Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sibson Inn Hotel 4 stars

A1 Great North Road, Water Newton, PE8 6ND, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Water Newton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room chilly, duvet kept slipping off bed during the night. Used cups in bedroom not replaced with clean ones. Food very average - eg. scrambled eggs for breakfast inedible, toast thin and cold (obviously not cooked to order)

    Ambiance satisfactory, staff cheerful and helpful, location for visiting the area good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to A1 but didn't cause problem.

    Room was light, very clean. very nice en-suite. Set in a nice courtyard and the staff very welcoming. Excellent Full English breakfast. Very close to showground which was the main purpose of visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room no 3 had a smelly carpet & it was very dirty between secondary double glazing & outside window with lots of dead flies.

    First room we were given was smelly, dirty & shower very noisy. We were moved into bridal suite!! Much better room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and bathrooms tiny and being right by the side of the a1 traffic noise

    As the twin we booked wasn't available they gave us 2 doubles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because an older property, room smallish. However well maintained buildings and grounds, well appointed very functional but small bedroom/en suite. Nevertheless less good value package.

    Great setting and ambience, easy to find, relaxed feel, lots of discreet parking, self sufficient stay with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and in house restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was plenty of parking space available, which was one of my reasons for booking, since I was traveling with a trailer. The staff was SUPER friendly, my travel plans had to be changed last minute due to unforseen circumstances and they were very helpful and understanding. Our rooms were very quiet and clean. We had our dogs with us, we didn't get charged extra for them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A1 is right by hotel. Bedroom was by door to hotel so annoying chat outside the room and security light going on and off.

    Excellent service, friendly staff, very convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great personality running the bar - couldn't do enough to help and make sure all was well. Called us en- route to check arrival time to ensure we didn't miss out on restaurant service. Food was excellent also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely building - lots of character and history. Wonderful staff - very welcoming. Great food in the evening. In the morning, the breakfast was cooked to order and was fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos of the rooms in this hotel are very misleading - I had a Tiny box room despite request a large room on the booking. Also had a 15 minute wait at reception before anyone appeared. Not the most welcoming!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we did not arrive until just after 21:00 hrs, we were sad that the place was closed and we were unable to get a drink from the bar. They had left us a note though with good instructions so that we could access our room and had left heating on so we did feel welcome.

    We liked the spacious courtyard room with its own front door which they gave us to help with the dogs. Lovely breakfast with good coffee. Very comfortable soft bed. Lovely calm friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the yard could be nice but the outgoing air from the kitchen is strong and unappetizing.

    nice and clean and surprisingly quiet despite the Inn is close to the A1. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and helpful They made us feel very welcome The food was very good. We are a group of friends and I booked 4 rooms all lovely. The beds were very comfy and had really nice bedlinen. We all enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen closes as 8.30pm

    Very flexible with breakfast timing and in the evening, although the kitchen had officially closed, they rustled us up something.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable The food was pre made and heated up the chef came out to see if we were ok and looked as if shed been wearing the same grubby clothes for a week and stank of smoke

    convenience on the A1

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the bar and everything was closed up by 2120 on Saturday evening. No advance notice of this was given. The small size of the breakfasts.

    A lot of history here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access back onto the A1 as there is no slip road. Really had to think carefully about exiting. Check in and out, buzzer appears not to work, but could easily be fixed. Access from the south side of the A1, crossing a busy carriage way one needs to proceed with caution.

    Near location to Stamford. Friendly staff, both bar man and chef. Good off road parking. Excellent hot water. Flexible rate for breakfast depending on the wide variety of choices. Quiet location, surprised as it is adjacent to the A1. A welcoming feeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well situated for travel on the AI. Lovely clean room with extremely comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff. Restarant and food both excellent. Have stayed a number or times before, the quality all round is always of a very high standard. Offers a 'dogs go free' policy, wish more accommodation would provide this and only charge if there is a need to deep clean the room afterwards, as dog owners seem to be penalised for the bad few.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit dated, service lacking a bit but ok for the price.

    Good location on the A1 , friendly staff , chicken and bacon salad was great, cooked breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything

    The breakfast was freshly cooked. Too many hotels, by necessity have buffets. It was served quickly and the staff were excepyionally friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking signs possibly needs to be a bit clearer - especially as you come straight off the A1 to the hotel and it was dark by that time - we parked in the courtyard not realizing. A staff member came out to explain where car park was - which was behind and had ample room for cars.

    The accommodation was perfectly suitable for a overnight stay. The room was outside in the courtyard and had some nice period features. We found the extra pillows and towels in the cupboard, after a search. Good tray of refreshments including water and biscuits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing... access to hotel from a very fast road, not enough notice/signage /lighting ( especially at night ) to say you are coming up to hotel to give time to safely turn, in which case you then have a long detour to get back to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would of liked two rashers of bacon for breakfast but I didn't ask....I'm sure the friendly staff would have obliged if I had.

    Beautiful food.....best evening meal I have had in a long time. Lovely cosy inn. Liked the games / book cupboard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cheaper breakfast, £9 rather expensive if you only want Cereal/toast. Evening menu was limited. my room could do with a freshen up. Bottom sheet on the double bed did not fit [wrong size]. Location is a bit remote if you wanted to eat/drink elsewhere you would require a taxi.

    Parking was ample, good Wi-Fi, bathroom ok god shower plenty of hot water, double bed comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic noise from the A1 is quite loud and difficult to sleep through. Staff seemed like they wished we weren't there.

    Our room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. We wouldnt book here again though as we have stayed in some fantastic places for similar room rates if not less.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little run down (however the shower power was amazing!) And the rooms could've done with a little TLC, but I wouldn't let that put you off, I would definitely stay there again, should I need to!

    Saturday 19th August 2017 - The young lady on reception/waitressing/the bar was amazing, she was extremely helpful & polite & even went out of her way to tell myself & my friend how well behaved our boys were. The young lady doing the same on Sunday morning was equally lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The staff were friendly and helpful, despite me wanting to leave at 6am. The meals and accommodation were good value for money and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kettle in the room was dirty and I had to clean it myself before I could use it. The food was not fresh and tasted like it had just been reheated in a microwave and even the pudding tasted stale. The room particularly the bathroom needed modernising and was not very clean. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real ale at the bar. Road noise is a big problem.

    Breakfast was great, best scrambled eggs for a long time. Rooms clean and huge. Evening meal was great. Noise from A1, not so good even though at rear of building the road noise made sleep difficult. If hotels say they have real ales in the bar then it's a given they MUST have REAL ALES. I choose hotels because they do. Sibson LIED.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in room old and not to inviting.A big stain on carpet in room 7.In some rooms can hear traffic noise from great North road

    Friendly helpful staff.room comfortable good food .Nice to sit in the bar area and have afternoon tea overlooking the garden.Big garden area with tables

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs/corridors to bedrooms very dusty and badly in need of decoration. The stairs were very steep and difficult for me as I am disabled. I had tried to call the hotel before I booked but the phone was never answered. Normally I would ask about stairs etc before I book. Only there for one night so I managed/put up with it.

    Comfortable bed, all the important things were clean. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really can't think of anything.

    Good food, pleasant service and an extremely convenient location. Unbelievably quiet considering the property is literally yards from the A1.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar open later perhaps. Nice simple menu and cooked well but price of food was quite expensive for basic pub food.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Brett. It's a very picturesque hotel, like something you would see in the Cotswolds but right on a major road. Gorgeous scenery and so nice to have an independent hotel. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cleaned in the morning but the bed was left unmade and the waste bin in the room was not emptied. There was NO hot water the first morning (about 11am), therefore I couldn't have a shower! That night I told them this and they said they would turn on the immersion heater for three hours. The next morning, NO hot water again. When I reported this at checkout it was suggested that I should have let them know that I wanted hot water!!!!! I explained that I understood the expense of keeping on the hot water all day in a small business, but that is not the customer's problem, and a business has a duty to find a solution. I offered a solution: Print a laminated notice for each room saying DEAR GUEST IF YOU REQUIRE HOT WATER TO BE AVAILABLE AFTER 10am, PLEASE ADVISE RECEPTION THE NIGHT BEFORE. THANKING YOU. The duty manager assured me the owner will fix the problem - Let's see.

    Very clean. Staff friendly. Ample free parking. Nice bar and dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was a quiet night unsure if staff were about at 10pm as I initially could not get in room tried ringing but could not get through however figured out key, not sure what I would of done otherwise

    Fab hotel a real old fashioned hotel. You would believe it would be really noisy as it is just off the A1 however bedrooms really quiet and you did not hear the traffic. lovely comfy bed and breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise seems to echo around the courtyard of the hotel - not the best for a light sleeper!

    Very comfortable and much more character than run of the mill hotel chains

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Every aspect of the hotel was excellent. Location directly off the A1. Rooms lovely in every way. Staff friendly and approachable. First class accommodation and great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of a decent clean and the decor is tired and showing it age. Especially in the bathroom. Internet did not work in the room and was patchy in other areas.

    Close location to Airfield

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decaf teabags in room Receptionist on arrival not overly welcoming Access only achieved from the north of the A1 Breakfast expensive- especially when thought this was included within price of room as stated on web site.

    Had a bath Bed comfy and bedroom clean Tea facilities with biscuits

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress in room 6 needs replacing. Rises to a hill in the middle and rock solid and the sides dipped so much without any support felt like we were being tipped out of the bed.

    The hotel staff were polite friendly and welcoming. Rooms were very nice to stay in. Hotel food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that there is anything they can do about it but you can only approach from the northern carriageway of the A1. And there is some traffic noise.

    Great stop over on the A1. Really friendly and helpful staff. Ample parking. Great space to exercise dog and very dog friendly. Character rooms on the ground floor. Flexible dining arrangements - bar or restaurant options - good range of menu choices and standard of food. even saw chef picking fresh herbs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right on the A1 - easy to find but it would be very noisy in the garden or with windows open

    A problem with the plumbing in our room was solved immediately by moving us to a different (and better) room. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not taken to room which was across the courtyard. Main light switch didn't work (we arrived at night) and had to fumble around to find the incidental lighting. TV didn't work (but I'm sure help would have been given if we had asked). Bathroom cold and basin decidedly manky. Breakfast nice enough but felt it wasn't particularly value for money (paid for separately) Not exactly an unfriendly checkout but lacked warmth and interest.

    Beautiful building. Very comfortable and cozy bar. Very quiet (especially as directly on A1)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel and very friendly, helpful staff. The room was great and food was wonderful. Our stay was just too short. Will hopefully visit again. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi kept going on and off, takes a long time to get hot water in the room, only enough milk for two cups of tea despite multiple tea and coffee sachets, only one water and hot chocolate per two people, awkward location on duel carriageway means you have to go five miles out of your way to get to the hotel from the other carriageway.

    Nicely located between Stamford and Peterborough, very good steak in the restaurant, comfy bed, nice room in general

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel that is well placed for Peterborough and the A1. Despite being adjacent to a very busy road, the room I was in (facing it) was very quiet and the was very little road noise at all. Good food here and a bed I didn't want to get out of.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (and I didn't complain at the time) had a particularly noisy radiator when the heating was on.

    Good staff, nice meals, and good overall price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was practically perfect for our needs. Some directions to get back to the A1 South (as it is on the Northbound side) would have been helpful

    Character rooms on the ground floor give the place a Coaching Inn feel. Staff friendly and helpful even though we arrived late. Plenty of outside areas to walk the dog

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent from the quality of staff service to room facilities. Especially excellent is the fact that we did not have to pay a supplement for our dog.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed we had was obviously well worn and I didn't have a very comfortable nights sleep. The noise from the pipe work in the bathroom didn't help, nor the music from the party or the outside traffic.

    The restaurant and food was excellent, there was a Christmas party on so had to wait a little time for our food but the staff were very apologetic about it and to be honest for us it really wasn't an issue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit 'tight' but an old building which has been modernised is never perfect. However, this is a small issued and more than made up for by the food.

    Dinner in the evening and breakfast the following morning were excellent, served by very friendly staff. Whoever is in the kitchen certainly knows their job! Surprisingly quiet considering its location beside a main road.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full English breakfast was not up to the standard (and hashbrown was missing). There was no wifi available throughout my stay. When I reported this to the reception, they said they can't help it . In fact the was no wifi in any the rooms. To make things worse, mobile reception was very weak (O2 network) in that area, that I couldn't use internet data on the phone!!. Receptioninst advised me to stick around the the reception and use the wifi which was only available around her desk!!

    The location on A1 is really great. Very clean room and comfy bed. It's a barn converted hotel- has all its charecter. Full English breakfast was not up to the standard (and hashbrown was missing)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor directions regarding where to turn off the main road in order to reach the hotel safely

    it was comfortable, clean, the staff were friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get my wifi to work but as we had a busy weekend I didn't go and ask about it.

    We were a large family group taking up several rooms all of which were very prettily and comfortably furnished a larger than usual with views over the fields. The staff were very friendly and accommodating with none of the corporate sort of attitude and atmosphere we are used to in 'chain' hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not really what I was expecting for the price we paid. The room we stayed in could have done with a proper make over - the bed was bumpy and really small, with a makeshift four poster arrangement that had water staining at the top. The bathroom smelt musty and could have done with a more thorough clean. Despite the fact that we stayed as a couple, we were only given one hot chocolate and one bottle of water, which was not replaced after we drank it on the first night. The other thing was the restrictive hours for the restaurant and checking out - there is only an hour window for breakfast and it stops at 9:30 -even on a Sunday! Check out was always 10:30 which is too early on the weekend in my books. I was disappointed as I thought I had booked more of a luxury stay. The dinner on the first night was okay but you have to order food by half eight (bit early!) and it was overpriced too....

    The breakfast was good although they could have been slightly more generous with the bacon eggs and toast. The building is beautiful but the interior needs doing up...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have correct room ready and changed when we complained. Breakfast was a disappointment - very dry very crumbly scambled eggs with my smoked salmon. Condition of room needs updating

    Good evening meal in the pub premises.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a bit "dated", but they are comfortable and very clean.

    Both Breakfast and evening meals were really top drawer and the staff are really freindly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, and given the age and historic nature of the building it was characterful. Probably the reception, bar and restaurant would benefit from an upgrade in the future.

    Good location. Comfortable bed. Small but quiet room with reasonably good facilities. Food very good. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening staff very welcoming, morning staff - to the point ! Comfortable yes clean albeit a mouldy shower. Fitness suite = basic but also broken !! - needs a little TLC - not sure you get much for the price ??

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, not quite as relaxed..

    What I needed in terms of provision. Comfy, homely, relaxed.. Evening meal fine. Chips nice. Newspapers available, and a lamp on the table to read them by

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great. Checking in was easy as was checking out. The restaurant was good and the bar was welcoming. We were a little concerned about the proximity of the A1 but once inside you couldn't hear it at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet roll holder position made use of the WC uncomfortable, chipped cup in bedroom, bedroom was not serviced for our second nights stay, wine ordered with bar meal did not arrive when requested. Menu somewhat limited.

    The food was well-cooked, bed was comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked reasonably well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited choice of juice at breakfast- only orange juice and no fruit. Cooked breakfast was good though and extra toast was offered..

    Excellent evening meal in very pleasant surroundings at very reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows - but they are always a problem for me! These were a little lumpy unfortunately. Getting into the hotel from the A1 if you are travelling North to South.

    The hotel was very pleasing to look at with pleasant grounds for walking our dogs. Lovely courtyard with tables to sit outside your room. Nice clean bathroom, plenty of soft white towels. Beds very comfortable, cotton sheets were so silky. Staff were helpful and friendly. Nice English breakfast in a lovely cosy room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being allocated a family room (N0 10). We are both in our 70's and found it difficult to climb into the bath to use the shower. Also had trouble regulating the shower water temperature. The hot water temperature to the sink was too low.

    The beds were very comfortable. Both breakfasts and evening meals were excellent, well worth the stay alone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of noise from the main road but this is unavoidable as when the hotel was built the main road was probably a cart track!

    Rooms clean & comfortable and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was excellent, one of the best of our holiday and this was at the start. Perfect place to stay overnight breaking our journey on the A1 from Sussex to Northumberland.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel is located right next to the A1 you don't hear a thing when you are in your room. This might depend on the location of your room since our room was at the backside of the main building. Staff was friendly and the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have had a choice of lager rather than the very bland one brand available but that is my personal preference. There was quite a bit of road noise but the buildings would have been there long before the road was!

    Lovely old buildings which were symapthetically maintained, great garden and good sized car park. Good food and a very nice bar area but very limited choice of draught lagers, Staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice sized room with comfortable beds as well as the usual facilities, great cookies!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was closed when we arrived about ten thirty. Dangerous place to get in and out from the A1

    Location was Ideal for Sibson Airfield. Staff helpful. Food was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the overall level of cleanliness is good, we saw stains on the carpets, some fittings in the bathroom were in need of repair, and you need to close the windows to sleep (or to bring ear plugs) as the hotel is basically a few metres off the busy A1, which means heavy traffic day and night.

    The hotel is situated in a historical building with lots of character. The food is very good and staff is helpful. Dogs can stay free of charge and there is plenty of exercise space outside (not enclosed). Convenient location for a stopover towards the North or South of England.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky and friendly, lovely comfy bed, welcoming team, cosy and classic. Makes a great change from all those template towers that so many people seem to like.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hottest day of the year no fans available . Didn't get an invoice on the day and even though requested for expenses still awaiting .

    Lovely welcome and food awesome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The service in the restaurant was poor and one member of the staff was not as good as it could have been. The meal was good when we received it

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about the hotel could be improved but, unfortunately, the location close to the very busy A1 kept us awake, as we are used to a quiet village with no night traffic

    Lovely old buildings, well converted to a hotel with rooms in converted old stone farm buildings/stables surrounding a yard.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Sibson Inn Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: