Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Southcliff Hotel 2 stars

22-26 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DY, United Kingdom

#24 of 29 hotels in Folkestone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2517 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    will not be returning to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed not comfy, shower had not much pressure so took ages to take a shower, asked for ground floor rooms (because of mobility problems, of my friend ) got top floor rooms , there is a lift my friend is a large lady and only just fitted in the lift but got hit by the folding door a few times. We could not change rooms as the hotel was full.

    the staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed most of our stay. Will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom black with no window.think house keepers could pay a bit more attention to dust in room. Couple next door arguing all night on the Saturday night..

    Room was nice. Fresh towels most days. View was beautiful of the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.5
    Great location with sea view. Friendly helpful staff but rooms were very dissapointing overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a hot night and room was stifling. Bathroom en-suite door did not close. Chipped cup in tea making tray. Bed was uncomfortable but hot weather , Very dated decor and needs a full overhall.

    Location was great right on sea front. Staff were helpful in telling us where to park in the town as ther was no parking outside hotel. Breakfast was very good even with early departure. Had sea view room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Fine for a short stopover for the channel tunnel but maybe not for a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is very dated and could really use remodernisation. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and my 23yr old felt it had the atmosphere of a home for older adults.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    The room is too small couldn’t open the wardrobe chest of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small couldn’t open the wardrobe chest of drawers without moving the furniture that includes the beds the beds were falling apart mattresses were stained the shower room floor is uneven the toilet seat didn’t fit the toilet very poor facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    NOT good value for money and a bit disappointing but we had a good weekend sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses seemed like cheap children's ones, very little support, so we were not able to sleep very good on them. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels and these were probably the worst mattresses for comfort that I have come across. The pillows were the thinnest we have seen and could hardly be called pillows. There was no bulb in the bedside lamp and we didn't get around to asking reception for one (there is not always someone at reception and we did not want to waste our time waiting). The shower was the poorest trickle I have ever experienced when staying in a hotel. it took ages rinsing shampoo and conditioner from hair. The bathroom had no extractor, so after showers, the bathroom was very steamy and the window wouldn't open for us. Bathroom could have been cleaner, there were hairs in the bath, dirty marks on the bottom of wall by door and the light cord was very dirty, which are easy to clean with a soapy cloth. The bath/shower was slippery and no anti slip mat was provided. Only one window in bedroom would open and only by a few inches. So with no air con on a hot day, the room would have been unbearably hot. Thankfully the weather was cool whilst we were there. Only one set of fresh towels given on the Saturday and all used towels left with us. Bath towels are not much bigger than hand towels. The noise from the function room (not the bar, which was in the small print) was really loud until gone 11pm on the Saturday. We were trying to watch a film but even with the TV volume on high (which was not very high understandably as other guests must be considered) we had trouble hearing the film. It was quite annoying. I would pay less and stay further away from seafront next time as we didn't have a sea view anyway. The hotel seems to be a bit dated but our room had nice plain clean carpets that looked new, maybe that was what the funny smell was-carpets and wall paint combined.

    The room was clean, carpets looked new. Decor looked quite recent. Room and bathroom was quite clean. Hotel was near to seafront and overlooked sea but we had been given a room at back of hotel, so no view. It was local to places to walk, so we had a good time away from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Staff friendly otherwise will not use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor, Mattress terrible ( springs poking through ) Lift would only hold two people with luggage so a family would have to use it several times. Cost of breakfast atrocious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in everyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was one of the best hotels I have stayed in when visiting Folkestone.

    Ideal room for me & my son. Staff & manager were excellent so helpful. Changed room for us when they knew we were two men using the room so we had seperate beds without us asking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Southcliffe Hotel, Folkestone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chair in guest room rather rickety. Bed appeared dirty with stained mattress and would have preferred a duvet. Car parking not available

    Room with a sea view, very friendly staff. Service from Hayley at breakfast always with a smile!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of property could do with a lick of paint but rest of hotel was lovely

    Friendly staff. Value for money especially as on beach front. Modern rooms with lovely bathrooms and balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little jaded, which to me just added to it's charm but others might not look at it like me. It would have been perfect had there been reliable allocated parking for the length of your stay but again this was not so. There was no electric socket by either mirror which made it difficult to use a hairdryer. A fan installed in the ensuite should be installed.

    I liked the fact that the charm of the property had not been lost in its being turned into a hotel. Everything was easily accessible via the discreet lift. The view from our window was amazing looking out over the English Channel. The town itself holds all you need though it seems a bit run down. I would certainly go there again as the cost of the accommodation is well within most people's budgets and is value for money. There is no disturbance at night which was great for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Mid week stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The over bath shower was difficult to get the temperature right and the head and hose leaked. The floors were very squeeky. Continental breakfast could have had more choice.

    Great value for money. Staff very friendly. Lovely location. English breakfast very nice. Great view from sea view room. Apart from squeeky floors the hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy floorboards and poor soundproofing.

    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Thank you for the sea view room I was offered! A pleasant surprise and it made my stay in Folkestone a little special. The view was a delight to wake up to in the morning, location could not have been better and the breakfast was nice as well. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Simple, cheap and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower a little mouldy and ensuite very small, but you can but up with it for a few days.

    A very tired hotel that needs a bit of TLC, however, staff very nice and helpful. Extremely good value for money and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    restful few days catching up with family celebrating 50th birthday and a 20th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    found the door tolit on the ground loor a little heavy or me but but would always help if they were around

    sea view from room is panoramicand on a clear day you an see the french coast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit dated and probably needs smartening up in a few places but other than that I have no complaints, its not 5 star but it is perfectly adequate and a great hotel to stay in Folkestone.

    Excellent location right on the leas and the Southcliffe sells a parking permit which is useful as are the parking locations, which are great and right outside. Excellent value for money, quite basic throughout but all clean and no real complaints. Nice to see its not been taken over by a chain like a lot of other hotels in the town, so it still keeps a unique appeal,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    room and receptionist ace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing.

    The Receptionist was lovely so helpful and friendly, I wish I had got his name. Our room was lovely overlooking the beach with balcony. Room 10 is to die for so spacious and clean didn't want to leave. The price for the room was incredible. looking forward to coming back very soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel at a budget price but still a pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were on the soft side, entire place is threadbare and in need of refit but to be fair I expected that from the feedback

    Great location, managed to park on the front within 100 yards of the hotel so was able to utilise the £2 for 24hrs permit from the hotel itself. Gent on reception was brilliant, very helpful to everyone and tirelessly cheerful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    I found this a well situated hotel, but unfortunately didn't live up to our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was quite basic and could do with updating. We were woken up in the night by other noisy residents, even though we asked for a quiet room.

    I loved the position of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Great place for a heroin binge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful. Avoid unless you're really in a tight spot. Paint flaking of the wall. Room right next to noisey lift. Could hear people through the walls. No proper shower. They should be ashamed of letting people stay here.

    On the plus side the guy at reception did give me somewhere to store my bike. Oh also, if you did want to kill yourself this is the only hotel I've been to where you could actually climb out of the window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Balcony with good view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating! Window unable to open to keep air flow of a night!shower needed a door as made floor very wet.would hv prefer duvet on bed.

    Balcony with good view .location good.room cleaned ?each day.staff friendly.was able to borrow good hair dryer!well lite of a night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Tired looking hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel the springs in the bed. Paint was peeling in the bathroom, no shower curtain, very tired room in need of an update.

    Not far from Eurotunnel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    What's not to like...lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location and a room with a balcony and very comfortable bed....superb Connor on reception is exceptionally helpful nothing is too much trouble...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors very creaky- sounded like the people above were dancing on the spot at 7 o’clock in the morning- didn’t need an alarm clock!

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    My Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated and the Saturday night entertainment could be heard throughout the hotel, including the top floor.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast. Clean and tidy room/Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couple of annoyances with the budget facilities; The bathroom looked modern but the shower was very poor, took 5 minutes of running to get hot water and the water pressure was abysmal. The bed was on casters that were a bit loose - you couldn't really lean against the wall without the bed moving.

    Very convenient location for channel crossings and good value for money. The staff member on the front desk was friendly and helpful. Good sized bathroom. I had a sea view room which is always nice to wake up to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Live music at The Leas on a Sunday. Visit relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep steps to entrance of hotel. Edges were NOT defined so potentially dangerous. No grab rail in toilet or shower- very difficult if you have mobility/visual problems. Bathroom very hot - requires blind on window. Inner door of lift (not the automatic one) requires some sort of notice that it is a door and needs to be pushed to open it.

    The staff were very friendly & helpful. Coffee or tea available for guests upon arreival. Flexible with check-out times. Quiet after 11.30 so good for sleeping. Very spacious room. Put me in a room nxt to lift when I requested it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Sandy beach , view of France , compfy room 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little outdated , though it's fine for a cheap holiday.

    They upgraded me to a room with a sea view , loved looking at the lights from France and the ships at night. Amazing view 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice Cheap Hotel for Work trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single Bed was ok, but really good value for money, the Sea View from window was breathtaking. I was on Work trip, so only used it at nights for sleeping mainly. Street Parking is free from 6pm to 8am , so was not a problem for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful, ideal for workers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated however it was nice and clean for the rate paid.

    Booked there because I was working in the area, Was OK for what I paid, Helpful staff, Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Stop over before ferry to Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative point was the bed - very soft and past it’s best. On street parking was a problem - we found a space about 400m from the hotel

    The hotel has a front line position overlooking the beach. We loved sitting on the balcony with sea views over to France especially at night with the lights of Calais, Boulogne and Cap Gris Nez

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had hair on the wall from the previous person who stayed before, it was quite off putting. The hotel overall is a bit out dated but it is a nice place.

    The location is great, the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff good but badly needs complete update.Would do for short stay/buisness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key entry very old and iffy. All decorations starting with cheap reception desk and mismatched old carpets give a feeling of dated from onset.Bedrooms no better with 1980s blankets and bed covers.White sheets not quite big enough but I stress spotless.Breakfast room down foreboding tiny staircase was surprisingly light and airy.Breakfast adequate

    This hotel is spotlessly clean.Parking was easy with automated car reg permit parking done by hotel £2 for 24hours

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking

    the staff where very helpful and friendly .the breakfast was excellent you could have just what you wanted and it was all cooked to order and the waitress knew just what we had to drink and after the first morning it was on our table as soon as we arrived for breakfast. the hotel is very close to all the shops and over looks the sea which is lovely . parking is a bit of a problem but we found an under ground car park just a short walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is comfy and clean and good value for money. Breakast was nice too !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated and needs a good overhaul . The shower had mould growing in it the whole shower needs replacing. on a positive note the staff who were really lovely told me the new owner is slowly refurbishing the whole building so that is good to know. Also the bar attracts the wrong types who hang around outside making a lot of noise and disturbing the occupants in the hotel !

    Great sea views from our balcony !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in a typical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seagulls singing in the early morning can be a bit noisy from some rooms.

    Although it is a quite old hotel, I had a very good stay. The furniture was simple but good. Comfortable bed, didn't hear noises from rooms nearby. The staff was very kind. I also enjoyed a few drinks in the hall, which has comfortable sofas. Overall, this place is really good value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Struggling hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic sums it up. Walked into reception to strong musky smell. The whole hotel is very tired and worn. The shower in the room is nothing but pathetic and if it rained we would get wet quicker than standing in the shower.

    Location was lovely and with sych an outlook could have so much more potential.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Nicely located hotel for making trips in the surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking of the hotel. No fridge in basic room.

    Hotel on the beach street. Looked a bit past glory. Good starting point for trips to Dover and surroundings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decoration is needed inside and especially outside. For 2 nights it was adequate.

    Lovely view. Decoration need looking at but well situated. Will book again if needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for a mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi we had a fantastic stay at the hotel we loved the view from our room 24 really comfy bed the telly could have been larger but we were only there of an evening so perfect we thoroughly enjoyed our stay thankyou

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was that when we asked if we could order certain items at breakfast instead of the full English the staff didn’t clearly say that we would still be charged the full price. That was a bit misleading. Also the staff could be a bit more friendly towards guests.

    The location was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location, staff very friendly, happy to help,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was tidy and had been decorated recently, it needed some more homely items, ie pictures soft lighting and so on,

    Good location, staff very friendly, happy to help,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    The Southcliff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room wasn’t clean enough. Shower is mouldy, carpet around the kettle is sticky, drink stains on the walls, we can see webs on the bathroom window and on the balcony rail. Balcony and room need some updates. The bed is on my opinion good. And the beddings was nice and clean 😊

    Location is fantastic, staff is friendly and the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Came close to walking out and losing the advance payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything except for the pleasant people staffing it.

    Nothing really about the place. Hammered home the lesson to always read the reviews. It was dated and run down.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Not what we expected shabby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was basic, bathroom very basic, the whole hotel needs updating. the lift was so tiny only two people of slim build could fit in. very noisy creaky floors and doors slamming! bed sloping to one side. hot water takes ages to come through.

    convenience to the tunnel, sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good stay for the four days and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was up to expectation and maid service every day. Sea view was a brilliant view especially at night time. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially with the parking permits which I imagine are quite daunting and expensive to do on your own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Always value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bedrooms have small bathrooms. We mentioned this to the staff and we were moved the next day.

    The staff are very friendly and the view is to die for! The breakfast is always good and we've never had a problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent but dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings were outdated. Hotel desperately need a renovation. Lack of parking. Had to use on street parking. The bar price's were horrendous. 2:30 for a j20 and £4:80 for Newcastle brown..

    The location was excellent. Parking is £2:00 a day at hotel. Town centre was a 5 mins walk beach across the road.the Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and good basic amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The soundproofing was poor and conversations could be heard in the adjacent room which probably meant my snoring could also be heard.

    Very comfortable and well decorated single room with a great sea view. Facilities good and bathroom reasonable size. Bed comfortable but slightly soft.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Room/ hotel very dated and tired , staff ok but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/ hotel very dated and tired , staff ok but reluctant to tell me about free permit parking outside front hotel. Wouldn't stay again or recommend to others.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion on where we could park our motorcycles. Information given by staff contradict each other. We was sadly awoken at 5:45 by alarm.. this was caused by another resident.. so not the hotels fault.. but did spoil our stay a little

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    I would highly recommend this hotel as the pros far outweigh the cons
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were too soft for our liking and one half was a bit broken but the receptionist said they were being renewed soon so maybe that is not an issue anymore. TV in the room was a bit temperamental.

    Staff were extremely helpful. My wife is disabled and they were very accommodating. Good location with nice views over the sea. Would go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    great sea front location - quaint hotel - Good VFM - recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fire alarm at 05:30 on 11th august - not much coordination - stood outside for 15-20 minutes then took it upon ourselves to go ask if we can go back in .. which was "yes". then the plastic entry card wouldnt work so down another 4 floors and up another - all to grab my bags and go. not the hotels fault. Silly people trying to smoke in their rooms . . I think . . .

    decent size room for a single and great VFM

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Dated but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room - sloping floor but great seaviews.

    Dated but very clean. Superb position for walking . Floor sloping in the attic room so a bit disconcerting! Good value for an overnight before a tunnel crossing. Restaurants nearby. Up early so didn't try breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent value for money, though hotel needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facilities in the rooms are outdated and the hotel needs renovation work to be done. Also. the rooms could have been a bit cleaner, especially the shower.

    The hotel offers great value for money. Check-in was quick, the staff friendly. The location is perfect and next to the sea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Basic but good for the money .. we will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is paid via a permit which is good value at £2 per day but later in the evening it’s hard to find a space and it may be a walk away. But it’s controlled by the council so there’s nothing that the hotel could do.

    The hotel is beach front and we had a balcony .. well worth the extra. The staff are great. The place is a bit tired in its decor but at the price we didn’t mind. Don’t expect luxury it’s basic, clean, well placed and met our needs. This is the second time we stayed but this time we paid extra for the front facing room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A great and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner wasn't very good in our room. Had to inform the manager but didn't really make a difference. Also it's a shame you can only get breakfast at the hotel.

    The reception staff were amazing, so friendly, chatty and alway there to help in any way they can. Will miss them all. The room itself was really nice but the view was amazing, shame about the noise from downstairs some nights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    NOT RECOMENDED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room was like something from the 1960's in Décor and Facilities. The shower was pathetic and no control over pressure and temperature, the bath was disgustingly dirty and the bathroom itself was just worse décor that the rest of the room. Photos and video were taken.

    Not a thing apart from the receptionist was Friendly and helpful on my arrival

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is excellent right next to the sea front and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and our room had definitely seen better days. The room didn’t appear to have been cleaned very well.

    The location is excellent right next to the sea front and only around 20 minuets from Dover ferry terminal. The staff were great very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Amazing sea view if you stay in a sea-view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired furniture

    Amazing sea view if you stay in a sea-view room.Easy access to the beach and transportation.It is very near the central bus station and the shopping area.And about 15 min walk to the Central Rail station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.5
    Our annual trip to Folkestone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is value for money. Breakfast is bought separately. You can find parking for cars within walking distance, free of charge. Bus stops close by on Sandgate Road. We lived down there for a year so like to return regularly.

    The hotel is on the top of cliffs, The Leas, overlooking the English Channel, lovely views and nice walks. Near to town and bus station from which you can access many places, including Canterbury, Dover etc. From Dover you can get over to France.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxed. Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside of the building is looking somewhat tired, but the rooms etc were fine.

    The staff made sure that we were happy, suggesting things to do in the evening etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken, there were dirty hand prints on the wall of our bedroom, the bathroom door didn’t close all the way, there was no duvet just a horrible old scratchy blanket and a horrible red cover thing that was made from the same material as the curtains!! The bathroom taps were covered in toothpaste, no hair dryer. The actual staff were totally lovely but the hotel needs some serious TLC and a bloody good clean. I didn’t hear a hoover the whole time I was there so wasn’t surprised my carpet was so gross.

    The staff were lovely and it was in a beautiful position.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Folkestone stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the room. Mattress on bed was uncomfortable.

    Room with a beautiful view, room was very clean, staff were very accommodating.. overall very happy 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was fine with a nice view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lack of on site parking, although the hotel has made the on-street parking system customer friendly and this would not stop us from staying there again.

    The location was fine with a nice view of the sea. Although the decoration is a little tired it was clean throughout. We needed an early breakfast which was most enjoyable and allowed us to continue our journey on time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    The view and the male member of staff that was on front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (41) was in a disgusting state. Filth around the window, dust in various places, the bed needed throwing away in fact I never slept in the bed. The kettle had limescale in it. The walls were dirty. The list goes on. The breakfast we left majority of it. It’s over priced yuk! I had to spit the food into a serviette it was that bad; it made me cringe. The only decent thing about the breakfast was the orange juice. The nightclub across the road doesn’t close until 6/7am and is heard through the fully closed window. It was very loud so with a lumpy old horrible bed you have to deal with loud tasteless music. The place needs revamping as soon as possible. Cleaners need to be taught how to clean and efficiently. I wouldn’t recommend someone to allow a dog to sleep this hotel and will not be recommending it or visiting it again. We arrived home 3 hours before the time we were due to leave as we were that annoyed with our stay. We couldn’t wait to arrive home. This was supposed to be a birthday treat and ended like a nightmare in hell!

    The view and the male member of staff that was on front of house was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpets were not clean or hoovered. Bathroom floor was coming away. No soap or shower gel holder in shower. One of the cups for tea coffee was not clean. I was charged for breakfasts when I was on my own. The hotel refused to only charge for one as I booked a room for 2 people.

    Location and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    staff were very helpful cons were having to pay for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no blind in bathroom basin could have been bigger, could offer evening meal, more evening activities.

    staff were very helpful cons were having to pay for breakfast, complete value for money would recommend for short stay, excellent location close to folkestone harbour amenties.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant, very comfortable and relaxing. So good we booked an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a wheelchair user, the accessibility was not great. The staff did tell us as much, so we were warned in advance and planned for it, but this is something that could be improved. The ramp, which is not technically a wheelchair ramp (which we were made aware of), is too steep a grade for most manual wheelchair users. The lift is quite small (it could only fit me & my wheelchair folded down, my partner had to go separately), and there is a step down to it. This is just stuff to be aware of if you're disabled - it's not a dealbreaker if you can manage it - we were warned about all of this by the helpful staff!

    The bed was comfy, the view was superb. The room was absolutely lovely and the bath was spacious. The staff were great and very, very helpful and accomodating - above and beyond. We actually ended up booking an additional night in the hotel because we enjoyed it so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Receptionist was incredibly helpfull on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we had room on upper floor and outside was hot in the room was no air at all.It was impossible to sleep.

    Receptionist was incredibly helpfull on arrival.Amazing view to the see from bedroom window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location, ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tiered. Window didn’t open properly. Bathroom looked like it needed refurbishment ages ago. Room in general didn’t look very tidy or cozy.

    Members of staf very attending. Gret location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, right by the sea, lovely views of the coast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, right by the sea, lovely views of the coast from bedroom window, short walk to the town, friendly staff, we were very hungry first night we arrived, allowed us order & have a pizza delivered to our room, which was a nice touch, good place stay for a long weekend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Old & Very Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated and could do with a facelift wand decoration. I wasn't asked upon check out whether I had a good night or not. Parking restrictions outside hotel unless you want to park a mile away. Won't be returning.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, great sea view with balcony; sadly let down by the urgent need for an overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and room were tired and in dire need of refurbishment. The bathroom was tiny and old so it looked grubby. The shower was mouldy. For the price, there should have been more than basics; for example, more choice of drinks like hot chocolate, biscuits, body cream in the bathroom.

    Being able to sit on the back and see the wonderful sea view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    Worst stay in a hotel I have ever experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience from walking through the door

    Was like stepping into a 1960’s room, dusty, old beyond belief, stay clear of it, not worth even being paid to stay there let alone pay to stay, awful hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Southcliff Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: