Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Dorset B&B and inn reviews
  4. Weymouth B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Spice Ship

Reviews of The Spice Ship

240 Preston Road, Weymouth, DT3 6BJ, United Kingdom

#84 of 91 B&Bs and Inns in Weymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 341 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    4.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy FILTHY rooms. DUST DUST DUSY EVERYWHERE. Uncomfortable beds Creaky floorboards. Dirty shower cubicle. Disgustingly filthy sash window Filthy entrance, hall, stairs & landing. Smelly towels/flannels Very noisy location.

    Friendly staff. Easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    7.1
    Staff really friendly and responsive when we mentioned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cramped. Virtually impossible for two people to move round at the same time. Unpleasant smell of drains in the corridor which staff said was due to the weather. (It was very wet) Property description mentioned a flat screen TV but it was tiny and the signal was really poor. Only instant coffee available at breakfast which was surprising as the pub has a large restaurant -apparently the coffee machine was broken! Room and bed linen clean but windows really dirty.

    Staff really friendly and responsive when we mentioned aspects with which we weren’t happy. Bed comfortable. Good location and pub was pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    5.8
    OK place to stay if convenient location for you but would not make a special trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation small, borderline clean and separate to pub. Had to walk through rain for breakfast. No staff in breakfast venue despite being in scheduled time.

    Location as attending function in Sutton Poyntz. Staff friendly enough when when found. Easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    4.6
    It was small and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the tiny room, the tiny shower and the cleanliness was really really bad- not just the interior but the glassware and toilets.

    The pub structure and decor

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Handy location, nice bedroom with tea/coffee/ water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable & shower cubicle was manageable but a little small

    Handy location, nice bedroom with tea/coffee/ water. Nice & clean. Lovely breakfast. Good value for money

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    9.2
    I loved it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the pub is on the main road but at night the road appears to be quite, do not know what it will be like in the summer. The bonus though - also on a bus route.

    The pub was obviously well attended and they have live gigs but I was not there when one of these took place! the pub also does food throughout the day (check times). The pub is close to the coastal walk and potentially could be an excellent base for walkers. Separate entrance to accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    5.4
    it was a great location for us, but not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the entrance, the stair carpet, pokey room, no towels. booked breakfast for 8.30 am, pouring with rain and noone in the pub until 20 to 9. instant coffee

    i wouldnt recommend it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, accommodation was clean and bed was comfy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, accommodation was clean and bed was comfy, old building but all part of the atmosphere! (value for money) lovely cooked breakfast! Will be visiting again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    6.3
    Disapponting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. Mouldy shower. Single glazed window opening onto busy road which kept us awake. Street light shone directly into room.

    Friendly staff. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    We were disappointed with the room and would not stay here again or recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - just large enough for the double bed which seemed really small. The bathroom was about average. The TV didn't work. The window was open and the room and bathroom were freezing. We asked about heat and were told it would come on between 5 and 9. Since it wasn't on at 5 pm we thought maybe it would come on at 5 am but it never did. This was our first night in England - we were afraid the next 7 nights were going to be as disappointing as this one. Luckily none of the rest were like this.

    The pub food for dinner and breakfast was delicious; reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    If you want a bit of space and a quiet room, this is not for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom/ shower extremely small and on a busy road, making sleeping difficult

    Staff friendly, the pub does good food in the evening and a good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Would definately recommend this accommodation and use it again in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know the bathroom was limited to space but being a larger person the shower was quite small.

    Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the windows in the room could do with a clean .regulars in the pub sit at the bar making getting served a bit ackward

    Room was clean. Enough tea making facilities also nice to have bottled water in the room breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Our final stop after 3 days of walking and a welcome sight. Hot bath, a few beers and a great meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing adverse to say at all!

    This is a pub which offers bed and breakfast, so is exactly what we were looking for. The pub itself is wonderful with a great selection of real ales and a great food menu. The staff were kind enough to let us leave our car in the bottom of their car park for 4 days while we walked parts of the South West coast path. The rooms were accessed by a separate door outside the pub, which facilitated an early departure. The rooms were small, but comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Good welcome , Good bedroom facilities . Good food . Fantastic price for what is given .
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower slightly on the small side but not a real issue as the room was a small single anyway . So no real issues to comment on .

    Really good value for money . Good parking facilities . Good pub and breakfast . Good décor etc to bedroom .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    A great place with great staff, well located for Weymouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the age of the building it has sash Windows and is sighted on a busy road so there was a small amount of noise from people walking past and the traffic

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant and will return in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming, the room had everything I needed. The pub was friendly and very relaxing. The food at the pub and the breakfast was cooked very well and lots of it. As a person staying on my own i felt safe and welcomed. I will definitely visit again and would recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Family visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were visiting family and would have liked to have eaten early. The restaurant shuts in the afternoon after lunch and doesn't start to serve meals until 6 pm in the evening, which was a shame. Apart from that no real complaints.

    A good sized room with a big comfortable bed. The breakfast which was cooked to order was very filling and just to my liking. The evening in the bar was very social with locals and tourist interacting. A good selection of draught beers were available. The meals available at dinner were very tasty and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Spice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. It's a good job we didn't have a cat to swing. It is also the rooms overlook a main road so you have traffic going past all day and night.

    Perfect gateway for most of the Dorset attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small no where to put stuff had to move wash bags out of shower before using the shower could have had a small fridge in room seeing as it was a family room just not a very good layout of room

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the main road kept us up most of the night (from cars racing up and down the hill really fast!). The location was great in terms of how close it was to Weymouth however there was not much to do in terms of entertainment near the b&b.

    The location in terms of distance to weymouth, the cleanliness and staff were amazing. Great parking too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Food made fresh was good, but if not fresh it was microwaved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of rooms Rooms of basic standards Outside garden decking not sweeped, dog ends everywhere, Noise from road traffic,

    Food made fresh was good, but if not fresh it was microwaved

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fairly noisy, next to busy road. Very little storage space in bathroom, needs a shelf and a coat hook.

    Friendly staff, food good. Breakfast fairly basic full English very good. fan in bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great value and friendly staff for a traveller on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window could have opened more.

    Staff were very friendly. The room was small, but comfy. Just a shame it was so hot during my stay, as the room was sweltering day and night even with a fan and the road outside was very noisy with the window open. Still a good value stay. Breakfast was great and the beer was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    Appalling. Do Not and will never recommend this hovel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in at the bar we had to wait for one of the 3 staff who were more interested in the football.The room was cramped. The bed was the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE bed we have ever slept in and the room was very hot, we couldn't open the window as the busy main road was outside our window. The shower was so small My wife who weighs less than 8 stone had to turn sideways to get in. The pictures on the web site were obviously taken years ago, it claimed to have been refurbished last year. When was the web site last updated 2008? In the morning we were greeted by a surly individual. The breakfast was presented, or rather thrown in our direction with out a single word and was so bad that the next day we went to Morrisons supermarket for a FAR SUPERIOR breakfast. We very seriously considered not staying the second night.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly staff - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the main road and my room at front I was not accustomed to the traffic noise, which does subside later at night.

    Just a really fab friendly place. Food was amazing and great location. Super value for money. I would definitely stay here again. I loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening meal did take abit of time to arrive but was still lovely! bar staff were friendly & helpful! I could hear the traffic passing outside which woke me up on a morning about 6am

    friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside room thom we were aware that there was a party in the pub but customers stood outside afterwards laughing and chatty under our window

    Staff very pleasant food very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.5
    The bed was comfy, having driven 6.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfy, having driven 6.5 hours we just passed out!! Shower adequate, staff lovely. Bonus? breakfast, chef said it would set us up for the day, more like set us for a week!!! Would stay again definitely. xx

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy as it overlooks a busy road - it was quite warm so we had the window open. It was a small room so a few hooks to hang up towels and coats would have made it much more comfortable

    Convenient location. Quick to check in and out. Great cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Would recommend the food as breakfast was also good. Was ideal for just one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly , Though service could have been better in the restaurant, we were not offered desserts or coffee and took twenty minutes to clear our table , and by this time we were the only ones in the restaurant. Told the chef in the morning who apologized. The bed we stayed in was also uncomfortable and a small room, but ok for just one night.

    Food was fantastic, and a really old pub with amazing history

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    good value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pub needs abit of an update but hey ho..... it didn't bother us. As we say, everything was good. The chefs did outstanding food and we had a really good breakfast.

    we have been to the spice ship three times now. They are so friendly and the room was kept very clean. (thank you cleaner).... Food was really good and so was the breakfast. Bus stop outside or we did the park and ride which is really good as its sometimes difficult to park in Weymouth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely return to this friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very squeaky and kept me awake (metal lower bunk).

    The staff were excellent. We couldn’t have been made more welcome. The room was surprisingly quiet, as a little way from the pub itself. Plenty of plug sockets and two tellies! Lots of big fluffy towels provided and fresh milk on request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    PERFECT !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like and if you do find anything you made it up !!!

    We visited as a over night stop for a football tour that are boy was in. I can’t fault this quite little place. Had everything to offer from the min we walked in to min we left what lovely people. The rooms for what we needed was more than enough, had everything we needed and a little more we was a family of 5 one being a baby of 2 and it was just great. Would and defo will pop back there to visit again in fact looking at end of may bank holiday as they have a mod band over weekend and that is right up our street and the beech is just down the road and that is beautiful to. All in all a perfect little break away in a beautiful country pub. Thank you to the spice ship. See you soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Cheap but not quite cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was VERY hot. Bathroom extractor made very loud noise in short spurts, even when you weren’t in there. It woke me up a few times in the night. No chair so had to lie or sit on bed when in room. Pillows dire.

    Staff were very friendly and food was good. Bus stops outside and a co op just down the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Basic pub food and pub accomodation, usefull if you are passing and need a meal and a bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bunk beds in the family room squeak whenever either occupant moves.

    Meal in the restaurant was quite expensive for basic pub food, beer was ok and staff friendly,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.2
    It was cheap which was why I chose it but I was very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was pretty horrible, run down, dingy and basically an old pub 15 minutes by bus outside Weymouth. We had minimal interaction from staff, the breakfast was pretty dire though the man did go and buy us oats, yoghurt and fruit as they had none! No croissants either! The room was a double and bunk beds and very cramped.

    The only saving grace was the bus stop outside and a lovely pub nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Not a place for the business traveller who need to get up early
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast wouldn't be served until 830. We were working so had to leave the B&B around 730. We normally have breakfast at 7, and that hasn't been a problem before. The bathroom had a very noisy saniflow.

    Great roast dinner on sunday

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and shower - struggled to get the shower hot but eventually sorted it out.

    excellent full English breakfast. Great evening meal in the pub. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay at the spice ship, we are normally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly unorganised at breakfast- when we came down the pub was still locked and we were unsure what to do- I will say we did have snow this weekend so I think this may have caused them running slightly behind, breakfast was still lovely just slightly later than we had planned.

    We had a lovely stay at the spice ship, we are normally hotel stayers but this time we wanted a nice country pub b&b and this was exactly what we got. Rooms were clean and a fair size- we only stayed for 1 night, breakfast was lovely and great to be included in the price, we researched a lot of similar places and this was the best value for money- we would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    A God time for all of us, dog included
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed at the Spice Ship on a few occasions so we new what to expect . We felt at home so we had no surprises. We found the staff excellent. Breakfast was perfect.

    Room was a fair size. Decor was good and good facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    It was great that we could have our dog with us in room,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great that we could have our dog with us in room, restaurant for evening meal & breakfast. Cooked breakfast was really tasty. Staff were very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Absolutely spot on location wise for my visit - mostly a pleasurable experience.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After breakfast, I wanted to go and sit down before going to a funeral - door shut to the pub with a relaxed seating area, and my room not really where I wanted to be except to sleep - especially as no wifi up there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Nice pub, wouldn't want to stay more than a couple of nights though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with small bed. Noisy due to location and old windows.

    Breakfast - alhough had a long wait the second morning, even though there was only two of us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing accomodation but good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very cold during the night. The fire alarms across the whole building went off at 4am but with no member of staff available on site. My little boy was quite stressed as we waited for a member of staff to travel to the pub to turn them all off. None of my family were able to get back to sleep afterwards. We were then charged full price for the privilege.

    Facilities were clean & tidy. Staff are friendly & polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Our stay was another wonderful one and looking forward to returning.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only minor issue with our room was the grout in the bathroom, it needed re-grouting around the shower and tiles, but apart from that I could not fault it.

    The whole stay was wonderful and the breakfast was to die for. What me and my partner liked the most that they couldn't do anymore for you considering that we had brought a dog with us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    Recent stay was enjoyable, maybe warm up bar and dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant were very cold, and had to go outside to access bar and dining room, not ideal in winter

    Comfy bed, small, but clean and warm room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent 3 nights stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wi-fi in room only in bar area. No cancellation refund policy. Noisy central heating especially in one room that houses boiler. (This was half resolved as my room was upgraded without asking as they had a cancellation). Restaurant was a bit pricey but I learned this was local price trend.

    Excellent 3 nights stay. Very friendly and helpful staff and proprietor. Warm and welcoming. Nice ambience to property. Excellent food in restaurant. Nice and clean throughout. Family friendly. My room was upgraded from small to larger due a cancellation by courtesy of management who were only too keen to please even offering sandwiches instead of breakfast as I was leaving before kitchen open..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly , cosy and cheap , easy to find pub accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub is on main road ,so there is traffic noise , but OK midnight to 7 am .

    Easy to find , comfy little room with good facilities , very good food and beers friendly staff and a good price . There were some alarm issues overnight , landlady handled very politely , professionally and efficiently. Plenty of off road parking for car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Good for short staying. Nice position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work properly, at 11 pm the tv and the wifi switched off and was impossible to switch them on again. The Car Park is private, but there isn't any gate. The Pub open at 12 in the morning, we arrived about 20 mins before and there was anyone. Luckily was a lovely sunny day and we didn't bother so much to go straight to the Durdle Door before to check in.

    The premise is a classic English pub. We stayed there because the place is close to the Durdle Door, just about 15 mins driving. The room was a good size, with ensuite. The bed was comfy, and the room was clean. Good for short staying. The pub downstairs is cosy, almost decorated as a ship.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    A lovely dog friendly pub with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely dog friendly pub with rooms. We was made so welcome, when we stayed there with our two dogs. Excellent room and great food. Also the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely enjoy going back there sometime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms , great service from all staff. Breakfast excellent choice, evening meals fantastic , This is the second time we have visited will defiantly again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    A business stay at The Spice Ship
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast doesn't start until 0800am - bit late for a business guest during the week? However I was able to get into the breakfast room at 7.50am for cereal etc...and the staff made me a bacon sandwich to take out!!

    No real problems here, does what it says on the tin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Cosy stay overall. Slept and ate well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordinarily, the room size would be acceptable for customers travelling light, however the lack of space in our case meant that it was just a little too cosy with our two large bags. The shower was hot, but the clear enclosure a little cramped, due to the limited space available.

    A nice old style pub with good facilities, good food and typical atmosphere that a risk of this nature usually presents. Modernised sleeping facilities and associated amenities were fine, although we found the room too small for travellers such as us who came with two large cases, which meant there was no room to properly store them, much less have them open in the room for ease of access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money. Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything. We had a very comfortable stay and I would definitely stay there again. We had a very comfortable bed, good breakfast, good location. What's not to like? All for an excellent price.

    Very comfortable 6ft bed. Big room, at end of corridor very private. Free parking free wifi. Pub on site. Great location, easy walk down lane to Bowleaze Cove then excellent 2 mile walk, on flat along the sea wall to Weymouth. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Large bath, plenty of hot water. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for the price and overall good level of service .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it was a pub , parking was a little restricted but don't see how they could alter this . Otherwise quite a satisfactory stay and would go there again .

    All facilities were in the room that I would have expected . For a pub the privacy was good and the staff were pleasant and helpful . Price was good for the stay .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant value for the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sundays are very quiet in Weymouth and you need to make sure before travelling on the bus that your return travel is covered as some buses to some areas are taken off very early we found that out at the cost of £12 For a very friendly taxi driver.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful, the food in the spice ship was better than good value it was superb, transportation(bus)link was 1st class and reasonably priced, My wife and I took the 25 minute stroll from the hotel to Weymouth central it was a great walk, I have to say it has the best beach that I have been on for a number of years. This was our first visit to Weymouth and it was excellent ,and we are looking to book for next year right now, I have already recommended Weymouth to friends and family for future holidays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Good budget accomodation with traditional pub / restaurant attached
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situtaed on a fairly busy road so some rooms a bit noisy

    Traditional pub with old world atmosphere despite having some parts added they were designed in keeping with original building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    we throughly enjoyed our stay and will be coming back many times.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't one thing we disliked. Really enjoyed every part of our stay.

    The staff was very friendly, warm and welcoming throughout our stay and the food and room prices were very good value but most of all we liked the fact that the spice ship staff bent over backwards to accommodate our family dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Compact room (single bed took up one third) but acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above the pub, so not good if you want an early night (if not then good atmosphere in pub with live music Fri night). Thin curtains, so needed eyeshades. Wi-fi worked in pub, but signal too weak in room.

    Compact room (single bed took up one third) but acceptable. Compact en-suite, but decent shower. Big breakfast. Compact price!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant room, clean. May stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in the room with only one small window which had to be open but was on the main road so was very noisy. Obviously being above a pub you did get some degree of noise but it took me a while to figure out the constant taps were from darts being played lol. I didn't feel at ease at breakfast. Felt a little rushed and that we were a bit of inconvenience.

    Good use of space in the room considering it was quite small. I personally loved the colours of the decor 😃 It was nice having two TVs so me and the children could watch different things at bedtime and didn't disturb so much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Had a lovely stay & didnt want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the beach was a long way

    Liked that you could have breakfast sell as lunch & evening meal. Staff were really friendly & we're understanding that we had a child sho was type 1 diabetic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Full English breakfast, Iv'e had a few on various trips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full English breakfast, Iv'e had a few on various trips and have had some good breakfasts but i am going to put the Spice ship as the best so far. I had family staying close by so we all dined here as well, food was plenty full and very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little B&B with all you need for a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows are getting a bit old and will benefit from changing.

    Lovely rooms with all you need. Clean. Nice beds. Staff is fantastic and friendly and very attentive. Very pleasant stay - better than expected. Breakfast was yummy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check out on my final day was odd, no one around and just deposited my keys on the bar, which seemed a little unsatisfactory.

    staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and in the restaurant. Food was excellent, and certainly value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    good friendly helpful people.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no double glazing in bedrooms,they are road fronted.noisy floor boards on landing.very heavy stained bedroom carpet. outside area desperately needs sorting.the play equipment is rotting and splintering,the tables where dirty [ pressure wash ] the woodwork ramp etc falling apart,tables not level enough, but worst was i felt i was having a drink in a ashtray,never seen so many dog ends on a grassed area.

    good friendly helpful people.nice food,good selection of bar drinks.plenty of parking.roomy clean bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great dog friendly accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming very dog friendly, great location, comfortable and a lush breakfast

    Because we had two boxer dogsfound it difficult to find an appropriate accomodation the spice ship was excellent very welcoming friendly staff loved the dogs to top it off a lovely full english breakfast reccomend to anyone with dogs to stay heregood location for weymouth too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was brilliant and there was plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did smell a bit of dogs on arrival.But discovered this is a B&B that welcome dogs.People who do have pets would not notice. Also on Friday nights they have live music and the drums are very loud.We knew about this so were pleased when it finished are children still managed to sleep through it.

    The breakfast was brilliant and there was plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. There is a play area and welcome dogs. If you have family staying at the caravan park the site is behind the pub. The Spice ship Inn is also pokemon stop so my son was happy. The room was big enough for us my husband is over six foot and he didnt find the shower too small as reports in other reviews. The children had their own tv and the one for the adults. The room was a good price and included breakfast we would definetly stay again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic bit noisy as right on main road.

    Lovely and friendly staff, room was a good size with huge bed, dog friendly, also location is good. Food in pub is really good and very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Small but functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small with a noisy mascerater on the toilet / sink / shower piping. Coffee at breakfast wasn't good... also didn't really know what we were supposed to do when we came downstairs for breakfast, and no staff to greet us.

    Breakfast - Food was tasty Location - Easy to find

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Weymouth 08
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot ! No air and no fans also small window .So unable to leave doors open at night so with children not slot of sleep very tried the next day

    It was good for meals and food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.2
    Accommodation to avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff busy attending at bar on arrival. Had to wait some time for attention as they were serving customers. Accommodation has a separate entrance from the rest of the facilities. Room quite small and we were very glad that we were only staying the one night. Broken towel rail, no toilet roll holder in bathroom and the Owner was aware of this. The breakfast was not at all good. My husband was not even asked how he liked his "eggs". He likes scrambled and they came fried and were overcooked. This is a busy pub and the running of this establishment obviously takes preference over the B & B side of the business.

    The bed was large and quite comfortable. Towels, bedding, shower gel and shampoo were good quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    The room was small but comfy, the room was hot but had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic was noisy as on busy main road

    The room was small but comfy, the room was hot but had to keep the window closed at night as being on a main road the traffic was noisy although there was a fan in the room so it was ok. Breakfast was execellent although a bit of a wait as the chef was cooking and serving all on his todd. Overall for the cost this was a good choice as my son and his family were staying at the haven site so I wanted somewhere close by Would definately use again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Does what it says on the bag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been evening entertainment for children during the half term at least 1 night.

    The food was excellent, generous portions. The accommodation was perfectly sited with great transport links to and from the towns.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was tiny. The shower cubicle was the smallest I have ever seen. The heating was stuck on despite it being 25 degrees outside.

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: