Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Diss by Verve 3 stars

Ipswich Road, Scole, IP21 4DR, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Scole

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    As a lover of architecture, wonderful. As a lover of real ale, less so. As a lover of wine,disastro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modernised period buildings are rarely right, but, we regret, they are probably necessary to attract business. Poor selection of draught beer, and really awful wine (based on three whites offered by the glass. We baulked at trying others!)

    A stay in a glorious Jacobean house! Pleasant staff. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. There was a lot of charm in the hotel and room. I loved the housekeeping 'dog' at the door of the room. The place had the feel of a traditional solid comfortable stopping over point for travellers of a by gone era. The staff were lovely. Could have had better service at breakfast and fresh fruit as stated on the menu, but that was a small point. The meals we had were really good. We hope to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were big and nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, noisy road (couldn’t close windows due to heat) and hotel (could hear people walking around). We had the breakfast and there was no orange juice, no fresh fruit, no brown sauce. Only option for coffee was drip coffee, no lattes or cappuccino etc even though they had the facility. Poached egg on toast was literally just 2 eggs on one slice of thin toast - not worth £10 when they had run out of the other stuff. However, when raised upon checkout, management did waive the breakfast fee.

    Rooms were big and nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. Full English breakfast was very good. Apparently the sausage was the best ever had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Good overnight stay in pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath mat had been rolled up wet and was mouldy. Would have liked a biscuit with the tea and coffee supplied in room. Some yoghurt at breakfast would have been good.

    Rooms refurbished to a good standard, very attractive buildings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    What an amazing room - The Nell Gywn - more like a suite ! Very clean and comfortable. All the staff were delightful , helpful and pleasant.. A lovely breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant with a very obliging chef who crushed up the peppercorns as my hubby hates the ball bearing shotties for the sauce! 😁 The only slightly negative thing I can find to say is there was no tea spoon with the tea and coffee making facillities!😁😁 It was an absolutely charming tastefully newly refurbed 17th Century coaching in. A lovely stay and will stay again when visiting family Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience from check in to check out was fantastic. Rooms spacious, very clean and comfortable. Food was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Can't wait to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    OK FOR A NIGHT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WEAK LIGHTING IN THE BEDROOM AND THE STAIRS

    NO LIFTS AND OUR ROOM WAS UP 4 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS AND AS WE ARE IN OUR 80S A BIT MUCH. BUT THE STAFF TOOK OUR BAGS UP ---AND DOWN.WE DID NOT HAVE DINNER AS WE HAD BEEN TO A FRIENDS 90TH BIRTHDAY PARTY. THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. A stress free stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Although we didn't eat there except for breakfast, as we were attending a family wedding, the restaurant and the bar are a great asset for the village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    A stunning property ruined by unsympathetic refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this amazing 17th century inn has been turned into something out of a horror movie set, with purple lighting, fake stag heads and horns everywhere and almost unbelievably, a fake plastic tree in the garden and a fake plastic hedge in the front. Fake plastic flowers on the dining tables complete the picture. Despite it being 23 degrees outside, the heating in our room was on and the staff seemed unable to turn it off. We were given an alternative, much smaller room with a door that didn’t shut properly, but sadly, nothing off our bill.

    The location was ideal for our requirements and the food was quite good, but that was about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They missed the wake up call and no one was about to take the key back but the two ladies waiting to start their days work at the hotel took the key and were very helpful .It's a good hotel though and i would stay again.

    Excellent food, polite staff, decent room , value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, terrible food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst ever evening meal in upmarket restaurant. Just far too salty. Should have called the waiter instead of eating on.No feedback from hotel on my complaint. Probably used too much stock cube in the rissotto.

    Building style, on NCR

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Happy stay with happy people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the room kept rolling you into the centre of the bed but any bed that is not your own is never perfect.

    The internet connection was not great but everything else was more than expected. Looking forward to returning again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    would have been perfect if the kitchen could sort themselves out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet seriously needed hoovering in all rooms and stairway. Restaurant service was shockingly bad. The food was good - when it finally arrived !! However, errors with food i.e, no peas arrived with fish & chips, the fish crumble is just that - fish in a sauce and absolutely nothing with it! Wish someone had said - could't possibly wait another hour for them to cook up some veg to go with it

    Lovely quaint rooms, with good facilities - hairdryer, shampoos, tea making, iron etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    I didn't understand why one review was so unfavourable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't understand why one review was so unfavourable. We found this hotel good value. Car parking facilities ample. It's a wee it. outside Diss and the rail station, but I knew that anyway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Stunning historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor not in keeping with the building. Food was 3 hours late and we had to complain or we would still be waiting. Short staffed causing various problems including us being mistakenly upgraded! The manager was very apologetic and we had no charge for our 10pm meal but it is a very badly staffed and run organisation. We will not be returning

    Stunning historic building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    excellent value for money. Good atmosphere, evening meal to a high standard, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had rooms 18 & 19.. great rooms but the only thing that let it down was the door handle, it's was a non functional drop latch. That's all and it's such a minor thing.

    excellent value for money. Good atmosphere, evening meal to a high standard, staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room did not work. No remote control for the TV. No bath mat. Dog hairs left from previous occupants.

    Great location, beautiful setting. Lovely private gardens in the dog-friendly apartments. Delicious breakfast and our dietary needs were catered for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    There was nothing I could see that needed improving, a seriously excellent hotel and friendly super helpful members of staff with great attitudes and A1 service.will 100% be back soon...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Adequate for one night, but wouldn't stay longer. If visiting the area again, will look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower useless, either freezing cold or scalding hot. Toilet cistern took up to half an hour to refill. Decor was a little tacky, pictures of dogs wearing tiaras for example and a stuffed life-size toy dog outside each room, bizzare.

    Room was warm and toasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Really nicely renovated rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation of the bar is an absolute disgrace. Tacky, tasteless and erases the history of the building. Kitchen extremely average, food clearly frozen

    Really nicely renovated rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Vastly improved now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More English breakfast tea bags! The rest was fine. Tall people need to duck in the upper floor bedrooms!

    The hotel has been transformed by the new owner, Everything is clean and tidy now. The manager was very helpful and quickly arranged for someone to carry our luggage to the top floor. We only had breakfast, which was well presented. For anyone wishing to explore the area this is an excellent stopping off point. Diss itself is very pleasant and Norwich, the Broads, Bury, Ipswich are within easy range. For those who enjoy music Snaith is about an hour away. We would recommend it now.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was poor ( very weak stream) The windows in our room were dirty inside and out We had a dirty wine glass in the restaurant The radiator In our room was faulty Both the mirror in our bedroom and the bathroom were positioned so we could not actually use them when standing up normally ( too low)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, rubbish food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was appalling, I was served cod that was raw in the middle & when I complained I was then given a piece that was so over-cooked the batter was inedible. Also it had so many bones it was really difficult to eat.

    I liked the building & the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a nights stay to visit nearby family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side but perfectly fine for one night. We had to stay in one of the outside rooms as we had brought our dog. I’m sure the rooms in the main hotel are bigger. On the plus side there was even a small enclosure for the dog just outside.

    Warm friendly welcome from cheerful staff. The complimentary Easter egg left on the bed on arrival was a lovely thoughtful touch. The bar is cosy with a wonderful log fire. The refurbishment has much improved this hotel which had become tired but retained the old character of the place. Lovely powerful shower and plenty of storage space in room. We didn’t eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. The restaurant looked nice but breakfast was extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault is that there were several cigarette ends outside the room and in the picket fence area . However, there was some snow and I’m sure that’s why they were missed

    The staff were absolutely lovely, funny and very helpful indeed. Beautifully decorated. Very dog friendly with thier own little outside pen with picket fencing should you wish to use it. The food was very nice, beautifully presented and not inordinately expensive. If you wish your dog can accompany to the bar for the bar menu. Friendly, relaxed and a wonderful setting. We would recommend it to anyone .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Scoles Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refurbishment of this hotel is gorgeous. Really lovely decor. Room (Emma's Room) was absolutely unexpected and definitely had the wow factor. Staircase was original with the worn stairs. Food was well cooked and really flavourful, good value too! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Cannot fault and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Was a nice welecomely place was abit cold at first but went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was a nice welecomely place was abit cold at first but went down and asked for a heater and they didn’t have one apart from the one reception was using and they gave us that one

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    It was ok apart feom the lack of staff in the a.m and broken shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to have a shower bedore we left and the shower was broken. No staff on 7a.m to make them aware of this,most disappointed as i had ti gi straight to work. No drop box for the key either.

    The accomadation was nice, location was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not properly cleaned after our first night and the bed not made. This was resolved by reception staff when they told.

    Large room. Liked there was a bath with a shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay but slightly let down by room maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely room was let down by small cheap maintenance items, shower screen had no rubber at the bottom and water went over the floor, shower was broken and wouldn't fix to the wall and the hallway light bulb had blown so couldn't see to insert room key

    Love the building and so pleased to hear it's about to undergo a restoration

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower unfortunately was not a power one and the room meant there was not enough room for my son to stand but there was a bath.

    Recently undergone renovations , the hotel was delightful with old combined with boutique style. We stayed in the stable block and the room was lovely and the beds were the comfiest I have had in a very long time! The room was decorated beautifully with lovely fresh white linen and gorgeous throws for extra warmth although not needed. The addition of a light when the wardrobe was opened was good and lots of hangers too! The quirky addition of toy dogs outside the room as a means of housekeeping was strange but fun. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The location is just outside of Diss but ideal for travelling into Norwich etc. It is obvious that a real renovation and overhaul has taken place and tastefully done . There is parking at the rear . The breakfast was good and included in the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    We would certainly book again, when it will be even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We understood that the staff are working on information for the rooms: evacuation procedure, times of meals, etc. The square cups were difficult to manage. We were a bit confused about the dogs!

    We liked our quirky room (the Sundial room), the friendliness of the staff, and the meals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Modern appeal in old setting
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door is thin [single wood planks in 'olde' style and does not fit well. This leads to you being disturbed by neighbours and vehicles and aware that others can hear you puts you on edge. There is also a huge draught around the door and especially at ground level. Not only is this annoying but is very environmentally unfriendly.

    Modern appeal in old setting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Change of name from The Scole Inn to "Diss by Verve"

    Lovely quirky hotel, bags of history, great bedroom, nice food and friendly, helpful staff. Our second visit here and we will definately return when next in the area. Highly recommended,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    It could be great if the management payed more attention to the cleaning of the rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been great, but let down by attention to detail, dirty cups in room and half drunk bottle of water. Second night the bed collapsed at the end when sat on!

    nice rooms, but some maintenance issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely little gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a lovely building steeped in history with beauriful log fires in rhe bar area ,The staff were really friendly and attentive,the lunch we had was delicious and our rooms were gorgeous, we had a nice relaxing afternoon and night,good value for money, far nicer and unique than staying in a bland premier inn

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    overpriced for jaded hotel supposedly recently upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the things that didn't live up to expectations. Superior room that was anything but superior compared to other deluxe hotels I have stayed at - such as bedroom door that would not unlock or lock without long struggle (even for the hotel staff) no hanging rail for clothing just an empty cupboard without so much as a clothes hook, majority of lights in room not working, dull bathroom with fan that didn't work. NYE buffet was very disappointing for the cost.

    Comfortable four poster bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice accommodations but don’t eat onsite. Food is substandard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor. Served burnt chips and when we asked for them to be replaced, we were given more burnt chips which ruined our meal. Quality of breakfast cereals limited.

    Room was excellent and lovely original features.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Good experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Already mentioned. Reception was unmanned most of the time.

    Lovely atmosphere but stairs very poorly lit. Also lighting in bedroom totally inadequate. Extra lamp promised but never showed up. Staff very easy to relate to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Lovely old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent we couldn't fault anything, the room was lovely very comfortable, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpfull, we would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.5
    Very cold and disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know how this score is worked out but I gave 1* for all categories and it gave 2.5 as the average? So I give this hotel 1 star. Freezing cold - radiators hot for an inch at the bottom and above freezing cold ...need bleeding Useless maintenance man Telly not working Unhelpful and rude when we complained how cold it was in the second room, when we suggested the radiators needed bleeding I was more or less called a liar and it was impossible they needed bleeding as they had only been done last week. Hard crispy towels Asked for hallway light bulb to be replaced as it was a very dark entrance to our room, wasn't done. The bedside light on one side had no 240v socket to plug into so we moved it as the room was so dark but went to plug it in somewhere else and there was no bulb in it. Main light so dim you didn't have enough light to read (the telly didn't work) Unfortunately the stay in this hotel spoilt my visit to Scole and I WILL NOT be staying here again

    Nothing, I won't be going back in this lifetime

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    Staff is friendly, but housekeeping is very poor and the room extremely hot, a bit noisy outsi
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They haven’t cleaned the room at all or made the bed. Had to ask for new towels bins weren’t emptied. Excuses of housekeeping that there was a dog barking inside which was not true as she has been out with my partner every day for the whole day. Floor was dirty, we got new towels as we complained . Reception apologised and got new towels and emptied the bin. However the next day again no vacuum cleaning or bed making and only new towels. The room was by a muddy path which means the floor got dirty and he had a little dog with him so it was not clean in the room and he decided to leave a night earlier due to this.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed. Not good value for money. Mossed the mark on basic services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand soap in bathroom. Staying in the Coach house and there was animals scurrying around in the attic. No direct line to reception to raise this issue. In the morning no communication on checking out regarding, how our stay was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed, but easy to turn things around with a bit more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room facilities, just one tiny bottle of shower gel in bathroom - nothing else. No kettle for for tea and coffee. Toilet bowl dirty. Fillet steak quality very poor for most of us that ordered it (one of them was fantastic) so had to opt for something else - this spoiled the meal for some of us. Expected more as it’s not the cheapest restaurant - they did give us a discount for this. Just needs to polish-up on the little things to be a lovely place to stay.

    Wonderful building full of character, staff were very attentive and polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    I would stay at Scole Inn again once the renovations are completed as it is a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were aware that the hotel was being renovated but unfortunately there had been an incident between the time of our booking and our arrival and therefore no dining facilities were available. the cost of our room was reduced because of this. There was a filthy towel in one of the drawers in the dressing table and a biscuit/sweet wrapper by the bedside cabinet. the extractor fan didn't work. To be fair the lady on reception seemed genuinely surprised about the towel and apologised several times on behalf of the hotel. My husband and I stayed in a room on the first floor of the coach house and my sister and her husband were on the ground floor. They said they could here every footstep from our room and were aware when we were having a conversation. Obviously the rooms need better soundproofing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    Will look forward to staying when the renovations are completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is undergoing renovations and we hadn't been informed there would be no dinner service. To be fair the hotel is C1650 and unexpected building snags caused a delay to completion.

    The staff were very welcoming and put right minor niggles immediately. It will be great when the renovations are completed, am looking forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    very stylish /pub/restaurant/hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a major internal reconstruction going on. Booking com did warn - with the option to cancel or have a £10 reduction - , but only the evening before at 20.00 h., so canceling was not an option. They might have tried to phone, butb that would then be an American phone number, without speaking in my answer box. No WIFI available.

    very stylish /pub/restaurant/hotel. is all in reconstruction, I am very curious how it will look afterwards. Restaurant was closed, but there is an excellent pub just on the other side of the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    The main hotel is closed for refurbishment but we were still able to stay in the stable block.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike with the room.

    Rooms were clean, warm and in a nice situation. We were so pleased we were allowed to stay in the stable block despite the main hotel being closed. It was close to an event we were attending and it would have meant staying 10 miles away if we hadn't been able to stay there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.2
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived to find a notice across the front of the hotel stating "closed for refurbishment" The reception area was full of large boxes. The reception staff were miserable and unhelpful.The bar was closed. Breakfast was served in a restaurant with blacked out windows, a fine way to start your day!

    It was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Adequate but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Total lack of communication facilities. No outside line from telephone in the room. No mobile phone connection. No Wi-Fi except in the main building. A taxi could only be arranged through reception.

    Hotel undergoing extensive refurbishment. No guest lounge or proper bar available. My room/en suite (in the stable block) was spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. Décor though could have done with some TLC. Food was well cooked and presented although the menu was limited and unimaginative. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    The staff is friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bedroom in the annexe which is good for privacy, however safety is not 100%. It is not possible to lock the bedroom door from inside. There are some phone numbers that you can call if you need help, but mobiles don't work there! Wifi works only in the main building.

    The staff is friendly and polite. The building is beautiful, the room is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    OK stay, would have been nice to know of the closure of facilities prior to booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was under renovation so bar facilities were closed. Room was "tired" and in need of new carpets Door to room did not seal (air gap) at top and bottom Door to room opened to the outside No WIFI in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    apart from the referb ongoing it would be good to go back when finished
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would of been nice if Booking .Com had said on there web site that the Hotel was'nt open for Business due to being under new ownership and was being Refurbished and yet i got room which did'nt include breakfast

    staff were very helpful had to move rooms due to strong smell of fresh gloss paint

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold with no heating until we complained. Bedroom and bathroom were full of cobwebs and dirty. The furniture was shabby. The bathroom was unfit to use with most items broken in some way

    Was once a beautiful building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Fine
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did realise that dogs were welcome in hotel. My partner has an allergy to dogs. Dining room/bar was dismal but hotel is having refurb.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Lovely building but under refurbishment so part was closed. We used this as a base to travel around the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    Adequate, if it had not been a business visit, I may have felt more disappointed with ongoing works
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Under going refurbishment works to the bar area, that I was not aware of. A bit tied and needs a spruce up, which it is currently getting, It just would have been good to be aware that works were being undertaken. In a few months when finished would recommend visiting. TV reception and water pressure in my shower very poor :-( Sure these will get sorted out though.

    Amazing 400+ year old building. Great Character! Friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in one of the outbuildings not the main hotel, the room had lots of cobwebs and spiders, the walls were very thin and I could hear my next door neighbour's television very clearly. If I stayed again it would only be in the main building. Lack of taxi's was a problem.

    Friendly staff and nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Fine and worked for us, just one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told our room had been renovated - it was ok, new carpet , a coat of paint and a newly fitted bathroom but overall a low cost renovation . Windows poor , taps poorly located, too close to wall. Room was bland although freshly painted. Perhaps there is more to do. It could do with Pictutes, some colour and a decent mirror - basic stuff really .

    Lovely old building with Character which must not be lost. The premises is in the process of being renovated a bit at a time, so it appears. . Breakfast was good considering the price we paid .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.8
    would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was only partly cleaned - i had someone else's dirty tea cups and i'm not sure the towels were clean to be honest. The bed had been laid upon, pillows propped up, presumably by the cleaners having a little rest. I was too tired from a 10 hour drive to care much so I didn't complain. There weren't enough staff at breakfast and the tea/coffee/juice/milk situation was very poor. The wifi was very poor in the annexe. The TV was unwatchable. Channels in a muddle and terrible signal quality. Good job I only needed to sleep and shower!

    The breakfast food was not bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    The coach house rooms are good for smokers with just being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on the bed was awful. Woke up with a bad back both mornings and we rolled together during the night.

    The coach house rooms are good for smokers with just being able to pop outside your room for a cigarette.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the faded Charm of an old coaching inn and friendly an attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building has seen better days and looks a little tired. Some living plants in the window boxes would cheer up the exterior.

    Affordable and possessing a character and old world charm the Scole Inn is a comfortable escape from the hurly burly of todays frantic pace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Great old pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was 100% clean, no problem, but the stairs and hall needed vacuuming when we arrived, and were not vacuumed still when we left three days later

    Lovely large rooms, the four poster bed was a bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value and good location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rat box by the entrance to our rooms - too visible eg by the entrance door Plug in basin didn't work and pillows smelt sweaty - need to be replaced but overall value for money was excellent

    architecture of hotel Efficient and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put our booking in for the wrong day, and only after a fight would they give us a room. It was their mistake not booking.com or us. It took 4 attempts to get a cup of tea at breakfast, and the breakfast buffet which you do pay extra for had nothing left on it even though they were still serving for an hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful village hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building has so much character. There is a traditional bar with lovely fireplaces. We stayed in July so we couldn't benefit from these being lit. Parts of the building appear to have original doors and there's so many quirky things to look at. The whole place is atmospheric and beautifully kept. The food there was traditional pub food but was delicious, as was the full English breakfast but there was also other choices. The staff, you couldn't fault them. They were attentive and friendly. Even though the building is on a main road, it was so quiet and peaceful at night. I have recommended this place to many friends and colleagues and we will definitely go back. Unfortunately we didn't encounter the ghostly lady.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.9
    The main hotel looked lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, dirty room, TV didn't work, shower was either scolding hot or ice cold. The room was extremely hot. The fan sprayed dust all over the room

    The main hotel looked lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very run down. We were given nelsons room which had sloping floors, a broken table, window ledges dirty and littered with dead flies and skirting thick with dust. The place needed a thorough clean. We changed rooms to nel gwynn and it was a little better but still very dusty. The free water advertised was a kettle presumably filled from a tap (ours had a film on the top) surely that should have been a bottle of water!!!! Definitely not worth the £110 we paid for our nights stay. Alex Polizzi needs to pay them a visit!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Location in village good but that's about all. Building full of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.2
    Hard to find any good points
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere is tired and needs updating .... price at £75 per night £45 would be more appropriate Things like... no remote for tv No room Wi-Fi Dismal rooms

    Hard to find any good points

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    There was only one option for breakfast at £8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one option for breakfast at £8.95 and I only wanted something light. So had to leave without anything except the cup of tea in my room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Scole Inn-so much potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There has not been any improvement in the facilities since we last stayed. This hotel could be splendid if the owners spent a relatively small amount on it! Simple things like tidying up the rubbish visible from the main entrance would help. We stayed in the stables. At the back there is a large grass area which extra mowing and planting would make very attractive. Outside doors into stable rooms need replacing. I have seen better on disused farm sheds. Path to some rooms is over grass. How much effort would it take to put down gravel? The room itself was fine, though ancient door locks need replacing. Bathroom fine. Dusting appeared casual. Potentially a wonderful hotel-needs a visit from the Hotel Inspector!

    The location is excellent, well situated for the exploration of both Norfolk and Suffolk. Lovely situation, too. Marvellous building.Staff were friendly and helpful. The few room problems were swiftly sorted out. Breakfast well cooked. though choice limited.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    The Scole Inn has great potential but needs revamping and good staff training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On booking in, we were told that our room was on the third floor. There was no lift due to the historic age of the building, which we understood, but no offer of help with cases was given, although we are in our 70s. Our room was cleaned but we saw no staff during our stay. The Scole has great potential but there was a sense of being 'down at heel' and better staff training needed.

    The building had great historic features and in a good location. We appreciated the fan in the bedroom as we had very hot weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the coach house on bottom floor. We were not told how creeky all the floor boards where! The person above us woke us up at 6am walking around room all you could here was load creeks so didn't get a lot of sleep. The room was dusty and full of cobwebs not what you expect when you pay £70 a night! And when we checked out the man behind reception didn't ask how our stay was or anything just took our money! I wouldn't recommend or stay here again!

    It was a good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original room had faulty leaking tap so bath not usable. Changed to 4 poster room at no extra cost but although first impressions impressive cleanliness & maintenance a bit lacking. No information in room other than fire regulations. No info on hotels services, food & pricing. Breakfast cereals & fruit very basic & not much choice. Evening meal good if little bland but portion sizes a little too much.

    Lovely old building. Polite, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our 2 night stay and we will return later this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Muesli for breakfast or cranberry juice

    Our annex room was very comfortable, it had all we needed for our 2 night stay and we will return. Breakfast was good,but no muesli cereal or canberry juice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    It served a purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room (29). It was grubby and in need of a deep clean. No bath plug. Broken shower. Dusty corners and skirting boards. Had to walk on the dirty looking carpet with socks.

    Having somewhere near my location of work to stay over night without being disturbed.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: