Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Shoe Inn 4 stars

Salisbury Road, Plaitford, SO51 6EE, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Plaitford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Don’t expect much sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had read reviews about the noise of the road but thought it couldn’t be that bad and hoped that ear plugs would help. Sadly they didn’t. The problem was not so much the noise but the fact that trucks going past made the building vibrate. Think ‘movie about a struggling actor who can only afford an apartment by the train line and having to hold everything down as the train rattles past’! Incidentally the traffic never stopped throughout the whole night. Every 40 seconds or so. I got to sleep at 4am only because I was exhausted and slept for an hour and a half, and my husband managed 4 hours. I also ended up sleeping on the floor as the bed had one of those mould to your body mattresses and had no support. I always read bad reviews and think oh what a fussy person, it can’t have been that bad. It was!! Perhaps if you are given a room at the back of the pub you might fare better but several people were discussing the noise/vibrations at breakfast.

    The pub was easy to find. Parking no problem.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A cracking place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This B & B has the most comfortable bed ever, the room was large and clean, the breakfast amazing and cooked to order so piping hot. The location was excellent for Southampton Docks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed early because of bank holiday We booked a table for 6.45 went down at 6.25 as bar was busy we asked could a very surly member of staff could we sit in the restaurant as it was nearly empty, we did only to have the owner come over to tell us our table was booked for 6.45 and they would not take our order until then if the restaurant was busy I could understand. Then at 6.45 she came back over to tell us a customer had come in with severe allergies so they would be served first as their table was booked for 6.15 even though they were 25 mins late

    Rooms were clean Bed was comforyable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Adequate stop over for a few nights, within short travelling distances for places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to the busy road and traffic noise that could disturb light sleeping

    Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and tidy room. Well cooked tasty meals

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Right location to visit the area but wrong bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Dirty carpets, smelly hallways, needed re-decorating. Very run down.

    Very disappointed. Bedroom old fashioned and tiny. Noise from the road dreadful all night. Only good thing, the towels. Shower full of limescale, toilet rocked, bed creaked and uncomfortable. Owner very pleasant but overall the place needed a complete re-vamp. Other people had full cooked breakfast which looked ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Good spot if touring area/en-route to ferry/other place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Back King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Lovely room overlooking fields at rear. Huge comfy bed. Pleasant dining room, homemade food cooked to order. Staff, polite & helpful. Onsite carpark. Pretty rear garden, seating etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great old pub / inn with lovely staff that made our stay thouroughly enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very warm and welcoming staff. Helped out with directions and recommendations for local attractions. Nice and central to what we wanted to see and do on our mini break away. Breakfast chef made whatever we asked for :) Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Traditional friendly roadside inn, quality food and ales, ideally located for New Forest and beyond.
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would upgrade to a larger room next time, as the bedroom was a bit cramped for the pair of us and the dog.

    The food was delicious and locally sourced, the real ales were very well kept and the hosts were very welcoming to us and our dog.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Easy to find and no need to go out for your evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest problem was that it is on a main road and very noisy with trucks passing in the night. We were aware of this so wasn't a surprise, just something to bear in mind when booking. We were at the front, so it might be a little quieter at the back, but you will still be able to hear the traffic I think.

    The menu didn't have a large selection, but it was sufficient and the staff knew about the food on the menu. The food was freshly prepared and hot. The room wasn't large but sufficient for one nights stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The meal was fresh and hot, and breakfast was of an equal quality in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Room was bright and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is too close to the main road, which is very busy. It was a very warm weekend but there was a fan, unfortunately the electricity went out during the night and the fan did not work for most of it. We could not get the shower hot in the bathroom, it was luke warm.

    Room was bright and airy. We were unable to have the full menu on the weekend that we stayed as it was their annual beer festival, but the food we did have was very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Warm welcome, comfortable stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Back Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point, it would have been nice to take our dog out the the garden late at night/early in the morning to avoid the traffic on busy main road.

    Warm friendly welcome. Everything was explained well when we were shown up to the room which was appreciated since we arrived late in the evening very tired. Excellent breakfast. Surprisingly quiet given the location on the main road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    As my mother might say "interesting"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The busy road outside had traffic early in the morning. When leaving, the chap on reception seemed to be more interested in his computer than me.

    Lovely bedroom. Good food in the restaurant. The waitress in the evening was wonderful. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Bed was comfy, friendly welcome and nice sized clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiles on bathroom floor were loose, shower head had scale on it and could do with a new one fitted

    Bed was comfy, friendly welcome and nice sized clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value B&B above character pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's next to a busy road so there is traffic noise. However, this is stated in the room details so we knew in advance.

    Historic coach house which has been lovingly restored. Lovely owners who were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant served delicious fresh food and breakfast was one of the best we have had at a UK B&B.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Break away weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty appearance outside, inside bar and restaurant could do with an update, but realize this would be expensive, room was clean with good furniture.

    Room was small but clean bed comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Worth a visit, the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thicker/deeper pillows required the ones we had a bit thin for our liking and not enough to put us off returning!

    Exceptional customer care, nothing was a problem you mattered. Food was fresh, locally sourced, absolutely delicious highly recommend. Excellent breakfast. Good WiFi. Toiletries and tea coffee facilities very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Novelty and therefore cosy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise of the road, Could actually feel property 'shake' a little when HGV's went by! Nevertheless comfy one night stay .

    Novelty and therefore cosy room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Back Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some ceilings are quite low - this may be an issue for taller people (not so much for me...) The hotel is well located however it is on a busy main road - if lorries go past at speed you can tell from inside the hotel

    The bed was possibly the comfiest I’ve slept in for a long time. The room was a nice size and good value. Restaurant was good value for money and was lovely. Staff were warm and welcoming! Made us feel special! Very well located for activities. Would definitely come back to - thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    great place. great staff and food good value for money..highly recommending this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the noise from the road and the squeaky floorboards in the hall.

    the hospitality was amazing from Sarah.. and her lady barmaid made our night..so friendly..food was very good..eapecially the steak and ale pie dish.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long journey and late arrival there was no hot water for our showers although there was plenty in the morning.

    Comfy beds, room and bathroom very clean. Nicely cooked breakfast and plenty of cereal although there was no fruit offered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    The back room was a lot cooler and quieter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front room we originally stayed in was a little noisy as we like to sleep with windows open. Everybody is different my partner loves a firm bed I like a soft bed. The beds are quite firm.

    The back room was a lot cooler and quieter. The staff were fantastic... Even letting me take a sausage sandwich upstairs to my partner as he was hungover and didn't make breakfast. Breakfast itself was brilliant, toast, fry up and cereal, with juice and nice coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Shoe inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could do with a new mattress, room 3

    Everything. Small but perfectly formed. Lovely hosts, really welcoming. Great food. Rooms are lovely. A beautiful building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly adequate
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tight to move, very very warm and noisy from the busy road. A fan was provided without requesting it. Happily stay again.

    Perfectly adequate, matching our expectations and price paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Very convenient for the Festival I was attending, pleasant room, nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room overlooking the main road which is very noisy so was impossible to sleep with the window open.

    The food was excellent, both the evening meal I had plus the breakfast. The bed was comfy and there was ample toiletries in the bathroom. The owners were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    The food was absolutely outstanding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being right on the main road the traffic noise is always going to be a problem at night.

    The food was absolutely outstanding. Real ales good, and had been kept well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Freindly, Comfortable and Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Back Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shoe inn was exactly how i imagind it to be. Warm and freindly staff, the pub itself quirky and oldy worldy which i love. The room itself and the bed was extremely comfortable , very clean. Food was lovely and plenty of it. Location wise was ideal as i was visiting my daughter who works at the Livery stables just down the road so was within walking distance for her to come and join me for dinner. Overall very nice stay and would defintley come back .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact, tidy, cozy and comfortable rooms. Great food and nice atmosphere in the eating/drinking area. A great stay on the doorstep of the New Forest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for getting about all staff at the shoe inn very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise would be nice if the speed limit was reduce along parts of the road by the inn .

    The food was excellent and Andy and Sarah were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was on a main road, we were at the back so didn't have the worst of the impact when a large lorry went past. The bathroom could do with a refurb and the shower curtain needs replacing

    The staff were excellent and very helpful, the food delicious. They made us and our pooch very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in an historic pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old nature of the establishment. The staff were helpful and friendly and it ws obvious that they had gone to great lengths to make their guests stay pleasurable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect little stop off in our travels to Bournemouth, was a shame we only had one night booked! The room was lovely, bed was very comfortable and the food was very yummy - fantastic value for money, thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again. Over all lovely little inn. Food good staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As propety is on road if you have front bedroom there is some traffic noise if you have windows open. When not busy last orders were called at 22:00 so it's an early night.

    Lovely friendly pub. Staff very helpful, nothing to much trouble.food very good.parking not a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Large room, comfy bed, friendly staff, nice dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The busy road just beneath our bedroom window disrupted sleep with heavy lorries going past all night. Bathroom was a tad small and shower not hot. Disappointed with breakfast as 'fabulous breakfast' advertised; was basic cereals and cooked breakfast (although this was large and filling).

    Large room, comfy bed, friendly staff, nice dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Great place but road growth has spoilt it's location and peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On major main road.not their fault,time has changed it to a main route but the room we had overlooking the main road had constant traffic which kept us awake.heavy lorries shook the room.

    Back was quiet clean and quaint 110% for the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    good accommodation location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on a very busy road, but the traffic is moving quickly and is not too intrusive.

    Great old building with a ton of history. The hosts were wonderful and very welcoming. Breakfast provided was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, lovely location, good food, can’t fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly creaky so was woken up but it is what you would expect for an old character building like this

    Lovely place, lovely location, good food, can’t fault it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place very nice people who look after you above expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed personal choice don’t like beds that the base sticks out around mattress Inevitably of catching your leg when needing bathroom.

    We had to leave before breakfast as we had to be somewhere at 7.15 Pity as evening meal was very good. Lovely place rooms comfortable and nice outlook Would go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Clean but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noisy! There is a Road right outside and cars and trucks were going by all night - impossible to get any sleep even with the window closed. Shame as it’s such a nice part of the country.

    Nice people and good breakfast. Comfy bed and clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Old world charm, but on the doorstep of the busy city of Southampton.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy main road when I arrived, but calmed down and was quiet by the time I ate around 8pm.

    Old world charm and character, with very helpful staff and atmosphere. Food would embarrass a top restaurant, but was reasonably priced and very generous portions. Rooms are quirky and smaller than usual, but that is the nature of an old building with low beams etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Quirky inn, bit noisy, good food and great staff.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn is close to a very busy road and so the rooms at the front are noisy into the evening and early in the morning. There is a barrier at the front door to stop you going too close to the road. I obviously didn’t research the hotel very well before booking though as this was mentioned in other reviews that I have seen since returning home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and offered to help with luggage etc. The rooms at the front of the building are accessed by a steep staircase and the ceiling slopes in the hallway to the rooms, but it is an old inn so a bit quirky.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely place spoiled by a noisy road.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite having double glazing the noise from the very busy road was unbearable. If we could have left in the wee small hours for the three hour drive home we would have done so, Our room was at the front and the noise through the closed windows was relentless. If you live in a city or near a major road this may not be an issue for you.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food in the bar was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff were welcoming and helpful, lovely meal in the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suggestions for improvements.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful, lovely meal in the evening and good breakfast, room comfortable, we were not troubled by the traffic outside (although it was a weekend, so might be noisier in on a week day.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic food at reasonable prices.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to busy road,but can't be helped.

    Fantastic food at reasonable prices. Fab service. Very pet friendly.Had own entrance/exit which was ideal for the dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    a satisfying stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the low stairway leading to my bedroom was sometimes difficult as I am over 6 feet tall.

    evening meal was excellent. breakfast was hot and tasty and the poached eggs were terrific.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room and very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of the hotel but being right on a main road took away from the relaxing atmosphere.

    Quaint room with a really nice bed, and the pub and dining area were really nice, with really good food on offer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money short stop location. Suited my needs for a flying visit.
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a tad firm i.e. solid

    Freshly prepared cooked English Breakfast set me up for a tough day. Best sausage I've had in a while. Service excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    An excellent overnight stop for us.
    • Group
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing s room with my sister who snores louder than the traffic outside!!!!!

    Convenience to the location and reason for our visit. Easy to get to. Provided reasonably priced accommodation and food; both of which were excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was of a very busy main road and it was extremely noisy.

    The room was excellent though a little small with very creaky floorboards but then it is an old property. The staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful. The food was lovely, well cooked and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Get a room at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom at the front of the pub are very close to the road , road noise was a big problem had to use ear plugs. When we stayed before we had a room at the rear were noise was not a problem.

    Good breakfast and evening meal, good choice of beers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Ideal New Forest location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to do with the establishment itself but the A36 is a very busy road although ideal for visiting Salisbury, Southampton and beyond. We have no complaints about the Shoe Inn itself just the road it's on.

    The Shoe Inn is perfectly located for the New Forest; just a short drive to the central locations for long (or short) walks and sightseeing. Located half way between Salisbury and Southampton if the weather is poor, Salisbury is particularly quaint and worth a visit. Our hosts, Sarah and Andy, were very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast each morning was very good and the two evenings we used the restaurant the food was perfect. Reasonably priced ales was a bonus compared with pubs further into the forest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    The landlords were friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side is the fact you are on a very busy main road.

    The landlords were friendly and attentive. There was a great range of drinks, the food is delicious and the pub it’s self is spacious, traditional and cosy as there is an open fire.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed, clean room, welcoming and accommodating staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is on a busy road which may bother some guests, we didn’t mind too much and had seen notes on the description and in other reviews so were prepared for this

    Comfy bed, clean room, welcoming and accommodating staff and lovely food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Food, great cosy atmosphere..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a bit noisy if you are at the front, facing the road due to Traffic.

    My husband and i stayed for one night at end of January. Good old fashioned inn run by Sarah and Andy, low ceilings and real log fire. Food was amazing...all fresh and cooked on the day by Andy. We had lunch there and were thinking of having dinner elsewhere but we changed our minds and were extremely glad we did. Dinner was again amazing, good portions and great value for money. Even the breakfast was good. Good Luck and thank you Sarah and Andy, we hope to return in better weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room, exactly what I was was hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, exactly what I was was hoping for. Just a comfy room in a cosy inn The excellent food in the restaurant downstairs was just a huge bonus, an unpretentious menu executed perfectly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    We were pleased with out choice and hope to visit again one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, cant really say... we knew when we booked that the Shoe Inn was undergoing some renovations, and that e.g. breakfast would not be available. So no problems with that.

    Very comfy and quiet. Although very close to a busy road our room overlooked a field and we had no noise issues. The menu items of chicken pie and fish and chips were very well presented, with a chef's skill and attention to detail. And we enjoyed the South African wine on the menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, clean and extremely comfortable with excellent food. Highly recommended.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a lovely place - our third stay. Sarah and Andy make you feel very welcome and an added bonus is that Andy is a very accomplished chef. Our room was lovely, everything you need and very clean. Really comfy king size bed and tastefully decorated. The room was on the front of the building which is on the busy main road but this wasn't a problem for us at all. We had a meal in the pub in the evening and it was excellent. Would highly recommend The Shoe Inn, it really is a lovely place to stay and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    The noise coming from the road is too much too disturbing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the road is too much too disturbing during the night. Since the room didn't hav a eventilation system in place, you have to choose between lack of fresh air vs noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great pub stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff. Small double but perfectly furnished. very comfortable bed and big, fluffy towels. More than we expected from a pub stay. Food was great. Imaginative, plenty and reasonably priced. Looking forward to staying again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall nice hotel for the cost but be aware of the limitations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect to shiver in a restaurant or to be told that the huge cappuccino machine isn't turned on for breakfast. When they say that the room is small - it is SMALL. It is right on a main road so lorries will be going past your window if you are on the front of the hotel as many rooms are.

    Interesting old property in a very attractive area. Convenient for visiting either Winchester or Salisbury or the New Forest area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    FAIRLY PLEASANT BUT THE ATTITUDE RUINED IT FOR MY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of managaress. We asked if we could have toast and coffee a little later after the 8-9 breakfast hour and we were denied. Just some toast and coffee !!! Plus the attitude was VERY rude .

    Cleanliness. Cosy pub. Close to New Forest. Nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Small but comfortable room, with a nice shower and free wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website should read, '' Bedrooms on the front of the property suffer from excessive road noise at all times''. I had to wear earplugs to sleep, good job I had some with me!

    Small but comfortable room, with a nice shower and free wifi. An excellent freshly cooked breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Not a very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed was at the front and it was extremely noise, we spend the night awake. Not good !!the traffic including lorries was constant trough the night.

    The bed and the food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was as described or better. The front entrance is literally right on the busy street but pedestrian lights assist when crossing the road and a barrier ensures you cannot step into the traffic.

    Hosts were extremely courteous and frequently asked if there was anything else that could be done to make our stay more pleasurable. This 1490 Coaching Inn is now in the capable hands of a young couple who are eager to please and make physical improvements to the Hotel. Very clean and comfortable with a generously prepared breakfast. We would have been happy to stay on and happily recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several small problems in the room; toilet door handle, bedside table drawer came apart but when mentioned for attention Sarah was very happy to get the information and arrange to be fixed. TV was difficult to see from all areas of the room, but I couldn't see any where else it could safely be installed.

    Sarah and Andy were very friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant were extremely nice, comfortable and welcoming. There was a log fire and easy chairs in the bar area. The food was very hot, delicious and different from the usual "get this everywhere" menu. The road is noisy and big lorries make the pub shake but this is obvious from the location. It didn't stop us sleeping. Sarah and Andy are doing a phenomenal job in turning this charming Inn around. They still have some way to go but are determined to make a success of it. We wish them all good luck with the continued progress they have to do in January, and we'd be very happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant would stay there again with no problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners have only been in there 11 months and are still doing up the public areas so still work in progress but very clean

    Room was nice and clean with a on suite, the bar was nice with a open fire, restaurant was very clean and the food was plated up as if you were in a top London restaurant , and to cap it all breakfast was just the same. Would definitely stay there again excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing break with plenty of places to visit nearby,Really Enjoyed stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives at all. Room, Breakfast, Staff, could not of been better. Would certainly come again & reccomend to friends & family. Although located on a very busy road did not bother us at all.

    although a small room didnt feel small, as good use of space.comfortable bed.warm & cosy r.oom. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Breakfast -good having the choice of items wanted.Couldnt fault anything .Great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Another great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Comfortable, relaxed and friendly. We stayed here before and it was perfect choice to go back to. Great food for dinner and a good breakfast. Location deal; you are in the New Forest in no time at all for lovely walks. We will be back again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, friendly owners, close to New Forest for trekking.
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not been told that the dining room would be open an hour later on Saturday and Sunday mornings and found ourselves locked out! Since the parking lot is across the street and the front door is only three feet from the street, safety is a concern, especially with children or the elderly.

    The breakfast was delicious and at the time we wanted We had access to the outside to our vehicles even if we were locked out of the main floor/bar. We enjoyed having the owner visit with us personally.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Great value , with a good cooked breakfast and a handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise at times was a bit too much, but having said that it's location was roadside.

    Cooked breakfast was hot as it was cooked fresh, Bedroom was comfortable and plenty of hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely friendly and a great place to stay if you are passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask the transport department of the government to move the road 30 yards to the left.

    Main road being so close and busy. Can't fault the hotel though. Such a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite thin and I could hear the other guests snoring.

    The staff were lovely. As I was travelling alone they made me feel safe. The room was clean and warm. The shower powerful with hot water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Really friendly staff good value fir money and the food is to due for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Front King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the front of the pub we were warned that it was a busy road. My husband took ear plugs but it was fine.

    We had evening meal and breakfast. Four of us said it was the best pub meal we had for years. Brilliant work Andy and good priced menu. Beautifully presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    We want to stay here again!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On a busy main road, so rooms at the back are best. We weren´t troubled by the traffic there.

    Friendly and helpful hosts. Lovely cooked breakfasts for hungry travellers. Delicious, well- prepared dinners, no problems catering for our vegan daughter. Great value for money. Added bonus staying at a lovely old country inn with a well-stocked bar, right on the borders of the most beautiful part of the New Forest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent stop off b&b close to the new forest, if down this way again, we'll be back, cheers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the proximity to the main road, only a small path next to the main entrance and our room faced the busy road

    Staff friendly and welcoming, room clean/tidy, restaurant food excellent as was breakfast full english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    The Restaurants was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Front Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurants was superb. Didn’t need to go out and find anywhere else. 5⭐️ Rating from us. The menu so diverse, breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and plenty of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: