Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Stag This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Redhill, Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon, B49 6NQ, United Kingdom

#34 of 38 B&Bs and inns in Stratford-upon-Avon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Heritage, Beautiful Building full of History.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Traffic on main road (Double Glazed Windows!) Main Meals (Carvery) tough. Roast Pork fatty, soft rind No Crackle, Massive Yorkshire Pudding, No flavour just filled the plate. (Good Food brings pleasure and satisfaction)

    Spacious room Lounges and Dining Areas Beautiful,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It states that breakfast is served until 12 but it’s until 10 !

    Nice room , staff friendly , thought it was walking distance to Stratford town but it’s a 10 min taxi drive ! Nice relaxing place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant definitely would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness in the room it was just really dusty otherwise everything else was really clean.

    The staff was pleasant food was excellent room was lovely the only thing was the bedside table's was really dusty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Great location for Stratford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the room had a bad smell and we needed to leave window and door open. Food on this visit was not up to our expectation. Have stayed before but may think about booking again.

    Great location . Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.6
    We received a pleasant welcome from Freddie, accommodation and food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the size of the room, maybe the TV on the wall could have been bigger.

    Bed was comfy, the walk in shower was lovely (water force was good and temperature just right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice traditional pub/hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was supposed to start at 07:30. We were not allowed into the breakfast area until 07:40 which should be looked into by the management team.

    Nice traditional pub/hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    I would most definitely stay again ! It was worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trying to turn right onto the busy dual carriageway that's was a challenge.

    Very comfortable room, bathroom was very well laid out lots of good lighting to see clearly, Breakfast choice was excellent, we had a beautifully cooked evening meal which was cooked fresh and so tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    All in all a very nice place to stay, I arrived quite late...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi in he room didn't amount to much, I tried watching an episode of something using BBC iPlayer, and after the fourth cut out in about 15 minutes of watching (I managed about 5 minutes of viewing during this), I gave up.

    All in all a very nice place to stay, I arrived quite late in the evening after a longer work day, and the staff gave me a call as it was approaching the cut off point for check in. Breakfast in the morning was nicely filling, and the staff were very approachable too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Nice little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was dusty on the floor and in the bath.

    The bed was big and very comfortable. The shower was amazing. Great choices for breakfast. And very convenient to get into Stratford town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Beautiful building. Great location. Excellent food. Excellent value for money. We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I prefer my plate to be hot so that the food doesn't go cold - I did mention this the after both breakfasts. I had to remove the mattress and pillows protectors because the plastic coating made it very "sweaty" and I couldn't sleep. There was no water jug at the breakfast bar.

    Everything! Very interesting building. The standard of fixtures and fittings The standard of cleanliness. FREE PARKING Great location. The food and the staff Excellent value for money The complimentary tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits were great standard and plentiful as were the toiletries

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.6
    Lynnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    From check in to check out a really good experience. Food excellent.service excellent. Staff and management made for a good stay.would nook again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.9
    In all an enjoyable stay & good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 5 had just been refurbished but it’s very close proximity to the A46 is not conducive to a good nights sleep. No air con & a very large & heavy duvet.

    Nicely decorated, good ambience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    Manager was a very good host, place had great atmosphere and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1st room shown hadn’t been cleaned, 2nd had toilet with leak and 3rd was tired and needed updating. We had difficulty sleeping as large group loudly wined and dined until late right beneath our room in part of restaurant area. No soundproofing! Also had to walk through active renovation area to get to and leave room.

    Manager was a very good host, place had great atmosphere and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous pub, excellent food and warm and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gorgeous pub, excellent food and warm and welcoming staff. The room was comfortable, clean and had all the facilities need for us to enjoy our stay.. I would highly recommend staying here and I'm looking forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    Nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room (5) was next to the road which has a reasonable amount of traffic flow, didn`t bother me but if you are a light sleeper you may wish to request a room further back.

    A very nicely prepared bar/restaurant with many atmospheric rooms, corners and alcoves, and nicely decorated. Very good pub meals and helpful staff. My room (5) was large and well appointed. A good spot to chill out away from the tourism of Stratford Upon Avon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was renovation work going on starting at 8am, in next room to us. Didn't like the fact that I had to go outside of my room to access the restaurant, at one point it was pouring with rain.

    Staff were very helpful, nice menu, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable stay in a good location, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 6, which needed some TLC, it is in the courtyard, but guests sitting outside can see into the bathroom window, as the protection had peeled off, so we had to keep the blinds closed, which made the room very dark. The lead also on the main window is hanging off which could do with a tidy up.

    The food was very nice and staff very accommodating and friendly, whilst taking the time to tell you about the history of the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    We have previously stayed at the Stag and will no doubt return in the future - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a deluxe double room which was spacious. Added bonus was the recently refurbished shower room and toilet. We were running late due to traffic problems so rang ahead to inform them and request if they could hold a table for dinner later than evening. We were assured that this would not be a problem and that they would keep a table for us later. A warm welcome when we did eventually arrive and the meal was worth the wait.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    Quaint traditional pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom needed refurbishment but there were builders renovating some of the rooms and ours was one to be done soon

    Food was delicious and very filling

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast took 55 minutes from the time we ordered to the time it was placed confront of us. Entrance of Stag is on a very busy road dangerous pulling out

    The Stag is very nice atmosphere location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I disliked.

    Everything. Really lovely place, room was amazing, staff were excellent, breakfast was absolutely second to none. I'd go back just for the Full English! Best of any hotel I've stayed at, which is a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    Served its purpose well
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot in bedroom and couldn't open a window (but seems to be the norm in hotels). Uncomfortably close to an exceptionally busy road (although sound-proofing effective).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was old tired dirty. The bed was hard two singles joined big hard raised ridge in middle due to join. The pillows terrible. Lighting was really rubbish. Moisturiser was stolen didn’t make a fuss only small travel size but was really inconvenient for me. Would not go back. Shame because it could have potential. Dinner on first night only as food poor oily and bland 😩

    Breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    5 stars, excellent; place, staff, food, ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    It's a beautiful building with lots of character. Lots of areas you can sit and relax. The check in was quick was easy, the drinks and food menu was varied and great value for money. The rooms were clean. Staff were freindly. Excellent stay. Ps. The breakfast was amazing 5stars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.2
    Will definitly stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable bed and the room was warm which was essential on one of the coldest nights of the year, the room was an excellent size with a variety of tea and coffee available. The restaurant was pleasant and the evening meal was lovely along with the full English breakfast. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant menu was nice but limited so not so good if you had to eat in more than one night. The food was good though

    Nice comfortable surroundings. Breakfast was good. The heating works well,the rooms were lovely and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place Superb staff, shame about the traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed needs replacing. TRaffic noise and slightly uncomfortable bed

    We liked it all except the traffic noise You could double glaze fully and take away the flood light from immediately below our window

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable & Pleasent stay, exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dusty in parts of the room.

    Pleasant Greeting from I think the manager of the stag. Comfortable bed. Perfect room for the value of money. Food was of a quality standard, breakfast also top class letting you choose from a variety of options. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at the stag redhill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to come home

    Old property tastefully done up, comfortable room, very pleasant staff nothing too much trouble.....value for money, food excellent, breakfast was very plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    Stag-tastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit of of town if you did want to venture out. We didn't so it was perfect for us.

    It felt very welcoming. The decor is very fitting to the building and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lots to do a short drive away in Stratford on Avon. Loads of great places to visit and eat would definitely visit again and would stay at The Stag.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    LUCKY FIND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The large downstairs room had tea tray with a good choice of quality drinks including a cafetiere the room was spotlessly clean as indeed was the bathroom with the largest bath I have ever seen, copious amounts of hot water and quality toiletries, pure luxury. The bed was large and very comfortable and the rooms had as much heating as the heart desired. The evening meals were delicious and the young gentlemen who attended to us was a credit to the hotel. There was good choice for breakfast and it was enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    4.6
    Very good dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 5: one radiator not working and no hot water in the hand basin. One manager did seem to care (radiator) and offered an alternative room, but I declined. The guy I told about the hot water at check out really could not have cared less! The room is shabby but I know a refurbishment is scheduled. The road noise might upset some folk. Overall the whole place could do with a tidy up.

    Very good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.6
    A great find. Would certainly recommend tthis hotel to anyone looking for excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor, but bathroom had a little mould around base of shower.

    Restaurant and bar had great atmosphere, lots of history and attractive décor. Fabulous breakfast and tasty evening meal. Our room was large with comfortable bed, warm and hot modern shower. Staff were attentive and friendly. Easy access to Stratford.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.5
    Being upgraded to a lovely large room with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being on the main road made the traffic noise too loud. Also the room wasn't that warm

    Being upgraded to a lovely large room with a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    7.1
    Would return, but different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accommodation in need of refurbishment, example: Shower room, ceiling and tray edging full of mould, nowhere to place toiletries in shower or basin area, Light over mirror not working, extractor fan full of dust. Never felt clean after Showering.

    Staff were friendly, food excellent. Cleanliness in hotel itself very good, good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    5.4
    Very poor communication from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A refund for our massive inconvenience.

    When arriving back at the hotel we couldn’t get in the building- No night porter so on a freezing night we had to walk 4 mile back into Stratford. After waking a mile and a half, on a very busy road in the pitch black and very frightened wife, the local Police picked us up and assisted us in getting in the building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    Everything. Our room was 'quirky' by design with low beams ( and I am not tall !! ) but it had real charm. Staff were excellent and breakfast was exceptional. I thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    6.3
    Regrettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The secluded, drive through car park and it’s close proximity to the main road make this a car thief’s paradise. We had the misfortune to be one of two guests who had their vehicle broken into that evening (7.15pm). The incident was caught on cctv but the film provided insufficient information for the police to follow up.

    Efforts have clearly been made to make the interiors comfortable and attractive but the property is blighted by its proximity to a busy, noisy road. The traffic is constant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    5.0
    This is a pub with a few rooms not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in need of a good clean cobwebs around the room. The shower head in the bath we could not get to work. Evening meal was basic but a little over priced. The room had a spiral stair not ideal for older travellers but it was a lovely room. Not sure we would stay again. No staff other than barman on duty.

    The breakfast was very good well cooked and hot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful old and historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lick of paint and new carpets in the accommodation area. Otherwise top marks for this hotel.

    Beautiful old and historic building. Décor in the accommodation area a little tired. Breakfast was one of the best we have had 10/10 for that ! Service really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.9
    nice building and staff, expect creaky floor boards and low roofs! its 12mins from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some limitations regarding facilities, shower was very small etc. but that's to be expected of a building this old.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. The building is charming and characterful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, nice food, nice staff, plenty Of Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpetss and spiral stair case could have been cleaner

    Would have liked more cold options of pastries etc for breakfast as we had to wait a while for breakfast although when it came it was really nice. Need more than one staff memeber on at breakfast time (certainly on a weekend) as service was slow but couldn’t be helped because he was on his own.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely old character pub. great open fire which was lovely as it was a very cold night. food was good portions very nice. i had a small plate which was plenty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    A perfect place for a cozy romantic stay. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We were there on a romantic getaway. The room was really lovely. Clean and tastefully decorated. Private and quiet. Comfortable bed. Bedding and towels all fresh and new. The staff could not do enough for you. Very helpful and kind

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    We were originally given a room. However, there was a bad smell. The manager immediately checked to see if there was another one available, and we were given that one. It was wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    5.0
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet wouldn't stop running all night. No sleep. Staff tried to fix numerous times but should have been given another room or money off the stay.

    Helpful friendly staff. Great food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, with easy, quick access to both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, with easy, quick access to both Stratford and Coventry. Lovely, old building with a cosy ambience, helped by the open fire. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay, extended it by a day and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only small niggles - Nothing to tell us how to switch on the heated towel rail, shower room lacked any form of hook/towel ring/rail by the basin & the heated one wasn't really big enough to take all the towels. No shelf by the basin for toothbrush etc. or in the shower for toiletries. Information in the room folder was fairly basic.

    Location & property were just what we were looking for. Pillows/bed extremely comfortable & clean. Plenty of clean soft towels. Very nice coffee/biscuits included with the complimentary facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.0
    The Stag is a inviting looking building, with ample free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    My biggest problem with the Stag is its location, adjacent to the busy and noisy A46. I was kept awake all night. In the morning we cancelled our plans for the day and returned home because of lack of sleep. Disappointed - for this reason I would not stay here again.

    The Stag is a inviting looking building, with ample free parking. The bar/restaurant area is very comfortable and warm, nicely decorated and modern, with lots of care and money invested. We were given our key and went to our room no. 5, lovely room with a nice seating area and large ensuite. In the evening we dined in the restaurant, had a very nice meal and were given good service by the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, very relaxing, comfortable bed, good sleep great food ...... what more do you need ??
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good for all the Shakespeare 'stuff' and was just over 10 min from centre of Stratford. Venue was easy to find, clearly in need of some tidying up here and there. Room could have been a bit cleaner but bedding and towels were very clean. Food and service excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfy & good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hangers in either wardrobe in room 7 - nowhere to hang shirt & trousers. Pillows too firm fir me, but they are very good quality - I just prefer them a little softer. Soup starter was delicious, but only just luke warm which spoilt it a little. The chicken breast was delicious, as was eggs benedict at breakfast.

    Pleasant welcome, clean comfortable room. Good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    7.9
    The main place and the staff great , food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room did have a very toilet smell about it , ( although looked lovely ) not keen on bath room needs a bit of TLC , (glass wall a no no ) a little mold on shower tiles

    The staff , food , pub side could not fault

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect if staff were friendlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    We loved our stay here and we will be booking again before Christmas. The staff spoilt our stay a little because they weren't very friendly and didn't interact with us. They didn't smile and didn't make us feel welcome. The accommodation, food and overall atmosphere of the old property was lovely and I would totally recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic can't wait to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road to the stag was busy due to people bypassing the m5

    Made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the day we left fantastic staff very happy to help

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative comment would be trying to take a shower in the roll top bath which is again aesthetically pleasing but low water pressure and trying to hold shower and not slip in the bath given the space its hard but I would recommend a non slip bath mat and somewhere to put the shower head

    I have stayed at the Stag before, and travel a lot stay in hotels, its close to Stratford Upon Avon, the rooms are fine, I prefer to stay in the external courtyard this time we had room 1 which was absolutely perfect downstairs a lounge area, upstairs a beautiful bed and toilet. Staff cannot be more helpful (Anytime I have stayed its the same) Food is excellent and bar)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    A great weekend away in Stratford upon Avon, the Stag was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the breakfast was complimentary and I am reluctant to comment too much. However, since the change of owners the range of breakfast items has become less and less, The variety of cereals was rather limited and the bananas looked about 7 days past their best. My one was bruised and very black on the outside and mostly the same inside. These are very minor and all in all I really enjoyed my stay

    Very comfortable bed, nice room with good extras like toiletries, mineral water and biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.1
    Bed comfy with plenty of pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some road noise. Menu quite pricey & this seemed to reflect in the lack of customers eating. At 8.30 on a fri night we were the only ones eating. I was really surprised that none of the restaurants offer a carvery in this area the nearest ones are Toby. Maybe this is something they should offer definately brings customers through the door.

    Bed comfy with plenty of pillows. Liked having a room separate to the pub. Pub was large but cosy several areas to sit in, decor was lovely such a shame there were no customers as there was no atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.5
    The actually building was very interesting quite old lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom door didn't close shower doors were very narrow if you was very large you would not been able to get into the shower cubical.

    The actually building was very interesting quite old lots of stairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.5
    Beautifully restored public areas, great location
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration and presentation of the bedrooms

    I saw 3 of the bedrooms, 2 (one a premier room) were dated and quite depressing. The other had been modernised and tho' small was lovely. The food was average and the cooked breakfast wasn't very good at all. Overcooked bacon.The staff were very heloful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    8.8
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the room wasn't the best and the shower had a weak flow ( a shame since it was a decent sized shower enclosure - not something you see too often) The restaurant closed for dinner very early which was also disappointing for residents

    I liked the rooms being separate from the main building as it was quieter and more private from the 'pub' business.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Great place, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably a bit too far out of town but this isn't a problem if you have a car.

    We had the best sleep! Nice, quiet room and a super comfy bed! We had an evening meal and breakfast at the stag and they were excellent. I can definitely recommend eating here. Decor is lovely and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed that our stay was a bad experience throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a room for a 2 night stay. You did change dates for me as unexpectedly had other commitments on original booking date for a booked normal room. Rather than loose the full booking price I agreed to the superior room. The superior room apart from a family room was our only choice. They failed to mention the room was not suitable for people with mobility problems, vertigo, or fear of heights, of which I suffer from. Room 1 (in the courtyard, looked like it was originally stables) which we were allocated has an open tread spiral staircase. My husband and I found this very difficult to negotiate. Staff friendly enough on arrival, and that was it, no atmosphere in the bar area as no one dining or drinking at time of arrival. Still no atmosphere in the evening either. Ok so the rooms were quirky and different, but not for us. Not sure whether the cobwebs were meant to be in the accomodation to add to the authenticity or not. The room upstairs had slanted ceiling and very low beams. I'm 5 foot tall and had to duck. Window didn't open, so very stuffy at night. bathroom had a roll top bath, with shower attachment, you couldn't stand up in the bath for a shower due to the low sloping ceiling and due to the non existent water pressure. Complained about the water pressure to be told no one else has complained! Food in the pub over priced for what we got, the fish and chips looked good on the plate, unfortunately there was a lot of batter with very little inferior fish inside. Wine prices over the top at £18 a bottle! Breakfast.... About one of the worst we've had. Poached eggs on first morning raw inside, asked for longer cooking of them on 2nd morning, just as raw. The evening staff did not ask us if everything was OK during or after our meal, nor did the chap ask at breakfast.

    The toast at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will recommend The Stag to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. the staff were friendly polite and was nice that they talked and had a laugh with us. We stayed and had an evening meal with them and couldn't fault the food and service. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    5.0
    awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a specific room through booking.com two weeks before but my request was ignored. Instead of the room I'd asked for, which was off the courtyard and on the ground floor, I was given an attic room up a considerable number of stairs. The room was poky with the bathroom door not shutting and no lock on the bathroom door. The food was poor ( they'd just changed their chef). Several weeks before we had a lovely stay with great food. This time our request was ignored despite booking two weeks in advance. We will not return. It was a disappointment. we were compensated slightly by a minor reduction to the bill. As it was our wedding anniversary I would have expected more.

    the waiters and waitresses were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.6
    Stay at The Stag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large room with nice decor Large comfortable bed Lovely fluffy towels Nice cooked breakfast Quiet and peaceful for a good nights rest Close to both Stratford and Alcester

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    6.7
    Was good except the traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stopped in was too close to road had traffic noise all night. Could do with thick triple glazing on road side. The other rooms were probably fine

    Large rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't come again and definitely wouldn't stay in room 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom aged and needed a total renovation. Seal on shower screen hanging off which made water leak everywhere when having a shower. Furniture in room mismatched and room itself was very dark (room 7). The most horrendous view of the kitchen vents on a flat roof. Cobwebs on wall above kettle. Mouldy patch on one side of the bed sheet!! TV tiny, wardrobes small and when opened smelt of cooking food so couldn't put clothes in there. Staircase adjacent to room very noisy. Brought the leaky shower to the attention of staff when checking out but he clearly wasn't bothered so didn't bother informing him of other issues.

    Check in prompt and polite. Bed very comfy. Tea and coffee selection in room good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a roomy, clean room with a good price and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and large room & bath/toilet. The staff was VERY friendly and the price was VERY good. We had much more expensive rooms that we liked less. And they had some other options for breakfast. We had a short pleasant stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.9
    This accommodation was fine for a 3 star hotel. It was a bit grubby for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture and carpet were grubby. The spiral staircase was very narrow and difficult to climb with a suitcase if your knees are arthritic. I feel an older couple would probably have struggled to climb the stairs. We couldn't open a window upstairs and it was very stuffy. The bedroom has very low beams and the ceiling slopes down which makes it difficult to walk upright and we found ourselves walking stooped around the room.

    We were accommodated in a building apart from the pub which apparently used to be a stables. It is in the grounds of the pub. It offered complete privacy and consisted of a small room with a suite and tv then up a small spiral staircase to the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was lovely - brass with clean white bedding. There is a small tv in the bedroom too. The bathroom was spacious with a freestanding bath but no shower, apart from a hand held shower in with the bath taps. We ate a meal in the pub on the night and it was very tasty. Our breakfast the following morning too, was very nice and plenty of it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    5.4
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was so hot and on busy road so windows didnt open.shower was useless boiling hot or freezing and hardly any power.

    Area nice and convenient very clean restaurant and bar area.good parking lovely outdoor sitting areas.Room clean and spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.9
    Overall we had a nice stay at The Stag. I would reccommend The Stag for a weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a couple of things that couldv'e gone better- there must've been a communication mix up between staff, I had phoned ahead to say we wouldn't be checking in until later that night and told as long as we were there before 11pm it would be fine, but then I was left a voice message from another staff member asking where we were? No big deal though. Breakfast unfortunately didn't live up to other people's reviews- my eggs benedict came out on cold, uncooked muffins that went soggy under the sauce, the ham had large bits of gristle in it and my partners scrambled eggs weren't very appetising either.

    A very friendly man checked us in and showed us to our room which was clean, spacious and comfortable. Drink prices at the bar were reasonable and it was nice sitting out on the terrace in the warm weather. There was a decent selection of cereals and yogurt at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.2
    Loved the rooms and how it had the seating area outside your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like just a bit cold in the evening no heating in there and with the rooms being outside buildings you need it

    Loved the rooms and how it had the seating area outside your rooms the only thing I'd say patio heaters would be fab 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    very welcoming, good food and beer, and a nice room. Would happily stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No where in shower to put soap etc, only on the floor. Light in bathroom over the sink did not work, no bulb!!!

    Nice and quirky rooms. Clean and tidy Good beer Friendly staff One key to get through doors Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    A real Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Given a very warm welcome by the Assistant Manager Gregg. Shown to a lovely room with great facilities. Enjoyed a very pleasant evening in the pub/ restaurant enjoying an excellent meal. Very friendly courteous staff. Had a superb breakfast the following morning before completing our journey. Well done to everyone we will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stag Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: