Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Shipwrights Arms Hotel 3 stars

55-61 Wherstead Road, Ipswich, IP2 8JJ, United Kingdom

#26 of 27 hotels in Ipswich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 341 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude and very abrupt. We had to prove that we had already paid for our stay even though the oversight was they're mistake and were still trying to demand our credit/debit card. We felt very uncomfortable throughout the night and couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Never ever again.

    The two single beds were comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bedroom. Poor daylight .No chair in room. No mirror in bathroom. Nowhere to hang clothes. It was a twin room but just about acceptable for 1 person for 1 night.

    Friendly staff & clean Comfortable bed. OK breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't feel entirely clean. The mattress sagged and the furnishings were old. The curtains didn't close fully and one of the windows had a broken lock. The ironing board was ripped. A bit tatty and musty and in need of updating.

    Room decent size. Friendly staff and the rooms were in a separate building, so away from the noise of the pub. Well located too and a short walk/taxi ride from the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise (lots of it) from guests in adjoining rooms who were obviously together and knocking on each others doors - even at 6.50 am on Sunday morning !

    We had a balcony with table and chairs on it! An unexpected bonus on a warm evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome - no one at the desk on check in or check out - had to wait in the bar with no sign of what to do - customers had to direct me. The room was in a separate building, upstairs - with what felt insecure security, though nothing bad occurred. The window didn't lock. The lady said she was only there until 11 and gave no advice as to what to do if I needed assistance after that. The area felt unsafe to be walking about on my own late at night as a single female traveller.

    The room was an OK size. Cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you stay on a Sunday Night they do not offer Breakfast on a Monday Morning ?

    Nice comfortable rooms in very quiet location around 20 minute walk into Town Centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains didn't close in room, half the lights weren't working, the décor was tired, there was no chain on the door, on a main rod which was noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They don't serve breakfast until 9 am! Access to the car park at the back is very difficult. Down market part of town.

    The room was comfortable and spacious and came with an outside deck. The shower was excellent. Altogether good value for money. The fish and chip shop almost next door is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love that there is something special about each room I've slept in, 1st time we went with family and got a flat with kitchen and a very large double room, the 2nd time the room was a little smaller but still big enough but had a balcony attached.i also loved that Check in time was flexible and check wasn't until 11 so we didnt need to rush.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just stayed one night without breakfast. Cheap and cheerful and perfectly adequate. You get what you pay for and this was purely to sleepover en route to other places. Slept well. Loved the honesty of the staff. Husband left his Kindle in the drawer and the staff contacted us before we even realised. Very central and nice and warm in the building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signal went on tv and electricity went in the whole room all of a sudden. No one around to ask. The only water we had in the room was freezing cold. Had to use kettle if we wanted warm water. Unhappy that we also got charged twice for our stay, once we questioned them they put through a refund, but it was very inconvenient.

    Close to the centre, big room, parking behind hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast served 9 til 12, an earlier serving would have been better. But it was worth the wait.

    Bed was comfy. Shower, although in the bath, was surprising powerful and hot. Everything was spotless. Dinner and breakfast were tasty and excellent value. Room very spacious. Pint of Becks £3.50, Cheaper than my local!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a bit cold for me though the heater was on full. The cleaners was noisy in the morning. All we can hear is their laughs, chatting then heavy feet running down the stairs then bang the door. I haven't had the chance to tell her off as we were so tired from nightshift and trying to get our sleep.

    Lovely lady with her nice smile who welcomed us when we collected our keys.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the old style window, which used weights and pulley to open and shut was tricky and during the night opened! so we got cold, my husband sorted it out in the end,

    I liked that fact that it was old, with great features like 2 fireplaces and beams, old style windows and high ceilings you just don't get to see that old style and it was great for my son who loves that charm to see it ( we live in a modern house).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water or heating on the first morning of my stay (in January). There's nobody to get in contact with before 9 am if there's anything wrong. Breakfast is after 9 am, so I wouldn't recommend it for business travellers. My receipt had a VAT of nil, whereas Booking.com showed the price inclusive of VAT at the standard rate. In effect the net price was 20% higher than expected.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was in need of refurbishment and up grading. No breakfast available. Another guest was very noisy and abusive keeping everyone awake at 3am!!! We had to call the landlord to have her ejected. We all had very little sleep. I personally would like some compensation in the form of a refund.

    It was conveniently situated close to where we were going.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses very hard which meant we didn't get much sleep as we both suffer severely with arthritis. Around the taps needed a good cleaning as did other parts of the en-suite.

    Room was ok. Bedding was clean. En-suite was reasonable except mirrored bathroom cabinet was too high unless you were over 5'8"!! Ok for the price paid. Hot drink sachets were in the room but no stirrers! Iron and ironing board plus hairdryer in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor shower; internet very intermittent No toilet paper or milk when we arrived and not very clean Could not have breakfast until after 9am which was far too late for us.

    On site parking but doubt if everyone could find a space. We were lucky Beds OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a lot cleaner and weird smell in bathroom. Toilet seat old and stained, taps in bath horrendously discoloured and in need of a good clean.

    Friendly staff, good sized rooms, great breakfast, good value for money. Good showers, nice toiletries. 2nd stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not Very clean at all... We went to boil the kettle and it was filthy inside and full of scum... so dare not have a cuppa!!!! Beds were not comfortable at all.. Shower area was dirty... The room was filthy in fact.

    The Bar Area was the Cleanest place in the Hotel!!!! But that was because it was freshly painted. The rest of the place was absolutely Dire !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to check in earlier, check in not while 16:00 but staff very friendly.

    Everything comfortable beds,good central heating, went for football match close to ground,town centre, train station,chip shop, Indian restaurant, cafe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went to have a shower in the morning and the water was just luke warm. Over all I would say that is the only thing that needs looking into.

    I didn't buy any meals when I was there, But for one night the room was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just minor but the bed was very low, albeit comfortable enough.

    Staff were friendly. Room clean though tired. Pleasant bar area and very accommodating server. More than adequate for our one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very unhygienic. Extremely dirty rust all on the radiators. The bedroom door was quite tricky to open and there was a step as soon as you walked in which I fell down as I didn’t notice it. Behind a chair there was a lot of dust, cobwebs and rubbish; it didn’t look as if it had been cleaned for a month. There was a cider can left in the room, god knows why. There was no phone in the room to contact reception. The staff didn’t show you to the room, didn’t check to see how you were throughout the stay and when check out came the next day it was a simple ‘give my keys back bye’ no questioning on how the stay was. Wouldn’t return unfortunately.

    The smart tv was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and apologetic with the room being basic but clean and tidy. The free WiFi does not work in the room we were in. The bed was fine if you like sleeping on a marshmallow and the walls must be pretty thin as we could hear next doors conversation at 3am! Luckily we did not need breakfast on Sunday morning as no one to be seen from hotel at 8.30am. Place is a bit tired and overpriced and I was a bit embarrassed I had booked it for my wife and I but possibly should not have been surprised one of the few rooms still available for a late booking over this weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty. the en suite smelt of stale urine and was really unpleasant. We had a drink in the bar on Friday night but due to the 3 blokes at the bar with their foul language we went to our room. On Saturday morning we arrived downstairs at 8.55am for breakfast which started at 9. there was no one around no lights on in the kitchen or breakfast room. We needed to be at the Uni for 10 so we left and found somewhere else to eat. Very disappointing stay would not recommend.!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All three of us had to go to the doctors after being bitten alive through the night. The place was filthy dirty and no staff around to complain to.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should be cleaned. Showers and bathrooms re done.

    WE have builders staying all over the country this accommodation was disgusting. It was unclean, in urgent need of re decoration. Shower in a disgusting state. leaking rusty radiators.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have been better, the water was cold and the water filled the shower tray very quickly. Also there was a massive argument, which sounded like it was going to get violent, in the pub which was directly below our room, but it was over very quickly. Wifi also didn't work.

    Lovely, good sized room with a comfy bed, which was all we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 pillows stuffed into one pillowcase - didn't realise until morning but horrible to try to sleep on.

    Location and ability to park all day in the car park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management, being blamed for faults, being spoken to rudely, the dirty bathroom stacked with mould. Made to confront other hotel guests instead of staff doing their job. Really don't recommend this hotel.

    Lovely members of staff, location is good for town centre, but management was rude and poor. Don't recommend at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle lead too short to reach nearest socket (behind the TV). Swap TV with tea table? Aerial extension then required. Also, the other sockets were totally obscured by the beds.

    Price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to be shown several rooms as bedding hadn't been changed despite it being 6pm. Out dated distasteful decor (yellow and blue) with tacky old beds with stained headboards. Badly maintained rooms, everything seemed cheaply done to make do. Old smelly carpets that hasn't been put down correctly. Mattress was stained, cups and spoons not washed properly, bedrooms and dining area full of cob webs and dead spiders in clear view. Staff were friendly but there's no sense of pride for the place considering high end hotels are only a few mins drive down the road they could at least try and compete.

    Walking distance to the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our cups were dirty.I think the room and bathroom need to be upgraded as decorated.the hotel is very basic. And dining area there was a dead fly on the window sill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not in the best of neighbourhoods. But if you are just using the place as a place to sleep, it is perfect. I noticed there was a cleaning check list on the counter with everything checked before we arrived.

    We needed a hotel for one night in order to attend a wedding near Ipswich. The room was much better than expected. We had a lovely balcony big enough for a table and chairs where we enjoyed a bottle if bubbly upon arrival. Our car was very secure in off street parking. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room along with its large bathroom had a tv with satellite channels, a kettle for tea/coffee. There was also an ironing board, iron and hair drier. Diana on reception very kindly arranged a taxi for my wife and I as uber did not work in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food only available from Monday to Thursday (I was there on a Friday) but very good chippy almost next door.

    Choice of tea ,coffee or hot chocolate in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Very unclean place.. my daughter didnt sleep all night because the mattress had mops.. she woke up with red spots all over her body.. This place need inspection.... Its not safe.. Paid more money for poor condition ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty accommodation. Stayed in apartment which was filthy.Food in sink, food in a very dirty fridge, rubbish on floor, don't think accommodation had been cleaned for months. Mould in shower, disgusting place. Although website said tea and coffee facilities available, this turned out to be a kettle with a broken lid. Had to go to local shop to buy tea, coffee and milk. Spent as little time as possible in this accommodation, it was awful, by far the worst place I have ever stayed. Didn't dare stay for breakfast. Advise remove this from your list.

    Walking distance of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the room was not very clean and slept on the bed and not in it. we also had to wait an age for breakfast because they had run short of crockery

    Very little

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and shabby. The floor tiles in the bathroom were broken. The bath panel wasn't attached properly. Dust and cobwebs everywhere. The kettle had something growing in it and the smell was revolting. The lady lent us the kettle out of the kitchen which was broken. Curtains hanging off. Noise from the street and the bar prevented us from getting to sleep. Despite asking for somewhere to store bikes overnight we were told that we couldn't store them as the bar closed at 11 pm and no one would be back at work until 11am the next day and we were leaving early. We were allowed to store them in the bedroom.

    The lady who ran the hotel was helpful. The bar was ok. At least the shower worked and the water was hot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tired and not particularly clean. The shower was a trickle of water and very poor. All in all, not a pleasant experience and I would question whether this establishment will manage to stay in business.

    On arrival I was told that breakfast would be served from 9am. This is not acceptable to any business traveller and probably most leisure guests too. As a result I went without breakfast on both days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean in bedroom and breakfast area. Old bed linen only one cup on tray in room when there was two of us . No cup in bathroom dirty shower screen. Hard to pick up wifi.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean! The shower screen had not been cleaned at all. The extractor fan was furry with dust and dirt. The property is in a noisy and dirty location, which is just a fact. There wasn't much room to put items down. Going up to the room for the first time was very dark indeed. Needs modernising and rearranging to make it acceptable.

    The Public house looked very clean and the staff very friendly, was very pleasant to have a drink in. The Bar Top was unusual and extremely decorative.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, but no different than most hotels of this age.

    Good for our 1 night stay. Had its own parking area in the back. Staff were very nice and had a good pub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor was carpeted. A washable floor covering would have been more hygienic and made a difference to the appearance of the room. The carpet in bedroom was in need of cleaning.

    The room was light and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people in the room adjacent to ours were very noisy until quite late at night [gone midnight!]

    We were given a key to the main door so we could come and go without disturbing anyone. Parking was available at the back so off the street. Enjoyed a nice meal there with our guest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu selection was limited because they ran out of food. The issue was not resolved on the second night of my stay.

    The location was ideal for my work

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean - stained bedding and generally in poor condition. Not enough toilet paper (hardly any, had to get more). Ants in the dining room. Loud event happening until 1.30am with no warning given - luckily not much of an issue for us, but not great.

    Convenient, and got one of the parking spaces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty and they both looked very tired. Food was very basic just about presentable

    The two girls in charge did what they could and were very cheerful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was not real, It wouldn't load a single website which was not idea when it was a big reason for choosing the hotel. The free parking was literally just parking on the street which you needed to move at 8am. The shower wasn't cleaned very well as there were old shampoos still in there.

    The bed was super comfy and the staff member working on the bar was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to check in or even leave my bag until 4pm. I had to hang around at the station and outside the hotel (and it was warm) until someone unlocked the door at 4pm. Expensive for a single traveler for the standard of accommodation provided.

    I've done a full review on Tripadvisor, entitled "basic but quirky"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived an hour early and there was no one to let me in. I had tried to call the hotel the whole day to query an early arrival and the number given was constantly busy.

    The double room I stayed in was light, bright and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    9 am is too late to start serving breakfasts. red tap produced cold water ... blue tap produced hot water ... very confusing! No real beer in bar have to go onto street to access bedroom

    friendly and casual

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very old fashioned furniture your 80 year old granny would modernise no desk to use laptop or catch up on paper work

    Very good location to walk to nearby pubs restaurants and town centre onsite free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didnt like the fact the main door to the hotel section was left open, as single female in room by myself thought that was a lack of security, also had noisy guests around 11.30/midnight. Room was a bit grubby, could of done with a good polish and vacuum.

    received a warm welcome from the lady at reception, was given details on where to go for breakfast etc and what was available food wise in the close vicinity. my room was decent size with nice en-suite shower room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television had bad signal so only one or two channels available. Kettle not clean inside also had to be filled each time with cable attached as wad one unit. No hot water on first day but rectified when mentioned. Would have been nice to have had a shower on arrival.

    Nice big room which accomodated chais lounge and coffee table. Double aspect windows so lots of light x

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was a disgrace, the TV did n't work, the cups and saucers in the room were dirty, I had to clean them before I could use them. There was a chair in the room which was broken so no chance of sitting in front of a mirror to dry my hair ! There was no parking apart from on the street. The window in the room was broken and could n't be done up! Although breakfast was offered we declined as the place just looked so dirty. Will not be staying there again and although I complained they did n't try to sort it out. Very poor customer service !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    area is as rough as a robbers dog room tatty small and noisy no food on offer even at 7.30pm

    nothing at all don't be tempted by the reviews its a dump

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived for early check in as we had requested to find no-one there I had to call to get someone to let us in there weren't meals being served like the pics suggested we had a breakfast sandwich which we paid extra for but was quite greasy the toilet in our room wasn't working but when I told them it was foxed

    Bed was comfy and it had a nice bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is only from 9am so no chance of breakfast before we left; this wasn't clear on booking. The room decor was a little tired and would benefit from a bit of TLC. There were burn marks on the carpet from a dropped iron that had been covered by a random mat. The bed mattress felt exceptionally hard and I personally found it quite uncomfortable. The walls gave the impression of being paper thin as general noise from our room neighbours felt like they were in the room too! The room cleaning could be improved considerably; the carpet felt like it hadn't been hoovered in a while, and when you find a fluffy chip [yes a fish and chip shop chip!] under the edge of the bed, it pretty much confirms the fact! There were old cobwebs in the corners of the room and the bathroom mirror hadn't been cleaned either. Our overall impression was let down by the basic cleaning standards.

    Reception greeting was very pleasant. Double room was decent size. Usual facilities you would expect. Easy walk to Ipswich Regent Theatre. Price was reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bathroom could be updated, but it was clean and everything worked.

    The staff were friendly and allowed us to check in early. The breakfast was excellent. Our room had a balcony and the bed was comfy. The hotel is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't very pleasant. Parking the car wasn't easy - I couldn't get in to the car park and had to find an on-street spot. The hotel is in a part of Ipswich which isn't really very nice and there's not much to do in the evening.

    This was a pleasant enough place to stay for a night. My room was comfortable and the staff were quite nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited staff coverage. Very dirty, everything needs a proper repair. One night it was so noisy and not safe that we called to the manager twice and even after it were ready to call to the police. And in the morning the receptionist told us that no one was in the next-door room at night. !

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location wasn't what we expected. Room seemed nice until closer inspection. Had to ask for towels. Drawers were dirty inside. Bath wasn't clean. Long hair left in bath & plug hole. Long hair also found in kettle. Television only had one channel initially was given smaller alternative but picture just kept breaking up. On third day original tv brought back with new remote control & was good. Carpet not clean either. Lovely balcony, unfortunately no view & had cigarette ends all over.

    We had problems from the start. Although some were corrected at the time we pointed out problems, others took a little longer. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything .. this property was absolutely disgusting beyond belief . Not only did the room absolutely stink it was far from clean ..window did not open and a glove was placed over the the smoke alarm with a cigarette butt left on the side . Cobwebs everywhere . Dust on head boards . I was too scared to sleep that evening so stayed at a friends and collect belongings next morning . If I'd had of had enough time when arriving I would've asked for my money back and got another hotel . I've never ever in my life stayed somewhere so disgusting. Groups of men always stopping outside bedroom chatting in foreign very unsettling indeed . I will never recommend anyone stay here . I like to use local businesses instead of big company's but in future I will avoid this at any cost and book elsewhere ..

    Nothing ... will avoid in future

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is low, not good for tall people. Bar is a little pokey. Water in shower dribbles out, faster from the sink taps! Mould around the toilet flushing handle. No Wi-fi. No breakfast served Monday morning nor anyone to check me out so just posted keys through the pub letterbox.

    Polite and friendly staff on check-in and in the bar. Good sized room. Comfy and good sized bed. Decent breakfast for £5. 10 minute walk into town centre and Harbour. Decent value for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like staying in pubs that offer accommodation as you get the best of both worlds. But whilst the staff were friendly and welcoming, the pub bit was a bit run down

    Rooms clean and comfortable. Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a damp smell furniture tired and worn bedding had marks although clean Wi-Fi didn't work and TV kept losing signal no food available floor above very noisy when walked on but it is an old building

    Good size room seemed they may be in process of improvement staff very pleasant good location for centre good restaurant nearby

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel was very tidy and clean. Our room for the price was amazing wasn't expecting it. Very comfortable beds and the facilities within our room was lovely. Had a lovely time and will definitely be coming back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was comfortable but basic. First impression more for workmen. Bathroom cleanliness left something to be desired. We were not informed before we arrived that there was no breakfast served during the month of February because not busy enough.

    Staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the free WiFi was having a bad day and was unable to be used.

    Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly, and the room was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs were treacherous, without a handrail in places. I would have liked a desk or working surface

    Staff were friendly and there was handy parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi only workday in the bar and not in the rooms

    It was clean and had character. The staff and locals were very friendly and accommodating to a stranger.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised breakfast could have been available. Evening meal was a walk into town as I saw no one eating at the tables. The bar was also very quiet. light switches at bottom of stairs did not work.

    Room was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. It's a trickle from an electric heater. Decor in need of refreshing, having said that the hotel is undergoing part refurbishment. Very thin walls between rooms. Normal conversation was quite understandable from other rooms.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Nice comfy bed. Pleasant bar with friendly locals. Although currently dining, other than breakfast, is not available. In fact perfectly adequate pub grub is available in the bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: