Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Savoy Country Inn

Tenby Road, St Clears, SA33 4JP, United Kingdom

#5 of 5 hotels in St Clears

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taken by surprise with the shower, very powerful, perhaps a little to powerful

    Hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking, staff were friendly. Room was quite large, very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it, cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cables for TV needed to be secured to the wall

    Welcome was very friendly, lovely young man showed us to the room and explained about breakfast and entry and exit after hours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in the room did not work and we reported it on departure and they will look into it. Some fresh fruit and Yogurt would be a good addition to breakfast menu .

    Good location , friendly staff, wide choice of food and access to good roads to make the most of this beautiful part of Wales. Tenby and a visit to Caldey Island make an interesting day out and we also went to St.David's and Pembroke castle. The walk from Wiseman's bridge is a must and also to Dylan Thomas's boathouse at Laugharne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well except the guy making breakfast, the others were so-so. The beakfast was okay but lacked flavor. Its small and I do mean extremely small and dirty. Tv, no remote, light, didnt work, toiletpaper not given the second day The makeup of the room was horrible as you cant use either desk nor closet as both are in the way. First night we were kept awake by other customers (bad isolation) second night firealarm without fire,

    Good location to get around. And bed was weirdly enough comfortable tho wobbly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on suite was was rather small, as we are not large we managed to cope, it’s only good for overnight stays. It is on the edge of a very busy road, so you are disturbed during the night especially when hgv’s go by.

    It was a friendly place with staff being very helpful, the food was reasonable priced and of good quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no down points so there was nothing we did not like.

    Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Choice of food excellent served with a short waiting time and nice and hot. Inn is easy to find and has plenty of parking. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, apart from the one in the morning who was lovely, was very rude since the moment we arrived. They were unpolite and not clear at all. We needed to ask everything and they answered in a very bad way with no reasons as we were polite and asked the normal questions you asked in a place you don't know and you want to be comfy at. However, the guy who was working in the breakfast was very nice and helpful

    The bed and the TV in the room. The hotel was very cozy as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner arrived just before midday and thought we would have a drink in the bar and a bite to eat as we had been travelling four hours. I walked through the bar and told the landlady that we had a room booked and she told me, quite sharply "Nobody checks in until 2". I knew this and hadn't asked her if our room was ready. Needless to say I used the facility of the toilet and made a hasty retreat without lunch and returned at 4.00 p.m.......

    Nice and quiet, bed ok. temperature of room good, decent shower. Lovely clean white fluffy towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. The restaurant was full and the staff of course stressed to there limit - but they did well.

    Best of all - very good value for the Money. Friendly/helpful (but stressed) staff. Good food. Clean rooms. Quiet. Parking incl - just NeXT to the hotel. Great location for people on the move and just want a nice place to sleep and eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very miserable, also left waiting at the bar for about 10 minutes to order a drink whilst three of the staff were standing around. Room was an okay standard except couldn’t turn the shower off so had to turn it off at the main switch. Also no tv remote or if there was it was very well hidden

    Was relatively cheap considering we booked it last minute and most places were booked up. Plenty of free parking and although we didn’t eat there the menu looked like there was plenty of choice and good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight negative was the shower wasn't very good.

    The staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful! The good was gorgeous as well, as we arrived in the car park we could smell the food and it smelt gorgeous and we weren't disappointed when ours arrived! The bed was very comfy and the room was a nice size and very clean. Excellent all round and we will definitely be returning! Thank you Savoy Country Inn!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small. Bathroom was the tiniest I have ever seen. No hairdryer in room, yet no plug near a mirror in case you brought your own, which I didn'.t and had to go out and buy a dryer and mirror to add to expense. Bed was lumpy and noisy, traffic noise kept us awake, stair carpet dangerous, and furniture in the lounge area of bar, was thick with dirt and grease, especially the one near the bottom of stairs.

    Food was excellent. Waiter very cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi wouldn’t connect. Hotel was quite noisy being above a pub and a little too expensive for what it was.

    Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff were friendly. Parking was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All three of us thought our dinners were mediocre. Quite disappointing overall. Especially unhappy that there is no mention that main stairs are alarmed and unusable from 11 pm to 8 am and that access to outside was via a lot more stairs and the outside door to get back into building during those hours was difficult to unlock. As people with some mobility issues, we would not have booked this hotel if this information had been on the web page. Also quite annoyed that, despite a confirmation of an update from a one to two night stay for two rooms, on arrival at hotel, we were only booked for one night and no rooms available for second night so we spent over 2 hours on our day of arrival locating alternative accommodation for our second night in the area, and further wasting a lot of time on our second day with packing, driving to new accommodation, unpacking .. instead of being out exploring and enjoying the area. Not sure how it works between booking.com and hotel but very annoyed that a confirmation from booking.com does not mean a confirmation from hotel!

    Breakfast was made to order and very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 4 rooms for a family get together, 1 room the mattress was disgusting, badly stained with no mattress cover. When asked for a remedy the staff stated no spare rooms, no spare mattress. The owner then asked “ would you like the wallpaper changed as well”. He then said” if this continues you will have to leave” We had booked a meal for 18 family members so had no choice but to stay. His arrogant attitude did not help. 2 people had stomach upsets during the night,may not have been down to the meal. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

    Breakfast was good, location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower in en suite looking tired and not very good. Turned hot and cold when in use. We had to settle for luke warm to avoid burning or freezing.

    Staff made us very welcome. Decent breakfast. Clean room. Easy parking. Quiet and got a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 was noisy from the road but not that bad and the bed had a creaky mattress that was probably past its best

    A great Gluten free breakfast was provided after we advised the hotel beforehand

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The table was an old fashioned dressing table style and it was difficult to get my legs under (and I'm not big) so working on my laptop was a bit uncomfortable.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were welcoming. Food was good and wasn't expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was constantly over flowing into the toilet bowl, hundreds of litres of water going down the drain and noisy. The wardrobe was falling down and the TV control was missing.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few problems, Shower didn’t work (the temperature kept going hot and cold and then would lose pressure). When it was raining the water comes through the roof and down the wall by the head rest.

    It was a lovely room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking-in was early (10.30). Based on arriving by ferry which was late and a little car trouble. We arrived at 11.15pm. Felt the receptionist could have been a bit more friendly despite our late arrival. Given only 5 minutes to arrive when we phoned from the town to find the place. The map wasn't clear on how to get to the hotel.

    No breakfast was available

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were OK, but with no frills . Never really made to feel welcome on arrival. When asked what time was breakfast I got told 8:15. I request if I could have earlier but got a flat NO, no sorry sir because ........ so I declined and said it was to late. My room was small and in need of a good Decoration. A real shame as I have stayed here before about 2 years ago and it was a totally different experience

    Evening meal is the bar area was of a good standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lamps. Very poor illumination from centre light. Very small shower room (almost impossible to turn round in)

    Bar staff and food. Perfectly OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more engaging and freindly. No interest about the customers what so ever.

    We checked in at around 7pm. No signs for the reception and never expected a check in at a pub/restaurant. Staff was not particularly interested in us. Lady on till was more intrested in srving beers to locals rather than checking us in Rather seen us as a burden. In the morning there were no staff to greet us. However there was a gentleman (seems like a hSK supervisor) who asked us how was our stay just before I handed in the keys. That’s about it. No character to the hotel. Rather boring. But we were not looking to spend time at the hotel as we went there for an event. Located in a beautiful and convenient place. Its a OK place (nothing interesting).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner/manager was extremely rude and refused to provide us breakfast as we were slightly delayed to check-in due to traffic. We kept apologising and the lady went on and on complaining. Extremely disappointed with service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included and not worth the price: fatty, no fruits Pub meals: extremely poor, we tried twice The oopnly vegetable: peas - alternative: mushy peas (insulting) Beds extremely small

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    after storm Brian, we had no shower facilities, this was not the staffs fault, but very inconvenient, the staff could do nothing as water pressure had gone.

    Staff went above and beyond to be accommodating after a family incident. Could not fault their caring attitude and solution.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at the side of a fairly busy road - traffic could be heard all night. Don't know if it would be possible to improve the insulation. The room was pleasant clean and had most things needed. The bathroom was small but adequate. There wasn't room for a bedside unit on both sides of the bed which was a little awkward but we managed. Bedside lamps would have been useful too.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    thin walls. was woken a few nights by the noise of the room next to ours. Bathroom very small.

    Good location. Food good. Able to take drinks to our room. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and real kettle

    Room and toilet was very small n not comfort. Tea kettle was not hygiene and not clean at alll. We spend only five hours n I can say am not satisfied .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full payment was requested upon arrival. Later on we discovered that there was no hot water for a shower. (Shower room was tiny also.) Our complaint was received poorly and no gesture was offered for the inconvenience; the service was very disappointing. Our stay at the The Savoy Country Inn was for one night to break a 400 mile long journey. We would not recommend The Savoy Country Inn.

    The bed was comfortable and food was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and very noisy next to road, the bathroom was the smallest l have ever seen and the shower was useless.

    Staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst bit is the size of loo and shower very cramped otherwise the stay was good the bonus was the good weather.

    The very friendly atmosphere and helpfulness also good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation entrance requires a little attention/redecoration, and I did have to remove a little debris from the floor in our room!

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearness I think it was poor in the room we had the bathroom needed a good once over maybe the company could spend sum money on the place. After all it is call the savoy. !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy due to busy road, extremely compact shower. lack of power points, bedside tables and lights. Would probably have redeemed itself through the dinner (but we did not have one!)

    Easy to find, good parking, clean room, nice TV helpful staff at checkout .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in ensiute VERY hot. Shower area cramped , general cleanliness could be improved. Shower tiles marked with water marks needs a little more attention . Need bedside lighting as main centre light too much.

    Ideal location for visit. Staff very friendly and accomadating. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sorry, now for the BUT bit.........! While we were there it rained heavily and we got soaked. At that point a major weakness of the Savoy revealed itself. There was no heating and no heated towel rail (or any other way of drying out it seemed) so we ended up, 6 damp and fed up people. There may have been the best drying- room in Wales in the hotel but it was a busy pub so how do you find out when there's no information in the rooms? So the 'Don't Like' bits are (1) Need information cards in the rooms for room telephone usage, Wifi password, what to do when your clothes are sopping wet etc. and (2) Need mugs instead of small cups on the tea trays in the rooms. I sincerely apologise to Mr Brains if there were drying facilities in The Savoy but, if not, please use your local knowledge of Welsh weather to help your guests dry out.

    Great location, excellent staff, a comfortable bed, good breakfast. All in all very good value for a pub with rooms...................BUT

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have done with a toilet brush in the bathroom . Thats just my personal thing.

    bed very comfy and clean. Staff very friendly. Lovely breakfast cooked fresh. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I picked one of the hottest days of the year (34deg!) and since my "dormer" windows would only open about 2cm at most the room was ridiculously hot - and no aircon :-(

    A functional stop-off en-route to Fishguard. Basic, good quality room and cost-effective but basic menu in restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very easy to find. Evening meal and breakfast were good. Although mushrooms were not on the breakfast menu, they were cooked for us as we requested. Very good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was late , through circumstances beyond my control. Bad day made worse by rude staff. Apparently i hadnt book breakfast , but wasnt offered the option of having one, felt unwelcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was lacking in the finesse department due to fluctuating water pressure I guess. Other than that it was good.

    Friendly reception on arrival and shown straight to our room. Good sized room, dated decor but clean. Bathroom small but adequate. Shower was a bit of a Russian roulette affair being hot one minute and cold the next. Comfy bed and tea, coffee and biscuits for the diy enthusiasts. Had an evening meal and drinks in the bar, typical pub grub but reasonable prices and quick service. Cocktails at £3.95 were a bonus! All in all a pleasant place to stay, near to Pendine sands and 30 minutes from Tenby. Plenty of parking and good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise all night long, unable to get a good nights slepp. shame it was a ok place otherwise but will not return because of traffic from port all night, room next to road so not good value with paying for breakfast as well.

    There were none breakfast was extra cost

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poky room with 'bathroom' including toilet, basin and shower in a space the size of my understairs loo. Had to fiddle with both sink outlet and loo flush to get them working. Didn't stay for breakfast because of general seedy feel of the place. Would need a car since way out of St Clears across busy roads. If I were Brains (brewery chain of which this seems to be part) would want to refurb it all.

    Convenient location for Irish ferry routes. Staff friendly enough and very basic room clean (public spaces I'm not so sure about). For one night stopovers only.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't keep to the same temperature it went from very hot to freezing cold and because we didn't have a bath the shower wasn't safe for my children.

    Friendly staff, evening meals were lovely and reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bedside lights, loo and shower room so tiny you couldn't do anything without hitting your elbows and there was nowhere to put ones toiletries except the window sill in the shower and nowhere to put wet towels. A second bedside table would have helped, but there wasn't enough room. Breakfast was a fixed price, even if one only wanted toast and tea, so we had to go elsewhere. Also you did not tell me that breakfast was extra.

    It was convenient to where we needed to be

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was average but fine. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there but as a holiday stop over it was OK. No hairdryer in room was bit of a pain.

    Good value for money. The room was fine. Location good as a stop off for exploring South Wales.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival you need to wait to be checked in at the bar while left holding all your luggage, and as it was a busy early evening it took some time for the one member of working in the bar to welcome you. The welcome was courteous but not warming after a long tiring weekend. I was informed that breakfast was only available from 8am which for most business travellers like myself, is too late when you need be at meetings early the next day. It would also would have been nice if alternatives could have been suggested. Though the room was well presented the bathroom was a little tight and the view from the room was restricted. I needed to iron a shirt but the Inn did not an ironing board but they did have an iron, so had to use the back of a chair with a towel over it.

    The inn was very comfortable and clean. Initially the menu didn't really offer me anything I fancied at the time but there was a nice option on the specials board that was well prepared. I would recommend the Savoy Country Inn for a short stay if visiting for pleasure or if on route to the Irish ferries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet slow when pub was busy

    We.never ate there but the menu looked.good and judging by the number of people eating there the food must have been good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money paid it was very satisfactory Water pressure a bit poor in shower but accectable

    Easy to find Very warm friendly greet from staff We found everything satisfactory

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prices were higher than advertised on Booking.com according to the owners this was because the recent price increase was not reflected on the site. This price was not honoured. Road noise was also a oroblem

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing bad was I had to travel 8 miles for a cash point. I used card at the property but I met grandchildren and needed cash to give them.

    Friendly welcoming staff and great food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small.The room was dark. no fridge facility's. The wash basin in the shower room was minuscule.There were too many stairs to clime to reach the room.

    The breakfast was lovely also very hot and freshly made. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that room could have done with some bedside lamps. Hot water/water pressure in shower was a little sporadic in the evenings but again. It's an old building, don't expect things to be perfect.

    Staff were friendly. Rooms were cosy. Bathrooms were small but it's a really old coaching inn.... it's what we expected :) Also. It's a great price. Much more character than a chain of accommodations!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit basic, no fresh fruit or yogurt. No fresh coffee. No bedside lamps.

    Excellent welcome and well cared for by all the staff during our stay. Room clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!! Apart from we wanted to stay longer!

    It was lovely and cosy, just what we needed after a 3 hour journey on a cold night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming from the start. We were never made to feel we had to rush with our meals. Rooms were lovely and comfortable and very clean. We loved our weekend there so much so that my husband wants to book to stay there again! (and he does not like going any where!!) We would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Latest check in time is 11pm and due to problems at work we where unable to get there until 1am so had to make alternate arrangements until we could get booked in the morning. So money wasted on first night booking.

    Good. Clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Good meal and atmosphere in the pub downstairs. Rooms a little small but comfortable, clean and adequate. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very disappointing.The toilet seat was loose,the loo roll holder broken and the shower was not over clean.No bedside lamps,just a main light. We had one meal,which was very disappointing.Everything was deep fried to the point that it was hard to tell what was what.

    The young lady on reception was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outside our room window there was a flat roof with socks, baby wipes and a few other bits and bobs that had been thrown out. Was not nice to look at but i doubt its the fault of the staff. would be something to check from time to time and clear away.

    The staff were very nice and friendly and the food was very well priced and nice. For accommodation above a Pub it was nice and quiet too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Savoy needs to be run a little better. This is the first place that we have not rated during our travels around England and Wales.

    Shower tray was Dirty as was the base of the double bed. We have visited this premise a few times for food. On this occasion the food was not up to a good standard. During our stay we were not made to feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay other than a pressure issue with the shower. Water pressure on the shower kept dropping out causing shower to fail and go cold. Seemed like a problem when there was a high demand ie other rooms , Kitchen in pub etc around 4 -5 o'clock as shower was fine in morning when pub was closed. Other than this great value for money and clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lamps Reception is the bar and means the door to leave the bedroom area is alarmed from 11 to 8.

    The bed was comfortable and the room clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly....also we arrived at 9pm all hungary but they told us they stopped serving food at 8.45pm.No room for us for breakfast next morning & they closed the bar at 10.30pm. Would never stay here again

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No water pressure causing showers not to work properly and for last 24 hours no pressure and no showers- Not good when you have been on a speedboat and are covered in sea water! Water board called but not rectified before we left dirty! Bathroom sinks too small to wash in too. Traffic noise if you leave windows open. Food came out burnt on first night told it was due to a new grill. Fine but why send it out? Put us off eating there again which was a shame as we did eat there again on the last night (as I was covered in salt) and the food was fine.

    Beds comfy and rooms a decent size. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location to get to tourist attractions. Loved the ice cream puddings. Rev James beer was good. Service was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sbymall but that's not a complaint by no means

    Everything had a fab stay just wanted a break for a night staff very welcoming food lovely just great thank u would recommend

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it's rooms have tried to present a modern image the up keep is not great. The bathroom had not been given a proper scrub for some time and the bed base in our room has seen better days. What really let it down was the amount of dust in the room. They need to touch the rooms up and give them a jolly good clean.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely awful beds squeaky and totally worn out terrible noise oncoming traffic into bedrooms miserable staff very unwelcoming

    Surrounding Greenfields

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small Shower too hot then cold . Shower head wouldn't stay in place

    The colour of the building Restaurant good value nice pub food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was very creaky although it wasn't overly uncomfortable. The only other thing that affected us was the room we was in there was a rainwater drainage issue which and as it rained through the night it was constantly bouncing off the window ledge where the fault was. It was quite noisy and woke up several times because of it.

    Staff nice and friendly and generally everything was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roast dinner was absolutely disgusting. No hairdryer in the room.

    Clean small room but comfy. Good supper and breakfast. Nice staff especially man who served breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size but the shower was pokey and did not work very well. They seemed to be in need of a good handyman to keep the place ship shape.

    This was a convenient stopping place for us. The pub had a very large dining room and a good choice of reasonably priced food was available. Breakfast was lovely and the chef very obliging. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning could be improved. Thought shower plug hole was blocked so lifted it up and wish I hadn't... Bed is a litttle uncomfortable.

    Staff were fabulous and only happy to help. Lovely location. Food was excellent value and very tasty. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are too small. When I phoned asked if I could check in slightly early because I was due to be at a wedding was told NO! When I got there early they let me check in early anyway...bit of an own goal on customer service there!!!!

    The rooms and beds were fine

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: