 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice well maintained hotel with super comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price, but you want to stay in a city, you gotta pay for it!

    We arrived half hour before checkin and our room wasnt ready but the receptionist said we could put our bags in the room anyway. we went to the car to get our bags and by the time we got back she said we could go into our room in 5 mins as she had asked the cleaners to get it done asap for us. The bed was very comfortable too but the pillows were feather and my fiance is allergic to feather so he had to sleep without one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    A most comfortable small hotel well located in Edinburgh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was rather slow but that is a minor quibble really.

    Very friendly staff were most helpful at getting the sort of breakfast most suitable; very flexible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok but a bit average to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 minutes walk to the city centre. The water went cold half way through a shower. The door didn't lock and we had another guest entered our room. The door was difercult to lock when leaving the room. The room was downstairs which made it tricky getting our luggage down and then back up.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was a reasonable size. The parking was good. Staff were attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    It was generally most enjoyable and I OULD STAY THERE AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The alarm call was too early. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

    The breakfasts were very good with a wide range of choice Also the hotel is very conveniently situated near to bus stops and frequent buses. The staff were friendly and efficient although our alarm call was an hour or more earlier than asked for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Adequate room in a well located hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is quirky rather than boutique. Furnishings are not luxurious and bathrooms are very compact but beds comfortable and high ceilings make for a spacious feel to most rooms , but avoid the very small single bedroom if this is offered to you as it is tiny,gloomy and bears little relationship to the photos on the web site. There was no guest lounge or bar and the restaurant is leased to another company and the menu is quite limited. There are however good places to eat near bye for dinner.

    Excellent breakfast and a good location for walking into the old part of Edinburgh and the Festival across the Meadows, or easy to get in by bus. Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposedly 'Superior ' but was small and nothing like the photos it uses in promotional material. It was small with oversized furniture. The bathroom was tiny; the open plan type shower meant it was inevitable that the bathroom floor got soaked Bath towels were the size of a slightly large hand towel With one exception, reception staff were dour. The room itself was small; it felt cramped with an unnecessary round table yet only one chair.

    The bed was very comfortable Holyrood/ Arthur's Seat nearby Quiet room with pleasant view of back garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Glamorous boutique hotel 10 minutes from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not complain about anything really, possibly the parking area was too small so we had to park on the street: luckily enough it wasn't a problem and since we were leaving early it was free

    Staff was helpful and very welcoming, we were upgraded to a family room comfortable, spacious and very well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was terrible both days we stayed in this hotel. Although the breakfast it self (for 10 pounds) where good and the staff was very friendly but the dining place is not very nice and doesn't fit with the nice rooms they have.

    It is very nice and cosy hotel. We got upgrade when came to it. The room was spacious with high ceilings, big bathroom and adorable window sill bench were you can drink coffee of read a book. The hotel is in walking distance from down town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Way overpriced for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a particularly bad experience at this hotel : the room was very small for the price, the bathroom, cupboard-sized, is separated from the main room only by a small sliding panel that leaves almost no privacy, there was a dirty sock under the desk. The walls are thin and if your neighbours are noisy, it won't be pleasant. The previous occupant had set an alarm clock early in the morning and the staff forgot to remove the alarm. I had the feeling that everything was organized by the owner of the hotel to save as much money as possible; I can understand, and I imagine it's not easy to run a family-owned business. But to me this is really overpriced, particularly considering the hotel is not close to the center. I had booked three nights but finally cancelled my stay after the first night (first time I ever did this), and found for the same price an hotel next to the center and much more comfortable. I might have been very unlucky; perhaps the room I got is particularly bad; but in this case, they should not use it. Finally, I'd like to add that despite my negative comment, the check-in staff was very good; I feel it's really the management of the hotel that's the guilty party in the poor experience of my stay. When I checked out early, I left my email under the promise that the hotel manager would contact me. He or she never wrote.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff who welcomed us was not really that tactful when comes to communicate her thoughts or opinions to us. Bear in mind, this is a service industry. The room was really small especially the toilet which was really cramped. The window frames and furniture were dusty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not well insulated against noise. Could clearly hear other guests in the hallways coming and going.

    Bed was comfortable. Easy 20 minute walk into Edinburgh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wanted to charge an extra 2% for using a credit card even though the confirmation did not mentioned it. They told me this was a footnote on the Booking.com web site. I booked 3 other hotels on this site and none of the hotels charged an extra for using a credit card.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Salisbury Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: