Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Highlands B&B and inn reviews
  4. Dornoch B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Steading

Reviews of The Steading

Balnapolaig The Steading, 4 Balnapolaig Steading, Dornoch, IV25 3HA, United Kingdom

#3 of 10 B&Bs and inns in Dornoch

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation probably the best in Dornoch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a lovely relaxing place to be to chill out with a lovely room and very comfy beds . The breakfast was delicious and our hosts were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Thanks for the wonderful time it was the high point of our scotland trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a wonderful time here. a very warm welcome, the room was great, we've got a very good breakfast and also enjoyed the bar and the whiskies and had lot of fun with Ozzy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed this experience so much that we booked again within 24hours and experienced another n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good nothing to dislike even friendly hosts pet dogre

    Lovely quiet location hosts excellent food of high standard accommodation top class.Highly recommend this business.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent B & B. Delightful and welcoming owners. Lovely comfortable room with an amazing huge bed. Soft pillows and thick duvet - luxury. Excellent breakfast in an attractive dining room with views over Dornoch Firth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much wrong with this place. We had people above us, so we heard some noise because of the floorboards. It didn't detract from a great experience though. We were a little unlucky since the chef had to go home. We would have loved to eat there. Worst criticism is that we didn't book a longer trip.

    One of the gems of our Scotland trip. The owners have shown how nice it is when there is a great amount of attention to detail. I consider myself lucky to have booked with them, since we had a great night sleep in a wonderful bed, a really good breakfast the day after, and we just felt right at home. Cute dog, too (Ozzy)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Beautiful property run by wonderful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful place in a beautiful surroundings. The Staff were fantastically welcoming and friendly, especially as we were weary from a long day of cycling. The food exceeded my expectations and we got to try some local gin from a distillery we could see from the beautiful vantage point of the property. The shower was lovely and they provided really high quality shower products that I wanted to take home with me. An outstanding experience. I would go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and convenient location especially for traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire doors were heavy and consequently noisy when other guests couldn’t/wouldn’t close them quietly which did not make for a restful night, at least not until other guests had gone to bed.

    Bed was lovely, comfortable and with plenty of room for us both to stretch out. The room was warm and we had all the toiletries you could need provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    Quality and friendly service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really!

    Beautifully appointed rooms and public areas, very good food, friendly personal welcome from the owners and staff. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable with lots of storage, nice bathroom and great shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    10
    Impeccable property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Everything has been carefully thought through. Spacious bathroom and bedroom. Peaceful location with great views of the firth. The on-site bistro food was the best we have had since arriving in Scotland. The advice of places to visit on our way north was great as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    The Best Hotel, The Best Hosts - not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was perfection.

    Ok, every so often you stumble across somewhere special - this is it. The Steading is exceptional - the attention to detail is second to none and the owners are the best hosts a guest could ask for. The finish on the property would not be out of place on Grand Designs - the views are to die for - and the food on another level. Just when you think it cant get better - the hosts pet dog Ozzy is the perfect tonic for any traveler who has left their four legged friend at home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    Definitely hope to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was a great find: boutique hotel bedrooms with friendliness of B&B and excellent dining options. This is a very untypical place, but the hosts Stephen and Jayne have worked in hospitality and know what people like. It is not cheap but is excellent value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    We have only good things to say about the Steading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have only good things to say about the Steading. The owners, the food, the attention to detail . Everything was 1st class and we'll worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent b&b. Will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would only say the location but we had a car to get into Dornoch centre and it meant that it was quiet and relaxing without traffic noise.

    The building and room was modern and comfortable. Very clean and felt very relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Fabulous place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a wonderful 4 night stay at The Steading. The owners Steven and Jayne were very hospitable, friendly and welcoming. All the staff at The Steading were friendly and helpful. And Ozzy the resident pooch was a delight! The food in the bistro was delicious. The location is amazing with the most incredible views. The whole property is designed really well and is cosy and homely with a luxurious feel. Our room was spacious and carefully designed (ladies, there is a power socket right next to a full length mirror with a shelf and hook for hairdryers and straighteners - that never happens!). As soon as we pulled up at The Steading we felt relaxed and we really didn’t want to leave! We can’t wait to stay again in the future!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    Much more than a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and were surprised to find delicious chocolate dipped strawberries in our room. Jayne and staff were a delight we felt like family. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot fault it at all!

    We got a very warm welcome from Jayne, even though she was having an extremely stressful week! She was friendly and we enjoyed chatting with her. The room was lovely, with every convenience you could imagine. A lot of thought has gone into every detail and you can tell as soon as you walk in the door that it is a special place. The food was delicious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Ozzie the dog was another positive experience - a wee gent of a dog!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    9.6
    The property is very well furnished and the owners are very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is very well furnished and the owners are very attentive. The hot breakfast is cooked to order and was very good. I imagine this place is very cosy in Winter as there are a number of log burners in the public areas. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect place to relax and recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly irritating not a major issue squeaky floorboards from thebroom abovr. It is an old building tastefully renovated.

    Quality of service - relaxed friendly attention to detail Quality of room - clean fresh and fine Scottish products Quality of food - local produce and an inspired chef Commitment to offering support to carers and their families.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could have been better

    Excellent accommodation , excellent hosts , absolutely spotless , will definitely visit again and would fully recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here as part of a Lands End to John O’Groats cycling tour. Large, bright, comfortable room with a brilliant en-suite. The evening meal was however was the highlight of the stay. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    The property is superbly situated and appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing not to like in my view.

    The property is superbly situated and appointed. The staff super enthusiastic under Stephen’s and Hayne’s guidance. A perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    a beatiful, friendly place to stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the coffee

    the rest 😀 thanks for your warm welcome, the friendly athmosphere. The realy excellent food and all the informations about Dornoch. And we like the house-dog Ozzie 😉

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Stayed on our way to Orkney. So good decided to stay again on our way back. Quite a treat !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More than met expectations. Warm and friendly welcome. Every need catered for. Fabulously comfortable bed. Lovely fluffy towels and beautiful bed linen. Breakfast very good and evening meal perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and friendly, great food, clean and well appointed. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we were being picky, the view from the french doors in the room was hampered by the new extension that is being built; however, I should add that there was no noise from any work being carried out. Also, floorboards in the room above were a bit squeaky.

    Jayne and Stephen were welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean and well appointed with Tea and Coffee, Sky TV, WiFi, fridge, ironing board, iron, safe, and hairdryer. The en-suite was modern with a large shower cubicle with great water pressure and nice soaps/moisturizer. Highlight was the restaurant, which we highly recommend- superb food and friendly attentive staff. If you like a cosy room, you'll love the underfloor heating, if you like a cool room, make sure you turn the heating down upon arrival - Stephen showed us how to do this on our arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    10
    Lovely place will definately be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place .. lovely comfortable rooms. Staff very attentive and evening meal and breakfast very good too (and good value for money) lovely views also ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com misled us about pricing and bed configurations at this property. Owner made this right for us.

    Very welcoming staff and faultless facilities. Best shower ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    In over 40 years of staying in hotels/B&B's this was the best place and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing wrong what so ever.

    Everything was excellent - rooms/en-suite/food/staff ...... We originally only booked one night, but as we travelled around Scotland nothing could match the facilities, so we cancelled our last night's accommodation (no refund) and re-booked at The Steading so that our last night was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay , food was 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great welcome from the owners and the rooms were spotless , this property is finished to a very high standard. The food was a 10/10 and the chef could not be more accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Great place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - great stay

    We had a fantastic stay at the Steadings and will certainly go back We were made to feel very welcome and the owners go out of their way to make you stay special. Great rooms, great views and fantastic breakfast. We were looked after really well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    An amazing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An amazing place to stay! Very friendly and helpful owners. Marvellous cuisine! Spacious room with a very good bed. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely come back. Thanks, Jayne and Stephen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.3
    Brand new property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a ways away from Dornoch. Limited menu at night as only three course fixed menu offered.

    Brand new property. Well furnished with attention to detail. Host pleasant. Bed fantastic. Food was nice: especially the breakfast-loved the fresh berries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Gorgeous location with stunning views. Super clean spacious bedroom & shower room, wonderfully comfy bed, luxury linens, fluffy towels, quality toiletries. Everything you need for a great stay. Then there’s the restaurant for breakfast & dinner & it didn’t disappoint. Good chef serving excellent food. Best bacon & poached eggs of our tour. Thank you team Steading 😉 Highly recommended 5 ⭐️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent all round and we would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negative comments to make.

    We stayed overnight on our way home after completing the North 500 drive. This is a super place to stay. Room was well appointed in all respects and beautifully clean and omofrtable. Three course evening meal excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Stay at the Steading - you will not be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is an exceptional property to stay at. Everything from the warm welcome by the hosts to the immaculate room and really excellent restaurant and award winning chef could not be better. Cannot recommend the Steading highly enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.8
    OK but not to our taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt more like average ‘business’ standard than luxury boutique. A bit soul-less and clinical. Disturbed at night and in morning by noise from above (very creaky ceiling) and very loud water system supply to room above. Breakfast service a little strange. Staff brought toast but left guests to work out operation of DIY coffee machines etc. Would have expected it to be the other way round. Cooked breakfast options disappointing. Surprised by very precise cost at £145.12. Felt it was expensive and not good value compared to other accommodation on our trip.

    Friendly owners/managers and staff. Very clean and warm. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast, comfy bed, warm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t get the room we booked but I understand there have been problems getting the place up and running, and our given room was still great

    Delicious breakfast, comfy bed, warm room. Really kind to run us into town and back on both days of our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place. Super friendly clean and new. Homemade food in the kitchen/dining/sitting room was superb. Restaurant was amazing value for money. Stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Luxury accommodation with great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was by far our most expensive accommodation on our trip but the luxury was there.

    Luxury touches everywhere throughout the room. Beds were extremely comfortable. Wi-Fi worked really well. We were hosted by Andrew & Gina and they were absolutely delightful. The cooked breakfast was delicious - fluffiest scrambled eggs we have ever had! Located slightly out of town so a car is recommended however they do offer free transport in to town and back again - a great service. Highly recommended if you are looking for a luxury stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Was very sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely welcome from owner with tour of property. Lounge area with tea/coffee and honesty bar. Beautiful bedrooms with wonderful king size beds. Very friendly staff at breakfast with loads to eat. Highly recommend this super place, much more than a b&b. Most of all I loved Aussie , such a gorgeous well trained dog.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax and enjoy Scotland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike! Even the weather was nice!

    Everything was great! The owners, Stephen and Jayne have given great thought to every aspect of providing a comfortable stay! From the freshly prepared breakfast to the knowledgeable advice on where to visit and where to go for dinner! If we had known how nice it was here we would have gone sooner and stayed longer! Dornoch is a beautiful village and is located where it's easy to visit the very north of Scotland or the islands and many other areas! If you're going to Scotland, stay here! You will not be disappointed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Lovely, lovely, lovely🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing...Perfect, they even give you a lift to and from restaurants!!! Yes....really!

    There was no restaurant, but breakfast was lovely, and lots to choose from. Every detail has been thought of, even down to a hairdryer AND socket next to a mirror!!! A 1st for me. Couldn't fault it, cannot recommend highly enough !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Great place, if we plan to return to the Highlands I would most certaintly try and book the Steading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The room was great, lovely big bed. The owners were very welcoming and the guest lounge and facilities was very good and comfortable. I would recommend the Steading to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    Warm welcoming and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down side was we did not have a car so was quite a trek if we wanted to go out anywhere, but everything we needed was right were we was.

    Owner came out and welcomed is straight away he was very friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable straight away. I would definitely go again and recommend to others

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    A little bit of home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Luxury B&B near Dornoch. Rooms had everything you could possibly need, breakfast was excellent and the owners very welcoming. Very quiet location and huge comfy beds...wish we'd been staying longer than 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.2
    Easy going and very helpful owner and attentive staff catering for excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pressure!

    Great breakfast cooked to order... best scrambled eggs ever. Comfy bedrooms and cosy public space all tastefully refurbished within the old stone steading building. Only had bed and breakfast but all sorts of other facilities available during the day...coffee, drinks etc. Great place to stay if you are golfing at Dornoch. (One of the best courses in Scotland).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    Their attention to details and a private chef for breakfast!! Very lovely couple!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked everything.

    Bed and pillows were heaven. Stephen & Jane think of everything and drive you or help with all travel. Jane is a past and present travel agent. Their sheepdog, Aussie, has the best manners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Warm welcome after a long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome after a long trip. Everything about the place was comfortable and relaxing - a home from home. Breakfast was fabulous with a great selection of locally sourced produce and nothing was too much trouble. Definitely recommend the Steading.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Stunning hospitality in a glorious setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I only wish we could have stayed longer!

    All furniture, fixtures, fittings and 'extras' are of the luxury standard that you'd expect in any 4* hotel. Stephen and Jayne couldn't be more welcoming nor hospitable, and the wonderful breakfast is just the icing on an already glorious cake. Add to that the clean air, stunning views, a quaint well-appointed town on the doorstep, plus a beach too...? These guys have a winning combination.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing well catered for 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing,all great.

    First class all the way, every detail is thought about to cater for the guest, Stephen & Jayne are excellent hosts. Couldn't have for anything more,they even drive you the short journey to Dornoch and back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    8.8
    Location, food, size of the room and facilities are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had the room on the ground floor...this room is very noisy as you can hear everything coming from the 3 other rooms on the 1st floor (people walking, talking, bathrooms...) - Have a room on the 1st floor!

    Location, food, size of the room and facilities are very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    A perfect place in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Steading was a wonderful place to stay for a couple of nights. Everything that you desire is there: the views, comforts, tasty food, lovely people. We didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Lovely comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Lovely comfy room. Very high standard accommodation. Sorry we weren't having a longer stay to appreciate it. Very warm welcome . Owners could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    Best accommodation during our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather in Scotland which is definitely outside of Stephen's responsibility 😊

    Best accomodation during our 3 weeks trip in Scotland and Ireland. Room was not the largest but nicely equipped, decorated and cleaned. Very good breakfast cooked on demand w/ everything we could emagine for a breakfast. Building is an old barn very carefully restored w/ a full new building "inside". Stephen is a very nice host who takes care about his guests and makes us feel at home. His hospitality is remarkable. In peticular we loved the big shared living room with a nice view over the rural landscape and a well fueled self sevice bar. If we will be back in Scotland once we will definitely make whatever detour is needed to have a some days stay at The Steading.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Exceptional Hotel-Style B&B. Well Worth The Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything! Hotel-style B&B. The host Jayne was exceptional. She was friendly, thorough in explaining what her property has to offer, and ready to help whenever you need. A self-service licensed bar on-site. Excellent view outside. Electric-car charging station available. Very comfortable bathroom. Very comfortable bed. I slept like a baby. Temperature was just about right. Host made reservation for nearby for us. Breakfast was prepared by professional cook. Pleasantly surprised and delicious. Extremely cosy living room that everyone can use. My room was on the ground floor and had a door to go outside directly. Love it so much. I wish I had planned to stay here longer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay except too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving this haven was difficult

    Enjoyed our 2 night stay and plan to bring our friends and stay longer next time. The accomodation is spacious and well appointed. In room there is high quality wifi, superb king bed, cable tv, great water pressure, fridge and mini bar. The property is in a tranquil location close to town with lovely sea and rural views with sparkling clean windows throughout. Parking is next to the building. Breakfasts are delicious and generous with many options including the best porridge. A range of wine, whiskey, toiletries and gifts are available to purchase. Jayne and Stephen's experience in the travel industry shines through in the design of this accommodation and the high standard of hospitality provided. Highly recommended great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    unfortunately too little time to stay longer...

    It was our best stay during our honeymoon-roundtrip in Scotland (11days, 10hotels). Stephen and Jayne are really loving, warm-hearted hosts. The most important thing for them is that you are doing well and enjoying the time. Their luxury accomodation is based on a 4* international hotel, even with some extras, like the stunning view outside the cosy lounge area. 100% recommendation from us!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to not like perfect in everyway

    This accomodation raises the bar significantlywhen you think of b&b accomodation. This is boutique hotel style b&b. Exceptional quality and amazing attention to detail. Fantastic rooms with an amazing lounge area for guests with great views of the sea. Great breakfast. The owners offered us a lift to the local hotel for a meal what more could you ask for A very big thank you to the owners for an amazing stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay at The Steading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. The Steading is perhaps aimed at a younger market than myself and my octogenarian sister, but a very attentive lady, who hailed from Stornaway and whose name I have unfortunately forgotten, spotted our dosy bewilderment at the help yourself breakfast array/ toast/coffee machines/ etc, and served us at table which was most appreciated.

    We got a warm and friendly welcome from our host who could not have been more helpful. The bedroom was spacious and luxuriously appointed with exceedingly good Sea Kelp(?) toiletries. The downstairs lounge/kitchen area with log fire was warm and inviting with wonderful view down to Dornoch firth. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, perfect B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Hospitality of the staff, location, comfort, everything was just beautiful. Breakfast, freshly made and served beautifully. Room had everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a fan (yes, sometimes needed in Scotland!) The owners made you feel so welcome, treat you like friends and do everything to make your stay perfect. Large bedrooms - we had the Caledonian Suite- and huge living rooms where you can relax at night if you wish. Less than 5 minute drive into Dornoch. Would definitely return. Thank you to Stephen and Jayne.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.6
    Everything was very high quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was very high quality. Bedroom very well appointed, lounge available with tv and wood burning stove ( which was on on our second night!), owners and staff very welcoming and helpful. Only downside is that it is outside town so we used car to restaurant in Dornoch itself. Excellent overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    All the advantages of a hotel, with the personalisation of a top quality B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighbours dog was not happy to see us on arrival

    The unseasonal temperature made us appreciate the heating in our room. The staff went out of their way to meet our needs. Aussie the dog was a delight and only introduced to us at departure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a way from the town ..but it's worth it !

    Everything ..lovely room and bathroom, all in tip-top condition ..also best omelette I've had at breakfast ..highly recommend this place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    A memorable stay in lovely peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jayne and Stephen were excellent hosts and Stephen produced wonderful food to order. A stunning conversion of a grain store into modern and stylish accommodation in close proximity to Dornoch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend and definitely would return. Modern luxury in beautifully converted steading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was lovely !

    Attention to detail and little touches. Everything thought of ! Relaxed feel and guests have 'run' of open plan lounge as well as facilities in rooms. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly hosts and staff. Very comfortable beds and spacious ensuite room. Lovely breakfast selection cooked to order. Will definitely be telling friends about this lovely gem with plenty character, on the edge of a beautiful wee town with lots to see and do. A perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect overnight stay in superb accommodaton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the owners. The accommodation was superb, and an excellent breakfast in a lovely room with a log burner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Luxurious and Welcoming B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a brilliant place to stay, more like a boutique hotel than a b&b. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Great lounge areas, well stocked honesty bar and large comfy bedroom. The house is gorgeous and very good breakfast too! Everything you could need or want. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Just awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just awesome!! The cleanest and nicest room ever with a really comfortable and huge bed! Jayne and Stephen do a wondeful job! Nice food, nice location apart from the crowd and nice atmosphere! Outstandig - nothing to complain about!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    Fantastic, warm and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The accomadation was fantastic, very fresh decor and spotlessley clean. Pure white bedding and fluffy white towels. The porridge with caramelised banana and honey for breakfast was amazing. Steven and Jayne have thought of everything you could need in you room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    Wonderful Way to Remember Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fortunately we took the first left turn into Dornoch after we left Dunrobin. The Steading is located in the fields above the town so road signs are hard to find. Keep you eyes pealed for the right turn to the end of the road, it's worth it!

    What a wonderful experience! After a fantastic tour of the Dunrobin Castle and a beautifully warm (almost hot)day we arrived at The Steading. Warm welcome by our hosts Stephan & Jayne and Aussie (their dog). This B&B is located in the farmlands above the town of Dornoch. You can see the town and the ocean from the well appointed gathering/dining room. Our room was an ensuite with all amenities including a well stocked mini bar (minimal cost). Prior to arrival we were asked if we would like to have dinner that night and were provided a menu to select our choice. So glad we did! Stephan is a great chef and prepared a lovely grilled salmon and bacon wrapped chicken dinner (with appetizers) while Jayne gave us some insightful information about the town and surrounding areas. Breakfast with other guests in the morning was "to order". Hated to leave this very comfortable home away from home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was amazingly comfy, spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful place, owners couldn't have been more helpful. Looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    Dornochs hidden gem - B&B to a whole new level of excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good

    Old world property setting with brand new rooms and fittings Wonderful hosts who really understand what B&B is all about. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    The Steading made our stay all the more enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect for us and very convenient for close friends we were visiting.

    Jayne and Steve wonderful and friendly hosts. Bed a delight to sleep in and lovely roomy bathroom with hot water all day long. They have thought of everything.They even have a minibus which we thought was a great idea! Highly recommend a stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Would definitely go back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Luxury and immaculate accommodation with lovely, friendly owners. We stayed here for two nights and were really well looked after. Super comfy bed and well-equipped room with a power shower and huge, soft towels. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    I use my stay here as the bar by which i judge everywhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing, take me back

    The owners were amazing and really go the extra mile at all times. This was truly a home from home. The bed was super comfortable. Always warm. Complete sky sports. Showers are hot and powerful. Excellent wifi for the area. All the food was freshly prepared and excellent in terms of value and quality. Shuttle service available if you want to eat out in Dornoch. Nice views from the lounge area. Got free laundry which helped me loads since I was there so long

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not able to take our dog on site

    Beautifully clean accommodation with delicious freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!