Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Stafford London 5 stars

St James's Place, Westminster Borough, London, SW1A 1NJ, United Kingdom

#73 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 845 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.1
    They block the fees then they charged another amount and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They block the fees then they charged another amount and the blocked money was unavailable to me for 10days and this is unacceptable specially i ask them to charge the same blocked amount,,i was not convenient to me bc i had another trip to franc ,,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice bar, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit tight, shower not easy to work

    Great location, nice bar, comfortable room Concierge was excellent, arranged car to airport, good restaurant choices

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    A four day stay with friends as our guests Hugely enjoyable mainly due to outstanding staff
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom modest in size Bathroom WHB could not retain water Cantilever bathroom mirror loose Broken bath water diverter This was fixed but indicated some shortcomings in maintenance

    Staff faultless Beds wonderfully comfy Breakfast perfection Location could not be better

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected. Only room for 1 bedside table the other side was a dressing table full with tea and coffee facilities, lamp and telephone. Television was at the side of the bed. Toilet blocked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and understated luxury in the heart of London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only on leaving did we note a discretionary service charge on our bill. This was not explained to us on check in and as far as I recall not mentioned on the confirmation (I could be mistaken here) as a result I have no idea what this charge was for especially as all bills had a space for gratuities and all staff happily received "tips" (as I would do!!). So perhaps some explanation of this charge would be helpful

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Martinis in the American bar are excellent! It is hard to beat the location. If you want luxury this is as good as you get without being stuffy and over formal. You do of course have to pay for it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive food and especially the drinks

    Staff very helpful and pleasant, location was perfect bedroom and bathroom small but everything you needed was there. Best hotel I have ever stayed in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Another supremely comfortable and productive stay at the Stafford.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to clear space on the desk for my computer, by moving the coffee machine, but this is a minor problem. I think the selection of wines by the glass could be improved.

    The staff do make it like home from home and the beds are supremely comfortable. A business dinner in The Game Bird was also first class and traditional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Stay for a piece of the real London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only marks dropped was the stains on the carpet ( suspect someone let water spill out of the shower ) and dodgy aircon Everything else was great. A real English gem of a hotel that has kept everything that was unique from the get-go

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Overall a fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in my room (105) needs some attention, bath filled up during my shower. Bath taps took so long to fill the bath for my son that I gave up.

    Beautiful, comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Never again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m there client since 7 years, very disappointed room as I pay one bedroom suite and the gave me very tiny one bedroom suite which I can’t move in. All new staff which they don’t know how to deal with the loyal customer, after all they change the room BUT they charge me extra 150£ per day for the same category of room which I booked ( they said booking. Com choose this kind of room for us) the old staff they ware amazing and they know how to deal with old and loyal customers.( we couldn’t see any of them)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    The terrace they have outside the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that our room was next to a service room and we had a lot of noise all the time of doors openning and closing and also of water running the whole time.

    The terrace they have outside the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not a coffee drinker so would have liked the option of tea in the room (coffee lovers probably be delighted with Nespresso in the rooms)

    Extra comfy beds, beautiful room. Wonderful breakfasts. Great staff throughout - professional yet friendly, made us feel very welcome. Excellent location - we had a super break taking in theatre & plenty of London sights

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small! Hardly any space. It’s a no go for me. If I knew I would not have booked it. It’s the holidays, ppl carry luggages. It needs space

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location right in the hart of the city, in a quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not as big as expected (even it was a studio). room service was not that attentive (we have asked to keep a bottle of Moet cool for 5PM, but we found it not chilled). The bartenders from American bar didn't want to serve a drink on the terrace after 10PM (even i was a guest), so i had to take it from the minibar and have the drink on the terrace. Little things that bother

    Great location right in the hart of the city, in a quite area, close to the shopping streets. The bed was amazing. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Quintessential English hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was smaller even by European standards. Could just about walk around the bed. A higher category room may be larger but not sure

    Quintessential English hotel Staff exceptional, common areas gorgeous, location near many major sites

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Duty Manager Ned Holder was so kind and gave us his time.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duty Manager Ned Holder was so kind and gave us his time. What a lovely young man. In fact all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Lovely relaxed feel to this lovely hotel. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.0
    How to upset your wife on her 50th birthday!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ' upgraded' to Room 6, one of the mews suites, which was a grave error on my part - in hindsight I should have stuck with the room I booked. The noise from the seating area outside was unbearable and was supposed to curtail at 9pm - there was still loud noise etc at 1am. My wife found the whole scenario too much and left the hotel and went home in a taxi costing £180. This was my treat for her 50th birthday!!! My wife still won't speak to me. We were booked into The Ritz for dinner but never made it as my wife was so upset. I believe we should have had our £950+ room charge refunded as this was without a shadow of doubt the worst hotel experience of my life. I have Parkinsons Disease and need good sleep which I did not get being awake to the early hours. Terrible experience.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion I was put into a room in the back yard, as a widow and woman travelling alone, I keep returning to the Stafford as it feels safe and friendly to me. The courtyard rooms are totally different, the noise well after midnight from drinkers sitting outside was terrible and the close proximity to my room , made me feel very vulnerable and anxious I asked to be moved for my second night into the main building which was much better, but this room was very small with no fridge or minibar. The temperatures outside were in the high twenties and I had no means of having a cold drink in my room Considering that I have paid the highest room rate on this occasion, over £500 per night and the fact that I am a regular guest, I felt very let down on this visit .

    As always the location , staff and facilities were faultless

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room

    Staff very friendly, knowledgeable about surroundings, beautiful room, great location. We received an upgrade due to a special event which was a wonderful surprise !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    I'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    she shower cabinet is far too small

    The staff was very efficient and Carin. Breakfast was excellent. location was superb. Beds were comfy. slept well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Location was excellent and quiet for central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired rooms. Plumbing needs attention, temperatures were highly variable whilst showering. Staff were not uniformly helpful or familiar with the hotel or London.

    Location was excellent and quiet for central London. The doorman and Ray were exceptionally helpful and an asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, comfortable, discreet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This, my second stay, I chose to be in the old building. My room was smaller, which I didn’t mind, at all, and the bathroom was old fashioned, but in beautiful condition and sensibly functional. However, every morning I was awoken every fifteen minutes or so, starting at 7:30am, by the heavy room doors with shotgun-sounding latches opening and closing, incessantly, while the maids went from room to room. It’s a real problem, if you’re jet lagged or relaxing with breakfast in bed. I will make my witty known, when I return, next year.

    The service is excellent. The breakfasts are generous. The bed “like a cloud.”

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful bars and goof breakfast but it is quite expensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sized bathrooms.

    Beautiful bars and goof breakfast but it is quite expensive for what you get. Great location of hotel with very helpful and knowledgable staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location close to the park.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly outdated rooms. Most breakfast options a la carte, unsuitable if you have only 15 min for breakfast.

    Perfect location close to the park. Good shower facilities. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Absolute perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff. It's all about the staff. And what staff!!!! There really wasn't a single thing that they wouldn't do for us - from the moment we stepped out of the taxi arriving, to the moment we - sadly - embarked upon our journey home. Quiet, attentive - somehow always in the right place, at the right time - these folks are a beacon as to how a hotel should be run. My only minor gripe is that the website gave no indication of the American Bar being closed for refurbishment, but that really is a minor quibble. This really was the best two nights I have spent in a hotel in my entire life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    I love everything about The Stanford - the friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything about The Stanford - the friendly staff, the location, the beautiful decor! It has expanded tremendously since I was there last but has maintainited it's delightful Englidh charm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Style with convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointied that we were not advised that the Americans Bar was closed for refurbishment. For breakfast I ordered haddock with poached eggs - the fish was superb but the eggs were cold. Otherwise first class.

    The staff were excellent, helpful and professional. The building exuded style and quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Concierge service was very useful for booking a sightseeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Concierge service was very useful for booking a sightseeing tour for us prior arrival as well as helpfully assist us during our staying on several occasions. Early breakfast was served for us in time and in according to our expectations. Game bird restourant was perfect. Rooms and cleaning service were fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Could have been near perfect if not for breakfast experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a real disappointment for me due to a series of events. But the follow up actions and compensation made by the hotel again goes to show the high level of service provided during our stay. No welcome drink and priority late check out for genius member as published on booking.com website, although late check out was eventually given to us upon request after checking in.

    If not for the negative experience during breakfast, this could have been one of the best hotel stay experience. The service was top-notched and the room was clean and elegant. Good selection of movies although more subtitles would be appreciated as we do not want to turn up the volume of TV too high at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.5
    We hope to return soon. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    A charming hotel in one of the most delightful historic areas in London. A stroll to Buckingham Palace, next door to some of London’s most famous and individual shops - buy a hat at Lock’s, a pair of handmade shoes at Lobb’s, some wine at Berry Bros. & Rudd to get into the special mood of St. James’s. The last duel in London was fought just yards just away in a tiny courtyard. The Stafford is old fashioned in the best possible way - no shiny chrome just first class traditional English service and comfort. The bar was very lively and fun for a drink before dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, will be staying again at some point even though we live in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a reservation in the restaurant.

    It never lets us down however often we stay there. Standards are high and the hotel is welcoming and beautifully appointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is warm and cosy and has a lovely atmosphere. Located in wonderful area with easy access to central landmarks. Very accommodating staff. Will stay here again on next trip to London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in a great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay there every month, would be nice for staff to make more of an effort to welcome a loyal guest back - basically the CRM system/process needs an upgrade so staff are aware/prepared

    Great style and nice rooms, great value for money for this location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Tranquil and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    The staff were extremely friendly. The service exceeded all expectations. Food impeccable. Brett was particularly helpful on arrival and departure. Luca the restaurant manager made our dinner evening surprise possible, and a delight to work with. Ned, who sadly I did not meet provided ALL answers to my questions. A wonderful stay, we will return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Such a comfortable bed and friendly efficient staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t change anything! Except maybe the price?

    Such a comfortable bed and friendly efficient staff. This is a great base for my London meetings. Also having the car valet parked is so convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional service, great location , clean rooms a great stay !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whist the food was great a couple more choices of fillet fish would be welcomed such as Salmon,Trout or seabass. Be sure to find the do not disturb sign to ensure the room attendant doesn't come in at 8am !!

    This hotel has the most exceptional customer service. They will do their upmost to cater to your requirements . Fantastic soufflés !!! The size of the hotel is cozy for female travellers. The food is of a high standard and all staff are amazing .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect stay in Central London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing could be improved upon in my experience.

    From the minute we walked through the door, the service we received from the team at The Stafford was second to none. The room was beautiful appointed, with the most comfortable bed and luxurious bedding ... We had lunch and pre-dinner drinks in The American Bar, where the staff looked after us really well; dinner in The Gamebird on Friday evening was another wonderful experience - beautiful food, well presented and excellent service. Spot on, and we can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    A very welcoming arrival and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the staff and the service was excellent and the whole experience at the Stafford Hotel was very enjoyable. Thankyou for being so accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    No much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old and dirty. It is nowhere close to what a 5 star hotel hygiene standard is supposed to be. The breakfast staffs only attend to white Caucasians and overlook guests with colored skin. I stay in deluxe king room for 4 nights and I was overcharged with one of my breakfast (ordered the continental on the second day and charged with a full breakfast price of 31 pounds). The maids do not clean the toilet throughly and stains were left inside. It was disgusting. I may not be an experienced luxury hotelier but the Stafford is definitely the worst hotel I’ve stayed at in years. Thank you stafford, I will share my horrible experience with everyone I know who is traveling to London.

    No much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Another excellent stay in one of our favourite hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything.

    We are regular visitors to The Stafford and generally celebrate Christmas with them. However this year we missed Christmas and celebrated our marriage with a luncheon in one of the private rooms and stayed for two nights. There is, and always has been an unpretentious character to The Staffford whilst maintaining the highest standards of comfort and service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    The only advantage is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Staff at the restaurant (The game bird) wears extremely dirty uniform (large grease stains on vests). It looks weird in the restaurant of such level. 2) Once I ordered wine to my room and for some reason housekeepers didn’t collect the dirty glass for several days. It was weird given that they clean rooms 2 times a day. 3) Hotel is very old, so there Is a bad smell of something old in the rooms 4) Though it is a 5 Star hotel, they never leave chocolates or other nice complements in the room after evening cleaning. I have stayed in two other 5 Star hotels in London this year and I can say that in other hotels staff tries much harder to make clients happy. Stafford makes bare minimum and it’s not enough for the money they ask for rooms. 5) Breakfast was very bad. There is some food on display but for some reason you can’t take anything by yourself, you have to ask someone to cut bread for you, or give you a peace of cheese, etc. There is only one person who can do it and sometimes he is absent, so you have to stand like a fool and wait! Very stupid system! If you make a breakfast buffet you have to let people take everything they want by themselves.

    The only advantage is location. But there are much better hotels in London for this price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Not exclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as exclusive as expected. Place with public access. We had to go through a courtyard to get to our room which would be even more annoying if it was raining. Traditional decor in commonly used areas (restaurant etc.) is tired and in need of upgrading.

    Very well equipped bathroom and most comfortable bed with wonderful thick and smooth bedlinen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    A truly excellent hotel in a quiet but central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like although the standard size room is quite compact so if we were staying more than one night would go for a bigger option.

    The location of the Stafford is excellent. At Christmas it is beautifully decorated and very festive. Staff are superb. They brought us tea and mince pies when we checked in. The breakfasts in the newly refurbished restaurant were excellent. I love the American bar and you can sit outside in the middle of winter with heaters.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Cozy hotel in classical style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of bathroom, cold in the bathroom because of the window there. Unpleasant smell in the rooms. Technical noise all over the nights. Bad view.

    Great location! Walking access to any places of interest. Very cozy hotel, marvelous Christmas decoration. Effective and friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Best quality of linen and towels. Nespresso is in the room. Availability of late check out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Great service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small, and some are not well set up for business travel, that is, they don;t have very good desks (if any at all), ample electrical plugs and such. Breakfast and restaurant are WAY over-priced

    Great location: near many places you would want to go, but, at the same time, out of the way and quiet. Excellent service 'culture' ... very, very attentive, if a little formal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.4
    not five star enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too small too old bed is too high not clearn enough the price is too high not valuable not value for money the breakfast is expensive and there is service charge it looks like 3 star hotel bathroom is really small!!!

    good position,its near harrods,Oxford street,hype park,green park,good for traveling

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic.
    • Group
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I had a junior suite which was extremely comfortable. Like a small apartment. It even had a xmas tree in the hall way of the room. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, expensive, best bed ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were noisy in the morning. Our room was opposite a storage cupboard of some kind and all morning they were very noisy.

    The bed was insanely comfortable the sheets, the pillows, the mattress and as it was super king size everything just made for a great nights sleep!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    Feels very old and tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feels very old and tired. Rooms very tight but that's to be somewhat expected in London. Location is absolutely fantastic but I'd expect it to feel a bit more updated on the interior for the price being charged.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little on the small side but everything else about it was perfect.

    Really comfortable bed, the room was spotlessly clean but cosy at the same. But it’s the staff that really make this hotel stand out, they were genuinely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent but quite expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very well equipped.However the bath was without grab handles and very slippy. It is not enough to have a small sign advising 'ring reception 'if non-slip mat required. It should be provided automatically.

    Location, Service, accommodation,facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall, very good for my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have had slightly more space.

    Overall, very good for my needs. Great location. Nice atmosphere. It felt typically "British" in a good way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay with attentive staff. Thoroughly enjoyable, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower rose was a little too low for me and I kept banging my head as I could not stand up under it properly. The basin hot tap was not very effective and needs attention. There was chatter almost all the way through the night in another room close by and disturbed my sleep. I was in room 604. It was a pity as the first night was very peaceful. It was as if business was being conducted, I can't really say any more than that. A pity really and the only thing that detracted from the overall impression.

    The bed was divine and the pillows were soft and comfy. The staff were excellent and very attentive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.5
    Good but expected much better for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I expected more. I think when you pay €850 for 2 nights, one would expect breakfast included. Twice the electronic key to my room would not work. I found in my room an envelope with someone else’s bill. On my bill I was charged £40 for a bottle of wine which I did not have ! The receptionist just told me he would remove it from the bill but did not apologize. He made me feel I was trying to swindle the hotel for this bottle of wine. Incidentally I don’t drink alcohol !

    Very comfortable room. Perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Can't wait to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed, Breakfast was superb, Staff were friendly, very helpful and made us all feel very welcome also went the extra mile to make my wife's Birthday very special, One she will never forget.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    A little gem in the middle of the busy city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit outdated and you can hear what happens outside of the room and from our neighbors next door. Thankfully they were not the noisy type. Room renovations would make it an even better hotel!

    The staff was extremely nice and professional. We were traveling with a 3 year old and this is the only hotel that was considerate enough to give us baby shampoo and soap. I thought that was a very nice touch. The hotel is in an excellent location just 1 block away from the busy streets. Wifi was fast and stable. I would stay there again for our next trip to London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    The best service, attention and accommodations in London!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was as perfect as it could be.

    This is a five star hotel, the staff is amazing, the breakfast buffet was superior, and it is the nicest hotel I've stayed at in London, including most of the competition. It is a little pricey, but worth EVERY penny of it. We will come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and luxurious, and a safe haven for a woman travelling alone as I am
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly larger bedroom would have been good

    The hotel is beautiful, but it's the excellent Staff that make this hotel so special , they are so friendly and caring, it's like coming home to be looked after!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners came in 3 times in the morning, first time at 9:00, second at 10:30 ,third at 11:30 .Really disturbed our sleep.We don't understand why she tries so hard to get in before we check out.

    Amazing decoration and comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    If I lived in London I would become a regular guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all

    First our room was fabulous. Gorgeous bathroom with all the amenities. Very cozy bed. The atmosphere was one of serenity throughout. We had dinner at their signature restaurant The Game Bird it was delicious. The American Bar had a nice feel comfortable feel. The hotel was tucked away and yet accessible to many of the sights. Service was gracious and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel. The concierge even booked a table at a restaurant that was hard to get into.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    A great hotel and favourite but BEWARE Carriage House ground floor rooms!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BIG PROBLEM - the hotel has a bar popular with non-residents and a large outside area used late into the evening. I usually have a room in the main house or Mews Suites but for the first time was given a room on the ground floor of the newly refurbished Carriage House. Whilst the room was excellent it opens directly onto this bar area. The noise level was unacceptable with loud smoking and drinking going on to midnight. Due to non-airtight doors both the noise and cigar smoke was very present in the room. I could hear every word of a conversation about trade finance structuring going on outside. DO NOT USE these rooms until this is fixed - unless you like sleeping in what feels like the corner of a pub!! Such a shame as otherwise this is an almost perfect hotel.

    As usual the service and welcome from this favourite hotel was outstanding. Super comfortable rooms and beds and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Quiet luxury in the very heart of London.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey, but to be expected.

    Great concierge, excellent front desk and staff. Well-built and soundproofed room in the Mews building. Extremely comfortable bed. Very responsive phone operator. Private inner courtyard, open-air seating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit expensive.

    The rooms are very cozy and well decorated. The breakfast was really delicious. The staff is very courteous. Over all its a very good experience. Very near to Piccadilly Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, poor lighting in the rooms and the bathrooms a little dated, noise travels into room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware The Stafford add a discretionary charge to each transaction however it isn't discretionary as we were not asked when ordering items that the tip was added to the bill. Disappointing.

    The hotel had a fabulous location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic in London is beyond belief. Get an "oyster card" for the tube. A simple drive by bus or taxi from N. London to say the Tower bridge is about 1:20 Hr. by tube 9 Min. Green Park tub station is 10 Min. walk from the Stratford.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Romantic and lush; a perfect escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, outstanding breakfast, and situated in the most stunning part of London. My partner and I were on a very special occasion and the Stafford were amazing at accommodating for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    3.8
    The pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper cleaning was very poor when it comes to 5 star hotel Location is very scary at night you cant have a walk alone Difficult to have a taxi

    The pillows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Beds are very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    in club a little bit smell cigarettes

    Beds are very comfortable. People are very friendly and helpful. Very close to Buckingham, Piccadilly, Museums, restaurants, shops, theaters. Rooms are quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, beautiful property (especially the mews...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could have been better (never replaced the milk for tea or the biscuits, just left the milk sitting out for two days), and the soundproofing in the room isn't great (was woken up both mornings by noise in the corridor coming from other guests passing by or opening doors).

    Fantastic location, beautiful property (especially the mews area), great dining.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    The stay was ok, but i have stayed in better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was not very big for a double but no issues with that, the major issue for myself and my mum who i visited with was the size of the bed, i would have classed it as a big single, we are both petite but we struggled in the bed which did not make for a comfortable nights sleep, also i was sent a mail beforehand for preferences on pillows etc and i had requested a v shaped pillow which was unfortunately not fulfilled. Also it would be good to have 2 options of shower, the stationary rain shower and also the movable shower heads, Also on the Saturday evening we requested to sit outside, this was around 9pm, we were told they were not seating anyone outside, however while we were sat in side we saw multiple people come in to the bar area and go outside, i also heard the steward state to some people, would you like to sit outside, not sure why we were told one thing and saw something else with other guests so was not really impressed with this, for the price payed for just 1 night and the rating of the hotel i would not expect this.

    The staff were lovely and friendly, the hotel itself is beautiful decor wise and the location was perfect, literally around the corner from Green Park tube station which got you to most of the places very easily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very charming, old-school hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very charming, old-school hotel. The staff were extremely attentive and polite, and made us feel at home from the moment we got there. The room was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Favourite hotel in London, feels a bit like going home each time I go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It irritates me that breakfast is so expensive in hotels, so I normally go out for breakfast.

    the bed was very comfortable, and I asked for a quiet room, and got one totally silent. View terribly, but that sort of goes with a quiet room. We are both very discerning, and have stayed here many times and will again. A great place to go for a lady who is travelling on her own. Beautifully decorated throughout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for our 5 days visit in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was a little bit to soft so I was kind of sinking in it, but maybe this is just my personal preference and others may like it.

    Everything was high class, special thanks to the concierge who made excellent recommendations for restaurants and a barber shop. We got a nice upgrade to Junior Suites. Thank you Stafford :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Top notch service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really. Everything is perfect!

    We are family of 5, so we had to book 1 Junior Suite room to fit 3 people and 1 Deluxe King room for our parents. Yet, my parents upgraded to Junior Suite so they can stay next to our room. The Stafford London really makes you feel like you are at home. I remember when I came back with 2 bouquets of flower, conicerge team offered me to get a vase from housekeeping to keep my flowers fresh. Thank you for making our stay memorable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and great breakfast. Perfect when you have a busy day ahead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at The American Bar. Took clients / guests twice and both times they were a little rude. Although the bar was empty, they were very particular about where we could not sit.

    Location was excellent for both business and leisure. Concierge helpful in booking all my dinner reservations, especially when I was constantly changing according to guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Stafford London traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: