Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silver Jubilee Guest House 3 stars

13 Berry Road, Newquay, TR7 1AU, United Kingdom

#47 of 52 B&Bs and Inns in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hot in rooms but provided us with two fans

    When we arrived they upgraded us for the bigger room because it was available with no extra cost. They also let us leave our car there for the day after checking out at 10am due to us leaving later that day :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff intolerance of children Very dated decor Lounge not usable for guests Parking too tight

    Breakfast included Information about the local area provided USe of other people's left over sea side toys

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial welcome to the property was ok by Judith (owner). However quite stern, but fairly informative. Myself and my friend took our 2 sons for a weekend treat and I really wished we hadnt stayed here!!! Our children were shouted at or spoken to abruptly more than once for no necessary reason, they were not unruly and were not causing other guests offence and were not loud! Even other guests were shocked at Judith's shortness with our children in the breakfast room! I would not take children here again, i wouldn't go here again at all!! The rooms were outdated. Cleanliness was an serious issue for me!!! with mould around the sink and shower, dust, bathroom smelled for urine on arrival!! Shower had filthy streaks all around shower tray and other peoples hair in the bottom!!!! Basic cleaning!!!! The fridge had a loud buzzing noise most of the night each night keeping me awake! The breakfast wasnt a "full english" as stated! It was a strange choice of one or the other. Eg: sunday was Hash Brown and Black pudding day!! The only thing that was "OK" about this place was the bed was fairly comfortable. Never again would i return here and no way would i ever take a child here again!!! I had already paid cash on arrival, otherwise i wouldn't have paid and i would have left and booked in elsewhere!! On checkout, we left just before 10am, left the keys on the side in reception and didn't say goodbye because the less a saw of, or spoke to that vile woman the better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Look, its 80 quid a night, excellent value. By not paying double that at a lot of hotels, we used the saved cash for more important things like food and drink.

    A traditional Guest House, yes, slightly tired but great location, parking round the back, very good breakfast, bedroom was fine. The lounge looking on to the road needs tidying up but other yhan that, very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say Perhaps a bigger kettle would have been nice in place of the travel size one we had but that was no problem The room was very warm but a fan was provided and we kept the windows open to let a bit of air in

    Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Excellent breakfast Location good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the breakfast ordering system, the low value of money, the old furniture in the property, the smell of the whole property. It felt too much like we were staying at someone's house for free, as there were so much unnecessary small rules that made guests (not just us) uncomfortable during breakfast time and when we bumped into staff. Would not pay £120 per night to feel inadequately comfortable. Considering we were not fussy guests at all.

    The ample storage of the family room. Our young son loved the bunk bed. The room was clean. The cutleries in room was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Judith and Andrew couldn't do enough to make the stay a pleasurable one, the room was surprisingly spacious, clean. Lovely friendly greeting upon arrival, breakfast was perfect, if there was anything not to our liking Judith offered us an alternative that wasn't on the menu. Great location for the whole of Newquay. If we visit again in the future we will be sure to stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good but very hot luckily they had a fan though also we had to ask for our towels to be changed which was a little embarrassing also they didn't change the bath Matt at all and after a couple of days it started to smell

    The hotel and its owners were lovely central for all Newquay has to offer everything was easy and they really made us feel welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above!

    Car parking at the back for 3 cars which they charged, £3.50 per day. However, we discovered it was a good price as most of the streets in Newquay were doubled yellow lines or the main car parked charged £10 for 24 hours. Cooked breakfast was good, not keen on the coffee as I drink it black and unsweetened, it didn't appeal to me but was wet and hot. Plenty of toast available. People couldn't sit where they wanted, tables were allocated to us and at one point, we were told someone would be sharing our table which we didn't mind at all. Bed was comfy but as it was on the front and overlooked the main road, at night, the noise from people passing after midnight was extremely noisy. The window could do with some extra insulation to reduce the noise volume OR a thicker curtain. The owners did find out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and slipped a card into our room which we appreciated and thanked them for. They also found some night clothes we had left behind and contacted us to send them back but we replied to send them to charity which they said they would do so after washing them!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was OK but system complicated with different items on each day. Would have liked a choice of fruit juice and some yoghurt

    There was a fridge in the room and plate and cutlery for take away if wanted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners, Judith & Andrew was very friendly and helpul - nothing was too much effort or trouble! We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary whilst there and we received a lovely handmade card! Will stay there again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small print: It is nothing to do with the accommodation - but as the location is close to the centre - we had some noisy nights and dramas under our windows on two nights - so be prepared. Other than that the place is highly recommended.

    Very close to the centre of town, and the sea - excellent location to shops, restaurants. Judy and Andrew were very welcoming and helpful. The bonus was for my 7 years old boy that we could borrow a body board and some crabbing kit. We were very lucky with the weather and could use them! Thank you also for our little packed breakfast kit when we said we want to leave early before breakfast on our last day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    can't complain about anything really

    me and my wife stopped here for a week and we had a lovely stay. location is great , train station only a few minutes walk. Andrew and Judith the host were very nice and will tell you all you need to know if you have never been to newquay before, cooked breakfast was also very good. we will be staying here again i hope in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing bad I could say about this hotel.

    We were made to feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. My partners birthday was during our stay and he arrived to breakfast to a little present, an extra large breakfast and to the owners singing happy birthday with cake and candles...also helped us do d some hidden gems that we would not have found without their help

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andrew and Judith were absolutely lovely. The made a delicious breakfast, we could choose. From soymilk to grilled tomatoes. The rooms were super clean and had a fridge, water heater, plates...the guest house is located perfectly to all the beaches, the city and supermarkets. We will come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything, we got value for our money.

    Our hosts Judith and Andrew were friendly and accommodating. Location central to Newquay and all facilities. Would recommend this b&b to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is very tight especially if you have a large car & there is no other parking available nearby that we could see.

    We were very warmly greeted by Andrew & shown our room. The rooms are compact but have everything you need. Did like the fact there was a small fridge in the room & they even provided plates, cutlery & wine glasses for our use. Breakfast was very good & you were always offered more if you wanted or they would include other items you requested even if not on that days choice. They have a fruit basket by the entrance door so not only could you have fruit at breakfast time you could help yourself at any time of the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel having building work done because of the celing collapsing. would of liked to be informed before arrival about it being unsafe to offer breakfast and having to eat at another restaurant. Parking was far too tight and not suitable for family size cars.

    Central location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facilities but that was with most b&b in the areaec

    The location an nothing was to much trouble if you needed anything an very welcoming

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roof of dining room fell in day before we arrived tragic for the owners of course.. But they could have had the courtesy and manners to contact us to have the option of cancelling our booking. Décor very tacky and dated. Grey flanalete sheets on the bed a big no no in my opinion. Horrible grey and green towels which they did not bother to refresh for the 3 days we were there. Tiny bathroom. The whole place was untidy ,full of silly knitted toys, pointless postcards on the walls. We had vouchers to go to the nearby witherspoons for breakfast. Basic b/f plus endless coffee and that's all. We faced a derelict decrepid building from our window. A generator that went on or ages, a toilet cistern that took ages to fill. Worst place we have ever stayed in. We would recommend the Wenden next door , we had a look there. Lovely clean and modern place with full use of facilities. Avoid the silver jubilee at all cost

    Nothing, avoid at all cost

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is overpriced for what if offers. We stayed in Bath two days prior to this in a luxury bed and breakfast with views and a large kingsize bed for the same price. Including a full breakfast or breakfast choice. We cannot believe the huge discrepancy between the two. Yet prices were the same

    The facilities were clean. The owners friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely in need of refurbishment but I am sure they are aware of that. Parking was available for but very tight. In our room the sink was in the bedroom, dated design. having said that I would stay again.

    The staff were welcoming friendly and polite. Very handy for Newquay town and beaches.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners. Property clean. Close to town and beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, but clean enough.

    Location,& helpful owners, plenty of Choice for Breakfast,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very tight

    Comfortable bed and nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower inadequate,Breakfast was not full English. TV could be updated for a little cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness of all staff. Flexibility and willingness to accommodate guests requirements.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Kind and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car park not suitable for larger cars

    ideal location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Bad beds dark, needs an update and checked out 4 days early and financial loss And unhappy Will put photos on trip advisor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central to town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tv a bit to small.

    food was good. lots of chooses. good homely atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The accommodation was great, the owners were friendly & very helpful. The breakfasts were well balanced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners and a great location that's near to Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast provided and no feedback as yet from booking.com. Beware when booking with breakfast included as none was provided.

    Convenient, friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE SHOWER

    COMFY BED GREAT LOCATION LOVELY STAFF

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a pleasant stay. Good location, comfortable rooms with the fridge an added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access to parking spaces

    Very nice people, great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cramped room and very small bathroom, felt outdated, parking very tedious

    Location Bteakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Times for brekki

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe half 8 till 10

    Never made breakfast . Only half an hour between half 8 and 9.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ensuite was very small, and I wondered how someone bigger than myself would manage.

    They served whatever I would like for breakfast and were very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and looked up the internet for me to find out times of buses etc. There was a small fridge in the room which was handy.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short slot for breakfast parking, not much room

    The owners are very welcoming. Good variety of food for breakfast all cooked fresh. Not far to walk into town and the local restaurants and pubs.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    So helpful,went the extra mile helping us unload and store kayak safely in their own garage, even when arriving late in evening. Lovely breakfast with lots of choices - also supplied umbrellas and drying rack for English holiday weather! Really made us feel welcome- thank you!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While we enjoyed the traditional feel, and not being able to use our phones much meant we had no choice other than to soak up the beautiful scenery, it would have been useful to have had the option to connect to Wi-Fi. This is by no means a complaint as it seems to be the case throughout most of Newquay but maybe Free wi-fi would be a good addition : )

    Andrew, Judith & Miriam were all very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and light and our supply of beverages was kept constantly topped up. A very traditional sea-Sidey feel to our trip, we loved it, no bother coming and going as we pleased. Fantastic location for getting to know Newquay town better : ) Would happily come & stay again : )

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower...no pressure what so ever, hard work to wash long hair.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very homely

    Very friendly , helpful thank you for a lovely comfortable stay

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit noisy overnight

    cleanliness, organization, facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were extremely helpful, rooms all well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location & breakfast

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: