Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sportsview Guest House 3 stars

106-110 Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX1 4PX, United Kingdom

#35 of 65 B&Bs and Inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 803 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was close to the street, very noisy and no barriers for daylight: impossible to rest properly. Really small beds and basic facilities. The price paid was not worth the stay.

    Excellent communication with the hotel staff. The bus stop for the center is really next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom in attic space - sloped ceiling was a bit tricky for my husband who had to bend to get to his side of the bed.

    Location, cleanliness, lovely Gluten Free breakfast, friendly hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was no more than I expected for a guest house. Furnishings were basic but were OK for a 1 night stay. Car parking was good because when I arrived there were still spaces available, otherwise there might have been a problem finding somewhere to park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the person or anything.

    We had to pay all costs up front without a choice and it wasn’t made clear that breakfast wasn’t included until after I had payed. When arrived they were not helpful. They said take it or leave it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable as it had wheels and constantly moving with your every move. Bath towels had stain and there was even a spider in the bathroom!! The heating was not working and the isolation in the room was not good as well making it really hard experience!! Also if you consider coming here in the summer time note that there is no air-conditioning but only a fan!!

    Location. Friendly greeting in the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice enough bed and breakfast. The room and hotel are clean and secure. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. Overall, I think it is a bit overpriced. But the managers were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could moan about size of bathroom but it was perfectly serviceable andcsuited our needs

    Perfect location to city Very helpful reception Room basic but serviceable everything I would expect from basic comfort room and more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little dated and could do with a refresh. Narrow staircases leading upstairs would be difficult with large luggage.

    Great location within Oxford with Free on-site parking. Had everything you needed and would expect of a hotel/B&B.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey neighbors, could hear every word they said late into the night , very unfriendly member of staff serving breakfast

    Long walk to town ,but there is abus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was low making it difficult to wash my hair...

    Enjoyed the comfortable room 6 and the view from the window! B'fast was good and the service with a smile made it special. We'll come again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well everything. Tiniest room in the whole world. Check in 5pm and check out 10am. Staff is extremely rude and arrogant. At the checkout time they came to kick us out of the room and would refuse to let us collect our stuff. Absolute rip off.

    Haha it's a joke. There is nothing to be liked abt it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to location, walking distance to the city centre. Close to The Head of the River pub. Having to be able to leave our car in the premises is very helpful. We had ensuite double bedroom on top floor. Very small but had everything we needed so it was fine but it’s a hard job getting up and down stairs with big suitcases. Liz and Kevin were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liz was extremely friendly on our arrival and at breakfast. We were able to check-in early, and she made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super SMALL room. I have trouble to turn around in side room. Room wall is super thin you could hear everything. The Wifi is super SLOW, it took me 1m to do google search.

    They have four parking spaces

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be wonderful if there were a common room or access to a yard for children.

    The room was clean, and the house was easy to find and close to downtown. The owners were friendly, and the breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is about 10-15 minutes walk to the city center and sightseening, cafes and restaurants.

    Quite good place with full English breakfast with some continental options as well, the only disappointment in it was a sausage, which was not very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road traffic was a little noisy.

    The breakfast was excellent. Location ideal - easy walk into the city centre and l could park the car off the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more parking options.

    No nonsense, good bed for the night, and great service. A decent sized tasty breakfast, and all served with a smile. The hosts went out of their way to provide for us, and all regardless of the fact that the chef had just come back from an operation the day before! Many thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and the location was perfect. We were able to leave our car there for a little longer after checking out which was so helpful, thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water at all from 8am to 10am checkout. Standard response was "everyone must have showered at the same time, wait 20 mins and try again"

    Great for walking access into town centre. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little removed from the center. 15/20 min. Once we showered in the morning and had to finish with cold water. A bit expensive for a bed and breakfast.

    Apart from the aforementioned the stay has been good and staff was friendly. English breakfast acceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small details could need a bit of upgrade or renovation, but that is not a major point and strips nothing off the charme of this place.

    A very neat B&B with charme and kind and friendly owner. Location is not central, but still excellent - it takes about 10 minutes nice walk into the very centre. WiFi works just perfect. Our room was not too large but cozy, bed allows for good sleeping, and it was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been better presented and laid out e.g. pictures on the wall. Just an inch of hand wash left in The bottle. The kettle had to be put on the floor to reach the plug socket. The room looked old and tired.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet room at the top of the house. Linen and towels lovely but possibly bed starting to show its age (rolling towards middle). Great friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached eggs watery on the plate so we had fried the next day which were lovely. Maybe put them on kitchen roll before the plate.

    The breakfast choice was really good good. The bedrooms were clean and well equipped with tea making facilities and hair dryer. Very friend owners. It’s about a 12 minute walk into the centre but buses stop right outside. I would highly recommend this B&B

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    only down side was the car parking - a little tight

    Staff - really welcoming and helpful The breakfast- accommodating extra family members at short notice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in the room was a little too small for how far away it is from the bed, couldnt see it. A Minor point as didnt go for the TV!

    Went to watch a show at local theatre thus wanted something in reasonable proximity. Local was good, small carpark in the back but all flood light at night when you walk close so no issues. Location is absolutely spotless, I have no idea how they can keep it so clean, its better than most high end hotels. Owners super accomidating, gave us a map on arrival and told us the highlights of Oxford. They also offered to order us a taxi, all came on time. Breakfast the next morning is all freshly made to order, no request was a problem. The owners make the location, they were really friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd visit and would stay there again. Very nice couple and accommodation very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television could have been bigger, shower-lukewarm, and shower head positioned wrongly however, manager said would look into it when mentioned and was helpful during our stay!

    Within 15 minute walk to the town centre. Good parking facility. Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has great hosts and is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Oxford. It has on Sight parking and everything was spotless. The room was not large but plenty of room for 2.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs to the top floor where our room was.

    An easy walk to the old city. Loved oxford. Was a little difficult to find when first arrived and thus the taxi but that only cost 5-6 pound.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in a great part of the city and we walked to and from the hotel. Parking is small but we arrived at 10am and the car park was empty. At reception i was greeted by a friendly face so felt welcomed. Great place stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Had a lovely Saturday night stay here with a friend I'd not seen for years! Very welcoming - let us check in and park early. Fantastic location - 10 mins walk from city centre. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one minor fault, not enough milk for tea. We both had a cup upon arrival and another before retiring but none left for morning cuppa.

    Very welcoming upon arrival and advised us of a discount at a local restaurant which taken up. Room was clean, tidy and a comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, dirty towel left from previous guest still in bathroom. Unable to control heat temperature. Owner was quite abrupt

    Breakfast was very nice as was staff member serving .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All a little tired. Overall adequate rather than good. Bed hard but room a reasonable size. We had no problem parking but I suspect it would be a problem at a busier time - limited places. Trying to find somewhere else to park would be a problem.

    In a fairly good position - view across Queens playing fields. A 20 min walk into the centre. Breakfast ok. Room a reasonable size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase is narrow and steep, not suitable for family with elderly. You could not climb the stairs with the luggage beside you, the luggage had to be in front or behind of you. The walls maybe thin. When we checked in at 9pm, the neighbour room was unhappy with the reasonable noise the 4 of us created while climbing the narrow stairs and struggling with our luggage. Parking was not sufficient, but luckily we got a spot on the street just outside the parking area.

    Good english breakfast, cooked on the spot and bread toasted on the spot, with a spread of cereal and milk. Friendly staff, owner could accommodate our late check-in at 9pm. Space in the 4-person room was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an attic room and kept bumping our heads on the ceiling

    Clean and comfy. Close to the centre. Nice breakfast and friendly and helpful people running the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the property was in an excellent location for my husband and I as we like to walk. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the cost, I would have expected a far better bathroom. It was not dirty, it was just shabby with pieces missing from the door and really old facilities. Too expensive for what it offers I am afraid.

    Quite generous breakfast size. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. It was within walking distance to the town centre and there was even a bus service available. The location was quiet yet safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly basic and smallish room.

    Friendly husband/wife team in charge. Good advice about locality with maps without having to ask. Short walk to centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and gloomy along the hotel corridors and stairways. Very difficult parking area. Small room with thin walls.

    Breakfast staff were chatty and friendly. Excellent location close to Oxford centre. Room has some good facilities but rather cheaply done.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flow, lots of steps in case you have heavy luggage for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms

    Great location with on-site parking and 10 minutes walk from city center. Hospitality and support of the team

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spoke to the manager the day before to request a space in the car park for our car as we were arriving early and wanted to go off asap. He not only said that was fine with a prompt reply but the next day he let us check in early!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location, and the quaintness of the accommodation. We were in a family room that was at the top of 4 flights of stairs, but we really liked it! Also the host/owner made up a travel breakfast for 4 for us on the day we checked out as we had to leave before 5am. Very much appreciated. Walking distance to Oxford centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A family room is tiny: two beds and a table with one chair, not even a microwave.

    Although breakfast is the same every day, I liked yogurt and poached eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything not to like, it's more than adequate and if you go there expecting the ritz then more fool you !!

    I've stayed here a number of times now and it's perfect for our needs. I didn't rate the view as good because it's a house on a busy road so there's nothing to look at, it's out of anyone's control and it didn't impact on our stay. Oxford is a beautiful city and staying at the sportsview allows me to visit every year. The owners are incredibly accommodating and where possible they ensure that you get parked and don't get blocked in !! They also allow you to leave your car for a few hours after you have checked out, in case you want to pop back into Oxford before you head home. It's clean, tidy, comfortable, reasonably priced with a lovely breakfast, what more can you ask for !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tight but that was clear in advance on the reviews. Owner helped us out getting out.

    Lovely staff, simple check in process. Nice breakfast. Comfortable room with very good beds. Super clean. Coffee and bikkkies in the room. Well run streamlined establishment in a very handy location. Staff were very friendly to our kids.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could have been a problem because it can only take seven vehicles but we were lucky enough to grab the last space!

    Very comfortable room, clean and tidy. Staff excellent and very friendly, breakfast good value for money. Have stayed before under previous ownership but the new people are better!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front bedroom was slightly noisy with the traffic, so a rear room may be better.

    Good clean guest house, slightly tired in terms of bathrooms but it is an old building and in spite of that its very clean, especially the breakfast room, they also have top marks food hygiene rating of 5 which is excellent. the couple who run the place are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The parking is a bit of a squeeze but adequate and you can always leave your keys with Kevin the manager and park blocking other cars if spaces are limited (which we didn't need to do) Location is very good, it only took us about 10 minutes to walk into the main tourist areas. There are also a few good pubs and restaurant's on the way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and no lift. We were up two sets of stairs +those to front door. Room hot at night in summer. Some problems with shower drainage and car parking very limited.

    Great walking distance from Oxford City Centre. We walked everywhere. Great bus service to places everywhere. Staff friendly, good breakfast. Rooms small but adequate. No traffic noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small, but well equipped. Our window overlooked a wall but it made no difference to our stay

    Our hosts were accommodating and very friendly, without being overpowering. The facilities were spotless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 basement rooms, and both rooms smelled extremely musty and moldy and almost sewer like. The floor felt very damp. I actually had to sleep with my noise covered. Very expensive for what it was.

    Loved the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Bedroom clean with compact en-suite, TV and tea/ coffee making facilities and also complimentary water. Amazing breakfast with full buffet choice and full English with unlimited toast and tea/coffee. All within 15 minute walk to Oxford city centre. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More actual hospitality without the bothered attitude. Attempts to please their customers would be nice. They don't have enough parking spaces for the numbers of customers cars which created some annoyance on the part of the owner who didn't seem to appreciate juggling parked cars in their too-small back lot. If this bothers the proprietors, they need to get a bigger car park or get out of the business altogether. Also, the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly on a daily basis.

    The breakfast was decent and the owners were pleasant and willing to provide a good breakfast, however the time they set aside for breakfast was a bit too early and they were a bit pushy to get us out of the breakfast room. They are in the hospitality business yet they seemed bothered by us when we had requests or needed some extra time. We were traveling with our autistic teenage son, and things don't always go as planned. Maybe they don't particularly like Americans, but they can't exactly put out a sign that says Americans not wanted, so they may as well try to please American customers too. Just a guess, but American customers may have different expectations than other travelers. We were certainly not expecting a 4 or 5 star lodging experience, but I don't think our overall expectations are unreasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that there wasn't a lift. I understand that as it's an older property this has proved difficult, however does that mean there's no provision for the disabled? DID NOT APPRECIATE BEING CHARGED DOUBLE FOR A PRIVATE HIRE TAXI BECAUSE WE HAD "TOO MUCH LUGGAGE !" An unpleasant memory of an otherwise memorable short stay.

    Owners really friendly and helpful. Older property so no lift and as we had added on our stay in Oxford to another trip and had a lot of luggage found the entrance steps and the stairs to our room pretty difficult. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast served, thank you. The location is really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from tourist facilities.

    Friendly staff. There are two restaurants, one within 7 minutes walk, and another one within 10-15 minutes walk. In front of the premise is a field, where many vans stop by there for a night or two.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in shower very low - very difficult to shower properly. House is a bit of a rabbit warren.

    Convenient location, but lots of traffic noise. Breakfast was good, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude, I was unable to change my booking, the room was dirty, and the cleaning staff could not even change the towels when asked.

    There were enough beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful about the car park. I got blocked in by other guests who were no longer in the hotel and had a bit of a job getting out. Breakfast ok, but only instant coffee and cooked breakfast - bacon and sausages not very crispy

    Good location. One mile walk from Oxford centre but very frequent buses from just outside the hotel. Friendly owners Bedroom comfortable Wifi good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small and difficult car park - but proprietor helped to squeeze my car into a spot that I wouldn't have believed was big enough!

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from the road as we were at thr front of the building, but this was unavoidable due to location, the windows had been double glazed Functional rather than beautiful but met our needs and handy to walk into Oxford centre, we got a taxi from train station as late arriving.

    We had a large twin room simply furnished.Very clean and firm beds. Staff were friendly. Walking distance into central Oxford

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of stairs. We were up 3 flights of stairs. It was a bit of a battle with luggage but once there our room was great. If you have any physical handicaps you may need to make sure you're at the lowest level.

    We were welcomed by Elizabeth and she let us into our room early and was very friendly. We could walk easily into the centre of oxford. Our room was comfortable and spacious enough for the 4 of us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was 10am, a bit brutal Breakfast was good, the dining room pretty but it cost an additional $8:00.

    The room I had was a double with two beds and an en suite toilet. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liz and Kevin are AMAZING hosts. They are super friendly and helpful, with amazing attitude to solve any issue. They even printed my boarding pass for the airplane on short notice, though Kevin was busy attending breakfast! So, amazing attitude both of them! The breakfast is awesome, fresh made! And the room was nice, with all things required for a very comfortable stay! Also is very easy to get to the center from here, impossible to get lost! So everything perfect! I would totally recommend this guesthouse 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing but the guesthouse has so many doors.

    We stayed the guesthouse for two nights with a small group and everything is perfect, even though the room conditions are old but the whole house are old so its not a problem. Room sizes might be smaller of the top floor rooms but still enough space for two adults

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The proprietors of the Sportsview Guest House were DELIGHTFUL !! Kevin and Ms. Elizabeth were charming, friendly, and most helpful. This property was conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Oxford and the University; bus stop nearby; nice breakfasts. Proprietors got us taxi service to places we needed. Overall -- EXCELLENT !! We enjoyed our visit !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature fluctuated quite a bit.

    Really friendly staff and very accommodating. Good breakfast and excellent location. Would definitely recommend- good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of been better, the quality of the food was very basic. The male owner could do with working on his people's skills, he was who greeted us. As front of house maybe his partner should be as she appeared to be more of a people's person than him.

    Room was clean and beds comfy enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit of a rabbit warren - it's a couple of large houses joined together - but then I suppose that's part of the charm. A little dated but clean, warm and comfortable.

    nice friendly staff - excellent location - maybe a 20minute stroll into Oxford centre - very nice breakfast, served with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The portion of cooked breakfast was a little on the small side. This may be because we had the vegetarian option. As a builder, my husband is used to eating breakfast in 'working men's cafes' so that is what he gauges the size of his plate by.

    The room was very clean, and we also unexpectedly had our room cleaned during our 2 night stay. We only spoke to Kevin, but he was pleasant and helpful, especially giving us tips on how to get to the city centre and the best way to see the sights on foot, and where to park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power of water in the shower-we couldn't really wash our hair with comfort; sliding-rolling beds(?)

    Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.very good,filling breakfast, good selection of food.Good walking distance from all touristic attractions.was nice there was some tea/coffee in the room,as we completely forgot to bring some,even if we knew there will be a kettle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room n°3 too small vacuum cleaner to be more frequent

    Kind welcome from staff . Car park English beakfast very tasty 1/4 hour walking from town center and colleges . Clean Sanitary room .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room for 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard and springy

    Very welcoming, keen to help staff. Good breakfast. Very helpful with car and bikes parking. Easy to walk into Oxford and all sites

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very small, lot of steps to rooms, overall decoration is a bit run-down

    hosts very helpful, breakfasts very good, room was clean, easy walk in to Oxford

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: