Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Shellbrooke 4 stars

Cliff Terrace, Hunstanton, PE36 6DY, United Kingdom

#18 of 28 hotels in Hunstanton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one issue, the ensuite was tiny with a tiny lavatory type basin...I could have coped with that but theres a glass shelf just above it which pretty much makes it unusable.. other than that all good.

    Comfortable guest house in a nice road with pleasant service. Breakfast was very nicely cooked, linen was clean and good quality and condition....I slept well comfortable bed and quiet....very convenient position for the town and beach.....100 yards to each.....I was upgraded to an ensuite....see below though

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view was a bit disappointing! Most of the view was the back of flats/takeaway restaurants, although we could see the sea when lying in bed. Double bed quite small for a superior room and only one chair in bedroom. Would have been nice to both have a comfy chair to relax on.

    Very friendly hosts. Great breakfast. Very clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred a king size bed in the superior room. No fresh breakfast type fruit (blueberries, grapes,strawberries,melon etc) served (not apples and bananas)

    Everything was fine, very clean and property very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a fab place to stay. There was a lovely view of the sea from our room. The room was clean and comfy, it had everything we needed for our stay. The breakfast is lovely with a good choice. We had an evening meal which was really good and dietary requirements are not a problem (I'm gluten free). Mark's puddings are really good! Mark and Jacqui are super hosts and go out of their way to make sure all is ok. I really would recommend the Shellbrooke. Good location and lovely atmosphere. Thank you Mark and Jacqui for making us feel so welcome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs and the limited parking but it was no worse than many places in Britain.

    The location was great. The owners were exrremely friendly an accommodating and it was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi on top floor was weak

    we stayed on the top floor , large spacious room (i'm aware not all the rooms are the same size) but this is a clean guest house style property in a seaside resort. - staff were very accommodating and they make a huge difference. Service at breakfast was swift!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was dire but that isn't the fault of the Shellbrooke! I wish future holidaymakers better weather than we had.

    Mark and Jacquie were lovely, kind and helpful. They were really nice to my son and nephew and took trouble to cook their eggs just right!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing for us would have been croissants at breakfast as i am lactose intolerant but my error did not make owners aware.

    Beds very comfortable . Good room size. Spotless all areas. excellent breakfast. Friendly , helpful staff. Easy access to shops and seafront. excellent parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally found the double bed too firm. The bay window had a blind and curtains but neither were blackout.

    Great location, lovely breakfast. Mark and Jackie were friendly and accommodating. Gluten free breakfast available and suitable for Coeliac diet. Triple sea view was spacious. Parking wasn't an issue, there are 5 small spaces at the rear and street parking from 6pm-9am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You must sort the shower pressure out it was weak at best and appalling most of the time. I would aslo suggest that the communal area be cleaned before the guests want to use it before breakfast is served as there was glasses and mess all over teh table in the room.

    The guest house was well maintained with excellent decorative order throughout. The staff were freindly and helpful, and the breakfast was superb offering just enough to see you through the day. We stayed in a higher floored room so had great views over the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mark and Jackie were absolutely amazing hosts! The food was delicious! Having booked the Shellbroke from the states to accommodate 9 people going to a wedding, I must say that I was very happy with all aspects. Highly recommend!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, nice bed and sheets. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast. Really nice place to stay, would definitely book again! 👍🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs to this room could be a problem with anyone with walking difficulties. Was a late booking and noticed evening meals were available but unfortunately only for one of our nights due to family circumstances of the manager plus a party booking. I usually check before booking as it saves time looking for somewhere to eat however it wasn't too much of a problem found a couple of nice places to eat. Definitely check before booking if evening meals are a must for you.

    Size of the room allocated which was the Beachview was very good and nicely presented and very clean, plenty of hot water and towels, Jacqui(manager) was pleasant and helpful. Parking was ok not sure how good it would be in peak season. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no negatives to our stay

    The staff were lovely and always cheerful. The freshly cooked breakfast to order was excellent. We stayed in the Sea View Suite which was a family room and certainly lived up to its name. The centre of Hunstanton was less than a five minute walk away. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely filled me up for the day.my son enjoyed it to.the room was lovely and clean and there were plenty of tea and coffee in the room.it was nice and warm to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked an extra armchair(only one provided) also bath robes would have been nice. There were no hooks in the bathroom, and more power points would have been useful rather than an extension lead. Parking could be a problem, although allocated parking for up to five cars is available round the back it can be a bit tricky parking. Opposite the SHELLBROOKE is also an option for up to five cars but can fill up very quickly. On road parking also has it's problems only 45 min(daytime) overnight ok but again gets full very quickly. No restrictions for blue badge holders.

    The hosts Mark and Jaquie were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good especially the Sunday roast (roast lamb) Hospitality tray was replenished every day plenty of lovely biscuits and beverages. All shampoo and liquid soap was provided. The room was clean and tastefully decorated, overall a very nice experience would certainly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely bed and breakfast, our bedroom was very spacious and the bed comfy. The whole place has a welcoming feel about it. Very clean as well. In a very good location, walking distance to the town and the sea front. We had a good view of the ocean as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.v

    The food was excellent especially the chefs fish pie,the managers were very accommodating a lovely couple .They upgraded us as soon as we arrived and we were very pleased with the room bed was comfy in fact everything with the room was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were made very welcome and shown to our rooms, the facilities in the rooms were plentiful and at any time we were able to ask for nore if needed. Mark and jackie were knowledgable about the area and very friendly throughout our stay and breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Mark Jacque are exceptional hosts very welcoming helpful and if you like a bit of banter Marks your man,the breakfast was first class and cooked to perfection, would stay again without a doubt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basically the on-suite in our room needed attention!!! Startling with a broken toilet seat which was rectified after the first night then being scalded by a dangerous non thermostatic electric shower which IMO should never be allowed to be installed in any accommodation as if an o.a.p or child had been using it could of been very serious indeed! There was also a cracked floor tile which which had a very sharp edge & if slipped upon could of caused injury too so IMO you should contact the property a.s.a.p to discuss these issues!

    Very friendly staff & informative helpful, Great choice at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hot enough but not that strong if that matters to you? Wi-fi was patchy unfortunately which is more about the area than the premises to be honest.

    A tidy and pleasant property. Food was well cooked and very tasty. Breakfasts were excellent and I was accomodated with an earlier start time which was appreciated. Clean rooms, great housekeeping with comfortable beds and towels. No complaints. All good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect hosts. Fantastic breakfast. Ideal location, with a sea view from our room. Comfortable beds, nicely decorated room, plenty of storage. Decent shower. Great size TV.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm in the room. Took a long time for water to warm up in the shower .

    We were lucky as we managed to park in the small car park. Friendly host and hostess great choice of a gluten free option.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows very hard. View could have been better but not a major quibble for short stay.

    Friendly staff. Very clean en-suite and room. Excellent breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window in the room.It was freezing in the room and too noisy to have a good sleep due to the horrendous weather-heavy wind and rain and less than 1 degree C.

    The hosts were very friendly. The room was clean and comfort. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in the room no herbal teas on the tea tray and no hooks in the bathroom to hang bathrobe on.

    Friendly staff room large and very clean good location and good breakfast a couple of tweeks and would be perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Although the room was very nice the only thing that I would recommend is the lower window in the bathroom be misted out/obscure glass. Because if you don't shut the blind properly people from the road can see you in the shower. 2. Breakfast was nice 7 out of 10, however the time frame for breakfast is 08;30 to 09;30 and personally I think it would be better from say 08:00 to 09:30 just that extra half an hour. my only other gripe was on the Sunday the breakfast came out a little on the cold side. Breakfast consists of one sausage, one button mushroom, one hash brown, half a tomato, two rashers of bacon and a spoon of beans. One slice of Toast and one cup of tea or coffee, wasn't asked if we wanted anymore tea or coffee. Overall good but could do with a little more thought..

    Beach view suite was superb, very spacious and bright. The room was very clean and modern and the Staff were very polite. Good location for main parts of Hunstanton, a must is the Old Marine pub. The food was superb and very filling and the drinks are reasonably priced. Golden Lion was very expensive on both the food and the drinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disliked

    Service and cleanliness. Breakfast was very good. Reported an issue with the bathroom extract at breakfast - new fan installed when I returned that evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bigger than some double rooms I’ve stayed in and the ensuite was very clean with a large shower cubicle. Breakfast and wi-fi were good and the staff friendly. Location was excellent, close to the seafront and the town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some dust on bedside lamps.

    Spacious room, nice view, comfy bed, heating/warmth in the room perfect, fabulous breakfast, shower over the bath handy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Room was warm, bed was comfortable - I kept falling asleep in it! Proprietors are friendly, helpful, professional. Breakfast was great. Parking perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing apart from the 36 steps up to the room but we were aware of this!

    Both the room and en suite bathroom were spacious and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals not available as managers on holiday and stand in didn't do them.

    Friendly and comfortable, managers back to end of our stay and even better then. Good location in Hunstanton and for bird watching along Norfolk coast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get breakfast earlier than stated time, one morning it was offered but the next morning was told that they were short staffed, I think not to be offered cereals, toast as an alternative, even though it’s stated that breakfast can be earlier if pre arranged isn’t very good, especially when it’s been paid for!!

    Very clean & ideal for the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt the décor in the room a little prescriptive - needed a touch of 'homeliness'. Also sound travelled a little easily - able to hear discussion in Reception when I was in bathroom on 1st floor!

    Good location. Airy bedroom - just what I need with my nose! Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to think of.

    Location was perfect, close to the town and only 200 yards from the sea front. The breakfast was excellent as were the staff. I would definitely recommend this guest house

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up 30 steps to room on 3rd floor - not explained in booking. Despite paying extra, sea view only visible if standing right up to window and then peering between buildings. If we hadn't have prepaid we would have moved accommodation.

    Lovely airy room nicely decorated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jeremy Kyle on the tv at breakfast time, don't think suited guests at the time, also too loud - they'd probably prefer BBC1 or Radio quieter.

    The room was lovely, good size, also bathroom, lovely soft towels,radiator so warm, bed comfortable, side view of sea, biscuits with teas/coffees always go down well, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    We had a fantastic stay at The Shellbrook with James and Jaqui The food was excellent at all time. Comfy room. Reasonable prices. We loved every moment we were there . Thankyou for having us. And we will certainly stay again. Xxxxxx

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No telephone in room to enable contact with desk or outside. No danishes or croissants at breakfast so mostly relied on fried breakfast. More fruit selection would be appreciated. Emergency arrangement needs improvement.

    Very accommodating staff. Location, close to seafront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Discount for single people wasn't available so worked out pricey for me as rates didn't include dinner. Cobwebs on ceiling in room. Small shower room, not big enough to move around easily.

    Hosts were very welcoming. Breakfasts really good. Lounge for visitors which was good, saved me spending evening in bedroom. Great large towels. Tv in room and tea and coffee replenished daily - great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really poor and did not work on occasions. Also breakfast on Saturday morning was a bit chaotic although everyone did get served in the end.

    The room was large with a great sea view. It has a great location . The room was extremely clean as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very friendly, comfortable B&B in a great location. It's just a few minutes to a world-class beach, which at low tide seems to have as much sand as Arabia. It's also very close to the Norfolk Coast Path, which is easy to negotiate thanks to the Coasthopper busline.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room would have been small for 2 people. Limited on site parking.

    Terrace. Breakfast. Airy room. Friendly proprietor. Big lounge in which there was some local information.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is restricted to 5 spaces opposite the property, so first come first served, otherwise there is some parking to the rear of the property.

    Lovely B&B with the option of evening meal. Full English breakfast was excellent, also on offer were cereals and some fruit. Very good location a few minutes walk to the sea front. If you have a font facing room you can see the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room although small was very clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room was a little temperamental. Power would be good and then would go slow.

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Accommodated 18 of us for a lovely family meal. Food was amazing. Couldn't fault the food at dinner or breakfast. Had such a variety of choice on the menu at both times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had booked a twin room for myself and my 16 year old son but a double room was provided. Those were the instructions provided by booking.com

    Location was excellent for beaches and town and within walking distance. Other areas of interest within a short car journey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isn't the best, has on street and few bays opposite though. Still worth the stay

    Breakfast was beautiful. Staff friendly. Comfy and cosy. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't think of anything everything was there that we required

    Bedrooms spacious and comfortable, good curtains and blinds to provide privacy. Selection of coffee and tea (Fruit teas not included in rooms) but provided at breakfast when staff noticed we didn't drink usual tea. Breakfast very good with ample variations to set full English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can not find any issues. The host really know what they are doing.

    The sea view from the room was excellent. The room was lovely and clean, and the hosts were friendly. The breakfast was perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe some bottled water in the single room for tea/coffee facilities

    The breakfast .... good The bed ... excellent The Pimms ..... BRILLIANT The people ... Tops !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing everything was above expectation

    The family atmosphere given by the staff helped make this a great holiday. Very handy having a car parking area close by Very Central for the local amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was limited and there weren't enough spaces for all the guests meaning parking on the street and having to move the car by 9:45 which was added hassle. Also, over-priced for what it is (but that might be peak summer pricing...)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spotlessly clean, good shower, crisp linen, comfy bed and pillows, good hospitality tray, well cooked and substantial breakfast with real coffee in a pleasant, bright, well appointed dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lift made it difficult for my aged parents - though we knew about it in advance.

    The breakfasts were especially good. Beds comfortable, I slept really well, better than at home in fact.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather, would have liked more sun!!! Had to plug the window with toilet paper to stop the wind whistling through it!! Once done, everything fine.

    Breakfast was amazing, I would go as far as saying one of the best we've ever had. Shower excellent, nice choice of drinks and biscuits, comfy bed. All in all a good stay 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs with no lift in the building, so carrying cases was a struggle. I'm not sure whether disabled or infirm people could stay here. A large garden area at the back would encourage more people to have drinks and dinner I think. Also we booked a family room but booking.com only reserved a double with the hotel. Luckily the managers resolved this with no problems.

    Very friendly managers. Delicious food including vegetarian breakfast and meals. Good location close to beach and town with some free parking available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A single room without a toilet but then again I did have my own private bathroom not too far from the bedroom.

    I had good night's sleep. The breakfast choice was first rate and the owners very friendly. Staying there was like a home from home. I hope to return next time I am in Norfolk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A window that looked out to a brick wall. The room was near the reception, it was possible to hear conversations for example the ordering of meat.

    Friendliness of the staff. Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of stairs to get to our room.

    Made to feel very welcome throughout and breakfast was good. enjoyed the freedom to come and go. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As room was at the top of building the heat was unbearable at times but we did make use of the fan provided.

    Very comfortable bed. Room was clean but a shame about the mould in the shower cubicle. The location was good and just a short stroll to the seafront. We thought good restaurants were hard to come by, very little choice other than the usual fish & chips.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you were going to run a guesthouse run it like the Shellbrooke, Mark & Jacqui were brilliant, made us feel very welcome and made friends with my 2 year old son.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast made us feel uncomfortable. No hello and really bad service. No smiles. Lady on reception was so rude. Regarding parking told first come first parked. No advice where to park. Checking out no interaction or did you enjoy your stay. We just wanted to pay and get out. The bar was never open and the restaurant was never opened. At £100 night not worth it. Sunday am bed just pulled up and not made. Mugs not washed etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Landlord came out of the kitchen looking very dirty. Also felt he was a bit rude didn't speak when entering the hotel.

    Quiet clean and comfortable excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Everything about the shellbrooke was brilliant. Staff very helpful and could not do anything more. Best scrambled eggs on the planet yyyyuuuummmm. Very clean and friendly place to stay. Will certainly book again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you to all for our great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Managers on holiday, so no availability of evening meals;,last-minute booking so had 'last room' which was a bit on the small side; wifi frustratingly intermittent.

    Brilliant location; cheerful friendly staff. Choose the right table and you can eat breakfast with a sea view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not find any.

    Great location, near to shops & by the beech. Staff are friendly especially the both managers. Our room was sea view, spacious and clean. Lovely breakfast. Would like to come back again. Recommend for family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a twin room which was small; with a couple of bags and a suitcase it was very crammed.

    The hosts (Jacqui and Mark) were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean with everything working as expected (shower, tv, kettle, etc.). Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Ideal location (couple of mins from beach/prom and shops).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean and spacious. Relaxed atmosphere. Peaceful and quiet location and Mark and Jacqui were very friendly and helpful. I had to get up early on my first morning and Mark laid on breakfast 45 minutes earlier than usual to ensure I had breakfast before my day's activities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Warm welcome from Jacqui and Mark. The Shellbrooke was warm and inviting on a cold day. We stayed in the Sunrise Suite. It was beautiful. Spotlessly clean. Lovely view. We were served a lovely breakfast by Mark. All in all an excellent stay. Would love to come back later in the year and stay in the same room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bear in mind I only paid £45 ..my room was a double but it was very small with a low ceiling. It was very comfortable but bijou. No other issues.

    Nice guesthouse near the centre very well positioned near the sea for a holiday in Hunnie. Very nice helpful couple running it Breakfast room was pleasant. I didnt have fried so i cant comment. Good value for a night. Comfortable room with ensuite. They also did evening meals but I didnt have that

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the really clean room and getting an upgrade on arrival ; very nice. While I was in the lounge I overheard a guest who arrived very late ask where he could find somewhere in town to eat. The managers made him something which I thought was excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A larger car park would be helpful (but impossible to achieve) on street parking could be slightly tricky in high season.

    We loved the overall feel of this hotel. The breakfast was good and our hosts helpful and friendly. A lovely short stay will use again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the single room so had to walk the hall for private bathroom. But knew this be for and it was clean and fully equipped.

    Staff and convenience were excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: