Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Slipway 4 stars

The Harbour Front, Port Isaac, Port Isaac, PL29 3RH, United Kingdom

#8 of 17 hotels in Port Isaac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 455 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved how central it was and it was very clean, just an amazing place. The staff were fantastic, they couldn’t have done more for us if they tried. We’re very polite. An overall brilliant weekend away in a fantastic village. It was perfect in every way. The food was out of this world - and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They should have supplied a complementary dog, so I could walk him around the town. Just kidding, although I'd take one if I could get one!

    This location is the best in Port Isaac, right near the water where everyone hangs out in the evening and the scenery is amazing. Doc Martin's house is just up a path, and a movie was being filmed at the water's edge. As with every place in the old town section of Port Isaac, the car has to be left at the parking above the town after dropping off luggage, but then great shops and restaurants are within steps. The restaurant at The Slipway itself is wonderful inside and out, including the hot breakfast that came with the room. I had an eggs Benedict dish with mushrooms and spinach--the best Benedict I've had anywhere in the world. The room and bathroom were small, as are most we encountered in three countries, but here ours was conveniently set up and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. I wouldn't have changed anything. Port Isaac, with its many dog-friendly places and striking cliff views, has become one of my favorite places, and I'm sure The Slipway played a huge role in that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication with Bookings to confirm final reservations was poor

    Beautiful location. Historic and the best place to visit in Cornwall during the prepeak season in Spring

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is extremely small and there are no parking spaces close to the hotel. Even driving your things down to the hotel and then taking your car back up to a public parking lot is a nuisance because it is hard to turn a car in the narrow roads by the harbour.

    The Slipway is right by the Port Isaac harbor - a great place to dream yourself into a pirate story. We had a lovely room with modern and fairly new furniture and comfy beds. The amenity kit was above average with shower cap, sewing and makeup removal set. The hotel offered a good choice of different types of huge and incredibly tasty breakfasts. We are very happy with our stay and would book this place again. Personal tipp: Have dinner at the hotel! The seafood dishes are gorgeous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unloading luggage was possible but trying to find a parking spot to leave the car was an issue.

    The location was amazing, The vibe exceptional and the breakfast was outstanding! Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find anything negative I say.

    Location was perfect and the staff were lovely. Clean well appointed rooms as well. Perfect for a couples shot break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were efficient but not to friendly and have to park in car park 15 min walk up a very steep hill at £5 for 24 hours

    Central location clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive.

    Really liked the hotel a little quirky but I liked that. One problem was sorted very promptly and politely by staff. All food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Parking but that is not the fault of the Slipway

    The girls at the desk were friendly and helpful and the Slipway has charm and is a fantastic old world building, we loved everything about it, the owner Phil was great as well, he even came in early to get our breakfast as we had to leave early, Port Isaac is one of the nicest places on Earth which makes it easier as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with Bookings website and trip planning.

    Port Isaac is charming to say thel least. Being right across from the little beach filmed in the opening sequences of Doc Martin was ideal. Bookings.com on the other hand was difficult to deal with during my trip planning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like how we paid for a £20 bottle of wine and left the lable on saying£4.99 Was a kick in teath .but wasn't about say anything .

    The bed was very comfortable the sea food was excellent loved the location. The room was lovely the staff was helpful loved the bar and dinning area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would only need a larger shower for guests.

    Staff was excellent - helpful, accommodating - food delicious - breakfast included, made to order - room extremely comfortable - loved balcony view and seating - location the best! Love Port Isaac, and the Slipway gave us the opportunity to be a part of it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double got to single beds one of the staff called nicole was horrible the minute we arrived till we went window would not shut probably in room 3 payed 540 for four nights looked around and could have got better but at the time the reviews on this looked good will be taking reviews next time of booking.com as not wot they say no chair in room to sit down no wardrobe it looked like a coffin stood up stayed in loads of hotel and B and B this was not worth the money sorry now did not take pictures complain a few times about this to Nicole just got no reply spoke to other staff about this matter and they stayed quiet because this women was a friend of the owners girlfriend and they were scared to mention this so all be careful about this place deco very dated I think people get wrapped up in the doc Martin experience look at other properties before this but port isacc is nice sorry I went to this place and no parking a walk down a big hill other property have parking as well be careful when booking and don't forget I booked a double room and got to children beds and watch out for that horrible Nicole this she was polish

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No white toast for breakfast

    I don't think the menu was that great for the evening meals . There was no white toast on the Thursday morning breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom needs a little attention to its decor as it’s looking very tired and worn.

    The cleanliness was very good. Breakfast was delicious and lovely and hot. Friendly staff with a arm welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very soft rolling us to the middle!

    Lovely clean room with everything we needed and a delicious breakfast served quickly by very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kettle is in a bit of a dogdy place and may cause a accident

    my partner is a vegan and phil and his wife put there selfs out to cater for her needs .thankyou to them both

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is old but they need to address the slope in our room 5 - I was constantly sliding off the end of the bed... They could adjust the bed legs to compensate. Also floor in bathroom is incredibly creaky! I think the price was high, especially for my in-laws who had the exceptionally cosy room 4!

    Perfect for our one night stopover. Comfy bed and nice views. Close to the amenities of the village although it's a hike to the car park, it's not onerous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in our room wasn't working and with the location directly opposite the harbour the room was quite cold. the heating seemed to be working elsewhere in the hotel although it was a little cold at breakfast too.

    Excellent location. Friendly atmosphere. guests need to be aware that you cannot park nearby and need to walk along the coastal path from the car park up on the hill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is clean ,friendly staff always there to help , lovely time of year to stay ,as it wasn’t to busy , breakfast was the best we’ve had in a b&b worth a vistlov

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (4) was absolutely tiny - they did say all their rooms were small but, looking at the website at seaview rooms since, ours was particularly small but the same price. We were on a relaxing break so having to have come for breakfast by 9.30am each day seemed a little early - 10am would have been perfect.

    Loved the breakfasts - they were amazing! The people that worked there were nice and it was a really lovely location too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture could do with leveling, due to the floors sloping over time (not a lot you can do about the floor) but if you load up the draws by the morning there open 6" & you bang your shins getting out of bed & if you have a personal tilt ometer it's exaggerated when walking to the bathroom in the dark (even with out a drink), NB. Don't expect to take the car to the hotel.

    If you like quirky, it's quirky, staff excellent, food excellent, views fantastic. NB. use the shuttle bus great guy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the the village was almost totally shut, with the exception of the Slipway and the Pub, I'd have appreciated maybe winter prices. A beer and a coffee at £9.75 was a tad hard to take.

    Despite the fact that Port Isaac was in January shut down mode, the staff were very friendly and helpful couldn't fault them. The Hotel shutting completely at 6pm on Sunday could have been a problem had the only pub in the village not been open, that was definitely a saving grace...........?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Slipway was well run and good value for money. The food was great and a good selection of local fare. The staff were helpful and obliging and overall I had a very good experience there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner & it wasn’t great. My starter was over cooked & my fish main was ok but the batter was dark & greasy. Would’ve gone for the fish platter to share but being out of season meant a shortage of ingredients. My wife had the chowder & mussels which were good. Bedroom 2 slopes towards the door but it’s an old building & the view is ok but you overlook a canopy protecting the front patio area from rain. Bit ugly. It may only be there in winter. Car has to be left in a car park about a 10-15 minute walk uphill out of the harbour area. Nobody to blame for this. Most Cornish fishing villages are not accessible to cars. Place is very quiet in winter. Obviously. No shops open & only our hotel plus the golden lion pub. That is not necessarily a bad thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could be been better but it didn't spoil out stay

    Phil and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The good was amazing from breakfast through to lunch and dinner.fish was delivered fresh daily and the seafood platter was spectacular.we stayed in the newly refurbishedd room 9 which has been upgraded to a suite,extremely comfortable and ideal for longer stays when you want a little bit more room. Looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.highly recommend both the b&b and the restraunt/cafe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was at the top of the village, which was 10 minutes walk away, but we were forewarned about this. The inconvenience was compensated for by staying in an historic building on the water front.

    A roomy sitting room, which was unexpected, was included in the room booking. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice on the menu. Also, the building was historically interesting (16th C) and the staff were very helpful with managing and carrying our bags.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tell me there was two car park, as didn’t know there was one closer than the main car park.

    Lovely friendly staff, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more of a pub b&b rather than a hotel. They are clearly doing place up as they go and would like to see it complete .

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good

    It's a stone's throw away from the sea,staff are very friendly,rooms are clean and warm and the breakfast is fantastic...the Irish coffee and mince pies were a nice touch

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THere is no parking at the location but there is a car park a few hundred metres away that is very cheap!! The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, warm and fully equipped, the staff were helpful and attentive and very friendly! I can’t wait to go back! It was a magical stay..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lasts guests dirty towel and toothbrush holder left there Resturant shut at 7.30 was told as no one in to eat whilst all the other resturants were very busy this says it all Staff not very friendly ore interested in chatting with the regulars than the guests who help pay their wages I run a guest house and in my opinion this was not worth the money I paid for a two night stay in a 3 star hotel

    Was in walking distance of local restaurants Breakfast and the shower were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the friendly atmosphere. We booked this hotel as we had a reservation at a near by restaurant and wanted somewhere to stay. The Slipway met our needs perfectly as only looking for somewhere to sleep for the night. Lovely friendly atmosphere created by the staff and locals in the bar. We visited late November so bear inmind that this is closed season and places close early. Our room was situated at the top of the building looking out over the harbour. Clean, comfortable and plenty of room. Perfect for our one night stay. We didn’t eat an evening meal but breakfast was lovely with a nice selection to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no parking (you have to leave your car on paid parking outside town) - weak Wi-Fi signal

    + great location + perfect view + fabulous breakfast + good restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 5 was too soft and the whole place needs to make up its mind what it wants to be! They had a reasonable menu but when we arrived we were asked if we were likely to eat there that evening because if no one booked they would close at 7pm. As we didn't know if there were any other people eating there we didn't as we didn't want to eat in the large restaurant on our own. It turns out there were many people at breakfast and we recognised many who ate at the pub opposite as we did! The slipway has a nice bar, good outside seating and a pleasant restaurant so really should be promoting it more!!

    Staff were very friendly! Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect - for this trip (40 days in all) we aimed to stay at as many heritage places as we could and this inn helped us to achieve that aim

    A 16th century inn, this is just the type of place I was looking for. We entered through the tiny bar and were shown up to our room, up a steep narrow flight of stairs. The room was tiny with just a double bed and a smallish ensuite (I think this may have been a fairly new addition). There was a roomy shower plus basin and loo, quite roomy enough. The floor sloped and was uneven indicating the oldness of the place. We didn't have a sea view but no problem as we were there to look around not stay in our room. The evening meal of crab and chilli linguini was delicious. The breakfast spread equally so with gorgeous fresh fruit, local yoghurt plus choice of full English brekky as well. The staff were so friendly, special mention Vickie (hope your leg is on the mend), Jen and Jordan who looked after us ... I am sure the rest of the staff were equally as lovely. The inn is right at the entrance to the harbour with a local fish shop right there. The town is up and down hill which is all part of the charm. We found doc martins house and the school house but none of the others. Parking is of course away from the town as the streets are so narrow and there for the locals not visitors. The park we used was probably ten minutes walk and quite safe. The meters weren't working but it is free overnight anyway. Highly recommended. There are heaps and heaps of b&bs in this delightful little village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very comfy but also very compact. The en suite had everything we needed although a spare roll of toilet paper would have been good as someone who has a bowel condition. There was no parking, but, the nature of Port Isaac makes it impossible. The closest car park is at the top of a rather steep incline!

    Great location within walking distance of Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, eve if up a very steep hill! Breakfast was lovely a choice of full or less full Cornish, variations of Eggs Benedict or a pancake stack! Also the staff could not have been friendlier made to feel so welcome from the moment we got there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Go back to the other toiletries - bergamot and something

    Staff really friendly, location excellent and the feel of the place was very warm and welcoming.this is my 2nd visit and I will go again. I did however prefer the toiletries the 1st time around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are really no facilities or amenities in Port Isaac to ease accessibility for handicapped and older people. Though this wasn’t a criticism against the hotel, guests should be warned of accessibility issues of the town before booking Port Isaac venues, as there are nearby villages that have newer facilities more handicap friendly. First floor room above the kitchen was also a bit stuffy and very cramped, particularly compared to other rooms.

    Great staff went above and beyond to help guests navigate tiny roadways and narrow stairs. Rooms pretty clean and the breakfast was fantastic! Location also dead smack in centre of village!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cell phone access at this hotel is very limited. We had to use the hotel land line to make calls. But they were very helpful and there was no charge for these calls. There is NO parking at the Hotel and IF your car is small enough you can drop off your bags, then park at the car park at the top of the hill. They are very clear about this, but this is just a warning so that you don't over pack and then perhaps have to carry your heavy bags down and up the hill!

    We went to Port Issac for the Doc Martin Tour. Which was awesome! We also booked an evening meal at Outlaw's Kitchen.....which was amazing! The Slipway Hotel was in walking distance of everything that we wanted to do. The age of the Hotel was part of the charm of staying there. We knew most of this going into our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not necessarily a dislike but you need to make sure you park at one of the pay & display car parks just outside the village for your stay, no parking near hotel itself & the roads are tiny & windy.its only a short 10 minute walk down & we paid £10 to park for 24 hours, machine accepts coins or phone the number on the machine to book that way.

    Easy check in, lovely clean comfortable room overlooking the harbour, friendly helpful staff, tasty plentiful breakfast beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom but adequate for your short term needs ...shuffling cars to off load your luggage was an adventure but all part of the experience which we truely enjoyed.

    Location was excellent and the restaurant /pub food was value for money. Staff were helpful and lovely. Would recommend to all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The location was fabulous in the middle of the old village and near the slipway. The staff were helpful and very pleasant. I ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were generous and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want the Ritz don't stay here but if you want to stay in a cute local hotel handy to everything this is it, probably no good for anyone in a wheelchair as there are lots of stairs.

    Fabulous spot right in the middle of it all,good size room, the staff were lovely breakfast was delicious, as was dinner. The parking is a bit of a bugger but just pack a smaller bag or drop your stuff off then park and bring change for the parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the patron's dog that continually barked in the cafe while we were eating our evening meal. If dogs can't be quiet (as another one was), the owner needs to be told to remove them. Unfair to the patrons

    We were given an upgrade, which was very nice to receive. All the expected facilities available. Friendly, co operative owner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was completely inadequate. Very small and cramped with a shower smaller than a telephone booth. Not comfortable at all. Television channels were unsatisfactory considering the price of the room

    The staff was exceptional. Very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small .

    Next to beautiful working harbor. Restful, charming, delicious food, very helpful and friendly staff. We had a balcony and view right out to the water. Wonderful , seaside holiday!!! Definitely enjoyed it !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't open a window at night due to double doors that open onto the balcony but this is just my personal view as I like to have a window open at night.

    Fabulous get away from it all weekend, in the most remote village in the UK. Hotel was perfect and the staff very friendly. Wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and in need of repair was damp and desperate need of repairs and decorating. The bed was so small and old terrible nights sleep

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area has become pricey

    Wonderful historic U.K. fishing village recently in the BBC hit show Doc Martin. The Slipway is located where the bottom of the valley meets the harbor - the center. Fine accommodations and excellent restaurant with friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not a fridge in the room so your description needs updating. Breakfast to early for us - the hotel seems geared for walkers who want early breakfast and not for those on relaxing, romantic break..... although you could buy breakfast 'out front' until midday.

    Bed and pillows so comfy !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel offer no advice or guidance on how to cope with the parking options available in the village, there are 2 out-of-town/edge-of-town car parks which are not cheap. I think the hotel should offer a parking permit to display in the car parks.

    The location and views are excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff asked if we were staying in the 'B and B' when we arrived which I guess kind of shows how they view the hotel which was a bit rough particularly in the communal areas but charging hotel prices. Staff were friendly and helpful. But we didn't fancy eating in the breakfast room which felt a bit more like a hostel really so found some somewhere else. Our shower was literally the size of an upright coffin and I felt like I had to hunch my shoulders during the shower!

    We had an amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine, but due to the popularity of the TV series “Doc Martin” the town was extremely busy.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent (although Port Isaac isn’t exactly huge). There is no parking to speak of in the village but we did manage to squeeze the car into a corner beside the hotel - without causing any obstructions (or getting a ticket)!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing - everything was perfect!

    My friend Stephanie and I had the most wonderful stay at the Slipway. Phil was super kind by waking up in the middle of the night and driving to let us into our room. We are terrible drivers, so he helped us with parking and in general was very patient with us! The location of the hotel is incredible and the village itself is so beautiful it's almost surreal. Our matress was super comfy and the room so clean! Breakfast at the Slipway was great with a good selection and Phil was there bright and early and friendly as ever. Thanks Phil for a wonderful stay!!From the Frenchie and The Australian.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative is getting the cases to the hotel as we had to park at the stop of the town. We will know for the next time.

    we really enjoyed our stay at the Slipway, the room was lovely, bed comfortable and food was fabulous. Staff friendly and overall an enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and only for sleeping in, in the style of an old English pub. But not really a problem as there are plenty of things to keep you otherwise occupied. Parking is out of town, but you can drive in and drop your bags if you are game.

    In the heart of Port Isaac. Staff are helpful and friendly and made for a great stay. Great breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was tiny. Dinner at the hotel must be booked, we had to go elsewhere, as they could not accommodate us.

    Location is amazing, right in the port and we had water views. If you love 'Doc Martin' you will feel like you are on a film set. Room was a good size, and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    PARKING....fortunately we only had overnight bags. Also the beach/harbour was quite dirty and dogs were deficating where children were playing. Not very pleasant.

    Proximity to Nathan Outlaw Kitchen. That's all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About our tenth visit to the Slipway. We go every year to,listen to the Fishermen's Friends and there is no better place than the Slipway to stay for this function. A great night out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Living Area
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very busy at the restaurant when we arrived (in the evening), and made us feel that the hotel part of the business was an extra burden for them rather than a pleasure to host us. No one offered to help with our luggage, and when we checked out in the morning they just took the key and did not even inquire whether we had enjoyed our stay or to wish us a good day.

    The hotel is located right in the center of the village, opposite the small fishermens' harbor. There is easy access on foot to all parts of the village. We felt that we got an authentic experience of staying in this charming village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked the larger of sea view room but ended up having the smaller which was small but probably had the best sea view (bedroom 4). Quite slow service at breakfast time. Not a great atmosphere however seeing the crew film Doc Martin the following day made the stay worthwhile. I wouldn't feel the need to stay there again.

    Excellent location literally in the heart of Port Isaac

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small suggestion we have is this: The building is old and the floors are not level. This is all part of the charm. However, it would add to guest comfort if the bed could be leveled. It took some getting used to. We felt like we were in danger of sliding off the end of the bed. All other aspects of our stay were excellent. We would happily stay at Slipway again.

    Great location. The breakfasts were excellent. I especially enjoyed the Eggs Trewetha. Dinners were also wonderful - the blue cheese linguine is to die for! The staff took very good care of us. We had a lovely view of the Haven.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING

    We Loved the location, but we found the SLIPWAY HOTEL, over priced, cold, uncomfortable, and the reception staff the same cold, uncomfortable, and unfriendly, we payed for breakfast but left early because unfortunatly it had rained a lot and because of no heating in the room our clothes were still damp, we were offered No money back or even an appology, the receptionist did not even say goodbye the chef took our money he by the way seemed very friendly maybe he should be on reception? The noise from people coming and going through the night lead us to have a bad nights sleep such a noisy room ( No 3) Well we Not be returning to the SLIPWAY HOTEL and would not reccomend it to anyone sorry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Same meal on second night(lobster salad with no lobster)was a disgrace and service was awful. Room,sea view, if you could see through the dirt and flaking paint, needs a face lift.

    Staff very helpful, Dinner and service on first night was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door would not close properly and lock. Bar closed early.

    Location, view, balcony,team, good breakfast offering fresh fruit, great kippers. Outside dining with heaters

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meals - supposed to have 'local' pork pie with the Ploughmans, don't tell you they don't have it then supply what looked very much like a supermarket mini pork pie in its place that they denied it being !!

    really good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little help with bags...and no wifi in the rooms.

    The location just can't be beat. Plus it's a nearly 600 year old building. The sea view room was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet service in the room was non existent, but it worked downstairs in the common areas.

    The view from our window was amazing. The Doc Martin crew was filming directly outside our window. The hotel is very old with crooked floors etc. Very charming. Great breakfast, with lots of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows. No leg room around toilet. Difficult angle getting to bath/ shower due to odd arrangement

    View. Quaintness. Breakfast. Welcoming owner/Manager Privacy of loft suite Tea facility. Restaurant facilities Nautical decor Seating & space. Well furnished bedroom. Cleanliness. Separate residents entrance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple fact is that we did not make it to the hotel. Turned around and sought alternate accommodation away from Port Isaac.

    Nothing to like. Could not even get to the property. Poor access, too many people and impolite local drivers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi wasn't working in the room and we had to go to the dining room to get wifi. Phil the owner assured us that a new wifi system will be installed soon which will give wifi access across the property. Nothing else really.

    This is Doc Martin (BBC series) town and his cottage, the pharmacy and school are all there for the photo (minus the cast). The hotel dates back nearly 600 years and the attic suite gave the feel of the period with low door and roof beams just as we see in historic buildings. Friendly and helpful staff. Owner Phil arranged a free car shuttle to the carpark (above the port) on our departure saving me having to drive through the narrow road to the hotel to pick up the luggage. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no phone in the room. What if there is an emergency? Not all of us have cell phones that work in the UK. Also when the person gave me the password for the Wi-Fi, she did not tell me the only place the Wi-Fi worked was on the first floor, not in the rooms.

    It was right in the middle of where I wanted to be. Easy access to many Doc Martin sites in his series. Natives seem so warm and kind. The room was lovely, just big enough for me and a wonderful view of the harbor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Slipway was a great place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are wonderful. The room was very comfortable. The food was great. Great hospitality. There's lots of walking up and down hills but it's worth it -- the views are fantastic and the village of Port Issac is so beautiful. Highly recommend staying here. Great location to set out from to see more of Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking the obvious problem but we knew that.

    Location was fantastic. Right in the heart of port Issac. Meals were great. We found it hard to fault the hotel. Staff and management very helpful,

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: