Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sands 5 stars

Peasholm Gap, Scarborough, YO12 7TN, United Kingdom

#4 of 40 Holiday rentals in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 812 apartment reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing long weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice apartments with beachfront location and very homely feeling. Immaculately clean and comfortable. Kitchen very well equipped if you planning to cook. Friendly staff. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    weekend in scarborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe the weather could have been a bit warmer but it is september so even ok great stay martin

    every thing was just perfect super stay staff great accommodation spot on you wont vbe dissapointed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Not returning. Grossly overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh air! No windows to open. Weren't able to leave balcony doors open with young children in group. No Wi-Fi, although advertised! No bedding provided for toddler so had to sleep with adults. Very poor basis requirements.

    Very clean. Great views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous occupants perfume smell on soft furnishings and in the wardrobes, kitchen cooker hood filter needed replacing.

    Self contained living space on par with how you would expect to live while on holiday. Great to be next to the beach when weather is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved the accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame it isn't located closer to the centre of Scarborough.

    Loved the accomodation. Clean tidy and very comfortable. Was quite a walk in to Scarborough but we were able to get the bus that runs regularly. There is a shop and restaurant underneath the Sands where you could get what you needed easily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist could have been more helpful and proactive One receptionist very good- she had a more northeast accent, maybe Newcastle way (dark hair). For price should receive daily housekeeping service

    2 bathrooms Good kitchen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Beds excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything

    Beds excellent. Facilities excellent. The accomodation first class made the holiday knowing after a day out you were coming home to a bit of luxury

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, would definitely consider booking in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors, this is a problem with the fabric of the building, uneven and noisy (possibly a specification and or installation fault) in both the apartment and corridors. Possibly a better quality carpet in the lounge. The biggest disappointment was the length of stay, not long enough!!

    Everything, no complaints, I booked 2 apartments, one which housed my 85 year old father, the only suggestion I would make was for a provision of a handrail in the shower, this is an observation and not a criticism.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and won't stay anywhere else in Scarborough now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only quibble was the wooden chair on the balcony was broken and caught my dress when I sat on it and it ripped it, perhaps cushions being made available would be helpful?

    The apartment was stunning and exceptional views. The staff were extremely accommodating and went out of their way to help us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very convenient position and views amazing. The secure parking was a big bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some way of propping the bedroom balcony door open as I like my window open at night but no secure way of leaving the balcony door open

    Beds a bit hard but I like a soft bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception were not very friendly and due to one of them not knowing their own system said we had not paid and it was left to us to prove we had which I didn't think we should have. I also left something in the apartment which when I rang the next day and no one was staying in it the item could not be traced.

    The views and the comfort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Second visit to property. Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a sagged a little Would have preferred two rooms with two single beds in each bedroom instead of one double bed/ king size in one room and second bedroom with twin beds

    Cleanliness Modern property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Poor Show for Premium Rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got put in a different room than allocated! Had to be moved the next day which isnt pleasant to endure when you want to relax straight away....Staff that you liase with are very young,would go as far as teenagers you have to liase with with no life experience of uprooting a family or dealing with adults. It is just not acceptable for the money you pay! The Gym is not state of the art, it is not maintained and several machines are out of order. Very poor experience this occasion unfortunately.

    Beachfront and balcony overlooking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Scarborough mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i liked everything .. And will be coming back..it was a nice break. I booked 2 x nights but could only stop 1 x night due to someone in the family rushed into the hospital back home ..

    The balcony to sit out ...And the Room was simply excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    An excellent apartment in a perfect location for the beach and local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so nice to be welcomed in the car park by a very friendly young lady who took us to our apartment and showed us around. The apartment was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and absolutely everything that we needed was included in the kitchen and in terms of other equipment. The welcome pack was just what we needed. The location was perfect for the beach, which was less than 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    The ideal holiday destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know why, but just seems to be very noisy early in the morning.

    Top quality relaxing holiday, in luxurious comfortable surroundings. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Always found a spare parking space for visiting family. Absolutely recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay again next year for a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When it rained could maybe do with an indoor play area but the area is being developed

    Apartments beautiful clean modern washed all of our clothes before leaving stone throw from the beach no amusments bus at regular intervals to South side

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Loved it recommended for any age
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firm double bed

    Location brilliant nice area bus stop outside .everything in the apartment good quality.Great views no sea view rooms have the sun on the balcony pm real suntrap .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    The layout, design, facilities and location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a sea view

    The layout, design, facilities and location are great. The value for money is exceptional. We had previously booked at another hotel which was rated 3 star and cost £100 per room plus £6 parking plus additional amount for breakfast! We decided due to negative reviews to cancel and book with The Sands. Free parking, lovely welcome package, the milk and bread were very welcome. Luxury bedding and very very comfortable bed. We will defiantly be returning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Hamilton's at Scarborough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi dropped out sometimes, so had to try and connect back. Sometimes it took a while to connect.

    Location just by the seafront. Apartment was very clean, luxurious, comfortable. I loved the welcome pack (message on a post card, bread, milk, tea, jam & sticks of rick)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms could be improved with blackout curtains.

    Large spacious apartment with fabulous sea views. Very clean throughout and great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. We hope to go back again soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Scarborough in the sun rivals anywhere in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Secure parking but a bit on the tight side. Felt the price was a bit steep. Would have liked an apartment overlooking the bay but the price appeared extortionate to us.

    Location fantastic. We were two in an apartment for 4 and had lots of lovely room to spread. Cooking and A/V facilities were great. We had a room at the back of the complex with a balcony overlooking greenery'

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    we all enjoyed our stay everything was made so easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing could have been better it was a full package

    ffood was not included in our booking eccept for the very welcome ,welcome pack which was very welcome and unexpected nice touch the complete package was brilliant area too all of it and cant wait to come back again thankyoup

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful four nights in an outstanding apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we could not find parking. We had not been informed that we could use the underground apartment parking area before checking in.

    Location Luxurious apartment Very well equipped Good basic provisions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    my partner was rushed into hospital, so we had to stay there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my partner was rushed into hospital, so we had to stay there another night, had to change rooms and the staff done all the move for us, all staff was amazing, a big thank you to all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to complain about

    Loved this place would come back for sure was like home from home had everything u needed was so comfortable and clean also get a welcome package of essentials waiting for you overall just fantastic!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More cosmetic products - there was just one little bottle of each item.

    Extremely clean, wonderful view, great facilities, very kind staff, great location. An overall superb city break!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    5 Star quality facilities on the beachside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have booked a longer stay as I didn’t want to leave

    Location right on beach, fantastic quality and nice extra touches such as bread and milk waiting and secure parking - absolutely faultless

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed not good and when we booked the holiday the pictures you have up were nothing like the room and the view we was expecting and it was supposed to have 2 double beds

    It was great the bed was not comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved the comfort and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was on the corner by road and found it noisy specially early evening got bikers reving there bikes up out side would choose a apartment in different location next time

    Location was really good settees big and comfy bathrooms nice and roomy with plenty of nice big soft towels.lady who booked us in came down to our car with a trolley and helped get our luggage to our apartment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    We would like to stay again. Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Numerically some of the parking spaces didn't make sense initially.

    Comfy clean beds and Orla Keely toiletries. Tea,coffee milk and bread a nice surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A fabulous stay matched by the weather!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    We were met at the car by a member of staff who wheeled our luggage to the apartment and explained how to access the property. She was very pleasent and helpful. The apartment did not disappoint from the moment we stepped inside to see the fantastic sea view from our balcony. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Fab weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of pillows would have been nice and the use of a fan, everything else great

    Great location, great clean apartment, lovely to have a balcony, abd fab weather

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    couple of niggles , some wear and tear of electrical s, i.e TV had a line across the bottom, electric hob slow to heat up. the bathroom would have benefited from a working extractor.

    Spotless, well equipped, well situated, covered car parking a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant comfortable stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location car parking , lovely clean comfortable accomodation .....neAr Peasholm park and open air theatre which is where we were attending a function ......weather was a bonus ....great .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Unforgettable memories to hold onto as I get older
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    going home!

    Views to die for. the most comfortable beds ever, I have polio and it was the first time I could lay down in bed without it hurting, miracle! Can still see the views in my minds eye. I chose this holiday instead of a cruise and so, so glad I did.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    The views are fantastic, location and the fact you could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking was very tight, spaces very small also the space in the bedrooms was very tight for elderly. Food was limited the restaurant downstairs Blue Crush was not very nice and facilities were unclean.

    The views are fantastic, location and the fact you could come and go in the car park was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great weekend away with our children, apartment idea much better than a hotel room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that we didn’t like.

    The property was lovely it had everything we could possibly need, we loved the little welcome basket it was a great touch. The dvd library in the reception is great for children on an evening to relax before bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and very highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was raining the day we arrived but who can predict the British weather and that was no fault of the Sands. The rest of the week was fantastic.

    This was the best holiday I have had for some time. The accommodation was very well maintained and comfortable. it was an excellent location, the staff were friendly and accommodating and I hope to return again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Scarborough stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything you needed and more was included. The staff were really friendly and the location was excellent- right near the beach and peasholm Park. We would defo visit again you really get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location with onsite parking and pleasant surroundings right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sofa wasn't the comfiest but probably practical given the number of people that would stay in the property throughout the year. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very slow to clear the steam after a shower

    Location was great, at the far end of the North Shore. Apartment was clean with secure parking an added bonus, as was the Welcome pack as we checked in late in the day. The cafe and bar on the ground floor meant that we were able to have breakfast close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing you could possibly want was included ,things I don't even have at home. Lovely touches such as dressing gowns , brand new bath mat , welcome bread and milk . Would come back again and again . Felt really spoilt and the kids loved it too and there hard to please when on holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    We had fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Lift was broken for the duration of our trip. I had emailed prior to our trip requesting as near to ground floor as possible as three of our party were smokers.(we didn't not know the whole of the sands was non smoking until I read it on trip adviser after booking) Our room was on the second floor, which initially didn't seem too bad, we did not know that you entered the sands on the lower ground floor. Which meant we had a lot of stairs to do to get outside. So the lack of advertisement of the balconies being non smoking and the lift being broken made our trip not as enjoyable as it could have been. We had no offer of any compensation for our trouble with the lift.

    The apartment was lovely. Well presented. No problem with noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Home from home but with a better view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping - that was in the small print and I missed it. Wasn’t a problem as I used the washing machine for clean towels. The pillows were too hard - spare soft pillow in the wardrobe would be a good idea!

    Reception easy to find and check in was a breeze

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Ruined my stay, won’t be back next year!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid extra for a sea view room and they put us around the side of the property overlooking a road, told me it’s because I used booking.com but the details of the rooms are specified, means nothing apparently!

    I’ve stayed before and if you get a room on the front it’s lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Short sweet weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment we had was we did pay for a sea view apartment but got a side sea view...

    Staff were very helpful, liked it because it was right on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent holiday in high quality comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bar / restaurant attached to the property were of a poor standard regarding cleanliness and quality of food

    high quality furnished apartment with all mod cons, very clean and comfortable, large screen tv with Netflix available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, Great location and a good choice for families !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night and were checked in very quickly and efficiently. The apartments are in an excellent location, clean, well stocked with all necessary equipment and of a good size. Would definitely recommend to others as the number one place to stay in Scarbrough !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broken during stay so it’s difficult when we check out, the reception did offer the help though, so overall it’s not a good problem.

    Great location for the family! Next to the beach, fun fair and mini train station! Food in the downstairs restaurant is nice and reasonably priced. Big space and good kitchen facilities!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Stunning view. Superb appartment. Everything we could have wished for.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all we could have wished for.

    The welcome food pack, gorgeous soaps/ shampoo, the daily weather popped through your door.Bath robes and lovely towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it!

    The apartment was very clean and comfortable. It provided everything that was needed and more. We had a sea view from the 3rd floor which was wonderful. Also very quiet considering we were on the very front of the beach and near a busy road. Excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    flat was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apartment overlooked a roof car park. The parking was limited and the spaces were tight. Fairly noisy during the day with the cleaners in the car parking areas.

    flat was great. Good location and very modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Is always best place to stay in Scarborough
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with internet not first time ,No one do anything to resolve problem .5 start Apartament not acceptable

    Is always best place to stay in Scarborough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Prefect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our son walked into the patio style door in the bedroom that opens onto the balcony thinking it was open, safety stickers would be a good idea.

    What more can I say...fabulous from start to finish. We were greeted in car park by a staff member and luggage trolley and were taken straight to our apartment which was on the first floor, sea view. Beautiful apartment, fabulous decor throughout with exceptionally comfortable beds...we were very lucky to have had good weather so we could enjoy the stunning views from our balcony...didn't want to go home, will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location, wonderful customer service, fantastic accommodation #justperfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like. It was brilliant.

    The welcome pack was wonderful, the pre arrival telephone call the day before to confirm arrangements was fantastic, the position being right next to the bus stop, access to the beach, the whole package was wonderful and I will definitely book there again. I have already told many people about The Sands #perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Foggy family Easter holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double low bed a little too hard for me but maneagable for a short stay.

    Spotlessley clean, lovely decor, well equipped, secure, fabulous sea view, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely fine - we enjoyed our stay - but just not quite the 5* we expected from the brochures...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Flat described as 'sea view' was more of a 'side of other block of flats view'! To be fair, we could see the sea when sitting at the dining table or out on the balcony but not easily from the 'lounge' area which was much smaller than appears on advertising photos. Second bedroom was also a little more 'cosy' than expected. Glad there were just three of us in there...

    Flat was very well supplied with kitchen utensils and crockery - though little cupboard space for groceries. Bathrooms were excellent - good quality towels and fittings. Dedicated parking (a little tight in places for anything bigger than a car) and the free wifi were very useful. All areas felt very secure. Plenty of information about what to do in folders.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Check what room your getting direct with hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s expensive but sold it on a sea view, they show pictures from the front sea facing rooms, but what we were actually given was an apartment over the noisy road looking out at the grass banking, you can see the sea, but it’s very misleading. If I had known this I would not have booked. What’s really irritating is I am confident they are well aware, but it’s all about making money.

    Beautiful apartment, well appointed, immaculately clean, lovely beds. Good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Minor gripes,great overall.We will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage to reception from car park. We wandered about a bit at first. On leaving,we asked for local parking discs,but no one knew where we could source one.would be useful if you had them for guests.

    Welcome pack.free dvds,warmth and comfort of apartment.location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent just what we needed for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very tight car parking but pleased to have a space.

    The beds were excellent and the rooms lovely and warm. The tech worked well and my grandsons were able to borrow games which kept them happy. We have stayed before and will be pleased when they get the building next door finished it has been an eyesore for a long time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Good, but significant information lacking on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not ready on arrival - disappointing after a five hour drive. But complimentary drinks were provided which was welcomed. We arrived on the Sunday evening - went out mid afternoon to South Bay and walked back around 5.30. Unfortunately, no one had mentioned to us that at that time along North Bay was a huge gathering of young motor enthusiasts. Massively intimidating (this is an understatement) to walk through with young children. Police were present, but this in some ways added to the unpleasant feeling. This should have been mentioned on arrival, as it was also very noisy from our apartment.

    Lovely comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Adequate not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were under the impression we would have a sea view. Extremely disappointed with outlook which was overlooking the car park and building site, therefore did not feel was value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Ruined
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Robert Dean was so rude when we arrived has no customer service skill at all . We own a restaurant & 2 bars & would never be so uncaring . He wouldn't listen even though it was there fault tried to blame booking.com but when got in touch with booking.com & proved it was there fault did not even care . Gave us the wrong apartment we needed 2 double beds as my husband has sleep apnia & is on a machine all night so I have to be in a separate room . We got an apartment with 1 double bed & 4 singles & on the second floor when was supposed to be the 4th floor . He came & pushed 2 single beds together but one bed was higher than the other so very uncomfortable for my 3 nights & said booking . Com made the mistake & we should of booked direct with them but we tried to tell him after we booked we phoned 2 days later spoke to confirm that we had the right apartment & spoke to a girl who confirmed all was ok . So then he said I booked on the 1 Jan 2018 & someone had booked it on the 28/12/2017 so it was tough I had to have this one . It's a shame no one could email & tell us this & also who told us on the 4/1/2018 it was all ok . Incompetitant staff just happy to take your money & not care how much they ruin someone's holiday break . We travel 5 hours to go to the Sands as we love it we have been going 5 years & took our family there but very dissapointed & upset by the way we were treated but I don't think they will care.

    The apartment was lovely but was the wrong one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The apartment was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Duplex Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like. The only thing lacking was a table and chairs( there Was just one chair)for the balcony though spring is only just here so perhaps they would be provided in the next couple of weeks.Also we got in touch with reception and they brought a chair for us. Thank you

    The apartment was stunning. The beds were so comfy- my friend is disabled and slept without waking(that never happens for her) The jacuzzi was fabulous and the welcome package of tea,coffee,bread etc was much appreciated. The weather was very cold yet we spent a great deal of time on the balcony and we were warm as toast. 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    A great place for a self catering beach side location holiday at Scarborough .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment is warm , clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay with the family . Close enough from Scarborough centre to walk in , but far enough to have peace and quiet .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, was perfect in very way

    The 5 star facilities in the flat, the size, the little extras ie milk, bread. Staff were fantastic, great location, very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great family weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apartment was next to the Lift so quite noisy.

    We thought the Apartment was spacious, clean and modern. It was in a great location and had good facilities. The beds were particularly comfortable. The Reception Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Refreshing Weekend Break after the Xmas festivities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor point - the access to the complex/parking is a little bit tight if you have a large car or SUV.

    Excellent facilities - the apartment was furnished to a very high standard with everything we needed during our stay. We got very muddy on the Saturday of our stay and even washed and dried our clothes before returning home!d

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Restful, stressless and as always thorougly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not single complaint.

    We have stayed here previously both in penthouse and two bed apartments. This was a late booking so only one bedroom available. However, same quality and finish on all rooms in the apartment. everywhere spotless. Kitchen has everything you need. Bed very comfortable and quality linen and good pillows. Plenty of storage. Bathroom large with big bath and good shower. Lounge area comfortable seating, very restful and very quiet. No sea view but the one beds do not have them. Not a problem. There is no noise from neighbours, apartments are warm and very restful. Location brilliant. We have family in the area and can park the car and not use it until we leave. Check in very friendly and straightforward. Warm and welcoming receptionist. Communal areas spotless. Have recommended the Sands to many people and it is not something I normally do. However, the standard of the accommodation is that good you feel confident to recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent first experience of The Sands. Will definitely be re visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The kitchen utensils were rather sub standard. For example masher bent when trying to use. Kitchen knives were substandard bent easily. Need for a small kitchen knife.

    The beds were exceptionally comfortable. Being nearly on the beach was great. Great location for walks along the coast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Lovely clean hotel expensive stay considering the problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea view )
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 109 was above an extrator fan and although we did let them know about the noise when we first entered the accommodation we where assured it would be switched off by 9.30 But unfortunately it went on all night !!! consequently neither of us slept and had to pack up and change rooms the next day very very inconvenient and no compensation offered Very disappointed

    Kitchen was very high quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Duplex Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location. Property was very clean and spacious. We paid for the breakfast hamper for 6 which was very good. The food was very good quality and would recommend. Blue Crush bar also serves really good food and gives discount to Sands guests. Staff at the Sands very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely flat very well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit pricey compared to the other accommodation in the area but fully appreciate the Sands is not in the same league.

    Lovely flat very well decorated. Kitchen facilities were excellent. Only wished we were staying longer! Will be making this trip a yearly family traditions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Duplex Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't access the property until 3 in the afternoon which is abit poor when your only staying 1 night

    There was bread milk jam, ,marmalde and the property was immaculate, absolutely gorgeous definitely going back there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant family break by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking through booking.com....misleading pictures did not state during the process that it wasn't a sea view it was only in the small print when booking completed...it ended up costing us another £45.....

    The receptions staff were very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: