Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sheep on Sheep Street Hotel 4 stars

Sheep Street, Stow on the Wold, GL54 1AU, United Kingdom

#14 of 24 hotels in Stow on the Wold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 789 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    I appreciate the weather was hot but you need to allow for this when food is exposed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu a bit limited and a lot of flies in the eating/bar area which was not good at breakfast with all the buffet exposed.

    Nice and quiet ie little noise at night .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff help to make a stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like

    We could not fault the hotel and staff, what made our visit extra special was a bottle of Prosecco being left in our room by the management team (This was a secret weekend birthday break for my wife). Thank You

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice hotel . The staff were friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some redecorating. After having a shower I was about to use a towel hanging behind the bathroom door when I realised that it was a dirty one left over from the previous guest . I reported it to the staff who apologised . I paid £120 for the room and don’t expect to collect dirty laundry , very poor housekeeping

    Lovely room , great location, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    A delightful small hotel. Part of a group of hotels .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small as was the bathroom. Was promised a bath but this was given to someone staying longer. A free breakfast was offered to compensate!

    Room was stylishly decorated Great breakfast if you were early enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Execellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast accounted for when booking ie option

    Bedroom clean access to hotel very good staff very pleasant. garden a very good feature. Would recommend this hotel to others !!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in fantastic location, but expensive for the facilities on offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffing/management in restaurant. Disorganized at breakfast, waiting for crockery, shortage of various foods. Limited choice at breakfast, which was overpriced.

    Good sized bedroom. Quality ingedients at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely break away for a couple of days in a nice part of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed the room wasn't cleaned on our second day. Room at front of hotel was very noisy with traffic noise with the window open.

    The room was very nicely decorated, the bed very comfortable. Restaurant and reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A lovely weekend away in a beautiful part of England,made better by the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comprehensive choice of food in the hotel restaurant. Pizza isn’t everybody’s food choice.

    Bed and pillows very comfortable. Great location, in easy reach of other areas of the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!!! Can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tv couldn’t hold its signal room 14a.

    We had a great time, the value for money was excellent and we would definitely be coming back for another stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Average, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lacked friendliness, just 1 young lady on reception and 1 young man in bar area who made an effort!! when booking in were nt asked if it was 1st time? No suggestions of places to go or eat etc, breakfast was not included but we did eat 1 morn system was very poorly explained, overall we felt no effort was made to make us feel welcome or to want to return. Shower head was held in place with tape meaning you couldn't adjust height, no clean drinking glasses on day 2, bottle of water that was warm, could hear next rooms coffee machine like a drill against the wall! Previous occupiers? cotton bud left on bedside table. Last morning woken by diggers working on garden space, a note thru door day before would of been appreciated

    Location, close to shops , bars, coffee shops etc nice outside area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    A Short 2 night break to explore the Cotswolds, just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had good weather during our visit but in cold/wet weather the walkway to some of the rooms is roofed but open at the sides so could be unpleasant

    Perfect location in the charming Stowe on the Wold. We were able to park at the hotel on each night and whilst there we saw that they were working to provide extra parking in the near future. Nice outdoor and indoor areas for eating and food is available all day. Rooms were spacious and clean with both shower and bath available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend. Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the choice of evening meal was rather limited to pizza, beefburgers and chips with almost everything. The portions were very large. The TV in the room kept losing the signal.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. A fan was provided which was appreciated as the outside night temperature was high. The outside space was superb and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    We stayed at this property for one night only,to take a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was a bit slow,the only receptionist was on the phone,we had to wait quiet long to check out. She didn’t even acknowledge our presence at reception and dis not apologise for the wait.

    We stayed at this property for one night only,to take a break from the busy London. We had a small but lovely room. The hotel is small but located in the heart of Stow on the wood and shops and restaurants are all walking distance. We also had dinner and sone drinks at the restaurant, and we really enjoy them. A special mention to Slawek, the polish guy who checked us in and also took care of us during dinner at the restaurant,he was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was very comfortable and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get fresh bedding when the room was made up. Drinks and food were quiet expensive.

    The room was very comfortable and well decorated. The facilities were of good standard and met our needs. The bed was extremely comfortable. There was a very good shower. The garden area outside was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were problems with the television system while I was there.

    Good breakfast, small but well furnished room, comfortable bed, excellent location, lively bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Good location for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room was grossly over priced even without breakfast included, and the room was tatty in need of decorating

    Good location for what we needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Lovely property but not good enough service or value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under staffed on a bank holiday weekend and those that were there seemed to focus on takeaway pizzas rather than guests who were paying a lot to stay there. Had to get own menu and ask for pretty much everything.

    Great style. Comfy bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Great Location but more attention to detail and service required for the price that was paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a room upgrade then found out breakfast was not included but was included in cheaper room. Poor attention to detail IE broken toilet seat ,bathroom light not working,water run marks on the walls to bathroom,courtyard needed TCL,restaurant service poor in the evenings.

    Great shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Chilled and relaxed with execellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower screen could have been a little bit wider as v easy to flood floor. Minor gripe as the bathroom shower itself & shower gels were amazing

    Really lovely staff and atmosphere. Amazing pizza and wine. Cosy room was cosy but it did the job. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was advertised at £15.00 on Booking.com, when it was actually £10.00 for a full breakfast and £5.00 for continental - the advert of £15.00 prevented us from booking and may need looking into. A suggestion would be for the reception to maintain additional universal plugs to allow the guests to recharge their mobile phones - we and another guest had both forgotten our plugs and were directed to the local electrical shops - as more than one guest was experiencing this problem, it would be added value for the reception to hold this adaption to loan/use in the reception area. Consider a small fridge in the rooms. In our room, the shower shelve had been broken and not replaced - something going forward

    Bed was comfortable The location was excellent Easy parking Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, very relaxing stay - would definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu in the restaurant was adequate - although a bit limited.

    The room was comfortable but a little small - although that's what we'd booked! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have had a amazing 2 days away in the sheep, was just what we needed to get away from work and appointments with hospital. The room was spotless and we especially appreciated the power shower. Staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Even better was told breakfast was included even though was not mentioned when booking x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    We’ve stayed here three times now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a private event on. We were unable to use the bar from 4pm for the rest of the day and were not pre-warned about this. Breakfast felt like we had intruded on somebodies family occasion with all of the guests appearing to know each other from the night before. Family parties are great but had we known about this particular one we wouldn’t have have spent £170 on staying in a hotel where we couldn’t have a drink.

    We’ve stayed here three times now. The town is lovely & the hotel and staff are generally brilliant. Lady on reception is always lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The sheep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The ambiance was relaxing. Decor was very pleasing, room was a good size. Ideal for town centre. Outside seating area, parking. Food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast staff, too warm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were boiling hot! Couldn’t open the windows as the hotel is by a busy main road. The fan was used but just pushed the warm air around.

    The staff were very accommodating and put on a early breakfast for us as we were leaving early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Cosy Cotswold break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice room with that Cotswold cottage feel, nice views of the countryside and other local traditional buildings. Room had a nice bathroom and was very clean. The perfect place to stay if you want to experience a proper feel of the Cotswolds in a lovely location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Location and set up of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was as expected in pictures but some areas were not that clean- walls were dirty and stained. The heating was not great in the room and radiators/ shower rarely became warm. Quite expensive and we didn’t even have breakfast included.

    Location and set up of hotel. Comfort in room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    The room decor was cute and quaint, and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After checking the room info guide, which clearly stated the restaurant kitchen was open till 9.30pm we went down to get some food at 8.50pm to be told the kitchen was closed. Our only option was to then grab some food from the Co-op supermarket which was quite disappointing. Perhaps we should have booked a table beforehand, but a lack of available tables didn't really seem to be an issue... The bedroom walls were also extremely thin and unfortunately we heard all sorts from the room next door which kept us up at night and woke us up early the next morning. £15 for the breakfast seemed pretty steep.

    The room decor was cute and quaint, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was generously sized and had a great bath which was perfect to soak in after a long, cold day of walking! Great location in the centre of gorgeous Stow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good!

    We stayed the night on Good Friday and had a very enjoyable stay. We arrived mid afternoon and as it was a bank holiday there wasn’t a huge amount open in town. Most places had stopped serving lunch and we didn’t really want to eat at the Sheep as we were booked in for dinner, but we were getting hungry so we opted for their paninis, taken in the bar, with a good sized portion of chunky chips to share and a very reasonably priced glass of wine. The paninis were delicious! They use a pizza bread cooked in their woodfired oven and then slice them open and fill them. I had the club sandwich - wow! We had a mooch around town in the rain and called in a few shops that were open before stopping at the pub opposite for a drink. We then headed back to our room at the Sheep which was really comfortable and decorated in a contemporary but relaxed, country style. Our room was in the eaves, but was large and had a very comfortable bed with crisp, sparkling white linen, dressing table, wardrobe, drawers, TV, coffee machine/pods and kettle/teabags plus complimentary water and shortbread biscuits. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, which was pretty decent considering we were at the top of the house, and lovely white towels. We went down for a drink before dinner as they had a Friday special on prosecco (£20/bottle) and then went through to the restaurant, which was busy. We shared the calamari to start, and then I had the salmon pasta and my husband had the roast cod. We were both stuffed so there was no room for pudding! In the morning a delicious breakfast was included, served 8.00-11.00, so we went down about 10.15 and the crowd had eased off. There was tea/coffee/juice, pastries, cereals, yoghurt and fruit as well as hot options. We both had the full English which had really lovely sausages and perfectly poached eggs. Check out was 11.00.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Good, but turn the restaurant music down in the mornings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available because staff were parked in the guest car park. Music from the restaurant is not necessary from 6am. If you stay in a room over the restaurant (ours was number 4) then expect to be awake from 6am with the loud music playing! Not ideal for a relaxing break away. For the price paid for the room you’d also expect breakfast to be included.

    The rooms were beautiful, stylish and comfortable. Very clean and the setting and location was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Fab boutique hotel in excellent cotswold location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £15 for breakfast excessive so found excellent breakfast over the road for half of the price

    Location was excellent and look and feel of hotel was excellent with good attention to finish and detail in all areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    All in all we had a lovely 3 days at the Sheep and loved the town and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't told where to park prior to visit. Bedside lamps too big and no good for reading . No residents lounge. Didn't like breakfast music. Not relaxing.

    Lovely big room. Good breakfast menu. Room nice and quiet. Comfy bed. Good shower and bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, but the interior designer could have been more sympathetic to the age of the building.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in both bedroom and en-suite artistic but impractical, especially over the shaving mirror.

    My bedroom (at the rear) was exceptionally quiet, giving a good night's rest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent valentines break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our room was over the restaurant /bar there was some noise which in itself didn’t bother us. But the rooms aren’t well sound insulated and as such there was quite a lot of noise from other rooms, squeaky floorboards and beds etc. Also people standing outside talking loudly around closing time. It’s an old building so to be expected. I think the rooms adjacent to the restaurant may be quieter if that’s what you require. May be worth asking for one of them.

    Good WiFi, good shower, comfy bed, car park, excellent pizza

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Cozy and comfy in Stow on the Wold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I selected was up a couple flights of narrow stairs - I was ok with it - it took a little extra effort to get to the room when carrying luggage, but some may want to ask about stairs. The room was great.

    There were great touches in the room - fresh cookies, a Nespresso coffee machine, bed was very comfy and the tub was really nice. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Romantic and beautiful decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small issue is we could hear the music from bar in our room late at night, but I did call reception and they turned down and no longer was a problem.

    Super comfy bed, gorgeous decor and quirky building. Loved it!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Car park wasn’t easy to find as no description of directions . We had to drop wife off in square to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only ok Rival local competitors better and only 100 metres away in square price quoted was £15 which was misleading as it was only £10 for a hot breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation very good - avoid the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall mark is based on the food and service received in the restaurant - we waited ages to get our first course and even longer to get our mains (Pizzas) which were disappointing - we eventually did not pay for the Pizzas but that did not detract from a poor meal. There were only two people front of house - 1 x girl who ran her socks off doing everything and a guy who didnt seem to care - guess which one we had

    Room was very comfortable - and had we not eaten at the hotel the mark would have been higher.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    The hot water was intermittent and we were placed in a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was intermittent and we were placed in a room on the main landing where all occupants had to walk past our door to and from their rooms - this was quite disruptive later at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.0
    Didn't sleep whole night up in that room too cold and worry of getting out if fire with stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top of three lots of stairs and had very poor lighting especially in the bathroom very low ceiling kept knocking head,very little room by the toilet, no room to lay toiletries

    It was nicely decorated with very large comfy bed, few nice touches with homemade biscuits and bottle water and very nice power shower and also a coffee machine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing overnight stay after a difficult week. Staff could not have been more obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast croissants were cold and seemed stale. Coffee only warm.

    Easy parking. Comfortable bed and excellent decor. Great ensuite bathroom with good shower. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Good...almost great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some areas in the room had paint was peeling off the walls. Just needed touching up.

    Great location, efficient staff room pleasant but not perfect. However great overall for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Would definately stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small car park but just having the parking facilities was a bonus. We thought the breakfast was a little expensive at £15 per person so went to a small cafe up the road for less than half the price.

    Nice decor and ambience. Central to shops and facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    What a relaxing weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were extra flaky. The steak we had in the restaurant could have been better.The cooking of the steak was really nice however there wasn't a taste to the the meet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, parking, staff and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had some misleading offers, ie what’s on, (should have said what’s coming) as not available until 2018, we were there December 2017! However restaurant manager applied it sooner, so, very happy overall.

    Very helpful staff, lovely room. Great parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Great staff move this from good to memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor

    The staff could not do enough, I travel the world for a job and in 5 Star hotels it’s an exception to find this level of genuine customer care

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Our daughter and husband were visiting from Spain and the Sheep made their stay perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a little point. The area of the bar just outside the kitchen entrance obviously serviced the tables etc but it did give a rather untidy view for guest mealing at their tables.

    The Hotel interior was so inviting and selectively designed interiors were calming and so comfortable. However, the staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant unscheduled stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had to book in late as we were unable to travel any further on route home from the South to North Wales due to the snow. Staff at the hotel were at a premium due to weather conditions (not able to get into work) but everyone was very helpful and it was a pleasant overnight stop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel which we booked last minute as where we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel which we booked last minute as where we originally were going to stay was unable to open due to the snow. Staff were really helpful giving good advice and dealt well keeping the place running despite the weather conditions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable but s
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very tight and not very accessible for our family we were staying with a 90 year & 20 month old - lots of steps to negotiate

    Very warm & friendly hotel excellent room lovely food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Tiny room in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a lot smaller than expectations, especially as we booked a Superior room. When booking through Booking.com it stated that the room had space for an additional bed if required and that the room came with a king size bed. This was definitely not the case, there was certainly no additional room and the bed was not a king size bed. The photos of the Superior rooms on their website were or rooms much larger than ours. I kept bumping my head on the sloping roof. Our son and his partner booked a Standard room at a much lower price and this was basically the same size as our Superior room. Apart from this it was good.

    The location at Stow on the Wold and within the Cotswolds region was fantastic. The hotel was cosy and staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    NO ISSUES WOULD RECOMMEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE TREE IN THE CAR PARK YOU WILL SEE WHAT I MEAN IF YOU GO

    THE 3 DAY STAY WAS VERY NICE FROM THE STAFF AT RECEPTION TO THE LADY CLEANING THE ROOMS ALL VERY NICE AND HELPFUL WITH A SMILE ON THIER FACES. THE BREAKFAST IS VERY TASTY ESPECIALLY THE FULL ENGLISH. WOULD RETURN WHEN IN STOW.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    I love this place but room 1 was better last time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was smaller than last time and I was awoken by traffic at 7 am. Also had noise from bar below. I was in room 5. Last time room 1 was better. Paid for this room at £135 and last time £85 for a better room! Also another guest put their dinner for two on my single room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have gave it top marks but we had no hot water both nights, apparently they were having problems with the boiler.

    Great location within a short drive to other locations. A really nice hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    None of the above it was an average bed and breakfast. The first room was described as cosy which meant could,not swing a mouse, no wardrobe only a couple of hooks on the wall we asked for a bigger room but was charged £77 we then had a family above who ran around shouting all night. The breakfast was awful cold hard poached eggs, I have recommended the old Grapevine to many people over the years but I would not want to stay here again a lovely hotel has been ruined

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Very comfy in stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was temperamental and needed fixing three times. Staff were apologetic and tried to fix.

    Beautiful setting and excellent choices for eating out. Friendly staff. Lovely home baked shortbread in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, we would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were particularly friendly and went of their way to be helpful. Our room was not large, but we had booked a small room, so we were satisfied with the size. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and towels were of excellent quality. Breakfast was great and our evening meals were fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 2 nights first morning waited 35 mins for order b taken and another hour for it b cooked. Did complain and no issue following day

    Receptionist really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden was lovely but could have been covered to make more use of it in the Winter months or on a rainy evening.

    Breakfast was delicious. Room was smart & cosy. Staff were friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Extra friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the little village and had a very comfortable stay in the hotel. The room was much bigger than expected and the beds very comfortable, everybody eas extra friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    love the place, second visit in four years. would have picked another week if informed beforehand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't informed of outsider activities that may be happening the week we visited Stow. We were told of this by a manager from another hotel that the village would be in 'lockdown' from Monday night onwards. Spoilt the break somewhat.

    Comfortable room. Within walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed and will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we had a few minutes wait at reception and when no-one appeared, I went to the bar to find someone. The receptionist greeted me rather abruptly and when I said we had been waiting a few minutes replied, "Well I have other things that I have to do as well". Not the greeting I would have hoped for or expected. After this, the lady who was called Jan, took us to our room, Number 7. It was freezing cold, the heating was not turned on and the wind was blowing through the windows in the bedroom and the bathroom. My husband struggled with the rusty control knobs and immediately turned the radiators on and I had to fill the gaps in the windows with toilet tissue! The room was more suitable as a single room, which has had a double bed squeezed in. There was only 12" space either side of the bed (the width of my legs at knee level) so I had to squeeze through to get into the bed. There was no desk or table to write or place a drink on. No comfortable seating, just one hard chair. Poor lighting and facilities for ladies when applying make up. Very little comfort factor overall. The hanging space for clothes was a small broom cupboard in one corner. The bathroom was small and freezing cold. The walls beside the sink were dirty with toothpaste splashes and streaks where water had run down the walls. The shower was stuck on one setting which meant that the water spray was concentrated in the middle holes and consequently was very forceful and only covered a small area. The force of the water ran along and across the top of the bath causing flooding on the floor. There was noise from other rooms as well because they are situated closely to each other. The dining and bar areas were crowded during the day but quieter at night. The design, layout and client group were more representative of a Wetherspoons establishment than a hotel. To be precise, this is not a hotel, but a pub with rooms.

    The location was the only thing that was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location and value for exploring Stow and the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a tall person I would have preferred not to have been allocated an attic bedroom with sloping roof. Not a major issue for two nights,but would have asked to be relocated if staying longer. Did not eat dinner in the restaurant as dogs are allowed inside and there were a lot of them. Surprised by this policy,which seems uncongenial with eating a nice meal in a relaxed and healthy environment.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent choice for Stow on the wold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, and with 2 suitcases, as bit hard to negotiate around.

    Great parking in place where parking is at a premium. Good location in town. Restaurant on premises quite good. Quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Lovely room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Lovely room, comfy bed. Extra touches such as shortbread biscuits from the chef on the second day of our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Long wait for breakfast (1hr wait, was told due to new kitchen staff, but we’re compensated with discount); - parking a bit cramped, need to get there early. - room feels a bit cold at night, and could be noisy if it’s near the kitchen and restaurant on lower floors.

    - Comfy mattress; - boutique decor; - decent bathroom; - centre of town location; - bottle water and home-made biscuits; - reception staff Jan, very professional from check-in to resolving issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Excellent stay; would definitely return. Lovely hotel in a lovely spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As ever, I'd like brighter lighting in the room but overall the stay was perfect.

    the room was charming (up in the eaves). Both the bed and duvet were very good - bed comfortable and duvet lightweight but warm. Breakfast excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Best B&B in Stow on the Wold!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommend! This place was beautiful, facilities were fantastic and the resturant was just wonderful. Get their breakfast! So good! We needed special accommodations due to my husband breaking his ankle 2 weeks prior to our trip and they went above and beyond for us!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Really nice stay in Stow. Lovely village and enjoyable time with my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairways have luggage marks on the walls which could be cleaned up.

    Great atmosphere in the hotel. Nice rooms which are comfy and offer tea and coffee. Comfy beds too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay, accommodation, food and drink all excellent, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night and could have very happily stayed longer. Ambience is excellent, everything we had was quality, all the staff helpful and friendly, location spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    It exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adequate. The room was clean. The bathroom was clean. The staff were friendly and efficient. The Restaurant staff were efficient and helpful. The bar staff were knowledgeable. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Soo! luxurious, peaceful accomodation in lovely setting with off street parking. Jan made the day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For such a nice place to stay the food in evenings, though nice, was out of step with the ambience of the accommodation. We would have enjoyed more fish and fresh veg on the menu. That would not prevent a return though but we might look out for healthier menus.

    A luxurious haven in the Cotswold's - Jan on reception was especially friendly and did all she could to make one of our disabled party welcome and comfortable. The Sheep is now on our 'must stay' list when in Cotswolds - loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay in a charming town - would gladly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor sound insulation from the room above.

    Good location, with off-street parking. Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable bedroom. Excellent breakfast, cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    No soap in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in the bathroom. Multiple flights of stairs. Problem with restaurant food order. Waiter did not process our order, manager got involved and this was resolved with complimentary offer of desserts and coffees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay at The Lamb. Second time we have visited this year and it will not be the last time we stay at this lovely hotel. Stow on the Wold and the general area are gorgeous. Cannot speak highly enough of the whole trip

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: