Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ship Inn

65 Sandgate High Street, Sandgate, Folkestone, CT20 3AH, United Kingdom

#13 of 29 hotels in Folkestone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 B&B reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    This is a very special place to stay. The small touches that make for an even more restful few days, such as a fridge with fresh milk and water everyday. The friendly staff and of course We dy herself always has time for a chat and it really is home from home. Thank you all so much. I didnt mention the bedding and towels, all top quality and have stayed in many expensive hotels where the quality of bedding didn’t match up to the Ship!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and very helpful staff, anything you need just ask and they will be happy to help. The food is very nice, we dined in the restaurant at night and the fish was first class

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great, we were doing research so the location to everything was perfect. Buses were a very easy mode of transportation.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. Our room faced the channel which was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the room is slightly off-putting and for some people the room might be a little bit too small. I understand that the other room on the ground floor looks out onto a courtyard, which at the time we stayed was full of junk. So beware. Also there is only one bedside table and light and that really ought to be sorted out..

    Right on the beach, what could be better. We were the only people staying that night and the only people in the restaurant and at breakfast too. That was fine. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Lovely bed and shower. The room is adequate for a couple of nights stay but a little too cosy for longer. Opening the curtains in the morning to that view is just terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above re room improvement ..Difficulty in parking.

    Excellent food .both breakfast and evening meal. Lack of mirror adjacent to an electric plug and an additional bedside light plus table would have made the room more comfortable..but liked everything else ..very clean .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking around the property was hit and miss, only 2 hours free during the day and no opportunity to pay to stay longer unless you move to one of the car parks The letting rooms are detached from the hotel in a Victorian terrace which is not a problem if you are fully mobile. Only one ground floor room, the rest are up narrow stairs

    Room was very comfortable and had a separate lounge. Breakfast was one of the best we had had recently. Owners couldn't have been more helpful and were genuinely concerned about my wife's mobility difficulties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location with sea views. Wendy and Stuart are the perfect hosts and clearly wanted to ensure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend the Ship Inn!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tricky/not included - all local streets were permit only or 2 hours max.

    Breakfast was included and really delicious and fresh. Wendy the landlady was very welcoming and kind. Room recently renovated to high standard with lovely soft furnishings & good coffee, fresh milk, private terrace looking directly onto quiet pebble beach & sea. Had a great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was small and looked out onto an untidy yard. I did request an upgrade via booking.com as a last minute surprise for my partner. I wouldn’t have expected it if they were busy, but the larger rooms were empty and there’s more chance of us returning if we know what the larger rooms are like

    Very friendly staff, welcoming from the moment we stepped in the door! The food in the restaurant was very tasty, just a little pricier than expected. Great breakfast and lovely seaview from the restaurant. Very comfy beds!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and hallway to our room was very very run down and in disrepair. I wish they had a vegan or healthier breakfast options.

    The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed not to have been discounted for breakfasts we did not eat during our stay. Although this is standard practice in many places, I strongly disagree with being charged for services not received.

    Very comfortable room and lovely, ‘down to Earth’ friendly hosts. A well-cooked breakfast made of quality ingredients was provided. Panoramic sea views - dependent on room selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the view out to sea from our first floor window. The room was light and spacious, and the bed comfy. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. And we had a great dinner in the restaurant. We would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Allow time to find parking which is in bays outside Hotel or on main street. Limited to 2 hours maximum between 8am and 6 pm but ok for all night.

    The Channel View Room is amazing. Two rooms for the price of one! A lounge with flat screen TV, settee and fantastic views of the English Channell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking must be a mission in the summer

    the view was amazing, the room very comfortable , the bed was really comfy, the shower was excellent, the scrambled eggs for breakfast were divine .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is a little scruffy but we expected that. I have a personal dislike of wet rooms, which we had, but that really is a matter of taste and we only stayed one night. We couldn't open the bedroom windows but realised the next morning that we could easily open the sky-light in the bathroom by standing on the toilet seat. We are in our seventies but it wasn't a problem and I am sure someone would have done it for us if we'd asked.

    The food was very tasty and the chips were superb, unlike some of the 'big chain' chips that are tasteless. We loved the view of the sea. The top bedroom had an en suite and, next to it, a lounge, which was a bonus, as we could sit there and open either or both of the windows (corner room). It was very quiet so we had no disturbances of our sleep. It's a friendly, quirky pub/B&B/restaurant, easily found from the motorway. The landlady seemed very approachable, down-to-earth, considerate and likeable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our initial impression when entering the accomodation was not good at all. We went through an extrenal door into a corridor which runs between two cottages and stores the dustbins, this corridor smells badly of rubbish, the render on the walls was crumbling in places. Our initial impression of our room was that the furniture was too large for the room making it seem very full.

    The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, lovely plump pillows and good quality sheets, the mattress was very comfortable, the TV worked well, It was nice to have a fridge with fresh milk and cold water. My husband really appreciated the coffee which was not instant coffee and the very nice biscuits which were replenished each day. The bathroom was again very clean, the space adequate. It was great to have double doors out to a balcony overlooking the beach. It would have been very useful to have a bedside cabinet on both sides of the bed. The restaurant seems very newly built, light and spacious. The food in the evening was excellent, breakfast was very good, I would have liked some yougart and fruit to be available. We were fortunate with being able to park outside our room each night but I imagine parking could be a real issue as there is very little available. We would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said earlier, just a few minor things, the barman wasnt over friendly in the afternoon but the owners are stunning and the girls on the bar in the evening are helpful maybe too many staff on the bar and not enough in the restaurant

    The room was fantastic bed wonderful, shower excellent in fact the whole cottage experience was great. The restaurant was good, but there was only one waitress and they had a table of 12 for a christmas party so our service was slow and she seemed under pressure, we ordered haddock with poached egg the egg was overcooked but that was ok they took the dish off the bill, also it was cold in there so more heating in winter please, but the breakfast was fantastic apart from the sausages which tasted spicy ok for a lunch maybe

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance,staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them,your every needs are taken care of.Ate in the restaurant on this first night the fish and chips were delicious!!! Breakfast didn’t disappoint in anyway had to take a long walk from sandgate to Folkestone along the seafront to walk off the scrumptious food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing everything was just right

    lovely warm welcome super evening meal full English breakfast set us up for the drive back home great view from dining room as the sea was on the opposite side of the street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the mattress was not very comfortable, partner didn’t sleep much both nights!!

    Lovely staff, gorgeous cooked breakfast included in the price of the room, great view over the beach onto the sea, the room we stayed in at the top had its own little lounge which was perfect to relax in after a day of exploring! The walk in open shower was excellent too! Would have loved to stay for a few more days! Will deffinetly be going back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are next door in another building, the passage way to rooms could do with a spruce up, very dull and dank, was not sure what to expect of the room, the stairs could do with new flooring, very aged, BUT the room was everything that was in the pictures. could do with the removal of the fridge, it is not warranted, use sachets of milk like all other B&B and free the room up, also the arm chair and coffee table could go. Much more space and not so much clutter. The parking is hit an miss, would not like to stay during the summer, you would not find a park.

    The room and the magnificent view across the ocean , the owner was delightful, the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I kept on having to move my hired car as street parking only 2hours until 4pm as Ship Inn does not have Private Parking.

    Friendly owners clean , comfortable room. Position perfect for walks on beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit fussy and to do with personal tastes but I found the aubergine dish too oily.

    The bed was great and the breakfast was really good. The lounge was excellent upstairs. We were lucky with the parking at the front; a space was available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was hit and miss along the service road beach, can be a bit tight for parking, the High Street is ok. This doesn’t mark down the Ship Inn,it was great.

    The Ship Inn was excellent, close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not stay as there is no parking here and the surrounding area looks really shabby. So i paid £100 to not stay at the hotel, you are a captive audience in terms of the restaurant. There are plaster walls between the pub and the dining area.

    The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have a sea-view which was a shame, but probably booked late and still in the holiday season.

    We were in the cottage around the corner, comfortable but in need of a bit of TLC, facilities offered were very good though. Food good, especially the breakfast. We did not have a problem parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the bedroom was very tired and the shower altho' very clean was a rather small cubicle in a very small bathroom. We did find a parking space but that was good luck as it's metered spaces until 4pm.

    The sea view was brilliant and the staff were super-helpful. The bed was very comfortable and lovely bedlinen. There was fresh milk in 'fridge and thoughtfully the owners had put wine glasses and corkscrew in room. Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on street outside is limited to two hours between 8am and 6pm meaning that for overnight you need to park after 4pm and leave before 10am if you don't want to have to move your car. We were expecting this to be a problem but, because it is two hour limit, we found that there were plenty of comings and goings and parking turned out not to be a problem.

    Very spacious room with two large seaview windows complete with a good quality telescope on a tripod! Huge flatscreen television. Comfortable seating comprising settee, armchair and a stool and a very large comfortable bed. Excellent full English breakfast all cooked to order using good quality ingredients. I think there are only four or five rooms and ours was probably their best and most expensive room but never the less extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning sea view from the room and lovely walk along the sea front. Great Thai café and micro-pub across the road. Well looked after for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the room was a bit tatty with cracks in the walls and ceiling. The entrance passage had a trash bin in it and the walls were crumbling.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful in finding a park for our car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not small, but only one chair fitted in.

    See view was great. One cannot be closer to the beach. Our room had a nice terrace, also sea view. Breakfast is nice. Perfect for stop over to/from boats or trains to France

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Lovely comfortable hotel with beautiful views over the sea. Very well placed for the Channel Tunnel. A little gem!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a bank holiday weekend, the area is overwhelmed, so you have to go to Folkestone to eat. Parking is also difficult.

    The location is perfect, next to the beach. The owners were friendly and helpful. The pub was full of character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A mirror in the bedroom would have been nice.

    The restaurant was good, serving excellent food, with views overlooking the sea. Freshly cooked breakfasts in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to soft for my back so I packed it with a towel, all good

    The Location was great and our ground floor balcony looked out over the sea. The dinner in the restaurant was very good and the 'specially for us' cooked breakfast was superb. The lady who looked after us was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The veranda is next to a large window in the restaurant - so if you were to sit there in the evening you might feel that you were not private, but I'm not sure what could be done about that unless the restaurant had curtains which might spoil the sea view for the diners

    Fantastic 'White company' Feather pillows. Friendly, hospitable owners. Traditional unspoiled feel. Outside area to sit overlooking beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite shower unit is a bit of a squeeze, but worked really well.

    Lovely place with a great little bar for an evening drink. We stopped for one night en route to the Eurotunnel and it was perfect. Breakfast is fantastic - I'm not sure I have ever tasted mushrooms so lovely. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - for a pub stay it ticked every box.

    Almost everything! Lovely beer and evening meal and a cracking breakfast. Added to that all the staff were engaging and fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all, only thing was lack of car parking at the Inn but there was plenty of FREE parking in the surrounding area so no problem

    I had the biggest and best room overlooking the seafront. Bathroom facilities were immaculate and spacious. I was attending a wedding reception and the venue was on the seafront 50 metres from the Ship Inn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking facilities. No defined reception area. Poor entrance to accommodation.

    Comfy bed and great breakfast. Helpful staff. Lovely view from our attic room, and use of a separate lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much to say really

    Breakfast was made to order by the owner. Fresh milk was provided in a fridge in the room for our tea or coffee. We had a room called the Deck which had sea views, and a out side sitting area. We stayed three nights and had our evening meals in the restaurant every night. We enjoyed our food, which was well cooked and well presented by friendly waitresses. We tried to extend our stay for another night, but they were fully booked. But we will return again soon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing . 😁

    Lovely bed . Was a back room so no sea view but lovely size. Telly wouldn't work but they sorted it straight away . Lovely people . Parking a bit troublesome but we was lucky with a space . Will go again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the room looked rather tired, carpet grubby. Parking is pot luck on the road, we were lucky enough to find a spot in front of the hotel. Room had an old world charm though curtains were a bit worn and could do with replacing.

    Fantastic location directly overlooking the sea on quiet promenade. Room was very comfortable. Great breakfast included. Very friendly staff. Restaurant excellent. Roof terrace great spot for enjoying the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a bit of love and cleaning this could be a fabulous b&b.

    Comfy bed and lovely cooked breakfast. Fabulous views from the top suite. Friendly landlady.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't use room terrace as its next to restaurant. Food in restaurant ok,have stayed before and it was great,it was the reason we booked again but it was just average so we will not return. Can't comment on breakfast as it wasn't available for our early start and no provision to supply anything. Parking is a problem and we thought it was worth risking after our first visit. Very shabby decoration overall.

    Easy access to Eurotunnel,on the beach,small but comfy room,tiny toilet/shower but ok for overnight stay. Staff in bar friendly apart from one perfunctory.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains don't block out light so awake at 5am with daylight. Room with view of beach great but the stairs and communal entrance to to the house are grotty and cluttered, gives a bad impression but the room was nice albeit a bit tired in places (tiles in shower broken/mouldy). Paint peeling and cobweb in corner of bedroom ceiling - damp as old house.

    The bed was good view was good and really happy with fridge and quietness of location at night time. Plenty of sockets and tea/coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a double but it was small, a bit cramped for 2 people. Like most double rooms it only had 1 chair. I don't know why double rooms are like this as there is usually 2 people sharing! Parking was on the street. You could not park till after 6pm & had to be away by 10.00am, otherwise parking was 2 hours only. Very limited amount of spaces. There was a public car park some distance away that was recommender by the hotel, not very convenient. The web site didn't state any of this.

    Room with veranda was directly on sea front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking has always been difficult but now new council regulations have made it a little bit harder. There is a car park a couple of minutes walk away which is reasonable and later you can ususally park near the Ship. Dont let this put you off.

    We have stayed here several times in the past five years as it is an excellent stopping point for the tunnel. Wendy and Stuart offer excellent value in a very nice room with all conveniences. It is also a bonus that the restaurant is also very good offering excellent meals and a good range of drinks. Our room The Channel Room had excellent sea views and its own terrace accessed through patio doors from the room another excellent feature as the weather both times we stayed there was exceptionally hot!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking; on the street with time restrictions and pure luck if you can find a space close to the hotel.

    Having a pub bar and a good restaurant in the same building, plus a room with a sea view. The food and beer were good and reasonably priced. Also the location was convenient for access to the ferry port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready when we arrived despite being later than the time we were told we could have the room. Wendy met us with excuses about all the work that was required. We couldn't believe the standard of what met us. The accommodation is at the back of the pub in a cottage. The hall to the cottage is used to store things, the stair carpet very stained and tired, the walls marked and chipped paint. Our room was very small, and in need of redecoration with dated furniture etc. The bare wires in the shower room mentioned by a previous reviewer are still bare. The bulb was missing in the bedside lamp also mentioned by a previous reviewer. Breakfast was OK but when we asked for yogurt Wendy didn't have any natural yogurt as she could only get organic in a small size so we did without. The toast was cold

    Nothing. The location is good but our room was at the back looking onto the pub back yard which was used to store lots of things and a huge eyesore so we could have been in a backstreet somewhere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked this place on Booking.com as the Inn's website photos looked as if it was a great place - BIG mistake! We were greeted by Wendy, the owner, to be told that we were in the cottage next door. We had an early suspicion of what was to come as the entrance corridor had flaking plaster and smelt of refuse from the wheelie bins at the end of the corridor. Through the first door where we were faced with a flight of dirty stairs at the bottom of which was an odd slipper, an item of clothing and two fire extinguishers hidden away under the stairs. The room was something else!!! The light switch was behind the door only visible when the door was closed! One of the two dimmer switches operated four of the eight ceiling lights, the other switch did not work but there were only two bulbs out of four fitted. There were two bedside lamps on one side, both without bulbs and one with a dusty lampshade. One lamp was plugged in to the wall socket and switched on but we were unable to reach in and switch it off as it was jammed by a wedged in unit. Reach out in the night and touch the live lamp and dread the result. The dust behind the bed must have been there months as had the cobweb on the ceiling. The glasses on the tea tray were dirty. The bathroom sash window was propped open with a toilet roll and above the mirror were bare electrical wires wound together and held together with green and yellow insulation tape - IN A BATHROOM!!!! If by then you had not electrocuted yourself you ran the risk of the full length, frameless mirror leant against the wall in the bedroom falling and shattering. The windows were filthy with flaking paint. We declined an invitation to dine in their restaurant having seen the cleanliness of the bedroom. We did however have breakfast, we had paid for it and their web site said no cancellation etc. That was good, plenty and well cooked. The dead spider on the window sill did not add to the ambience of their lovely restaurant.

    Breakfast and comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was outside the property if you were lucky. During the day it was for 2 hours and no return within 2 hours, it was free but could not always park there, was a one way road and had to make sure you did not park longer than the 2 hours as Traffic Warden was always checking. Would of been better if we could of had allocated parking, even if we had to pay extra for it.

    Bed was so comfy, and we could lay in bed and see the beach and sea , was a beautiful view. Room was clean and bright , with a nice large TV .There was a fridge in the room with water and milk in it, and room to put any of your own drinks in it. Tea and coffee, with cups, and kettle to make drinks, and glasses for cold drinks, even small packs of biscuits which were nice. White fluffy towels folded on the bed. Bathroom had a nice shower with shower gel, soap , shampoo and shower cap. There even was a telescope in the room so that we could look out to sea and see France on a clear day or look at the ships. Breakfast was very nice, full English, eggs anyway you wanted, cereal, toast, yoghurt , tea or coffee, juice and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fridge a bit noisy in the dead of night!

    Quirky Pub hotel with decent beers/ Old fashioned bar at the front morphing into modern bar and restaurant with sun deck terrace overlooking the sea. Large room comfortable with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The local parking authorities have made changes to the no parking schedule so we had to move our car twice in order to avoid a hefty ticket.

    Breakfast was substantial. Almost too much food if you can believe that! We had a wonderful dinner at the Inn looking out onto the Channel. A perfect spot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the property could do with a makeover. The room was very comfortable but could also do with a freshen up.

    Very friendly staff, the food was yummy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous Sea frontage! Lovely to hear the sea from the room. Really comfortable room with the comfiest bed ever slept in :) Quality 🍳 Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight criticism I can think of is that there was some slight damage to the room's decor prior to our arrival (paint / wallpaper peeling in the corner). Apart from that there were no faults that I can think of.

    The sea views were superb, as was the breakfast that was provided in the price. The room was well provisioned and very comfortable. All the staff that we met were polite, helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for much more: it was just a shame we couldn't stay any longer!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Local councils parking restrictions can make it difficult.

    Very comfortable bed! Nice room with private balcony/decking right on the sea front. Very friendly & helpful staff. Lovely breakfast. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location with a stunning view of the English Channel. The room was clean and really comfortable nights sleep. A fabulous cooked breakfast in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    We've stayed here many times before and the rooms are nothing short of first class; the owner and staff are so friendly and welcoming. It's only a short drive along the coast line to many other seaside destination and places of interest. Good value for money too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The deck exceeded expectations, we were very impressed with all facilities, restaurant amazing, breakfast amazing and very nice owners. Our room was exceptionally clean, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Everything about the place. Owners delightful couple out to please everyone. Loved the telescope in the room to look out to sea

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night ate in restaurant which was a bit pricey although food was very good. Second night in the pub asked if we could choose from bar menu and eat in bar but were told it was restaurant only for food although we had seen people eating in bar previous evening. Restaurant was full so ended up going up the street for fish & chips! Car parking is on the street around the property and, although it is free, it is restricted from 8am until 6pm. Not a problem for us because we were out sightseeing during the day and managed to find a space when we returned but could be a problem during summer months.

    Family-run & very friendly. Our ground floor room was very warm & clean and faced the sea; had an outside decked area with table & chairs; bed was very comfortable; fresh milk & bottled water in fridge for tea/coffee making. Full English breakfast cooked by landlady and was excellent. Bar drinks were very reasonably priced. Food was served in lovely restaurant which faces the sea - very relaxing! We loved this little place and wished we had booked for longer (only had 2 nights) but they were fully booked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft but that's down to individual choice. Room was very hot and windows could not be opened.

    Breakfast was excellent served by very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No desk to work in the room, it was not clear that the restaurant of the hotel closes Sundays at 4pm during the low season

    Good location at the sea front but also close to the euro tunnel (9minutes by car). Lovely pub and good India restaurant around the corner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quirky approach to the accommodation - narrow stairs might not suit some

    Excellent room and shower room. Large comfy bed. Great breakfast. And thanks for squeezing us in to the restaurant on a Saturday night!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not ideal, room a little dated but was fine for the price.

    Great service and friendly staff. One of the nicest breakfasts I have ever had, comfy bed, fantastic views on the sea front.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi code did not work in room,v small shower black marks in corner, room accessed from outside , no bedside tables,dirty carpet.rubbish outside room

    Good wine good breakfast , average dinner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again very well looked after, we had the ground floor room and we had a lovely stay. The bed is so comfortable and breakfast yummy. Can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the real ales had run out, so little choice. The Greene King IPA had something very wrong with it but that can be the nature and challenge of real ale drinking. ! !

    Sea views from the restaurant and room. Décor of room high quality, bed very comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast very good. B & B owner/landlady very personable, nothing a problem. .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little background music for breakfast time would have softened the dining room, but that is the tiniest of niggles.

    The bedding was extremely sumptuous for a room in a pub. The proximity of the sea to the room made it magical. The friendliness of the staff really made it welcoming. Definitely returning!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Channel View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Hosts superb, very friendly and helpful. I'd booked the wrong date for our eurotunnel journey, luckily they still had one room left and were brilliant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be difficult!

    Lovely restaurant meal. Even better than last time. Food superb. Young staff very hard working an friendly. The owners are genuine and make you feel welcome. We will visit again. PS The steel band was real bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Painting on walls In room needed repairing. Would have been nice if-large bi fold window in restaurant was cleaned and cobwebs swept.

    Lovely breakfast, beautiful views from room, friendly staff, lovely location. Good selection of beer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the deck room. This is a little cluttered and didn't need 2 large chests of drawers. Would have enjoyed sitting out on the deck more had the chairs been comfortable !

    Staff were brilliant. The weather was very hot 90 and sunny and the place was busy all evening. They worked so tirelessly with a cheery smile throughout ! The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Ship Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: