Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Seacliffe - Whitby 4 stars

12 North Promenade, Whitby, YO21 3JX, United Kingdom

#12 of 15 hotels in Whitby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    , breakfast could be better , slightly tastless bland sausages , bacon could be cook longer. scrambled eggs bland and overcooked . cheap bread .

    Friendly staff , lovely location .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was noisey when you moved & could have done with tightening up.(but was comfortable) Also the window wouldnt stay open without being proped open.

    Wetroom was newly furbished & breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. Staff were very helpful and contacted us after we had left as we left something behind and was willing to post if we couldnt have collected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no faults in the property however the room was very hot and didn't sleep very well, but it was very hot outside if anything I would recommend air con.

    The property was spotless and a very warm welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast menu had only fried food, it was not clear that there were altrenatives, which were tasty.

    Clean comfortable and convenient with a great view from North Parade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was that the tv in the room only had 3 available channels to watch from and even those weren’t showing properly (maybe due to signal).

    The location of the hotel was ideal. Very close to the town centre and beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The full English breakfast had very small portions, is it too much to ask for 2 pieces of bacon? The toilet roll holder was not fixed to the wall. The room provisions were poor, ie. only 2 biscuits We have stayed in 4 star hotels before and this place does not deserve that grade. there were no " nice touches" that you would expect from a genuine 4 star hotel. Almost £100 for a double room is too much and to charge an extra £30 per night for a sea view takes the biscuit.

    It has a bar which was handy when it rained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young man on reception(Ben) was friendly and welcoming. We were given an upgrade to a sea view room on arrival,all staff were curteous and friendly. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, as well as traditional, vegetarian, cereals and yoghurt, kippers and salmon were also available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Very clean, friendly staff, very relaxing atmosphere especially in the lounge. Looking outside the window from my warm room during that freezing evening was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, smelly room from cooking in kitchen below had to leave room fatty smell - awful, ignorant female owner, showers terrible hot/cold, thin curtains so light shined in all night from building accross, loud music playing in morning from kitchen woke me up Christmas songs in November and no information provided in room internet/breakfast times/checkout etc. Took payment before even asking about stay and offered no apology from feedback I gave directly from email form. Very dissapointed at lack of customer service. Shame as very clean just simple things that could be changed.

    Very clean, excellent breakfast, nice male owner, nice location, other staff pleasant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was not very powerful. The tilt & turn window didn't tilt or shut properly

    Good hot breakfast served on HOT plates, excellent touch. The staff were very friendly. We took our dog. She was made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    .Recommend sea view room staff very very helpful rooms spotless breakfast top notch.If no room outside hotel you can park opposite on road for free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a full English breakfast and it was only just cooked. It stated fried but tasted like it had been grilled and I like a breakfast to have browning on the bacon , sausages and tomatoes . Even the hash brown tasted undercooked so it was disappointing.

    A really nice comfy bed . A really big shower cubicle . And a big pair of binoculars to admire the sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea View - Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the loft room could have been more comfortable. I thought the coffee was slightly bitter.

    The full English breakfast was on the whole very tasty apart from the sausages. The kippers were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely room with a huge bay window with a stunning view of the sea and the abbey. The old town was a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The town of Whitby is really nice with lots of shops, bars and restaurants and narrow streets. We walked along the clifftop footpath to Robin Hoods Bay. The views from the clifftops are breathtaking and the walk took about 2 1/2 hours then caught the bus back to Whity

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception was poor throughout the stay.

    Friendly clean comfortable great breakfast great wifi good location overlooking the sea parking on street but conveniently close

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local info pack in room, no WiFi code provided at check in, I don’t expect to have to ask. Poor quality shower, parking on a road when parking was advertised as available... 18 rooms but only 6 parking spaces.

    Room was functional and clean, location was near to town but you need to like stairs and slopes, or the use of a taxis at £5 a trip each way to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television signal was poor and the TV was unwatchable. Staff were not very helpful when we reported this.

    Nice clean, comfortable and a great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible,one minute red hot then freezing cold, this seemed of have been the problem in all the rooms.My partner and I are both pensioners and there wasn't a lift to the top floor. The room was tiny ,I've stayed in 4 star hotels cheaper than the £125 per night not good value at all.The parking was terrible first night blocked in,second night lucky to get a space on the road outside.Also the accommodation was a long way from the centre of Whitby. W

    Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea View - Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go back home

    Ideal view looking onto the sea, breakfast was beautiful and staff were so helpful and friendly. Stayed here a couple of times now and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room quite dim,electric shower pressure goes up and down,and lack of places to hang clothes i.e. Wardrobes space

    Breakfast was very good if you wanted an evening meal menu limited.staff good nice and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work so scaffolding blocking view. Worse thing is there was no phone call or email to tell us about this. Totally spoilt the holiday.

    The breakfast and the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very rude young man on desk ,small room over looked a building site, no hot water in wash basin,shower ran very hot then freezing cold, the walls are paper thin you could hear every one in other rooms who all came back early hours so could not get any sleep,woken early by builders the rude man at desk said i should off phone to ask if there was building works out side room ,also told you get locked out after 11pm

    breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit cramped, tv reception poor, guest lounge soulless and uninviting. Bit of an old fashioned B & B feel

    Bed very comfy, breakfast good , cooked to order and food plentiful. Staff very pleasant. Parking permit a godsend. Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric razor sockets in the room.

    The planet clean spacious room, the sea front location and the ease to get to restaurants and pubs. Ease of parking which can be such a problem in Whitby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kept banging my head on the door, which was unusually low for some reason even though the ceilings were normal height.

    Great location and view (sea view upgrade room). Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great breakfast and staff were flexible and accomodating. Friedly staff. Convenient parking (in front of hotel or on-street).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices were quite expensive.

    Sea view from room, comfortable bed and friendly staff. Pleasant walk to the main town. Good breakfast to set you up for the day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website did not make it clear that a view did not necessarily mean a 'sea view'. No point in booking a room with a 'view' if it does not look out onto the prom.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, but the furniture was a little 'tired'. The shower kept going hot, then cold, depending on the amount of water being used elsewhere. Couldn't get my notability scooter out of our car, as parking was horrendous, and the car was 'hemmed in', consequently we had to try & walk into town which was very hard for me, as I'm registered disabled.

    The room was lovely & clean and the breakfast was very good. The view of the sea was as expected and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea View - Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loft room is very small and a lot of stairs to get to. Bed not so comfortable and very creaky.

    Seafront views were superb and it was a nice walk into the town. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More parking would improve the hotel although all the hotels on the seafront have the same problem.

    Hotel is right on the sea front and not far from the town centre. Rooms are very good although a little small with very little hanging space. Breakfast is excellent. Although The hotel is excellent the problem is parking, there is very little at the hotel and the parking in the road opposite is always packed which sometimes means the only parking is in the nearby housing estate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities.... Although give a card to park on disc zone ...could not find a spot ! 😐 Check out @ 10am is to early wen last breakfast is served up till 9.30 and not clearly stated on website information

    Owners helpful & informative 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing in our room was below standard - we could hear the guests in the above room talking, snoring etc etc

    Very clean, great breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fried, fatty breakfast with poor quality sausage. Old, poor quality furniture in the bedroom and also too small. Overall, for £120 a night the accommodation should have been much better.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Workmen constructing roof next door made for lack of privacy we had to keep the curtains closed. Parking limited not assured. Slippy sofa's in the lounge.

    Location, Breakfast Seaview, minimal decor, Clean welcoming and uncluttered

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel has few facilities. Breakfast was tasty but rather limited.

    The hotel boasts an excellent position on the cliff top with sea view. The accommodation was simple clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have been nice to have an evening meal but there were bar snacks.

    seaview perfect. Staff friendly.Good selection of breakfasts. Everything spotless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited wardrobe space and drawers. Periods of time with no hot water. Space for 5 cars, 2 of which, when full, are trapped in. The hotel does however, issue 2 day parking tickets for roadside parking.

    The location was good. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected and the bed was a little too hard for our taste - a mattress topper would have helped. Wasn't sure the room was worth the price we paid. Sound proofing between rooms not that great as we could hear others guests TVs quite late at night.

    Excellent choice of breakfast, friendly staff, room very clean and the Hotel was ideally situated at the quieter end of Town overlooking the Sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed sank in the middle though so we kept rolling together, not altogether bad I suppose, and you could hear someone snoring next door! The hotel car park only held about 5 cars, but the staff offered us a parking disk to use on the street if it got filled up .

    The breakfasts were very good with a lot of choice and the service friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 10 extremely small nowhere to put cases, walls very thin, bar closed early, not good value for money

    Breakfast was good, location good, staff superb,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a sign in the top rooms to remind you not to bang your head on the sloping ceiling when getting out of the bath!

    Great choice for breakfast. Nice surprise to find vegetarian options (sausages ). Great location. 5 -10 mins walk from the centre but quiet. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , loved it all and had a great time

    Great views,relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. Stayed in loft room which we loved but the stairs may be a problem if you have mobility problems.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really nice, only issue was the plates (although we were told) were very hot.

    Room was lovely, freshly decorated and clean. Staff were nice, and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't powerful or as hot as preferred. The bed wasn't great quality although it was much appreciated after lots of walking and sea air.

    The hotel was clean and modern. The room was well presented. The sea view rooms were booked however the view over the cricket field was lovely and the close proximity to the beach located directly opposite was an added bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room. Clean but cramped. Hand basin too small and nowhere to put items - except loo seat or floor. Beds appeared to be a cut down bunk bed and furniture generally old / dated. Cheap bed covers and curtains - did not keep room dark. Although there was a view of the sea ( not requested ) the room was in the attic up several flights of stairs - no lift. No one asked if we were able to get upstairs. Have stayed in 4 star accommodation all over world and this was the poorest.

    good breakfast served by excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One comment. When it comes to evening meal. If you don't like pub grub then you may be struggling a bit. I don't think I found a single place that sold nice salads.

    Very very comfortable. Staff very very helpful. As a personal thing we would have preferred a bath but the shower was very very good. Pub next door is excellent (but it is pub grub). Didn't try the other ones in the town. Park is street parking but always easy. And the bed was so very comfortable. Special mention of the coffee. They have a Nespresso machine in the room. 'Nuff said. With a car, convenient for all local attractions. Wouldn't want to try it without a car. Locally, loads of brilliant places to visit. Especially if you like castles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't enough parking for all guests, and there isn't always space on the road. We had plastic cups in our very smart room, where we felt that glass would be more appropriate, and although the bed was made dirty glasses were not taken away. The bath towels were very small, and the radiator came on at night on both nights although we had reported it the first time, which was not good in a heatwave.

    Fantastic view, and a lovely room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints everything was very nice and comfortable.

    Nice clean room with good size bathroom. Staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was delightful, and the sea view and location was ideal. Really enjoyed our stay, will go again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were a little uncomfortable, just took a bit of juggling to get the right height.

    The hotel is traditional and only has stair access to the rooms. Lovely view from the room of the sea and easy 10 min walk into the town with access to many restaurants. Although the hotel car park is very small, free parking is available opposite with use of a parking ticket provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seafront parking outside hotel a bit difficult at busy times.

    Location on seafront within easy reach of all town facilities. Excellent hairdryer, seating and plug point immediately opposite mirror.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more tea and coffee in bedroom and bigger kettle telly reception wasn't good

    nice room dinning room spacious breakfast could have been bigger portions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea View - Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV reception in room 21 is not very good channels1&2 are ok but all the rest have disruption very annoying.

    We were pleasantly surprised by the room, it was very light, and comfortable and the view was amazing. Also adding binoculars to the room was a nice touch. The staff were very nice and we felt they would have been very helpful if we had any problems. The walk to and from the town is very pleasant as it is along the seafront.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    size of room, we booked a superior room it was average it was also small and reception for the tv was poor and you only got one rasher of bacon with breakfast !!!!!

    they added a pair of binoculars in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dusty & full of cobwebs. Coffee with breakfast was very weak too. Wasn't shown to our room, just told where to go, & no offer of help with bags. While eating breakfast felt rushed as the staff were constantly rushing round and my partners plate was removed while she was still eating her toast!lol

    Lovely place right on the sea front. Our room didn't have a sea view but looked out onto the cricket pitch so nice & green. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and we are so glad we did, absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a great property in a perfect location. It's an enjoyable 15 min walk to the harbour. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the see. The owner was friendly and informative about the area. The breakfast was nice with great service. We could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, if there were no spaces on hotel front, street parking was difficult.

    Good hotel, clean and comfortable, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member was quite rude. Bed mattress needed replacing. Tv didn't have signal. shower pressure was a dribble.

    Very nice breakfast. Nice view of the sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard uncomfortable bed. Quite a small room. Average breakfast, nothing special. Free Wi-Fi but you had to ask for code - why not just have it in the room information? Very creaky floorboards in the room above. Awful smelling hand wash in the bathroom.

    Good location with a sea view (picture is view from bedroom window) Clean room and large shower cubicle. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT so good breakfast.

    first time, my room was smelly...because it was painted couple days ago. I complained, then hotel changed the room. The room was great. Beach View, nice bed, wonderful Smart TV.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about the hotel- could not fault it, would definitely recommend this hotel & will definitely book here again, thanks for a great stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't that good

    The view was amazing they even provided binoculars , the breakfast was cook fresh and it was absolutely beautiful it set us up the day ,every part of the hotel was spotless

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was builders next door which started work on a Saturday morning before 7.30am

    Nicely situated on cliff top and only a short walk into town also nice little touch a pair of binoculars left in Seaview Room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a larger shower head, but the bathroom was lovely. It was obvious that the place had been refurbished recently and the standard was very good.

    Beautiful breakfast very helpful with my food allergy. Lounge and bar was very comfortable, just like home from home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could here next door walking around. Walls were that things also the slats on the bed made a lot of noise

    It was warm and very clean staff were brilliant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't a 4 star hotel as advertised, only a 3 star IMHO. I read other reviews and they were mixed and I think it's because if you pay for something advertised as 4* you expect that bit better and it clearly isn't a 4*. It is a good 3*. I'm not knocking it but in hindsight we paid too much. I'd stay again but not at such a price. It needs maintenance work as even with the windows shut the draughts rattled through the room. But the staff were nice, and food was fine, even the Happy Shopper yogurts at breakfast which again says 3* to me not 4*.

    Clean room, food was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked to stop longer. Would definitely recommend Seacliffe to friends & family.

    Made to feel very welcome. Location ideal with lovely sea view in our room. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Bay Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were provided with a very good substantial breakfast.

    Plenty to choose from ie: cereals, fruit, yoghurts, plus plenty of toast and a very good choice of hot food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would have liked bigger portion for the full cooked breakfast. disappointing evening meal, have never had such a small prawn cocktail!

    very hot plates, but were warned about this. very large tv in bedroom parking on site

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit erratic, either very hot or icy cold.

    Very friendly staff, lovely cosy atmosphere and perfect location overlooking the sea and close enough to the centre to enjoy the walk and far enough away so not noisy. Parking also v easy on the sea front.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. This was for a sea view that we upgraded to. We could hear every noise from above and below. We didn't get a good nights sleep. The bed was very uncomfortable. The shower..... a watering can would provide more pressure. Not great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My grandchildren shared the double bed and I had the single. I fear the single was really only for a child. We knew it was a family room, but that bed could be bigger!

    Cleanliness, cooking. Public rooms, lounge and bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    The location of the hotel was very good, The staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. The bed was comfy and the shower room modern and always warm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    mattress on the bed not the most comfy

    nice hotel , fab location. staff excellent. read the booklet in your room , pointing at the previous visitors...... who complained about evening meals etc. its not too difficult is it . anyways , had a great time and will come back. Whitby is a great little seaside town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Sea View - loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dry sausages and mushrooms for breakfast. Ultra weak coffee. No service when I first arrived, ie no one on front desk and no response to bell or phoning. Only one outside key for my group (2) to share. Poor shower facility.

    Fried eggs for breakfast and lots of toast. Loads of cereals, juices, etc. clean towels, bedding, room, etc Lashings of hot water and strong flow. Amazing sea views. Easy parking. Great atmosphere and full for musicport 2016.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little larger Mattress wasn't very comfortable

    Great sea front location Excellent breakfast and choice Great bathroom/toilet facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: