Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Spread Eagle Hotel 3 stars

16/17 Cornmarket, Thame., Thame, OX9 2BW, United Kingdom

#8 of 8 hotels in Thame

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 285 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lovely welcome and comfort throughout in this historic coaching inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff from the minute we checked in right through to requesting a peppermint teabag at bedtime! Boutique comfort in the main hotel and our room was quaint and comfy in the older part of this historic building. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    great place and very good location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!! All great

    I asked for an early breakfast as I was competing in a race nearby and had to leave early, and it was delivered to our door-great service! The staff in the hotel reception and the bar/restaurant were all friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room for toilets either in public toilets or in the en suite There was no room whatever between the wall one side and the bath the other side not quite sure it would conform to health and safety requirements.

    Food, comfort location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    So close to being excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning in the rooms was a let down, especially given the heat during our July stay. The breakfast was of very average quality, as were the bathroom toiletries. There is a big disparity in the quality of rooms. Whilst my room was beautiful, my friend, who had paid the same price as me had a frankly horrible room, until she was swapped because we complained.

    The room was very tastefully decorated and exceptionally the clean. The view and doors onto the balcony were lovely. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient when moving my friend. The in room fridges were hrlpful and the bath was andolutely lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely ensuite room and bed, beautiful location, poor breakfast. You pay for car park. Good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not very good. Coffee and bread for toast ran out both days, omelette dry and next day, (avoiding omelette) we went for English breakfast and had to scrape fried egg off the bottom burnt bit it was so overcooked! Friend found poached egg ok. We thought it was overpriced and we had to pay for the carpark which we did not expect at a hotel car park.

    Receptionist great. Room very pleasant and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    The Spread Eagle, Thame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hayloft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the cooked breakfasts were good, tea has to be made with a flask of (not very) hot water in a cup & not boiling water in a teapot. The coffee was also in a flask and very weak. Even having a Nespresso machine or a cafetière would have been much better. The fruit at breakfast is tinned. Some more toiletries (body lotion, bigger soap bar and some tissues) in the rooms would be nice. My room was dark, as was the bathroom, which had four LED light bulbs, each with a different intensity and colour of whiteness. The well-used towels could do with be renewed.

    Good location. Lovely receptionists and breakfast staff. Clean. Good cooked breakfast (see below).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Room was spacious and romantically decorated.
    • Group
    • Hayloft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a dark room when the pictures I chose it on were really light and had double doors onto garden. Lights were broken and told reception but not fixed. Fire alarm went off at 12.30 am waking baby. Everything looked nice in the bathroom but was so flimsy and shoddily installed when you got close.

    Room was spacious and romantically decorated. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    A good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the eggs at breakfast tasted off so didn't have them second morning. Apart from that breakfast selection was good.

    Room was comfortable and bathroom modern overlooking high street but was not noisy. In centre of Thame and could walk to restaurants. Good large car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, perfect for the event that we were attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a problem in being unable to stay on the second night we booked through Booking.com I told the receiption as soon as we arrived and he said he would speak to manager. The next day we were told we would have to pay the second night, as we should have cancelled direct with Booking. Com. If reception had told us this the day before we would have saved the money that we had to pay.

    The room was very clean, particularly the bathroom. The bed linen was of high quality and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was excellent in a very beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    It was all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all excellent. Couldn't find the car park and couldn't work out the lights by the bed. Apart from that all very good. We will come again. It's a shame you don't allow well behaved dogs in the garden rooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly expensive hotel £140 per night, which did not include breakfast. Room was very basic and noisy, so I did not get much sleep. Staff were not attentive and seemed more interested in talking to each other, than serving their customers.

    The hotel was very close to our offices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great location, beautiful room, extremely clean and comfortable! Second time visiting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been added was a mini fridge. We was travelling with a baby and needed a fridge for her milk. However the staff were so helpful and put it in a fridge for us.

    The room was beautiful and extremely clean! Beds were comfortable. Staff were very helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Booking and contact didn't work well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't get a respond to our request for staying 3 persons in 1 room instead of 2 rooms. However they have just changed it to a 1 room with an extra bed, so we got it when we showed up :-). Unfortunately when we got into the room we experienced problems with the electricity and the flush :-( , so we were moved to twin rooms, and promised to get the one room as complimentary. Nice, clean twin rooms rooms :-) - but the shower in one of them were not functioning well :-/ When we checked out we were charged our originally booking (2 rooms), and told that it was because we haven't cancelled the one room?! (But why should we have done that, when we didn't know they have moved us into 1 room??!). We were on vacation and I didn't want to take the discussion, so we ended up with paying for both rooms - despite the problems with moving around, and having been promised to get one complimentary because of the inconvinience.

    Good location. Prober hotel. Very helpfull receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with comfortable room and friendly staff. They accommodated our request for an early check-in which we really appreciated too. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Although marketed as a quality hotel it was all pretty average overall. Nothing memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in the bathroom was almost touching the side of the bath. Too cramped between the wall and the bath. Room was described as a courtyard room but it overlooked a side alley with steps up to the back of the adjoining property's flat. Not a courtyard. Very dark room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Comfort and assistance beyond what might be expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was extremely comfortable. Unfortunately I was a little unwell on the Sunday morning but the staff couldn't do enough to help me. The event I was attending was held at the Spread Eagle (an 80th birthday party), and so I had everything at my finger tips.A very family friendly atmosphere, all in all a fantastic experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location. Comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hayloft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The saniflow system and the sanitation bin in the bathroom was off putting. Also the roll top bath faced the corner of the room so a little disappointed.

    The bed was lovely and comfy. We were attending a wedding so perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot , couldn't open windows, very dirty , dressing table had large chip leaving a sharp edge. All hotel could do with decorating and cleaning

    Staff lovely, food good , service outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable with a friendly service throughout. I was able to check in earlier as requested althougr
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was not carpeted which was a litttle unusual but kind of understandable I guess!

    It was a particularly cold day/night and as the radiator was on all night it was particularly beneficial!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice place, shame about the bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was pretty plain and unwelcoming. The bed was a single with an old spring matress, and the likes of which you would expect to pick up at a car boot sale for £20. Not acceptable to have beds like that in hotels these days.

    Nice hotel right in the centre, with a good bar and restaurant. Friendly staff and a cool reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Lovely omelette for breakfast;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful TV reception; it 's been 30 years since I couldn't get decent reception on BBC2!

    Lovely omelette for breakfast; staff were vey pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.3
    A miserable experience never to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff were surly they only cleared a table for me to sit at on my second request. The noise levels were unbearable - as the walls were paper thin so heard guests returning at 1am, 2am and everything the guest next door did plus the night manager talking loudly on the phone from 3 am to 5 am. The cleaners then used hoovers at 7am on a Sunday morning

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several areas of hotel need refurbishment

    Spacious bedroom, friendly staff, quirky rambling building, large comfortable bed and large bathroom with great shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Good, but could have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was slightly dirty and the decor was dated. Breakfast could have been better as staff didn't seem to have much time to tend to the customers due to being understaffed.

    Although it was 2 single beds pushed together, the bed was comfy. The bathroom was nicely done and clean, however the shower could have been more powerful - was a bit of a dribble at times! Staff we're great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    The location of the hotel was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included in the price. It took over 10 minutes to get seated and after nearly 45 minutes a member of staff asked whether our order had been taken yet.

    The location of the hotel was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    We needed to be in Thame so this hotel fitted the bill as it was convenient and central.
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan didn't work in bathroom (reported), general feeling of shabbiness in room. Disappointed by instant coffee at breakfast.

    Good size room with comfortable bed. Very convenient location in the centre of Thame. Garden room was quiet as promised. Good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant a lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy, bathroom was lovely & had a bath, brilliant. Breakfast was great. We eat in hotel in evening, meal was very good & great value. Looking forward to our next visit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Have stayed in this quirky, elegant establishment often, and will do so again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reason for no top mark for the usually excellent restaurant is....breakfast on 27th was a disaster because sufficient staff were NOT TO HAND. Only two, very efficient, yet rightly harassed lasses, on duty for what looked like a full house. An obvious case of poor UPPER MANAGEMENT!!

    Nice room overlooking the High Street. Spotless bed/bathroom linen. Staff very helpful, cheerful and efficient. Superb cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to have a pot of tea for breakfast. Only Luke warm water in a flask and a tea bag! Parking should be free to hotel guests

    Location and able to park out the back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.2
    Plenty of other options locally surely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival you need to pay £3 for parking , not the end of the world but annoying when un expected and you have no change . Checking in I asked if there were irons in the room, I was given an iron and a board at reception with all my bags and no offer for help. The iron then didn’t work , so I had to return for another which in turn was extremely poor so I gave up. Come to have a shower, the shower didn’t work, the maintenance guy come who had a look and said if it doesn’t work run the tap in the sink. Still didn’t work. Very un impressed Wallpaper was hanging off the wall The tv has an indoor Ariel so if you stand in the right place with your leg out the window you might get a channel if your lucky . Wasn’t impressed and won’t be returning

    The location was great for what I needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.5
    Pleasant hotel,great location,good food and very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The muddle with the rooms at the beginning.On booking we were given a garden room but when we arrived we were on the second floor .Aswe are in our eighties this is difficult.We changed to a garden room and went out. When we came back the room had been give to someone else.It could have been very embarrassing if any one had been in the room.We finally got out room which we enjoyed.

    Breakfast exellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    The queuing and waiting were disappointing, and weak shower is really annoying. Otherwise food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took ages to get a table for breakfast (Sunday morning) which was a shame. Shower needs upgrading - weak and disappointing. Reception desk was very busy with only one member of staff manning the desk.

    Cooked breakfast. Bar was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Suited our purpose but nothing memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It all needs a lick of paint. Breakfast was slow; slow to be seated, slow to take order, had to ask where our food was after ordering as it took so long. When it arrived it was fine - not bad, not great. OK.

    Bed was comfortable, location in the heart of Thame was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    A very good place for the wedding but wouldn't recommend staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything from other rooms.Walls are very thin and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and squeaky. The shower wasn't Very good. Took along time to heat up and was only a dribble when at full power. Very overpriced for what we had. Style over substance

    Looked very good for the occasion and staff very helpfull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Lovely staff; surrounds poor in terms of price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unasked for early call by way of early morning delivery to hotel. The bed was only alright and there was a damp musty feel in the room.

    Staff were efficient and friendly. They were easy to communicate with. When an item was requested it was in my room in a matter of minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Ok but overpriced for the standard of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was one of the old ones and the windows are rotten. It was quite a small room but adequate for one night. The bathroom was very cold as the glass in the window had been cut too short. See the attached photo. Good radiators were a big comfort in this situation.

    The location, the parking and the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay. Great location in town centre. I would stay again and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks in bathroom to hang towels / dressing . A must to have a few hooks in bathroom/ room.

    Bathroom was spotless. Sink water pressure wasn't brilliant. Breakfast very good and plentiful. Bedding was good quality? Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been bigger, two armchairs maybe, we had one with stains on. Bed ok but wardrobe dated, wallpaper scuffed.

    Excellent position in this lovely town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and quiet, private rooms with comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived our shower wasn't working. We were in a rush to get out to a party and so the staff quickly and easily changed our room for us so we didn't have to wait. This was really appreciated. The beds were comfy and it was nice and quiet despite the central Thame location. Very helpful staff booked taxis for us to get to the party and station the next day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    A very good overnight stay to break up a long journey north.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just what I`ve mentioned above.

    The staff were very efficient and friendly and the bedroom quiet and spacious. The bathroom was well appointed and beautifully tiled. The only problem was walking outside to get into the restaurant - not good when it`s raining!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Noisy and hot. Unimpressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot and incredibly noisy at night. We heard what sounded like a trolley being moved about in the early hours. This meant keeping the windows shut all night making the room too hot. There was no fan and no heating controls. Finally, no socket by the bed to charge a phone.

    The bed was comfy and the room looked nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The stay was nice apart from the door being banged on at silly o clock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had someone bang our door at 10.50pm saying they were from reception. We were two woman who were scared to answer the door. Tried ringing reception 3 times no answer. This man at the door seemed unknown to staff the next morning. No refund or explanation was offered on our departure.

    The garden room was really cosy and very very clean. the bathroom was sparlking. Tea coffee and sugar supplied . And the continental breakfast was beautiful and fresh .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced for the room ad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very small, took a long time to arrive and was not worth waiting for. The floor was uneven, paint flaking on the bathroom windows, grouting missing in the tiles of the bathroom floor.

    the bed was comfortable and the room was big enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Lovely hotel but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny and sink and shower didn't drain. Toilet not in good working order. Remote control missing and no replacement found. Tatty carpet

    Comfy bed, cosy, nice bar, lovely location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Mostly enjoyable!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have hot water for my bath.... Apparently it can be temperamental and you have to wait and try again later - not ideal, especially as we weren't told that until we questioned the situation at reception. They also ran out of hot water at breakfast, so I couldn't have a second cup of tea - had to go back to my room to boil the kettle!

    Lovely location and many delightful staff. Comfortable bed, and nice to have a garden outside the window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    Not a whole lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival paying £119 I would of expected to be able to check in a take my key even if the room was not ready. I also wanted to leave my bag as I was on my way to a wedding. They seemed unhelpful and I had to check in at 1am... Not ideal. The room is dated for the money spent.

    Not a whole lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.9
    Don't stay hear unless only choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and inattentive. Took ages to be served and food quality was poor, especially for the price. Hotel was filthy and with damaged facades / tiles in the room

    Bed was comfy. Only good thing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is a lovely period building with a modern decor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given it's age the floorboards were very noisy walls quite thin & based on a busy road.

    Hotel is a lovely period building with a modern decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Would go back as ideal location for my office
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment for car parking this should be included in the rate or added to the bill. Machine was not working

    The location was ideal for me, Restuarant was good car park machine not working and after spending a good 30 minutes finding cash machines and sorting change was frustrating in the rain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need modernising, no air con, fan provided if you went and asked. Couldn't open windows as there is a drum and base night club downstairs which is very loud until approx 2am. Not suitable for families or anyone who wants a good nights sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Historic comfortable hotel with good food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had clearer signs for the car park, but there may be a planning issue here. We never found out what all the light switches did. En suite bathroom needs a bit of finishing Could have had more staff at breakfast eg for serving coffee and driving the toast machine.

    Character of the building. Helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. The room was a "suite" on two floors. Though we only had a small late supper the cooking was excellent, as was the breakfast cooking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.0
    very poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our shower had to be cleaned by housekeeping before we could use it very dirty even the housekeeper was horrified. No apology from receptionist or duty manager when I complained about dirty shower tray.

    Bar staff very pleasnt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Lovely hotel but needs more detailed attention from all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tables outside our garden room were dirty and the ashtray obviously hadn't been emptied in ages!

    Lovely old building. Very quiet room at the back of the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again - but could equally try elsewhere. Potential to be great - but not there yet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom decor not quite up to the promise of the public areas. Hotel Reception staff (arrival and departure) were professional and sufficiently courteous but I wouldn't go as far as to say notably warm of welcoming - a definite 'no-frills' experience. Food was good but not notably so - several items not available - dinner and breakfast (how is a man supposed to start his day without black-pudding and hash browns!)

    Public spaces are spacious and elegantly furnished and decorated - calm and relaxing. Restaurant staff very amiable and professional over dinner - barman and waitress.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Reception staff were very helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had poor water pressure and tricky temperature control (got it to the right temp through the bath taps, switched the feed to shower and temperature went to very hot. No face towels; tiny plastic 'water' cups. Bottled tap water was provided, but only on request and not replenished the next day. The weather was very hot, so the room was very warm and as we were on the ground floor not happy about leaving windows open; air con would be a huge improvement. No safe in the room. Booking direct with the hotel they confirmed 'our best rate' room but this was lots more than booking through booking.com so I cancelled the direct booking. I thought it was misleading of them to state this on their confirmation. I rang to enquire about this but my call was not returned. Check around for the best deal, and don't assume you'll get it direct from the hotel.

    Reception staff were very helpful; very conveniently located for town centre. Didn't try the breakfast as it was not good on the previous visit, so it may have improved since then.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice facility, but a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility was a bit pricey compared to other places that we stayed at.

    The breakfast was fabulous, the dining room was elegant and the staff were attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    Poor value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given the smallest double room in the hotel which had seen better days. The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and the bathroom tap was shaky. The walls were scuffed and needed repainting. I could go on. It was a shabby neglected room that should not be rented out to guests paying £120 per night. The staff weren't very accommodating. There was no flexibility on the check in time even though we explained that we had to be at a wedding at the check in time. They couldn't be bothered to find out which rooms had already been serviced so we could check in a bit earlier. I can't believe all rooms are cleaned and ready at the exact same time. You can imagine then our disappointment when we finally checked in in the early evening to find a shabby room you couldn't swing a cat in! We were going to stay at the Travelodge up the road and I wish we had.

    The breakfast was of a good standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the price until they refurb and have some customer service training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't stay in room 17- not only is it tiny, you have to squeeze around the bed to get to the other side of the room, but it is at the front of the hotel by the very busy high street, and the double glazing looks like it's from the 70s and is pretty inefficient. This wouldn't be too bad if the room wasn't also directly on the main staircase which is very creaky and noisy and where people like to stand chatting at all hours. I didn't get any good sleep at all. The hotel itself is fine but very tired, in dire need of a deep clean and refurbishment. (The staircase carpet was awful and coming away at the edges and not in a shabby chic way, in a "dear god change this disgusting carpet" way). There was some rubbish by the edge of the staircase that was there for my entire 2 day stay. The breakfast was adequate as long as you aren't avoiding carbs and fried food. I asked for poached eggs but only managed to eat a little... Very average hotel breakfast- some more fresh (not tinned) cut fruit and maybe some yoghurts for those not eating greasy (cold) bacon would have been good... The second morning I had a cup of (cool) filter coffee and left. Fresh hot coffee to order can't take much more effort and would definitely give the whole experience a boost. The restaurant staff were fine although quite ineffectual, but the reception staff could both have been a little warmer and more friendly. On arrival, when there is no one else around, looking up as soon as I walk in with a smile is much better than eventually looking up and asking in a bored voice "checking in?" When I was asked if my stay was good, I don't think anyone has ever not said yes, because when I explained I had been woken by people by my room at 0645 (I had been hoping for a little bit of a lie in) she just looked shifty and avoided eye contact for the rest of our encounter. Very odd behaviour.

    The name is awesome. That's about it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay from start to finish. I was in the area for a wedding so didn't see many local sites. Parking is reasonable and convenient at only £3 / 24 hours. I was offered a free upgrade on my room - brilliant service as they of course didn't have to do this! Garden view was pleasant. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Convenient stop over of M40
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms comfortable but tired with interesting plumbing. Guess it was relatively expensive as commutable to London. Needs some TLC and refurbishment for this cost.

    Good location in centre of Thame

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    A Happy weekend had by all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor in some places and poor room preparation in original bedroom offered.

    Friendly welcome and swift efficient service when asking for a room change. Superb breakfast served by Happy staff. Location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was small. No hook on bathroom door to hang clothes/towels. No wall hand rail to assist getting in and out of deep bath. (Had to call wife to help) No stool to sit on in bathroom. Trickle of water only, from cold tap.

    Bed was very comfy. Evening meal and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Friendly hotel, great position - but pick your room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, single bed. I stayed in one of the Garden Rooms before, and the room this time was disappointing in comparison.

    Lovely breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Great position - handy for The Belfry conference facility and the Oxford area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised!
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in restaurant is lovely.The separate accomodation block I was in was a little dowdy. Not so great that you had to walk outdoors to get to restaurant. Not great access to rooms which were up some stairs for wheelchair users:didnt see any kind of a lift in my block.

    Staff were excellent in sorting out some special requirements I had with the bed. Excellent in reception and also in restaurant. Best range of breakfast I have ever had in a hotel.Clean and warm room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Room 17 very small but over all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small - approx 11inches at end of bed . staff were not interested in that matter. Room above bar - bit noisy

    All lovely, decor beautiful , drinks great, bed very comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    just a great weekend nice hotel pubs and restaurants nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold weather just a great

    just a great weekend pubs and restaurants in area very nice lovely market town just very cold but it is winter would come again in the summer

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.7
    Good in parts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in desperate need of refurbishment - decor looks over 30 years old - v v tired. Uncomfortable bed - it was small and not pocket sprung mattress, so the whole bed heaved and swayed every time one of us moved (and we are not big or overweight)! Bathroom freezing cold, despite radiator turned to full. 'Hair dryer' in bathroom is one of those old fashioned fixed to wall types that is little bettter than standing in a warm breeze. Fire alarm went off, waking us up at 11:45pm and sounded for some time but it was never made clear whether it was a real fire or a false alarm. Chaotic and casual approach to evacuation could have resulted in fatalities if this had been an actual fire. We were later told it was due to someone smoking in their room. However we know from past experience that being woken by the fire alarm during the night is a common occurrence at this hotel

    Handy location, great breakfast. Front of house (reception, bar, restaurant) well presented

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.3
    Rooms were old and chatty bed was comfortable but very very basic bathroom was 1980 style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was intermittent so I could not plan my following days work

    restaurant food was well presented very thin on the ground with staff two people looking after 40 plus behind bar taking orders delivering food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.7
    Not worth what was paid ab
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and one of the lights by the side of the bed didn't work. The bed was two single beds pushed together and the head board wasn't attached, which doesn't help when you are trying for a baby.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.4
    Stains on carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stains on carpet. Garden door open on arrival and difficult to close.Room not very warm. No information in room on how to contact reception, time of check out or location of breakfast room. No toilet rollShower had very low pressure and unable to use shower hose..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.3
    Bedroom is poor but every other aspect is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE BEDROOM Yes it's an old building but the decor doesn't need to be old! Ashtray on bathroom wall? Lino - ancient! Bed to small, to soft. Carpet underfoot very old. To much very dark old furniture in the room making the room dark itself. Sound of some electrical thing all night plus the corridor floorboards are the sweakiest ever with people walking by! Very low ceiling to be expected but sign on side of wall should be overhead of the ceiling! It a nice room.

    Food - excellent Staff were very helpful. Communal areas are lovely. Location brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Great old world hotel with some old world problems!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room at night (ticking pipes/generators kicking in). Painfully slow cold water supply through bathroom taps. Reception lady not caring much when we told her of these issues, more interested in shoving the bill under our nose to pay.

    Great location. Old world feel. Brand new bathroom suite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    6.7
    The Hotels position, and the bed was comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. The bacon was burnt, and I wasn't sure wether to put mustard or marmalade on the sausage.

    The Hotels position, and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location, rooms in need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired , bathrooms very tired and cold in spite of radiator on full blast.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Perfect location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    5.8
    Good location but unfortunately not matched in value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Town Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cheap furnishing in the bedrooms. Restaurant very dark with poor outlook. Breakfast slow, luke warm and over cooked eggs and undercooked toast.

    Good sized rooms and location within the town

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: