Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The St David's Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Havannah Street, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, CF10 5SD, United Kingdom

#13 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4805 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Sterile, crisp and efficient.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not in the slightest cosy. The reception area is bleak. Very much a business hotel.

    A perfectly fine hotel. Clean, welcoming, lovely pool and in a convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, comfortable hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking is very limited and expensive. Should be free. Other hot options at breafast could be flagged up/offered. Lack of a lounge, somewhere cool and quiet to read. Afternoon vegan tea a little dry.

    The room. The air conditioning. The atrium. The helpful staff. The location. Evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    Wasn't what I expected at all very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On arrival to the hotel I felt as if I was being looked down on then my room was lovely but the double bed was appoling the mattress was to single mattress so split in the middle with have us a horrible night sleep then went down for breakfast to be served with pink sausages

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    It was lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC was not so cold but also not so bad

    I liked the view, it was very nice , when we arrived the reception staff was so nice and we did the check in quickly, the breakfast was good but it would be better if till 11 , the room is so clean with nice sent , bathroom very clean with lovely sent and all the products from the white company and the room service also fast and nice .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    For some reason we were upgraded at no extra cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    For some reason we were upgraded at no extra cost. A very pleasant surprise. The staff are helpful and friendly. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.5
    Overall my stay was satisfactory - same excellent comfort and staff but little failings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not as good as it had been on past visits - no idea how they managed to get the bacon to taste like that but please stop! Also had to go in search of toast and croissants.

    The views from my seventh floor room's balcony were incomparable. The staff were helpful on all occasions and the surrounding area is a joy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable weekend break to recharge the batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we first arrived we felt that the hotel looked a "bit tired" from the outside, giving the wrong first impression. However was very plush inside and easy on the eye.

    We found the hotel very pleasant with an excellent upgrade on our room, making the stay even more impressive. The location was excellent with all the amenities close at hand. What's good enough for the England cricket team is good enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    location of the Hotel the views from the room, the staff everything really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole approach from the delayed readiness of our room, to information regarding the facilities available and the knowledge of disruptions that were applicable due to the cycle racing in Cardiff and the food festival. The breakfast food was first class as was the afternoon tea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed comfortable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is limitedand extra cost but was aware of that before booking. Breakfast was good but not of quality expected at hotel of this status

    Great decor very helpful staff .Good spacious room fantastic view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast and breakfast room. It was too hot in there. The cooked food was poor. Sausages were nearly raw, only scrambled eggs on offer, hash browns were hard as if they had been there a while. There was a poor choice of breads which was not convenient to the rest of the breakfast display. All in all, a bit of a mish mash not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. I would certainly not recommend paying the breakfast tariff and hope for far better if I was to frequent again

    Great view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay friendly helpful staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the limited use that guests get of the spa facilities... 7 to 10am 5 to 9pm not convieniant as clashes with Breakfast time and evening meal.

    Location ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.7
    Just a 2 day stop over in Cardiff Bay and the hotel served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a hot summer sitting outside looking over the bay sounded nice but it was spoilt by hot air seemingly coming from the air conditioning blowing over residents to an uncomfortable level. Disappointing breakfast buffet breakfast, expected better

    Nice room with views over the bay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Good stay thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing we felt was a slight down side was that the bathroom was looking a little tired and could do with some TLC

    We enjoyed our stay of one night. The position of the hotel is great to get to and the facilities are excellent. Spending time with friends in such a lovely location is great. Used the bar area which was good but had plans to be out for dinner so didn't eat at the hotel and left early so didn't breakfast either but would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    Fair , not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely misleading drinks voucher States, any drink free There are actually terms and conditions , not sure how you know what they are Embarrassing for the staff to tell you , the offer does not apply to your drink choice How to turn a positive into a big negative, well done !

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing incredible and very relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was incredible the view breathtaking. Just wow. The whole experience from the staff to the facilities to the view to the bed. I can't rate this hotel highly enough. Never felt more relaxed in any hotel as much as this. Top rated in my eyes. It is pricey but well worth every penny. Will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.1
    Still a great place to stay in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As time goes by some rooms are now a little dated and are planned for refurbishement, however these do cost a little extra for the privilege or you may get a free upgrad. The balcony areas for the bedrooms seem to be difficult to keep clean and more attention to detail is required.

    Still one of the best places to stay in Cardiff. Excellent location for the Bay Area. My daughter had her 21st birthday weekend here and she was very happy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.4
    because they state their rooms as superior, it doesnt mean it is. was also overpiced. not a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mislead on what room we were having. Overpriced and didnt live up to our 1st visit we had there. I would say it was a 4 star at best.

    Food was nice. Also a great location to enjoy the entertainment and shopping at cardiff bay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.0
    30th birthday/3star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charged twice for room. Break was for rest + kids party(see photo) directly under room till midnight, asked to be moved but couldn't. Room very dated and definitely not 5star standard while paying 5star prices. Not told had to pay additional £20 for car park. Staff very dismissive with problems will not be returning or recomending and awaiting managers response. spa could only be used for early risers or late checking in.

    Breakfast very good, good shower pressure excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Apart from
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly I do think the reception and service staff could with some training around unconscious bias, as a woman and middle aged I was ignored at the reception in favour of the male waiting behind me - his also happened in the bar.

    The scrambled eggs, also the air conditioning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we had a very nice stay. Though have stayed in better quality 5 star hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were let down by the car park information and facility. The car park directly opposite the hotel was full and so we parked in the car park that was attached. We were told on check in that this was fine and payment was on departure. We paid for parking in the morning only to arrive at a car to find a parking ticket! After my husband complained our parking fee was refunded. Please be aware of where you park. Also, on checkout we were asked to pay a bill for dinner £140. We ate out the night before. Our room number had been used for someone else's meal. We had 2 single beds pushed together in our room 😢 plus you could feel the springs though the mattresses. Little disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

    Room was excellent. Great view of the bay. Clean and well presented. Service and ambiance in the Admiral bar was excellent. We were given 2 complimentary drinks for our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. Cannot for another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we just love the hotel . However the car park is owned by Cardiff Council and has to be paid for. We are lucky in that we have blue badges so our parking was free. If you arrive in the winter West a warm cost as the hotel is right by the and the wind can bitingly cold.

    Comfy beds and wonderful views over Cardiff Bay. The restaurant and bar recently had a revamp. It is fabulous now all big well padded whicker chairs and the menu is fantastic. It is all about fusion food and I wished that I could stay for a fortnight just to eat my way around the menu it all sounds so delicious. My partner and I cannot take alcohol for medical reasons so we tried their non-alcoholic cocktails totally delicious. Lovely staff there too. We have here on a number of occasions but havn't been for over 2 years. We were still greeted my name by Igor a member of the concierge staff. After he had put our car in the carpark he dealt with all our luggage and assembled my scooter for me. When our allocated room turned out to be not quite suitable for us he sorted it all out for us and moved our luggage to a new room whilst we sat in the bar having a snack and a drink. Beware the cakes displayed on the bar too temptingly nice and not good for the waistline.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.5
    Generally very good - Minor quibbles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff exceptional and some haphazard. At breakfast some guests were given better service than some. Reception great on arrival but vague during our stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would probably try somewhere else on our next visit. Cardiff is a Great City 😀

    Hotel position is superb. Some staff very good. Had a very good meal one evening. The pudding at this dinner was exceptional, a different take on " Black Forest Gateau", Excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable stay to celebrate our 54 year wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The friendly and welcoming staff was first class , the room was perfect with great views from the balcony. Overlooking the bay. A good friendly hotel with great staff, we will be returning for further stays .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Very modern hotel with great interior decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very modern hotel with great interior decor. The lobby of the hotel is very impressive as you arrive. The view from the junior suites balconies are excellent. The staff are very helpful and polite. The food at the restaurant is top class and the restaurant staff are welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, will definitely be back, just think the supplements at breakfast were a bit steep!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged a £5 supplement at breakfast for a fish option, so if you don’t eat full english etc breakfast ends up costing nearly £25 for 2 kippers!

    Superbly comfortable bed! Lovely room. Very stylish restaurant. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    It was beautiful and amazing in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view was beautiful! It was amazing that we were given a free upgrade and it totally made the weekend the most memorable! Can’t thank the staff enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Fabulous. Will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa opening times for guests could've been longer as it was open during dinner and breakfast times which meant not much time in there

    Absolutely amazing. Room and view was amazing and liked the use of the spa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was very poor, booked a junior suite when we arrived there was no room service menus and the room was 34 degrees (boiling) phoned for RS menus and for someone to help with the air con, they didn’t arrive so after 30 min I called again 10 min later I phoned to order cocktails which didn’t arrive until we were leaving 30 min later. I asked to women to then take them down to the bar so we could drink them down there and refused to unless she escorted us down or we payed there immediately which I thought was disrespectful, I did pay right away but had to leave the room sweaty from the heat and not in the best of moods. You’d expect a much better service when paying £300 for a night at a hotel. (Room service menus never appeared)

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Five star experience.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No milk in the room for tea.

    Location was excellent.Staff were very helpful.Parking was convenient.I will stay again.View of the Marina and Penarth was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    4.2
    The views, location and dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no way that this is a 5⭐️ hotel! More like a 3⭐️... Room was very outdated, leaking ceiling with stains on carpets. Shower looked like one in a 1970’s public swimming pool! service was appalling, had to get up and ask for someone to come and take our order for breakfast after waiting for 20mins and paid £200+ per night for it👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻 such a let down on my partners birthday... ordered a Dominos Pizza one evening and I’ve never been in a “5⭐️” hotel that closes the bar to residents

    The views, location and dinner. The Concierge was the only 5⭐️ member of staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The choice of food available for our taste was limited, as most things had too much of an Asian twist.

    Wonderful location, very comfortable and relaxing hotel environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.9
    The views were stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking for the night was £20! We were also put on a tiny coffee table for breakfast despite other shoes being free! Really uncomfortable! Not good!

    The views were stunning! The room was spacious and clean. The scrambled eggs were just THE best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    A comfortable and relaxing stay for a night out in the bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no cream scones left ☹️ We really enjoyed these last time we stayed.

    Everything from friendliness & efficiency of staff to cleanliness & comfort of our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.7
    Was nothing like the photos sadly was told we would get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was nothing like the photos sadly was told we would get private balcony was bit of mesh that you could see right threw on both sides and hear everything really disappointing we came from London to stay as well be carful with the photos when you are booking best to call up and double check also £20 to park over night is a bit much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar prices were excessive - better off going to Mount Stuart 3 mins walk away. Also, when I booked no mention in booking confirmation that I would have to pay an additional amount of £50.00 per room or that when checking in they would take a pre authorisation on my card for the full cost of the rooms plus additional charge, blocking this amount from my card. Then on check out they reverse that initial payment and re-debit for the final bill. I now have to wait for 2 - 3 days for this transaction to be cleared on my account and funds to be available again. Also, the rooms & décor looked a tired and worn especially in the bathroom. In my opinion not a 5 star hotel.

    The view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing overall.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was spoiled by the additional hidden costs. Nightly parking at £20, and £20 per person to use the Spa during the day was excessive. The restaurant served over priced for poor quality food and no daily special menu as advertised.

    Nice hotel & location. attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    4.2
    Lunch was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff, (except one member who leant us a phone charger)who were unhelpful, unfriendly and elusive when issues cropped up. Chair in bedroom had drink stains not cleaned and the holder on another fell off when I moved the chair to use it. No help with taxi service offered. Reuben the night manager was next to useless and needs full training on how to deal with customers on any issue and stop hiding behind the phone, hoping we would walk away. No ID badges identifying staff. Breakfast was tepid at best. Greg, Guest Relations manager apologised on our departure, admitting this was not 5 Star standard, but despite how much we paid, he had no authority to make an adjustment to our bill. Far below expectations. Disappointing and will not be returning.

    Lunch was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    It is a lovely hotel with views but room decor & bathroom in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast bars are split across 2 rooms which meant everyone had to walk to/fro for (say) cereal plus fruit. I requested cafetierre coffee (as it is usually less bitter) but was told I would have to pay extra for this. On our last morning we wanted a quick after breakfast swim but were told we should have been in the pool (with the children) before 10am, otherwise we were to be charged £20 extra. In the end they waived the fee for our 15 minute swim but only after quite an argument, which considering the cost of our room was an extremely disappointing end to our stay.

    Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Spa treatment was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hotel and staff, room with a view on 7th 715 floor.... fabulous ... looking out across bay ...wow breath-takingly beautifully beautiful....

    Spa treatment was amazing.... So relaxing... all the girls wonderful... Pool with a view... its a shame outside was not glass... as you could see more of the view across the bay.... it would be then ...just Peeeerfectly PUUUURFECT ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good for us

    What a lovely surprise, friends mentioned that this hotel had possibly lowered its standards but I can honestly say I’m so glad we decided to stay. Great hotel with very friendly staff who make you feel welcome. Car park had lots of spaces even though the hotel was full, also good bar with again very friendly staff and good service. Used the Spa in the morning and found it to more than adequate for our needs, will definitely recommend it and will come back. Normally stay at the Hilton or Marriott when in Cardiff due to the Bay being a little out of the way from Centre but loads of Uber’s available even with the Stones being in town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay, gorgeous room and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would of slept a lot better if there wasn’t a fan going through the whole night just above our balcony. Was not told about the paying to park until leaving. Even though I paid when arrived.

    Lovely stay, gorgeous room and view. Bar staff was amazing, went out of the way to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.9
    Thought it wasn’t value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in the bar , went to the bar to order , told it was table service , waited over 10 mins for service

    Hotel was beautiful , room was very comfortable , had to pay extra for parking , limited parking spaces available. Very slow service in the bar area , dress code nice , but some staff were very scruffy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I appreciate that the Volvo Ocean Round the World Race was in Cardiff, that's why we were there, but it was very expensive. Having spent a lifetime travelling around the world I have to say that this just isn't a 5 Star hotel. They also managed to charge me twice, and I have been told that it's up to me to sort it out, we are still in discussion. Once again not something to that you would expect from a top of the line hotel. In all very disappointing.

    Most things were good but not 5 star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fridge in room. Hallways were boiling.

    Great views. Air con worked which was good seeing it was 26 degrees outside. The staff were polite and friendly. Just have to request to have a fridge in the room which I’ve never known of before. I thought a fridge was a standard thing in a room but we didn’t have one so that sucked. Overall it was a Very nice stay and great location, plenty of places to go and see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Really pleasant, and Cardiff Bay at night with all its twinkly lights was worth a photo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heavy doors leading to the Swimming Pool. They were VERY heavy and a bit of a struggle - but I am tiny.

    Really nice room with a view of Cardiff Bay. Swimming Pool was excellent. Very nice breakfast, hot food was fresh and of good quality. Very friendly and hopitable staff. The evening Dinner in the Dylan Thomas Suite was well presented - and the leek and potaro soup with the Welsh rarebit was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Superb Location, but not quite the 5 Star experience we'd expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For all it's appeal and location, there are a few niggling issues with the St Davids. Supposedly a Five Star hotel, it's starting to feel a little dated in some areas. The room in particular with it's shower over the bath rather than separate, and shower screen that didn't entirely prevent the floor from becoming wet, which they told the story of why the grouting around the corner of it was starting to show tell tale signs of black mould forming. Not much, but more than you might expect from such an expensive hotel. Then there was the now quite dated TV, which seemed only to want to play classical music. For Breakfast the set up feels a little like an after thought. You may expect to see a Wine selection as the restaurant is used for different meals, but to be choosing your cereal while looking at the Gin selection is a slightly odd experience. And then there's the lack of eggs for breakfast. There was an empty hotplate where once there had been scrambled eggs but alas they were at this point missing. Some more were coming apparently, but I'd hope that actually there would be preemptive Scrambled Eggs delivered rater than waiting for them to disappear completely.

    The location of the St Davids Hotel is unrivalled in Cardiff. The views from the balcony of our upgraded room, out across the water to the Sennedd, Wales Millennium Centre and Pier Head Building were superb. Just a short stroll around the bay past the excellent Techniquest (if you have inquisitive young kids), takes you to Mermaid Quay where you'll find plenty of places to eat and drink, along with the aforementioned Millennium Centre. It's a short Bus, Water Taxi or normal taxi ride in to Cardiff City Centre, or a 20-25 min walk, where you'll find all the retail therapy you could need. The Swimming Pool at the St Davids received a rave review from my Wife, and the Bar food in the Admiral bar was fantastic. The Steak burger took some effort to finish!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    Langham prices for Raddison experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow service due to too few staff in bar/restaurant, very expensive (5star London prices) and mediocre Comfort Inn style breakfast. As regular travelers this did not seem 5 star but good 4 star.

    Nice decor, friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked/loved everything!

    A very stylish hotel with amazing views over the bay. Highly recommend the restaurant/food and spa. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Spacious room with balcony and wonderful views. Great shower and complimentary White Company toiletries. Nothing too much trouble for staff. An outstanding place to stay in Cardiff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Bit disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    New bar layout not as atmospheric as previous. Requested a higher floor, we were put on the third, work going on on the landing unit 6 pm.?

    Great location, superb views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.2
    Stunning hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a little pricey £20 a night but I think that is standard in the area

    I booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday and when we got there the staff upgraded our room which was lovely. The room was huge and we had a stunning view. Very clean and staff were extremely friendly, would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    We were given a free upgraded room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying £20 per night to park car in hotel car park!

    We were given a free upgraded room. Great to be near local restaurants . Great views from hotel. Spa is good. Fun catching aqua bus into Cardiff City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the St David's hotel as a treat for myself between two intense conferences. I knew that I'd be able to use the spa twice and get a good night's sleep during my brief stay and so I thought the £137 price was reasonable. However, the bathroom light had a timer which didn't work properly and so bright light flooded my bedroom (through the translucent bathroom door). Not only did the problem disturb my sleep considerably (which impacted my ability to concentrate during the second conference) but I had to face the embarrassment of having to speak to the (male) concierge late at night in my pyjamas. A room change would have solved the issue but as I had already changed for the night and my suits were hung in the wardrobe I didn't want to trek across the hotel with my belongings at 1130 pm in my nightclothes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff , hotel room was ok, spa was disappointing very basic ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa was basic , was looking forward to the flotation pool which had been closed but was on the website. We only booked the hotel for the spa break so was disappointed.

    The view from the balcony made our stay special beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    One amazing night in Saint david's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only complaint seems trivial but the toilet roll was shocking. I know it was probably recycled but we use recycled at home and it is so much better.

    The staff were amazing, we were allowed to check in early which was a godsend. The bar and drinks service was first class. The room and view were amazing and the breakfast was top notch. I will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Would love to do again for a girls spa weekend away treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hmmmm - if I were to be extremely picky, I would say that at breakfast the filter coffee was included in the breakfast rate, however a cappuccino or hot chocolate was an extra which I felt was a little cheeky.

    Staff were all extremely friendly. The breakfast and dinner very tasty and the beds were super comfy. Loved the spa. Had a back massage & facial and they were brilliant. The kids had great fun in the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    The restaurant is Michelin rated and the 3 course meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a fridge.

    The restaurant is Michelin rated and the 3 course meal exceeded my expectations. It was delicious so I had the same meal the following day. The breakfast was of a wide range and the interior decoration of the lounge and restaurant is stunning. The staff and services are brilliant. Highly recommend this hotel. The spa and swimming facilities were better than the Dubai hotels I have stayed in! Highly recommend this and it's location is superb along the stunning bay so picturesque. Fantastic views from the balcony. There is plenty of activities around this hotel and you will not be disappointed! !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    Extremely over priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were a few things that were missed for me. We were told that they had upgraded since it was our mini honeymoon however it was exactly the room we paid for. I don’t expect a hotel like this to be cheap but I was expecting more for what I paid. I understand you pay for the view, but for how much we paid (£250 a night) I needed more! It was hot and stuffy inside the room, the house keeping had to be called up twice to clean the room, the bathroom was standard... it just wasn’t impressive. I’ve stayed in expensive hotels all over the world and this falls short by much sadly.

    The staff was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, but feel the evening meal was over priced for the small portion served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal disappointing ,portion size small, and an hour wait after ordering to be served

    Staff very helpful and pleasant, very good breakfast with a wide choice of food !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for what is on offer & to add insult to injury was charged £20.00 for overnight parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath robes shabby & well worn not fluffy like I would have expected. Buffet style breakfast was warm at best with the usual rubbery bacon, canned button mushrooms & warm scrambled egg. No smoked salmon or kedgeree & the only food cooked to order on offer was fried eggs & omelettes, would have expected breakfast to be cooked fresh to order for the amount I paid for a night.

    Good location & lovely view from balcony, beds were comfy but dirty marks on carpet. Spa facilities good & had a lovely view of Bay from the gym which had a good amount of equipment available for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor comment is that I like fresh air in my room at night and patio doors were spring loaded and couldn't be kept open

    Fantastic views. Great to have a little nature reserve right nearby. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our sleep was disturbed by a noisy fan which apparently according to the manager was making no noise. Don't choose a room on the first floor! The managers attitude was appalling. The breakfast could have been warmer and the sausages were not cooked.

    The location and the views from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend staying here. Lovely place, lovely staff and great location by the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No balcony seats

    Lovely Reception staff and brilliant views. Great stay and a lovely outside bar space. Thanks for making our post-wedding stay special!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the breakfast was more travel lodge than 5*, would have expected smoked salmon included, and we weren't aware they we could order poached eggs until we finished our breakfast. The coffee machine didn't work properly. And we were hoping to relax in the spa but were unable to go in at all due to the restricted hours of access. This was very disappointing as it was my boyfriends 40th birthday and we were looking forward to use these facilities.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bed was super comfy. The staff and views were fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, really comfortable stay and great views from the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charge for parking

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. As it was my partners birthday, our room was upgraded and we were left a small gift from the management. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.1
    A Treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Delay of over 10mins before bar tenders took bar order/served. That was after being told to take a seat & also telling them I was a guest. That was on my arrival to hotel, then happened again in the evening.

    Location, room, views, also view sitting outside bar. Everything you needed in room, iron/board.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.7
    Good but not 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited access to pool. Not advised before arrival at hotel. Bread for toast not fully defrosted!! Should be fresh. No fridge in room. No lounge area to relax away from noise/ live music in bar. Called reception/concierge at 5 am as mother had a fall and needed assistance. No answer.

    Staff cheery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hotel information folder in the room.

    The weather was excellent so we really appreciated the terraces to sit out and have a drink and it breakfast. The restaurant staff were very well informed about the food and were most helpful particularly the Venezuelan young man and Owen the waiter. Beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Great please but wouldn’t recommend breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast for the price of £18.50 it was horrendous sausages were under cooked bacon was over cooked and my poached egg and fried egg were solids inside

    Amazing views, great clean room with everything you need for a hotel really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - I loved everything!

    Great location, fabulous views from the room across the bay. Close to restaurants, cafes and bars. We took a boat into the city - easy peasy. The spa & swimming pool area is excellent. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast - outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Statement hotel, commanding views and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a small carpark for the hotel, overnight stay is £20 and it is the same in the public car park. Thought this should have been stated when booking.

    We were warmly welcomed and received an upgraded room which overlooked the beautiful bay. There is a small balcony outside the picture window which was lovely to stand on (no chairs). Bed very comfortable and lovely bathroom. The building is super and has a commanding spot. You can eat breakfast outside which was nice. We did not use the spa but checked it out and will definitely pack my swim suit next time, however, it is not free for guests all day so check the hours you wish to use it as there is a nominal charge at certain times. Breakfast very good and cheeper if booked the day before rather than on the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.9
    If it was not for parking dificulty and scarry lift noised It would be very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking facilities , apart from charge £20 24h, if there is no space on hotel car park you have to find public one Lift is making noises like it is just about to brake , not pleasant !

    Location, architecture of lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dated, and furnishings could do with a updating in the rooms as the lounge had all scratches over them. No seating on the balcony. Which would of been nice stop sit and have a coffee on the balcony, as the weather was beautiful. Also our bed had a large dip in the middle? Think two mattresses were put together.

    Staff were super friendly! Quick service in restaurant. Out evening meal was 10/10 and also a lot of choice at breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    amazing
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.... I liked everything

    It was more than I expected.. Its clean and tidy. The staff were really helpful and I've even just booked for another night with discount. I've upgraded to the best suite here and would definitely come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight issue with balcony door, issue with pay and display machine for parking

    Location, comfort, staff, cleanliness, design, experience and breakfast all incredible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.3
    One of the staff at Breakfast was amazing - she is tall with...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the decor a bit tired. And hash browns at breakfast very soggy.

    One of the staff at Breakfast was amazing - she is tall with long blonde hair. I watched her anticipate patrons' needs and surreptitiously attend to them before they even realised they had them.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The St David's Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: